GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on July 25, 2010, 10:47:50 PM

Title: Greatly exaggerated GAA Myths
Post by: From the Bunker on July 25, 2010, 10:47:50 PM
Here's a few to get you started

Ulster teams have the upper hand on Kerry. Bar Tyrone the rest can go jump

Meath teams are never beaten. If so why no Leinster title in nine years

Dublin fans are the most fickle. No more than any other county, just there are more of them

Mayo are All-Ireland Contenders. Need I say anymore

Galway have great forwards. Take out Joyce and the reality becomes evident

Kerry never produce bad teams. Yeah, what about 1987 to 1996.
Title: Re: Greatly exaggerated GAA Myths
Post by: 5 Sams on July 25, 2010, 10:56:54 PM
That beaten provincial finalists need more than 6 days to get ready for another match in the championship....dry your fecking eyes and give yourselves a shake...we give off about poofy soccer players complaining about having to play 2 games in 5 days...wise up Monaghan, Limerick, Louth and Sligo....get over it...you weren't good enough...you had another chance and fcuked it up again!! Slán
Post by: armaghniac on July 25, 2010, 11:35:25 PM
Another myth about to come to an end
"Down always beat Kerry in Championshp"
Post by: snoopdog on July 25, 2010, 11:41:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 25, 2010, 11:35:25 PM
Good to see the armagh bitterness at full strength again.
My God you guys have a severe inferiority complex with down.
Get over it yes we have 5 times the All Ireland titles you have
we dont expect to beat Kerry ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 25, 2010, 11:41:53 PM
That the 6 counties also have a Bank Holiday on the first Monday in August.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 25, 2010, 11:47:09 PM

If you have a wee think about it you will find that it is not a myth....the word you are lookin for is FACT....
Post by: Orior on July 26, 2010, 12:12:18 AM
Greatly exaggerated GAA myths is a myth. It is either a myth or it isnt.
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2010, 12:34:21 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 26, 2010, 12:12:18 AM
Greatly exaggerated GAA myths is a myth. It is either a myth or it isnt.

You are mything the point.
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 01:15:11 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 25, 2010, 10:56:54 PM
That beaten provincial finalists need more than 6 days to get ready for another match in the championship....dry your fecking eyes and give yourselves a shake...we give off about poofy soccer players complaining about having to play 2 games in 5 days...wise up Monaghan, Limerick, Louth and Sligo....get over it...you weren't good enough...you had another chance and fcuked it up again!! Slán

I love straight talking. 10/10 5 Sams.
Post by: Wee Shea on July 26, 2010, 08:54:20 AM
That Croke Park is some sort of ultra sized pitch double the size of others around the country.
Post by: Zapatista on July 26, 2010, 08:57:29 AM
Hill 16 is Dublin only.
Post by: cornafean on July 26, 2010, 09:21:02 AM
Pitch invasions are desparately dangerous when they happen in Croke Park but harmless when they happen in Thurles, right under Christy Cooney's nose.
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2010, 09:26:15 AM
That Postman Pat can play corner back for Tyrone.
Post by: blanketattack on July 26, 2010, 10:14:13 AM
That Socrates played Sigerson Cup football with UCD.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 11:07:25 AM
Kildare have no natural forwards
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 26, 2010, 11:09:01 AM
that football would be better without the fist pass
Post by: LeoMc on July 26, 2010, 11:14:36 AM
that football bagan in 2002.

Or is that just a northern myth?
Post by: The Konica on July 26, 2010, 11:19:10 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 11:07:25 AM
Kildare have no natural forwards
Hang on Dinny ... wasn't looking like a myth in the first 30 mins last weekend!
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2010, 11:34:01 AM
RTE this morning --- Tyrone have to beat Dublin,Cork and Kerry to win the All Ireland  ;)
Post by: AbbeySider on July 26, 2010, 11:41:18 AM
<Insert player name here> is not a footballer
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 26, 2010, 12:44:33 PM
Knockmore are a dirty team.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2010, 12:46:29 PM
That Sligo gave 100% against Roscommon and Down.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 26, 2010, 01:10:46 PM
Quote from: cornafean on July 26, 2010, 09:21:02 AM
Pitch invasions are desparately dangerous when they happen in Croke Park but harmless when they happen in Thurles, right under Christy Cooney's nose.

Yeah, come to think of it, it seems to be safe enough to go onto the Pitch when U2 are playing in Croker!
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 01:17:19 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2010, 12:46:29 PM
That Sligo gave 100% against Roscommon and Down.

I haven't heard anyone say this tbh.
Post by: Mickeys beard on July 26, 2010, 01:30:19 PM
A wide's as good as a score.......hmmmm?
You never saw that back in our day..........yeah right!
This oul hand-passin's destroying the game...........is that so?
There's too much of that oul defendin nowadays...........of course there is!
There's no high catching in the game anymore...........aye right.
There was nobody like <legend>.  He would have beat any of the modern teams on his own...........must have been some player!
Post by: EagleLord on July 26, 2010, 02:11:19 PM
'If you're going to miss, at least miss on the far post, its a sin to miss a free at the near post..' ARE YOU f**king JOKING ME!? IT STILL WENT WIDE! WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE IF IT WENT WIDE ON THE FAR POST, NEAR POST OR HIT THE CORNER FLAG, THE END RESULT IS THE SAME, KEEPERS KICKOUT, NO SCORE!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:16:42 PM
I've explained this before on the Monaghan Kildare thread. As a free taker, it is worse to miss on your near side. It means you've more than likely snatched at it a bit, and pulled it, like Paddy Kelly last Saturday night. If you make a good contact, but the ball doesn't come around enough, you can live with that.

So, as an ex free taker, I would say yes, it is worse to miss on the short side, it's like missing 'below the hole' on a 6 foot putt.
Post by: EagleLord on July 26, 2010, 02:19:32 PM
The ball still goes wide.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:21:58 PM
I know it does. But in terms of how 'bad' the miss was, it's worse on the near side in most cases.
Post by: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 02:23:11 PM
Grab All Association.....
Post by: deiseach on July 26, 2010, 02:24:02 PM
Peter Withnell is a Protestant
Tony Browne has a picture in his attic
Post by: EagleLord on July 26, 2010, 02:27:28 PM
I get that 'aiming' for the far post is the desired action when kicking a free, or shot, given the way modern footballers all shoot, sort of side-on, I get that AZ, I agree in that sense of course, BUT its the way i hear men say it, 'at least miss on the far post'... it just ridiculous!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:29:38 PM
It depends what they mean when they say it. If they mean 'Make a good strike and aim for the far post, bringing it back' then they are right.

If they mean balloon it at the far post and make sure it goes wide over that side, then they are wrong :D
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on July 26, 2010, 02:30:17 PM
That the GAA fix draws in favour of Dublin Footballers. If they are doing it I wish they'd stop.

2005 Tyrone
2007 Kerry
2008 Tyrone
2009 Kerry
2010 Tyrone
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 02:40:12 PM
AZ - that's one that grinds my synchromesh as well. McStay does my nut with it - on and on and on, every time someone misses a free.

I still can't understand why it's worse to come short on it and pull it, than to overcook it and push it. To me it's like saying a boxer should never be knocked out with the right, but the left is understandable or a jockey should never lose by going too early, but if he leaves his run a little too late, well that happens. They are equivalent errors, as far as I can see and, as Eagle Lord says, the results are identical.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:46:23 PM
Try not to think of it in terms of the end result which, as you say, is the same.

If I'm a free taker standing over a free in a big game, I trust my hours of practice, my routine, and my own ability to make a solid, smooth strike of the ball, and to curve it over in a nice, smooth motion. If I then snatch at the kick, and pull it wide short side (a lá Paddy Kelly on Saturday night) then that is far worse to me than a kick that just doesn't come around in time, or is started out slightly too far.

A snatch means that either I didn't follow my routine, or got nervous and failed to make a good strike. That's why it's worse.

As for the ones that are hopelessly pushed mile the far side, well they are usually out of the hand, and I never took frees out of the hand. I would say they would be as bad as the snatched short side, because they usually are of the 'throw a leg at it' variety. Again stemming from either being short of confidence, or not trusting your natural stirke.

But what I mean is that a snatch short side is worse, from the kicker's perspective, than a good strike that doesn't come around in time.
Post by: haze on July 26, 2010, 02:49:28 PM
I dont know what is worse- Kevin McStay ruing a game as co-commentator or having to listen to him analyse a game afterwards.

Anyway- my personal favourite myth- Tommy Freeman (i think) misses a free in first 10 mins from the hand: cue the usual "oh why don't they kick it from the ground, less variables mumbo jumbo......

John Doyle uncharacteristically misses at least 3 frees from the ground yet only excuse being he was having a bad day.

The myth being that it is always better to take a free from the ground when really it depends on whose kicking the bloody ball and how good they are at it
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:51:35 PM
Quote from: haze on July 26, 2010, 02:49:28 PM
I dont know what is worse- Kevin McStay ruing a game as co-commentator or having to listen to him analyse a game afterwards.

Anyway- my personal favourite myth- Tommy Freeman (i think) misses a free in first 10 mins from the hand: cue the usual "oh why don't they kick it from the ground, less variables mumbo jumbo......

John Doyle uncharacteristically misses at least 3 frees from the ground yet only excuse being he was having a bad day.

The myth being that it is always better to take a free from the ground when really it depends on whose kicking the bloody ball and how good they are at it

That's true haze, but it is a fact that there are less moving parts when you are kicking off the ground. It is a matter of what makes you comfortable though, as the free taker, but I do believe that people off the ground are more accurate, more often, on average. Ground kicking can be harder on the body, and harder when you are tired mind you.
Post by: Hound on July 26, 2010, 02:51:58 PM
I reckon McStay gets it from soccer commentators, who always say strikers should aim for the far post when shooting. Its true in soccer because the keeper usually has the near post well covered and the best you might get is a corner. But if you go far post, you've always the chance of a goal from a rebound.

Extrapolating it to points in GAA is a bit of a nonsense alright. But shots that miss on the near side do generally look worse, a bit like a leaving a putt short looks worse (as AZ said), but a miss is a miss.
Post by: thewobbler on July 26, 2010, 02:52:16 PM
Surely if your kicking technique is concentrated on accuracy - whereby you try to drop them over the bar rather than pummel them - then you are more likely to miss on the near side. And if it's mostly about power - getting it up in the air then dragging it inwards - then you are more likely to miss on the far side.

Neither miss is any worse than the other, it's a just a miscalculation or poor execution.

Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 02:53:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:46:23 PM
Try not to think of it in terms of the end result which, as you say, is the same.

If I'm a free taker standing over a free in a big game, I trust my hours of practice, my routine, and my own ability to make a solid, smooth strike of the ball, and to curve it over in a nice, smooth motion. If I then snatch at the kick, and pull it wide short side (a lá Paddy Kelly on Saturday night) then that is far worse to me than a kick that just doesn't come around in time, or is started out slightly too far.

A snatch means that either I didn't follow my routine, or got nervous and failed to make a good strike. That's why it's worse.

As for the ones that are hopelessly pushed mile the far side, well they are usually out of the hand, and I never took frees out of the hand. I would say they would be as bad as the snatched short side, because they usually are of the 'throw a leg at it' variety. Again stemming from either being short of confidence, or not trusting your natural stirke.

But what I mean is that a snatch short side is worse, from the kicker's perspective, than a good strike that doesn't come around in time.

Shouldn't you be kicking the ball straight, with no coming around necessary?  :P

Haze, I'm afraid I'm against you on the frees from the hand controversy. Off the ground for me every time. I think there's a lot in the "variables" argument. It'd be interesting to do some stats. AZ  - how about a good ould graphic - I liked your Hotzone one.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:55:40 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 26, 2010, 02:52:16 PM
Surely if your kicking technique is concentrated on accuracy - whereby you try to drop them over the bar rather than pummel them - then you are more likely to miss on the near side. And if it's mostly about power - getting it up in the air then dragging it inwards - then you are more likely to miss on the far side.

Neither miss is any worse than the other, it's a just a miscalculation or poor execution.

Try to think of it from the kickers perspective. I've taken a lot of frees in my day, and if you make a good strike, and you don't score because the wind takes it, you slightly misjudged etc etc, then you can live with that and adjust. If you are not striking the ball well, and you are pulling them violently near side, then as a kicker, that's worse.

I accept the fact that as far as net result, both are just as bad, but I think McStay is coming at it from the kickers perspective, and I agree with him.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 02:56:54 PM
There's no excuse for missing frees on your own side in the hot zone.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 26, 2010, 02:57:10 PM
This team isn't a patch on the 19** team.

** Insert your own two figures here.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:57:24 PM
You sneer Jinxy, but you are 100% correct :D
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2010, 02:59:09 PM
That players score points from 'impossible angles' according to Canning. Surely that's impossible.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:59:41 PM
Here's a different one to get us off the free taking symposium.

"Kicking with the outside of the boot is some weird, other worldly, way of kicking a score and is almost unteachable".

It's just a fecking skill. The more you practice, the better you'd be. The way McStay and Spillane go on about it reminds me of National School teachers in the 50s beating left handed children.
Post by: haranguerer on July 26, 2010, 03:01:00 PM
Ah ffs....this is getting as bad as listening to McStay and the rest talking shite about stuff it seems they have no notion about. They seem to have preconceived ideas about various things, and will leap on anything which serves to prove their point, while ignoring all which doesnt or attributing it to something else.

What would analysis prove? If a player chooses to take a free out of his hands, then that is the correct decision for him at that time. Given that he has weighed up the options and chosen one suggests he is more confident in the chosen method at that particular time. Given too that a lot of free taking comes down to confidence, then that is the correct method to choose. If he misses it, he probably would have missed with the alternative method by more...
Post by: haranguerer on July 26, 2010, 03:02:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:59:41 PM

"Kicking with the outside of the boot is some weird, other worldly, way of kicking a score and is almost unteachable".

It's just a fecking skill. The more you practice, the better you'd be. The way McStay and Spillane go on about it reminds me of National School teachers in the 50s beating left handed children.

With you on this though - its a perfectly valid way of kicking the ball, and if hit right gets greater distance with accuracy.
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 03:03:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 02:59:41 PM

I agree 100%. What's even more infuriating is when they refer to it as a soccer skill. No it's not. It's a kicking skill.

QuoteNational School teachers in the 50s beating left handed children.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:04:34 PM
Ah Jaysus AZ that's another McStay one, he claimed that only Emmet Bolton's long range point was natural because he brought his foot throw the ball, the others which were all outside of the boot scores from Kavanagh, Flynn and Callaghan were just Hail Mary efforts, igonoring the fact that Callaghan in front of the posts brought his foot through and missed...
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 26, 2010, 03:05:22 PM
Enough on McStay...Please.
Post by: haze on July 26, 2010, 03:07:55 PM
QuoteHaze, I'm afraid I'm against you on the frees from the hand controversy. Off the ground for me every time. I think there's a lot in the "variables" argument.

To be honest i would have a preference for a free taker to take it from the ground to be honest but my point being that i cant stand the repetitive point being made every time a decent free is kicked off the ground. I also agree with the variables argument but hate hearing it from McStay EVERY sunday

I still think it ultimately depends on the player- in our club our free taker kicks off the ground and out of his hand but is actually more consistent out of his hand. I often see Cian Ward intermittingly switch between kicking from the ground and out of his hands and kick unbelievable scores both ways yet he gets more credit for his off the ground scores- even though taking the variables argument into account its more difficult to take a free from the hand.

Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 03:09:45 PM
Quote from: haze on July 26, 2010, 03:07:55 PM
QuoteHaze, I'm afraid I'm against you on the frees from the hand controversy. Off the ground for me every time. I think there's a lot in the "variables" argument.

To be honest i would have a preference for a free taker to take it from the ground to be honest but my point being that i cant stand the repetitive point being made every time a decent free is kicked off the ground. I also agree with the variables argument but hate hearing it from McStay EVERY sunday

I still think it ultimately depends on the player- in our club our free taker kicks off the ground and out of his hand but is actually more consistent out of his hand. I often see Cian Ward intermittingly switch between kicking from the ground and out of his hands and kick unbelievable scores both ways yet he gets more credit for his off the ground scores- even though taking the variables argument into account its more difficult to take a free from the hand.

I agree with all of that.
Post by: EagleLord on July 26, 2010, 03:10:22 PM
AZ you had to change the topic away from free taking, (you were getting hammered on the free-taking near/far side issue, merrily led by myself! :D) but it seems you've opened another can of worms!haha
Post by: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 03:11:48 PM
Another one - that punching (or illegally palming) the ball over the bar is "the right thing" or "the sensible thing" in all circumstances.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2010, 03:12:19 PM
'Take your points and the goals will come'

How will you score a goal if you keep fisting it over the bar?!
Post by: cornafean on July 26, 2010, 03:15:26 PM
'Tyrone are finished'
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 26, 2010, 03:31:49 PM
Antrim should win Ulster every year...because it has a big population
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:32:38 PM
An All-Ireland win for Dublin would be great for the GAA
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 03:35:22 PM
Meath are dirty.
Post by: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 03:50:59 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:32:38 PM

This one annoys my happyness, because I always hear it from soccer fans who know nothing about football  >:( >:( Usually said in a tone that if they dont win it the GAA would fold....
Post by: boojangles on July 26, 2010, 03:52:24 PM
Still occasionally heard- ''Sure the ball was rolling ref""

Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 03:59:56 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on July 26, 2010, 03:10:22 PM
AZ you had to change the topic away from free taking, (you were getting hammered on the free-taking near/far side issue, merrily led by myself! :D) but it seems you've opened another can of worms!haha

I wasn't aware it was a competition :D I was just giving you the free takers perspective, and I stand by it. I'd prefer to make a good strike and miss than snatch at it and scutter it wide on the near side. :D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:00:48 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 03:32:38 PM

Agree with you Dinny, what they mean is

'An All-Ireland win for Dublin would be great for the GAA....in Dublin'.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 04:04:52 PM
Kerry aren't dirty.
Post by: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 04:25:20 PM
'Them ole weights will only slow ya down'

Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:28:41 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 04:25:20 PM

There's an element of truth in that (as with a lot of these sayings), but I'll leave Zulu to explain it :D
Post by: boojangles on July 26, 2010, 04:45:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:28:41 PM

There's an element of truth in that (as with a lot of these sayings), but I'll leave Zulu to explain it :D

I'l not get into it either but I agree with AZ here. Iv seen some lads and they would be better off getting out and training on a field instead of being stuck in the gym.
Brian O Driscoll lost a stone of weight (or muscle) pre-season before Ireland won the Grand Slam and Leinster won the Heineken Cup. He got his mojo back.
Post by: demusicman on July 26, 2010, 04:50:44 PM
I HATE MEATH [to hell with the begrudgers-but do they all] :-* :-*
Post by: leenie on July 26, 2010, 04:55:39 PM

that meath are leinster champions!
Post by: The Forfeit Point on July 26, 2010, 04:56:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 26, 2010, 03:11:48 PM
Another one - that punching (or illegally palming) the ball over the bar is "the right thing" or "the sensible thing" in all circumstances.

i agree with this. in many cases it is simply the attacker too afraid to go for goal. it does my head in - it is the right thing to do if you are coming at the goals at a narrow angle and there is nothing else outside or you are going to be blocked if you kick it. i can't stand players who tear down the middle one on one with the keeper and fist it over, then for some idiot like carney or mcstay to say "oh yes, that was the right option there" makes it even worse
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:59:12 PM
Agree with that. I suppose it depends who you are really as well, but if Declan O'Sullivan or Gooch or Sean Cavanagh is bearing down on the keeper, the twines are going to rattle.

Post by: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 05:01:42 PM
Quote from: boojangles on July 26, 2010, 04:45:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:28:41 PM

I'l not get into it either but I agree with AZ here. Iv seen some lads and they would be better off getting out and training on a field instead of being stuck in the gym.
Brian O Driscoll lost a stone of weight (or muscle) pre-season before Ireland won the Grand Slam and Leinster won the Heineken Cup. He got his mojo back.

There is an element of truth to it, but ask any county player/ rugby player if the weights room is done correctly, not putting on huge amounts of bulk it can add massively to your game. Pull ups dips etc. Do you really think BOD would be able to compete without the weights?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 05:05:45 PM
No, it's both. But the key is in having a properly tailored and customised fitness regime, that includes cardio, explosiveness, and the core strength.

When 'the weights' came in first, we had county teams (I remember this) all doing exactly the same weights, the same training sessions and circuits. The ball work and cardio work was neglected, as there is only so much time, and so you ended up with bigger, slower lads, and some fellas getting injured because they weren't able for the weights.

Of course it's come on a lot since then, with people like Zulu and others on the board bringing a much more scientific approach, but there is still a danger that a lot of teams are doing as much harm as good with their weights 'program'.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2010, 05:10:19 PM
Quote from: leenie on July 26, 2010, 04:55:39 PM

that meath are leinster champions!

Who has the cup?
Post by: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 05:16:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 05:05:45 PM
No, it's both. But the key is in having a properly tailored and customised fitness regime, that includes cardio, explosiveness, and the core strength.

When 'the weights' came in first, we had county teams (I remember this) all doing exactly the same weights, the same training sessions and circuits. The ball work and cardio work was neglected, as there is only so much time, and so you ended up with bigger, slower lads, and some fellas getting injured because they weren't able for the weights.

Of course it's come on a lot since then, with people like Zulu and others on the board bringing a much more scientific approach, but there is still a danger that a lot of teams are doing as much harm as good with their weights 'program'.

In one word - Correct

One on the greatest things about weight is the prevention of injury. For instance I know a few great young lads who poped there shoulders playing ball, they never done a pull up in there life, lat pull down or anythng in the gym. Not through there own fault, it was just listening to old guys talk about the gym like it was the 'devil'. Yet the young rugby guys are getting personalised regime earlier each year (PS I dont beliv in weights under 16-17 only own body weight)
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 26, 2010, 05:22:16 PM
Ballaghaderreen's in Mayo.
Post by: EagleLord on July 26, 2010, 05:34:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 04:59:12 PM
Agree with that. I suppose it depends who you are really as well, but if Declan O'Sullivan or Gooch or Sean Cavanagh is bearing down on the keeper, the twines are going to rattle.

Course it depends who you are, if your one of the boys you mentioned, should be going for the net, but in a situation where its a corner back, midfeilder, someone who isnt really all that much of a sharpshooter, you'd rather see them take a fisted point than blaze wide/hit a tame shot at the keeper. Also whenever your bottled up, not much room to get a shot in, an fisted point is a sensible option.
Post by: ross4life on July 26, 2010, 05:38:48 PM
Roscommon are a big strong physical team
Post by: Mickeys beard on July 26, 2010, 07:30:34 PM
After an action replay, all commentators will say,"Actually I got that wrong, it was clearly not a foul"
Post by: ross4life on July 26, 2010, 07:37:56 PM
Using league form as a barometer for championship success
Post by: DoireGael on July 26, 2010, 08:07:48 PM
Derry are contenders for the Ulster championship
Post by: From the Bunker on July 26, 2010, 08:46:32 PM
Calling the Hurling AI Championship an All Ireland Championship when half the country would not know what a sliotar looks like, don't play the game, don't have a county team representing them.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 08:57:14 PM
What counties don't have a hurling team?
Post by: sammymaguire on July 26, 2010, 10:08:31 PM
It's who ya know, not how good you are that gets ya picked in this club!!
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2010, 10:21:11 PM
Michael Lyster's riding Spillane.
Post by: Azzurri on July 26, 2010, 10:25:11 PM
A rolling ball can be picked directly off the ground
Post by: boojangles on July 26, 2010, 10:29:06 PM
Seamus Darby pushed Tommy Doyle straight in the back.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 26, 2010, 10:41:35 PM
Take your points and the goals will come
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 26, 2010, 10:51:04 PM
A hopped ball! And a 50 while I'm at it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 10:58:58 PM
Biddy Earley..
Post by: From the Bunker on July 26, 2010, 11:03:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 08:57:14 PM

All the counties in Connacht and Ulster, Bar Antrim and Galway.
Post by: ross4life on July 26, 2010, 11:58:04 PM
Ger Canning thinking he can commentate rte paying him to do so..Pat Spillane/Joe Brolly thinking they can do a good analysis before & after a game
Post by: Zapatista on July 27, 2010, 12:02:43 AM
Hurling is a more skillfull game than football.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 27, 2010, 12:14:38 AM
Agree with McStay, and AZ, on the 'wide on near side' argument but McStay's point about kickers being more reliable off the ground does my head in. Off the ground and from the hands are two completely different techniques and in the same way that some people are more reliable kicking off the inside of the boot than others and vice versa with outside, it all comes down to the individual.
If Conor Mortimer or Alan Dillon but the ball on the deck for a free, I'd be very worried. But Maurice Sheridan had the art almost perfected.
Post by: ross4life on July 27, 2010, 12:32:34 AM
A 6 points lead at least is needed at half time with that strong wind
Post by: ross4life on July 27, 2010, 12:40:22 AM
The like's of Tyrone,Armagh can sing the national anthem better than the irish speaking county's
Post by: Feckitt on July 27, 2010, 12:45:15 AM
That you can drive across the border into County Down
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 27, 2010, 01:17:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 26, 2010, 12:44:33 PM
Knockmore are a dirty team.

I might save that quote for future out-of-context use  ;)
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on July 27, 2010, 01:52:34 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 10:58:58 PM
Biddy Earley..

That teams are afflicted by "curses" could well be a myth. Biddy Earley and her magic bottle were plying their trade long before the GAA came into existence and therefore she was hardly the cause of Clare's long famine, even if she was for a long time blamed. Then again, they say some priest once cursed Mayo, so you never know.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2010, 08:46:10 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 26, 2010, 11:03:59 PM

They all have hurling teams. And as the McCarthy, Ring, etc cups are hierarchical, they are all in the All Ireland Championship.
Post by: Canalman on July 27, 2010, 10:18:59 AM
The mythical offence of "showing the ball".

Expecting a hurling ref to always be able to "keep up with the game". That Jamaican guy Bolt couldn't do it.

Post by: EC Unique on July 27, 2010, 10:43:54 AM
Derry have great players but can not get on due to club rivalry hence the crap county displays.. ::)
Post by: blanketattack on July 27, 2010, 11:30:47 AM
Mick O'Dwyer's greed.

I remember he presented medals to our winning underage teams on a Friday night in November and we had a few bob set aside for expenses for him and he wouldn't take one penny. He had a good few cups of tea and sandwiches though.
Post by: WeeDonns on July 27, 2010, 12:39:44 PM
That Croke Park refuses to stock Irish Whiskey...
(http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=132878)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2010, 12:53:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 27, 2010, 08:46:10 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 26, 2010, 11:03:59 PM

They all have hurling teams. And as the McCarthy, Ring, etc cups are hierarchical, they are all in the All Ireland Championship.

But not all are in the AI Championship in the same year! The Hierarchial status does not change with the same teams going up and down the following year. Don't fool yourself.
Post by: JMohan on July 27, 2010, 12:54:37 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 27, 2010, 11:30:47 AM
Mick O'Dwyer's greed.

I remember he presented medals to our winning underage teams on a Friday night in November and we had a few bob set aside for expenses for him and he wouldn't take one penny. He had a good few cups of tea and sandwiches though.
Always nice to hear
Post by: AbbeySider on July 27, 2010, 12:58:42 PM
That any player ever rubbed snow off a ball after reaching to high to catch it
Post by: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 01:43:43 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 27, 2010, 11:30:47 AM
Mick O'Dwyer's greed.

I always said he was a hungry oul hoor.
Post by: DoireGael on July 27, 2010, 01:47:02 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 27, 2010, 12:58:42 PM

Or sometime refered to as a 'hospital ball'/'suicide ball', which has some truth.
Post by: Roashter on July 27, 2010, 01:48:50 PM
They would have won an All-Ireland only for the drink.

A drinking club with a hurling problem.
Post by: westmayo on July 27, 2010, 02:08:15 PM
QuoteWhat counties don't have a hurling team?, All the counties in Connacht and Ulster, Bar Antrim and Galway.

AFIK all the counties in Ulster and Connacht have teams competing in the for the All Ireland at the grade their fit for either the Chrsity Ring, Nicky Rackard and the Lory Meagher. Ulster even has it's own championship, where the other counties play through to meet Antrim in the final.
Post by: cornafean on July 27, 2010, 02:08:57 PM
that it is impossible for club players to play a game the day after a wedding.
Post by: AbbeySider on July 27, 2010, 03:53:09 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on July 27, 2010, 01:47:02 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 27, 2010, 12:58:42 PM

Or sometime refered to as a 'hospital ball'/'suicide ball', which has some truth.

I think we would refer a hospital pass as a pass to someone turning into a tackle or blindsiding someone.
Often a hanging ball can be a hospital pass as the player opens up to catch it and he could get caught in a hard tackle.
Post by: AbbeySider on July 27, 2010, 03:54:20 PM
that every player that retires was a "great player".

Which they all seem to be when they leave the game  ???
Post by: dublinfella on July 27, 2010, 05:41:49 PM
That GAA players are the fittest in the world.

See also Kevin Moran/Graham Geraghty/Anthony Tohill were on trial with British club x and player y said they were the fittest they have ever seen in their autobiography, but strangely no-one can find the actual quote.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 27, 2010, 06:29:56 PM
Clare offered Offaly a replay in 1998
'Two turns' are not allowed.
It is 'out of character' when one player who clocks another
Tipperary is the home of hurling
This year is Waterford's last chance to win the All Ireland (has been recited for about 6 years now)

Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2010, 07:16:21 PM
Another Soft All Ireland for Kerry....if there was such a thing as soft All Irelands, Cork would have had more than 6 won  :P
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2010, 07:32:26 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2010, 07:16:21 PM
Another Soft All Ireland for Kerry....if there was such a thing as soft All Irelands, Cork would have had more than 6 won  :P

All the recent AI Finals that Kerry won were certainly not soft bar the ones against Connacht and Munster teams. ;)
Post by: ONeill on July 27, 2010, 08:29:47 PM
Anthony Tohill was a clean player.
Francie Bellew was a dirty player.
Mickey Harte is a genius.
Post by: Puckoon on July 27, 2010, 08:31:26 PM
I am not a big fan of the "too small for intercounty football".
Post by: Armaghtothebone on July 27, 2010, 08:43:54 PM
The 1977 semi final between Dublin and Kerry was one of the greatest games ever.
Post by: ONeill on July 27, 2010, 08:45:41 PM
Football in the 70s was magical.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 27, 2010, 09:13:41 PM
That if you're not careful you'll get a celtic cross in your change when you order a pint in a pub in Kerry.
Absolute bullshit....you don't get any change when you order a pint in Kerry....or anywhere else for that matter in the south these days ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 27, 2010, 09:17:02 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on July 27, 2010, 05:41:49 PM

See also Kevin Moran/Graham Geraghty/Anthony Tohill were on trial with British club x and player y said they were the fittest they have ever seen in their autobiography, but strangely no-one can find the actual quote.

Something has been more than a figment of your imagination before it becomes a myth. I've never heard anybody make that assertion in my life. Evidently it isn't true.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2010, 09:40:57 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 27, 2010, 09:17:02 PM

Something has been more than a figment of your imagination before it becomes a myth. I've never heard anybody make that assertion in my life. Evidently it isn't true.

Heard it said of Larry Tompkins by Alan Shearer when he went for treatment in the late 80's early 90's. Then again, in them times Larry was animal fit!
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 27, 2010, 09:49:16 PM
Team of the decade.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 27, 2010, 10:06:54 PM
George Graham said the same about Graham Geraghty (Longford waterboy!!) when he went for a trial with Arsenal in the mid 1990's

That Dublin v Kerry games in the late 70's were classics and better than anything since is a huge myth in my book!

Also, telling corner forwards, esp in underage games, to stay in the corner! (Although maybe that was only me that was told that!!)
Post by: ardal on July 27, 2010, 10:15:57 PM
Pat Spillane's (grand)mother can run faster than Francie Bellew, and she's got arthritis. She does fecking not have arthritis,

Post by: LeoMc on July 27, 2010, 10:16:29 PM

I have heard it of both Tohill & Geraghty. I think both times it was Aresnal got mentioned. Shortly afterwards there was talk of Tohill playing for Tobermore...
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 27, 2010, 10:25:25 PM
QuoteThen again, in them times Larry was animal fit!

And a biteen of sun on his ankles knocked him out, and thats no myth.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2010, 10:26:22 PM
Remember Liverpool's Roy Evans was supposed to be keeping tabs of Sherlock when Dublin were making their AI run in '95. ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ONeill on July 27, 2010, 10:32:09 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 27, 2010, 10:16:29 PM

I have heard it of both Tohill & Geraghty. I think both times it was Aresnal got mentioned. Shortly afterwards there was talk of Tohill playing for Tobermore...

Bear in mind that Tony Adams had 13 pints of stout in him and playing with a binliner under his clothes.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2010, 10:50:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 27, 2010, 10:32:09 PM

Bear in mind that Tony Adams had 13 pints of stout in him and playing with a binliner under his clothes.

That's nothing, Paul McGrath said he was once so drunk on the pitch he could see two balls.
Post by: dublinfella on July 27, 2010, 11:26:49 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 27, 2010, 10:06:54 PM
George Graham said the same about Graham Geraghty (Longford waterboy!!) when he went for a trial with Arsenal in the mid 1990's

But you see, he didn't....
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 11:36:19 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on July 27, 2010, 11:26:49 PM

Dublinfella is correct there Qwerty.

George Graham did not say Graham Geraghty was one of the fittest players he's ever seen....................... Paul Merson did!
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on July 28, 2010, 12:44:22 AM
Could have been better than Mick O'Connell only for the drink.
Post by: Puckoon on July 28, 2010, 12:58:07 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2010, 11:36:19 PM

George Graham did not say Graham Geraghty was one of the fittest players he's ever seen....................... Paul Merson did!

Without lying - I heard it was Ray Parlour.
Post by: blanketattack on July 28, 2010, 01:11:51 AM
If the Kerry team was in the Ulster C'ship instead of the Munster C'ship they wouldn't have won as many All-Irelands, particularly during the 70s and 80s.

Proof against this myth: Look at some of the Ulster teams' results in that era:
Kerry 0-23; Derry 0-10
Cork 5-10; Tyrone 2-4
Kerry 5-14; Derry 1-10
Dublin 5-12; Armagh 3-6
Dublin 1-16; Down 0-8
Kerry 5-14; Monaghan 0-7
Kerry 3-15; Armagh 1-11

If this was what was happening to the best team in Ulster surely the lesser teams in Ulster wouldn't have been too much trouble either?
Post by: blanketattack on July 28, 2010, 01:13:33 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 28, 2010, 12:58:07 AM

I'm genuinely not making this up, but I heard it was Lee Dixon.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 28, 2010, 01:24:44 AM
Mayo can't win the All-Ireland because the Mayo team & the Sam Maguire overtook a funeral in the year dot.
Post by: spuds on July 28, 2010, 02:43:34 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 28, 2010, 01:13:33 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 28, 2010, 12:58:07 AM

I'm genuinely not making this up, but I heard it was Lee Dixon.
it was john jensen so I heard
Post by: stephenite on July 28, 2010, 07:15:13 AM
You're all wrong, Tony Adams it was
Post by: DoireGael on July 28, 2010, 09:00:09 AM

Tohill played for Man U reserves, fact
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 28, 2010, 09:09:33 AM
did not all that stuff come from that tv programme with rubgy, soccer etc. players who used to compete against each other years ago. Spillane was on it i think.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2010, 09:14:43 AM
I actually heard it was Graham Geraghty said that. :D

Anyhow, kudos to BnM man. So many times I've heard 'Clare offered a replay'. Bogus.
Post by: DoireGael on July 28, 2010, 09:19:21 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on July 28, 2010, 09:09:33 AM
did not all that stuff come from that tv programme with rubgy, soccer etc. players who used to compete against each other years ago. Spillane was on it i think.

It was an old show called Superstars, check it out on Pat, laochral Gael, on Youtube, I thought it was a really good concept. Pat doesnt do much for the sterotype, skin raw red in the sun!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Superstars_competitors

Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:29:41 PM
That people used to ring the airport when Willie Joe Padden was playing in Croke Park

To tell them not to have airplanes flying over Croke Park, because he was going to jump so high he didnt want any mid-air collisions!

(There is a bit of truth in that one)
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:32:34 PM
That any player ever "lit up the pitch"
Post by: Puckoon on July 28, 2010, 03:33:03 PM
Covered every blade of grass?
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:34:37 PM
That any player "couldnt kick snow off a rope"
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:35:55 PM
That any player ever

"got turned inside out"

or

"could turn on a six-pence"
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:45:08 PM
That a player could
"kick a point from 50 yards with his eyes closed"

or do anything productive on the pitch
"with one arm tied behind his back"
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:48:28 PM
That a player or ball can "dissect the posts"
Post by: screenexile on July 28, 2010, 03:51:50 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:48:28 PM

If Diana Ross was able to do it at USA 94 then I think the Gooch definitely can! No bother.

PS. Anthony Tohill had a trial with Man Utd and played in their Reserve Team. . . FACT!!!
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:52:26 PM
That the nuns from the Convent Of Mercy in Claremorris would beat the Mayo Senior football team 
:D >:(
Post by: J OGorman on July 28, 2010, 03:53:32 PM
...that Kieran McGeeny could foot pass accurately
Post by: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:55:19 PM
That Kevin McStay turned down a professional contract with Nottingham Forest
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2010, 03:58:01 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 28, 2010, 03:51:50 PM
If Diana Ross was able to do it at USA 94 then I think the Gooch definitely can! No bother.
PS. Anthony Tohill had a trial with Man Utd and played in their Reserve Team. . . FACT!!!
it was shwn on the telly - or highlights of it were.
he looked completely out of touch as he wasnt as nippy as the wee soccer players playing against him (he was centre half and wearing the green and yellow away jersey if I rem correctly).
Looked more like Geoffrey mcgonigle such was his 'agility' by comparison to the wee soccer lads!
Post by: fearglasmor on July 28, 2010, 03:58:04 PM
That any player could......

"catch swallows"

" have another player in his pocket"

or was

"as hard as nails"

Tha any ball ever.....

"came down with snow on it"

That kicking high balls to any full back was really like    "throwing apples to a bear".
Post by: Puckoon on July 28, 2010, 04:03:35 PM
What I am wondering is if Conor Mort was ever really fed farts?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 28, 2010, 04:04:06 PM
That any team ever had its arse handed to it on a plate...
Post by: DoireGael on July 28, 2010, 04:06:14 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:35:55 PM
That any player ever

"got turned inside out"

or

"could turn on a six-pence"

He got took to the cleaners (maybe only a derry phrase)
Post by: DoireGael on July 28, 2010, 04:08:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2010, 03:58:01 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 28, 2010, 03:51:50 PM
it was shwn on the telly - or highlights of it were.
he looked completely out of touch as he wasnt as nippy as the wee soccer players playing against him (he was centre half and wearing the green and yellow away jersey if I rem correctly).
Looked more like Geoffrey mcgonigle such was his 'agility' by comparison to the wee soccer lads!

He also played nets for Derry city the odd time back in the day
Post by: fearglasmor on July 28, 2010, 04:09:47 PM

"he had the stuffing knocked out of him"
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2010, 04:24:00 PM
"Its a huge one" ...Ger Canning to any kick or puck from beyond 30m that goes high and hopefully over the bar.
Post by: DoireGael on July 28, 2010, 04:24:40 PM
Bulit like the side of a fiver

Post by: eireogatron on July 28, 2010, 04:24:57 PM
i'm going to be pedantic here! Most of these arent myths, just daft sayings.

However it is a myth that Francie Bellew was a "dorty" player.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 28, 2010, 05:15:59 PM
'That town teams are all slabbers'...some of the biggest slabbers ive seen have been country teams.

'That you could pick a team that could win the championship from the pubs in Lurgan' - This is not a myth this is FACT.
Post by: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 05:28:35 PM
That Peter Canavan auditioned for the job of Danny Devito's body double in Batman Returns, playing the Penguin. The job was given to his brother Pascal. McGeeney was turned down for The Joker.

That Ray Silke was a middlin footballer.

That Jimmy McGuinness is back doing his Leaving Cert.

That the McMahon brothers rhymed off the bank details of Donaghy's and Walsh's accounts in 2008

That the same two had the phone numbers of the above girlfriends on the back of their boots.

That Ricey stuck his finger up Canavan's hole in a club game.

Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2010, 06:14:23 PM

A ball dissecting the posts - impossible
A ball bisecting the posts - possible
Post by: tyroneboi on July 28, 2010, 06:37:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 05:28:35 PM
That Peter Canavan auditioned for the job of Danny Devito's body double in Batman Returns, playing the Penguin. The job was given to his brother Pascal. McGeeney was turned down for The Joker.

That the McMahon brothers rhymed off the bank details of Donaghy's and Walsh's accounts in 2008

That the same two had the phone numbers of the above girlfriends on the back of their boots.

I always thought that particular one was true!
Post by: stibhan on July 28, 2010, 06:53:38 PM
There's a difference between hyperbole and myth, lads. By hyperbole I mean something like 'arse handed to him on a plate'--literally impossible, figuratively quite common. Myth would mean 'widely' accepted beliefs which have no basis in fact, i.e. that Socrates played for DCU/UCD/TCD; Kevin McGourty was named as the best player in Ulster by Mickey Harte etc.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2010, 06:58:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on July 28, 2010, 06:37:55 PM

Is it true that he took someones mouthguard at half time once, rubbed it down his jocks and handed it back??
Post by: Frank Casey on July 28, 2010, 11:10:16 PM
Gooch once beat  Kerry Mike in a Lucozade Sport drinking competition.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 28, 2010, 11:28:49 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2010, 06:58:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on July 28, 2010, 06:37:55 PM

Is it true that he took someones mouthguard at half time once, rubbed it down his jocks and handed it back??

No i dont think that was McMenamin rather a team mate of his in an ulster club game.
Post by: Feckitt on July 28, 2010, 11:50:42 PM
Down are the most successful Ulster County
Post by: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 11:53:22 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on July 28, 2010, 11:50:42 PM

I'd contend that they are.

Down are won 5 lost 0 in All-Ireland final terms.
Cavan are won 5 lost 5.
Post by: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 11:56:43 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2010, 11:54:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 11:53:22 PM

Cavan are won 5 lost 5.
Aye, but neither could hurl shite over a wall.

1992   Down 2-16   Antrim 0-11
Post by: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 11:59:24 PM
1985   Cavan 4-07   Derry 0-05
Post by: Feckitt on July 29, 2010, 12:00:22 AM
Down and Cavan each have 5 All-Irelands, but we'll all be dead and buried before anyone catches up with Cavan in the Ulster title stakes
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2010, 03:12:26 AM

Paul Merson said it on an ITV sports programme, He was asked who the fittest player at Arsenal was and he answered by saying that it was a young irish lad, a gaelic footballer called Graham Geraghty, the fact that it wasn't written down may make it difficult to source the actual quote.  This was probably in the mid to late 90's, so it's also unlikely that streaming of said programme was available, if you'd like confirmation, you'd better ask Merson himself.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2010, 09:24:49 AM
QuoteGooch once beat Kerry Mike in a Lucozade Sport drinking competition.

He did, it was the 19th bottle that did me, he's some man for the Lucozade is our Gooch
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 29, 2010, 09:39:20 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2010, 11:52:29 PM
Yip, it has to be Antrim.

We are the aristocrats of Ulster GAA right enough.
Post by: haveaharp on July 29, 2010, 10:01:26 AM
The Dubs started the shennanigins in the 83 football final.

Pat Spillane never set foot behind his own 45
Post by: cornafean on July 29, 2010, 10:08:09 AM
Pat Spillane never handpassed a ball
Post by: eireogatron on July 29, 2010, 10:17:06 AM

Cavan are won 5 lost 5.

so Cavan have got to more All Ireland finals then.
Post by: heffo on July 29, 2010, 10:23:04 AM

Did you ever ask the player whether the story is true?
Post by: Maiden1 on July 29, 2010, 11:44:07 AM
That Tyrone always lose midfield but win the match.

They maybe have 1 clean catch at midfield compared to 3 for the other team but when the ball breaks on the other 90% of kickouts they are very good at having a 1/2 forward or 1/2 back first to the ball.  If winning midfield means who comes out with the ball after the kickout most then they rarely lose midfield.
Post by: Onlooker on July 29, 2010, 11:55:49 AM
That Pat Spillane never took a dive to win a free.
Post by: eireogatron on July 29, 2010, 12:25:25 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on July 29, 2010, 11:44:07 AM

They maybe have 1 clean catch at midfield compared to 3 for the other team but when the ball breaks on the other 90% of kickouts they are very good at having a 1/2 forward or 1/2 back first to the ball.  If winning midfield means who comes out with the ball after the kickout most then they rarely lose midfield.

i'll disagree with that. Most statistics show that they lose both catching and break ball stakes in midfield. However, their turnover count after the opposition secures possession from kick outs is off the charts and that is why they can afford to lose the "midfield battle"
Post by: mackers on July 29, 2010, 02:02:54 PM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 29, 2010, 12:25:25 PM

i'll disagree with that. Most statistics show that they lose both catching and break ball stakes in midfield. However, their turnover count after the opposition secures possession from kick outs is off the charts and that is why they can afford to lose the "midfield battle"
That's also why Mickey Harte fought tooth and nail to get the mark scrapped.
Post by: eireogatron on July 29, 2010, 03:59:06 PM
Quote from: mackers on July 29, 2010, 02:02:54 PM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 29, 2010, 12:25:25 PM

yup.

Tyrone have a great plan whereby if they win primary ball from kickouts (either clean caught or broken) its a bonus. They have huge confidence in the tackling ability of their midfield, HB's and HF's which leads to turnover after turnover in games. They then have mobile players in those positions to break at speed and effectively it takes the opposition midfield out of the game, apart from kick outs.

Fair play to them as well.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 29, 2010, 05:05:13 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on July 28, 2010, 03:55:19 PM
That Kevin McStay turned down a professional contract with Nottingham Forest

I was in the same class as Mc Stay, as far as I can remember he was supposed to go on a trial over the Christmas Break to Forest but it never happened.
Post by: western exile on August 04, 2010, 11:48:23 AM
The Kerry panel have strength in depth
Post by: Onion Bag on August 04, 2010, 11:56:05 AM
Donal o Cusack has a girlfriend
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 04, 2010, 12:20:45 PM
Meath never give up...
Post by: cornafean on August 04, 2010, 01:21:13 PM
Kerry never complain when they are beaten.

Post by: johnneycool on August 04, 2010, 02:06:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2010, 11:58:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 28, 2010, 11:56:43 PM

Cavan are won 5 lost 5.

1992   Down 2-16   Antrim 0-11
How long would my post be if I put up all the times Antrim beat Down?

it'll not take you so long to post up the ones played outside of Antrim.
Post by: LeoMc on August 04, 2010, 02:13:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2010, 11:16:07 PM
Quote from: eireogatron on July 28, 2010, 04:24:57 PM
i'm going to be pedantic here! Most of these arent myths, just daft sayings.
Quote from: stibhan on July 28, 2010, 06:53:38 PM
There's a difference between hyperbole and myth, lads. By hyperbole I mean something like 'arse handed to him on a plate'--literally impossible, figuratively quite common. Myth would mean 'widely' accepted beliefs which have no basis in fact, i.e. that Socrates played for DCU/UCD/TCD; Kevin McGourty was named as the best player in Ulster by Mickey Harte etc.
I agree. Can people stop posting random sayings on this thread or I will beat the fcuk out of them.

and 6 posts later

Cavan are won 5 lost 5.

Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on August 04, 2010, 04:31:52 PM
8)

Post by: The face on August 04, 2010, 09:19:08 PM

So true, I'm a big fan of Mickey Harte but the "mark" was an initiative to help on of the great skills of Gaelic Football. Any true football man would encourage this but his opposition was pure self interest, with some lame, vague excuse that it would slow the game down.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 04, 2010, 09:34:29 PM
Quote from: The face on August 04, 2010, 09:19:08 PM

So true, I'm a big fan of Mickey Harte but the "mark" was an initiative to help on of the great skills of Gaelic Football. Any true football man would encourage this but his opposition was pure self interest, with some lame, vague excuse that it would slow the game down.

Did you watch the league? I didn't see much of the 'great skill'?
Post by: DuffleKing on August 04, 2010, 10:10:08 PM

Thats because you were watching tyrone
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 04, 2010, 10:18:57 PM
QuoteKerry never complain when they are beaten.

We are still bitter about the Polo Grounds  ;)
Post by: The face on August 04, 2010, 10:25:23 PM
I was working abroad for all the league so saw no football.  But are you telling me that the high catch isn't one of the main skills of Gaelic? Also, the point was that Mickey Harte opposed to this because it doesn't suit Tyrone's swarm tactics. Mickey Harte is against the Compromise Rules, thats his opinion but he was against the mark for self preservation which was disappointing to see.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 05, 2010, 12:08:38 AM
That hurley is played in the North.

They only play a mild form of shinty, a scottish game hence its strength in co Antrim and the Ards.

That's why the Ulster winners get a hammered when they venture over the border. 
Post by: The face on August 05, 2010, 08:18:27 AM
"insert name of famous player"'s brother was even better than him only for drink/county minor selectors/women
Post by: haranguerer on August 05, 2010, 10:24:29 AM
Quote from: The face on August 04, 2010, 10:25:23 PM
I was working abroad for all the league so saw no football.  But are you telling me that the high catch isn't one of the main skills of Gaelic? Also, the point was that Mickey Harte opposed to this because it doesn't suit Tyrone's swarm tactics. Mickey Harte is against the Compromise Rules, thats his opinion but he was against the mark for self preservation which was disappointing to see.

Sos the pick up. Should there be a free every time the ball is picked up correctly?

Its bollocks - similar to the suggestion a while ago that a point from a sideline cut in hurling should be worth two because its a great skill - by that logic running the length of the pitch and scoring a goal should be worth 10? 20?  ::)
Post by: DoireGael on August 05, 2010, 11:05:18 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on August 05, 2010, 10:24:29 AM
Quote from: The face on August 04, 2010, 10:25:23 PM

Sos the pick up. Should there be a free every time the ball is picked up correctly?

Its bollocks - similar to the suggestion a while ago that a point from a sideline cut in hurling should be worth two because its a great skill - by that logic running the length of the pitch and scoring a goal should be worth 10? 20?  ::)

Couldnt agree more, the concept of a 'mark is a load of bull', I would agree with letting only the four midfielders (any four players) insdie the two 45s at kick out, mentioned by big Tohill at one stage, but still, wouldnt be a fan of the mark.
Post by: Hardy on August 05, 2010, 11:15:24 AM
That people are always saying football was better in the old days. I don't know anyone who thinks or says this. Any criticism of football standards or tactics or tendencies is automatically taken as a statement that it was better at some unspecified time in the far past.
Post by: DoireGael on August 05, 2010, 12:14:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 05, 2010, 11:15:24 AM
That people are always saying football was better in the old days. I don't know anyone who thinks or says this. Any criticism of football standards or tactics or tendencies is automatically taken as a statement that it was better at some unspecified time in the far past.

I find it more interesting that the Down team of the 60's started the 'running off the ball' concept, is this true. It would be stage to see it otherwise  :D
Post by: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:28:27 PM
The pick up isn't a skill. Whenever the GAA are marketing Gaelic Football they show scores and high catches. Also, if the pick up was a skill then it would be included in Ladies Football.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 05, 2010, 03:32:37 PM
The pick up is a skill. Of course it is. Anyone who's seen Maurice Fitzgerald flick up a ball that was rolling away from him, on the run, will understand that. And i'm sure some of those pickups featured in ads before.
Post by: passedit on August 05, 2010, 03:36:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 05, 2010, 03:32:37 PM
The pick up is a skill. Of course it is. Anyone who's seen Maurice Fitzgerald flick up a ball that was rolling away from him, on the run, will understand that. And i'm sure some of those pickups featured in ads before.

Wee Marty nearly soiled himself when Mc Comiskey set up coulter early on sat by doing this.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 05, 2010, 03:36:57 PM
Quote from: passedit on August 05, 2010, 03:36:20 PM

Wee Marty nearly soiled himself when Mc Comiskey set up coulter early on sat by doing this.

Ah jaysus passedit. Nice imagery.  :-\
Post by: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:39:53 PM
Aka the flick up!
Post by: Zapatista on August 05, 2010, 03:41:17 PM
Quote from: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:39:53 PM
Aka the flick up!

It's all 'the pick up' if it's legal. You can pick it up with your ear and it's still 'a pick p'.
Post by: Hardy on August 05, 2010, 03:42:33 PM
Quote from: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:28:27 PM
if the pick up was a skill then it would be included in Ladies Football.

It's because it's a skill that it's not included in "ladies'" football.
Post by: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:43:32 PM
The GAA has to play it's Quarter Finals in Crke Park because of a deal with Corporate Boxes/ Premium Seat holders. Absolute crap!!!!!
The GAA were very careful never to give specifics on any game. Also when these seats were being sold there was no such thng as a quarter final!
Post by: heffo on August 05, 2010, 04:22:01 PM
Quote from: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:43:32 PM
The GAA has to play it's Quarter Finals in Crke Park because of a deal with Corporate Boxes/ Premium Seat holders. Absolute crap!!!!!
The GAA were very careful never to give specifics on any game. Also when these seats were being sold there was no such thng as a quarter final!

I've never heard of that particular 'myth' and given that Qtr finals have been staged outside of Croke Park, it's not a very viable one..
Post by: Muzz on August 05, 2010, 04:48:01 PM
That Dublin does win "Token Gesture" All-Stars.
Post by: small white mayoman on August 05, 2010, 05:33:22 PM

mc danger did the same thing against offaly in the 1997 ai semi, flicked it up under the cusask stand pissing rain and threw it over the bar definatley a skill 
Post by: The face on August 05, 2010, 05:35:23 PM
Paul Early won his Bank of Ireland All Star in 1985 because he was a Bank of Ireland employee. Hang on, that's the truth!
Post by: The face on August 06, 2010, 07:46:44 AM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on July 27, 2010, 08:43:54 PM
The 1977 semi final between Dublin and Kerry was one of the greatest games ever.

Agree. It was as Pat Spillane said a good tight game with the result the Dublin based media wanted
Post by: The face on August 06, 2010, 07:53:19 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 28, 2010, 01:11:51 AM
If the Kerry team was in the Ulster C'ship instead of the Munster C'ship they wouldn't have won as many All-Irelands, particularly during the 70s and 80s.

Proof against this myth: Look at some of the Ulster teams' results in that era:
Kerry 0-23; Derry 0-10
Cork 5-10; Tyrone 2-4
Kerry 5-14; Derry 1-10
Dublin 5-12; Armagh 3-6
Dublin 1-16; Down 0-8
Kerry 5-14; Monaghan 0-7
Kerry 3-15; Armagh 1-11

If this was what was happening to the best team in Ulster surely the lesser teams in Ulster wouldn't have been too much trouble either?

I'd like to point out that the crucial 5th goal Kerry got against Monaghan was definitely a square ball!!
Post by: The face on August 06, 2010, 08:05:39 AM
Quote from: heffo on August 05, 2010, 04:22:01 PM
Quote from: The face on August 05, 2010, 03:43:32 PM

I've never heard of that particular 'myth' and given that Qtr finals have been staged outside of Croke Park, it's not a very viable one..

I hadnt heard it myself until about a week ago.  This particular one is all over GAA forums at the moment as one of the reasons why the Qualifiers can't be changed that much.
Post by: The face on August 06, 2010, 08:15:49 AM
 "Champions League Style" is the answer to the qualifier issue
Post by: The face on August 09, 2010, 09:59:16 PM
A ref has to add 30 seconds for each substitution even the ones in injury time. A fact in soccer, a myth in GAA. GAA managers please note!
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2010, 10:18:00 PM
"You can't write off Meath"

Off Meath
Off Meath
Off Meath
Off Meath
Off Meath
Off Meath

and so on.......
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 09, 2010, 10:31:21 PM
Agreed. In fact it is the opposite. I dont think anybody made a big deal of it until football was re-invented in 2002 and we had a generation of experts now telling us that football was, in fact, shite in the old days.
Post by: redandblack4ever on August 10, 2010, 02:42:09 PM
LOL. Good one, Kerry Mike!!!
;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D

Mrs. redandblack4ever
Post by: seafoid on August 10, 2010, 04:32:58 PM
It was better in the old days.

Next year we'll be back 

Underage success means something for the seniors

Post by: tyroneman on August 10, 2010, 04:41:33 PM
That a "2-man" or "3-man" tackle is somehow illegal. You hear it every match at Club level.

There is nothing in the rule book prohibiting it - it's how the 2 or 3 men tackle you that will get the foul (or not)
Post by: EagleLord on August 10, 2010, 07:08:02 PM
Fully agree Tyroneman! Sick of hearing it! Theres nothing wrong with 10 men tackling the man with the ball as long as they arent fouling him!
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 10:54:59 PM
arron kernans a forward or arron kernans a back
Post by: Wee Shea on August 11, 2010, 11:00:04 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 10:54:59 PM
arron kernans a forward or arron kernans a back

What position is Aaron then?
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 11:05:03 PM
you tell me.. its a myth
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 11, 2010, 11:15:02 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 11:05:03 PM
you tell me.. its a myth
You are nothing but a slabber  :P
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 11:28:19 PM
software problem? armaduddu ;)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 11, 2010, 11:34:34 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 11:28:19 PM
software problem? armaduddu ;)
Ya wha'?
Post by: Wee Shea on August 12, 2010, 09:11:40 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 11:05:03 PM
you tell me.. its a myth

I'm no big fan of AK but to say he is a myth is highly disrespectful.

I wouldn't mind being a myth to pick up these sort of honours: various Armagh SFC titles, Ulster SFC titles (club and county), all Ireland club medal.

Before you come out with this tripe "Anyone could have won that with the Cross team" he must have been doing something right to be named on the Irish International Rules side, and the small matter of being named Young Player Of The Year in 2005?

Also did he get Man Of The Match in Cross' AIF in 2007?

Myth indeed.
Post by: The face on August 13, 2010, 01:00:48 AM
Aaron Kernan is best suited to an attacking half back on a dominant team. This way he can overlap and as his teammates have faith in him, he will get plenty of ball and use it well. Half back suits him because it means he is generally playing against someone who doesn't want to tackle back. He has not worked out at half forward for probably several reasons but one is that he is being marked by someone who sees their job as marking him so he isn't getting the latitude he would get from a reluctant wing half forward.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 13, 2010, 05:21:02 AM
what the hell is it about this Aaron Kernan....you lads never shut up about him yet he is a bit of a mystery outside Armagh . He is like the D.B Cooper of the GAA
Post by: clootfromthe21 on August 14, 2010, 03:35:22 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 13, 2010, 05:21:02 AM
what the hell is it about this Aaron Kernan....you lads never shut up about him yet he is a bit of a mystery outside Armagh . He is like the D.B Cooper of the GAA

D B Cooper??? So how long have you been in America????
Post by: Gaffer on November 02, 2011, 09:24:17 PM
That Armagh would have won the All Ireland in 2003 if Marsden hadn't been sent off .
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 02, 2011, 09:39:07 PM
Football only started in 2003.
Post by: StGallsGAA on November 02, 2011, 09:57:12 PM
Armagh booked the city west for all the AI finals from 2003-2010.    Tony Fearon booked the weekend after in all cases....
Post by: 4father on November 02, 2011, 10:18:49 PM
Socrates (Brazilian soccer player and not Philosopher) won a Sigerson medal.
Post by: under the bar on November 02, 2011, 10:25:42 PM
Ex-president Sean Kelly nailed the Queen in the VIP section of Croker...
Post by: ONeill on November 02, 2011, 11:20:06 PM
That Dublin winning the All-Ireland was good for football.
Post by: ross4life on November 02, 2011, 11:25:45 PM
Alan Brogan's magic created the Dublin goal in the All Ireland final.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 02, 2011, 11:50:36 PM
"Nobody knows where all the money goes in the GAA."  Annual accounts are published and on the web.

"The GAA has money to burn."  No it's not. See above.

"GAA top management is greedy."  No it's not. See above.

"Nobody knows where the money goes in our club/division/county."  Annual accounts are available to view at the annual convention.

"Christy Cooney started the practice of referring to us as 'patrons' and we don't like it."  One of my earliest memories in Croke Park is a pair of anti-extradition protesters unfurling a banner on the roof of the Nally Stand and watching the whole game from there despite repeated requests over the tannoy for the "two patrons on the roof of the Nally Stand please come down from your position, you are endangering your own lives and the lives of other patrons."  The word "patron" was used all the time in them days and nobody batted an eyelid.  I wonder when we all became so sensitive all of a sudden. 

"The ban on pitch invasions is a recent phenomenon."  There were no pitch invasions during the reconstruction of the Hogan Stand and they didn't resume until 2002.  Nobody passed any remarks about it until the ban was reintroduced.

"You can't learn to play hurling if you're not from [insert specific geographical region]."  It's a collection of motor skills. Anybody can pick it up and become reasonably competent if they spend long enough at it.

"The game is called football therefore there should be more kicking of the ball, ..."  The game is called football because it's played on foot.

"football is starting to look like basketball...."  Only if you've never actually watched a game of basketball would it seem that way.

"and it looks awful as a result."  See above. Basketball is f***ing brilliant to watch.
Post by: Winnie Peg on November 03, 2011, 12:15:45 AM
"Crossmaglen play it to the edge" which in actual fact means that they a crowd of dirty cynical hoores.
Post by: screenexile on November 03, 2011, 12:34:06 AM
Quote from: Winnie Peg on November 03, 2011, 12:15:45 AM
"Crossmaglen play it to the edge" which in actual fact means that they a crowd of dirty cynical hoores.

:D :D :D Can't argue with that after watching them last weekend!
Post by: LeoMc on November 03, 2011, 08:45:57 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 13, 2010, 05:21:02 AM

Gooches brother who would have been even better only for women & drink (& sky diving)?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2011, 10:59:41 AM
That Fermanagh would have won Sam in 2004.

That Dublin would have won Sam in 2006.

That Galway didn't want to win the match in Tuam V Mayo in 1999.

Post by: Rossfan on November 03, 2011, 11:01:36 AM
Games are always lost on the sideline.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 03, 2011, 11:28:01 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 03, 2011, 11:01:36 AM
Games are always lost on the sideline.

The old "players win games, managers lose them" one is a favourite if mine!

Quote from: screenexile on November 03, 2011, 12:34:06 AM
Quote from: Winnie Peg on November 03, 2011, 12:15:45 AM

:D :D :D Can't argue with that after watching them last weekend!

:-*
Post by: southdown on November 03, 2011, 12:16:10 PM
Xavi Alonso has an All Ireland Medal
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 03, 2011, 12:43:39 PM
Quote from: southdown on November 03, 2011, 12:16:10 PM

I don't think that was ever really one, the same way as the Socrates on for instance. I think he just lived in Meath when theu won it!
Post by: 4father on November 03, 2011, 12:50:55 PM
Wayne Rooney played Under 14 for St Pauls, Belfast in the B Féile and scored an OG to lose the game by a point. 
Post by: Hardy on November 03, 2011, 01:03:15 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 02, 2011, 11:50:36 PM
"The game is called football therefore there should be more kicking of the ball, ..."  The game is called football because it's played on foot.
:D  Brilliant. Where does that leave handball?
I like the idea of horseball, though, for the polo.

Quote"football is starting to look like basketball...."  Only if you've never actually watched a game of basketball would it seem that way.
I've watched more basketball than I ever wanted to or anyone should ever have to and the basketball metaphor for the infestation of football with handpassing seems spot on to me. (Hint - it's a metaphor. It doesn't mean people think they're watching a game played indoors with a basket at either end of a tiny pitch.)

Quote"and it looks awful as a result."  See above. Basketball is f***ing brilliant to watch.
I think I may have to have you taken out and flogged.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2011, 01:26:19 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 03, 2011, 12:43:39 PM
Quote from: southdown on November 03, 2011, 12:16:10 PM

I don't think that was ever really one, the same way as the Socrates on for instance. I think he just lived in Meath when theu won it!

Its a bit like saying Cassius Clay/Muhammad Ali, Prince Phillip, Barack Obama all won Hurling All-Stars.
Post by: Orchardman on November 03, 2011, 02:05:59 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2011, 10:59:41 AM

I don't ever recall anyone saying that fermanagh would have won sam in 2004. I was gutted when they beat us, and they could have beaten mayo, and would have been great to see them in the final. No harm to mayo, fermanagh wouldn't have done much worse but no one was going to stop kerry that day.

Dublin in 2006? maybe they might have, guess we'll never know. It was semi final classic though
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2011, 02:57:14 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on November 03, 2011, 02:05:59 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2011, 10:59:41 AM

I don't ever recall anyone saying that fermanagh would have won sam in 2004. I was gutted when they beat us, and they could have beaten mayo, and would have been great to see them in the final. No harm to mayo, fermanagh wouldn't have done much worse but no one was going to stop kerry that day.

Dublin in 2006? maybe they might have, guess we'll never know. It was semi final classic though

I have met a few Fermanagh folk and alot more than a few Dubs who claim they would have done better or won in the Final. A very easy claim shielded by Semi-Final defeat. Those 2 years were Kerry at their peak.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 03, 2011, 03:15:22 PM
Haven't heard that from too many Dubs myself.  Definite missed opportunity to get to a final, but it's not like playing Kerry would've been a handy one.
Post by: Puckoon on November 03, 2011, 08:09:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 03, 2011, 01:03:15 PM

[

Christ Hardy you have been on form this week.  :D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 03, 2011, 08:17:47 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 03, 2011, 08:09:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 03, 2011, 01:03:15 PM

[

Christ Hardy you have been on form this week.  :D

I prefer Muppet's proposal to call it 'arseball'
Post by: mannix on November 03, 2011, 09:14:34 PM
Mayo have no forwards.

Kevin o Neil
Ciaran macdonald
Cilian o Connor
Conor Mortimer
Tom langan
Joe Corcoran

Post by: Hardy on November 03, 2011, 09:45:20 PM
Ah mannix.

Kevin O'Neill only looks good in Mayo terms.

Cillian O'Connor would need a few seasons in any other county before being proclaimed anything special.

Conor Mortimer?  Conor Mortimer?

I'll give you Tom Langan because I can't say one way or the other.

Joe Corcoran - OK, probably not on anyone's list of the top six forwards of the sixties, but, since we''re struggling we'll let him in.

So you're right. It's wrong to say Mayo have/had no decent forwards. They had three in sixty years.
Post by: heffo on November 03, 2011, 09:48:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 03, 2011, 09:45:20 PM

Hasn't even transferred to Parnells yet but he's already shacked up in one of their apartments in Dublin.

They're decent folk out there in Artane.
Post by: passedit on November 03, 2011, 09:54:33 PM
Ah mannix.

Cillian O'Connor would need a few seasons in any other county before being proclaimed anything special.

Joe Corcoran - OK, probably not on anyone's list of the top six forwards of the sixties, but, since we''re struggling we'll let him in.

So you're right. It's wrong to say Mayo have/had no decent forwards. They had three in sixty years.

Mannix, Mannix Mannix  ??? ??? ???

2 foot tap in for the meadman. Even Big Joe couldn't screw it up from there.
Post by: johnpower on November 03, 2011, 11:21:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on November 03, 2011, 09:48:29 PM

Hasn't even transferred to Parnells yet but he's already shacked up in one of their apartments in Dublin.

Interesting to know from Dublin club football who has been the most impressive import in the Dublin club scene in the past 25 years. Conor Deegan for me really helped the Kilmacud outfit of the late 90s
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 03, 2011, 11:36:28 PM
Quote from: johnpower on November 03, 2011, 11:21:15 PM

Interesting to know from Dublin club football who has been the most impressive import in the Dublin club scene in the past 25 years. Conor Deegan for me really helped the Kilmacud outfit of the late 90s

McGeeney to Na Fianna?
Post by: johnpower on November 03, 2011, 11:38:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 03, 2011, 11:36:28 PM

McGeeney to Na Fianna?

Yes I forgot how key he was
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 04, 2011, 12:07:03 AM
Ah mannix.

Ouch.
Post by: mannix on November 04, 2011, 04:29:07 AM
Thought that would get a few responses. :D. And I did mention David Nestor or John Casey because I wanted to keep it real.
Post by: heffo on November 04, 2011, 09:39:08 AM

It would probably be McGeeney (even if you don't like Na Fianna) for the amount that they won.

Conor Deegan was 28 when he joined Crokes and only really had five years as a starter on their senior team.
Post by: Declan on November 04, 2011, 09:49:22 AM
Quotewho has been the most impressive import in the Dublin club scene in the past 25 years.
Paul Curran from Dunshaughlin to Thomas Davis ;) ;)

Has to be McGeeney alright
Post by: Canalman on November 04, 2011, 12:34:56 PM
For me it was the tall  Kerry lad who played  midfield for Vins in the AIC winning campaign. Not with them for long but imo won them the title that year................ can't for the life of me remember his name.......O'Shea maybe.

Veering away slightly from topic I know but the best club player in Dublin imo for the last 20 years or so was Paul Curran, with maybe Jayo a distant second.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 04, 2011, 12:45:24 PM
Quote from: Canalman on November 04, 2011, 12:34:56 PM
For me it was the tall  Kerry lad who played  midfield for Vins in the AIC winning campaign. Not with them for long but imo won them the title that year................ can't for the life of me remember his name.......O'Shea maybe.

Veering away slightly from topic I know but the best club player in Dublin imo for the last 20 years or so was Paul Curran, with maybe Jayo a distant second.

Micheal O Se
Post by: Declan on November 04, 2011, 02:42:22 PM
Quotemaybe Jayo a distant second.

He was brilliant again last Saturday Canalman
Post by: muppet on November 04, 2011, 03:50:53 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 04, 2011, 10:01:46 AM
Ciaran Barr.

His sister Temple made a bigger impact.
Post by: ludermor on November 04, 2011, 03:57:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 04, 2011, 03:50:53 PM
Ciaran Barr.

Her brother Shirley made a bigger impact.
Post by: muppet on November 04, 2011, 03:59:01 PM
Quote from: ludermor on November 04, 2011, 03:57:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 04, 2011, 03:50:53 PM
Ciaran Barr.

Her brother Shirley made a bigger impact.

Depends what you are into.  :P