GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: REDCOL on September 03, 2010, 08:00:35 PM

Title: Kerry Reg Car Spotted in Monaghan
Post by: REDCOL on September 03, 2010, 08:00:35 PM
Looks like Mayo isnt the only county that is talking to the Waterville Wanderer
Title: Re: Kerry Reg Car Spotted in Monaghan
Post by: armaghniac on September 03, 2010, 08:18:08 PM
Are  you sure it wasn't Kerry Mike?
Post by: Orangemac on September 03, 2010, 11:18:24 PM
Maybe it's Paudie ;)
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2010, 11:22:44 PM
Micko has got lost ?
Post by: REDCOL on September 04, 2010, 08:59:03 AM
Monaghan enter race to secure legendary Micko

By Cliona Foley

Saturday September 04 2010

MONAGHAN are the latest county to go looking for Kerry legend Mick O'Dwyer to fill their vacant senior football manager's position.

It is understood that Monaghan officials sought a meeting with O'Dwyer in recent days.

He must have left Waterville early yesterday

Post by: Onlooker on September 04, 2010, 12:06:39 PM
 Would Micko not have a Wicklow registered car. :) :)
Post by: omagh_gael on September 04, 2010, 12:29:56 PM
Waterville - Castlebar return = 348km

Waterville - Monaghan return = 503km (courtesy of google maps)

Farney here I come!!

Post by: laoisgaa on September 04, 2010, 12:41:30 PM
Micko doesn't live in Waterville as far as I know.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 04, 2010, 12:48:45 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on September 04, 2010, 12:41:30 PM

Well Ivor Calley didnt live in West Cork either.
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 04, 2010, 01:35:11 PM
QuoteMicko doesn't live in Waterville as far as I know.

You're right, He lives outside the village to be technical about it, and it was not my car, but if Micko is on the move maybe I could get a job with him, have great skills as a bottle carrier and know the Monaghan football scene well  ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 04, 2010, 07:26:12 PM
When asked by the Tribune last Summer  still being a No. 2, Grimley stated "There was only one management job I wanted and I didn't get it".

To be fair, that was before the farce over the 2009 Armagh appointment developed.
Post by: bredaghgael on September 05, 2010, 03:46:18 PM
 Come to Belfast on Sept 16th and ask him in person as he is a guest at the Bredagh Talks Sam & Down Chat Night.It'll cost you a tenner.
Post by: Apple Crumble on September 05, 2010, 05:23:49 PM
Quote from: bredaghgael on September 05, 2010, 03:46:18 PM
Come to Belfast on Sept 16th and ask him in person as he is a guest at the Bredagh Talks Sam & Down Chat Night.It'll cost you a tenner.

Time for Micko to go to the museum................this is a joke......
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 05, 2010, 05:29:42 PM
QuoteTime for Micko to go to the museum................this is a joke......

Lets see you giving any level of commitment to the GAA when you are 70+ never mind what Micko has been doing for 50 odd years.

Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 05, 2010, 05:31:17 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 05, 2010, 05:29:42 PM

Lets see you giving any level of commitment to the GAA when you are 70+ never mind what Micko has been doing for 50 odd years.

I agree
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 05, 2010, 05:36:53 PM

and all for the love of the game too  ::)
Post by: NAG1 on September 06, 2010, 10:19:33 AM

I will do it to Im 80 for the same readdies he has coined over the years.
This man sickens my happiness a total mercenary.

Actually, scratch that I will still be making a contribution when I am older (maybe not 80) for my club because thats what people do and not look a cent in return.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 10:35:16 AM
Will be a sad boring world when you bucks get your version of purity. Giving out about a man that had raised the profile of our games wherever he goes, couldn't pay the man enough for what he has contributed.
I've no idea what he gets paid, more than entitled to expenses anyways.
Post by: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 12:05:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 05, 2010, 05:36:53 PM

I dont think there are too many who have put as much into the game as Micko.

As player
Kerry
Munster Senior Football Championship:
Winner (12): 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964 (sub), 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1972
Runner-up (4): 1956, 1971, 1973, 1974

Four All-Ireland Senior Football Championships
Eight National Football League Championships
Twelve Munster Senior Football Championships
One Railway Cup
Three Kerry Senior Football Championship finals with Waterville as player-coach

As manager
Eight All-Ireland Senior Football Championship titles
Three All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championship titles
Six Railway Cup titles
Two Leinster Senior Football Championship titles with Kildare
One Leinster Senior Football Championship title with Laois
One Leinster U21 Football Championship titles with Kildare
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 01:45:54 PM
Put as much into the game or who has had more sucess?

The GAA is full of people who have put their whole lives in to it and without the rewards (financial or otherwise) that Micko has got. 
Post by: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 02:17:47 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 01:45:54 PM

The GAA is full of people who have put their whole lives in to it and without the rewards (financial or otherwise) that Micko has got.

He has put more in than you or I. Typical Irish begrudgery. He is getting a few quid out of it, its not the end of the world and anyone employing him knows what they are getting. The fact that a 73 year old is still in big demand tells you all you need to know.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 06, 2010, 02:59:01 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 12:05:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 05, 2010, 05:36:53 PM

I dont think there are too many who have put as much into the game as Micko.

As player
Kerry
Munster Senior Football Championship:
Winner (12): 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964 (sub), 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1972
Runner-up (4): 1956, 1971, 1973, 1974

Four All-Ireland Senior Football Championships
Eight National Football League Championships
Twelve Munster Senior Football Championships
One Railway Cup

As manager
Eight All-Ireland Senior Football Championship titles
Three All-Ireland Under-21 Football Championship titles
Six Railway Cup titles
Two Leinster Senior Football Championship titles with Kildare
One Leinster Senior Football Championship title with Laois
One Leinster U21 Football Championship titles with Kildare

Thats is some of what he has gotten out of the game
Post by: Logan on September 06, 2010, 03:06:03 PM
Fair play to him I say

Plenty of begrudgers on here.

As for Monaghan, it's a terrible step backwards if they go for Micko.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 06, 2010, 03:48:02 PM
I think it's sad that so many people are willing to run down a true legend of football like Dwyer. To suggest that he's a freeloading mercenary is pure nonsense and downright insulting. You will rarely come across a more sincere and humble individual in the GAA.

The man was minted long before he came to Kildare in 1990. His managerial record has no equal and I doubt it will ever be bettered.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2010, 04:47:55 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 06, 2010, 03:48:02 PM
I think it's sad that so many people are willing to run down a true legend of football like Dwyer. To suggest that he's a freeloading mercenary is pure nonsense and downright insulting. You will rarely come across a more sincere and humble individual in the GAA.

The man was minted long before he came to Kildare in 1990. His managerial record has no equal and I doubt it will ever be bettered.
Well said.
Post by: del_carroll on September 06, 2010, 05:13:10 PM

Here Here
Post by: Logan on September 06, 2010, 05:14:36 PM

Post by: Main Street on September 06, 2010, 06:41:01 PM
I have nothing but good thoughts about the man, however, a good sized belly is a prerequisite to manage in Monaghan.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 07:05:46 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 06, 2010, 02:17:47 PM

He has put more in than you or I. Typical Irish begrudgery. He is getting a few quid out of it, its not the end of the world and anyone employing him knows what they are getting. The fact that a 73 year old is still in big demand tells you all you need to know.
He got a lot more out of it than you or me too. 
Post by: ardmhachaabu on September 06, 2010, 07:10:06 PM

Well said
Post by: Maguire01 on September 06, 2010, 08:05:58 PM
I wouldn't have him anywhere near Monaghan. For a start, we'd definitely be heading for Division 2.

I thought one of the arguments for replacing Banty was the cost of his setup?

I really hope nothing comes of this.
Post by: Apple Crumble on September 06, 2010, 08:53:26 PM

A great man sure, but don't you think its time to move on. 

Hang up the boots.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 07, 2010, 01:17:22 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on September 06, 2010, 10:19:33 AM

I will do it to Im 80 for the same readdies he has coined over the years.
This man sickens my happiness a total mercenary.

Actually, scratch that I will still be making a contribution when I am older (maybe not 80) for my club because thats what people do and not look a cent in return.

Mick O'Dwyer has had his finances investigated by the tax man and nothing untoward was found. This was a direct result of arseholes like you and pintsofguinness making unfounded accusations. I am sick to the gills with how the mods on here allow Mick O'Dwyer be slandered like this constantly.

So, at this point, Mick O'Dwyer is the last manager that can be accused of these payments as he is the only one that has been in investigated.
I think its time that lads like Harte, Kernan and McGeeney had their finances looked at ..dont you think ? I mean, if you lads keep bringing this up then this is the next, logical step.

Post by: Main Street on September 07, 2010, 11:22:19 AM
Not that I give the slightest consideration to any begrudging reference to Micko,
He was proven fully tax compliant, whilst that is admirable, it is not an indication that he was not paid for GAA work.
Micko's word is good enough for me.
The tax inspector is concerned that payments in and out of Micko's business bank accounts are recorded in the ledger, are legitimate and accounted according to the tax regulations. The tax inspector is not concerned whether GAA amateur status was violated.
Post by: MCMLX on September 07, 2010, 12:19:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 07:05:46 PM

You get what you give.
Post by: lawnseed on September 09, 2010, 11:51:30 PM
mike you just slandered harte kernan and mcgeeney your right its time the mods had something to say ::) wonder if micko will stop in the fiddlers for the pretters
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2010, 12:03:04 AM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 07, 2010, 12:19:25 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 06, 2010, 07:05:46 PM

You get what you give.
No, not really....
Post by: JMohan on September 10, 2010, 07:27:38 AM
Who are in for this job - or is this the one no one wants?
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2010, 11:08:56 AM
This McEneaney legend at least has declared an interest.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFIPOSKXEDs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFIPOSKXEDs)

Post by: GAA_Punter on September 10, 2010, 11:48:19 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 04, 2010, 12:48:45 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on September 04, 2010, 12:41:30 PM

Well Ivor Calley didnt live in West Cork either.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;Dbb
Post by: Maiden1 on September 10, 2010, 12:20:48 PM
The man is a legend.  He played for Kerry for nearly 20 years.  Every team he has managed has improved significantly.  He managed Waterville to 3 county finals in a row.  He got to 11 AI finals with Kerry winning 8, took Kildare to a semi final and a final as well as coming out on the wrong side in some some epic battles with Meath.  Laois won a provincial title for the first time since 1946 when he managed them.  In the 2009 championship he beat both Kildare and Down while managing Wicklow.  A lot of counties could do worse than get Micko as manager.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 10, 2010, 12:27:33 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on September 10, 2010, 12:20:48 PM
He got to 11 AI finals with Kerry winning 8, took Kildare to a semi final and a final as well as coming out on the wrong side in some some epic battles with Meath.

He came out the right side too!: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rCMqfFvokc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rCMqfFvokc)

In the 2009 championship he beat both Kildare and Down while managing Wicklow.

Wicklow beat Kildare in 2008. Kildare knocked them out in the last round of the qualifiers last year.
Post by: Maiden1 on September 10, 2010, 12:43:58 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 10, 2010, 12:27:33 PM
He got to 11 AI finals with Kerry winning 8, took Kildare to a semi final and a final as well as coming out on the wrong side in some some epic battles with Meath.

He came out the right side too!: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rCMqfFvokc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rCMqfFvokc)

In the 2009 championship he beat both Kildare and Down while managing Wicklow.

Wicklow beat Kildare in 2008. Kildare knocked them out in the last round of the qualifiers last year.
Nearly, I should have googled first!
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2010, 05:32:38 PM
Derry need a miracle worker,  a mere saint will do for Meath,  Mayo are looking for the patron saint of lost causes.
Monaghan just need one man with all these three qualities in balanced proportions.
Micko would be overkill.
Post by: JMohan on September 10, 2010, 05:36:54 PM
'Legend'? One kick? I think you need more than that.

Who else is in for the job?

Post by: Oldhacker on September 10, 2010, 05:46:38 PM
Mick O'Dywer was the guest speaker at the Ulster All Stars do last night and said he would not have anything to do with the Monaghan job as he felt Seamus McEnaney had been very badly treated.
Post by: Schkite on September 10, 2010, 06:09:47 PM
Quote from: JMohan on September 10, 2010, 05:36:54 PM

Who else is in for the job?

Main contenders from within the county appear to be Eamon McEneaney and Mick O'Dowd, there's any amount of outside managers being linked with it, from Pete McGrath to Joe Kernan! No word on who all is nominated for sure but it should be sorted soon enough.
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2010, 08:04:28 PM
How dare you impugn what Monaghan folk regard as legend.

BTW,  don't let the old camerawork deceive you, that's the Monaghan 21 yard line he is behind.

Post by: Maguire01 on September 10, 2010, 08:36:33 PM
I'd say McEneaney managed more than one kick during his career.
Post by: JMohan on September 10, 2010, 09:08:38 PM
He was a very good free taker. Certainly not a legend in any reasonable observers books. Made sure to avoid the 'hard knocks' too if my memory serves me right ... a bit unusual on that Monaghan 80's team too from what I can remember from 30 or 25 years ago.

Ok ... More importantly ... is he any good as a manager?
Where is he now Burren? Did he do anything there?

Wasn't that successful with Louth or Monaghan before as a Senior Intercounty manager.

However, would I be wrong in saying some of that current county team played under him in a U21 team that made it to a AI semi final?

Post by: Maguire01 on September 10, 2010, 10:00:03 PM
Quote from: JMohan on September 10, 2010, 09:08:38 PM
He was a very good free taker. Certainly not a legend in any reasonable observers books.
I suppose it's all objective.
Post by: Main Street on September 11, 2010, 09:29:46 AM
He was a very good free taker. Certainly not a legend in any reasonable observers books. Made sure to avoid the 'hard knocks' too if my memory serves me right ... a bit unusual on that Monaghan 80's team too from what I can remember from 30 or 25 years ago
You are not from Monaghan are you? The free kick is Monaghan legend and he is an inseparable part of that legend. Get it?
That's the closest we have come in the memory of 3 generations to get to the AI final.
Post by: Maguire01 on September 11, 2010, 10:11:51 AM
Quote from: Main Street on September 11, 2010, 09:29:46 AM
He was a very good free taker. Certainly not a legend in any reasonable observers books. Made sure to avoid the 'hard knocks' too if my memory serves me right ... a bit unusual on that Monaghan 80's team too from what I can remember from 30 or 25 years ago
You are not from Monaghan are you? The free kick is Monaghan legend and he is an inseparable part of that legend. Get it?
That's the closest we have come in the memory of 3 generations to get to the AI final.
As far as I can remember, he won't actually say where he's from.
Post by: JMohan on September 11, 2010, 11:32:59 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 10, 2010, 10:00:03 PM
He was a very good free taker. Certainly not a legend in any reasonable observers books.
I suppose it's all objective.

That's fair 'nough

Anyway back to the point at hand - Would he be any good as a manager?