GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: saffron sam2 on February 27, 2010, 10:02:33 PM

Title: Should referees be banned from Gaelic football
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 27, 2010, 10:02:33 PM
Having watched the Corofin St Galls game and seen the sendings-off of Anto Healy and Gary Sice, coupled with the non sending-off of Kieran Fitzgerald, coupled with the performance of Michael Burke last week, coupled with the entire careers of John Bannon  and various incarnations of Gerry Kinneavy, coupled with Darragh O Se retiring without ever being awarded a free kick etc., I feel the time has come to remove referees from Gaelic football. (Much as has been the case in hurling for a long time).

Let either the referee or the bishop throw the ball in at start of the game (and then feck aff).

Would be much much better all round.
Title: Re: Should referees be banned from Gaelic football
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 27, 2010, 10:27:29 PM
Class, funniest thing is, I agree  :D
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 27, 2010, 10:38:43 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on February 27, 2010, 10:33:29 PM
Would you remove the linesmen and umpires as well?

Yes, Chicken was acting on his linesman's advice.
Post by: Winnie Peg on February 27, 2010, 10:42:51 PM
This thread would be funny if it wasn't so serious. Gaelic football is finished as a manly sport. If a player falls he gets a free kick whether he is touched or not. Healy gets sent off for trying to free himself. Sice gets sent off for doing nothing, it wasn't even a free. Kevin McGourty doesn't even get a tick, for pulling a player to the ground at  the end of normal time and continuing to hold him down.
No wonder Rugby is gaining popularity by the day in the traditional gaelic strongholds.

Something must be done about refereeing before it is to late.
Post by: tyronefan on February 27, 2010, 10:51:27 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 27, 2010, 10:02:33 PM
Having watched the Corofin St Galls game and seen the sendings-off of Anto Healy and Gary Sice, coupled with the non sending-off of Kieran Fitzgerald, coupled with the performance of Michael Burke last week, coupled with the entire careers of John Bannon  and various incarnations of Gerry Kinneavy, coupled with Darragh O Se retiring without ever being awarded a free kick etc., I feel the time has come to remove referees from Gaelic football. (Much as has been the case in hurling for a long time).

Let either the referee or the bishop throw the ball in at start of the game (and then feck aff).

You know, if
one person, just one person says it they may think he's really sick and
they won't listen to him.  And if two people, two people say it, in harmony,
they may think they're both faggots and they won't listen to either of them.
And three people say it, three, can you imagine, three people walking into
Croke Park saying it, They may think it's an
organization.  And can you, can you imagine fifty people ,I said
fifty people a day walking into croke park and
saying it.  then friends they may think it's a movement.
Post by: Square Ball on February 27, 2010, 10:55:49 PM
Quote from: Winnie Peg on February 27, 2010, 10:42:51 PM
This thread would be funny if it wasn't so serious. Gaelic football is finished as a manly sport. If a player falls he gets a free kick whether he is touched or not. Healy gets sent off for trying to free himself. Sice gets sent off for doing nothing, it wasn't even a free. Kevin McGourty doesn't even get a tick, for pulling a player to the ground at  the end of normal time and continuing to hold him down.
No wonder Rugby is gaining popularity by the day in the traditional gaelic strongholds.

Something must be done about refereeing before it is to late.

agree, but what should be done? I wouldnt be a GAA ref for a pension due to the crap that they have to take from managers. players and supporters, look at the egg chasers and there is very little back chat to a ref regardless of the decision.
Post by: J OGorman on February 27, 2010, 11:40:15 PM

is there a team sport were refs (with inconsistency and shear incompetence) have such an influence in the outcome of a game? the ref in tonights game was attrocious. Sendings off and non-sendings off aside, some of the decisions were brutal for both sides , well after he gave Carofin a couple of handy free's to attempt to even up the game that is
Post by: Gold on February 27, 2010, 11:47:37 PM
the referee in that game was awful. He kept Corofin in the game as only GAA referees do --the free that led to the corifin goal should have been a line ball the other way--then to allow that goal, the clearest square ball i've ever seen was unreal

He blew frees for nothing that kept Corofin in the game, gave Healy the 1st yellow card in the 1st minute for nothing, then gave him a 2nd one because some man was hanging off his leg.

Sice did nothing wrong and was sent off, Fitzgerald struck out at Stewarts head (albeit with an open hand~) the ref obviously seen it as he changed the free out to a hop ball but didnt punish him (the commentator said it was cause he'd already sent one off and didnt want to send another off but thats ridiculous)

he then gave Galls a few frees for nothing also

awful awful refereeing performance

Galls were so far and away the better team that if they hadnt won that game due to that ref it would have been a disgrace

Why in the GAA when a team in 4 or more up does the ref give the other team everything ? It happens at all levels and is the biggest problem i think in the GAA bar none
Post by: orangeman on February 28, 2010, 12:18:37 AM
I'm watching tonight's game for a 2nd time here and the ref's performance just does not get any better.

Kieran Fitgerald and the ref must be big mates - how he didn't send off for striking ( albeit with an open hand ) I'll never know, given that he send off Sike for nothing just a few minutes before that.
Post by: Winnie Peg on February 28, 2010, 12:22:21 AM
One of the Galls player has some looder on him. ;D
Post by: orangeman on February 28, 2010, 12:25:59 AM
Quote from: Winnie Peg on February 28, 2010, 12:22:21 AM
One of the Galls player has some looder on him. ;D

They all have.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 28, 2010, 12:30:19 AM
Just watched a recording of the game... that refeering display was shocking.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2010, 12:59:45 AM
...coupled with the entire careers of John Bannon

Ironically, John Bannon (through the proxy of his club, Legan Sarsfields) has made what is probably the best decision of his refereeing career, in moving the motion to Congress to prevent referees from reviewing their own decisions.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 28, 2010, 09:04:20 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2010, 12:59:45 AM

Ironically, John Bannon (through the proxy of his club, Legan Sarsfields) has made what is probably the best decision of his refereeing career, in moving the motion to Congress to prevent referees from reviewing their own decisions.

I expect Tyrone will be proposing an ammendment stating that referees may only review decisions if the result is that a Tyrone player will get off ;)
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 17, 2010, 09:49:31 AM
Just thought I would resurrect this thread after yesterday's 'performances' by Messers Deegan and O Conmha.
Post by: orangeman on May 17, 2010, 09:54:09 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 17, 2010, 09:49:31 AM
Just thought I would resurrect this thread after yesterday's 'performances' by Messers Deegan and O Conmha.

Unforutunately there's not a lot can be said about the performances of the 2 individuals given that we voted the new rule changes in.

All the lads we sent to congress were mandated to bring in the new rules and we can't go round criticising the refs if all they're doing is trying to ref to the new rules.

There was nothing much wrong with the rules and we went and allowed them to be changed.

Being a ref now is almost impossible.

When will the GAA hierarchy be happy ? It's quickly becoming almost a non contact sport.
Post by: passedit on May 17, 2010, 09:55:33 AM

You sic fckr
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 17, 2010, 11:04:53 AM
Refs should be banned and the ball should be thrown up by the Bishop and let the 30 men play and honourable game without a dirty blow or foul.  The refs are not to blame, the adminstrators are for f**king around with rules and then presusurizing refs to put them into place without sanction for players.  Lads who have handpassed the ball the same way since they were 6-7 now have to change 20 years of habits in 20 days.  A disgrace. 

Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 17, 2010, 11:18:36 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 17, 2010, 09:54:09 AM

Unforutunately there's not a lot can be said about the performances of the 2 individuals given that we voted the new rule changes in.

All the lads we sent to congress were mandated to bring in the new rules and we can't go round criticising the refs if all they're doing is trying to ref to the new rules.

There was nothing much wrong with the rules and we went and allowed them to be changed.

Being a ref now is almost impossible.

When will the GAA hierarchy be happy ? It's quickly becoming almost a non contact sport.
have to agree with you orangeman, all the new rules have done, particularly the hand pass one, is made a hard job even harder.
I have to ask, what was wrong with the old hand pass rule?
frankly i think all the stuff about the ball being 'thrown' etc is utter bullsh*t
In any games i have watched or played in, it rarely occured and when it did was usually blown by the referee.The new handpass rule has just overcomplicated an old one that there was nothing wrong with.
I have no problem with the ammendments to the penalty spot & the kickout or even the stricter inforcement of the sideline (although when was it ever legal to take a sideline form inside the line?), but they are black and white and leave no room for confusion
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 17, 2010, 12:37:42 PM
Considering the amount of times players commit stupid fouls, pull jerseys, dive, drag the arm pretending to be fouled and also don't even know how to tackle then what are refs supposed to do. I bet if you added up all mistakes by players they would be miles more than by the refs  and they train 3/4/5 times a week for years and can't do things right...

We whinge and complain when players pull jerseys, foul off the ball, commit cynical fouls to stop the opposition scoring/attacking, throw the ball etc and then when the refs do something about it we whinge about the refs doing something about it.

How about putting in a defined tackle something like in International rules which would rule out a lot of issues. Confirm a jersey pull is an automatic yellow card and if players are stupid enough to do it then they will stop doing it. Its amazing how when the new rules were put in about fouling last year in the league that the numbers of fouls reduced dramatically.

Post by: Zulu on May 17, 2010, 03:21:14 PM
I think we all accept that refs will make some mistakes and in fairness it is understandable as it can be very hard to judge whether a foul is being committed at times. However, it is the amount of mistakes, giving frees for legitimate hard tackles (that are generally let go in hurling btw) and the lack of a proper deterrent for fouling that is causing so much angst. We get this every year but when we try to introduce rules and punishments for fouling there is an outcry from certain quarters and they get binned.

The simple fact is if there are 60 frees in a game, as there was yesterday, then at least 5 fellas should have been sent off. We should clear up certain rules like the pick up and the tackle to make it easier for refs, introduce more serious punishments for off the ball fouls, cynical fouls and repeat fouling and we should develop a better advantage rule which favours attacking teams more.
Post by: mackers on May 17, 2010, 03:34:35 PM
The sin bin which was brought in for the league in 05 should've been perservered with and it would've dealt with the persistent cynical fouling that riddles so many games.
As you say Zulu, certain counties didn't like it so it was canned.

Post by: bingobus on May 17, 2010, 03:41:09 PM
Its gas, when Paul Galvin and the cork lad where sent off in the league for wrestling off the ball in the league, there was a thread about 10 pages long on this board giving out yards about the ref for been over the top and sure it was only a bit holding and rolling.

To me the ref was spot on that day and we need more consistently like that. If players want to pull, drag, foul "out the field" then they have to be punished and if it takes 1/2 years till this gets through to the players then so be it.

Already yesterday the heavy weights spent more time dishing the refs and putting the boot in, rather than talking about the players committing foul after foul.

I'd seriously consider 2 pts for a pointed free (may encourage diving but thats bad enough) and maybe a clear 3 or 4 foul rule, like basketball. 4 fouls of any nature and you're replaced, this would be in addition to the existing yellow and red cards for more serious offences.
Post by: Zulu on May 17, 2010, 04:42:24 PM
One of the problems is that rule changes have to go through congress. You couldn't get 10 lads to agree on what is the best way forward so what hope do we have of getting the majority of the GAA to agree on something? This democracy thing is utter BS and we should have a far more streamlined process where the opinions of a wide and varied number of people can be ascertained but only a small number of people decide on what will come to pass. I know many of would disagree on whatever they came up with but that is the point, there will always be people who disagree anf therefore what we get instead is annual moaning about how things are and widespread disagreement on how to fix it

Bring rule changes in at underage level first FFS and lets see how they do over a period of 2 years or so. The sin bin should be retried as soon as possible as it seems the only way in which cynical and repeat fouling can be properly punished. If we have games that end with 11 v 10 then so be it, any sport which can produce contests with a free a minute is a sport in serious trouble, especially when those 70 frees are a result of idiotic rule changes, poor refereeing, lack of deterrent and an ill-defined tackle.
Post by: Maiden1 on May 17, 2010, 05:06:13 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 17, 2010, 04:42:24 PM
One of the problems is that rule changes have to go through congress. You couldn't get 10 lads to agree on what is the best way forward so what hope do we have of getting the majority of the GAA to agree on something? This democracy thing is utter BS and we should have a far more streamlined process where the opinions of a wide and varied number of people can be ascertained but only a small number of people decide on what will come to pass. I know many of would disagree on whatever they came up with but that is the point, there will always be people who disagree anf therefore what we get instead is annual moaning about how things are and widespread disagreement on how to fix it

Bring rule changes in at underage level first FFS and lets see how they do over a period of 2 years or so. The sin bin should be retried as soon as possible as it seems the only way in which cynical and repeat fouling can be properly punished. If we have games that end with 11 v 10 then so be it, any sport which can produce contests with a free a minute is a sport in serious trouble, especially when those 70 frees are a result of idiotic rule changes, poor refereeing, lack of deterrent and an ill-defined tackle.

The free a minute is because of this new stupid hand passing rule, the refs are just randomly blowing the whistle and the players are now having to over emphasiss that they are hand passing properly which is slowing the game down.  Also you are not allowed to tackle any more, McKeever shouldered a guy over the line and got a yellow card, if you want a non contact sport watch basketball.  A lot of the rest of the fouls are the ref blowing up everytime someone falls over.
Post by: Zulu on May 17, 2010, 05:28:16 PM
In fairness that is not true. Yesterday wasn't the first football match to have far too many frees in it and afaik McKeever was book for the pushing and shoving after the shoulder and the ref didn't give a free for that. I do agree though that the ref and refs in general are part of the problem as they get too many decisions wrong and tackles that are left go in hurling are punished in football. However, that still doesn't take away from the fact that we don't have a deterrent for fouling in football. Yesterday the Derry full back gave away three frees in the first 12 minutes, one an off the ball holding offence and another for a high tackle, now as it happens I thought none of them were frees but if teh ref deemed them all fouls he should have been booked for the off the ball one and again for the high tackle thereby getting sent off.
Post by: red hander on May 17, 2010, 05:48:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2010, 12:59:45 AM

Surely the best decision of Bannon's refereeing career was to retire after his Coco the Clown display in last year's AI semi-final?  ;)
Post by: JUst retired on May 18, 2010, 07:21:24 AM
The good news regarding rule changes is they can only be changed every 5 years.
Let`s look forward to a few good rows. :)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 18, 2010, 11:40:38 AM
Quote from: bingobus on May 17, 2010, 03:41:09 PM
Its gas, when Paul Galvin and the cork lad where sent off in the league for wrestling off the ball in the league, there was a thread about 10 pages long on this board giving out yards about the ref for been over the top and sure it was only a bit holding and rolling.

To me the ref was spot on that day and we need more consistently like that. If players want to pull, drag, foul "out the field" then they have to be punished and if it takes 1/2 years till this gets through to the players then so be it.

Already yesterday the heavy weights spent more time dishing the refs and putting the boot in, rather than talking about the players committing foul after foul.

I'd seriously consider 2 pts for a pointed free (may encourage diving but thats bad enough) and maybe a clear 3 or 4 foul rule, like basketball. 4 fouls of any nature and you're replaced, this would be in addition to the existing yellow and red cards for more serious offences.

I'd agree with that except most of the refs are now giving out frees like it is basketball.
Post by: Canalman on May 18, 2010, 01:04:51 PM
Played many times in a winter floodlit tournament in the Iveagh Grounds where the rule was 2 points for a "polnted" free. Drilled into every back the importance of not fouling. Cracking games . Shouts of "no foul" all over the place.

Might be worth a try.
Post by: Hardy on May 18, 2010, 04:58:56 PM
Yes, that's all we need. Further devalue points from play and encourage spontaneous falling over, already the greatest scourge in the game.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 20, 2010, 04:22:44 PM
One of the biggest issues is with players diving to win frees and refs not being able to pick up on this.

Rule should be brought in that all games are recorded and every player who is seen to dive/drag a player down to win a free kick etc gets a 2 match ban and the county boards lose a percentage of their funding - probably only way that counties will force players to say on ther feet and if we do that maybe more physical contact can/will be allowed...

Another possible idea to stop teams pulling/dragging out to far to score and to slow down the opposition is to move all frees outside the attacking 45 for pulling/dragging etc to teh 45 yard line
Post by: Zulu on May 21, 2010, 02:56:03 PM
I think the first one would be too harsh a punishment and would have the GAA in court 8 months of the year. Your second suggestion is far more workable and could be a real option in the future. I do agree though that we should seek to punish players severly for diving or holding on to a players arm to win a free even though you are in possession of the ball.

The only real problem with football is that there are too many frees and it is this we need to tackle not the handpass.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 24, 2012, 10:15:02 PM
This is my favourite thread I ever started.
Post by: rrhf on June 24, 2012, 10:58:31 PM
Yeah its fun but its not helpful
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 24, 2012, 11:03:08 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 24, 2012, 10:58:31 PM
Yeah its fun but its not helpful

It is a serious idea.

Who stole your apostrophes by the way?