GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: All of a Sludden on July 18, 2010, 06:12:32 PM

Title: Louth v Dublin
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 18, 2010, 06:12:32 PM
Obviously a home tie for the Dubs  ::)
Title: Re: Louth v Down
Post by: The Konica on July 18, 2010, 06:13:43 PM
Dubs ya muppet!
Title: Re: Louth v Down
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2010, 06:15:49 PM
hahaha what a clown!  :D
Title: Re: Louth v Dublin
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 18, 2010, 06:17:10 PM
I was convinced we would get Down. Easier game against the Dubs. Matt Copper at it as well.
Post by: Schkite on July 18, 2010, 06:18:23 PM
Possible double-header with Monaghan-Kildare?
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 18, 2010, 06:20:06 PM
That would make sense.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 18, 2010, 06:51:57 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 18, 2010, 06:18:23 PM

In Navan?
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2010, 08:43:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2010, 06:42:36 PM
Come on Dublin!

C'mon Louth!
Post by: Hound on July 18, 2010, 09:02:15 PM
Feck it, Louth were my fourth preference. Hate playing teams coming off some bad luck - they're bound to get the "bounce of the ball". Should be a good occasion though. Scared of Keenan.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 18, 2010, 09:06:04 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 18, 2010, 08:43:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2010, 06:42:36 PM
Come on Dublin!

C'mon Louth!

(ah) Come on Ref!
Post by: Cde on July 18, 2010, 10:12:38 PM
so far this year Louth have been the best team in Leinster,

They should have enough to beat the Dubs if they have their heads together after the last match
Post by: demusicman on July 19, 2010, 12:25:18 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 18, 2010, 06:51:57 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 18, 2010, 06:18:23 PM

In Navan?
Navan would be a no go as could only cater for about 30,000. Will both teams not bring at least a following of 50,000 between them.
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2010, 12:38:32 PM
I'm expecting a tasty price on Louth for this one. I think anything above odds-on is a good price, but I think they'll be higher than that from experience of the crazy vagaries of GAA betting.

I don't think there'll be any doubt about where Louth's heads will be for this. There won't be a more motivated team taking the field this year. And surely some team will work out how to shackle B. Brogan and thus ensure victory over Dublin?
Post by: Hardy on July 20, 2010, 10:32:50 AM
Best odds on qualifiers at present (no Betfair market yet):

Louth 16/5 Boylesports (in from 4/1 - money going down in Louth. Fill yizzer boots)
Dublin 4/9 Ladbrokes

Kildare 10/11 Ladbrokes
Monaghan 5/4 Paddypower

Down 10/11 Ladbrokes/Paddypower
Sligo 6/4 Boylesports

Cork 1/4 Paddypower
Limerick 5/1 Boylesports
Title: Réiteoir
Post by: drici on July 20, 2010, 10:40:36 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 18, 2010, 09:06:04 PM

(ah) Come on Ref!

Send for Pat.
Post by: Onlooker on July 20, 2010, 11:15:07 AM
I would expect that the supporters of all 4 counties will give the Louth team a great reception when they run out in Croke Park on Sunday.  No county has been the victims of such daylight robbery as Louth were.  Still think it will be hard for them to raise their game to the standard that they reached to beat Meath.  Bernard Brogan is in super form and I think that Dublin will go through to the quarter finals.
Post by: under the bar on July 20, 2010, 12:33:56 PM
QuoteNo county has been the victims of such daylight robbery as Louth were.

You should watch the 1995 & 1996 All-Ireland football finals.
Post by: Hound on July 20, 2010, 12:53:49 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 20, 2010, 12:33:56 PM
QuoteNo county has been the victims of such daylight robbery as Louth were.

You should watch the 1995 & 1996 All-Ireland football finals.
In fairness, while Dublin were robbed throughout with ridiculous decisions keeping Tyrone in touch in the 1995 final, we managaed to sneak over the line thanks to Peter forgetting to put his toe under the ball - the silly fecker  ;D
Post by: The Konica on July 21, 2010, 11:27:17 AM
I like Pat Gilroy and I like what he's trying to do, but I don't think Dublin are near the finished article and I think he knows that every well himself - he's never said otherwise of course. In fact I'd not be so confident to assume they're on the perfect track yet - though he's certainly making progress.

However, this is the kind of article that I feel doesn't do Dublin any favours ...
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/solving-dublins-puzzle-2265919.html

IMO Dublin beat a very average/poor Armagh team - which with out a shadow of a doubt symbolically a huge victory - but as a result, the biggest danger facing Dublin is complacency or a slight loss of edge, which can happen with a newish team.

I'd be worried that a hungry, angry Louth team bent on revenge could bring a level of intensity that could astound Dublin if they were to lose focus or sense of position. That to me is PG's greatest challenge this week. I'm sure he's aware of it and I hope for his sake he can get the message across.

It's not a criticism of PG or Dublin, just a cautionary suggestion.
Post by: Hound on July 21, 2010, 11:48:43 AM
Its funny that <generally> people outside the county think higher of Gilroy than people inside the county.

I'd be one to give him the benefit of the doubt for as long as possible, but with all his chopping and changing, both of personnel and systems/tactics, its hard to know what he's doing, and its a legitimate worry to wonder does he know what he's doing himself.
Post by: The Konica on July 21, 2010, 12:02:19 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 21, 2010, 11:48:43 AM
Its funny that <generally> people outside the county think higher of Gilroy than people inside the county.

I'd be one to give him the benefit of the doubt for as long as possible, but with all his chopping and changing, both of personnel and systems/tactics, its hard to know what he's doing, and its a legitimate worry to wonder does he know what he's doing himself.

Well honestly I'm not convinced yet myself - but like you I think at least he deserves the benefit of the doubt.

I'll keep my final judgement until the end of the year - but if I was to judge him on last year I think he's struggling.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 21, 2010, 04:07:25 PM
I always liked the Dubs, but Best of Luck to Louth on Saturday. Really hope ye go alot further.
Post by: Jinxy on July 23, 2010, 02:42:37 PM
Peter Fitzpatrick is still harping on about the Leinster final.
I don't think the players and management have moved on from that day despite what they say.
Dublin by 5+.
Post by: heffo on July 23, 2010, 02:44:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 23, 2010, 02:42:37 PM
Peter Fitzpatrick is still harping on about the Leinster final.
I don't think the players and management have moved on from that day despite what they say.
Dublin by 5+.

Go on out of that now Jinxy, five points my eye - Louth by three
Post by: Bensars on July 23, 2010, 03:04:09 PM
Fancy Dublin. Cant see Louth liftiing it to the leinster final level again.
Post by: The Konica on July 23, 2010, 03:20:37 PM
I'm going for a Louth win.
Dublin beat a very bad Armagh team, they'll have let a little hype seep into the squad - no mater how hard Gilroy tries.

On the other hand you've a wounded animal in Louth, with a great emotion driving them on. Someone mentioned Fitzer on about the replay and ref - forget about him. McEniff is the man to think about.
Imagine him speaking to the team - no better and shrewder man to turn the ship around and press the proper buttons on a team and motivate them properly.

The only caveat is that Louth have to start in 5th gear from the warm up. If they let Dublin settle they lose a huge home advantage. They need to get on top and run constantly for the first 15 minutes, not letting the Dublin back line know who they are marking and keep them chasing shadows get a few points on the board and drive on.
This will put pressure on Gilroy too on the line and I don't rate the Dublin backroom when it comes to working under pressure in a game.

If they can do that and drive it home they'll beat Dublin.

Won't be much in it, but they can.
Post by: heffo on July 23, 2010, 04:05:14 PM
Quote from: The Konica on July 23, 2010, 03:20:37 PM
they'll have let a little hype seep into the squad

After Dublin's meteoric run through the qualifiers, this was O'Connell st this morning

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9b/V-J_Day_Times_Square_NYWTS.jpg)
Post by: JMohan on July 23, 2010, 04:07:13 PM
Far right is Hectors new coffee house on O'Connell St
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2010, 04:16:11 PM
Is it not Union Jacks rather than Stars and Stripes ye'd be waving? :D
Post by: heffo on July 23, 2010, 04:30:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 23, 2010, 04:16:11 PM

I'll bow to the superior knowledge of a native of Kings County ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 23, 2010, 04:42:28 PM
ffs Heffo, why do you have to post shite like that and
make the page unreadable. Scale the f*n picture if
you must post it.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 23, 2010, 04:53:53 PM
Out of pure badness...

Quote from: heffo on July 23, 2010, 04:05:14 PM
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/9b/V-J_Day_Times_Square_NYWTS.jpg)
Post by: heffo on July 23, 2010, 05:42:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 23, 2010, 04:42:28 PM
ffs Heffo, why do you have to post shite like that and
make the page unreadable. Scale the f*n picture if
you must post it.

There you are now Hardy - if only you were as outspoken after the Leinster final!
Post by: The Aristocrat on July 23, 2010, 06:32:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 23, 2010, 04:16:11 PM

Hahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah.

I havent heard our country cousins try to use that one before, how original  :P
Post by: Hardy on July 23, 2010, 06:50:39 PM
What can you be talking about, Heffo? I would have
thought five pages of my own posts on the
subject would be outspoken enough for anyone.

Oh wait - you've just wound me up.
Post by: The Wee County on July 23, 2010, 11:27:25 PM
Lads is the game only on TV3 tomorrow or is it on RTE2 as well?

I've been looking online as I live in London but am getting different info depending on where I look. We can get RTE on my mate's TV but not TV3.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2010, 11:42:05 PM
TV3 only
Post by: The Wee County on July 24, 2010, 12:16:58 AM
Cheers Dinny
Post by: ross4life on July 24, 2010, 04:58:00 PM
TV3 competition "who are the current Leinster champions" is that a trick question  ;)
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:02:05 PM
Dublin 0-01 Louth 0-00
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:07:54 PM
Commentators still commentating on the Leinster final. somebody should tell them there's a match on here.
Title: Anois
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:11:27 PM
Dublin 1-03 Louth 0-00
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:17:57 PM
Dublin 1-03 Louth 0-01
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2010, 05:19:27 PM
Cheeky Dubs have at least 17 players on!!!

either that or Louth hve 13 players. seriously though Louth are shite. if the Dubs keep that intensity up they'll win by 10+
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:22:33 PM
You know what? Brady would get on yer wick.
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:23:14 PM
Dublin 1-04 Louth 0-01
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on July 24, 2010, 05:25:39 PM
any live streams
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:26:08 PM
Dublin 1-05 Louth 0-01
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2010, 05:26:41 PM
Was that Joe McQuillan wearing the umpires coat?  ???
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:30:03 PM
Dublin 1-06 Louth 0-01
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:30:20 PM
I make that 25 Leinster final references so far.

Dublin-Tipp never mentioned once.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 24, 2010, 05:30:39 PM
Poor poor stuff from Louth.  Football standards all over has been poor this year.
Post by: joemamas on July 24, 2010, 05:30:49 PM
what the fu*k is David Brady on about.

Louth have checked out of this years championship, feel sorry for them. If they were playing Kerry they would be down by 15pts already.

Post by: mountainboii on July 24, 2010, 05:31:13 PM
Looking like a bit of a reality check for Louth today. They're not as good as some have made out. With plenty of the same players, they've done nothing in the last few years. You just don't improve that much in the space of a few months.
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:33:24 PM
Dublin 2-06 Louth 0-01
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:34:16 PM
How did we lose to this crowd?
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:35:18 PM
Dublin 2-06 Louth 0-02
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:36:19 PM
"Brian White keeps the scoreboard ticking over". This clock ticks once every 17 minutes.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:37:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 24, 2010, 05:35:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:34:16 PM
You didn't, you beat them - because they're shit.

Oh right. I forgot.
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:37:53 PM
Dublin 2-06 Louth 0-03

Half Time
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:38:04 PM
Post by: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:38:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:37:02 PM

Oh right. I forgot.

Actually ye had to cheat to beat a shit team! ;D
Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2010, 05:40:04 PM
Dublin are so much physically stronger than Louth its unreal.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 24, 2010, 05:41:34 PM
Louth not at the races today. Looks like they mentally checked out after the Leinster final fiasco.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:42:07 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:38:48 PM

Oh right. I forgot.

We didn't cheat.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:42:27 PM
Post by: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:43:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:42:07 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:38:48 PM

Oh right. I forgot.

We didn't cheat.
;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:43:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 24, 2010, 05:40:04 PM

Exactly. We should have been too, but I can't figure out why that wasn't evident in our game.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:45:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:43:30 PM

Exactly. We should have been too, but I can't figure out why that wasn't evident in our game.

oh Meath should have hockeyed them! Sure they were not afraid of a poor louth team that's why they did not offer a replay!
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:47:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:45:45 PM

oh Meath should have hockeyed them! Sure they were not afraid of a poor louth team that's why they did not offer a replay!
Replay? Where did that stupid idea come from?
Post by: Mano on July 24, 2010, 05:51:33 PM
Louth are just not at the races. They are even making the Dublin full forward look like a decent player.
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:52:45 PM
Post by: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:54:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 05:47:51 PM

Did you not hear? Most of the country (including the Leinster Council) and even some Meath people wanted it (a replay). But the Meath Players voted against it! ;D
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 05:57:23 PM
Dublin 2-06 Louth 0-04

2nd Half

Title: Toradh
Post by: drici on July 24, 2010, 06:31:06 PM
Dublin 2-14 Louth 0-13
Post by: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 06:36:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:54:51 PM

Did you not hear? Most of the country (including the Leinster Council) and even some Meath people wanted it (a replay). But the Meath Players voted against it! ;D

As I said  where did that stupid idea come from?
Post by: ross4life on July 24, 2010, 06:54:22 PM
What's the reason for 40,000 plus crowd at today's game i thought the Dubs always got full houses at this stage in the Championship?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 24, 2010, 07:01:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 24, 2010, 06:54:22 PM
What's the reason for 40,000 plus crowd at today's game i thought the Dubs always got full houses at this stage in the Championship?
And the other three teams had decent support.
Post by: gerry on July 24, 2010, 07:03:44 PM
pat reckons head quarters should dig deep and give louth a few euro for a holiday
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 24, 2010, 09:36:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 24, 2010, 09:25:22 PM
Delighted Dublin stuffed them. That'll fairly sicken the scum who attacked the ref. Brilliant stuff.
You are a puke.
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 24, 2010, 09:46:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 24, 2010, 09:25:22 PM
Delighted Dublin stuffed them. That'll fairly sicken the scum who attacked the ref. Brilliant stuff.

Have to say its not your style HS. Your a funny f**k but your hatred/obsession of Louth is out of character.
Post by: Canalman on July 24, 2010, 10:14:55 PM
Well done today to the lads.

Have to say that the more I see of Fitzpatrick the more I like him. A true gent imo.

Absolutely great way for us to win today............... with the whole country still belittling the team. Personally am glad to see 15/20 lads in sky blue jerseys battling like demons like the old days and I honestly think (I have been wrong in the past) that if the Dubs click that they will beat one of the "big 3/4"

Would be nice to draw Roscommon in the 1/4s.......................... given the stinkers of draws we have got the last two years in the 1/4s.

Am waiting on the usual village idiots to post that "the draw is fixed" etc etc if in fact we do get them.

Honestly think though it will be Tyrone.
Post by: Rossfan on July 24, 2010, 10:16:58 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 24, 2010, 10:14:55 PM
Would be nice to draw Roscommon in the 1/4s

Why ?  ::)
Do ye like us lads that much?
Post by: Canalman on July 24, 2010, 10:18:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 24, 2010, 10:16:58 PM

Mate is fom there.
Post by: Rossfan on July 24, 2010, 10:25:55 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 24, 2010, 10:18:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 24, 2010, 10:16:58 PM

Mate is fom there.

Sound man so  :D
Post by: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 11:02:08 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 24, 2010, 06:36:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 05:54:51 PM

As I said  where did that stupid idea come from?

As I said, Did you not hear? Most of the country (including the Leinster Council) and even some Meath people wanted it (a replay). But the Meath Players voted against it! ;D

Cowardly, ye missed your chance to set the record straight and clear your tarnished title.

Post by: Hound on July 25, 2010, 12:37:30 AM
Felt sorry for Louth, just couldnt get going at all.

Decent performance by the Dubs. Couldn't believe we dominated midfield early on. I would never have predicted that. Forwards were mediocre, but had enough ball to ensure we got the necessary scores nonetheless. Still think O'Gara is very limited. Blessed with his first goal, but finished his second nicely in fairness.

Would obviously prefer to avoid Kerry and Tyrone next round!
Post by: Berlin on July 25, 2010, 12:55:20 AM
Seldom you'l come across a man with the character of Peter Fitzpatrick This man came out of nowhere on the national scene. He has my complete and utmost respect, a pure gent of a man with more business to take care of. Class act.l
Post by: dublinese on July 25, 2010, 01:42:02 AM
glad we can put that one to bed. very much a potential banana skin had the louth players turned up for the first half.

agree with the sentiments about the louth manager. absolute gent
Post by: paddypastit on July 25, 2010, 02:16:26 AM
Ross4life - recession?.  There were only 26,000 in Croke Pk last week and only 22k the week before
Post by: ross4life on July 25, 2010, 03:16:50 AM
Quote from: paddypastit on July 25, 2010, 02:16:26 AM
Ross4life - recession?.  There were only 26,000 in Croke Pk last week and only 22k the week before

Yes well aware of that but if Dublin draw Kerry do you think the "recession" will stop a sell out?
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 25, 2010, 09:57:42 AM
Fair play Louth and if they had a biteen of a full back line yesterday they may have pulled through, nice to see the fans give them a cheer at their lap of honours even the Hill were singing Champion-es or whatever soccer chant it sounded like.

Dublin did well in the first half and the goals killed the game , they looked strong in midfield and Cluxton will surely get a forwards All Star now too but there is still something missing about them, lots of workhorses but few throughbreds. can they ramp it up in the 1/4's is their big question.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 25, 2010, 10:43:56 AM
Quote from: ross4life on July 25, 2010, 03:16:50 AM
Quote from: paddypastit on July 25, 2010, 02:16:26 AM

Yes well aware of that but if Dublin draw Kerry do you think the "recession" will stop a sell out?
memories of last year might.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 25, 2010, 11:37:00 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 25, 2010, 12:37:30 AM
Felt sorry for Louth, just couldnt get going at all.

Decent performance by the Dubs. Couldn't believe we dominated midfield early on. I would never have predicted that. Forwards were mediocre, but had enough ball to ensure we got the necessary scores nonetheless. Still think O'Gara is very limited. Blessed with his first goal, but finished his second nicely in fairness.

Would obviously prefer to avoid Kerry and Tyrone next round!
I was wondering what you would say about OGara after yesterdays game !  :D

While he is not a traditional FF, he is very effective imo !
If other teams could copy this basic Dublin style they woul dbe more effective themselves- running at a defence is a fantastic tactic if you have the players to do it and you vary it between running and kick passing
Post by: INDIANA on July 25, 2010, 12:06:42 PM

Good. We have the real fans there now. Delighted personally. Less muppets.
Post by: dublinese on July 25, 2010, 02:12:10 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 25, 2010, 12:06:42 PM

Good. We have the real fans there now. Delighted personally. Less muppets.

Agree with that although we still need to weed out a few more... Some of the things I've overheard in Croke Park over the last few weeks would make you wonder have people ever seen a football match
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 26, 2010, 12:11:08 AM
Nice gesture from the Dublin fans at the end of yesterdays game. Enough has been said about the game already, Louth just weren`t up for it, the Leinster final will take a bit of getting over.
Good luck to the Dubs in the quarter finals.