GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: donelli on November 10, 2010, 01:08:06 PM

Title: GAA Books 2010
Post by: donelli on November 10, 2010, 01:08:06 PM
Took a quick look in easons yesterday to see what was new and available for Christmas...
Dara O Se autobiography
Dan Shanahan autobiography
John Mullane autobiography
Voices from Croke park
The Club (a 12 month account on some club in Clare i think)
Also heard Liam Hayes is bringing out a book.

Anyone read/recommend any of these or others ....and are any worth the purchase??
Title: Re: GAA Books 2010
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 10, 2010, 01:32:04 PM
The Club is written by Christy O'Connor who writes for the Sunday Times, extracts look good, Kieran Shannon in the Tribune was singing its praises last weekend.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 10, 2010, 02:42:21 PM
Quote from: donelli on November 10, 2010, 01:08:06 PM
Took a quick look in easons yesterday to see what was new and available for Christmas...
Dara O Se autobiography
Dan Shanahan autobiography
John Mullane autobiography
Voices from Croke park
The Club (a 12 month account on some club in Clare i think)
Also heard Liam Hayes is bringing out a book.

Anyone read/recommend any of these or others ....and are any worth the purchase??

I have read Darragh's book....interesting read...but he doesnt ruffle any feathers....apart from giving his Uncle a few digs...He keeps quiet on a lot of issues that everyone knows he has an opinion on....however for anyone remotely interested in football you will really enjoy it.

Liam Hayes' book isnt new...it's an updated version of the original which he brought out in the 90s....it set the standard then for GAA autobiogs and is still, if not the best, one of the best GAA books ever written.

The voices yoke is a collection of stories from and about GAA lads produced by the GPA....

The other 3 are on my list of must buys and I'll get around to them soon.....Christy O'Connor wrote The Club and recounts a year in the life of his own club St Joseph's Doura Barefield in Clare....if its anywhere near as good as his last book about hurling keepers  "Last Man Standing" then it'll be a superb read.
Post by: Jinxy on November 10, 2010, 03:12:37 PM
Christy O'Connor was on Newstalk with one of the other lads from the club the other night.
Excellent interview and after hearing what it's about I'm definitely going to buy it.
Post by: Tubberman on November 10, 2010, 03:15:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 10, 2010, 03:12:37 PM
Christy O'Connor was on Newstalk with one of the other lads from the club the other night.
Excellent interview and after hearing what it's about I'm definitely going to buy it.

Yeah, was a great interview. Think I might drop the hint to Santy to leave it under the tree for me.
He's a brother of Jamesie O'Connor, I never knew that before the Newstalk interview...
Post by: magpie seanie on November 10, 2010, 04:16:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 10, 2010, 03:15:04 PM

Yeah, was a great interview. Think I might drop the hint to Santy to leave it under the tree for me.
He's a brother of Jamesie O'Connor, I never knew that before the Newstalk interview...

I was thinking the same but after hearing the interview I think I'm going to buy it at the weekend. Should be good. Can't wait. Also never knew Chrsity O'Connor was Jamesie's brother.

Glad to hear Liam Hayes book is out again. Never read it the first time.
Post by: tyroneboi on November 10, 2010, 07:07:56 PM
Tony Griffin the Clare hurler has a book out since the summer time there called Screaming at the Sky about the cycling he undertook a few years ago. It could be put on the list for Christmas along with The Club by Christy O'Connor which sounds excellent. A couple of other ones are The Ecstasy and the Agony all about Waterford hurling about their successes and failures over the past decade and also Brothers in Sport looks a decent read all about famous siblings in hurling and football.
Post by: Real Talk on November 10, 2010, 09:31:44 PM
I heard that the 'elder' James McCartan is doing an autobiography for the Christmas market and also coincides with the 50th Anniversary of Downs first Sam in 1960. Don't know who the author is though
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 11, 2010, 02:37:32 PM
I heard the Damian Lawlor book, Working on a Dream, was a great book - Anyone read it?
Post by: INDIANA on November 13, 2010, 05:14:22 PM

havent put it down. Genius book in my view. one of the best I've ever read. Fed up reading the bullshit autobiographies.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 14, 2010, 03:46:16 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 13, 2010, 05:14:22 PM

havent put it down. Genius book in my view. one of the best I've ever read. Fed up reading the bullshit autobiographies.

Great recommendation. Indiana - you're on my list of feckers I have to have a pint with.
Post by: Triggerhappy on November 14, 2010, 09:08:08 PM
The club is an excellent book, bought it last saturday had it read by sinday evening - totally engrossing!!!
Post by: under the bar on November 14, 2010, 10:19:15 PM
"Jump Ship" by Paddy O'Rourke should be a winner.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 16, 2010, 11:50:11 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 10, 2010, 04:16:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 10, 2010, 03:15:04 PM
I was thinking the same but after hearing the interview I think I'm going to buy it at the weekend. Should be good. Can't wait. Also never knew Chrsity O'Connor was Jamesie's brother.

It sounds like the stand out book of the year, he's a fair good writer and in the interview it came across as a warts and all book.
Its the only one I'm putting on my Santa list!
Up The Joes!
Post by: Don Johnson on November 16, 2010, 12:16:26 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on November 10, 2010, 09:31:44 PM
I heard that the 'elder' James McCartan is doing an autobiography for the Christmas market and also coincides with the 50th Anniversary of Downs first Sam in 1960. Don't know who the author is though

Is that some sort of stupid joke?
Post by: ONeill on November 16, 2010, 08:16:37 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on November 16, 2010, 12:16:26 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on November 10, 2010, 09:31:44 PM

Is that some sort of stupid joke?

It's modestly called "The King of Down Football"
Post by: Puckoon on November 16, 2010, 09:59:23 PM
I thought that myself when I saw the cover O'Neill. The modesty of it indeed!
Post by: nrico2006 on November 17, 2010, 08:40:17 AM
Just reading an article on the release of the book myself there and couldn't believe the title.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 18, 2010, 12:29:02 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 17, 2010, 08:40:17 AM
Just reading an article on the release of the book myself there and couldn't believe the title.

The title is just stating what he is.
Went to a Leinster Hurling Final between Kilkenny and Offaly and was on the hill beside a group of Offaly fans.
Got talking to one of them anyway, told him I was more of the Football persuasion, and came from Down.
He turned and said "Down, the home of King James, he was the best there's ever been". :'(
Says it all.
Post by: Zapatista on November 18, 2010, 11:27:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 10, 2010, 01:32:04 PM
The Club is written by Christy O'Connor who writes for the Sunday Times, extracts look good, Kieran Shannon in the Tribune was singing its praises last weekend.

Anyone listen to the interview on Radio 1 today? I missed it and might check it out later but only if it's a good interview.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 18, 2010, 11:42:27 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 18, 2010, 12:29:02 PM

The title is just stating what he is.Went to a Leinster Hurling Final between Kilkenny and Offaly and was on the hill beside a group of Offaly fans.
Got talking to one of them anyway, told him I was more of the Football persuasion, and came from Down.
He turned and said "Down, the home of King James, he was the best there's ever been". :'(
Says it all.

In fairness Paddy Mo, Sean O'Neill ,Greg Blaney and Mickey Linden would have equal claim to the title.....James just managed to take advantage first..
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2010, 11:57:51 PM

The title is just stating what he is.
Went to a Leinster Hurling Final between Kilkenny and Offaly and was on the hill beside a group of Offaly fans.
Says it all.

Probably talking about Colgan.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 19, 2010, 01:19:04 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 18, 2010, 11:42:27 PM

The title is just stating what he is.Went to a Leinster Hurling Final between Kilkenny and Offaly and was on the hill beside a group of Offaly fans.
Says it all.

In fairness Paddy Mo, Sean O'Neill ,Greg Blaney and Mickey Linden would have equal claim to the title.....James just managed to take advantage first..

I couldn't agree more 5 Sams; you could include a few more there as well (McAlarney, Lennon, Wee James), but I have reason to believe that the title was his nickname in the sixties throughout Ireland - maybe he is just reminiscing... Book launch was on the 16th; does anyone know if he had a jump suit on with aviator sunglasses? uh-ha-ha 8)
Post by: S Áine on December 02, 2010, 03:41:56 PM
'FROM CLONARD TO CROKE'. A History of St Galls GAC, 1910 - 2010.

From 'Clonard To Croke' is a painstakingly researched and detailed book by J.A. Walshe which chronicles the formation and highs and lows of Cumann Naomh Gall over the last one hundred years. While 2010 saw the senior hurlers and footballers reach the 'Holy Grail' of Croke Park, with the footballers tasting the ultimate glory, this book tells how St Galls came to be and what went before the glorious year of 2010. The long awaited launch will take place in the clubrooms on December the 8th and will include a contribution from renowned historian Dr Eamon Phoenix. All interested Gaels and others are cordially invited to attend. The book will of course be on sale at the launch. For anyone interested in purchasing it please be reminded that this is a limited edition so people are advised to buy early as when they're gone they're gone.
The author hails from Cork originally who has spent many years teaching in Belfast and played for and managed teams in St Galls.

Post by: cogito on December 02, 2010, 05:26:08 PM
I got stuck into Christy O'Connor's 'The Club' in the last week or so. Was meant to be a Christmas present for someone else but with the weather the way it was I got stuck into it ;D

Fantastic book. Would recommend it to anyone.
Post by: seafoid on December 07, 2010, 09:08:50 AM
not a book but looks very tempting

http://peoplesrepublicofcork.buy.ie/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=75&products_id=658
Post by: The Worker on December 08, 2010, 10:24:12 PM
Any good GAA DVDs out for christmas?
Post by: furboot on December 15, 2010, 04:47:13 PM
Quote from: The Worker on December 08, 2010, 10:24:12 PM
Any good GAA DVDs out for christmas?

haven't seen them but heard some ads on the 'wireless' that sounded like there are 8 or 10 full length football and hurling matches released on DVD this year. The Tipp v Galway hurling match would be my choice of a great match to watch again !
Post by: ck on December 19, 2010, 10:28:08 PM
Has anyone read Darragh O'Sheas book? Thinking of buying it but not if it's just a fluffy bit of niceboy stuff. Does it really get into issues about playing with the Kerry team? Does he talk in detail about how he trains etc?
Would appreciate an insight.. cheers
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 20, 2010, 12:49:38 AM
Have been manic busy the last few weeks so haven't got around to buying the Club yet but will be doing so this week. Christy O'Connor is a top GAA writer. Last Man Standing was superb. The Club sounds like it could be better. Christy's great skill is to not hold back in terms of content but never looking like he is being invasive in what he is writing about.

By the way has anyone read Damien Lawlor's book last year about the Waterford footballers? I couldn't get my hands on it then but might pick it up if it is around the place and worth reading.
Post by: INDIANA on December 20, 2010, 12:54:10 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 20, 2010, 12:49:38 AM
Have been manic busy the last few weeks so haven't got around to buying the Club yet but will be doing so this week. Christy O'Connor is a top GAA writer. Last Man Standing was superb. The Club sounds like it could be better. Christy's great skill is to not hold back in terms of content but never looking like he is being invasive in what he is writing about.

By the way has anyone read Damien Lawlor's book last year about the Waterford footballers? I couldn't get my hands on it then but might pick it up if it is around the place and worth reading.

Pick it up. Great book as well.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 20, 2010, 10:35:29 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 20, 2010, 12:54:10 AM

Cheers Indy. Will do. With those two books I'll be watching damn all TV by the sound of things!
Post by: S Áine on December 21, 2010, 01:41:02 AM
Quote from: S Áine on December 02, 2010, 03:41:56 PM
'FROM CLONARD TO CROKE'. A History of St Galls GAC, 1910 - 2010.

From 'Clonard To Croke' is a painstakingly researched and detailed book by J.A. Walshe which chronicles the formation and highs and lows of Cumann Naomh Gall over the last one hundred years. While 2010 saw the senior hurlers and footballers reach the 'Holy Grail' of Croke Park, with the footballers tasting the ultimate glory, this book tells how St Galls came to be and what went before the glorious year of 2010. The long awaited launch will take place in the clubrooms on December the 8th and will include a contribution from renowned historian Dr Eamon Phoenix. All interested Gaels and others are cordially invited to attend. The book will of course be on sale at the launch. For anyone interested in purchasing it please be reminded that this is a limited edition so people are advised to buy early as when they're gone they're gone.
The author hails from Cork originally who has spent many years teaching in Belfast and played for and managed teams in St Galls.

Think that book is nearly sold out in case anyone's still looking it.
Post by: Louth Exile on December 21, 2010, 01:03:31 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 20, 2010, 10:35:29 AM

Cheers Indy. Will do. With those two books I'll be watching damn all TV by the sound of things!

I couldn't get the club in Easons in Dundalk or Navan over the last few days, or the mighty town of Carrickmacross for that matter either!! Starting to panic a bit now that I might struggle to get it!!
Post by: George Foreman on December 21, 2010, 01:12:08 PM
I read about 8 chapters on the Waterford footballers and it was shit.  It was just a collection of match reports.  The idea for the book was brilliant, but it just wasn't very well executed from what I saw.
Post by: mattockranger on December 21, 2010, 09:29:10 PM

you have go then.....ridiculous statement
Post by: 5 Sams on December 21, 2010, 10:40:34 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on December 21, 2010, 01:03:31 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 20, 2010, 10:35:29 AM

I couldn't get the club in Easons in Dundalk or Navan over the last few days, or the mighty town of Carrickmacross for that matter either!! Starting to panic a bit now that I might struggle to get it!!

Sold out in Easons in Newry as well. I hope the Bean Cheile was cute enough to get it bought early..
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 22, 2010, 12:38:11 PM
Finished The Club in my third sitting with it last night. Outstanding from start to finish, great end to it and it's as honest and refreshing as I heard it was. Will be sitting down with it again over the Christmas. The newstalk with Christy O'Connor is here http://www.newstalk.ie/2010/programmes/all-programmes/offtheball/the-club/ (http://www.newstalk.ie/2010/programmes/all-programmes/offtheball/the-club/)
Post by: donelli on December 23, 2010, 09:28:33 AM
O'Connor's 'the club' was still available in easons in rushmere craigavon yesterday. Picked up my copy there
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 26, 2010, 12:22:56 PM
I bought this one jinxy, couldn't leave it down.   
Post by: Orior on December 26, 2010, 12:49:43 PM
I'm reading The Gambler by Oisín McConville's.

Could care too much about the gambling bit - more interested in what was happening with the county team between 1994 and 1998.
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 26, 2010, 03:46:03 PM
I think orior the worst gamble ye took was when ye let yer man with the golf club above your head there in the avatar go to Galway !!
Post by: Orior on December 26, 2010, 07:19:46 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 26, 2010, 03:46:03 PM
I think orior the worst gamble ye took was when ye let yer man with the golf club above your head there in the avatar go to Galway !!

Didnt know he played left handed
Post by: Celt_Man on December 26, 2010, 07:48:34 PM
The auld fella was bought Dara O'Sé and Dan Shanahan's Autobiography for Xmas.  Just a coincidence that I want to read them too... looking forward to them... May get my hands on The Club too
Post by: donelli on December 28, 2010, 03:15:22 PM
3/4 way through 'the club'. great read, best gaa book for a long while..
Post by: ck on December 28, 2010, 03:27:28 PM
Bought Dara O'Sheas book this morning in Sligo. Looking forward to it, will give you all a review. Also heard this morning that Martin McHugh is in the middle of writing a book. It surprised me to be honest considering the man has done nothing on the pitch since 1992 and as a manager of Cavan in 1996 or something? That's 14 years as a pundit and writing in tabloids. Can't see it being a great book TBH. He should put his money where his mouth is and manage his own county. Then he could have material for a book.
Post by: Celt_Man on December 28, 2010, 05:23:48 PM
Quote from: ck on December 28, 2010, 03:27:28 PM
Bought Dara O'Sheas book this morning in Sligo. Looking forward to it, will give you all a review. Also heard this morning that Martin McHugh is in the middle of writing a book. It surprised me to be honest considering the man has done nothing on the pitch since 1992 and as a manager of Cavan in 1996 or something? That's 14 years as a pundit and writing in tabloids. Can't see it being a great book TBH. He should put his money where his mouth is and manage his own county. Then he could have material for a book.

He won Donegal's first All-Ireland as a Player and Cavan's first Ulster title in 28 years as a Manager.  That is more than enough in my book - pardon the pun!  You could argue that is the same/more of an achievement than McConville or boys like that who have written a book
Post by: magpie seanie on December 29, 2010, 04:25:51 PM
Finished "The Club" in jig time. A simply fantastic read. Some of the parallels with my own club were astounding. A must read for anyone involved in the GAA.
Post by: haze on December 29, 2010, 04:55:10 PM
got Dan Shanahan, Dara O Se and Voices from Croke Park.

Nearly finished Voices from Croke Park- nothing spectacular but it is a very enjoyablve read with some good stories within. Good mix of players selected as well I think. I have found the Bernard Flynn and Michael Duignan pieces the most interesting so far.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 30, 2010, 04:12:43 AM
Quote from: ck on December 28, 2010, 03:27:28 PM

>:( >:(
Post by: Bud Wiser on January 01, 2011, 01:47:14 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 29, 2010, 04:25:51 PM
Finished "The Club" in jig time. A simply fantastic read. Some of the parallels with my own club were astounding. A must read for anyone involved in the GAA.

I liked the part where the manager asked what kind of a team did they have?
"Oh we have twelve fairly good players"
"and who are the three bad ones"
"We have no bad ones, the other three are All-Stars "

Classic.

I'm encouraged by Anthony Daly's tactics with Joe Considine as well, he might give the Dubs a fighting chance this year !!   (Draws across Considine and asks him what the foook he is doing up this end of the field and to foook off back to hillbilly land where he came from or he would get himself killed or words like that, or maybe worse.   Great book and I'd say there are many, many players you will in time relate to the part where they were standing outside the gate of the house shaking hands and deciding to retire and saying to each other that it was a pleasure to have soldiered together and that that they had given it their all.  Ould lads like me still regret that maybe we could always have done better or did not make enough commitment when we had the chance so to anyone playing GAA today at any level, in the imortal words of D'Unbelievables,  Go out thyere and enjoy yourselves, every day God sends you, you lucky feckers.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 06, 2011, 04:59:32 PM
Got 'The Club' as a present and read it over two days during the holidays. A great read.
Post by: ck on January 07, 2011, 09:35:07 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 06, 2011, 04:59:32 PM
Got 'The Club' as a present and read it over two days during the holidays. A great read.

Have not heard a single bad word about the club. What is it all about? A spoof club, piss take?
Post by: 5 Sams on January 07, 2011, 09:41:58 PM
Quote from: ck on January 07, 2011, 09:35:07 PM

Have not heard a single bad word about the club. What is it all about? A spoof club, piss take?

In fact the complete opposite CK...I'll give you a bye ball and pretend you are taking the piss. On the other hand if you're not takin the piss I'd question the wisdom of you posting on an internet thread about GAA books if you don't know who Christy O'Connor is.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2011, 10:26:54 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 07, 2011, 09:41:58 PM

In fact the complete opposite CK...I'll give you a bye ball and pretend you are taking the piss. On the other hand if you're not takin the piss I'd question the wisdom of you posting on an internet thread about GAA books if you don't know who Christy O'Connor is.
Gonna order it this week on amazon.  Have my reservations about how "warts and all" a book can be when written by an existing clubman.
Post by: ck on January 08, 2011, 12:52:30 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 07, 2011, 09:41:58 PM

Of course I know who he is, I just wanted to know in what manner it was written as everyone seems to love it, young and old. I still have no idea what it's about though. Gonna google it now.
Post by: tyroneman on January 08, 2011, 10:00:03 AM
Read that book about the Waterford footballers. Fantastic. A real eye opener with some great stories.  Have utmost respect for the coaches and fellas that dedicate themselves like that in a county consumed by hurling.

The updated 'out of our skins' is next on the list. Anyone read it?
Post by: Just Puck It on January 08, 2011, 11:04:54 AM
Just bought Christy O'Connor's 'The Club' and Tony Griffin's 'Screaming at the Sky' of Amazon, here's hoping they'll keep the January blues at bay for the next couple of weeks!
Post by: ck on January 08, 2011, 11:09:11 PM
Quote from: Just Puck It on January 08, 2011, 11:04:54 AM
Just bought Christy O'Connor's 'The Club' and Tony Griffin's 'Screaming at the Sky' of Amazon, here's hoping they'll keep the January blues at bay for the next couple of weeks!

Let us know what the club is like. Looking forward to getting it at some stage.
Post by: ck on January 09, 2011, 01:04:52 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on January 08, 2011, 10:00:03 AM
Read that book about the Waterford footballers. Fantastic. A real eye opener with some great stories.  Have utmost respect for the coaches and fellas that dedicate themselves like that in a county consumed by hurling.

The updated 'out of our skins' is next on the list. Anyone read it?

What is the Waterford footballers book called?
Title: GAA Books 2010
Post by: 5 Sams on January 14, 2011, 12:32:17 AM
Cant find another home for this but here goes..I have just read Tom Humphries' "Dublin V Kerry" for the umpteenth time....with all due respects to Christy and "The Club" and Liam with "Out of our Skins"....this is as good as it gets for books on football or any aspect of the GAA for that matter...anyone with an interest in the "Golden Years" or "De Dubs"....do yourself a favour......a superb piece of work...

(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/514iprMwYRL.jpg)
Post by: Qwerty28 on January 22, 2011, 07:02:06 PM
Anyone think that The Club might have been a little overrated? Enjoyed Out of our Skins by Liam Hayes far more, even though it was 20 years since it was written,it still kept its freshness. Be intereing to see a similar style diary type book being released by a current inter county player.

Bought Voices from Croke Park today so thats next on the list. By any chance has anyone seen A Season of Sundays 2010 knocking about fairly cheap, cant afford the €30+ at the moment!
Post by: Gold on January 22, 2011, 11:31:53 PM
The Club was an absolute bore for me--couldnt finish it--talkin about meetings and minor finals--boring
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 09, 2011, 11:25:42 PM
Have to say I thoroughly enjoyed The Club. I came across the 1999 AI club final programme the other night, forgot I was there. Can anyone explain why Christy O'Connor is wearing a Tyrone jersey in the team photo in the programme?

Almost finished Dan Shanahan's book, surprisingly quite good.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2011, 12:44:17 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 14, 2011, 12:32:17 AM
Cant find another home for this but here goes..I have just read Tom Humphries' "Dublin V Kerry" for the umpteenth time....with all due respects to Christy and "The Club" and Liam with "Out of our Skins"....this is as good as it gets for books on football or any aspect of the GAA for that matter...anyone with an interest in the "Golden Years" or "De Dubs"....do yourself a favour......a superb piece of work...

That era has been over-reported in my opinion. But if you are looking for a great book from that era, notwithstanding Tom's fine effort, Michael Foley's Kings of September is out on its own. A fantastic read and, for me, it is between him and Christy O'Connor's The Club for best GAA book I've ever read. Currently reading Out of Our Skins and nearly finished it. Being honest I have been a bit underwhelmed by it. Great insight but Hayes comes across as a very odd boy.
Post by: ballinaman on February 10, 2011, 12:56:34 AM
Quote from: Gold on January 22, 2011, 11:31:53 PM
The Club was an absolute bore for me--couldnt finish it--talkin about meetings and minor finals--boring

Aye, didn't think it was great. Found it fairly repetitive.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 10, 2011, 06:29:00 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2011, 12:44:17 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 14, 2011, 12:32:17 AM

That era has been over-reported in my opinion. But if you are looking for a great book from that era, notwithstanding Tom's fine effort, Michael Foley's Kings of September is out on its own. A fantastic read and, for me, it is between him and Christy O'Connor's The Club for best GAA book I've ever read. Currently reading Out of Our Skins and nearly finished it. Being honest I have been a bit underwhelmed by it. Great insight but Hayes comes across as a very odd boy.

Post by: magpie seanie on February 11, 2011, 03:24:58 PM

I agree R&G sniper. The Club is the best GAA book I've read. Read "Out of Our Skins" a couple of weeks later and was a little disappointed. A good read alright but I was expecting it to be one of the best I ever read. Hayes seems odd alright and knows well he's portraying himself as such. I'd say if we're all honest we're all a bit odd in ways.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 11, 2011, 04:15:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 11, 2011, 03:24:58 PM

I agree R&G sniper. The Club is the best GAA book I've read. Read "Out of Our Skins" a couple of weeks later and was a little disappointed. A good read alright but I was expecting it to be one of the best I ever read. Hayes seems odd alright and knows well he's portraying himself as such. I'd say if we're all honest we're all a bit odd in ways.

Well Hayes certainly doesn't try to be something he is not. Refreshing honesty in the book, I'll give him that, even where it reflects badly on him. I do like the bit I am reading now about 1991 where he talks about not having the hunger to go again. Wouldn't hear that from too many even though it is an undoubted reality.