Kildare or Dublin or Down or Cork
Quote from: PatDaly on July 19, 2010, 03:07:21 AM
http://www.gaa.ie/wallcharts/football.php
Sunday August 22nd: All-Ireland Semi-final: Ulster v Connacht
Winner of Roscommon vs (Winner of Louth v Dublin) or (Winner of Limerick v Cork) or (Winner of Monaghan v Kildare) or Down*
vs
Winner of Tyrone vs (Winner of Louth v Dublin) or (Winner of Limerick v Cork) or (Winner of Down v Sligo) or Kildare*
Sunday August 29th: All-Ireland semi-final: Leinster v Munster
Winner of Kerry vs (Winner of Louth v Dublin) or (Winner of Monaghan v Kildare) or (Winner of Sligo v Down) or Cork*
vs
Winner of Meath vs (Winner of Limerick v Cork) or (Winner of Monaghan v Kildare) or (Winner of Sligo v Down) or Dublin*
* if this team wins their round 4 back door qualifier game.
Quote from: never kickt a ball on July 18, 2010, 11:48:51 PM
Kildare, Down, Dublin, Louth, Monaghan, Limerick, Cork or Down?
I would be confident of Roscommon having a chance against anyone except Cork.
As good as we where yesterday i don't think where ready for Cork yet... Dublin would be a interesting game if we got them? they also have one main scorer & they would be huge favourites which would suit us
Quote from: ross4life on July 19, 2010, 09:10:00 PM
As good as we where yesterday i don't think where ready for Cork yet... Dublin would be a interesting game if we got them? they also have one main scorer & they would be huge favourites which would suit us
Would you rather play (Dubliin) Croke Park or somewhere like Tullamore or Portlaoise? Same for Cork would you rather Croke Park or Limerick/Ennis?
Martin McHugh was fairly critical of Roscommon and Connacht football in general in his column today in the Star. He called Roscommon a "Poor" team. He never did like Connacht football though.
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on July 19, 2010, 09:16:15 PM
Martin McHugh was fairly critical of Roscommon and Connacht football in general in his column today in the Star. He called Roscommon a "Poor" team. He never did like Connacht football though.
Was that before or after yesterday? Hopefully Roscommon and Sligo will keep up Connacht's unbroken competitive tradition since 1995.
He is a little bollix of the smallest order. Nothing he writes should ever be posted on here regarding any of the 5 Connacht counties. He is a little p***k. Christ I HATE that man.
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 19, 2010, 09:18:59 PM
Was that before or after yesterday? Hopefully Roscommon and Sligo will keep up Connacht's unbroken competitive tradition since 1995.
It was after yesteday this is exactly what he wrote
"I said last week that Sligo should watch out because Mayo ended up losing to Longford and Galway were knocked out by wexford and it proved a timely warning. The standard of football in Connacht at the moment is low and Roscommon arent a good side. Maybe we got a little bit too carried away with how good we thought sligo were.
And Ulster is great I suppose?
Maybe he should check Saturday's results the p**ick. >:(
Quote from: Rossfan on July 19, 2010, 09:32:09 PM
And Ulster is great I suppose?
Maybe he should check Saturday's results the p**ick. >:(
Ya the so called experts are just looking to Ulster and Munster. The East & West, they are not gone away you know.
If McHugh wants to write about a pitiful football he need to venture no further than his own beloved Donegal. He could fill columns week in week out on that topic. ;D
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2010, 09:21:19 PM
He is a little bollix of the smallest order. Nothing he writes should ever be posted on here regarding any of the 5 Connacht counties. He is a little p***k. Christ I HATE that man.
Bitter little man, if he was any good he would manage his native hodlums. Cant stand the little f*cker either. Then again he does write for the star.
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on July 19, 2010, 09:26:04 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 19, 2010, 09:18:59 PM
It was after yesteday this is exactly what he wrote
"I said last week that Sligo should watch out because Mayo ended up losing to Longford and Galway were knocked out by wexford and it proved a timely warning. The standard of football in Connacht at the moment is low and Roscommon arent a good side. Maybe we got a little bit too carried away with how good we thought sligo were.
Didn't his son play in that pathetic Donegal team that were well beaten by Armagh. If he wants to see poor players, he need only watch his own son playing. No need for the gobshite to look west.
Plenty crap footballers in Donegal Mc Hugh.
I wouldn't worry about what WEE Martin said, before Sunday he said Monaghan were a top 6 team & will win ulster now he say's this is the best Tyrone team ever ::)
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 19, 2010, 09:13:49 PM
Would you rather play (Dubliin) Croke Park or somewhere like Tullamore or Portlaoise? Same for Cork would you rather Croke Park or Limerick/Ennis?
We deserve Croke park after winning connacht... remember we didn't get that in 2001
Quote from: ross4life on July 19, 2010, 11:21:02 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 19, 2010, 09:13:49 PM
We deserve Croke park after winning connacht... remember we didn't get that in 2001
Well I hope our minors are there too, great times in 2006 in the few matches Mayo seniors & Roscommon minors playing together and Leitrim on the Semi-Final Day.
I saw ye in Croker against the Dubs, I was at the game with a Rossie friend and his familyl (his ould lad said he never saw a Mayoman roar so loud for the Rossies in his life, thought I was going to lep of the Upper Hogan Stand) if I recall ye played well in the first half. Also saw ye play against Kerry, ye where getting slaughtered and then ye belted in a rake of goals, but it was too much to catch up on, great day too with the Galway people, think they where playing Cork. That mad lad in goals running up and down the lenght of the Canal End cheerleading the Connacht support and him supposed to be watching his goal, feckn classic stuff.
Yup our last visit to Croker we ran the dubs close.. jayo's lucky goal won it & the Kerry match in 2003 we also gave them a fright scoring 3-10
I was also in croker when we lost to Meath by 1 point in 1991 :( back then we had a young forward that scored 1-8 (how time's has changed)
Just a query re our possible Quarter Final opponent.
If Sligo beat Down, is there a rule that says we can't play Sligo again so soon?
correct cant play a beaten finalist again
Roscommon V Down?
Quote from: never kickt a ball on July 24, 2010, 09:17:04 PM
Roscommon V Down?
If it happens hopefully we put up a better show
I believe we have no hope or any business turning up in Croke Park next weekend.
Ah sure we have to appear or the CCCCCCCCCC would slap a big fine on us.
Hopefully whoever we meet will go aisy on us and save them selves for the Semi v Tyrone. :D
Roscommon V Down?
No disrespect to either but if this is the draw I'd say it was beyond either team's wildest dreams to find themselves in an All-Ireland semi-final, especially from a month or two ago.
Expect a whole heap of béalbochting from the Rossies this week. "Nobody is giving us a chance..etc etc etc".
Nobody is .
FACT !!!!
Quote from: ONeill on July 24, 2010, 10:11:28 PM
Roscommon V Down?
No disrespect to either but if this is the draw I'd say it was beyond either team's wildest dreams to find themselves in an All-Ireland semi-final, especially from a month or two ago.
Well Down will be playing Division 1 Football next year unlike us with Division 4, so maybe not wildest dreams for them but progress is been made with underage success as this will be Down first ever Quarter final
Versus Cork 10% chance, Dublin 40%, Kildare 40%, Down 60%.
Down blow hot then cold.
Quote from: ONeill on July 24, 2010, 10:22:16 PM
Versus Cork 10% chance, Dublin 40%, Kildare 40%, Down 60%.
Down blow hot then cold.
Your very generous with those % ONeill i don't think the bookies would agree
As i said over on the Down v Sligo thread how good are down as they struggled to beat Longford/Offaly.. tonight was more about the Sligo performance IMO
From a Kildare perspective The Rossies or Meath would be the preference Meath being my first choice because if we're honest nobody wants to face the winners of the last 8 All-Irelands between them.
Roscommon will be interesting to watch, they have now been empancipated and could play with a freedom and confidence that on the day will make a tough nut craic. It really is all on the day and only a fool would dismiss any of the last 8
On all form lines, though, you'd have to want Roscommon in the draw. However, when you look at the form lines through Meath, Louth and Dublin, you have to wonder.
imo tyrone 1/4 down 3/1 draw 8/1
tyrone are finnish though ;D
Quote from: ONeill on July 24, 2010, 10:11:28 PM
Roscommon V Down?
Would definitely agree with that O'Neill
One thing about the Rossies is that they are never offended by bookies odds ::)
They proved it last Sunday, and when many of that team were minors on the All Ireland Winning team of 2006, they were the 8/1 outsiders of 4 at the semi final stage, but it didn't stop them winning the All Ireland.
It might also be worth asking if people are starting to over rate Cork? They're not impressing me much at the moment.
At least by tomorrow evening, we'll know who we're beating next ::)
Unfortunately, there is a rumour going around that Ros goalkeeper Geoffrey Claffey has a muscle injury and is a major doubt for next weekend. David Casey also causing concern.
Hopefully, they are only rumours.
Big one for Roscommon
Quote from: never kickt a ball on July 25, 2010, 06:51:06 PM
Big one for Roscommon
Can only hope that we do ourselves justice on the day, and don't get hammered.
Cork would have to be the hottest of hot favourites for this.
Sunday August 22nd: All-Ireland Semi-final: Ulster v Connacht
Winner of Roscommon vs Cork
vs
Winner of Tyrone vs Dublin
Sunday August 29th: All-Ireland semi-final: Leinster v Munster
Winner of Kerry vs Down
vs
Winner of Meath vs Kildare
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 25, 2010, 06:59:39 PM
Big one for Roscommon
so were sligo
Quote from: rocco on July 25, 2010, 07:05:56 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 25, 2010, 06:59:39 PM
Big one for Roscommon
so were sligo
I know ::)
I don't think even Paddy Joe the barber would give Ross much of a chance against Cork despite being "the besht team in the world". :)
Quote from: Jinxy on July 25, 2010, 07:16:27 PM
I don't think even Paddy Joe the barber would give Ross much of a chance against Cork despite being "the besht team in the world". :)
Agree Jinxy. We're in line for a fierce beating from those big athletic Cork players who hammered Mayo in the league final.
Fear the same type of hammering will set our young team back a few years, but we'll have to fulfill the fixture anyway.
What odds are Cork likely to be?.......1/6.....1/8, maybe even 1/10?
Still, we are Connacht Champions for this year, and as Fergie said, ''we're in bonus territory now''.
Think Cork will need to improve though to beat the winner of Dublin/Tyrone.
Rossies reward for there first connacht title in nine years is hardest possible draw, keep it down to six we'll be doing well
Quote from: ross4life on July 25, 2010, 09:03:30 PM
Rossies reward for there first connacht title in nine years is hardest possible draw, keep it down to six we'll be doing well
Six goals? Expect a backlash from Cork after their poor performance at the weekend
Cork might be favourties, though not based on this championship, but it ain't hopeless for the Rossies.
They have a lot more talented forwards than Limerick do, so by that rationale if they can glean enough possession in the middle of the field, then they should be in with a shout. Both midfielders for Ros can do it, and Cregg and Casey are both flying, so if they turn up next week, then they may get enough possession to score enough.
O'Donnell will keep the heads down, these lads know all about preparing for a big day. Would love to see it happening for a proud football county.
By Japers lads, Zulu will have every bit of delph smashed in the house if he hears what Joe Brolly just said about Cork on the Sunday Game. "If Tyrone are purveyors of smart football, Cork are purveyors of dumb football," and so forth and so on.
Golly.
By the way, will all the Rossies poor-mouthing at the minute go easy on the meeja-wrote-us-off stuff next week if Roscommon win? How could the meeja do anything else when you're busying doing it yourselves?
We can't complain too much about the draw as it has been kind to us so far this year.
Obviously it's a massive task, Cork, from a phyisicallity point of view wont suit us. They also have the capability to cut us to ribbons and this could potentially be very damaging as noted by others here. In Graham Canty they have a full back who will be capable of shuting down Donie Shine and if this happens I worry about where the scores will come from.
All Roscommon can do is work out a simple game plan and give each player a clearly defined task and performance target for the game. If the players achieve these targets we will be in a healthy position at the final whistle. If the team start to worry to much about Cork and become fazed by the occaison they will be in for a tough afternoon. We also have to play to win the game and not just be content to keep the score down. Nothing is impossible in football and you can not take to the field thinking that you ARE going to lose.
Its a great opportunity for the players to play on the big stage and I'm sure the boys will be relishing the chance to prove the Connacht title was no fluke.
Quote from: Beard on July 25, 2010, 11:18:24 PM
We can't complain too much about the draw as it has been kind to us so far this year.
Obviously it's a massive task, Cork, from a phyisicallity point of view wont suit us. They also have the capability to cut us to ribbons and this could potentially be very damaging as noted by others here. In Graham Canty they have a full back who will be capable of shuting down Donie Shine and if this happens I worry about where the scores will come from.
All Roscommon can do is work out a simple game plan and give each player a clearly defined task and performance target for the game. If the players achieve these targets we will be in a healthy position at the final whistle. If the team start to worry to much about Cork and become fazed by the occaison they will be in for a tough afternoon. We also have to play to win the game and not just be content to keep the score down. Nothing is impossible in football and you can not take to the field thinking that you ARE going to lose.
Its a great opportunity for the players to play on the big stage and I'm sure the boys will be relishing the chance to prove the Connacht title was no fluke.
Brilliant assessment Beard. It's a case of the team everyone wanted versus the team nobody wanted but like you say nothing is impossible and if they focus on performance rather than fearing their opponents they will give a good account of themselves. Cork's power and pace could slice Ross apart physically and on the scoreboard but I think Fergie will have a plan to ensure at the very least players and supporters will leave Croker with their heads held high. It's a big challenge to face but a much better one than earlier this spring when they were demoted to div 4 and fearing London maight beat them in the championship.
Thery'll probably start Canty centre back though, Eoin Cadogan is manning the square. I can't see a young Roscommon team coping with the physical nature of the the Cork team.
Cadogan has commited to the hurlers until they get beaten. Shields will probably mark Shine, Canty will be wing back.
The clash between Noel O'leary and Cregg will be worth the admission alone.
OLeary battered the head off him in Kiltoom in the league few years ago and had enough
fouls for 2 red cards.. Ref must have felt sorry for him since it was his 1st match back after the strike and let him stay on :P!!
Cregg is a bit more battle hardened now and the space in Croker will suit him to run at O'leary every chance he gets.
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on July 26, 2010, 11:16:54 AM
Cadogan has commited to the hurlers until they get beaten. Shields will probably mark Shine, Canty will be wing back.
Correct Chris, sorry. I should have said Shields. Who will play centre back if Canty is on the wing?
Looking like 2pm Sunday, Kildare/Meath 4pm
Is that the word in GAA circles Dinny?
Suit me fine if it's that way.
It's what a Dub mate of mine texted, normally reliable although these things can take a life of their own..
It will definitly be in Croke park, Roscommon will be the only Connacht team going into the knock out stages on high and full of confidence. I would say Roscommons showing will be way more a barometer of Connacht football than Mayos, Galways and Sligos showing. In fairness to later 3 they never turned up the next days. Looking at Sunday game last night, Cork looked poor and there for the taking, there right footed free taker imploded, and some players are lacking in confidence. Im sure FOD will watch the tapes and come up with a cunning plan to maximise Rosses potential on the day, whether it will be enough no one knows. Everyone tipped Sligo, everyone will tip Cork but it doenst matter jack shit to Roscommon. Best of luck.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2010, 12:25:17 PM
It will definitly be in Croke park, Roscommon will be the only Connacht team going into the knock out stages on high and full of confidence. I would say Roscommons showing will be way more a barometer of Connacht football than Mayos, Galways and Sligos showing. In fairness to later 3 they never turned up the next days. Looking at Sunday game last night, Cork looked poor and there for the taking, there right footed free taker imploded, and some players are lacking in confidence. Im sure FOD will watch the tapes and come up with a cunning plan to maximise Rosses potential on the day, whether it will be enough no one knows. Everyone tipped Sligo, everyone will tip Cork but it doenst matter jack shit to Roscommon. Best of luck.
Paddy Kelly is not their freetaker though. donnacha O'connor was injured, and I'd expect him to start seeing as how he came on. To be honest, Cork and Sligo are two different animals, so while Roscommon will give it a lash as you'd expect from them, I can't see Cork being as flummoxed as Sligo were.
ROS V CORK SUN AUG 1ST @ 2.00 PM. CROKE PARK
I hear it's Cork 1/14, Ros 8/1.
An oul €10 going on to pay for the Semi final.
If ;) we don't make it I'll hardly miss the tenner and wont need the €80.
Why are some people judging Cork on last week's performance v Limerick? after all Limerick know cork inside & out at this stage, before last weekend Cork Hammered Wexford in Wexford Park & hammered a Cavan team that hammered us in Feb, No Doubt Cork played bad last weekend but i can't see them having two bad game's in a row & worth pointing out for the Cork fan's the last time they beat us in the Championship they went on to win the Alll Ireland
The only thing going for us is there will be no pressure on us with the freedom to express themselves
in Reply to Beard "I'm sure the boys will be relishing the chance to prove the Connacht title was no fluke." What has a quarter final with cork got to do with the Connacht Championship? proving connacht was fluke would be winning another title in the next 3/4 years & judging the current standard of connacht i think we're more the capable of doing so
P.S dropped into the GAA office in Ballyhaunis today, ticket's will on sale tomorrow priced 45 euro :o
Are you sure it's not €35 euro I'm only been charged €30 on season ticket, €5 discount.
Well unless the lady in the office was wrong? i asked what price for Hill 16 she said 30
Better not buy any tickets from Prenty and co. in Smellyhaunis :D
€10 Commission !!!!!
I presume they were Semi Final prices she was quoting you.
Better wait till we bate Cork first ;)
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2010, 05:39:20 PM
Better not buy any tickets from Prenty and co. in Smellyhaunis :D
€10 Commission !!!!!
I presume they were Semi Final prices she was quoting you.
Better wait till we bate Cork first ;)
Sounds like the Fu*kers :D anyways quick search has them down for 35, http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t6.php?countyid=25&sportid=1&clubid=&club_id=&newsstory=20204 i'm guessing the hill should be 20?
CORK v ROSCOMMON
Cork are back in the quarter-finals for the sixth successive year and for the seventh time in all while Roscommon are in the quarters for the third time. Cork have a 100 per cent record, winning all six previous quarter-finals in 2002- 2005-2006-2007-2008-2009 while Roscommon lost their two appearances in 2001 and 2003. This will be only the third championship clash between the counties, the last being in 2003 when Roscommon won a first round qualifier by a point in Dr. Hyde Park. Cork having won the first meeting in the 1990 All- Ireland semi-final where they had seven points (0-17 to 0-10) to spare.
2010 Championship
Cork
Cork 0-15 Kerry 0-15 (Munster semi-final)
Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-14 (Munster semi-final replay - after extra-time)
Cork 1-19 Cavan 0-4 (Qualifier Round 2)
Cork 0-12 Wexford 0-5 (Qualifier Round 3)
Cork 0-16 Limerick 1-11 (Qualifier Round 4 - After extra-time)
Average For: 0-17; Average Against: 0-12
Roscommon
Roscommon 0-14 London 0-6 (Connacht quarter-final)
Roscommon 1-13 Leitrim 0-11 (Connacht semi-final)
Roscommon 0-14 Sligo 0-13 (Connacht final)
Average For: 0-15 Average Against: 0-10
Previous Championship Clashes
2003: Roscommon 0-14 Cork 1-10 (Qualifier Round 1)
1990: Cork 0-17 Roscommon 0-10 (All-Ireland semi-final)
Previous All-Ireland quarter-final appearances
Cork
2009: Cork 1-27 Donegal 2-10
2008: Cork 2-11 Kildare 1-11
2007: Cork 1-11 Sligo 0-8
2006: Cork 1-11 Donegal 1-10
2005: Cork 2-14 Galway 2-11
2002: Cork 0-16 Mayo 1-10
Played 6, Won 6.
Roscommon
2001: Galway 0-14 Roscommon 1-5
2003: Kerry 1-21 Roscommon 3-10
Getting ready to eat humble pie as Roscommon will do better than Cavan did against Cork.
Do it for us.
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 11:58:02 AM
Correct Chris, sorry. I should have said Shields. Who will play centre back if Canty is on the wing?
Kissane probably. If Miskella is fit he'll start instead of Noel
Pa Kelly was tried on frees during the league and did OK, they'll stick with him I think. If Roscommon have to foul, don't do it on Gouldings side he's kicking well.
I think Roscommon was the last side to beat Cork in championship other than Kerry, in 2004.
Conor Counihan has managed cork in 16 championship matches so far..only 3 defeats all to Kerry
His First match in charge of Cork was v us in Kiltoom (league game) & if he gets beaten by us on Sunday it will be his last game!
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on July 27, 2010, 04:28:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2010, 11:58:02 AM
Kissane probably. If Miskella is fit he'll start instead of Noel
Pa Kelly was tried on frees during the league and did OK, they'll stick with him I think. If Roscommon have to foul, don't do it on Gouldings side he's kicking well.
I think Roscommon was the last side to beat Cork in championship other than Kerry, in 2004.
Fermanagh beat cork in 2004
QuoteBy Japers lads, Zulu will have every bit of delph smashed in the house if he hears what Joe Brolly just said about Cork on the Sunday Game. "If Tyrone are purveyors of smart football, Cork are purveyors of dumb football," and so forth and so on.
I'd have to admit there is truth in what he is saying. I do expect Cork to win this with a bit to spare but I can't see them beat the winners of Tyrone/Dub and Kerry (probably) in the final anymore. I'll stick with them but some of teh things they do on the pitch has me asking questions about them and the management. I hope Roscommon do well but I think Cork are the type of team that can really put weaker teams to the sword. Roscommon are developing but I don't think they are anything more than a division 3 team at the moment and Cork, in CP, have too much size and power for teams of that standard.
Quote from: Zulu on July 27, 2010, 06:36:20 PM
QuoteBy Japers lads, Zulu will have every bit of delph smashed in the house if he hears what Joe Brolly just said about Cork on the Sunday Game. "If Tyrone are purveyors of smart football, Cork are purveyors of dumb football," and so forth and so on.
I'd have to admit there is truth in what he is saying. I do expect Cork to win this with a bit to spare but I can't see them beat the winners of Tyrone/Dub and Kerry (probably) in the final anymore. I'll stick with them but some of teh things they do on the pitch has me asking questions about them and the management. I hope Roscommon do well but I think Cork are the type of team that can really put weaker teams to the sword. Roscommon are developing but I don't think they are anything more than a division 3 team at the moment and Cork, in CP, have too much size and power for teams of that standard.
Thats quite a swing in opinion regarding a team improving every game? What kind of things are making you ask questions?
The Limerick game, in terms of the result, hasn't changed my opinion of Cork. I always thought that it would be a tough, close game but I feel Counihan isn't picking the best team or hasn't them playing the type of football that suits them best. IMO Cork are too slow to transfer the ball from one end of the field to the other and with the forwards they have got that is not the way to go.
I'll still put my money on cork to win the AI but I don't think they are developing as much as I thought they would and I think Counihan may be the problem.
Cork defence and midfield fine . Forwards are the problem. Not sure what the solution is . All very fine players but just not clicking as a unit. Just feel that there are still not sure of the first 15 and a result the guys that are playing are afraid of being taken off . They may be trying too hard and doing things as individuals rather than as a team.
The conditions for Cavan and Wexford were woeful so they were hard to judge. Felt they looked tired against Limerick but it was a 6 day turnover and thats hard.
Rossies unchanged:
Geoffrey Claffey, Sean McDermott, Peter Domican (cpt), Stephen Ormsby, Sean Purcell, Cathal Dineen, David Casey, Michael Finneran, Karol Mannion, David Keenan, David O'Gara, Cathal Cregg, John Rogers, Donal Shine, Ger Heneghan.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0728/roscommon.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0728/roscommon.html)
Not sure are they unchanged yet... there will be late fitness tests on O'Gara,Casey, & Claffey before throw in
Quote from: marym on July 28, 2010, 03:06:28 PM
Cork defence and midfield fine . Forwards are the problem. Not sure what the solution is . All very fine players but just not clicking as a unit. Just feel that there are still not sure of the first 15 and a result the guys that are playing are afraid of being taken off . They may be trying too hard and doing things as individuals rather than as a team.
The conditions for Cavan and Wexford were woeful so they were hard to judge. Felt they looked tired against Limerick but it was a 6 day turnover and thats hard.
Miskella is a massive loss to the team when he's not playing, really drives them on. If I was Counihan I'd give O'Neill the 13 jersey this Sunday, ridiculous having a citeog playing left full forward... I think they have to start Nicholas Walsh as well, if they don't return to last year's form on Sun they'll be caught in the semis...
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 28, 2010, 03:43:05 PM
Rossies unchanged:
Geoffrey Claffey, Sean McDermott, Peter Domican (cpt), Stephen Ormsby, Sean Purcell, Cathal Dineen, David Casey, Michael Finneran, Karol Mannion, David Keenan, David O'Gara, Cathal Cregg, John Rogers, Donal Shine, Ger Heneghan.
You omitted our 16th man _
DERMOT
Interesting to see in the local media where Fergal O'Donnell has said that he is expecting a big performance from Ros on Sunday. I suppose what else would he be expected to say.
I hear from a friend of one of the Ros players that the squad are quite bullish about their chances on Sunday and are in no fear of Cork.
The 06 lads played without fear and hopefully that will be the Ros motto from now on.
They have to be aiming to win games ,whether it happens or not is another story, because they'll never win if they go with the aim of " we'll try and put up a good perfomance".
It will be some shock in the GAA world if we pull it off ......
and I'll be pleasantly surprised too :D
Quoteand are in no fear of Cork
Horse into them Ros nothing to fear about Cork, big donkeys dont win too many Derby's as Babs Keating once said, take no shit off them, watch out for the odd throat grabber and other sly tactics including their manager who has been known to tickle a few sliothars in his day, and ye will be fine
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 28, 2010, 09:36:47 PM
Quoteand are in no fear of Cork
Horse into them Ros nothing to fear about Cork, big donkeys dont win too many Derby's as Babs Keating once said, take no shit off them, watch out for the odd throat grabber and other sly tactics including their manager who has been known to tickle a few sliothars in his day, and ye will be fine
Referring to the incident with Jacko Mike?
Dunno how O'Se didnt deck him that day.
Former Roscommon manager Tommy "Tom" Carr thinks Cork will hammer Roscommon by eight points or more: http://www.hoganstand.com/roscommon/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=132993
A lot of Rossies I know have good time for Carr. Could never figure that out. What's he thinking about here? Thought it was a very ungracious thing to say about his former team.
Thats the one, Jacko could do little about it when your man had put a good squeeze on him, nasty atmosphere in the crowd that day too if I remember correctly. I dont think Counihan got a suspension at the time for it, but again thats Cork for you.
Don't forget Tommy Carr's Cavan lost to Cork by 1-19 to 0-4 a few weeks ago so if he think's where only gonna lose by up to 8 pts i'm surprised & Interesting enough we are the same odds 8/1 to win on Sunday as London were to beat us back in May
Of course we won by 8 points that day but were disappointed by the performance i can't imagine what the cork boy's are expecting (hopefully a nasty shock)
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 29, 2010, 08:36:03 PM
Former Roscommon manager Tommy "Tom" Carr thinks Cork will hammer Roscommon by eight points or more: http://www.hoganstand.com/roscommon/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=132993
A lot of Rossies I know have good time for Carr. Could never figure that out. What's he thinking about here? Thought it was a very ungracious thing to say about his former team.
Carr was manager in 2003 when we last got to the quarter final. That was a good summer following the team around the country.
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 29, 2010, 08:40:46 PM
Thats the one, Jacko could do little about it when your man had put a good squeeze on him, nasty atmosphere in the crowd that day too if I remember correctly. I dont think Counihan got a suspension at the time for it, but again thats Cork for you.
Nothing done about it Mike. Jacko was one of my (and everyones) favourite players. Never seen anything as blatantly filthy. Never liked Counihan as a player. Dirty but effective I guess. Good manager though I think.
Cork by 8 is very possible. Dont care so long as Rossies dont freeze and go out and play their own game. Cork not so hot when you run at them as Limerick proved.
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 29, 2010, 08:36:03 PM
I'm
NOT one of them anyway.
I always thought of him as a genuine chap who had little managerial ability.
However this crap and his nonsense talk about Maughtan being abused in 2008 has put him in my leabhair dubh.
After his latest foray into management you'd think he's be keeping out of the media.
I may be daft but I think we have a great chance of upsetting Cork's apple tart( :D).
http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/no-changes-for-counihans-cork-467327.html (http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/no-changes-for-counihans-cork-467327.html)
Cork manager Conor Counihan has opted to field an unchanged team for Sunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final against Roscommon.
There was much speculation that Counihan would alter his side after the sluggish extra-time victory over Limerick last week, but he has remained loyal to his starting line-up.
Noel O'Leary, Derek Kavanagh and Paul Kerrigan were brought in as late changes for the Limerick game, and the trio have retained their starting places for this weekend's Croke Park clash (throw-in 2pm).
O'Leary will link up again with team captain Graham Canty and Paudie Kissane in the half-back line, supporting a midfield partnership of Kavanagh and Aidan Walsh.
Kerrigan gets the nod at right half-forward, with Donncha O'Connor, who kicked two points as a substitute against Limerick, and Fintan Goold among the attackers to miss out.
Nicholas Murphy and Alan O'Connor also have to be content with places on the bench.
The Rebels are bidding to maintain their 100% record in All-Ireland quarter-finals, having won all six of their previous fixtures in the last-eight of the All-Ireland Championship.
Cork won their first ever Championship meeting with Roscommon in the 1990 All-Ireland semi-final, claiming a 0-17 to 0-10 victory, but the Rossies evened thing up with a one-point first round qualifier success at Dr Hyde Park in 2003.
Speaking ahead of Cork's fourth game in as many weeks, goalkeeper Alan Quirke said: "There's no doubt about it, it's going to be physically difficult because of all the football we've played over the last few weeks.
"But teams have managed to do it coming from the qualifiers in the past, so there's no reason why we can't do that.
"There were no real celebrations after the Limerick game. It was just an ice bath and a bit of grub and we had a good recovery session on Sunday.
"We have a good panel and that's what we'll need this weekend.
"To beat Limerick in their own ground is an achievement that we're proud of. We've learnt a lot from these qualifier games - winning is a great habit to have and hopefully we can keep holding onto it," he said.
CORK (SFC v Roscommon): A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, J O'Sullivan; N O'Leary, G Canty (capt), P Kissane; D Kavanagh, A Walsh; P Kerrigan, P O'Neill, P Kelly; D Goulding, C Sheehan, C O'Neill
Hopefully the ref will protect our gasúns from O'Leary's antics. :-\
Carr never misses a chance to get a slap at the Rossies, bitter man. Most in Ros are disappointed by these antics. However others close to the county board felt while he was manager he was 100% committed to improving all things football in Ros, obviously he lacks man management skills - typical of most army folk.
The game itself, hope Ros are not bet after 20 mins, would hate to see a drubbing of biblical order.
I've no great issue with Tommy Carr's opinion per se but why do we need these type of characters knocking around in the media. Tommy Carr - good footballer 15-20 years ago. Mediocre enough record as a manager with a high profile stint with the Dubs, bit unlucky you could argue. I heard an interview with him going on about 2 and 5 and 17 year plans in counties like Cavan and Laois and Westmeath and I thought, does anyone really give the slightest toss about what he has to say anymore. NO.
Half these fellas just need to let go of the sliver of limelight that they are hanging on to and go off and coach underage football or get involved with the county board or do something else useful.
Best of luck to Roscommon. The whole west is behind ye, Cork won't know what to do with Shine.
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 30, 2010, 05:08:53 AM
Best of luck to Roscommon. The whole west is behind ye, Cork won't know what to do with Shine.
the whole of connacht behind the sheepfeelers ?? :-\
anyways i hope you give cork a right rattle & get the win
best of luck sunday
Quote from: Zulu on July 28, 2010, 02:01:53 PM
The Limerick game, in terms of the result, hasn't changed my opinion of Cork. I always thought that it would be a tough, close game but I feel Counihan isn't picking the best team or hasn't them playing the type of football that suits them best. IMO Cork are too slow to transfer the ball from one end of the field to the other and with the forwards they have got that is not the way to go.
I'll still put my money on cork to win the AI but I don't think they are developing as much as I thought they would and I think Counihan may be the problem.
What type of football would suit them best? I find Cork are sending a lot of 50/50 balls into the full forward line from 60 yards and they are not working out. Last year Cork were carrying the ball a lot more and it worked better.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2010, 10:31:23 PM
O'Leary has mellowed in recent years. ;)
The bookies love the sight of you I'd say ;)
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on July 30, 2010, 11:56:26 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2010, 10:31:23 PM
O'Leary has mellowed in recent years. ;)
O'Leary is the "Marlo" of gaelic football Chris & Snoop ;)!
Quote from: spuds on July 30, 2010, 11:37:47 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on July 30, 2010, 05:08:53 AM
the whole of connacht behind the sheepfeelers ?? :-\
anyways i hope you give cork a right rattle & get the win
best of luck sunday
Kiss of death :-*!
That's my main concern from a Roscommon point of view. Too much analysis focussing on Cork being poor & not enough credit being given to Limerick. They could have/should have beaten Kerry and are a good side. Perhaps Cork played as well as they could and are better than they looked. Sunday will tell.
Who know's how long it will be before we get the chance to make the Semi final again.. let's give it our best shot if that's not good enough so be it... at least we won't be looking back in few year's time saying "if only we tried harder"
Best of luck to team & management on Sunday
Well after today's result's it's now.. Roscommon(80/1 shots) v the ALL Ireland favourites
Current All Ireland Odds
Cork 5/4
Dublin 9/4
Down 7/2
Meath 8/1
Kildare 9/1
Roscommon 80/1
Name the Finalists
Cork & Down 7/4
Dublin & Down 5/2
Cork & Meath 5/1
Cork & Kildare 13/2
Dublin & Meath 7/1
Dublin & Kildare 8/1
Roscommon & Down 50/1
Roscommon & Meath 80/1
Roscommon & Kildare 100/1
That's 2 of the Provincial champions gone, and more than likely Ros will make it 3 early tomorrow afternoon.
Imagine if Kildare then beat Meath, it would mean that 4 'back door' teams would contest the Semi Finals, with not a provincial winner in sight.
It would surely be the first time that has happened.
Anyway, time to get ready for Croker tomorrow. About 15,000 Rossies expected there.
Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.
Whilst it would be great to win, i feel it's a step too far at the moment re the stage of development this mainly young Ros team are at.
I would love to see on here tomorrow night that people will be saying that Ros played well, and gave a great performance.
Putting that with the Connacht Title would mark 2010 as a year of huge progress for Ros, and perhaps signal even better things to come in the next few years.
Just hope we don't get hammered, as that would do young players confidence no good at all.
Hope we won't be reading any 'men against boys' analysis on Monday.
Best of luck lads.
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 31, 2010, 06:32:50 PM
That's 2 of the Provincial champions gone, and more than likely Ros will make it 3 early tomorrow afternoon.
Imagine if Kildare then beat Meath, it would mean that 4 'back door' teams would contest the Semi Finals, with not a provincial winner in sight.
It would surely be the first time that has happened.
Anyway, time to get ready for Croker tomorrow. About 15,000 Rossies expected there.
Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.
Whilst it would be great to win, i feel it's a step too far at the moment re the stage of development this mainly young Ros team are at.
I would love to see on here tomorrow night that people will be saying that Ros played well, and gave a great performance.
Putting that with the Connacht Title would mark 2010 as a year of huge progress for Ros, and perhaps signal even better things to come in the next few years.
Just hope we don't get hammered, as that would do young players confidence no good at all.
Hope we won't be reading any 'men against boys' analysis on Monday.
Best of luck lads.
Despite the local rivalry I really hope Ros do it tomorrow. Michael Murphy showed last year what a good full-forward can do to them with half decent ball.
Not so bothered about the other game but no doubt will find myself shouting for one team or the other passionately. Funny how that happens.
Things have changed utterly today from a Cork perspective. If Tyrone and Kerry were still there Cork may have been looking to put down a marker against Ros. However as Cork are now favourites to win it they will be looking to put us away quickly and with the minimum of fuss and get the big names off the field uninjured with 20 or 25 mins to go.
Roscommon will have to be prepared for an onslaught early on and if they can somehow stick with Cork we may start to see a bit of frustration creep in to Corks play and who knows....... If we don't stick with the lads need to keep the heads up and not collapse because Cork will ease up in the second half and our lads will get a chance to play some football at some point.
Hopefully, whatever the result, the game will give our lads the confidence and push on and make Roscommon a consistent top 8 or top 10 side over the next few years.
Before I take to the oul bed to rest up for the trip East tomorrow it's time for this again ...
In the name of the dead generations of Rosmen who fought and died that we might be free of evil monsters Ros summons her gossoons to her righteous cause.
Remember the great heritage ye have inherited.
Let's do it for Queen Maeve,Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman,St Croan,St Faithleach,St Michael,St Ronan,Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde,Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Remember 43 and 44 and famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72,79 and 86.( and of course 2010 !!!!). Remeber the League final of 19179 when we bet the Corkies by 9 points.
Remember O'Malley,Lindsay,Earley,Tony Mc,Jigger and most of all Harry Keegan. When ye see a Corkman coming through with the ball ask yourself " What would Harry Keegan do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Skibereen so do the same and ye can win the day.
Slay the bug bad Rebels who will dare to try and stop us on the road to Sam and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Clonakilty, Bantry, Ballyphehane, Kinsale , Kanturk and even Ballydehob.
UP ROS
It will be an interesting game to be honest... Cork with favourites baggage, not playing well against Limerick, only scoring 0-12 against Wexford, 2 favourites falling today. Hope Ros win to get Connacht a place in the last 4... It's that type of year where anything could happen. Good luck to Ros.
Quote from: Beard on July 31, 2010, 09:26:51 PM
Things have changed utterly today from a Cork perspective. If Tyrone and Kerry were still there Cork may have been looking to put down a marker against Ros. However as Cork are now favourites to win it they will be looking to put us away quickly and with the minimum of fuss and get the big names off the field uninjured with 20 or 25 mins to go.
Roscommon will have to be prepared for an onslaught early on and if they can somehow stick with Cork we may start to see a bit of frustration creep in to Corks play and who knows....... If we don't stick with the lads need to keep the heads up and not collapse because Cork will ease up in the second half and our lads will get a chance to play some football at some point.
Hopefully, whatever the result, the game will give our lads the confidence and push on and make Roscommon a consistent top 8 or top 10 side over the next few years.
The only possible plus for Ross Beard is that with Kerry and Tyrone gone Cork are now outright favourites and perhaps the pressure might get to them..... looking a game ahead etc..... Here's to a good match anyhow.
After today's exhilarating and dramatic events I can't wait for tomorrow and I hope we see two great games where all teams do themselves justice. Although my connections are with Cork and I'd love to see them win an AI (I'll have a few bob on them too!) I would be genuinely delighted if Roscommon pulled off a surprise. I don't think they will but a hope they give their loyal fans a performance they can be proud of and that this is the start of a long period of success for them.
C'mon the sheep stealers; bash them nasty Langers and do the rest of mankind a favour! ;D
Quote from: Rossfan on July 31, 2010, 10:04:59 PM
Before I take to the oul bed to rest up for the trip East tomorrow it's time for this again ...
In the name of the dead generations of Rosmen who fought and died that we might be free of evil monsters Ros summons her gossoons to her righteous cause.
Let's do it for Queen Maeve,Niall of the 9 hostages, Saints Eithne and Fidelma, St Coman,St Croan,St Faithleach,St Michael,St Ronan,Ned Duffy, The O'Connor kings of Ireland, Douglas Hyde,Percy French,the 42 who died for Ireland and Freedom and of course Uachtarán na hEireann herself.
Remember 43 and 44 and famous days in Castlebar like 52 , 72,79 and 86.( and of course 2010 !!!!). Remeber the League final of 19179 when we bet the Corkies by 9 points.
Remember O'Malley,Lindsay,Earley,Tony Mc,Jigger and most of all Harry Keegan. When ye see a Corkman coming through with the ball ask yourself " What would Harry Keegan do?"
He'd drive man and ball half way to bloody Skibereen so do the same and ye can win the day.
Slay the bug bad Rebels who will dare to try and stop us on the road to Sam and send them home sadder and wiser to their dens of iniquity in Clonakilty, Bantry, Ballyphehane, Kinsale , Kanturk and even Ballydehob.
UP ROS
Mighty! Mighty!
Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2010, 10:47:06 PM
Although my connections are with Cork and I'd love to see them win an AI
You don't say. ;D
I think Kerry beaten might take a weight off of Cork shoulders. Lets see a good score put up.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 31, 2010, 10:04:59 PM
UP ROS
Mickey Harte needed a boy like you. Brought a tear to my eye and I don't even know where Roscommon is.
Niall Cahalane looks old, Cake looks sane for the first time ever
I was sorry the Cake didn't hop a ball there, for the crack. Chinned Cahalane or something. I'll always remember his stellar performance on that awful Park Life show back in 2006, when he kept the Connacht flag flying.
Come on, Ross!
32 minutes gone cork 6 points roscommon 4 points
6 points to 5 at half time. Fairly even first half. A lot of mistakes, slips and bad shooting.
13/2 for Roscommon to win this. A much more tempting prospect than the pre-match 9/1.
Come on Roscommon.
I'm sick of watching Cork laterally pass the ball back and forth. Can't believe they have persisted with this style of play after they lost last years final.
From one of the angles shown that Cork goal chance where cork got a point was wide. Am I right
Fair play I dont know how many Rossies are there but they can roar!
C'mon Roscommon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Couldn't be enjoying this much more if I was from Roscommon!
fair play to the rossies
the langers are well shook
8 pts aside now 42mins
cork looking very ordinary
Did Marty get the ride down in Roscommon once or something? The difference in his commentary when Ros score compared to Cork is ridiculous.
Roscommon do an awful lot of stupid things. Cork are here for the taking, but I don't think Roscommon are clinical or clever enough to see it through. I'm cheering them on anyway to sicken the stupid pair of Langers who sat munching sweets and crisps beside me the whole way through the first half. They even had to ask me who Armagh were playing in the minor game. Idiots. I'm pretty sure they keep farting too
"Look where the centre back is!!!!!"
Marty always commentates like he hasn't seen a game since the 1980s.
Cork finally wakening up a bit now.
Gonna be tough for Rossies now-Cork might 'wide' themselves out of it, though
You know the way Mayo always hijack threads that have nothing to do with them?
I'll tell you, this performance by Ross against Cork really shows up how bad Mayo were in the League final.
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on August 01, 2010, 03:15:03 PM
I'll tell you, this performance by Ross against Cork really shows up how bad Mayo were in the League final.
Jesus can we put our spectacular pessimism on ice for a few months. If you really need to let it out, turn off the laptop, put on the hoover and dishwasher, then the hi-fi and TV at full volume and roar out 'we are shite'.
Then just get on with it.
Well nobody else was postiing! I guess nobody in Cork cares and all of Roscommon are in Croker...
I think the league final itself was evidence enough of how bad we were that day.
Ros are going to need a goal now or they're gone.
Quote from: muppet on August 01, 2010, 03:18:05 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on August 01, 2010, 03:15:03 PM
Jesus can we put our spectacular pessimism on ice for a few months. If you really need to let it out, turn off the laptop, put on the hoover and dishwasher, then the hi-fi and TV at full volume and roar out 'we are shite'.
Then just get on with it.
And what do you think I have been doing Muppet? Isn't bloody working though. The pain won't go away!
Cork pulling away now. Canty big loss for them for the next time out if the Rossies don't sandbag them in the next seven minutes.
Game over.
Sin e.
They were lucky it didn't happen 10 minutes sooner, Cork finally starting to show a bit or form.
Credit due to Ros for keeping it alive for an hour though.
Quality refereeing there.
Fair effort from Roscommon.
There's now a very distinct possibility that the AI Semis will comprise only of losers (qualifying teams).
Strange second half. Roscommon winning at one point but lucky to keep the beating in single figures by the end.
Not much else up front for Ros other than Shine and they did a lot of stupid things when they had the chance to really make a go of it, but they seem happy enough at the end so they will see this year as significant progress.
I don't like seeing the Connacht champions looking happy with a 9 point beating though, that's not a good attitude.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 01, 2010, 03:35:43 PM
There's now a very distinct possibility that the AI Semis will comprise only of losers (qualifying teams).
All the provincial champions Tyrone, Kerry, Roscommon and Louth are gone.
Quote from: muppet on August 01, 2010, 03:36:54 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 01, 2010, 03:35:43 PM
All the provincial champions Tyrone, Kerry, Roscommon and Louth are gone.
Yep, didn't want to quite so caustic though ;)
Big players didn't turn up, casey cregg etc.. 9 point defeat a little unfair but cork by far the better team, best of luck to them & proud of our lads
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on August 01, 2010, 03:36:03 PM
Strange second half. Roscommon winning at one point but lucky to keep the beating in single figures by the end.
That was down to Cork more than Roscommon - went for points twice, once with the penalty, when they could have gone for goal.
Cork took over at midfield being able to bring on Nicholas Murphy and Alan o'Connor. Roscommon need to find a couple more good forwards and some strength in depth.
In reply to cosmo's comment, "i don't like to see the connacht champions happy with a nine point defeat" we were happy with where the team & management brought us this year, i know a mayo Fan would never understand the joy of little success it's (either sam or nothing for ye) our next step is to get out of div 4 & Win another connacht title within the next 3 years
Great effort form the Rossies today. The attitude was spot on and you can ask for no more as a supporter. Great to get the chance to come up against one of the AI contenders in order to get a feel for where we are at.
The players ran themselves ragged and there was just nothing in the tank for the final 20 mins. The tackles stopped going in up the field and Cork had free reign. As tiredness crept in players in possesion had less options and this resulted in some bad turnovers particularly for the goal. At this level it comes down to your squad. Cork had strength in depth and were able to bring on subs who influenced the game in a positive way while the Roscommon subs were limited. How do you develop strength in depth in a county like Roscommon - I don't have the answer. My only suggestion, apart form keeping up the work at minor, would be to go back to some of the lads in their late twenties early thirties who are off the scene and see if they are willing to commit to a year or two in an impact sub role. If you brought back Seamie for example and brought him on for fifteen minutes could he catch two or three kick outs and just eek the momentum our way??? I don't know but these are the things I think we need to look at.
As for the game I feel we needed to take those few chances in the first half - poor wides from Heneghan (who played very well I felt) and Shine might have kept us in it for longer had they gone over. Heneghan needed to stick the goal chance as well. Cork probably should have won by more...the decision to award a penalty was stupid. a.) it wasn't a foot block and b.) it was a legit goal anyway.
A few months back there was a thread on whats gone wrong in Roscommon football. It would be interesting to have a look at that and see how far we have come in a few months. Many of us thought Leitrim would have too much for us back in June. Congrats to Fergal anf team for putting the work in to restore some pride back into the jersey.
A few other things i think we could work on would be skill level. Some hand passing was poor, players mis read the hop of the ball a few times and some of the solo runs looked awkward at times also.
On the positive side Creggs block down in the 1st half was outstanding, up there with Paddy Keenans. We kicked a few great scores. Great to see a Roscomon team hunt in packs also.
If the teams sticks together and we can add a couple of players we will hopefully be competive again next year. I can't see us kicking on past the 1/4 finals for a good few years yet though. You need a big squad these days and it is very hard to see, with our population of 50,000, how we will develop it. We certainly moved ahead of many other counties in that population bracket this year though.
Once again well done to Fergal and the boys on a great effort this season.
Quote from: ross4life on August 01, 2010, 07:30:13 PM
In reply to cosmo's comment, "i don't like to see the connacht champions happy with a nine point defeat" we were happy with where the team & management brought us this year, i know a mayo Fan would never understand the joy of little success it's (either sam or nothing for ye) our next step is to get out of div 4 & Win another connacht title within the next 3 years
:D True enough surely, but sure it's the only attitude to have.
Not long back from Croke Park, so this will be brief.
Whilst the better team won today, i don't think they won in the style expected of 1/14 shots.
For 50 minutes, this was due to the heroism of Roscommon.
When Ros went 0-8 to 0-7 ahead, Cork were on the ropes, and a more experienced team would have surely finished them off.
Thought some of our second half play was naive in the way we kept carrying the ball into the tackle against a much bigger team physically. I also thought the handling of the ball by Ros was poor on occasions, even when they had worked themselves into scoring positions.
The manner of the Cork goal was unfortunate.
All in all, when Ros look back at Championship 2010, they will realise that they have made real progress, and that for the first time in a few years, the light at the end of the tunnel, is not that of an oncoming train.
Just home after a long long day which included leaving some drunken Kildare in laws home ( fair play to them ...hope they win the Sam ....82 years is a long time).
We gave it our best shot which as we suspected wasnt good enough.
However we made the Cork lads look very ordinary for a long time till we ran out of steam. 45 minutes of awful effort just to stand still as it were took its tolland we were struggling for the last 20 mins.
Still we done our selves and our County proud and we certainly honoured Queen Maedhbh, Niall na naoi ngiallach and all the rest.
Don't like singling anyone out but Heroes today were Geoff, Ormo, Seanie Mac,Micky Finn, Davie Gara and to a lesser extent Donie.
In a few weeks time it will be time to start identifying and addressing our shortcomings ( lack of big men, one scoring forward, no depth of panel) but for today a county with a pop of 58.000 had the biggest support in Croke Park and were prepared to die for tha just and righteous cause of
ROSCOMMON
Elphin colours are a give away
Not much else up front for Ros other than Shine and they did a lot of stupid things when they had the chance to really make a go of it, but they seem happy enough at the end so they will see this year as significant progress.
I don't like seeing the Connacht champions looking happy with a 9 point beating though, that's not a good attitude.
What a truly overbearing stupid arrogant pompous comment. Ross supporters happy with their management and players having won a provincial title at senior and u-21 despite being relegated to div 4 earlier this season. That's a lot better attitude than making the div 1 final earlier this year, being annilihated for the entire match by the same opposition Ross led today 10 min in to the 2nd half. Not to mention throwing in the towel and being beaten 10 minutes in to the first half by the same opposition Ross beat in the Connacht final. Hardly the year for Mayo to lecture provincial champions on their attitude.
Well beaten in the end by a better side. Delighted with the performance and attitude of the players. Played direct football in to Shine and Heneghan, won midfield and the breaks, harried and pressured Cork in to a short passing/short kick out game all until we took the lead 10 min in to the 2nd half.
Just couldnt sustain it after that. Cork substitutions (particularly Murphy) were very infleuntial. The rebels also played their direct running game and their half forward line in particular did serious damage. Ross just couldnt live with their pace and power. That was always going to happen. Fergie went for broke with the switches he made but the Ross subs were the opposite of the Cork ones in the sense they had no impact on the match. Mannion was quite but Kavanagh his marker was taken off and Karol had scored a good point but was a huge presence in the middle of the field. Cregg worked his socks off as usual winning breaks and getting back for one brilliant block. Think we lost shape when these 2 guys were taken off but I guess management felt they had to make switches as the match was slipping away.
Shine had a fine match again and Shield and sometimes Canty couldnt handle him. O'Gara showed great drive and Heneghan showed flashes of his last outing in Croker v the Dubs in 2004. Finneran once again stepped up and dominated midfield for long periods as well as scoring a great point. However Ross missed some valuable scores in the first half when Cork were on the back foot and this was always going to be costly at the end. The full back line did really well despite giving away alot of inches and Claffey was brilliant in goals. But for him the margin could have been greater.
Cork are not what they were last year. Way too much lateral hand passing. Didnt use their physicality for long periods today against a much ligher side. They will improve but they will have to if they are to win Sam.
The Ross support was awesome. Fair play to the management and players for giving a great season back in payment for it. They are very young and raw but they definitely are on the right track for future success.
Quote from: ross matt on August 02, 2010, 01:22:37 AM
What a truly overbearing stupid arrogant pompous comment. Ross supporters happy with their management and players having won a provincial title at senior and u-21 despite being relegated to div 4 earlier this season. That's a lot better attitude than making the div 1 final earlier this year, being annilihated for the entire match by the same opposition Ross led today 10 min in to the 2nd half. Not to mention throwing in the towel and being beaten 10 minutes in to the first half by the same opposition Ross beat in the Connacht final. Hardly the year for Mayo to lecture provincial champions on their attitude.
and don't forget Matt, that they also succumbed to Longford.
Quote from: ross matt on August 02, 2010, 01:22:37 AM
Annoying gobshit - people in glass houses and all that..
Hard luck to the Rossies. Their support was mighty.
I was disappointed with Shine to be honest, he hasn't the pace to win ball to the corner. He was found out yesterday by Shields in the second half I think. Maybe he might quicken up next year, but there's a difference to Noel McGuire and other quality fullbacks all the same.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 02, 2010, 01:51:51 PM
I was disappointed with Shine to be honest, he hasn't the pace to win ball to the corner. He was found out yesterday by Shields in the second half I think. Maybe he might quicken up next year, but there's a difference to Noel McGuire and other quality fullbacks all the same.
I'd agree with you in that he is short of pace however trying to develop Shine into a pacy, target man, who can kick points and take frees is asking a lot of any player. The solution may be to inject some pace elsewhere into the forward line.
Canty went onto him in second half. It was mainly high ball Shields struggled with on Shine. Wouldn't be so easy to win the high ball on Canty.
Its not news that Shine isn't blessed with pace. That's why I think he could be better in the half-forward line or, like Beard suggests, with pacey guys around him. Ger Heneghan did some of that. Rogers ain't that player though. Conor Devaney would work well there if whatever issues/problems etc were put to one side.
Aye the Rossies had a great time in Croke park yesterday. I couldn't understand it myself, but I was taken by their delight in their performance after losing by nine points against a truly woeful looking team. I hadn't seen Cork in the flesh for a while, but having watched them for 70 minutes I can't understand at all what makes them All-Ireland favourites. I've never seen a team with so many players who don't look like footballers. Big, stiff, ungainly, awkward looking straight-line runners who look as comfortable on the ball as a ploughman at a gay tea party.
No offence to the Rossies that I found the next bit funny, but it's a nice summation of Cork attitudes to the world at large. My son texted one of his mates among the thousands of langers who were absent yesterday. "No Cork support here; full of Roscommon supporters." The reply came back - "What do Roscommon people look like?"
I wonder though Hardy. (Not about Roscommon people, about Cork). They look like a team that have just not hit their straps at all. As I said somewhere else, that last 20 minutes or so, when Roscommon had the temerity to go ahead, reminded me very much of Kerry v Antrim in their last 20 minutes in Tullamore. That was the rebirth of Kerry last year, and I wonder if we'll be saying the same about yesterday for Cork at 5.30 on the 3rd Sunday in September.
Maybe so. It's probably easy enough to over-react to yesterday's overall performance. Cork would have been packed up and sent home at an early stage by a poor enough outfit if Roscommon had had any ambition other than to enjoy themselves.
Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 04:14:37 PM
No offence to the Rossies that I found the next bit funny, but it's a nice summation of Cork attitudes to the world at large. My son texted one of his mates among the thousands of langers who were absent yesterday. "No Cork support here; full of Roscommon supporters." The reply came back - "What do Roscommon people look like?"
Is that supposed to be some profound insight or something?
Fairplay to Roscommon, they rattled Cork good. it wasnt untill they tired that Cork pulled away. Shine probably deserves an allstar from his 2 performances.
We'll get no all stars as we're a Connacht county and the population is too small for the daily papers to be worried about offending us. ::)
We were applauding our team off at the end to thanks them for the hard work and effort they put in and for winning a Provincial title . They did well for a limited Division 4 team.
This year was the first step towards some respectability ,which we've achieved but it will take at least 3 more years and at least 6 or 7 new faces before we will be competitive with the Corks of this world or their successors.
Rossfan, as interested spectator you're selling yourself short, ambition should have no limit and Cork were there for the taking, they were very poor and lacked confidence in front of goal, ok physically I thought Roscommon came up short and also I thought they didn't believe they could win and all the talk was about performance, a little bit more belief and I can see no reason why they couldn't have won that game yesterday.
Dinny .... did you read the scoring stats in the programme yesterday?
The next highest scorer in the Championship to Donie had 0-3 to his name !!!
You don't win games without scoring forwards.
Also the minute we went ahead the Corkies upped their workrate a bit and we were so worn out we ran out of steam. They had 37 shots at goal we had 20.
I dont know what the final figure was for possession percentages but looking at the recording of the game a figure of 59/41 for Cork flashed up on the screen near half time.
Stats will only tell you so much, I'm sure the statistics were in Corks favour when Ross took the lead too. In fairness Cork did respond well to going behind but I think you tired because A . The players didn't believe they could win and B. Your conditioning is a bit behind the other sides apart from Meath in the quarters. Both can be addressed, hoepfully you won't sit back and instead push on from this year.
By the Rossie support was fantastic and it was great to Dermot Óg get such a reception as well.
After three nights in the Big smoke I'm finally back on Roscommon soil,
Was a funny type of Game could have lost by more but for our effort for 50mins plus we deserved better than a 9 point defeat
I was pleased how well the 2006 minor players played v Al Ireland Favorites,these 6/7 players will be big players in future success, Shine in particular had the beating Shields (2009 All star FB) but Cork stopped the supply line in the 2nd half & there defenders done brilliant in limiting the Free's for Roscommon (5/6 in total) i Thought Casey struggled with the Wide open spaces in Croker much like he did in 2003 v Kerry but both time's he played against excellent player's
Cregg wasn't allowed to influence this game like he did in the Connacht final for me the best Roscommon player on the pitch was O'Gara (joy to Watch) followed closely by Claffey
Cork had to used all there subs & capitalize on mistakes before they finally cracked the Roscommon Nut,
Losing any game by 9 point's is not nice but hopefully the player's learned from the experience & when we return to croker we will be better
I really hope Fergal & the rest of the management team stay for a further two years & it's important that we keep most of this team for next year, we have a problem making 8/9 change's year after year when what we need is a settled team to be successfully, Kilbride,Mckeague,Collin's & Devaney are player's that will be welcome addition's
Progress has been made it's important we get promoted out of Divsion 4 & win another Connacht title within the next 2/3 years to continue the development in a positive way like this year
I'm already looking forward to FBD/League games in Jan, FEB thank's for restoring the Pride Fergal, your a legend
P.S we Showed approval by applauding the team & management for Getting us to the quarter final/winning Connacht title & Not happy with a nine point defeat like some have suggested here ::)
Another Connacht underage title for Roscommon this evening.
In the under 16 Ted Webb Cup Final in Ballyhaunis, it finished Roscommon 2-13, Sligo 1-5.
Well done to the young Rossies.
Some good news after yesterday's defeat, we won the Tedd Webb Cup Beating Sligo 2-13 to 1-5 we also beat Galway, Mayo along the way..
Well done to our young Rossies the under age success continues :)
Beat you by 15 seconds with that!!!!!!!.....You're slowing down Ross ;D ;D ;D
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on August 02, 2010, 05:16:08 PM
Is that supposed to be some profound insight or something?
No, Dougal.
Roscommon did as good as could be expected against a far physically stronger Cork Team. Cork have 20-22 players of top tier inter county standard while Roscommon have at best 10 at this stage of their development. Roscommon can and will be back in Croke Park in August over the next few years but there is still massive work and improvement needed. A lack of scoring forwards and an inability to hold posession against physically stronger and bigger opponents was telling. Still Kerry and Meath took somewhat similar drubbings to us and both those teams were favourites. The underage structures in Roscommon are bearing fruit and an additional 4-5 new players coming through over the next three years should have us well capable of being a top 4 team. Kildare,Cork,Dublin and Down have all taken big hammerings in the past couple of years and are now close to the summit so I think we have a very bright future.
With respect to supporters the lack of Cork people in Croke Park was embarassing. With the new motorways its only a 2 and 1/2 hours from Cork to Dublin and yet out of a population of 450,000 only about 2,000 supporters showed up. This should be remembered by the GAA come September if Cork are in the final against well supported teams like Down and Cork. There were probably more Cork people at West Life in Sligo than Croke Park.
Quote from: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 07:36:50 PM
Some good news after yesterday's defeat, we won the Tedd Webb Cup Beating Sligo 2-13 to 1-5 we also beat Galway, Mayo along the way..
Galway north. Galway is split in two for Ted Webb.
So is Mayowestros.
No matter ...well done to the lads on bringing home another biteen of silverware to add to the 2010 collection.
Hopefully also a half dozen good Seniors by 2016 to replace any of the 2006 Minors who may have had enough by then.
Looking at the immediate Senior prospects - scoring forwards, big midfielders, a half back line are urgent requirements.
A return from injury of Senan Kilbride and Fintan Cregg, a return to the fold of Devaney/Gleeson/Flynn and maybe big Shaq, the addition of Collins/Daly/Carty/Bannon/McDermott and upgrade McKeague from no 34 to the first 24 would improve things.
A lot done an awful lot to do .
Finally a heartfelt great big thanks to management, team and all the squad members for their commitment and for bringing a Connacht Title to the County and giving the supporters (plusthe bandwagoners !!!) a big day out in Croke Park.
For the outsider looking in we have a lot of talent coming through hopefully these guys will be good Senior players, Division 4 will give us a great opportunity to try some new player's & if we manage to finish 1st/2nd in the Division we will return to croker in April :o
Let's just hope now that Fergal O'Donnell decides to remain on as our manager.
He was initially appointed for a 2 year term, with the option of a third year.
The first 2 years have now been completed.
The County Board and the players have stressed since Sunday that they want him to continue, but it's believed that he is going to take a couple of weeks out to think about things.
It's a big commitment, and he has a young family, but surely he can't go now.
I hadn't seen Cork in the flesh for a while, but having watched them for 70 minutes I can't understand at all what makes them All-Ireland favourites. I've never seen a team with so many players who don't look like footballers. Big, stiff, ungainly, awkward looking straight-line runners who look as comfortable on the ball as a ploughman at a gay tea party.[/color][/color]
Yeah, right! If Cork were really as bad as all that, could you please explain the following:
How did Cork go from being a point down in the second half to go on to win by nine?
and
How come that Cork are now in their sixth consecutive All- Ireland semi-final i.e. in the last four in a competition with 31 competing counties. (Is Kilkenny the only county that doesn't compete at senior level?)?
And while you're at it, who exactly are the Cork players that don't look comfortable on the ball?
Quote from: Shrewdness on August 03, 2010, 11:34:29 PM
Let's just hope now that Fergal O'Donnell decides to remain on as our manager.
He was initially appointed for a 2 year term, with the option of a third year.
The first 2 years have now been completed.
The County Board and the players have stressed since Sunday that they want him to continue, but it's believed that he is going to take a couple of weeks out to think about things.
It's a big commitment, and he has a young family, but surely he can't go now.
Agreed Shrewdness. It's vital he stays if they're to progress. But there is alot of work in it. They're still very young and need to get out of div 4. With Galway and Mayo especially bound to regroup in 2011 the Connacht title will be difficult to retain. So a long run in the back door would be the obvious secondary goal and for that you need strength in depth. I think they over achieved by about 2 years in winning Connacht this season so supporters need to be patient and temper their expecations for some tough days ahead yet. All this will require massive commitment from Fergie and he is a man that doesnt do anything by halves. With his job and young family he is entitled to time to consider his position and if he walked he owes his county nothing.
Quote from: ross matt on August 04, 2010, 01:43:48 PM
. I think they over achieved by about 2 years in winning Connacht this season so supporters need to be patient and temper their expecations for some tough days ahead yet. All this will require massive commitment from Fergie and he is a man that doesnt do anything by halves. With his job and young family he is entitled to time to consider his position and if he walked he owes his county nothing.
The softer Connacht draw this year and with Mwr and the herrins in disarray did get us a Connacht title 2 years ahead of ourselves.
We need new half backs, midfielder(s), scoring forwards and more physical clout if we are to become a regular top 8 or 10 team consistently.
Fergie is a young man for a manager, with 3 children under 5 who works full time as a Garda doing shifts. He put an awful lot into the squad this year and may need time to himself if he isnt to be a total stranger to his children.
I suppose one solution could be for Fergie and Gacquin to swop roles but then they would want to both bring their back romms with them and the continuity would be lost.
9 point defeat doesn't look as bad today (beaten by the All Ireland Champions) a Repeat of 1990 when we lost to Cork by 17 scores to 10