Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on July 23, 2010, 04:15:24 PM

Title: What do you remember about the last recession ?
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2010, 04:15:24 PM
It looks like Ireland is going to be in recession for a prolonged period that might even match the 1980s for length. Go bhfoire Dia orainn. The 1980s recession could have ended by 1983  if the government had sorted out the fiscal situation on time, according to colm McCarthy of UCD. Instead the misery went on until 1991 through Christy Moore's an ordinary man, self aid, emigration and the re-emergence of Meath as football champions. 

Anything you remember about that recession? We had a neighbour who lost his job in 1982 and never got another one. Will this recession be similar ?   
Title: Re: What do you remember about the last recession ?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2010, 04:17:55 PM
I thought I heard that theoretically we were out of recession as we had a positive (.0000000002) growth in the last quarter. Or was that my imagination again?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2010, 04:19:25 PM
Also, Offaly won All Ireland titles in 1981, 1982 and 1985 , 2 hurling one football, and won 3 LSFC titles in a row from 80-82, as well as a scatter of LSHCs as well during the period.

Maybe Offaly needs a good long recession :D
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 23, 2010, 04:27:04 PM
I remember coming to the States for 4 months in 1984, I am still here 26 years later, I never thought I would be here this long.....and Mayo still have not won a bloody All Ireland in that time period :'(
Post by: muppet on July 23, 2010, 04:33:04 PM
Mayo hats made out of crepe paper that 'melted' in the rain with the dye running down your head....
'Here we go, Willie Joe, Up Mayo'..........
Losing to Galway with Mickey Kerins as ref......
Giving out about losing to Galway with Mickey Kerins as ref.....
'Anyone for the last few choc ices'.....
Traffic chaos in the Hyde........
Traffic chaos in Pearse Stadium......
Getting in for nothing in MacHale Park.....
Alway always raining for Mayo matches.......
Being turned down for a job in McDonald's in Grafton St because they were 'only taking graduates' (deadly serious).......
A job selling bingo cards (which I ditched after 3 days).......

and then.......

My Grandmother (RIP) bought me a stonewashed denim jacket and it ended the recession.....
Post by: haranguerer on July 23, 2010, 04:36:51 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 23, 2010, 04:33:04 PM
Mayo hats made out of crepe paper that 'melted' in the rain with the dye running down your head....
'Here we go, Willie Joe, Up Mayo'..........
Losing to Galway with Mickey Kerins as ref......
Giving out about losing to Galway with Mickey Kerins as ref.....
'Anyone for the last few choc ices'.....
Traffic chaos in the Hyde........
Traffic chaos in Pearse Stadium......
Getting in for nothing in MacHale Park.....
Alway always raining for Mayo matches.......
Being turned down for a job in McDonald's in Grafton St because they were 'only taking graduates' (deadly serious).......
A job selling bingo cards (which I ditched after 3 days).......

and then.......

My Grandmother (RIP) bought me a stonewashed denim jacket and it ended the recession.....

Didnt stop yis getting stuck into the choc ices...
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2010, 04:47:55 PM
There was one bad stretch in 1984 or so when Cork lost Ford, Dunlop and 1 other factory. I remember Kevin Hennessy , the Cork full forward whose occupation for ages was  'unemployed'. 
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2010, 04:55:32 PM
Marathon bars

Subbuteo

Know Your Sport with Jimmy Magee

Guaranteed Irish GAA jerseys

Going to the Nally Stand with all your mates

Looking for Shergar on the Curragh  :D

"Sally O'Brien and the way she might look at you!"
Post by: muppet on July 23, 2010, 04:58:03 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2010, 04:55:32 PM
Marathon bars

Subbuteo

Know Your Sport with Jimmy Magee

Guaranteed Irish GAA jerseys

Going to the Nally Stand with all your mates

Looking for Shergar on the Curragh  :D

"Sally O'Brien and the way she might look at you!"

And Nunch.
Post by: southdown on July 23, 2010, 05:01:49 PM
It all ended when Paddy O'Rourke lifted Sam on 15.0901991.

So, the whole country should be wishing that Down win Sam this year?? ;)
Post by: ross4life on July 23, 2010, 05:21:33 PM
Working in the bog when we used to have good summer weather

Bailing hay trying to keep the wasps off your sandwich

Massive Ac/dc fan, growing the hair long buying all the cassettes t-shirts etc....

Going to Castlebar,Galway,Dublin thinking you where million miles from home

Looking forward to the yanks coming home! thinking they lived in this far away universe

Dipping & shearing sheep (rossie after all)

Driving cattle home for f***ing miles farmers giving you 50p for it

Crossing the Donegal/Derry border hoping you didn't get shot

Playing football when the world cup was on, tennis when Wimbledon was on & golf when it was on etc...

Post by: haranguerer on July 23, 2010, 08:33:25 PM
Fuckin hated working in the bog...

You played tennis and golf in the 80's? Posh p***k...
Post by: ross4life on July 23, 2010, 08:45:34 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 23, 2010, 08:33:25 PM

Posh me arse.. one of those cheap fecking rackets you could buy & i think i played golf with a plastic baseball bat or something  :D

I also bought a crappy Snooker table when i was inspired by Taylor/Higgins on the telly
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 23, 2010, 08:54:38 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 23, 2010, 08:45:34 PM

Posh me arse.. one of those cheap fecking rackets you could buy & i think i played golf with a plastic baseball bat or something  :D

I also bought a crappy Snooker table when i was inspired by Taylor/Higgins on the telly

Did you not do any pretend horse jumping after the RDS show jumping event each summer?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 23, 2010, 09:10:42 PM
Iarnród Éireann tokens on the Cornflakes to encourage people to take the train to Dublin after the Loyalist pricks kept putting hoax-bombs on the train lines.

Asking my ould lad where the feck was this UK (I pronounced it Yuck) place on the back of the Rice Crispies?

A Galway player heading a goal against Mayo in Tuam Stadium.

Secondary teachers on strike walking passing our national school, so all us high-infants wouldn't go back in after the break chanting "we're on strike".

In national school saying "You got Aids"  :-[  if someone did something stupid. (No body really knew what AIDs where yet).

Number plates with strange codes which meant year and county!!!

Half-Penny Sweets.

The 20P being introduced, it was shiney and looked like gold!!!

Moving home to Castlebar, County Mayo, Wohoooooooooooooooooooooo from exile in the heartland of County Galway football.

The day they opened the new road between Balindine and Claremorris, my beloved Castlebar, Mayo was now 10 minutes closer.

Post by: ross4life on July 23, 2010, 09:10:59 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on July 23, 2010, 08:54:38 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 23, 2010, 08:45:34 PM

Did you not do any pretend horse jumping after the RDS show jumping event each summer?

I didn't but i remember my cousin had a donkey & tried to use him to jump over fences  :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 23, 2010, 09:20:24 PM
Everyone's teeth were awful
Wimmin wore yellow gunas with shoulder pads
Income tax at top rate of 60%
Self Aid
Post by: boojangles on July 23, 2010, 10:55:05 PM
Getting stopped by the British Army going across the border when heading down to Wattle Bridge to get cheaper petrol.
Spending Sundays going to football matches and messing around outside some public house with about 20 other kids until the Daddys were ready to drive home ::)
Kicking football out on the streets until we couldn't see.
Car pooling
Post by: Armaghtothebone on July 27, 2010, 09:10:17 PM
Being a Paddy in Thatchers Britain, and seeing "that look" when you said South Armagh if they asked where you were from.
Seeing my college mates get screwed over with negative equity on houses they bought.
Gate 49
Gettin full in the queue at Heathrow comming home at Xmas with a lad workin in the States and two workin in Canada.
The crap feeling when you had to go back "across the water" after a few days at home.
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 27, 2010, 10:27:26 PM
BBQ's/Sunshine/VB/Bondi Beach/Rules/League/Cricket and keeping one step ahead of officialdom
Post by: haranguerer on July 28, 2010, 09:36:25 AM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on July 27, 2010, 09:10:17 PM
Being a Paddy in Thatchers Britain, and seeing "that look" when you said South Armagh if they asked where you were from.
Seeing my college mates get screwed over with negative equity on houses they bought.
Gate 49
Gettin full in the queue at Heathrow comming home at Xmas with a lad workin in the States and two workin in Canada.
The crap feeling when you had to go back "across the water" after a few days at home.

Why did you say it then? Why not say the name of the town or village like everyone who isn't from south armagh does, or just the county if you're in England?
Post by: Canalman on July 28, 2010, 10:16:08 AM
Coming back to school in September to find classmates had emigrated with their families. Used also to have "parties" in the school when classmates left the country during term ........... Tk lemonade / "Cola"in plastic cups, rice krispie buns etc.

Not good times I'm afraid.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 28, 2010, 12:00:58 PM
Irish girls didnt wear much makeup. The English cousins looked great.
Finished school in 81 - no job - thought I'd follow the da's footsteps into the army
Picking spuds for the summer - great exrcise - crack - decent money -the sun shone.
Playing cricket.
Got into army - changed mind - did an AnCo course.
Six weeks work experience in Glen Abbey in Tallaght - stayed in house with work study heads from the factory - dublin women working in the factory -  jeez.
Still no jobs  - decided to go the RTC Dundalk  -  great decision.
£27 per week ESF grant  -  first atm's  -  £1 for a half litre in the Muirhevna.
Finished the 2 year Cert  -  met the future wife - still no jobs  -  back for the Diploma  - another year in Dundalk  -  the hardship of it.
Got to play football with some great players.
Finished Diploma - 1986 - still no jobs -  me and future wife book ferry tickets for hollyhead - called to lecturer for reference - she flipped at everyone leaving the country.
Train from Holly head to London - staying with wifes relatives till we got a flat - any amount of work you wanted in London.
Bought a one bed flat in 87  -  married in 90  -  sold flat in 91 and back home
End of Recession

Thru the 80's  Offaly in finals in minor, u-21 and senior football and hurling - the golden years of Offaly GAA - probably never to be repeated.
Post by: Banana Man on July 28, 2010, 05:21:37 PM
A conservative government in power  :-\
Post by: Puckoon on July 28, 2010, 05:22:44 PM
I dont remember if this was in the recession, as I was a school kid - but I remember how excited our primary school teacher was when Major ousted Maggie.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 28, 2010, 07:51:45 PM
Garda Patrol
The P & T
Christmas Time and Jim Fahy in Knock Airport watching the coming and going of emigrants
Slattery's Bus to England
We'll rise and follow Charlie
Divorce Referendums
Chickatees, French Fries, Chomps, Smiley Bars, Dan Bars - All costing 10p
A Marathon Bar was 26p and a marathon was 26 miles.
Blackie Connors starring in the 'Clash of the Ash'
Cork 800
Dublin's Millennium
Dempsey's Den
Aonghus McAnally wearing odd socks on Anything Goes
Foster & Allen advertising hoardings in Croke Park
Smog in Dublin

TV Ads:

Off the coast of Ireland there is an abundance of Natural Gas - Alan Stanford
Roly Wheel Toys from Banaghan's in Cloughjordan - Mick Lally
Say yes, yes, yes with the EBS
Penney's, gotta whole lotta things for Christmas.
Shaw's - Almost Nationwide
Measles, Mumps and Rubella - and the auld nun yelling 'bah bah bah' into the child's ear
I ran all the way to Hazelbrook Farm
Farmer's Look up - ESB power cables
Where's Grandad? Water safety
"Bonzo wants to go out". "Good dog" - *Bonzo go outs, mauls a field of sheep* "Keep your dog under control, running free he could be killer"
Rabies kills. Agonisingly! How can we prevent if from coming to Ireland
John Fenton smashing fluke, immature fluke and adult immature fluke throughout the 8 week dry cow period
Hey Laurence, give us a pint of Harp and a packet of dates please.
John did you put the cat out?
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2010, 08:10:25 PM
Actually I remember the airports before Christmas would see loud happy reunions.

However after that, often around the 1st of 2nd of Jan, there would be thousands of people in bits saying goodbye to young people heading off. Very hard to watch elderly men and women in tears saying goodbye to their kids/grandkids.
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on July 29, 2010, 11:15:12 PM
Does anyone else remember Michael O'Hehir getting out of his Ford Granada beside a signal-controlled level crossing warning us "this is one horse you shouldn't take a gamble with"?
Mícheálangelo getting all hot and bothered painting box-junctions!
Join the defence forces and go places.
How to park your bike outside the shop, and the breadman tripping over said bicycle.
Remember, look for a safe place . . .

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 28, 2010, 07:51:45 PM
TV Ads:

Measles, Mumps and Rubella - and the auld nun yelling 'bah bah bah' into the child's ear
"Bonzo wants to go out". "Good dog" - *Bonzo go outs, mauls a field of sheep* "Keep your dog under control, running free he could be killer"
John Fenton smashing fluke, immature fluke and adult immature fluke throughout the 8 week dry cow period
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 30, 2010, 01:22:25 AM
Think this add sums up the last recession

1980s ESB advert - Going home
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btqSxlUJyxo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btqSxlUJyxo)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 30, 2010, 01:44:28 AM
Aer Lingus - 'You're Home' Advert
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_i3iX6ozvI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_i3iX6ozvI&feature=related)

Bord Na Mona Marino Waltz 1986
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-Nz9sBjs3o&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n-Nz9sBjs3o&feature=related)

Think the last recession had just ended when this one came out
Guinness Christmas Advert
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWfdbYbDVzg&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWfdbYbDVzg&feature=related)

Post by: stephenite on July 30, 2010, 03:56:00 AM
Garda Patrol
The P & T
Christmas Time and Jim Fahy in Knock Airport watching the coming and going of emigrants
Slattery's Bus to England
We'll rise and follow Charlie
Divorce Referendums
Chickatees, French Fries, Chomps, Smiley Bars, Dan Bars - All costing 10p
Blackie Connors starring in the 'Clash of the Ash'
Cork 800
Dublin's Millennium
Dempsey's Den
Aonghus McAnally wearing odd socks on Anything Goes
Foster & Allen advertising hoardings in Croke Park
Smog in Dublin

TV Ads:

It's like reading Reeling in the years, good list
Post by: haranguerer on July 30, 2010, 10:34:51 AM

Eh??
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 30, 2010, 05:33:22 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 30, 2010, 10:34:51 AM

Eh??

Maybe he is on about these days when a person says they running a Marathon it could as likely be a mini-Martahon, an ultra-Marathon, a super-Marathon, a half-Marathon etc.
Post by: seafoid on November 29, 2010, 01:03:07 PM
Did inhibited ostertagia make it through the Tiger years?   
Post by: Donkeywalloper on November 29, 2010, 01:47:17 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 30, 2010, 10:34:51 AM

Eh??

Or possibly referring to the fact that not that long ago if someone responded to a marthon being 26 miles it would have been accepted as correct, unlike today whereby the anal brigade would take pleasure in reminding you about the additional  385 yds.

Simplier times back then
Post by: bcarrier on November 29, 2010, 02:31:50 PM
It was OK for me. Left 3rd level in 1988 and got a job. I had take home pay of £342 a month and tryng to repay BOI £75 a month ( student loan ) out of it.
So packed it in and went to London. One way standby flights for £49. Real homesickness . Settled to it eventually . Plenty more were in the same place . First few years were like an extension of college. Drinking my head off in places like Mean Fiddler to Shanty Dam / Saw Doctors/ The Stunning. Trips home were great . Nothing like All Ireland weekends with Burlo hopping. Lived week to week  and had nothing so timing was right for me . It was tougher on the older men from home who had to leave families behind.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YnLtcWcGcE

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2010, 02:46:31 PM
Galway hurlers won 3 All-Ireland's in the 80's so the recession was bearable. ;D
Post by: seafoid on November 29, 2010, 03:31:29 PM
Very few people had cars. There were no apartments and nobody ate pasta.

To drive up to Dublin to win another all-Ireland you had to go through the centre of Athlone, Leixlip, Lucan, Chapelizod and it took around 3 hours but that was because there were very few cars. I remember my father's uncle saying that it cost 1 million pounds per mile to build a new road in Dublin.I always think about what he would have said about the vulgarity of the tiger years but he died before it came along.   

At that time Dublin only went as far as county Dublin.

There was a Dub in Phibsboro wirra moustache and a cap who used to play for West Brom he said who would "mind" your mucker car for 50p or 1 pound. And he was never there when you got back to the car for the long trip home with the stops for pints in Tyrrellspass and Ballinasloe. And if they won it was glorious to look forward to the Sunday Game you could listen to them talking about the match all the way home. But if they lost they were usheless. 
Post by: thejuice on November 29, 2010, 03:59:50 PM
great thread, brings back a few memories, even though I was only about 10 when it ended. Sam Maguire came to our school twice, with Gerry McEntee and Micky McQuillan. Great ol times if you're a young lad sure you wouldn't know if you were poor at all as  was all the same for everyone.

Looking forward to the years ahead I think its important to remember that you cant say Recession without the word session (allow for the spelling  ;) ).
Post by: seafoid on November 29, 2010, 04:44:01 PM
There was no shite about lifestyle parishes either. Killimordaly was as good as Clarinbridge back in the 80s.
Better actually as they won the county championship one time.
People didn't tend to lose the run of themselves .
Post by: thejuice on November 29, 2010, 04:48:39 PM
what the f**k is a lifestyle parish?
Post by: anglocelt39 on November 29, 2010, 05:11:14 PM
Shite living conditions in Dublin 6;
Shite politics;
Shite setup in the occupied 6;
Spending the few bob you had in the boozer on a few pints;
Walking up to an All Ireland Final or Five Nations game and getting in on the terrace, no bother;
Following the fella with the six pack at closing time to get crashing a house party;
Endless going away do's.

Shite taxation system-get an increase and 67.5% of it disappeared into the government coffers so fecked off for 12 years or so.
Post by: seafoid on November 29, 2010, 05:27:37 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 29, 2010, 04:48:39 PM
what the f**k is a lifestyle parish?

Did you not have them in Meath?  In Galway, Craughwell and Clarinbridge were far more desirable places to live than Turloughmore or Killimordaly and reflected in house prices although most teenagers from those parishes would have gone  to the same secondary school. 
Post by: Rossfan on November 29, 2010, 06:08:50 PM
The general sense of doom and pessimism ....lightened by
* Batin' Galway n Tuam in 85
*batin' Mayowestros in Castlebar in 1896( they were to win Sam that year  :D)
* Batin' Galway in Salthill in 88
Gettin paid IR£37 a week in a factory.; gettin' IR£15 a week dole because I was livin at home
Being delighted when FF won the 87 General Election  :-[ :(
Post by: muppet on November 29, 2010, 06:19:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 29, 2010, 06:08:50 PM
The general sense of doom and pessimism ....lightened by
* Batin' Galway n Tuam in 85
*batin' Mayowestros in Castlebar in 1896( they were to win Sam that year  :D)
* Batin' Galway in Salthill in 88
Gettin paid IR£37 a week in a factory.; gettin' IR£15 a week dole because I was livin at home
Being delighted when FF won the 87 General Election  :-[ :(

1896, this explains the senility.

Mullets.....all jeans were blue......corner shops opened packs of fags so you could by individually.....there were packs of ten.......Quicksilver 'Stop the lights'.......RTE employed men called Gay and Bunny.........drop kicks in Gaa.......ads for Nilzane protecting Joe Cooney form sarcoptic mange mites (which I always thought were Tipp defenders)
Post by: Louth Exile on November 29, 2010, 11:28:28 PM
I remember five kids being stuck in the back of a rusty green olvo estate, no typo, it wasn't a volvo, the first V fell off many years earlier  :D
Post by: charlieTully on November 30, 2010, 12:06:47 AM
eating free handouts off EEC tinned meat. basically dog food for humans. onlytime i ever remember my oul man on the bru. bad times, there was significantly less emphasis on material goods in them days, mind the first time i ever watched a video we hired the machine for the night.
Post by: thebigfella on November 30, 2010, 01:05:05 AM
Things being even more sh*t than now, bad roads, no cars, crappy food, lack of tv channels......... could go on all night.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 30, 2010, 12:10:38 PM
The excitement around home when all you're cousins would be coming home for the Christmas from England and the States.  Then the dessolation and emptiness of the place in jan. when everyone went back. 
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2010, 12:42:59 PM
An under 12 match in some distant parish. 2 cars and 20 under 12s in each.

Dressing rooms often nonexistent. Very hard to do buttons if it was cold.

On the beach in the summer, swimming togs only. There were no wetsuits .

Good Friday a real penance with no meat. There was no penne arrabiata.

The Evening Press and Con Houlihan.

A very good young journalist in the Sunday Independent called Colm Toibin.

Magill magazine.

Some great writing in the first incarnation of the Sunday Tribune. I remember an article one week about Auschwitz and one the next week about a young girl long ago buried in Cork whose body didn't decay or something like that.

Moving Statues

Ann Lovett and the Kerry babies

Mobile homes put up alongside farmhouses as people had to save forever to get a deposit to build a house. 

Post by: Declan on November 30, 2010, 12:50:45 PM
QuoteGood Friday a real penance with no meat. There was no penne arrabiata.
Brilliant

There were 22 of us who grew up together and in December 1985 there were only 2 left in Ireland (D24 now or county Dublin at the time). That Stephen's night was the last time we were all together  as they had all had come home for Christmas form UK, States ,Aus ,Europe etc. In  the intervening years 7/8 of them have come home with new families etc but the vast majority stayed away - Nothing but the same old story!
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 30, 2010, 01:15:06 PM
The Dollar and the Irish Pound were of equal value at the time, I remember coming home from the states one summer and the money lasting forever. Back then I never thought that Ireland would become a more expensive place to live in than the U.S. Its madness whats gone on there the last 10 years :(
Post by: The Biff on November 30, 2010, 02:55:54 PM
Halls Pictorial Weekly, and later Scrap Saturday - (Political Satire that we believed was just funny, when in fact it was probably more realistic than we could ever imagine).

Politicians standing on a box outside Mass, shouting into a Loud-Hailer.

Big Time Bars - they lasted forever, if you didn't break your teeth first.

Naas traffic before the bypass, and how the local traders fought against it for years (same in Kinnegad)

Bottles of Tea brought out to the field when you were stacking the Hay.

Itchy Football jerseys

Rarely seeing a new car.  Old jalopies were kept going until they fell apart, then put back together again with spare parts from an older jalopy sitting under a hedge.

Eucharistic Processions - the town came to a standstill, the men carrying the Canopy were regarded as the leaders of local society.

The PP taking 10 minutes to read the list of donations for "The Stations" ... £10 Joe Smith, Pat Byrne, Mick Malone, .... £5 John Nolan, Seamus Dunne, .... ... ... 50p Larry O'Brien, Christy Murphy, ...... (luckily it all went over my head, but I presume the lads at the end of the list didn't appreciate it, and they probably could barely afford it too).

--------------------------------------------
Simpler times really.  I dont think we really knew a lot about what was happening in other parts of the world, so did we really know if this was right or wrong.  It probably took the return of many emigrants to help the rest of us to realise that there really was a Better Way.
Post by: Hereiam on November 30, 2010, 03:01:14 PM
1980's Spendin days in the bog and hatin it
2010 Spendin days in the bog and glad of the peace and quite
Post by: thebigfella on November 30, 2010, 03:12:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 29, 2010, 04:44:01 PM
There was no shite about lifestyle parishes either. Killimordaly was as good as Clarinbridge back in the 80s.

Skiing holidays?
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2010, 03:23:33 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 30, 2010, 03:12:29 PM

Skiing holidays?

There is nothing special about skiing for people who live near the mountains.
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2010, 03:25:24 PM
Quote from: The Biff on November 30, 2010, 02:55:54 PM
Halls Pictorial Weekly, and later Scrap Saturday - (Political Satire that we believed was just funny, when in fact it was probably more realistic than we could ever imagine).

I was watching Noonan on Primetime and he has a snarl that Dermot Morgan used to do very well.   
Post by: Louth Exile on November 30, 2010, 03:26:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 30, 2010, 12:42:59 PM
Moving Statues

They're on the way back you know!
Post by: thebigfella on November 30, 2010, 04:36:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 30, 2010, 03:23:33 PM

Skiing holidays?

Wouldn't be classed as a holiday then? Also the last time I checked there wasn't a world class skiing resort in the Mourne's that had people from abroad flocking to every winter.
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2010, 04:40:15 PM

Skiing holidays?

That is not true. It may not hold the same excitement as going away for a full week of skiiing and partying - but we just got 2 fantastic weeks of powder and the local ski bums are like dogs with two dicks.
Post by: thebandit on November 30, 2010, 04:53:47 PM
The excitement of geting a new TV for the 1990 world cup
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2010, 04:55:57 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 30, 2010, 04:36:03 PM

Skiing holidays?

Wouldn't be classed as a holiday then? Also the last time I checked there wasn't a world class skiing resort in the Mourne's that had people from abroad flocking to every winter.

I don't live in the Mournes.  I live in Switzerland. if you want posh in Switz you need a yacht.
Post by: ardal on November 30, 2010, 08:13:39 PM
Arriving home and seeing the "Welcome Home" sign / or was it made out of hedges, at Dublin airport and believing it. A week later heading back and holding back the tears at the same sign. Home was a lot different then, not sure I was ever comfortable calling it home during the celtic tiger years.
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2010, 02:34:43 PM
Quote from: ardal on November 30, 2010, 08:13:39 PM
Arriving home and seeing the "Welcome Home" sign / or was it made out of hedges, at Dublin airport and believing it. A week later heading back and holding back the tears at the same sign. Home was a lot different then, not sure I was ever comfortable calling it home during the celtic tiger years.

There was always something strange about the Celtic Tiger. All you needed was a bank loan and some vision. And why not build a shopping centre in the middle of nowhere. 
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on December 01, 2010, 07:25:07 PM
Jesus it seems the last recession was horrible. This isnt too bad my dad still gives me 250 a week spending money for Uni and I work part time too so take home 400-450 a week.
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2010, 08:56:09 PM
Willie Joe Padden

hats flags and headbands

furry caps

crepe paper caps that would run if it rained as it always did

Harry's in Kinnegad
Post by: tyssam5 on December 01, 2010, 09:06:50 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 01, 2010, 07:25:07 PM
Jesus it seems the last recession was horrible. This isnt too bad my dad still gives me 250 a week spending money for Uni and I work part time too so take home 400-450 a week.

Seriously? How does he expect you to graduate with all that money to drink every week?
Post by: muppet on December 01, 2010, 09:08:22 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on December 01, 2010, 09:06:50 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on December 01, 2010, 07:25:07 PM

Seriously? How does he expect you to graduate with all that money to drink every week?

He has been there since the last recession.
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2010, 10:20:20 PM
Whiskey chasers in Ballinasloe

And Harp

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4hmFPBf-C8