GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: An Cloch Scoilte on November 18, 2010, 06:52:02 PM

Title: Minor Finals on TV3 - Demotion for the Irish Language
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on November 18, 2010, 06:52:02 PM
With the announcement of the GAA's new TV deals, the moving of the Minor finals to TV3 as stand alone fixtures is surely a demotion for the Minor players themselves, as well as the Irish Language. The Minor deciders delivered in the beautiful commentary of Micheál Ó Sé have become part and parcel of All-Ireland final day.

This is the second such demotion in the last number of years for the Minors, with winning Captains not being afforded the chance to deliver a winning captains speech.

Martin Breheny has added fuel to the fire with his views on the Minor showpieces being commentated upon as Gaeilge.

TV3 must break language barrier

By Martin Breheny

Wednesday November 17 2010

Effectively, the GAA are encouraging TV3 to continue with RTE's policy of disenfranchising the majority of people who, for reasons linked with the appalling way Irish has been taught (the fault is with the system, not the teachers), don't understand the language.

I was savaged by some irate readers a few weeks back for suggesting it was wrong to have the International Rules games on TG4 because of the Irish commentary, but here it goes again: it's equally wrong to have the minor finals broadcast in Irish.

It's the height of arrogance to impose the will of the minority on the majority under the spurious pretext of promoting the Irish language. Yes, Irish is our native tongue. It's also a beautiful language which has been betrayed by a stupid approach to fostering it. The figures don't lie and if the majority of people still have little knowledge of Irish, the system of teaching it must be wrong.

Broadcasting the All-Ireland minor finals in Irish doesn't do anything to promote the language, but it does a lot to annoy people who want to enjoy the games with a commentary they understand.

TV3 have a glorious opportunity to end the nonsense and, in the process, multiply their audience figures. My guess is that they'll take it.

- Martin Breheny

Irish Independent

Title: Re: Minor Finals on TV3 - Demotion for the Irish Language
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2010, 06:56:13 PM
Reilly's rag will keep Breheny on anyway with anti Irish stuff like that spouting out of him.
Post by: Hardy on November 18, 2010, 07:42:37 PM
In what way is it anti-Irish?  (I can't believe I'm defending martin Breheny.)
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2010, 09:19:24 PM
So let's get rid of all that oul Irishness ...language, music, dancing and them silly oul games that no one else plays ..Bogball and stickball.
Let's be proper 21st Century Brits.
Post by: Redhand Santa on November 18, 2010, 10:02:45 PM
Quote from: Disillusioned on November 18, 2010, 08:30:36 PM
About time the minor finals have a commentary which most people can understand.  Irish commentary by RTE is all part of the tokenism which so many feed on as their idea of nationalism.  The top selling papers in the country are the Star and The Sun, the English Premiership in the form of the RTE and BBC MoTD are the most popular games watched in Ireland.  Welcome to Ireland in the 21st century.

Not sure about that.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 18, 2010, 10:47:10 PM
About time the minor finals have a commentary which most people can understand.  Irish commentary by RTE is all part of the tokenism which so many feed on as their idea of nationalism.  The top selling papers in the country are the Star and The Sun, the English Premiership in the form of the RTE and BBC MoTD are the most popular games watched in Ireland.  Welcome to Ireland in the 21st century.

I'd safely say that the vast majority of the people on this board would not let the Sun or the Star dirty their hands, they would watch an Under 12 league game before they would sit in and watch MOTD or whatever...and they are all well aware of what Ireland is like in the 21st century.....as for tokenism...come down to Bunscoil an Iuir at lunchtime and listen to the 40 or 50 paisti engaging in "tokenism" when they are out playing.... add to that the fact that I have NEVER heard anyone on this board giving out about the Irish language commentary for the minor final....if anything Micheal O Se is widely praised.....so away you go and find someone who wants to listen to that shite you're spoutin cos you havent got an audience here ye boy ye.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 18, 2010, 11:11:43 PM
Brian Tyers and Mícheál Ó Sé are the best GAA commentators on the box. I'd happily listen to their blas over Ger and Marty.

Mícheál Ó Sé is probably one of the only comentators worth listening to because he's actually played the game to a high level.
Post by: ross4life on November 18, 2010, 11:45:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 18, 2010, 09:19:24 PM
So let's get rid of all that oul Irishness ...language, music, dancing and them silly oul games that no one else plays ..Bogball and stickball.
Let's be proper 21st Century Brits.

Agreed the Gaa top brass getting rid of another tradition what next?
Post by: DuffleKing on November 19, 2010, 09:05:23 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 18, 2010, 10:47:10 PM

I'd safely say that the vast majority of the people on this board would not let the Sun or the Star dirty their hands, they would watch an Under 12 league game before they would sit in and watch MOTD or whatever...and they are all well aware of what Ireland is like in the 21st century.....as for tokenism...come down to Bunscoil an Iuir at lunchtime and listen to the 40 or 50 paisti engaging in "tokenism" when they are out playing.... add to that the fact that I have NEVER heard anyone on this board giving out about the Irish language commentary for the minor final....if anything Micheal O Se is widely praised.....so away you go and find someone who wants to listen to that shite you're spoutin cos you havent got an audience here ye boy ye.

You haven't been listening so
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 19, 2010, 10:26:47 AM
I have a very limited ability as far as the oul teanga is concerned and so the pragmatist in me would welcome the commentary in English; am I no longer a real Irishman?
Post by: nrico2006 on November 19, 2010, 10:45:33 AM

Agreed.  The majority of people would rather listen to the commentary in a format which they could understand.
Post by: Rois on November 19, 2010, 12:27:48 PM
How about a "press the red button to hear it in Irish" option? 
Post by: passedit on November 19, 2010, 12:30:46 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 19, 2010, 12:27:48 PM

What button do we press to see it in De Nort?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 19, 2010, 12:54:47 PM
Quote from: passedit on November 19, 2010, 12:30:46 PM

The "Bleck" button!
Post by: Rois on November 19, 2010, 01:51:48 PM
Quote from: passedit on November 19, 2010, 12:30:46 PM

Hmmmm, true.  I'd have to go to another house to watch it and then it's just in analogue. 
Title: Roimh i bhFad
Post by: drici on August 16, 2011, 02:21:21 AM
Forgetsees.
Post by: Drummerboy on August 16, 2011, 12:57:38 PM
Could never understand why it was broadcast in Irish in the first place when most of the population doesn't understand the language.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 16, 2011, 03:15:14 PM

A Íosa Críost na bhFlaitheas, sin rant iontach  mhaith! ;D
'Tuige nár scríobh tú i nGaeilge é?
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 16, 2011, 03:21:52 PM
Quote from: An Cloch Scoilte on November 18, 2010, 06:52:02 PM
With the announcement of the GAA's new TV deals, the moving of the Minor finals to TV3 as stand alone fixtures is surely a demotion for the Minor players themselves, as well as the Irish Language. The Minor deciders delivered in the beautiful commentary of Micheál Ó Sé have become part and parcel of All-Ireland final day.

This is the second such demotion in the last number of years for the Minors, with winning Captains not being afforded the chance to deliver a winning captains speech.

Martin Breheny has added fuel to the fire with his views on the Minor showpieces being commentated upon as Gaeilge.

TV3 must break language barrier

By Martin Breheny

Wednesday November 17 2010

Effectively, the GAA are encouraging TV3 to continue with RTE's policy of disenfranchising the majority of people who, for reasons linked with the appalling way Irish has been taught (the fault is with the system, not the teachers), don't understand the language.

I was savaged by some irate readers a few weeks back for suggesting it was wrong to have the International Rules games on TG4 because of the Irish commentary, but here it goes again: it's equally wrong to have the minor finals broadcast in Irish.

It's the height of arrogance to impose the will of the minority on the majority under the spurious pretext of promoting the Irish language. Yes, Irish is our native tongue. It's also a beautiful language which has been betrayed by a stupid approach to fostering it. The figures don't lie and if the majority of people still have little knowledge of Irish, the system of teaching it must be wrong.

Broadcasting the All-Ireland minor finals in Irish doesn't do anything to promote the language, but it does a lot to annoy people who want to enjoy the games with a commentary they understand.

TV3 have a glorious opportunity to end the nonsense and, in the process, multiply their audience figures. My guess is that they'll take it.

- Martin Breheny

Irish Independent

Would you consider adding a poll to this thread?
Just ask readers if they are in favour of continuing with the present policy of having the commentary in Irish or if they wish that English be used instead.
Anything you like in a straight Yes or No format.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 16, 2011, 06:25:57 PM

A Íosa Críost na bhFlaitheas, sin rant iontach  mhaith! ;D
'Tuige nár scríobh tú i nGaeilge é?

Toisc go raibh me ag deanamh ag an tam nach raibh moran Gaeilge ag an fhear grinn sin "Disillusioned" :-\
Post by: moysider on August 16, 2011, 07:00:47 PM
Quote from: Drummerboy on August 16, 2011, 12:57:38 PM
Could never understand why it was broadcast in Irish in the first place when most of the population doesn't understand the language.

Do you understand the language Drummerboy and if not, why not?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 16, 2011, 07:13:01 PM
How about putting TV3 on sky in the north so we can see our national games :-[
Post by: seamusmacdomhnaill on August 16, 2011, 10:15:39 PM
'For Cultural invasion to succeed, it is essential that those invaded 
become convinced of their intrinsic inferiority.  Since everything has
its opposite, if those who are invaded consider themselves inferior, they
must necessarily recognize the superiority of the invaders.  The more
the invasion is accentuated and those invaded are alienated from the 
spirit of their own culture and from themselves, the more the latter
want to be like the invaders: to walk like them, dress like them, talk
like them.'
Paulo Friere (1989, 151) 
Post by: andoireabu on August 16, 2011, 10:22:00 PM
Would rather listen to it in Irish and only recognise a few phrases than listen to Marty slabbering all the shite of the day in English and distracting me from the fecking match!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 16, 2011, 10:38:11 PM
Here's an idea, have it on one channel in English and on another channel in Irish, or use the 'red button' option that someone else mentioned.  I'd be all in favour of games having a commentary available in Irish for those who can understand it, but those who don't understand it should be accommodated too.

Part of the problem with Irish is the impulsive way people react to any legitimate criticism of the way it has been promoted.  Breheny makes perfectly valid points that (A) the way the language has been taught has failed miserably to keep it alive, and (B) broadcasting the minor finals in Irish only is not going to do a damn thing to help the language. And for that he gets labelled "anti Irish" quicker than you can say "shoot the messenger".

I studied Irish at school for five years (six in total - I took lessons at my GAA club before starting secondary school) and when I was finished with school I could not hold a conversation in Irish.  I'd be surprised if more than half the people who did it for the full five years would be able to, and for the ones who only did it for three years? Forget it!  If you leave it until children get into their teens before you start teaching then you've already left it too late.  Look at the people on the continent who speak English better than the English themselves, do you think they wait until they're 11 before they start learning it?  They start in primary school when they're learning how to multiply.

Fixing that problem is a bit of a higher priority than going to the expense of meeting an almost non-existent demand for Irish language media content just so that people can feel good about watching a match in a language they don't understand.
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2011, 05:19:05 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 16, 2011, 10:38:11 PM
Here's an idea, have it on one channel in English and on another channel in Irish, or use the 'red button' option that someone else mentioned.  I'd be all in favour of games having a commentary available in Irish for those who can understand it, but those who don't understand it should be accommodated too.

Part of the problem with Irish is the impulsive way people react to any legitimate criticism of the way it has been promoted.  Breheny makes perfectly valid points that (A) the way the language has been taught has failed miserably to keep it alive, and (B) broadcasting the minor finals in Irish only is not going to do a damn thing to help the language. And for that he gets labelled "anti Irish" quicker than you can say "shoot the messenger".

I studied Irish at school for five years (six in total - I took lessons at my GAA club before starting secondary school) and when I was finished with school I could not hold a conversation in Irish.  I'd be surprised if more than half the people who did it for the full five years would be able to, and for the ones who only did it for three years? Forget it!  If you leave it until children get into their teens before you start teaching then you've already left it too late.  Look at the people on the continent who speak English better than the English themselves, do you think they wait until they're 11 before they start learning it?  They start in primary school when they're learning how to multiply.

Fixing that problem is a bit of a higher priority than going to the expense of meeting an almost non-existent demand for Irish language media content just so that people can feel good about watching a match in a language they don't understand.

You should watch Dora the Explorer as Gaeilge. The next generation is getting decent Irish TV and that is going to change how people view the language. Irish is priceless. 
Much of the way things are done in Ireland is shite. It goes far deeper than just the teaching the native language.   
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 17, 2011, 06:57:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 17, 2011, 05:19:05 PM
You should watch Dora the Explorer as Gaeilge. The next generation is getting decent Irish TV and that is going to change how people view the language. Irish is priceless. 
Much of the way things are done in Ireland is shite. It goes far deeper than just the teaching the native language.
That's the truth! I sometimes think that keeping our games alive is the only ting we've done right, and even then we haven't lived up to even a fraction of our games' potential.
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2011, 07:06:53 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 17, 2011, 06:57:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 17, 2011, 05:19:05 PM
That's the truth! I sometimes think that keeping our games alive is the only ting we've done right, and even then we haven't lived up to even a fraction of our games' potential.

Ireeland won't have the margins in future to continue with the mediocrity that has been so much a feature of the past.
Post by: moysider on August 18, 2011, 12:59:57 AM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on November 19, 2010, 10:26:47 AM
I have a very limited ability as far as the oul teanga is concerned and so the pragmatist in me would welcome the commentary in English; am I no longer a real Irishman?

Sadly, your not. Unless, of course, you support Celtic or Manchester United.
Post by: armaghniac on September 01, 2011, 10:41:16 PM
The minor game is simultaneously on TV3 (as Béarla) and 3e (as Gaeilge). The latter may not be available everywhere but it shows some response all the same. 
Post by: Blowitupref on September 02, 2011, 12:06:00 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2011, 10:41:16 PM
The minor game is simultaneously on TV3 (as Béarla) and 3e (as Gaeilge). The latter may not be available everywhere but it shows some response all the same. 

Will be interesting to see the Béarla,Gaeilge viewing figures afterwards.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 02, 2011, 09:55:21 AM
We can't get 3e for the Gaeilge unfortunately.
Post by: armaghniac on September 02, 2011, 02:58:55 PM
However, next year when everyone is getting are more channels on the digital perhaps it will allow more of this kind of thing and also more highlights during the week.
Post by: snoopdog on September 02, 2011, 04:36:30 PM

i dont have a problem with the minor game in Irish. But i always thought the commentator was brutal big course accent on him. Never understood what he said though so didnt matter to me.
Post by: Rossfan on September 02, 2011, 07:07:34 PM
What sort of an accent do you want a Kerry native speaker to have when he's speaking i nGaeilge?
Dublin 4? or Jedward God between us and all harm :-[
Post by: lenny on September 02, 2011, 08:54:02 PM
this will be the first year for me to understand any of the commentary in the minor game so looking forward to it. cant believe commentary in english hasnt been introduced far sooner but hopefully its here to stay.
Post by: Rossfan on September 02, 2011, 09:47:10 PM
Could you not be a proper Irishman and learn the native language of this country ?
I suppose you'd be very upset if someone said you were British.... so prove them wrong by learning the Irish language.

An Ghaeilge Abú
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 02, 2011, 10:05:30 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on September 02, 2011, 04:36:30 PM

i dont have a problem with the minor game in Irish. But i always thought the commentator was brutal big course accent on him. Never understood what he said though so didnt matter to me.

At least Mícheál Ó Sé actually has a few Celtic Crosses in his back pocket. I'd much rather listen to him in the vernacular than some spoofer like Marty or Ger who have probably never played a game in their lives.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 02, 2011, 10:39:12 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 02, 2011, 10:05:30 PM

At least Mícheál Ó Sé actually has a few Celtic Crosses in his back pocket. I'd much rather listen to him in the vernacular than some spoofer like Marty or Ger who have probably never played a game in their lives.

Plus even if you have no focal whatsoever, you'd still be wiser and better off listening to Mícheál Ó Sé then the other two rent-a-quotes.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 02, 2011, 11:03:34 PM

That "brutal big course accent" Snoop is probably some of the purest West Kerry Irish you'll ever hear. Mother of God... :-\ :-\