Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on October 23, 2010, 08:13:42 PM

Title: "Several dead" in helicopter crash in Mourne mountains
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2010, 08:13:42 PM
A number of people are feared dead after a helicopter crash in the Mourne Mountains in County Down on Saturday afternoon.
It is not known how many people were on board but local MLA Jim Wells said he believed that several had been killed.
He added that it had happened in an area known locally as Leitrim Lodge between Hilltown and Rostrevor.
Eyewitnesses reported that an aircraft was in distress in the area at about 1600 BST.
Police are leading the operation assisted by the Mourne Mountain Rescue Team.
A police spokesperson said that the Air Accident Investigation Authority had been informed.
Title: Re: "Several dead" in helicopter crash in Mourne mountains
Post by: Puckoon on October 23, 2010, 08:18:38 PM
Jesus thats awful.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 23, 2010, 08:23:57 PM
Terrible news
Post by: Sandino on October 23, 2010, 08:35:48 PM
Sad News indeed! Bel Tel reporting that up to four people have died.
Post by: Hereiam on October 23, 2010, 10:02:21 PM
Was it a military aircraft??????
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 10:28:47 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on October 23, 2010, 10:02:21 PM
Was it a military aircraft??????
Would it make a difference?  People are dead
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 23, 2010, 10:32:08 PM
Happened just up the road from us, about a mile from the house. We were actually out walking the dogs at the time when we heard the fire brigades heading up past the house, we had thought that maybe something had happened with a bonfire or something.  We were in the trees in Kilbroney so couldn't really see anything but we did hear a helicopter but it was probably a search one at that stage.  Terrible, just terrible.
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2010, 10:34:40 PM
We really need to ascertain if it was a military helicopter so the usual suspects can go  ;D crazy.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on October 23, 2010, 10:37:56 PM
Tragic news.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 10:43:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 23, 2010, 10:34:40 PM
We really need to ascertain if it was a military helicopter so the usual suspects can go  ;D crazy.
You bastard, I near spluttered a mouthful of red over the screen when I read that
Post by: ziggysego on October 23, 2010, 11:16:34 PM
Terrible news, no matter who was in the helicopter.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 23, 2010, 11:19:13 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 10:43:59 PM
You b**tard, I near spluttered a mouthful of red over the screen when I read that

That would be a shocking waste of a 'mouthful of red'. Are you referring to wine?
Post by: Puckoon on October 23, 2010, 11:19:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 23, 2010, 11:16:34 PM
Terrible news, no matter who was in the helicopter.

You would think that that would be the general sentiment alright ziggy - but has this board taught you nothing?
Post by: Hereiam on October 23, 2010, 11:19:58 PM
Now we all know it makes a big difference in this small corner of Ireland
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2010, 11:24:26 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on October 23, 2010, 11:19:58 PM
Keep your champagne on ice until there is confirmation. Just in case, like.
Post by: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:27:26 PM
Would anyone here genuinely celebrate the death of someone who has never done any harm just because of their occupation?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 11:27:43 PM
Only for neanderthals
Post by: Minder on October 23, 2010, 11:28:46 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:27:26 PM
Would anyone here genuinely celebrate the death of someone who has never done any harm just because of their occupation?

Is that a rhetorical question?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2010, 11:30:52 PM
You are from the north so that is a rhetorical question? No different from OWCers although they'd definitely be in a minority here.
Post by: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:33:55 PM
Not rhetorical.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 11:34:04 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 23, 2010, 11:19:13 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 10:43:59 PM
You b**tard, I near spluttered a mouthful of red over the screen when I read that

That would be a shocking waste of a 'mouthful of red'. Are you referring to wine?
Of course  :D
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 11:35:16 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:33:55 PM
Not rhetorical.
If you want to to find fault and only listen to morons, feel free.
Post by: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:42:38 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 23, 2010, 11:35:16 PM
Not rhetorical.
I know where you would stand on issues like this and I don't want to listen to morons, I think we'd both agree that this wee place would be much nicer if there were no morons.

Just genuinely shocked that in 2010 people were openly and publicly implying that they would celebrate the death of someone simply because they might wear a uniform.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2010, 11:48:09 PM
The BBC are implying it's a civilian chopper that left from St Angelo this afternoon.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2010, 11:52:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 23, 2010, 11:48:51 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:42:38 PM
Not rhetorical.
I know where you would stand on issues like this and I don't want to listen to morons, I think we'd both agree that this wee place would be much nicer if there were no morons.

Just genuinely shocked that in 2010 people were openly and publicly implying that they would celebrate the death of someone simply because they might wear a uniform.
Where did this happen?

Most uniforms don't come with a rifle belted over the shoulder.
The implication from Hereiam's post was that he was going to suspend any sympathy until he was sure of which stripe the deceased were.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:02:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 23, 2010, 11:57:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2010, 11:52:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 23, 2010, 11:48:51 PM
Quote from: Tonto on October 23, 2010, 11:42:38 PM
Not rhetorical.

Where did this happen?

Most uniforms don't come with a rifle belted over the shoulder.
The implication from Hereiam's post was that he was going to suspend any sympathy until he was sure of which stripe the deceased were.
No, it wasn't. He just asked.
Why ask? No-one else did. We'll agree to disagree* as it is both our interpretation of his question.

*That you're wrong.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 24, 2010, 12:08:06 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:06:46 AM
Man shot dead in County Derry.

Question: Where abouts in County Derry was this man shot dead?

There is implication in that question that you are going to suspend sympathy until you find out if it happened in a Mick or Prod area.

County Londonderry would answer that  ;)
Post by: Minder on October 24, 2010, 12:08:27 AM
I think Heriam was looking for another "Chinooky Ar La".
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:19:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:12:05 AM
Two men die in car crash in Poleglass

Hoods?

Why ask? These are dead people!
What are you drinking tonight?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:26:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:23:20 AM
Guinness e/s. Not great.
Better than the cans of draft. They spill over your gutties.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 24, 2010, 12:27:04 AM
I think you can give it a rest now hardstation. It was just a simple question, there are many types of helicopter user all over Ireland although I reckon it's fair enough to ask was it a military aircraft or was it carrying a Royal or someone really really important or high profile maybe?

Tragic accident anyhow
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:33:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:31:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:26:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:23:20 AM
Guinness e/s. Not great.
Better than the cans of draft. They spill over your gutties.
That's true. Feckin things explode when you open them.

I agree, sammymaguire, it was a perfectly legitimate question which was somehow turned into celebrating deaths by Tonto, aided by Tony Baloney et al.
;D Dickheed.

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:46:44 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:36:37 AM
How's the liqour in The Rex?
Have never frequented it. Or any other Shankill boozer surprisingly. I remember you saying before that you have drank in some dicey loyalist places. Bunch of Grapes with Jim 'Doris' Gray (RIP)?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2010, 12:52:10 AM
Doesn't make you a bad person for drinking in Prod bars!!! Ok the Rex (UVF bar) isn't great but we are getting off the point as we do on his site ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:54:49 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:50:05 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:46:44 AM
Have never frequented it. Or any other Shankill boozer surprisingly. I remember you saying before that you have drank in some dicey loyalist places. Bunch of Grapes with Jim 'Doris' Gray (RIP)?
The 'eye' Brox bar, as it is now. Since then, the c**k & Hen and Westbourne Glens.
Why?

Milkfish are there any bars in Jordanstown direction that aren't "prod" bars?!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2010, 12:57:13 AM
My local bars are owned by  the treasure from St Endas!!! Pretty mixed so J'town is fine
Post by: ziggysego on October 24, 2010, 01:01:17 AM
Jesus Christ lads, take your pub talk to another thread.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 01:07:56 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 24, 2010, 01:01:17 AM
Jesus Christ lads, take your pub talk to another thread.
Hardstation and Milltown are round at Hereiam's having a good auld celebratory drink. Shame.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 01:10:33 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:58:24 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:54:49 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2010, 12:50:05 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2010, 12:46:44 AM
The 'eye' Brox bar, as it is now. Since then, the c**k & Hen and Westbourne Glens.
Why?

Milkfish are there any bars in Jordanstown direction that aren't "prod" bars?!
Cloughfern Arms.

Btw, milltown, Damien Curran (Lighthouse and thon other one, Bureau) is an asshole.
Used to pass "The Cloughy" everyday when I worked in Monkstown. Surprisingly never felt the urge for a pint in it though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2010, 01:13:53 AM
Cloughy is alright when the other offy's are closed ;)

was in it one night getting a carry out and the bar is the same place. Some boy i used to work with in the Shipyard noticed me!! 'hey boy what ya doing?' nearly shat myself. but was grand in the end ;D
Post by: thewobbler on October 24, 2010, 01:15:46 AM
There are some f**king arseholes on this board.
Post by: muppet on October 24, 2010, 01:16:50 AM
Lads this thread is about probably 4 families getting the dreaded call to the house tonight.

RIP whoever they are. I really hope I don't know them for selfish reasons.
Post by: rosnarun on October 24, 2010, 01:48:46 AM
would any one here be genuinely upset if it turns out to be  4 members of the RAF or SAS?
key word being genuinely
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2010, 01:51:59 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 24, 2010, 01:48:46 AM
would any one here be genuinely upset if it turns out to be  4 members of the RAF or SAS?
key word being genuinely

Or the UDA UVF CIRA or the other groups out there??  genuinely
Post by: muppet on October 24, 2010, 02:12:03 AM
key word being genuinely

At the moment we know an accident occurred where people died. Any self respecting individual would have sympathy for the deceased and their families.

If it turns out that a pedophile priest, a Nazi executioner or the Devil himself was on board I might revise my stance. However I am not the sort to pray that accidents victims might turn out to be people I don't like.

So it's RIP and sympathies to the families.
Post by: gerry on October 24, 2010, 07:42:25 AM
a very sad sunday morning in somebodies house.  may they rest in peace.

Four feared dead in chopper crash

(UKPA) – 1 hour ago

Up to four people are feared dead after a helicopter crash in Northern Ireland.

It is believed the craft came down in the Mourne Mountains in Co Down.

Police, mountain rescue teams and coastguards were involved in a search operation after reports of a crash at 4pm on Saturday.

The site is thought to be the Leitrim Lodge picnic area near Hilltown.

Police said the exact nature of injuries was still being established.

Members of the public spotted a helicopter in the area and believed its engine sounded abnormally loud.

The emergency services later received reports that an aircraft was in difficulties.

Chartered helicopter flights in the region are a relatively common sight, with golfing groups and wedding parties known to have used them in the past. There was no immediate confirmation of the nature of yesterday's flight.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 24, 2010, 09:16:46 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 24, 2010, 02:12:03 AM
key word being genuinely

At the moment we know an accident occurred where people died. Any self respecting individual would have sympathy for the deceased and their families.

If it turns out that a pedophile priest, a Nazi executioner or the Devil himself was on board I might revise my stance. However I am not the sort to pray that accidents victims might turn out to be people I don't like.

a veery sensible post here
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 24, 2010, 10:51:39 AM
From the Beeb, updated a few minutes ago
QuoteThree dead after Mourne Mountains helicopter crash
Three people from south-eastern England have died in a helicopter crash in the Mourne Mountains on Saturday.

The dead are the pilot and two passengers who were in Northern Ireland for a a day of shooting in County Fermanagh.

The PSNI is speaking to the Metropolitan Police about contacting the families of those who died.

Air accident investigators are due at the crash scene on Sunday morning.

The helicopter is believed to have taken off from Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, and crashed about 1600 BST on Saturday near Hilltown.

Mountain rescue teams, the Ambulance service and the Fire and Rescue Service were involved in the crash aftermath.

The helicopter crashed in an area known locally as Leitrim Lodge between Hilltown and Rostrevor.

It is understood to be a medium-sized Agusta helicopter capable of carrying up to eight people.

South Down MP Margaret Ritchie said she was "very saddened" to hear of the crash.

"On behalf of the people of South Down and those I represent, I offer my deepest and most heartfelt sympathies to the families of the bereaved at this most tragic time."

Hereiam has a certain outlook which led me to believe he was hoping that the dead were military personnel by his question
Post by: Tonto on October 24, 2010, 10:56:15 AM
key word being genuinely
You are aware that between black and white there is an array of different colours, aren't you?  It doesn't have to be "celebrate" or "be upset".
Post by: rosnarun on October 25, 2010, 01:26:28 AM
key word being genuinely

so it does make a difference then   , just as long as they fit fit into your defined categories of approved and non approved  people to died.
Does this philosophy   apply to car crashes or just the more high profile (NPI) plane and helicopter crashes
Post by: muppet on October 25, 2010, 02:43:27 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 25, 2010, 01:26:28 AM
key word being genuinely

so it does make a difference then   , just as long as they fit fit into your defined categories of approved and non approved  people to died.
Does this philosophy   apply to car crashes or just the more high profile (NPI) plane and helicopter crashes

Yes you are correct. Every time I hear of a fatal accident I quickly recall all of the people that I wish died the last time there was an accident and I pray that the deceased might include one of them. Revised of course to include those I wished dead the last time that did actually die. Very political stuff this reading of accidents. I never know whether to sympathise with families and friends or to celebrate that maybe someone might have hated them.

How do you filter deaths/bad news?
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 08:38:43 AM
This thread is pathetic.

Four people were killed and we have dicks like ardmhacaabu and tonto tripping over themselves to get up on their moral high horses about percieved reactions if it had been a military flight. It wasn't a military flight ardmhaca/tonto; and nobody clearly said what you are busting yourselves to ridicule them for saying; so can you come down from these high horses and leave out the crap so the thread can get back on topic?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 04:46:31 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 08:38:43 AM
This thread is pathetic.

Four people were killed and we have dicks like ardmhacaabu and tonto tripping over themselves to get up on their moral high horses about percieved reactions if it had been a military flight. It wasn't a military flight ardmhaca/tonto; and nobody clearly said what you are busting yourselves to ridicule them for saying; so can you come down from these high horses and leave out the crap so the thread can get back on topic?
If I was to call you a retarded idiot, it would be an insult to retarded idiots.  Most people who have read this thread know what hereiam was getting at.

OTOH, you seem to need help with the basics like reading and understanding what you have read.

Post by: Franko on October 25, 2010, 04:54:32 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 04:46:31 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 08:38:43 AM
This thread is pathetic.

If I was to call you a retarded idiot, it would be an insult to retarded idiots.  Most people who have read this thread know what hereiam was getting at.

OTOH, you seem to need help with the basics like reading and understanding what you have read.

Most people thought it was a genuine question.  Only pricks like you managed to come with another motive for it.  It says more about you than anyone else that you tried your level best to be offended. You clown.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 04:56:41 PM
Really franko?

Let's see what he had to say when he answered for himself

You win 2nd place in GAABoard Mr Stupid competitiion.  Nally Stand already got 1st place
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 05:49:28 PM
"Mr Stupid Competitions" - Mature one ardmhaca.

I've made my point, either talk about the point of the thread and stop trying to make a halo for yourself by constant posts which twistin words from ONE SINGLE SOLITARY post or slide on to a different thread.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 05:54:35 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 05:49:28 PM

I've made my point, either talk about the point of the thread and stop trying to make a halo for yourself by constant posts which twistin words from ONE SINGLE SOLITARY post or slide on to a different thread.
I have stated my case and it is relevant to the thread.  I am just surprised you didn't piss your pants and tell the world when it came out that one of the dead is a friend of Charlie
Post by: Capt Pat on October 25, 2010, 06:19:27 PM
I just saw on the news that it was a load of English toffs that kicked the bucket. Gadzooks.
Post by: Hereiam on October 25, 2010, 06:43:41 PM
ardmhachaabu go away and lay down in a dark room. The facts are coming out now. Rich English toffs over here probably on one off the big estates in fermanagh that the british government still hold actin the big fella's. The pilot was an Ex RUC officer. All in all wouldn't be at all to bothered about it, just glad no Irish citizens were killed/injured around the area were it came down.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 06:47:55 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on October 25, 2010, 06:43:41 PM
ardmhachaabu go away and lay down in a dark room. The facts are coming out now. Rich English toffs over here probably on one off the big estates in fermanagh that the british government still hold actin the big fella's. The pilot was an Ex RUC officer. All in all wouldn't be at all to bothered about it, just glad no Irish citizens were killed/injured around the area were it came down.
You are an obnoxious moron.  They have families and loved ones no matter who they are. 
Post by: Franko on October 25, 2010, 06:53:44 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 04:56:41 PM
Really franko?

Let's see what he had to say when he answered for himself

You win 2nd place in GAABoard Mr Stupid competitiion.  Nally Stand already got 1st place

Fair enough, but you were straight in there well before Hereiam had clarified his point.

I suppose if I was to follow your rules of debate I'd have to say that I'm ignoring you from now on.  Then again I don't have the mentality of a child so I'll maybe not bother.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 07:05:15 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 25, 2010, 05:54:35 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 25, 2010, 05:49:28 PM

I have stated my case and it is relevant to the thread.  I am just surprised you didn't piss your pants and tell the world when it came out that one of the dead is a friend of Charlie

Now you're trying to attack me for something you admit I didn't say?! Just what age are you? :D
Post by: SHEEDY on October 25, 2010, 07:49:06 PM
have to agree with hereiam. dont live to far from the scene of the crash and while most people would have sympathies with the families of those involved nearly everyone i spoke to today wouldnt be overly bothered that a couple of english toffs were in the crash. just the part of the world we live in.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2010, 08:08:18 PM
What sort of lives do you boys have that you have to come on to an internet discussion board trying to be as offensive as possible and acting the big men?
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 28, 2010, 11:56:06 AM
Reports of another crash near the same place!
Post by: Hereiam on October 28, 2010, 11:57:46 AM
Is this a case of "SAM" still hangin about the countryside
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 28, 2010, 11:59:30 AM
Four people have been injured after a police helicopter crashed in the Mourne mountains.

The accident happened close to the scene of last weekend's fatal helicopter crash.

The helicopter was in the area on Thursday as part of a police clearance operation in connection with Saturday's crash. It had just taken off when it overturned.

The four people on board were able to walk away from the wreckage.

Emergency services are at the scene in Hilltown, County Down.

They are not believed to be seriously injured but are being taken to hospital for treatment.

The Air Accident Investigation Branch has been informed. The helicopter was on lease to the PSNI.

On Saturday, three people were killed in a helicopter crash in the Mourne Mountains in an area known locally as Leitrim Lodge, between Hilltown and Rostrevor.

Charles Stisted, Ian Wooldridge and their pilot, who has not yet been named, died when the aircraft crashed.

The men were travelling back to England from County Tyrone, where they were part of a private shooting party at Baronscourt country estate.

Mr Stisted, 47, was chief executive of the Guards Polo Club at Windsor and a personal friend of the Prince of Wales.

Mr Wooldridge, from Windlesham, Surrey, was also a member of the Guards Polo Club.

Together with his brother Graham, he ran a £40m-a-year demolition and construction company.

Mr Wooldridge was a prominent figure in Dublin-based Harcourt Developments, the property company involved in the development of the Titanic Quarter in Belfast.