Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2010, 11:12:18 PM

Title: The Official Ryder Cup Thread,Celtic Manor Wales 2010
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2010, 11:12:18 PM
The sporting event of the year is almost upon us.

With Peter Hanson moving into automatic qualification today it leaves Monty with some serious decisions to make for his wildcard entry's.
With only one qualifying event left..next week at Gleneagles...and with the likes of Casey,Donald and Harrington not playing in it and all outside automatic qualification it will be interesting to see who Monty goes for.

Personally I would leave Harrington out.
What is for sure,some big name isn't gonna be happy when Monty makes his picks

Title: Re: The Official Ryder Cup Thread,Celtic Manor Wales 2010
Post by: gawa316 on August 22, 2010, 11:41:18 PM
Who are the players currently outside automatic qualification?

Casey, Donald, Harrington, Garcia (although he hasn't a chance) Clarke, those Italian boys anyone else?
Post by: mountainboii on August 22, 2010, 11:54:00 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on August 22, 2010, 11:41:18 PM

Casey, Donald, Harrington, Garcia (although he hasn't a chance) Clarke, those Italian boys anyone else?

The Molinaris. Francesco is in, Edoardo isn't.

Justin Rose is another in the mix. I'd say Clarke has no chance.
Post by: sammymaguire on August 23, 2010, 12:01:27 AM
Should leave Eldrick at home too!!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 23, 2010, 12:10:25 AM
Would pick Edoardo Molinari based on his form in the last 12 months - won twice on challenge tour and once on European tour and a top 3 finish on PGA tour. He'd be an obvious partner for his brother in foursomes and fourball. They won the World Cup last year as well so could be a possible 4 points in the pairs alone.
In saying that I'd be shocked if he didn't pick Harrington, Casey and Rose. If one of them don't get a pick it has to be Harrington. Don't think he's won since the PGA in '08.
Post by: gawa316 on August 23, 2010, 12:11:42 AM
Quote from: AFS on August 22, 2010, 11:54:00 PM

Justin Rose is another in the mix. I'd say Clarke has no chance.

Yeah I'd agree with you about Clarke. Tough decision then for Monty. 3 outta 5. The 5 being Rose, Donald, Casey, Harrington and Edoardo.
Post by: JimStynes on August 23, 2010, 01:09:05 AM
Anyone going to it?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 08:02:32 AM
Quote from: AFS on August 22, 2010, 11:54:00 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on August 22, 2010, 11:41:18 PM

Good call,both have been playing very well this year and playing together for them would be great as brothers.
Garcia as I'm aware has taken 3 month break from the game so defiantly is out.
I would also pick Casey along with Molinari..so that leaves one place between Harrington,Rose,Donald and even Alvaro Quiros (sp)..
Doubt very much Clarke will get in.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2010, 08:43:08 AM
Choosing Clarke as V-C is a clear indication that he'll not be playing.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 24, 2010, 04:33:20 PM
I think the arguements against are probably stronger than those for!!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/has-harrington-earned-a-ryder-wild-card-2308905.html

Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 04:38:45 PM
I don't think Harrington should get a place,actually I was thinking about it and I don't think the 4 who won't play in the final qualifying tournament at Gleneagles this week should be picked,they would be messers Casey,Harrington,Rose and Donald.
Why should they get in if they aren't bothered trying to qualify automatically
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 24, 2010, 05:25:35 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 04:38:45 PM
I don't think Harrington should get a place,actually I was thinking about it and I don't think the 4 who won't play in the final qualifying tournament at Gleneagles this week should be picked,they would be messers Casey,Harrington,Rose and Donald.
Why should they get in if they aren't bothered trying to qualify automatically
They are playing for FedEx cup points in the states this week, greedy hoors!
Sam Torrance argues for Casey to be the one left out, no mention of Stenson at all.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 06:07:18 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 24, 2010, 05:47:21 PM
Harrington, Casey and Rose are the 3 who should and must be picked..

Harrington has had a awful two years and hasn't the greatest Ryder Cup record though.
Why should they be picked if they aren't bothered turning up for the qualifying event,if they really wanted in do you not think they should be playing in Gleneagles?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 06:24:07 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 24, 2010, 06:20:46 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 06:07:18 PM

Harrington has had a awful two years and hasn't the greatest Ryder Cup record though.
Why should they be picked if they aren't bothered turning up for the qualifying event,if they really wanted in do you not think they should be playing in Gleneagles?

I'd say the're the best 3 players not on the team simple as that. I suppose you could argue that they should play in Gleneagles and whoever doesn't get picked will have no cause for complaint.

Even everything being fair and everyone done their bit to qualify by entering the tournaments on the European tour I still wouldn't pick Harrington.
I would go for Casey,Molinari and Rose.
I'd say though you are right with your picks.
Post by: Puckoon on August 24, 2010, 06:26:52 PM

I'd say the're the best 3 players not on the team simple as that. I suppose you could argue that they should play in Gleneagles and whoever doesn't get picked will have no cause for complaint.

3 biggest names. 3 best players.

Not the three players who are playing the best golf currently.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 24, 2010, 11:09:51 PM
Its a balls of a situation that Monty finds himself in. Brass tacks - the qualification system is designed to try and get the top players to stick to the European Tour and if they don't then it becomes a farce. If you want a European team of players loyal to the European tour then its great. Personally I want the best team possible so we can stuff the yanks. For me that team would include Harrington every time.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 11:20:10 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 24, 2010, 06:26:52 PM

3 biggest names. 3 best players.

Not the three players who are playing the best golf currently.

Rose has played well this year in fairness,Casey has in bits and pieces..
Harrington missed the cut in every major this year.....
Not the player he was when winning the two Brit Opens and the PGA,he has messed to much with his swing
He will most likely get picked and it would be great having a Irish golfer who plays under the tri colour on the team,but should he be picked though on his form this year ? ..... absolutely not IMO.
Molinari would be a better pick and I think playing with his brother would win more points than Harrington
Post by: Bogball XV on August 24, 2010, 11:20:21 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 24, 2010, 11:09:51 PM
Its a balls of a situation that Monty finds himself in. Brass tacks - the qualification system is designed to try and get the top players to stick to the European Tour and if they don't then it becomes a farce. If you want a European team of players loyal to the European tour then its great. Personally I want the best team possible so we can stuff the yanks. For me that team would include Harrington every time.
I think like the players, I don't really care anymore.  Maybe it's overkill and they'd be better off playing it every 3 or 4 years, but it doesn't really appeal to me anymore, anyone else feeling like that nowadays?
It could be partly that the top players (with few exceptions) really couldn't care less about it, both europeans and yanks alike.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 24, 2010, 11:24:54 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 24, 2010, 11:20:21 PM
I think like the players, I don't really care anymore.  Maybe it's overkill and they'd be better off playing it every 3 or 4 years, but it doesn't really appeal to me anymore, anyone else feeling like that nowadays?
It could be partly that the top players (with few exceptions) really couldn't care less about it, both europeans and yanks alike.

Still appeals to me. I can't wait for it.
Post by: thewobbler on August 24, 2010, 11:27:05 PM
No I think what happened is it was hyped up I to something it isn't.

Cheering for Europe is a daft thing when you think about it, so it's really more a case of cheering against the Americans. So if the Americans don't care, the whole thing is pointless.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 11:27:28 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on August 24, 2010, 11:24:54 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 24, 2010, 11:20:21 PM

Still appeals to me. I can't wait for it.

Me too,I can't wait.
If I wasn't getting married in a few weeks I'd go to it as well..
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 11:35:44 PM
Class  :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pu3OIT7mxDQ
Post by: Puckoon on August 24, 2010, 11:38:02 PM
Boycey - I think my point is mostly surrounding Harrington.

He has played really badly this year, since he changed his swing he lost more than a good swing - I think his confidence is down, and when golf gets in your head - well just look at Sergio - or if we are really going bananas - David Duval. Harrington isnt quite there yet - but his game is poor right now.

On top of that - he has never really set the Ryder cup alight.

Anyway - time will tell.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 24, 2010, 11:38:22 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 24, 2010, 11:27:05 PM

Cheering for Europe is a daft thing when you think about it, so it's really more a case of cheering against the Americans. So if the Americans don't care, the whole thing is pointless.
that might be it, but the europeans have shown by their attitude that many of them don't care either, if it weren't for the playing rights that being on the team conferred, there'd probably not be too many at all even turn up.

In saying that, when both sides were up for it and it really was us against them (or at least that's what we believed), it was great tv.  Maybe the other thing is that with all these world championships etc, it's not like when faldo and ballesteros et al took on the US teams in the eighties and nineties, now, we see them play on the same course all the time, maybe the mystique has gone?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 24, 2010, 11:45:49 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 24, 2010, 11:38:22 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 24, 2010, 11:27:05 PM

that might be it, but the europeans have shown by their attitude that many of them don't care either, if it weren't for the playing rights that being on the team conferred, there'd probably not be too many at all even turn up.

In saying that, when both sides were up for it and it really was us against them (or at least that's what we believed), it was great tv.  Maybe the other thing is that with all these world championships etc, it's not like when faldo and ballesteros et al took on the US teams in the eighties and nineties, now, we see them play on the same course all the time, maybe the mystique has gone?

I don't agree to be honest,anyone that thinks the players don't care just look at Anthony Kim's reactions during the last Ryder Cup when he took Garcia apart.
I think most of the players do give a shite,especially the younger posse coming through.
Maybe iy is because we see these players every week in the top tournaments that it has lost a little mystique but you could say that about any high profile sport in the world that gets 24/7 coverage on TV
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2010, 11:55:48 PM
The Ryder Cup is now just a bit of craic. It used to mean something but the players themselves aren't too worried. Even Harrington decided not to play himself into contention over two weekends. Woods never gave a hoot. It's for the middle echelon of players to claim a wee bit of glory and stirs supposed patriotism in us 'Europeans'!!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 12:08:20 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 24, 2010, 11:55:48 PM
The Ryder Cup is now just a bit of craic. It used to mean something but the players themselves aren't too worried. Even Harrington decided not to play himself into contention over two weekends. Woods never gave a hoot. It's for the middle echelon of players to claim a wee bit of glory and stirs supposed patriotism in us 'Europeans'!!!!
Out of interest who would you say is "middle echelon" out of this lot who have all but guaranteed their place in Wales

Lee Westwood
Rory Mcilroy
Graeme Mcdowell
Martin Kaymer
Ian Poulter
Ross Fisher
Francesco Molinari
Peter Hanson
Miguel Jimenez

I'd say none of the above need the Ryder Cup to claim a wee bit of glory as you put it.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2010, 12:26:56 AM
Please. Just cos you took up golf last week....i'm still counting the major winners there....1......2....no...back to 1....
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2010, 12:29:53 AM
up to 2 again....or one....back up to two.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 12:31:24 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2010, 12:26:56 AM
Please. Just cos you took up golf last week....i'm still counting the major winners there....1......2....no...back to 1....

2 actually smart arse..
All top class golfers in their own right though.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2010, 12:35:20 AM
Top golfers my hole. Kaymar and McDowell were crap major winners. Take Harrington out (who also won all 3 by default), you have to go back to 1999 to get a European major winner. Ryder Cup is like a charity soccer match or the GOAL challenge, hyped up.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 12:40:39 AM
Post by: Puckoon on August 25, 2010, 06:33:21 AM
I know you are lookin for a bite O'Neill - but Martin Kaymer was good value for his win at whistling straits. He played some cracking golf to get in the lead and then wouldnt let himself be beaten.

McDowell in fairness won a poor US open - but he won it never the less and no one else could beat him.

I accept your point about Harry though - he is shite. And that bleedin' accent is what I expect Michael Flatley to sound like.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 12:35:07 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 25, 2010, 11:33:01 AMHaving said that I'll be glued to it for the three days after all its sport and its on the telly.

And really and the end of the day thats what it is all about,and we all still want the Europe team to win despite some finding it odd supporting a European team rather than a Irish team.
I would also say the players themselves once they tee up that first day will only care about one thing and thats winning,it won't matter then what the Ryder Cup has or hasn't been reduced to in people's minds,they are sportsmen at the top of their game and the competitiveness will shine through in all of them, whether the players really care about it or not is debatable though I believe the majority of them do,but they will still want to win it regardless.

Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2010, 01:01:21 PM
Tried to translate that into English on Babelfish but it didn't recognise the original.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 01:16:55 PM
paddypower odds for a wildcard pick.

Padraig Harrington   
1/16
Paul Casey   
1/4
Luke Donald   
4/11
Justin Rose   
8/15
Edoardo Molinari   
9/2
Robert Karlsson   
13/2
Alvaro Quiros   
20/1
Henrik Stenson   
33/1

Post by: Bogball XV on August 25, 2010, 01:25:14 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 01:16:55 PM
paddypower odds for a wildcard pick.

Padraig Harrington   
1/16
Paul Casey   
1/4
Luke Donald   
4/11
Justin Rose   
8/15
Edoardo Molinari   
9/2
Robert Karlsson   
13/2
Alvaro Quiros   
20/1
Henrik Stenson   
33/1
Harrington is an awful, awful price.  He's in poor form, has a terrible ryder cup record, has stated previously that he's not that pushed about it and is playing in the US rather than trying to win a spot automatically (as are a few others). 
Karlsson is a great price imo as is quiros - would be interested to see what price quiros is to make the team either automatically or as a wildcard.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 25, 2010, 01:56:39 PM
The reason Harrington is 1/16 is there's not a chance in hell he won't be picked.
Post by: venter on August 25, 2010, 02:26:42 PM
Just to challenge the people stating that Harry cannot be picked because of his form and then turning round and saying that E molinari should be picked.

There is a theory that E molinari is in good form and deserving of a spot. People are generally selecting him at the expense of Harrington, based on Harrington's apparent abysmal form.

I think people perceive Harrington to be in terrible form because they expect better from him, but I think if you look at the stats he is every bit as deserving as Molinari.

Harrington is about 5 spots higher than Molinari on the qualification table because his form has been just as good ( and probably better in higher quality events), and this is borne out in their respective positions on the table.

2010 results

Molinari : 1 win & 4 top ten finishes. Best finish in a 2010 major : 29th (3 cuts made)
Harrington : No win & 7 top ten finishes. Best finish in a 2010 major : 22nd (1 cut made)

So if molinari is in good form, and he still cant manage to get past the awful Harrington, then leave him at home!

I know the Molinari bros did well to win the 2009 world cup, but they were equally as bad in the 2007 and 2008 world cups. The other thing is that the americans wont be sending thier world cup representatives John Merrick and Nick Watney (although he may have a case for selection) to the Ryder cup.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2010, 02:58:34 PM
Quote from: venter on August 25, 2010, 02:26:42 PM
Just to challenge the people stating that Harry cannot be picked because of his form and then turning round and saying that E molinari should be picked.

There is a theory that E molinari is in good form and deserving of a spot. People are generally selecting him at the expense of Harrington, based on Harrington's apparent abysmal form.

I think people perceive Harrington to be in terrible form because they expect better from him, but I think if you look at the stats he is every bit as deserving as Molinari.

Harrington is about 5 spots higher than Molinari on the qualification table because his form has been just as good ( and probably better in higher quality events), and this is borne out in their respective positions on the table.

2010 results

Molinari : 1 win & 4 top ten finishes. Best finish in a 2010 major : 29th (3 cuts made)
Harrington : No win & 7 top ten finishes. Best finish in a 2010 major : 22nd (1 cut made)

So if molinari is in good form, and he still cant manage to get past the awful Harrington, then leave him at home!

I know the Molinari bros did well to win the 2009 world cup, but they were equally as bad in the 2007 and 2008 world cups. The other thing is that the americans wont be sending thier world cup representatives John Merrick and Nick Watney (although he may have a case for selection) to the Ryder cup.

No one is saying Harry won't be sent as it's a fairly sure thing he will be,but anyone that has watched any Golf this year would question should he be sent on the form he showing at the moment.

No one could say he is or has played any sort of top quality golf in the last two years.

Also the Ryder Cup isn't a individual event it's a team event apart from the last day singles matchplay so maybe players should be picked on who they can be paired with,so thats why I think Molinari could be a good player for Europe.

Maybe it's because Harrington reached such heights in 07 and 08 that we expected he would have kicked on from it rather than in my opinion go backwards since then,what ever happens I hope he proves me wrong but I honestly think there are other players just as if not more deserving of a place going on form the last few seasons.

Post by: Doogie Browser on August 25, 2010, 03:17:37 PM
There is no doubt reputation rather than form will earn him a pick but I can't fault Monty, he can't afford to leave behind Europe's only currently playing multiple major winner (I think). 
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 29, 2010, 04:57:49 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 29, 2010, 04:54:29 PM
This Molinari boy fairly putting the pressure on Monty, birdie up the last will win tournament for him... Have to say I'm rooting for him now

Yeah same here. Not sure if it will be enough to get a wildcard though.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 29, 2010, 05:32:39 PM
The feeling is now that Harrington is going to miss out.
Post by: ExiledGael on August 29, 2010, 06:17:25 PM
Donald birdied the first six holes of his round today. Honestly don't think I'd even pick Harrington because of both form and his Ryder Cup record.
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 29, 2010, 06:41:48 PM
Harrington, Donald and E Molinari are the 3 wildcards.
Post by: tyroneboi on August 29, 2010, 06:46:27 PM
It was always going to be a tough choice and a big name or two was always going to miss out. There is probably more pressure on Harrington than the other wildcards to perform in a few weeks but he is definitely more than capable of it. I probably would have taken Casey or Rose over Donald though.
Post by: sammymaguire on August 29, 2010, 07:30:59 PM
Hope I'm wrong but I think Monty is gonna be a crap captain. Don't like those picks at all, Casey was a MUST
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 29, 2010, 09:24:58 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 29, 2010, 06:41:48 PM

Delighted for Molinari
Post by: magpie seanie on August 29, 2010, 09:59:25 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on August 29, 2010, 07:30:59 PM
Hope I'm wrong but I think Monty is gonna be a crap captain. Don't like those picks at all, Casey was a MUST

I disagree with that. Ability and form wise there is very little between any of these guys. Bottle is the key thing for me and I think Casey bottles it (relatively) when under real pressure. Harrington used to have a problem in this area but he got it sorted. Molinari over Rose was the hard call for me. The guy went out and won a tournament when most needed so no complaints. I think Donald was a no-brainer as he is so accurate and a steady partner.

Think Monty might actually make a good captain. The arrogance seems to be gone and he is listening to other people and very conscious of other players feelings. This wouldn't have been the old Monty so fair play to him. Its also in stark contrast to the disastrous last European captain.
Post by: thebigfella on August 29, 2010, 10:04:08 PM
Anyone know about these rumors about monty? Supposed to be a bigger kinky fcuker than mosley ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 29, 2010, 10:13:43 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on August 29, 2010, 06:46:27 PM
It was always going to be a tough choice and a big name or two was always going to miss out. There is probably more pressure on Harrington than the other wildcards to perform in a few weeks but he is definitely more than capable of it. I probably would have taken Casey or Rose over Donald though.

Would agree on that,Rose has won 2 events this year and really should have won 3,think I would have picked him over Donald
Post by: Billys Boots on August 30, 2010, 09:53:13 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 29, 2010, 09:24:58 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 29, 2010, 06:41:48 PM

Delighted for Molinari

Me too, that was some finish from him yesterday!
Post by: venter on August 30, 2010, 04:14:08 PM
That was a brilliant performance by Molinari! I argued against his selection but you couldnt leave him out after that.Top class!!

Hope they do well in the cup!

Possible pairings

McDowell/ McIlroy
Poulter/Rose
Molinaris
Harry/Kaymer
Jiminez/Hanson
Donald/Westwood
Post by: sammymaguire on August 30, 2010, 04:32:38 PM
Rose will be doing well to partner anyone!!! He is NOT in the team!! Ross Fisher might not be too happy with you for leaving him out  ;)
Post by: muppet on August 30, 2010, 05:02:21 PM
Strange how the English oriented media had us believing that a Scotsman (with 2 Irish Vice-captains) would pick 3 English players as wildcards.
Post by: venter on August 30, 2010, 05:32:17 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on August 30, 2010, 04:32:38 PM
Rose will be doing well to partner anyone!!! He is NOT in the team!! Ross Fisher might not be too happy with you for leaving him out  ;)

I doubt Fisher will be reading Gaaboard, so i should be alright. Anyways thats the man i meant! Himself and poulter are fairly pally so they should go well as a pairing...

The molinaris will probably played 4somes with harry and partner playing the 4balls. Form on the day will probably lead to lads going well in the 4balls getting a shot at the 4somes
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 07, 2010, 03:42:06 PM
US Wildcards:

Stewart Cink
Zach Johnson
Tiger Woods
Rickie Fowler

Fairly predictable. Maybe a bit of a surprise Kim was left out but his recent form is very poor.
Post by: stephenite on September 08, 2010, 01:50:04 AM
Predictable? Ricki Fowler was a fairly big shock I would have thought? First time a tour rookie has made the Ryder cup team
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 08, 2010, 10:20:26 AM
Quote from: stephenite on September 08, 2010, 01:50:04 AM
Predictable? Ricki Fowler was a fairly big shock I would have thought? First time a tour rookie has made the Ryder cup team

Yes, "fairly" predictable - 3 major winners and exuberant rookie with a brilliant match play record albeit from the walker cup. He's had a decent season and I don't think there was an outstanding candidate that has been omitted.
You could make cases for Ryan Palmer, JB Holmes, Anthony Kim etc as much as you could make cases for leaving them out.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 08, 2010, 02:58:41 PM
Surely the yanks shouldn't have picked Tiger Woods after the worst season of his life and with such a terrible Ryder Cup record?  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2010, 04:33:31 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 08, 2010, 10:20:26 AM

Yes, "fairly" predictable - 3 major winners and exuberant rookie with a brilliant match play record albeit from the walker cup. He's had a decent season and I don't think there was an outstanding candidate that has been omitted.
You could make cases for Ryan Palmer, JB Holmes, Anthony Kim etc as much as you could make cases for leaving them out.

Delighted to see Fowler picked,he is a outstanding golfer.
Thankfully he will have to wear team USA gear instead of the usual bright orange Puma gear he wears!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 08, 2010, 05:03:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 08, 2010, 04:33:31 PM

Delighted to see Fowler picked,he is a outstanding golfer.
Thankfully he will have to wear team USA gear instead of the usual bright orange Puma gear he wears!

Yeah I think he's going to be a great golfer. Would love to see him against McIlroy on the Sunday.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 08, 2010, 05:05:40 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 08, 2010, 04:52:44 PM
Any word on Westwoods fitness?? I've been wondering if theres a real chance he won't play and that Casey may get in instead of him

Rose is the next in so unless 2 pull out Casey will have to watch it on TV like the rest of us.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 08, 2010, 05:24:48 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 08, 2010, 05:08:53 PM
How so??

Does the next in ranking/money order get in? I just thought Monty would get another pick. Still doesn't answer Westwood question.

If Westwood drops out the player comes from the list he has dropped out from which is the world points list.
As it stands:

Westwood
McIlroy
Kaymer
McDowell have qualified from this.

Next up is

E. Molinari (wildcard)
Donald (wildcard)
Poulter (qualified from Euro points list)
Harrington (wildcard)
Rose.

Casey is down in 12th on list. Don't understand how this list works seeing as Casey is in the wold top 10.

As for Westwood's fitness, I'm pretty sure Monty said he was 99% certain he'd be fit.
Post by: stephenite on September 09, 2010, 07:38:21 AM

I was convinced that Lucan GLover (whilst not 'outstanding') was going to be named but like yourself I'm glad it's Fowler, just thought it was a huge shock as it never entered my head that he'd figure in Pavin's thinking
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 09, 2010, 09:40:38 AM
Quote from: Boycey on September 08, 2010, 05:39:31 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 08, 2010, 05:24:48 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 08, 2010, 05:08:53 PM
How so??

Does the next in ranking/money order get in? I just thought Monty would get another pick. Still doesn't answer Westwood question.

If Westwood drops out the player comes from the list he has dropped out from which is the world points list.
As it stands:

Westwood
McIlroy
Kaymer
McDowell have qualified from this.

Next up is

E. Molinari (wildcard)
Donald (wildcard)
Poulter (qualified from Euro points list)
Harrington (wildcard)
Rose.

Casey is down in 12th on list. Don't understand how this list works seeing as Casey is in the wold top 10.

As for Westwood's fitness, I'm pretty sure Monty said he was 99% certain he'd be fit.

If Westwoods gonna be fit it makes no odds but........... I'm an argumentative git (ask my mrs!!!)

Is it fact or your guess that next player comes from World points list I've not seen it anywhere (although it does make sense). Secondly would there not be a case for Molinari getting upgraded to an automatic pick as he's next on the list thus freeing up a wildcard for Monty to pick who he wants??

Too much time on my hands, I know...

It's not my guess, it's a fact. I saw it on a number of websites the day Monty picked his wildcard.
Post by: JimStynes on September 28, 2010, 12:43:32 AM
Not long now lads.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 28, 2010, 10:14:03 AM
This morning's practise groups:

Graeme McDowell
Rory McIlroy
Edoardo Molinari
Francesco Molinari

Peter Hanson
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Martin Kaymer
Lee Westwood

Luke Donald
Ross Fisher
Padraig Harrington
Ian Poulter
Post by: Declan on September 28, 2010, 03:01:12 PM
I enjoy playing and watching golf but just cannot warm to this at all. Sky fest of hype. Am I wrong to think this faux team camradarie is BS?
Post by: NAG1 on September 28, 2010, 03:48:20 PM
Hard to get on board with the SKY BS, i dont know about all the drum beating at the end of the day these guys are professionals and are really on there to boost their appeal to sponsors etc. Winning comes secondary to all the commmercial interests.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 28, 2010, 04:07:02 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on September 28, 2010, 03:48:20 PM
Hard to get on board with the SKY BS, i dont know about all the drum beating at the end of the day these guys are professionals and are really on there to boost their appeal to sponsors etc. Winning comes secondary to all the commmercial interests.

I don't agree. They're sportsmen and nothing matters more than winning. If you've watched previous cups you can see how passionate they are about it. It doesn't matter what level of sport, winning is never secondary.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 28, 2010, 04:28:04 PM
The SKY 24/7 hype is annoying but it shouldn't cloud the fact that this is a great golf competition. When it was on other stations I'd be glued to it as much as possible and when things start on Friday, with all the hype done away with, it should be gripping stuff. The actual golf coverage on Sky is very good. I'm just avoiding shit like practice round reports and opening ceremonies (though the one last time was compelling as it proved beyond doubt what a complete tit Faldo is).
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 28, 2010, 04:51:15 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 28, 2010, 04:28:04 PM
The SKY 24/7 hype is annoying but it shouldn't cloud the fact that this is a great golf competition. When it was on other stations I'd be glued to it as much as possible and when things start on Friday, with all the hype done away with, it should be gripping stuff. The actual golf coverage on Sky is very good. I'm just avoiding shit like practice round reports and opening ceremonies (though the one last time was compelling as it proved beyond doubt what a complete tit Faldo is).

Yeah was car crash stuff. Hopefully Monty will remember the names of his team and refrain from rambling on about his children  :)
Post by: Orangemac on September 28, 2010, 11:29:33 PM
You always get the impression with Monty he is going to crack at any moment ( bit like when he blew all those majors).

If Harrington shows any form and Westwood is fit Europe should win but hopefully by a small margin to make Sunday more exciting.

Are any of the terrestial channels showing highlights?
Post by: mackers on September 29, 2010, 10:46:54 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 28, 2010, 04:07:02 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on September 28, 2010, 03:48:20 PM

I don't agree. They're sportsmen and nothing matters more than winning. If you've watched previous cups you can see how passionate they are about it. It doesn't matter what level of sport, winning is never secondary.
Watched the programme last night about the 2002 Ryder Cup and you're absolutely right. For the week, those players are completely up for it.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 29, 2010, 10:57:57 AM
I think the Yanks will win
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 29, 2010, 10:59:56 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on September 29, 2010, 10:57:57 AM

sound i'm going to lump on the Europeans sammy  ;) :D
Post by: isourboydownyet on September 29, 2010, 05:12:01 PM
Quote from: Declan on September 28, 2010, 03:01:12 PM
I enjoy playing and watching golf but just cannot warm to this at all. Sky fest of hype. Am I wrong to think this faux team camradarie is BS?

i have to say i love watching it but we seem to hype it up alot more this side of the Atlantic,i was in newyork over the weekend and even though every sport was being covered there wasnt a mention of the Ryder cup,maybe when it starts it will give it air time but you wouldn't even know it was on.
Post by: Puckoon on September 29, 2010, 05:36:54 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on September 29, 2010, 05:12:01 PM

i have to say i love watching it but we seem to hype it up alot more this side of the Atlantic,i was in newyork over the weekend and even though every sport was being covered there wasnt a mention of the Ryder cup,maybe when it starts it will give it air time but you wouldn't even know it was on.

Nonsense!
Post by: The Worker on September 29, 2010, 09:04:21 PM
went for one of the molinaris to hole the winning put 12.5/1
Post by: Orior on September 29, 2010, 09:45:48 PM

Fair point. Sometimes you just have to put those sort of notions to the back of your mind.

The black curley wig thing is gonna be so embarrassing in a couple of years time.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 29, 2010, 11:59:21 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 29, 2010, 10:59:56 AM

Good shout geezer!!  :D
Post by: isourboydownyet on September 30, 2010, 08:42:16 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 29, 2010, 05:36:54 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on September 29, 2010, 05:12:01 PM

Nonsense!

do you think i am telling porkies?im was in many bars while in newyork and as i am sure you know that most bars have 7 or 8 screens going with sport of some kind on each one,all they were showing or talking about was the yankee's,college football and the draft picks in the n.b.a,i can only tell you what i saw and there was no mention of the ryder cup.
Post by: Donkeywalloper on September 30, 2010, 11:14:20 AM
Anyone know of links to watch this on line?
Post by: Square Ball on September 30, 2010, 04:31:28 PM
Quote from: Donkeywalloper on September 30, 2010, 11:14:20 AM
Anyone know of links to watch this on line?

you well get them tomorrow, try Myp2p.eu

I am not a golfer by any stretch of the imagination, but I cant wait until this starts as there is just something about it that has enthralled me for years.

Right, who is gonna win it?

Europe by 1 or 2
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 04:35:37 PM
Europe by 4 or more I reckon
Post by: muppet on September 30, 2010, 04:45:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 04:35:37 PM
Europe by 4 or more I reckon

Jeysus that would be great. Will I put the house on it (it is now worth about €2).
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 04:51:28 PM
Its 12/1 for them to win by 4 (16-12) so you could do worse than putting your €2 on it
Post by: Donkeywalloper on September 30, 2010, 04:53:34 PM
Europe by 4 would be a trouncing. Cant see it having that much in it. I'll go for europe by 1 (14.5 v 13.5)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 30, 2010, 05:00:24 PM
Westwood/Kaymer v Mickelson/Dustin Johnson 
McIlroy/McDowell! v Cink/Kuchar
Poulter/Fisher v Stricker/Woods
Donald/Harrington v Watson/Overton

Some good matches. Hopefully Harrington gets a point on the board. Not a bad draw for him.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 05:02:44 PM

Westwood/Kaymer v Mickelson/Dustin Johnson is the pick of the bunch
Post by: Square Ball on September 30, 2010, 05:03:11 PM
cracking answer by Pavin when asked why thesee two are going out third.... cus the first two places are filled  :D
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 30, 2010, 05:05:30 PM
Furyk is a puzzling omission. Europe should win that session.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 30, 2010, 07:19:00 PM
Poulter/Fisher worth a couple of quid, good odds
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 08:23:56 PM
Di Stewart is some babe
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 08:52:41 PM
Did Rory and GMac get a N Ireland flag for themselves in the opening ceremony or was it just the one Union Jack for all the British players?
Post by: Yes I Would on September 30, 2010, 10:40:16 PM
That opening ceremony on Sky bit of a damp squib, with some of the questioning verging on cringe, almost as bad as Stephen Watson at the press conference during the week!

Totally unecessary marching the players out hand in hand with the wemen at the end, and surely some thought should have been given to the Tiger, with the missus just having left him!

Didnt see the flags but agree that Furyk is a shock omission and had fancied him to be top scorer on the Yank side with Kaymer playing a blinder for the euros.  Interesting to see how Harrington handles the pressure..
Post by: tyroneboi on September 30, 2010, 11:11:08 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on September 30, 2010, 10:40:16 PM
That opening ceremony on Sky bit of a damp squib, with some of the questioning verging on cringe, almost as bad as Stephen Watson at the press conference during the week!

Totally unecessary marching the players out hand in hand with the wemen at the end, and surely some thought should have been given to the Tiger, with the missus just having left him!

Didnt see the flags but agree that Furyk is a shock omission and had fancied him to be top scorer on the Yank side with Kaymer playing a blinder for the euros.  Interesting to see how Harrington handles the pressure..

I noticed that myself. Poor G-Mac was the only European without a missus so he just walked along with his mate Rory and his woman.

Also does Monty just annoy the hell out of anyone else? I hope the Europeans win but certainly not because Monty is captain. I just cant warm to the man at all.
Post by: Olaf on September 30, 2010, 11:27:47 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 30, 2010, 08:52:41 PM
Did Rory and GMac get a N Ireland flag for themselves in the opening ceremony or was it just the one Union Jack for all the British players?

Union flag.
Post by: Puckoon on September 30, 2010, 11:41:17 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on September 30, 2010, 11:11:08 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on September 30, 2010, 10:40:16 PM

I noticed that myself. Poor G-Mac was the only European without a missus so he just walked along with his mate Rory and his woman.

Also does Monty just annoy the hell out of anyone else? I hope the Europeans win but certainly not because Monty is captain. I just cant warm to the man at all.

Monty - you couldnt like him if you reared him. He's like a big fat white Vijay Singh. Hate that hewer too.
Post by: Boycey on October 01, 2010, 07:48:31 AM
The Americans outfits make them look like a basketball squad
Post by: Declan on October 01, 2010, 08:32:54 AM
Did I hear correctly that Pavin got a General in to give the Yanks a motivational talk???
Didn't Pavin have previous as they say back in Kiawah and the whole military macho shite?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 01, 2010, 08:41:10 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 01, 2010, 08:32:54 AM
Did I hear correctly that Pavin got a General in to give the Yanks a motivational talk???
Didn't Pavin have previous as they say back in Kiawah and the whole military macho shite?

He got a veteran air force pilot to give them a pep talk. A very strange move seeing
yes he was one of the fist pumping army wearing fatigue yanks from Kiawah.
Very wet there. Would be surprised if the session ends without interruption.
Post by: NAG1 on October 01, 2010, 09:08:09 AM
any links to watch it in work?
Post by: Shrek on October 01, 2010, 09:09:04 AM
anyone got a link to watch this online

its a friday and i couldnt be bothered doing any work  ::)
Post by: gerry on October 01, 2010, 09:18:24 AM
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=89261&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=89261&part=sports)

i am watching this one

http://www.espa.tv/embed.php?channel=wykop2&width=780&height=560 (http://www.espa.tv/embed.php?channel=wykop2&width=780&height=560)

bring your wellies
Post by: DuffleKing on October 01, 2010, 09:20:07 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 01, 2010, 08:32:54 AM

Former general who is now a pga professional
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 01, 2010, 09:40:15 AM
Looks like they could be about to come off the course. Rain is getting worse.
Post by: gerry on October 01, 2010, 09:44:07 AM
weather terrible, time to call it a day for a while
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 01, 2010, 09:44:20 AM
Play should be suspended, the weather is :o

Post by: gerry on October 01, 2010, 09:46:25 AM
some water when you see the buggy drive through it
Post by: gerry on October 01, 2010, 09:49:46 AM
Quote from: Shrek on October 01, 2010, 09:09:04 AM

back to work you boy ya
Post by: Billys Boots on October 01, 2010, 09:54:58 AM
Play is suspended.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 01, 2010, 10:01:51 AM
4am time for bed and the DVR to take over.
Post by: Shrek on October 01, 2010, 10:30:01 AM
Quote from: gerry on October 01, 2010, 09:49:46 AM
Quote from: Shrek on October 01, 2010, 09:09:04 AM

back to work you boy ya

aye, to heel with that, im happy enough watching Di stewart atm  :P  :P
Post by: stephenite on October 01, 2010, 10:32:45 AM
f**k it-was looking forward all week to this evening on the couch, cooked a nice steak and had plenty of snacks stocked up for later. Bastard Welsh weather ruining the start of my weekend. Is it likely to be long?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 01, 2010, 10:40:03 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 01, 2010, 10:32:45 AM
f**k it-was looking forward all week to this evening on the couch, cooked a nice steak and had plenty of snacks stocked up for later. b**tard Welsh weather ruining the start of my weekend. Is it likely to be long?

Still raining so it's doesn't look good.
Post by: gerry on October 01, 2010, 10:40:37 AM
two or three hours they were saying, looks like a monday finish now.

just heard on radio 5 that they are inspecting again at 12 noon and if ok they will start at 12.45
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2010, 11:09:02 AM
katherine jenkins seems to have got the approval of the european team judging by the photo in the back of the star  ;)
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on October 01, 2010, 11:34:58 AM
Ryder Cup WAGS:

Team America:

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/09/29/article-1316248-0B63EEFD000005DC-205_634x516.jpg)

Team Europe:

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/09/29/article-1316248-0B63E415000005DC-715_634x373.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2010, 11:39:24 AM
probably no venue big enough for a photo of team tiger
Post by: Donkeywalloper on October 01, 2010, 11:45:54 AM
A bit of variety in the american camp. A few years ago (cant remember which one exactly) they nearly all looked identical. Blonde hair barbie doll types.
With the amount of money these guys make there are some real munters in the european camp.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 01, 2010, 11:48:43 AM
Announcement pushed back till 1
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2010, 12:33:47 PM
13 birds for the USA team and 12 birds for the Euro team.

The law of averages would suggest there is at least one wooley woofter on each team.

But as this is a golf thread then we wont mention that.

Whoops. I just did.
Post by: supersarsfields on October 01, 2010, 12:39:40 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2010, 12:33:47 PM
13 birds for the USA team and 12 birds for the Euro team.

The law of averages would suggest there is at least one wooley woofter on each team.

But as this is a golf thread then we wont mention that.

Whoops. I just did.

I'd have me doubts about yon one on the left hand side of the Americans pic. Some arms on her.
Post by: gawa316 on October 01, 2010, 12:44:16 PM
Bagsy the european blonde in the black coat behind yer doll in the pink dress
Post by: stephenite on October 01, 2010, 01:04:18 PM
Any update?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 01, 2010, 01:10:05 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 01, 2010, 01:04:18 PM
Any update?

Next announcement @ 2
Post by: Donkeywalloper on October 01, 2010, 01:47:27 PM
Getting worse now, doubt therell be very little if anything today
Post by: King Henry on October 01, 2010, 02:26:04 PM
Any updates?
Post by: Boycey on October 01, 2010, 02:28:08 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 01, 2010, 02:26:04 PM
Any updates?

aye if it rains anymore they gonna have a waterpolo tournament this evening.
Post by: King Henry on October 01, 2010, 02:30:19 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 01, 2010, 02:28:08 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 01, 2010, 02:26:04 PM
Any updates?

aye if it rains anymore they gonna have a waterpolo tournament this evening.

Pity,I took the evening off to come home to watch the evening Foursomes.
Might go and play a round myself instead weather grand down here
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2010, 04:35:40 PM
The opening hours of the Ryder Cup brought embarrassment for the United States' team, even though the first day's fourballs matches were severely delayed by bad weather.

In a development that left U.S. captain Corey Pavin red-faced, the American team was forced to ditch its official waterproof clothing and replace it with new gear purchased from the clubhouse store at the Celtic Manor course.

"We are disappointed with the performance of them, so we fixed it," Pavin said. "They weren't doing what we wanted them to do so we went out and bought new waterproofs."

A U.S. team source told Yahoo! Sports that the standard waterproofs, provided by Montana-based company Sun Mountain, were holding too much liquid and thus weighed down players and caddies alike. Captain Pavin had been alerted to the problem by the time the opening pair of Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson had reached the second green, and an emergency plan was put into action.

A team official was hastily dispatched to the merchandising tent, where almost the entire stock of ProQuip waterproof trousers were purchased, according to a store worker.

"They bought more than 20 pairs," the employee told Yahoo! Sports.

The choice of replacement was all the more humiliating for Pavin, as ProQuip is the official waterproof supplier to the European team. Inclement weather has been predicted ever since the Ryder Cup was awarded to Celtic Manor, and European captain Colin Montgomerie took no chances with his preparation.

"When I was a player in the Ryder Cup, I simply turned up, put on the gear that had been left for me in my room, went out and started playing," said Montgomerie, who collaborated with his wife Gaynor, caddie Jason Hempleman and ProQuip managing director Richard Head in all aspects of Europe's kit design. "But as captain it is totally different, and I am central to all of what goes on behind the scenes.

"I have always said we will wear what the players want to wear, and I think that symbolizes the entire team spirit we are engendering."

Montgomerie held several meetings with ProQuip and tested the products before they were ordered for each team member.

"It was clear from the outset that Colin had prepared for all our meetings," Head said. "He made himself available in all aspects of the discussions about the waterproofs, which was excellent."

The U.S. team waterproofs didn't just bother the players; they attracted criticism for their look and design as well. Former Tiger Woods coach Butch Harmon, commentating on British television, described them as "not right" and insisted they looked more like a basketball practice uniform.

All members of both teams had no choice but to wear waterproof gear as rain drenched the course from the start of play at 7:45 a.m Welsh time. Mickelson opted to wear all-weather gloves — even while putting — and none of the Americans looked comfortable.

When play was stopped after just five holes of the top match, Europe was ahead in each of the first three matches – with only Bubba Watson and Jeff Overton leading, ahead of Luke Donald and Padraig Harrington
Post by: Square Ball on October 01, 2010, 06:57:00 PM
Not looking too good for europe at the minute, but a long long way to go,

FRIDAY FOURBALLS 

Match 1 
1 up  L Westwood/
M Kaymer  -
after 12  P Mickelson/
D Johnson  - 
Match 2 
-  R McIlroy/
G McDowell  -
after 11  S Cink/
M Kuchar  2 up 
Match 3 
-  I Poulter/
R Fisher  -
after 9  S Stricker/
T Woods  1 up 
Match 4 
-  L Donald/
P Harrington  -
after 8  B Watson/
J Overton  1 up 

Post by: MCMLX on October 02, 2010, 01:56:06 AM
(http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x198/DaveyS2/article-1316589-0B6BA1C0000005DC-597_634x830.jpg)

The Ride Her Cup
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 02, 2010, 10:27:03 AM
Quote from: MCMLX on October 02, 2010, 01:56:06 AM
(http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x198/DaveyS2/article-1316589-0B6BA1C0000005DC-597_634x830.jpg)

The Ride Her Cup
Tiger is contemplating getting the wood out.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 11:03:22 AM
The schedule for the six foursomes matches to be played in the second session of the Ryder Cup have been announced with Colin Montgomerie again opting to pair Lee Westwood with Martin Kaymer and Rory McIlroy with Graeme McDowell.

After the torrential rain at Celtic Manor which caused extended delays on Friday, officials opted to reorganise the schedule with six foursomes matches now to be played simultaneously on Saturday morning.

After the captains submitted their pairings, the first match out on the course was due to be Spain's Miguel Angel Jimenez and Swede Peter Hanson against the American duo of Tiger Woods and Steve Stricker at 10.57am.

However, with Woods still out on the course finishing his fourball match from Friday with the start time just minutes away, that match was delayed.

As a result, Italian brothers Edoardo and Francesco Molinari will lead off in the top match against Zach Johnson and Hunter Mahan.

The match featuring Woods and Stricker dropped down to become the third contest of the foursomes schedule.

European skipper Montgomerie kept faith with the partnership of Westwood and Kaymer, who earned Europe's first point, with the Englishman and German taking on Jim Furyk and debutant 21-year-old Rickie Fowler in match two.

Padraig Harrington and Ross Fisher, who both lost their fourball encounters, were paired together in the fourth match and will take on Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson.

English duo Ian Poulter and Luke Donald join forces in match five and will do battle with the victorious rookie fourball pairing of Bubba Watson and Jeff Overton.

Meanwhile, the last clash sees the Northern Irish taskforce of McIlroy and McDowell again go head-to-head with Stewart Cink and Matt Kuchar, the American team they halved with in the fourballs.

Foursomes matches:

Jimenez & Hanson vs Woods & Stricker
Molinari & Molinari vs Z.Johnson & Mahan
Westwood & Kaymer vs Furyk & Fowler
Harrington & Fisher vs Mickelson & D.Johnson
Poulter & Donald vs Watson & Overton
McDowell & McIlroy vs Cink & Kuchar
Post by: Square Ball on October 02, 2010, 12:28:08 PM
latest:

SESSION 2 FOURSOMES 

Match 5 
  E Molinari/
F Molinari 
after 6  Z Johnson/
H Mahan  1 up 
Match 6 
2 up  L Westwood/
M Kaymer 
after 5  J Furyk/
R Fowler   
Match 7 
1 up  P Harrington/
R Fisher 
after 4  P Mickelson/
D Johnson   
Match 8 
  MA Jimenez/
P Hanson  a/s
after 2  T Woods/
S Stricker   
Match 9 
1 up  I Poulter/
L Donald 
after 2  B Watson/
J Overton   
Match 10 
  G McDowell/
R McIlroy  a/s
after 1  S Cink/
M Kuchar   

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 02, 2010, 01:02:56 PM
Harrington playing like shite. Hopefully he can turn it around because if Europe lose I fear it's Paddy who will get it in the neck from the British media along with Monty for picking him ahead of Casey or Rose.
Post by: Square Ball on October 02, 2010, 01:10:31 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 02, 2010, 01:02:56 PM
Harrington playing like shite. Hopefully he can turn it around because if Europe lose I fear it's Paddy who will get it in the neck from the British media along with Monty for picking him ahead of Casey or Rose.
sad but true GBB, there was a kick up when he was picked so its a ready made excuse if they are beat
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 01:50:05 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on October 02, 2010, 01:10:31 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 02, 2010, 01:02:56 PM
sad but true GBB, there was a kick up when he was picked so its a ready made excuse if they are beat

It would be a perfectly valid excuse though do you not think?
Anyway his fortunes are starting to change a bit himself and Fisher are 3 up in their game.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 03:09:58 PM
Not looking good for Europe at the moment
Post by: sammymaguire on October 02, 2010, 03:39:50 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 03:09:58 PM
Not looking good for Europe at the moment

Pretty even looking now...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 03:42:23 PM
Thats the beauty of this tournament it can change so quickly,looking better now alright!
Post by: sammymaguire on October 02, 2010, 03:52:20 PM
What a shame Sergio is not actually playing
Post by: Square Ball on October 02, 2010, 04:01:17 PM
that was a hell of a turn round in the 17th
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 04:02:13 PM
How did Mcilory and Gmac lose that hole  :o

Looking like it will be 6-4 to the US before the evening session starts
Post by: Square Ball on October 02, 2010, 04:07:16 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2010, 04:02:13 PM
How did Mcilory and Gmac lose that hole  :o

Looking like it will be 6-4 to the US before the evening session starts

it was a hell of a kick in the nuts.
Post by: Square Ball on October 02, 2010, 06:27:19 PM
If anyone is looking a good stream

http://www.saddleback.com/mediacenter/player/sebplayer.swf?backcolor=0x000000&frontcolor=0xFFFFFF&file=rtmp://cp102800.live.edgefcs.net/live/&id=rydercupcom2_1_650@30783&stretching=exactfit (http://www.saddleback.com/mediacenter/player/sebplayer.swf?backcolor=0x000000&frontcolor=0xFFFFFF&file=rtmp://cp102800.live.edgefcs.net/live/&id=rydercupcom2_1_650@30783&stretching=exactfit)

doing well at the minute, but as RLL said earlier in, it can change very quickly
Post by: omagh_gael on October 02, 2010, 06:37:03 PM
cheers SB
Post by: Orior on October 02, 2010, 08:32:34 PM
When will the singles order be announced?
Title: Ceirníní
Post by: drici on October 02, 2010, 08:40:46 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 02, 2010, 08:32:34 PM

Top 50 Singles
Week ending 30th September 2010
LW TW TITLE ARTIST LABEL WKS
1 WRITTEN IN THE STARS TINIE TEMPAH FEAT. ERIC TURNER PARLOPHONE 1
1 2 FOR THE FIRST TIME SCRIPT RCA 4
12 3 JUST THE WAY YOU ARE BRUNO MARS ATLANTIC 2
4 4 DYNAMITE TAIO CRUZ 4TH & BROADWAY 7
3 5 TEENAGE DREAM KATY PERRY VIRGIN 5
2 6 LOVE THE WAY YOU LIE EMINEM FEAT. RIHANNA INTERSCOPE 15
15 7 PACK UP ELIZA DOOLITTLE PARLOPHONE 13
8 MAKE YOU FEEL MY LOVE ADELE XL RECORDINGS 2
5 9 RADIOACTIVE KINGS OF LEON RCA 2
9 10 CROSSFIRE BRANDON FLOWERS MERCURY 7
6 11 DJ GOT US FALLIN' IN LOVE USHER FEAT. PITBULL LAFACE 9
11 12 F**K YOU! CEELO GREEN ATLANTIC 5
8 13 CLUB CAN'T HANDLE ME FLO RIDA FEAT. DAVID GUETTA ATLANTIC 10
14 14 BILLIONAIRE TRAVIE MCCOY FEAT. BRUNO MARS FUELED BY RAMEN 10
25 15 BILLIONAIRE GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
10 16 START WITHOUT YOU ALEXANDRA BURKE FEAT. LAZA MORGAN SYCO MUSIC 4
13 17 TAKE IT OFF KE$HA RCA 7
22 18 TELEPHONE GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
17 19 WE NO SPEAK AMERICANO YOLANDA BE COOL & DCUP ALL AROUND THE WORLD 13
29 20 EMPIRE STATE OF MIND GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
34 21 MAGIC B.O.B FEAT. RIVERS CUOMO ATLANTIC 3
38 22 ALORS ON DANSE STROMAE ISLAND 3
23 TOXIC GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 1
40 24 HEARTBEAT ENRIQUE IGLESIAS FEAT. NICOLE SCHERZINGER POLYDOR 2
19 25 AIRPLANES B.O.B FEAT. HAYLEY WILLIAMS ATLANTIC 18
18 26 ONE (YOUR NAME) SWEDISH HOUSE MAFIA FEAT. PHARRELL VIRGIN 10
27 HOT tr**p RIPTIDE MOVEMENT LUCAN MUSIC 1
28 THE ONLY EXCEPTION GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 1
20 29 MISERY MAROON 5 A&M 3
21 30 PYRAMID CHARICE FEAT. IYAZ REPRISE 2
31 HIGHER SATURDAYS POLYDOR 1
24 32 BEAUTIFUL MONSTER NEYO DEF JAM 10
35 33 LISTEN GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
26 34 I LIKE IT ENRIQUE IGLESIAS FEAT. PITBULL POLYDOR 15
35 GET OUTTA MY WAY KYLIE MINOGUE PARLOPHONE 1
27 36 NOT AFRAID EMINEM INTERSCOPE 19
37 BANG BANG BANG MARK RONSON & THE BUSINESS INTL COLUMBIA 10
28 38 KICKSTARTS EXAMPLE DATA 16
7 39 FOCUS EMMA'S IMAGINATION MUST BE THE MUSIC 2
40 CRY ME A RIVER MICHAEL BUBLÉ REPRISE 3
41 STOP CRYING YOUR HEART OUT OASIS BIG BROTHER 10
45 42 GOLD DUST DJ FRESH DATA 5
43 HAVEN'T MET YOU YET MICHAEL BUBLÉ REPRISE 27
23 44 PLEASE DON'T LET ME GO OLLY MURS EPIC 5
43 45 ALL TIME LOW WANTED GEFFEN 10
30 46 CALIFORNIA GURLS KATY PERRY FEAT. SNOOP DOGG VIRGIN 15
47 IMPOSSIBLE SHONTELLE UNIVERSAL 1
31 48 DOG DAYS ARE OVER FLORENCE & THE MACHINE ISLAND 32
49 CREEP RADIOHEAD PARLOPHONE 11
16 50 THIS DAY EMMA'S IMAGINATION MUST BE THE MUSIC 4

Post by: Orior on October 02, 2010, 08:53:58 PM
Thanks Drici. On the ball as ever  :)
Title: Re: Ceirníní
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 02, 2010, 08:55:59 PM
Quote from: drici on October 02, 2010, 08:40:46 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 02, 2010, 08:32:34 PM

Top 50 Singles
Week ending 30th September 2010
LW TW TITLE ARTIST LABEL WKS
1 WRITTEN IN THE STARS TINIE TEMPAH FEAT. ERIC TURNER PARLOPHONE 1
1 2 FOR THE FIRST TIME SCRIPT RCA 4
12 3 JUST THE WAY YOU ARE BRUNO MARS ATLANTIC 2
4 4 DYNAMITE TAIO CRUZ 4TH & BROADWAY 7
3 5 TEENAGE DREAM KATY PERRY VIRGIN 5
2 6 LOVE THE WAY YOU LIE EMINEM FEAT. RIHANNA INTERSCOPE 15
15 7 PACK UP ELIZA DOOLITTLE PARLOPHONE 13
8 MAKE YOU FEEL MY LOVE ADELE XL RECORDINGS 2
5 9 RADIOACTIVE KINGS OF LEON RCA 2
9 10 CROSSFIRE BRANDON FLOWERS MERCURY 7
6 11 DJ GOT US FALLIN' IN LOVE USHER FEAT. PITBULL LAFACE 9
11 12 F**K YOU! CEELO GREEN ATLANTIC 5
8 13 CLUB CAN'T HANDLE ME FLO RIDA FEAT. DAVID GUETTA ATLANTIC 10
14 14 BILLIONAIRE TRAVIE MCCOY FEAT. BRUNO MARS FUELED BY RAMEN 10
25 15 BILLIONAIRE GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
10 16 START WITHOUT YOU ALEXANDRA BURKE FEAT. LAZA MORGAN SYCO MUSIC 4
13 17 TAKE IT OFF KE$HA RCA 7
22 18 TELEPHONE GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
17 19 WE NO SPEAK AMERICANO YOLANDA BE COOL & DCUP ALL AROUND THE WORLD 13
29 20 EMPIRE STATE OF MIND GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
34 21 MAGIC B.O.B FEAT. RIVERS CUOMO ATLANTIC 3
38 22 ALORS ON DANSE STROMAE ISLAND 3
23 TOXIC GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 1
40 24 HEARTBEAT ENRIQUE IGLESIAS FEAT. NICOLE SCHERZINGER POLYDOR 2
19 25 AIRPLANES B.O.B FEAT. HAYLEY WILLIAMS ATLANTIC 18
18 26 ONE (YOUR NAME) SWEDISH HOUSE MAFIA FEAT. PHARRELL VIRGIN 10
27 HOT tr**p RIPTIDE MOVEMENT LUCAN MUSIC 1
28 THE ONLY EXCEPTION GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 1
20 29 MISERY MAROON 5 A&M 3
21 30 PYRAMID CHARICE FEAT. IYAZ REPRISE 2
31 HIGHER SATURDAYS POLYDOR 1
24 32 BEAUTIFUL MONSTER NEYO DEF JAM 10
35 33 LISTEN GLEE CAST COLUMBIA 2
26 34 I LIKE IT ENRIQUE IGLESIAS FEAT. PITBULL POLYDOR 15
35 GET OUTTA MY WAY KYLIE MINOGUE PARLOPHONE 1
27 36 NOT AFRAID EMINEM INTERSCOPE 19
37 BANG BANG BANG MARK RONSON & THE BUSINESS INTL COLUMBIA 10
28 38 KICKSTARTS EXAMPLE DATA 16
7 39 FOCUS EMMA'S IMAGINATION MUST BE THE MUSIC 2
40 CRY ME A RIVER MICHAEL BUBLÉ REPRISE 3
41 STOP CRYING YOUR HEART OUT OASIS BIG BROTHER 10
45 42 GOLD DUST DJ FRESH DATA 5
43 HAVEN'T MET YOU YET MICHAEL BUBLÉ REPRISE 27
23 44 PLEASE DON'T LET ME GO OLLY MURS EPIC 5
43 45 ALL TIME LOW WANTED GEFFEN 10
30 46 CALIFORNIA GURLS KATY PERRY FEAT. SNOOP DOGG VIRGIN 15
47 IMPOSSIBLE SHONTELLE UNIVERSAL 1
31 48 DOG DAYS ARE OVER FLORENCE & THE MACHINE ISLAND 32
49 CREEP RADIOHEAD PARLOPHONE 11
16 50 THIS DAY EMMA'S IMAGINATION MUST BE THE MUSIC 4
Must be getting old. Haven't heard any of the Top Ten.

As for the Ryder Cup - blind draw tomorrow I believe.
Post by: mackers on October 03, 2010, 09:38:16 AM
A Monday finish will put a real dampener on this Ryder Cup which is disappointing. They'll have to look at the scheduling again because Gleneagles will be no better in four years time. The FedEx will have to be moved to after it. Some disppointment for spectators who have paid big dosh for tickets.
Post by: Boycey on October 03, 2010, 11:18:56 AM
Quote from: mackers on October 03, 2010, 09:38:16 AM
A Monday finish will put a real dampener on this Ryder Cup which is disappointing. They'll have to look at the scheduling again because Gleneagles will be no better in four years time. The FedEx will have to be moved to after it. Some disppointment for spectators who have paid big dosh for tickets.

Little chance of fed-ex being moved it being the cash cow it is. Heard two of the commentators on 5live debating it Friday morning they reckoned one alternative was to hold it in the break between last two weeks of Fed-ex which would gain them two weeks, the other option they put forward was that the European leg would be held in Spain or Portugal rather than  Northern Europe.
Post by: stephenite on October 03, 2010, 12:58:08 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 03, 2010, 11:18:56 AM

Little chance of fed-ex being moved it being the cash cow it is. Heard two of the commentators on 5live debating it Friday morning they reckoned one alternative was to hold it in the break between last two weeks of Fed-ex which would gain them two weeks, the other option they put forward was that the European leg would be held in Spain or Portugal rather than  Northern Europe.

You run the risk of that sort of weather in Ireland or the UK at any time of the year in fairness, I think holding it in Continental Europe is the way to go - that said I think Valderrama was the last time there was rain delays so it's just one of those things that you can't bank on.

I feel sorry for those that were heavily involved in the organisation and promotion of the biggest sporting event Wales has ever held, not to mention the green keepers etc-it will only ever be remembered for the rain. I saw a documentary on the Ryder cup recently and they've been working on this for fecking years
Post by: Square Ball on October 03, 2010, 01:31:57 PM
link

http://www.saddleback.com/mediacenter/player/sebplayer.swf?backcolor=0x000000&frontcolor=0xFFFFFF&file=rtmp://cp102800.live.edgefcs.net/live/&id=rydercupcom3_1_650@30783&stretching=exact&autostart=true (http://www.saddleback.com/mediacenter/player/sebplayer.swf?backcolor=0x000000&frontcolor=0xFFFFFF&file=rtmp://cp102800.live.edgefcs.net/live/&id=rydercupcom3_1_650@30783&stretching=exact&autostart=true)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2010, 01:33:45 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 03, 2010, 12:58:08 PM

You run the risk of that sort of weather in Ireland or the UK at any time of the year in fairness, I think holding it in Continental Europe is the way to go - that said I think Valderrama was the last time there was rain delays so it's just one of those things that you can't bank on.

I feel sorry for those that were heavily involved in the organisation and promotion of the biggest sporting event Wales has ever held, not to mention the green keepers etc-it will only ever be remembered for the rain. I saw a documentary on the Ryder cup recently and they've been working on this for fecking years
It's Wales, it's October. Pishing rain should surprise no-one.
Post by: offtheground on October 03, 2010, 02:44:10 PM
Anyone else think this buddy hugging and arm around stuff from 'gmac' and 'rorsie' is getting abit cringe worthy??? Man up FFS you pair of buftys....
Post by: Puckoon on October 03, 2010, 02:49:55 PM
Having a hard time with one of the American commentators At the minute. He's harping on two or three times about how Monty has made sure the grass is long in the rough and the greens are slow to upset the Americans, and how big an advantage this is for the European team.

Surely he has to be talking nonsense?
Post by: stephenite on October 03, 2010, 02:52:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 03, 2010, 02:49:55 PM
Having a hard time with one of the American commentators At the minute. He's harping on two or three times about how Monty has made sure the grass is long in the rough and the greens are slow to upset the Americans, and how big an advantage this is for the European team.

Surely he has to be talking nonsense?

It is the homes captain perogative to "toughen" up the course a bit for the visitors, the fairways were certainly pinched quite a bit at Kentucky. However, Monty has been adamant that he did not take the opportunity of doing anything to the course this time out.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2010, 04:11:25 PM
God the coverage is painful. All talk and flashbacks to years ago and missing the golf.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 03, 2010, 04:36:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 03, 2010, 04:11:25 PM
God the coverage is painful. All talk and flashbacks to years ago and missing the golf.

It's shocking. I think they've shown 1 shot from Martin Kaymer all day.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2010, 04:40:12 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on October 03, 2010, 04:36:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 03, 2010, 04:11:25 PM

It's shocking. I think they've shown 1 shot from Martin Kaymer all day.

They seem to be limited to showing action from only a few holes but not them all. A bit like MayoGodHelpUs last night.
Post by: RMDrive on October 03, 2010, 05:52:11 PM
Brilliant day for Europe. Fair play to Francesco M for the half at the end. In a great position to win it tomorrow.
Post by: Square Ball on October 03, 2010, 07:12:04 PM
Lee Westwood v Steve Stricker
Rory McIlroy v Stewart Cink
Luke Donald v Jim Furyk
Martin Kaymer v Dustin Johnson
Ian Poulter v Matt Kuchar
Ross Fisher v Jeff Overton
Miguel Angel Jimenez v Bubba Watson
Francesco Molinari v Tiger Woods
Edoardo Molinari v Rickie Fowler
Peter Hanson v Phil Mickelson
Padraig Harrington v Zach Johnson
Graeme McDowell v Hunter Mahan
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2010, 08:14:57 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on October 03, 2010, 07:12:04 PM
Lee Westwood v Steve Stricker
Rory McIlroy v Stewart Cink
Luke Donald v Jim Furyk
Martin Kaymer v Dustin Johnson
Ian Poulter v Matt Kuchar
Ross Fisher v Jeff Overton
Miguel Angel Jimenez v Bubba Watson
Francesco Molinari v Tiger Woods
Edoardo Molinari v Rickie Fowler
Peter Hanson v Phil Mickelson
Padraig Harrington v Zach Johnson
Graeme McDowell v Hunter Mahan

He has put the two lads last for luck as the Irish have won the final point or half so many times. But tonight he will be hoping to win it further up the line. My money is on Molinari.  ;D
Post by: Main Street on October 03, 2010, 08:24:55 PM
I watched some of the coverage on some obscure US Golf channel this afternoon, made a change from the mainstream hype.
Maybe because it was on TV recently but the Molinaries remind me of the two Italian chef brothers in The Big Night. They certainly came with up the goods at the18th.
That's what the Ryder Cup is all about.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 03, 2010, 08:38:01 PM
(http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/2601/cbffb.jpg)
Post by: mackers on October 03, 2010, 08:46:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2010, 01:33:45 PM

That's the point Tony, it doesn't surprise anyone. Doesn't mean they shouldn't do something about it. I'd imagine a move to southern Europe wouldn't be popular. Look at the crowds at that today, couldn't really see crowds in Italy, Spain, France (where golf would still be more of a minority sport) generating that sort of noise. That said, a repeat of this week in Gleneagles could see Sky starting to squeeze the Ryder Cup committee to go ahead with such a move.
Looking at the pairings for the singles there is no match that jumps out as a home banker. It'll probably be another excellent day's viewing, pity I'm in work. :-[
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 03, 2010, 08:55:36 PM
Quote from: mackers on October 03, 2010, 08:46:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2010, 01:33:45 PM

That's the point Tony, it doesn't surprise anyone. Doesn't mean they shouldn't do something about it. I'd imagine a move to southern Europe wouldn't be popular. Look at the crowds at that today, couldn't really see crowds in Italy, Spain, France (where golf would still be more of a minority sport) generating that sort of noise. That said, a repeat of this week in Gleneagles could see Sky starting to squeeze the Ryder Cup committee to go ahead with such a move.
Looking at the pairings for the singles there is no match that jumps out as a home banker. It'll probably be another excellent day's viewing, pity I'm in work. :-[

sky plus - stay off the tinernet in work and avoid the score, watch it tomorrow evening - simples
Post by: OverTheBlackSpot on October 03, 2010, 09:09:06 PM
Watching the BBC highlights, hopefully they'll be on tomorrow night as well. Hard to beat Peter Alliss.
Post by: Orior on October 03, 2010, 11:04:29 PM
Do they get paid for playing in the Ryder Cup?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 03, 2010, 11:06:06 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2010, 11:04:29 PM
Do they get paid for playing in the Ryder Cup?

ofcourse they dont, why do you think woods doesnt give a fcuk
Post by: Orior on October 03, 2010, 11:06:52 PM
So who gets the gate money, and where does it go?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2010, 12:18:38 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2010, 11:06:52 PM
So who gets the gate money, and where does it go?
Direct profit for US and European tour bodies.
Post by: NAG1 on October 04, 2010, 08:55:28 AM
any links going?/
Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 09:19:30 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 04, 2010, 08:55:28 AM
any links going?/

http://www.vip--tv.com/vip-tv.php
Post by: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 09:57:56 AM
http://www.show-sports.net/

I am watching it here!! Freezes every now and then but hey you can stil see it!
Post by: omagh_gael on October 04, 2010, 11:16:04 AM
http://www.vip--tv.com/fatbrummies.php

here too quality not 100%
Post by: omagh_gael on October 04, 2010, 11:40:05 AM
Much better feed

http://www.livevss.tv/
Post by: mick999 on October 04, 2010, 12:00:21 PM
http://hqlive.blogspot.com/ (http://hqlive.blogspot.com/)

The flash feeds are good quality ..
Post by: isourboydownyet on October 04, 2010, 12:11:50 PM
fisher really surprising me with all this fist pumping shite,cringe worthy
Post by: gerry on October 04, 2010, 12:34:16 PM
some chip by poulter
Post by: isourboydownyet on October 04, 2010, 12:51:56 PM
im getting a very bad feeling about this
Post by: gerry on October 04, 2010, 12:55:08 PM
another great shot by poulter
Post by: isourboydownyet on October 04, 2010, 12:59:12 PM
the feeling has just left me :D
Post by: stiffler on October 04, 2010, 01:21:46 PM
whos on course to hole the winning putt?
Post by: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 01:32:07 PM
If donald gets his in it might be E Molinari to win it for Europe.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 01:33:39 PM
Lads is it far of the finish, saw a bit this morning, think I can sneek off to catch some now.
Post by: Orior on October 04, 2010, 01:36:09 PM
Quote from: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 01:32:07 PM

I think Europe need 14.5, therefore it maybe down to GMac Graeme
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 04, 2010, 01:36:16 PM
Quote from: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 01:32:07 PM

Looks like it'll be Mcdowell at this stage.
Post by: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 01:43:53 PM
Jaysus pressure is really on now. jiminez,  Molinari  and Mc Dowell winning and that's it??
Post by: Sandino on October 04, 2010, 01:48:47 PM
Harrington really disapointing!
Post by: Donkeywalloper on October 04, 2010, 01:52:47 PM
Going down the wire in the last pairing.

Gmac to win it on the 17th and then eat himself as a well known BBC presenter retreats to a nearby wooded area to rustle in the bushes !

Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 01:53:36 PM
SINGLES LATEST (Match score EUROPE 12-9 USA)
SESSION 4

Lee Westwood Lost 2&1 v Steve Stricker

Rory McIlroy HALVED v Stewart Cink

Luke Donald Won 1Up v Jim Furyk

Martin Kaymer Lost 6&4 v Dustin Johnson

Ian Poulter Won 5&4 v Matt Kuchar

Ross Fisher 2Dn v Jeff Overton (14)

Miguel Angel Jimenez 3Up v Bubba Watson (13)

Francesco Molinari 3Dn v Tiger Woods (12)

Edoardo Molinari 4Up v Rickie Fowler (12)

Peter Hanson 3Dn v Phil Mickelson (11)

Padraig Harrington 4Dn v Zach Johnson (11)

Graeme McDowell 2Up v Hunter Mahan (10)

i think its all over....
Post by: Orior on October 04, 2010, 01:56:16 PM
Quote from: Donkeywalloper on October 04, 2010, 01:52:47 PM
Going down the wire in the last pairing.

Gmac to win it on the 17th and then eat himself as a well known BBC presenter retreats to a nearby wooded area to rustle in the bushes !

Emmm... you'll have to explain that one.
Post by: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 02:00:00 PM
If Fisher could get back in his, twould be great! It's the only match where they have a chance to  come back!
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 02:02:56 PM
Europe are three up in three matches with 4/5/6 holes to go. They only need 2.5 points. That's a lot of room for error
Post by: cicfada on October 04, 2010, 02:08:34 PM
For me that Jiminez shot out  of the bunker on 18 was the shot of the tournament!! Absolutely brilliant!!
Post by: Sandino on October 04, 2010, 02:10:35 PM
This could end up all square.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on October 04, 2010, 02:11:12 PM
harrington is shocking
Post by: Sandino on October 04, 2010, 02:17:57 PM
This is like the finnish to a Major for McDowell it will take some nuts to win it.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 02:20:46 PM
All the pressure on McDowell  :o  :o great man for the job  :-\  ???
Post by: Sandino on October 04, 2010, 02:30:20 PM
Oh My God! Can you imagine Stephen Watson?
Post by: screenexile on October 04, 2010, 02:40:00 PM
Lads u don't know... Gmac couldn't have had an early night last night after Coleraine's first ever Senior championship... I think he'll be ok though!
Post by: Bogball XV on October 04, 2010, 02:42:53 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 04, 2010, 02:40:00 PM
Lads u don't know... Gmac couldn't have had an early night last night after Coleraine's first ever Senior championship... I think he'll be ok though!
But Gmac's Portrush - surely Portstewart would be their bitter rivals ;)
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 02:45:50 PM
Fowler has just won the 17th hole. He is one down with one to play. I wouldnt bet against him salvaging a draw, his putting has been excellent all week.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 02:49:49 PM
what a pity this is all on a Monday afternoon,  >:(  :-X not going to see the highlights tonight either as I want to see Bill tearing the heads off some of Ireland's finest young business people  :D
Post by: Boycey on October 04, 2010, 02:52:09 PM
squeaky bum time..
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 02:56:40 PM
13-12. Mollinari in the rough on 18. It is down to McDowell (M`Dole) who is only 1 up with 3 to play. M`Dole has to win.
Post by: heganboy on October 04, 2010, 03:02:25 PM
thats some come back by fowler
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 03:02:50 PM
Fowler did it
Post by: Main Street on October 04, 2010, 03:03:35 PM
The European wagon wheels are wobbling.
Now down to the last Nordie.
Post by: heganboy on October 04, 2010, 03:04:08 PM
so its all down to wee Graham holding his nerve, for the second time this year...
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 03:04:45 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 04, 2010, 03:03:35 PM
The European wagon wheels are wobbling.
Now down to the last Nordie.

He`ll be Irish if he loses.
Post by: Rossie11 on October 04, 2010, 03:07:46 PM
Unreal from Fowler in fairness
Post by: ludermor on October 04, 2010, 03:08:21 PM
Some drama now!
Fair f**ks to Fowler , birdies the last 4 holes in his game to halve the match!!
Some putt from McDowelll!!
Post by: gerry on October 04, 2010, 03:10:36 PM
just about in
Post by: Orior on October 04, 2010, 03:12:04 PM
McDowell could win it on the 17th?
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 03:16:03 PM
That should be it, barring a miracle. They`ll both get down in 2 from there.
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2010, 03:16:16 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 04, 2010, 03:12:04 PM
McDowell could win it on the 17th?

Looks like it.
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:17:12 PM
I think the question of do the players really care about this has been answered.

Of course they do,any fool could see that watching it today
Post by: Main Street on October 04, 2010, 03:17:22 PM
This is what the Ryder Cup is all about.
Post by: omagh_gael on October 04, 2010, 03:18:29 PM
(http://img.timeinc.net/golf/i/tours/2010/09/sep20-graeme-mcdowell_299x398.jpg)

G-Mac attack
Post by: screenexile on October 04, 2010, 03:19:06 PM
Don't know how anyone could doubt the significance of the Ryder Cup ... surely that was one of the great sporting events of all time. Great spectacle!
Post by: omagh_gael on October 04, 2010, 03:20:56 PM
He left that short so he could putt out to win it!
Post by: Sandino on October 04, 2010, 03:22:29 PM
Well done!!
Some nerve.
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:22:45 PM
Why didnt yer man ask Gmac to putt out? It wasn;t that near the hole
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 03:23:06 PM
Well done McDowell.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 04, 2010, 03:23:20 PM
Could the American not have let McDowell put out to give him the pleasure instead of conceeding?
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2010, 03:23:51 PM
Plan B
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:25:09 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 04, 2010, 03:23:20 PM
Could the American not have let McDowell put out to give him the pleasure instead of conceeding?

Thats what I thought,plus he could have missed
Post by: Rossie11 on October 04, 2010, 03:26:06 PM
He had 2 putts to win from 6ft in fairness
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 03:26:36 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 04, 2010, 03:19:06 PM
Don't know how anyone could doubt the significance of the Ryder Cup ... surely that was one of the great sporting events of all time. Great spectacle!

I have no real interest in golf, but that was gripping stuff. Watched it all day yesterday and worked from home today. McDowell will get all the plaudits and deservedly so, but for me Fowler was outstanding all weekend. He kept the tournament alive this afternoon coming back from 3 down with 3 to play. His putting was a joy to watch.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 03:26:47 PM
he had two putts from 6ft to half the hole which was all he needed to win 2&1.
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:27:42 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 04, 2010, 03:26:06 PM
He had 2 putts to win from 6ft in fairness

Fair enough but it would have been nice to finish it out
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 03:28:24 PM
Fair play to McDowell. That putt on the 16th was the putt of a champion - which, with all due respect to those who have had the luck to be the one to hit the winning putt in the Ryder Cup, is what he is.
Post by: Orior on October 04, 2010, 03:29:56 PM
I feel sorry for Corey Pavin. He's seems a real decent person.

This should take McDowell onto a different level.

And with all this limelight, maybe he could even find himself a partner?
Post by: MCMLX on October 04, 2010, 03:31:25 PM
Is Rory not his partner?  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 03:31:45 PM
Great win - some comeback from the Americans - and even though we've won - I've somehow managed to lose money to the boss with USA winning two of the three days.

Time for some celebration - but boy does Harrington have to be seriously concerned about his game currently. I said it before the cup began - but he is a different golfer to the one who won the majors.
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 03:33:28 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 04, 2010, 03:29:56 PM
I feel sorry for Corey Pavin. He's seems a real decent person.

The Americans have taken all the fun out of it with their whole dignity-in-defeat schtick
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:34:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 03:31:45 PM
Great win - some comeback from the Americans - and even though we've won - I've somehow managed to lose money to the boss with USA winning two of the three days.

Time for some celebration - but boy does Harrington have to be seriously concerned about his game currently. I said it before the cup began - but he is a different golfer to the one who won the majors.

Easy say it now but I also said it to my mates before the tournament but I don't think he should have been there.
People might point to the fact he won two points,but if anyone watched it they would know it was Ross Fisher who won the points.
It was a disgrace Paul Casey wasn't picked,anyway it worked out well in the end thank god
Post by: Shrek on October 04, 2010, 03:36:32 PM
really good stuff, glad i went from work home to watch it.

ps agree with the harrington comments although i cant stand casey and was glad harry was picked ahead of him.
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 03:43:23 PM
Can't-quite-believe-it stat: the US have only won once in Europe since 1981. W1 D1 (retained by Europe) L5.
Title: golf
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 04, 2010, 03:44:45 PM
Cant believe the 17 th hole was not fenced off the players could have been crushed
Title: Re: golf
Post by: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 03:48:51 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 04, 2010, 03:44:45 PM
Cant believe the 17 th hole was not fenced off the players could have been crushed

The PGA isnt quite the authority on that as Croke Park is Deel!
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 04, 2010, 03:54:39 PM
They would want to contact head quarters immediately puck , an accident waiting to happen one spectator fell over the flag , i expect a huge insurance claim from said incident
Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 03:55:15 PM

Good shout Deel!!!  :D  :D cracking stuff all round
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 04, 2010, 03:58:01 PM
Thanks sammy lol, any more tip s
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:00:00 PM
I think Monty will be made captain for the next Ryder Cup,was miles better than that tit Faldo
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 04:01:44 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 03:55:15 PM

Good shout Deel!!!  :D  :D cracking stuff all round

Never in doubt, eh? Even when Moilinari (E) did a Mark Calcavecchia on it.
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 04:04:07 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:00:00 PM
I think Monty will be made captain for the next Ryder Cup,was miles better than that tit Faldo

Unlikely. The habit of giving them one tilt at it is well established now. It's Jose Maria Olazabal's for the taking
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:04:48 PM
Mcilroy has fairly changed his tune about the Ryder Cup....
Title: Re: golf
Post by: sammymaguire on October 04, 2010, 04:15:18 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 04, 2010, 03:58:01 PM
Thanks sammy lol, any more tip s

Mark Johnston's Realisation in the 4.50 at Warwick in with a decent looking shout
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 04:20:42 PM
Cracking finish, enthralling stuff.
Post by: Square Ball on October 04, 2010, 04:24:00 PM
now thats excitement and tension filled, even when you have to watch the BBC update in work :D

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 04:28:27 PM
Wonder will the moment with McDowell pumping the Tri-Colour into the air be the picture in the papers in the Republic and Irish News etc. but the one with him sheepishly holding the Northern Irish flag be the one in the Norn Iron and British papers.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 04, 2010, 04:30:39 PM
I am one of the few that watch golf for hours no matter what the tournament but ive never jumped up in the house like watching sligo before for a putt, like i did today for mcdowells on the 16th... Great stuff, didnt leave the sofa all day. ;D

Fair play and congrats to europe, the usa were immense aswell.
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:32:14 PM
Mcilroy looks very proud with his N.Ireland flag there
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 04:33:39 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:32:14 PM
Mcilroy looks very proud with his N.Ireland flag there

Each to their own.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 04, 2010, 04:35:15 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:04:48 PM
Mcilroy has fairly changed his tune about the Ryder Cup....
Along with backing down on calling Woods out...
He couldn't get past Cink ffs, he might want to zip it!
Oh aye...and is he riding Mcdowell?
That aside...Well Done to Monty and the lads :)
Post by: magpie seanie on October 04, 2010, 04:36:34 PM
Hard luck T.O.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 04, 2010, 04:40:56 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 04, 2010, 04:36:34 PM
Hard luck T.O.
;D Not at all Seanie....sure it was a no lose situation for me
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 04:44:25 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 04, 2010, 04:30:39 PM
I am one of the few that watch golf for hours no matter what the tournament but ive never jumped up in the house like watching sligo before for a putt, like i did today for mcdowells on the 16th... Great stuff, didnt leave the sofa all day. ;D

Fair play and congrats to europe, the usa were immense aswell.

I'm the same as you Sligonian,I watch Golf for hours on end,doesn't matter the torunament(never jumped cheering for Sligo though  ;) )
Raging I missed this today but work is work,and I couldn't stay at home to watch it.
Rossie11 spent a fortune texting me the scores all day!

I think it was fairly obvious Harrington shouldn't have been picked,I said it before the tournament so Im not just being wise after the event,as someone mentioned it was Ross Fisher who really won the points in the Fourball/Foursomes when paired with Harrington.Fisher made some brilliant putts over the two sessions.

Anyway great to win,will have to make do with the highlights tonight though to see the excitement of the last few holes.

Well done to Monty too,not everyones cup of tae it has to be said but he has been a great captain
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 04:47:28 PM
Di Stewart looking hot again...
Post by: Evil Genius on October 04, 2010, 04:47:48 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 04:28:27 PM
Wonder will the moment with McDowell pumping the Tri-Colour into the air be the picture in the papers in the Republic and Irish News etc. but the one with him sheepishly holding the Northern Irish flag be the one in the Norn Iron and British papers.
Dunno, but I'd say it might get into the Italian papers though... :D

(Green, White and Red, in case you don't get it)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2010, 04:53:22 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on October 04, 2010, 04:47:48 PM

Actually you'll find he had a green, white and gold one. The Italian flag was thrown on him when the celebrations began but he had a tircolor later.
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2010, 04:57:21 PM
No doubt we will have about three pages about flags and religion now.
Post by: deiseach on October 04, 2010, 04:59:18 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 04, 2010, 04:57:21 PM
No doubt we will have about thirty pages about flags and religion now.

Fixed that for you.

Getting back to the golf, are they still speechifying? I can see why Tiger doesn't like it, all this waffle cuts into his R&R
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2010, 05:03:35 PM

McDowell can clearly be seen drinking Persecco from Catholic Italy. He even sprayed it on McIlroy and all of the flags so that all they became Catholic flags, even the St. George's one which he renamed St. Graeme's.

A great day for Eurotaigs everywhere.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 05:07:55 PM

Ha ha was it Evil Genius, I saw the distance shot on sky, fair enough, I was hoping to see him with a European flag to be honest. Saw Miguel Angel Jimenez with the Spanish flag after he finished, but he had swapped it for European Blue for the celebrations. He a feckn legend, funny as fck with the hair and the cigar, class shot out of the bunker.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 04, 2010, 05:09:38 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2010, 04:53:22 PM

Actually you'll find he had a green, white and gold one. The Italian flag was thrown on him when the celebrations began but he had a tircolor later.

Why did he have an Offaly flag?  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 05:12:12 PM
All this thanking the wives is a bit sickening
Post by: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 05:36:58 PM
So what is all this craic with the G-unit being gay? Is there any truth to it - seems the begrudgery is out in force from plenty of hallions back home according to my facebook.
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2010, 05:37:49 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 05:36:58 PM
So what is all this craic with the G-unit being gay? Is there any truth to it - seems the begrudgery is out in force from plenty of hallions back home according to my facebook.

I heard that a good while ago, dunno if it is true.
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2010, 05:44:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 05:12:12 PM
All this thanking the wives is a bit sickening

Different thread boy.
Post by: heganboy on October 04, 2010, 05:45:36 PM

WGAF?

seriously?
Post by: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 05:47:44 PM
Wha?
Post by: Niall Quinn on October 04, 2010, 05:49:56 PM
I've never seen Mrs Doubtfire so happy looking.
Post by: heganboy on October 04, 2010, 05:51:29 PM
On another note- Tiger was 9 under after 12 holes-
7 birdies and an eagle on the first 12 holes of that course is outrageous- FI he's able to get that swing going the second tiger era is dawning, and you wont hear the end of Sean Foley...
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on October 04, 2010, 05:51:59 PM
Well done Europe, hard luck to USA....best match for a long time, and thanks to those of you who posted links....great to be able to watch over here.
Post by: Square Ball on October 04, 2010, 05:53:24 PM
Is it true that as football has WAGS golf has Wifes And Birdies? WABs a great  Norn Iron word in deed
Post by: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 05:53:52 PM
Quote from: heganboy on October 04, 2010, 05:51:29 PM
On another note- Tiger was 9 under after 12 holes-
7 birdies and an eagle on the first 12 holes of that course is outrageous- FI he's able to get that swing going the second tiger era is dawning, and you wont hear the end of Sean Foley...

I think it was the last 12?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 06:00:34 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on October 04, 2010, 05:53:24 PM
Is it true that as football has WAGS golf has Wifes And Birdies? WABs a great  Norn Iron word in deed

I thought they were called GWAGS..Golf Wags?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 06:01:19 PM
So what is all this craic with the G-unit being gay? Is there any truth to it .

I dunno or care but I wouldn't be a bit shocked if he was
Post by: Square Ball on October 04, 2010, 06:11:55 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 06:00:34 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on October 04, 2010, 05:53:24 PM

I thought they were called GWAGS..Golf Wags?

well i thinks WABs is better

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 06:01:19 PM
So what is all this craic with the G-unit being gay? Is there any truth to it .

I dunno or care but I wouldn't be a bit shocked if he was

exactly, who cares if he is
Post by: The Worker on October 04, 2010, 06:34:09 PM

good contribution
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2010, 07:05:28 PM

Probably just because he's in his 30's, wealthy and still single. Usually these golfers have two or three ex-wives by then.

More importantly he's beginning to look a little like Ricky Gervais.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2010, 07:09:44 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2010, 07:05:28 PM

Probably just because he's in his 30's, wealthy and still single. Usually these golfers have two or three ex-wives by then.

More importantly he's beginning to look a little like Ricky Gervais.
He said on The Late Late that he was looking for that special gal but was having fun looking. Being on the road so much I wouldn't be settling down in his situation either.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2010, 07:18:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2010, 07:05:28 PMProbably just because he's in his 30's, wealthy and still single.

A bit like meself  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2010, 07:31:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2010, 07:18:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 04, 2010, 07:05:28 PMProbably just because he's in his 30's, wealthy and still single.

At least he's not ginger...
Post by: omagh_gael on October 04, 2010, 07:35:34 PM
Only got a chance to watch live coverage today. Took me a couple of minutes to figure out why everyone was booing Donald. Then I realised they were employing a clever play on his name. Hilarious. Luuuuuuuuuuuuuke!
Post by: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 07:37:42 PM

Yes - and you've been spotted in similarly hideous cardigans.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2010, 08:00:55 PM
leave my cardigan along ya boy ye
Post by: Main Street on October 04, 2010, 09:43:58 PM
All that started with the Ryder cup that was played in Chicago. There was about 10 or 20 lads  (like football fans) on the 18th welcoming the players home, when some French player turned up they stopped for a few seconds and then broke into  humming La Marseillaise, at the top of their hums.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 04, 2010, 09:49:57 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 04, 2010, 07:37:42 PM

Yes - and you've been spotted in similarly hideous cardigans.

And no doubt a ultra annoying Northern Ireland/North American accent
Post by: Evil Genius on October 04, 2010, 09:59:22 PM
Quote from: The Worker on October 04, 2010, 06:34:09 PM

good contribution
Point of Information, really.

Personally I am one of that group of posters who find this Ryder Cup/Flag "controversy" amusing, unlike those few saddoes who seem to think it important.

I found this one amusing, too:

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs136.snc4/37124_157801104240764_116194255068116_354182_2940537_n.jpg)

Worth a Caption Competition?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2010, 10:33:31 PM

good call
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2010, 11:17:08 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on October 04, 2010, 09:59:22 PM

good contribution

Personally I am one of that group of posters who find this Ryder Cup/Flag "controversy" amusing, unlike those few saddoes who seem to think it important.

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs136.snc4/37124_157801104240764_116194255068116_354182_2940537_n.jpg)

That is very funny actually! Harrington is like a ballerina.
Post by: omagh_gael on October 04, 2010, 11:43:10 PM

good contribution

Father Neil Horan gate-crashes Ryder cup celebrations?
Post by: screenexile on October 05, 2010, 12:17:47 AM
Have to feel for the guy I mean 2 duff shots at the deciding hole is a tough break. . .

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9060166.stm
Post by: rrhf on October 05, 2010, 08:43:51 AM
Ryder Cup Organsiers could Call for GAA crowd control measures.
Following exuberant crowd invasions in yesterdays Ryder Cup showdown, Paraic Dufy has denied rumours that they will be offering advice to Ryder Cup organisers to ensure the greens dont get trampled and children dont get stood upon during celebrations.  Dufy was heard to say, thats uncontrollable, Id put a fence around that, when European fans invaded the sacred grass area.  No one whatsoever was available for comment.     
Post by: Shrek on October 05, 2010, 08:44:38 AM

i know a few stories that would completly dispell that rumour. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2010, 09:25:27 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 05, 2010, 12:17:47 AM
Have to feel for the guy I mean 2 duff shots at the deciding hole is a tough break. . .

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9060166.stm
Plenty of points were dropped over the 4 days but focus will always be on the deciding pair. Cink had numerous makeable putts to bury McIlroy but didn't hole them. As Monty says, Europe won it at the weekend when they took 51/2 from 6 points when they were behind
Post by: isourboydownyet on October 05, 2010, 10:58:54 AM
Quote from: Shrek on October 05, 2010, 08:44:38 AM

heard a couple too from a man who knows him well and as you say they dispell that rumour big time,bit of ladies man by all accounts and the yankee accent came about because when he was over there on his scolarship the local gals couldnt understand him so he made adjustments to his tone :D
Post by: SambaSaffron on October 05, 2010, 12:27:27 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on October 05, 2010, 10:58:54 AM
Quote from: Shrek on October 05, 2010, 08:44:38 AM

heard a couple too from a man who knows him well and as you say they dispell that rumour big time,bit of ladies man by all accounts and the yankee accent came about because when he was over there on his scolarship the local gals couldnt understand him so he made adjustments to his tone :D
Tell him he can change it back now, and he'll stop sounding like a tosser.
Post by: stephenite on October 05, 2010, 12:31:10 PM
He was engaged to a Welsh chick years back, it ended after she caught him shagging one of her mates apparently
Post by: Minder on October 05, 2010, 01:08:23 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 05, 2010, 12:31:10 PM
He was engaged to a Welsh chick years back, it ended after she caught him shagging one of her mates apparently

What was his name?

Only joking.
Post by: thegael on October 05, 2010, 06:20:56 PM
Disgraceful scenes  with the Ulster flag , I was disgusted. Any right thinking gael would see this as it is a classic case of taking the soup. a lot like these gaels going , watching and supporting ulster rugby -  they are all trying to ingratiate themselves with the unionists , very servile people. Maybe the folks around north down do that  - the castle catholics , the people that forget their roots . must be a lot of that going on in the golf club there........ they probably send their kids to exclusively rugby playing schools but hey it is the ryder cup , bollocks get a grip ...............
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 05, 2010, 06:32:28 PM
Quote from: thegael on October 05, 2010, 06:20:56 PM
Disgraceful scenes  with the Ulster flag , I was disgusted. Any right thinking gael would see this as it is a classic case of taking the soup. a lot like these gaels going , watching and supporting ulster rugby -  they are all trying to ingratiate themselves with the unionists , very servile people. Maybe the folks around north down do that  - the castle catholics , the people that forget their roots . must be a lot of that going on in the golf club there........ they probably send their kids to exclusively rugby playing schools but hey it is the ryder cup , bollocks get a grip ...............

Did they have Ulster flags as well as Northern Ireland? I didn't see any Ulster flags.
Post by: muppet on October 05, 2010, 06:41:12 PM

McDowell: Rory is that your hand or are you just pleased to see me?

Harry: Stand up for the Ulsterman!