Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 28, 2010, 10:36:27 AM

Title: Who grassed up on OWC?
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 28, 2010, 10:36:27 AM
Ulick do you still have an account there?   ;D ;D

SF man slammed over attempt to 'demonise' NI fans

Published Date: 27 May 2010

NORTHERN Ireland football fans have hit back after being accused of "gloating" over an injury sustained by a young Republic of Ireland player.

Sinn Fein's Paul Butler released a statement last weekend slamming comments which were posted on the NI fans' website Our Wee Country (OWC).

The Lagan Valley MLA said the messages, directed at 18-year-old Everton defender Shane Duffy and two other injured players, were "absolutely sickening" and added: "Comments gloating over a life-threatening injury and wishing a similar fate for fellow northern-born Republic of Ireland players are absolutely disgusting.

"The incident appears to be yet another unfortunate consequence of the Irish Football Association's ill-informed campaign aimed at preventing Irish citizens born in the north of Ireland from representing the Republic of Ireland at international level."

The teenager, who played for Northern Ireland's under-21 side before switching allegiance to the Republic, was playing in a practice match when he suffered a freak, life-threatening injury to his liver.

Shortly after the news of Duffy's injury broke, one fan on the OWC site posted the comment: "What goes round comes round. Hell slap it up them."

The posting was met with a string of responses from genuine fans who were supportive of the injured player.

One typical response said: "I hope your family never have to suffer such torment, you sad individual."

Even '"grahamer" — the author of the original line — saw the error of his ways and added: "My comment was over the top... I presumed a laceration was a simple tear and nothing major."

Gary McAllister, of the Amalgamation of Official Northern Ireland Supporters' Clubs, said: "It's very unfortunate that Paul Butler has seized on a small number of posts on an internet forum in order to attempt to demonise both the Irish FA and Northern Ireland fans in general."

Mr McAllister said he accepted there were some "very uncharitable" comments but added: "The majority of posters on the thread in question expressed their good wishes to the player and indeed one poster later retracted his earlier remarks upon realising how serious the injury was."

IFA president, Raymond Kennedy, said: "Everyone at the Irish Football Association would like to wish Shane Duffy a speedy recovery from his life-threatening injury.

"I also intend to contact the Duffy family to pass on the best wishes of the association to Shane."

http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/SF-man-sl...empt.6322145.jp

/Jim.
Title: Re: Who grassed up on OWC?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 28, 2010, 10:39:48 AM
There is an article in the GL about Unionists being easilly offended about a comment made during commentary in the recent Armagh v Derry game. I think it was the Fermanagh lad stated 'he went to ground like a sniper had got him'.

It looks SF can be easilly offended as well. I mean one gobshite made a throw away comment, which he later watered down. Is it really news worthy?
Post by: Ulick on May 28, 2010, 10:40:46 AM
Not me, I've been banned for a long time and have long since forgotten the the log-in details of my 'alternative' account. Though by coincidence I did notice similar comments on a similar Facebook site last night.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 28, 2010, 10:42:48 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 28, 2010, 10:39:48 AM
There is an article in the GL about Unionists being easilly offended about a comment made during commentary in the recent Armagh v Derry game. I think it was the Fermanagh lad stated 'he went to ground like a sniper had got him'.

It looks SF can be easilly offended as well. I mean one gobshite made a throw away comment, which he later watered down. Is it really news worthy?

Aye, especially when the author retracted after.  I wonder did Paul Butler send Marty a fiver to scoop out that one comment?

/Jim
Post by: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 11:52:21 AM
Its a slow news day when a comment on an internet forum is newsworthy.

Whats next 'OWC fan in pub insults x'?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 28, 2010, 12:00:14 PM
At least they had a thread on it,all we got here was a few comments about it even though it was a very serious injury to a Irish player..
But as I said if it had of been Wayne Rooney's ankle it would have been more important to some........
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 28, 2010, 12:05:08 PM
Butler needs to get out more

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 28, 2010, 12:00:14 PM
But as I said if it had of been Wayne Rooney's ankle it would have been more important to some........
Very true
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2010, 12:27:59 PM
Disingenuous by Butler and he has no factual basis for his hysterical comment.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 12:35:02 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 28, 2010, 10:36:27 AM
Gary McAllister, of the Amalgamation of Official Northern Ireland Supporters' Clubs, said: "It's very unfortunate that Paul Butler has seized on a small number of posts on an internet forum in order to attempt to demonise both the Irish FA and Northern Ireland fans in general."

Mr McAllister said he accepted there were some "very uncharitable" comments but added: "The majority of posters on the thread in question expressed their good wishes to the player and indeed one poster later retracted his earlier remarks upon realising how serious the injury was."

Surely more then one comment  ::), and even if it was only one why the hell shouldn't it be highlighted!
Post by: Ulick on May 28, 2010, 12:44:57 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2010, 12:27:59 PM

Well we don't know that as it seems Bulter is the only person the Newsletter didn't approach for a follow-up quote (the printed quotes presumably from a press release).
Post by: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 12:52:42 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 12:35:02 PM
Surely more then one comment  ::), and even if it was only one why the hell shouldn't it be highlighted!

Because its the poxy internet and lifting stories from random quotes on chatrooms is the laziest and most irrelevant form of journalism ever.

Unless the poster is an employee of the IFA, so what? We know they are turds, its not newsworthy
Post by: Hound on May 28, 2010, 12:53:45 PM
At least they had a thread on it,all we got here was a few comments about it even though it was a very serious injury to a Irish player..
No need for the "high and mighty" shíte RLL.
Would it be less important if Rooney or Torres or Messi did it?

World famous soccer players like Rooney, Torres, Messi have a far higher profile than a player who can't get his game with Everton but who one day might get Irish caps. That's the way of the world. Just like a famous American or UK popstar would get far more comment than some up coming Irish singer who may or may not make it.

You also did not start a thread on young Duffy. Doesnt mean that you or anyone else werent really shocked and worried when you heard it, and delighted that he's on the road to recovery.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 28, 2010, 12:55:27 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 28, 2010, 12:53:45 PM
No need for the "high and mighty" shíte RLL.
Would it be less important if Rooney or Torres or Messi did it?

World famous soccer players like Rooney, Torres, Messi have a far higher profile than a player who can't get his game with Everton but who one day might get Irish caps. That's the way of the world. Just like a famous American or UK popstar would get far more comment than some up coming Irish singer who may or may not make it.

You also did not start a thread on young Duffy. Doesnt mean that you or anyone else werent really shocked and worried when you heard it, and delighted that he's on the road to recovery.

No high and mighty shite at all,just stating a fact...
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 12:59:38 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 12:52:42 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 12:35:02 PM

Because its the poxy internet and lifting stories from random quotes on chatrooms is the laziest and most irrelevant form of journalism ever.

Unless the poster is an employee of the IFA, so what? We know they are turds, its not newsworthy

Ah yeah you're the Shamrock Rovers apologist, I forgot... nothing to see here then!
Just to clarify a "poxy internet" has a hell of alot of power in modern society and "random quotes on chatrooms" have lead to physical violence and people losing their jobs to name just 2 types of incident.
Post by: bingobus on May 28, 2010, 01:01:40 PM
I don't see what the over reaction is about, some clown posted it on internet forum. If they really wanted they could get similar comments on this forum eg on Gerry Ryans thread.

People love to be outraged, ignore the idiots and don't give them publicity they grave.

Ps did you's ring Joe Duffy to tell them you's are "outraged"
Post by: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 01:16:28 PM

Ah yeah you're the Shamrock Rovers apologist, I forgot... nothing to see here then!
Just to clarify a "poxy internet" has a hell of alot of power in modern society and "random quotes on chatrooms" have lead to physical violence and people losing their jobs to name just 2 types of incident.

Blah blah.

Doesn't mean a journo finding an iffy quote on an internet forum is worthy of the press.

Imagine a quote on here supporting, say, the dissidents hit the press under the heading GAA fans support the Real IRA. Would you be so sanguine then?
Post by: gallsman on May 28, 2010, 01:22:18 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 01:16:28 PM

Blah blah.

Doesn't mean a journo finding an iffy quote on an internet forum is worthy of the press.

Imagine a quote on here supporting, say, the dissidents hit the press under the heading GAA fans support the Real IRA. Would you be so sanguine then?

That's different though dublinfella, for many people on here when its "our side" everything is legitimate...
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 01:24:02 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 01:16:28 PM

Blah blah.

There would be plenty who would latch onto it.
There are plenty of stories from this very board that end up in newspapers.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 28, 2010, 01:35:24 PM
This is the classic case of people going out of their way to get offended.  Shock/horror there are neanderthals posting on an internet discussion board.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 01:54:57 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 28, 2010, 01:35:24 PM
This is the classic case of people going out of their way to get offended.  Shock/horror there are neanderthals posting on an internet discussion board.

Point is that there was every right to highlight those disgraceful comments, just as someone would have every right to highlight anything similar on here.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 28, 2010, 01:57:12 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 01:54:57 PM

Point is that there was every right to highlight those disgraceful comments, just as someone would have every right to highlight anything similar on here.
Well the papers would be full of rubbish every day then if that was the case.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2010, 01:57:19 PM
Quote from: Ulick on May 28, 2010, 12:44:57 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2010, 12:27:59 PM

Well we don't know that as it seems Bulter is the only person the Newsletter didn't approach for a follow-up quote (the printed quotes presumably from a press release).
True enough, I haven't found a factual base for my hysterical comment.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 02:09:04 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 28, 2010, 01:57:12 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 01:54:57 PM

Well the papers would be full of rubbish every day then if that was the case.

Have you read a paper recently!!  ;)
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 28, 2010, 02:22:50 PM
As another poster commented here before, you take a lot of standalone comments on this site and potray the whole site (and GAA) in a negative context.

I'd be interested to know how the comment found it's way to Butler.  I think Uliick has a point that proper journalistic pracitice would be to follow up with the quoted person to contextualise his comment.  For example, had he read the comment, the thread or the whole site.  Was he aware of the retraction?

I suspect Butler was happy to have a snip at the OWC brigade but he could have been challenged on that.

/Jim
Post by: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 02:24:01 PM
[quote author=Gaoth Dobhair Abu link=topic=16385.msg790023#msg790023

An internet chatboard is a postmodern equivalent of a barney down the pub. The opinion of a random OWC fan simply isn't newsworthy, even if it is dispicable, in the same way the opinion of most of us on here isn't.

Its bone idle journalism. Sit on the internet and create a moral outrage. Who really cares what a random orc thinks?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 02:36:00 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 02:24:01 PM
[quote author=Gaoth Dobhair Abu link=topic=16385.msg790023#msg790023

An internet chatboard is a postmodern equivalent of a barney down the pub. The opinion of a random OWC fan simply isn't newsworthy, even if it is dispicable, in the same way the opinion of most of us on here isn't.

Its bone idle journalism. Sit on the internet and create a moral outrage. Who really cares what a random orc thinks?

The point is that it just isn't a random poster on OWC, that board has been the source of numerous disgraceful comments on players who call for Ireland, the GAA, this board, posters on this board, the Irish soccer team etc, etc...
The internet and chatrooms are todays news sources for many stories, they are where stories which might never have seen the light of day before can now be publicised (granted this can be good and bad).
Post by: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 02:44:01 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 02:36:00 PM

The point is that it just isn't a random poster on OWC, that board has been the source of numerous disgraceful comments on players who call for Ireland, the GAA, this board, posters on this board, the Irish soccer team etc, etc...
The internet and chatrooms are todays news sources for many stories, they are where stories which might never have seen the light of day before can now be publicised (granted this can be good and bad).

People have disgraceful opinions? Get away.

Its not newsworthy though.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 03:39:52 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on May 28, 2010, 02:44:01 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2010, 02:36:00 PM

People have disgraceful opinions? Get away.

Its not newsworthy though.

Maybe not to you, but obviously it is to other people otherwise the story wouldn't have been carried by the media!
Post by: stew on May 28, 2010, 03:40:27 PM
As far as I can see it was one sc**bag that said something disgusting and nothing more, there are decent people on owc lads, you cant paint them all with the one brush, that said they have a history of handing out abuse, holly, aged 8 from Kent's family got abused because she had the gall to win a blue peter prize for painting flegs and forgot to add the north of Ireland one in.

They are sensitive about Billy Bigot, football for all and the proposed stadiums name, (orior lovingly suggested "the orange bowl' and promptly got banned. :D

Oh yeah, they post peoples personal details on their website, harrass gaa supporters at work and they get fcuked up in Chicago to the point were they pish themselves and get taken to the emergency room.

Post by: gallsman on May 28, 2010, 05:06:56 PM
Quote from: stew on May 28, 2010, 03:40:27 PM
As far as I can see it was one sc**bag that said something disgusting and nothing more, there are decent people on owc lads, you cant paint them all with the one brush, that said they have a history of handing out abuse, holly, aged 8 from Kent's family got abused because she had the gall to win a blue peter prize for painting flegs and forgot to add the north of Ireland one in.

They are sensitive about Billy Bigot, football for all and the proposed stadiums name, (orior lovingly suggested "the orange bowl' and promptly got banned. :D

Oh yeah, they post peoples personal details on their website, harrass gaa supporters at work and they get fcuked up in Chicago to the point were they pish themselves and get taken to the emergency room.

Don't have to go to Chicago to do that.
Post by: Minder on May 28, 2010, 05:14:54 PM
Maybe we delete all the late night Willie Frazer threads, eh GDA?

Just so nobody takes it the wrong way, you understand.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 30, 2010, 12:04:14 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 28, 2010, 05:14:54 PM

To the best of my knowledge minder I've never glouted at any pain suffered by Wullie and anything I have posted about him has been pretty much factual.
Now I did on one occasion post my feelings mixed with straight facts, this thread was deleted as Mod3 thought it was OTT and I respect that.
In fact the only thing I could really be accused of in relation to Wullie is using certain "nouns" when describing him - and I don't think anyone would be in danger of taking it the wrong way!

So no I wouldn't delete them minder.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 30, 2010, 12:22:28 PM
sc**bag comment but then there's plenty of sc**bag comments on here too.

Lazy journalism and lets hope some comments on this board aren't commented on in the papers.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 30, 2010, 07:43:10 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 30, 2010, 12:04:14 PM

To the best of my knowledge minder I've never glouted at any pain suffered by Wullie and anything I have posted about him has been pretty much factual.
Now I did on one occasion post my feelings mixed with straight facts, this thread was deleted as Mod3 thought it was OTT and I respect that.
In fact the only thing I could really be accused of in relation to Wullie is using certain "nouns" when describing him - and I don't think anyone would be in danger of taking it the wrong way!

Those would be adjectives, then, if they're describing him.  ;)
Post by: stibhan on May 30, 2010, 08:02:51 PM
No, they wouldn't. They'd be nouns. Adjectives perform a modifying function, not necessarily meaning that they are just 'describing' words.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 30, 2010, 10:01:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 30, 2010, 09:54:00 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 30, 2010, 07:43:10 PM

You're a cnut.
Calling someone a c##t isn't describing them. It's expressing how you feel about them.
Post by: Main Street on May 30, 2010, 11:05:39 PM
When I call you a cúnt, it is both a description and an expression.
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 31, 2010, 12:03:40 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 30, 2010, 11:05:39 PM
When I call you a cúnt, it is both a description and an expression.
It can only be a description in a metaphorical sense, since a person can't literally be a cnut.
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 12:06:48 AM
Noun

S: (n) cúnt, bitch (a person (usually but not necessarily a woman) who is thoroughly disliked) "she said her son thought Hillary was a bitch"
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 31, 2010, 09:46:09 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 31, 2010, 12:06:48 AM
Noun

S: (n) cúnt, bitch (a person (usually but not necessarily a woman) who is thoroughly disliked) "she said her son thought Hillary was a bitch"
Again, these are examples of nouns as metaphors, given that a bitch is actually a female dog. Also, 'her son thought Hillary was a bitch' is an expression of his feelings rather than a description.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 31, 2010, 09:58:32 AM

They are all nouns as I checked before I posted you twat (also a noun).  ;)
Post by: Myles Na G. on May 31, 2010, 10:01:30 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 31, 2010, 09:58:32 AM

They are all nouns as I checked before I posted you t**t (also a noun).  ;)
Didn't say they weren't nouns, if you'd like check.  ;)
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on May 31, 2010, 12:46:12 PM
Lads, do yis not remember your Latin??  The verb "to be" cannot take an object.

e.g.:  You're a cnut. 

"You" and "cnut" are both the subject of the sentence.  They are nouns in apposition.  "Cnut" is said to define or modify "you" rather than describe it...I think!