GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Denn Forever on June 14, 2010, 07:43:55 PM

Title: Cavan vs Wicklow
Post by: Denn Forever on June 14, 2010, 07:43:55 PM
At least its at home.

Title: Re: Cavan vs Wicklow
Post by: put-it-up on June 14, 2010, 07:46:41 PM
The end. Close thread.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 14, 2010, 08:32:13 PM
I hope it pisses rain like last year just so them wicklow hoors will know what it feels like to drive home soaking wet after being humiliated ;)
Post by: Dougal on June 14, 2010, 09:15:15 PM
i'll not forget the soaking i got at that match,till the day i die. >:( >:(

if i see a small improvement on the pitch and the sideline i think i'll be happy.will be a tight enough game id say,and wiclow will prob win by 2 or 3.
Post by: tierworker blue on June 14, 2010, 10:30:29 PM
Quote from: Dougal on June 14, 2010, 09:15:15 PM

Ditto...I honestly don't think I was ever as miserable as I was that evening!
Post by: Celt_Man on June 14, 2010, 10:33:51 PM
Quote from: tierworker blue on June 14, 2010, 10:30:29 PM
Quote from: Dougal on June 14, 2010, 09:15:15 PM

Ditto...I honestly don't think I was ever as miserable as I was that evening!

Same as... now I know who the other 2 Cavan fans at the match were!!
Post by: put-it-up on June 14, 2010, 10:34:50 PM
Trust all us gobshites to be down there that day. I think it's time a few on here got girlfriends  ;D
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 21, 2010, 11:06:24 PM
Yes. f**king worst soaking I ever got. The sideline is likely to improve Dougal as Mulvey will probably be on the pitch.
Oh dear, not a serious post on the game yet.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 22, 2010, 01:53:54 PM
Can't really post serious posts as the gods are not smiling on Cavan (though the sun is shining) with Givney out. 

I don't think people have the energy to think about the game as unfortunately I can't see any area where we have the better option.  We have some good forwards but with our ace midfielder out, how will be get the ball to them.

As other people have said, Sheridan out the field where we can see if he can do as he did for DCU. 

I don't think it'll be wet so the Wicklow lads will have a lovely day out.  But hopefully we can be spoilers.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on June 23, 2010, 01:43:43 PM
Well at least you'll have a few more stragglers to share the disbelief as Cavan get knocked out again. But sure, isn't the sun gorgeous!  ;D
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 24, 2010, 04:01:39 PM
Glynn confident ahead of Cavan clash
24 June 2010

Leighton Glynn wants Wicklow to go on a similar roll in the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers to last year starting with a win over Cavan this Saturday.

The Garden men reached the last phase of the qualifiers last year after defeating Fermanagh, Cavan and Down before eventually losing out to Kildare for a place in the quarter-finals and he feels his team can get off to a good start at Kingspan Breffni Park against Tommy Carr's charges.

"It's all about performing on the day," he said. "We will be without Paudge McWalter and goalie Mervy Travers; they will be missed greatly but we have got to move on. Paudge was missed the last day; he was making great runs from the half-back line.

"But I feel we can cope with these losses. John Flynn came in the last day in goal and he settled in very well," said Glynn.

Glynn pointed out that the Garden men could not have asked for a better draw, having beaten Cavan convincingly in the back-door last year.

"It is a good draw to be playing Cavan," said the dual star. "We beat them last year by seven points and we can push on from there.

"We are definitely going all out to win. The lads are flying in training. The players who have come in for those injured want to prove themselves and show they are inter-county players. That's always a good thing.

"The plan is to get on a roll like last year," he added. "If you win your first game in the qualifiers, you can get on a bit of a run. Confidence gets up and the crowd gets behind you.

"That's the aim, that's the plan again this year."

Cocky little *************

You would think Wicklow were Kerry,by the sounds of them,what have they won 10 championship games in the last 50 years?  :D
Post by: Eastern_Pride on June 24, 2010, 07:02:31 PM
Ah but Leighton Glynn would like to believe that we are  ;D Ever since he got picked for Ireland, talking to him has not been the same....told me before the Westmeath game he was hoping for a Leinster this year because the draw was so handy.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 24, 2010, 07:21:40 PM
I always thought Glynn a highly over rated player, especially when he played in the half backs. A few years ago when Micko brought Wicklow to Breffni in the league Glynn was all the talk but Ray Cullivan took him to the cleaners. He wasn't interested in marking, only running up the field. Saying that I expect Wicklow will win and it is a measure how far Cavan have fallen when people think an away game in Breffni is a handy draw.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 25, 2010, 10:01:51 AM
Will be a tough one for Cavan with Givney out.. I was very impressed with him again Cavan. Is McKeever out too, and Walshe and Brady?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on June 25, 2010, 10:05:13 AM
Two shocking sides with no hope, can't believe there is even a thread on this game  ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 25, 2010, 12:05:34 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 25, 2010, 10:01:51 AM
Will be a tough one for Cavan with Givney out.. I was very impressed with him again Cavan. Is McKeever out too, and Walshe and Brady?

McKeever is a major doubt from what I am hearing although we is supposed to be healing quicker than expected. Walshe I have no idea about but I doubt he would make the 1st team as a starter if he was fit. Brady is playing handball in the US, he knows what side his bread is buttered. We are definetely short a lot and have a weak bench so Wicklow would have to be favouites.
Post by: Celt_Man on June 25, 2010, 05:14:14 PM
Jaysus help me but I'm really looking forward to this game tomorrow.  If I was on the Cavan Panel, that Leighton Glynn article would be on the dressing room door...

Really hope we can bounce back, we will struggle at mid field without Givney but their mid field won't be as strong as last year with Thomas Walshe going home...

Surely Mackey can't play as poorly again and will get a return to the form he has shown of late.  As usual if Nesty gets enough time and space to pick his passes to Jelly and Mackey inside without allowing Wicklow to swarm all over them - then we will be there or thereabouts...
Post by: boojangles on June 25, 2010, 05:26:17 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 25, 2010, 05:14:14 PM
Jaysus help me but I'm really looking forward to this game tomorrow.  If I was on the Cavan Panel, that Leighton Glynn article would be on the dressing room door...

Really hope we can bounce back, we will struggle at mid field without Givney but their mid field won't be as strong as last year with Thomas Walshe going home...

Surely Mackey can't play as poorly again and will get a return to the form he has shown of late.  As usual if Nesty gets enough time and space to pick his passes to Jelly and Mackey inside without allowing Wicklow to swarm all over them - then we will be there or thereabouts...

Don't be so sure of that.Will be touch and go to start.

I think we can win this one though. Home advantage is huge in the Qualifiers.
Post by: put-it-up on June 25, 2010, 07:17:42 PM
Quote from: boojangles on June 25, 2010, 05:26:17 PM

I dont think there is one county in the country that fears coming to Breffni Park anymore. We're seen as a soft touch and the atmosphere and the performance the last day backed that up. We lost to our neighbours in our own patch and didnt look all that bothered by it. I have completely given up on TC and as much as I hope we win I just dont think enough genuine hunger will be instilled amongst our lads to get a run in the qualifiers.

PS: I still think Wicklow are one of the most over-rated teams in the country so it is there for us
Post by: boojangles on June 25, 2010, 07:19:12 PM
Fintan
Sheridan
Corr
Hannon
Brides
McCutcheon
Clarke
Galligan
Mulvey
Flanagan
Nesty
McGuigan
Mackey
Brennan
Martin Reilly

Thats the team. Expect Martin Reilly to drop very deep. Brides may do a man marking job on someone,maybe Glynn.
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on June 26, 2010, 12:17:00 AM
Quote from: boojangles on June 25, 2010, 07:19:12 PM
Fintan
Sheridan
Corr
Hannon
Brides
McCutcheon
Clarke
Galligan
Mulvey
Flanagan
Nesty
McGuigan
Mackey
Brennan
Martin Reilly

Thats the team. Expect Martin Reilly to drop very deep. Brides may do a man marking job on someone,maybe Glynn.
WTF?
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 01:51:21 PM
I have little feeling for this match up so I will just do a copy and paste job from my last post.

Dear oh dear, that team is atrocious.

I could see alot of club teams in divison 1 beating that line up, or at least giving them a run for their money. And in all honesty the club set up as we all know, is not at too high a level either.

McGuigan has a good game the last day at CB and suddenly he is in the forward line. Makes so much sense really... ::)

That team is an absolute embarrassment. Martin Reily still getting games, he has been put on his arse countless times. Mackay must have a certain starting place.

And as for that "midfield" and "defence" if that is what you want to call it, not worth even discussing how poor that is.

I thought Wicklow would win, now a cricket score could be on the cards if they bring their A game.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on June 26, 2010, 05:00:59 PM
Quote from: put-it-up on June 25, 2010, 07:17:42 PM
Quote from: boojangles on June 25, 2010, 05:26:17 PM

I dont think there is one county in the country that fears coming to Breffni Park anymore. We're seen as a soft touch and the atmosphere and the performance the last day backed that up. We lost to our neighbours in our own patch and didnt look all that bothered by it. I have completely given up on TC and as much as I hope we win I just dont think enough genuine hunger will be instilled amongst our lads to get a run in the qualifiers.

PS: I still think Wicklow are one of the most over-rated teams in the country so it is there for us
Whys that put it up?
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 07:20:15 PM
1-4 - 0-3

In Wicklows favour.

Cavan getting destroyed in midfield as per usual.

Nesty the dub playing well. No players in the Cavan team have won a county championship. Joke.
Post by: Zulu on June 26, 2010, 07:44:33 PM
Cavan 0-5 Wicklow 2-6 HT. Cavan down to 14 men and in trouble.
Post by: Zulu on June 26, 2010, 07:59:02 PM
They're down to 13 now.
Post by: ross4life on June 26, 2010, 08:04:45 PM
Au revoir to Tommy Carr after this match
Post by: Zulu on June 26, 2010, 08:09:49 PM
Yep.
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:13:51 PM
Full back and midfielder sent off. A loss in numbers, but not in quality as they have none.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2010, 08:15:19 PM
3 in it for Wicklow. Cavan are better off with 13
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:16:16 PM
Wicklow, really are an average side if they can't win this by more than 3 points. Especially against 13.

If they lose, then they must be an awful side going nowhere.
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:18:50 PM
Johnson scores again

2-7 - 0-12

Can't believe that....

10 to go
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2010, 08:19:20 PM
level!!
Post by: Zulu on June 26, 2010, 08:21:34 PM
Jesus what's happening here, Tommy might still have a job this time tomorrow!
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:23:58 PM
Wicklow are throwing this game away.....

Dane O Dowd on for Galligan.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2010, 08:24:23 PM
worried about his travel allowance
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:26:30 PM
Nesty with a 45

CAVAN WINNING

??? :o
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 26, 2010, 08:30:50 PM
Jasus.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 26, 2010, 08:31:55 PM
All over. Cavan win.
Post by: INDIANA on June 26, 2010, 08:32:31 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 26, 2010, 08:30:50 PM
Jasus.

Jaysus Tommy will be pissed now. Has to stay for another 2 weeks. Some devons loch by wicklow.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2010, 08:32:45 PM
unreal!!!
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:33:08 PM
Cavan won by a point.

Unbelievable really. Wicklow must be a joke outfit.
Post by: glens73 on June 26, 2010, 08:49:01 PM
I wonder how the cute Kerry hoor is feeling now!!
Post by: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:53:00 PM
Good win, but two poor sides in all fairness. Mulvey must get questions asked, we were down to 14 then he stupidly gets sent off.

At least it will stop a few people I know, calling for Micko as manager... :D
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 26, 2010, 08:56:45 PM
Quote from: glens73 on June 26, 2010, 08:49:01 PM
I wonder how the cute Kerry hoor is feeling now!!

I'd say he's feeling that "there's plenty of good young players in Mayo and yerra I suppose while I'm still fit and well and passionate about the game" and sure you know the rest yourself.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 26, 2010, 09:20:33 PM
Well done to the neighbours, fair play for some comeback.
Post by: Celt_Man on June 26, 2010, 09:26:58 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 26, 2010, 09:20:33 PM
Well done to the neighbours, fair play for some comeback.

And well done to you too!!
Post by: Denn Forever on June 26, 2010, 09:27:56 PM
Painful to listen to on N Sound.  Hes a great player that Gerry Smith. 

Did Mulvey deserve to go. Stupid Stupid especially as we'd got a lne ball.  Johnson played a blinder when he came on.  Maybe we should play him as a supersub?

Post by: Celt_Man on June 26, 2010, 09:50:29 PM
jaysus I could only imagine trying to listen to that on Northern Sound....  Was Corr's second yellow very harsh?  Johnston kicked 6 points according to aertel, jaysus thats some going... that last point from play I think he had one foot in the terrace when he kicked it
Post by: Denn Forever on June 26, 2010, 09:57:42 PM
I think (but hope I'm wrong) it could have been a straight red.  According to the commentators two Wicklow men were hanging out of him and he lashed out to "get some room".  Hope I'm wrong.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 26, 2010, 10:03:06 PM
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!  ;D  ;D   ;D  ;D

what a comeback!!!!
Fantastic performance by the (13+subs)  to battle back and win.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 26, 2010, 10:05:49 PM
Quote from: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:53:00 PM
Good win, but two poor sides in all fairness. Mulvey must get questions asked, we were down to 14 then he stupidly gets sent off.

At least it will stop a few people I know, calling for Micko as manager... :D
he'd hardly be cavan's cup of tea, they'd be wanting receipts for everything ;D
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 26, 2010, 10:09:53 PM
Tommy Carr for President lads !!!!!  ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 26, 2010, 11:45:42 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 26, 2010, 09:57:42 PM
I think (but hope I'm wrong) it could have been a straight red.  According to the commentators two Wicklow men were hanging out of him and he lashed out to "get some room".  Hope I'm wrong.

Corr got two yellows - 1 for conceding the penalty and one for swinging back with his hand when being pressurised. Mulvey got a straight red, he should get 13 months ban. 1 month for the punch and 12 for being completely brainless. The introduction of Johnson added some bellief into the team and they displayed huge fight to totally shell shock Wicklow.
Post by: boojangles on June 27, 2010, 12:59:38 AM
Quote from: full moon on June 26, 2010, 08:33:08 PM
Cavan won by a point.

Unbelievable really. Wicklow must be a joke outfit.

Joke or no joke any team that can win with 13 against 15 deserves serious credit.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2010, 11:33:04 AM
It's a Cavan v Longford All Ireland final lads!

It's what the public want!

Well done Cavan. Some old time fighting spirit shown it would seem. LOL at the Micko 'quote'. It's funny cos it's probably true!
Post by: boojangles on June 27, 2010, 04:33:01 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2010, 11:33:04 AM
It's a Cavan v Longford All Ireland final lads!

It's what the public want!

Well done Cavan. Some old time fighting spirit shown it would seem. LOL at the Micko 'quote'. It's funny cos it's probably true!

What was it Shamrock?
Post by: Denn Forever on June 27, 2010, 05:26:47 PM
But who gets Dublin in the next round?
Post by: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:30:11 PM
Is the draw tonight??  On the news like the last one maybe??
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2010, 05:31:22 PM
Jaysus,hope we avoid Cork and Dublin
Lets not kid ourselves,Dublin look bad right now,but i still wouldnt fancy us to beat them.
Post by: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 05:34:09 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 27, 2010, 05:31:22 PM
Jaysus,hope we avoid Cork and Dublin
Lets not kid ourselves,Dublin look bad right now,but i still wouldnt fancy us to beat them.

Sure didn't we beat them already this year....  Not gonna burst the bubble and ask the obvious questions yet - still smiling and basking in that win
Post by: Eastern_Pride on June 27, 2010, 06:11:47 PM
Wicklow really would make you cry sometimes...
Post by: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 06:20:23 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on June 27, 2010, 06:11:47 PM

Very close to crying at Cavan's first half performance! Luckily I always knew they could pull it out of the fire  :P
Post by: Eastern_Pride on June 27, 2010, 07:06:03 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on June 27, 2010, 06:20:23 PM
Quote from: Eastern_Pride on June 27, 2010, 06:11:47 PM

Very close to crying at Cavan's first half performance! Luckily I always knew they could pull it out of the fire  :P
Ah yeah but I think Micko had already arranged for the champagne in his apartment at that stage, but dear Jaysus that second half performance would have made Mr T cry. Fair play to Cavan and all but 13 man? Ah here.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2010, 08:36:27 PM
Sorry Boojangles.

It was the makey up one earlier in the thread where Micko was casting his eyes towards mayo