GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: slow corner back on February 19, 2010, 09:16:15 PM

Title: National Hurling league Round 1
Post by: slow corner back on February 19, 2010, 09:16:15 PM
This weekend sees the return of the national league and starts with a bang with Tipp V Kilkenny at Semple Stadium on Saturday Night. Kilkenny can be vunerable early in the year and Tipp have had 6 months to stew on the all ireland final loss. I expect Tipp to lay down an early season marker and beat the Cats on Saturday night in a game that may prove spicy.
The following day sees Galway travel to Limerick where anything other than a comprehensive Galway win will be a major surprise. Offaly who started the season well beating the Cats have a tough trip to Leeside to face Cork. With no strike this year and a lot of players in the last chance saloon I expect Cork to have a good season and should begin with a win against Offaly in what could be a decent match. The last match in Division one sees Waterford at home to Dublin. Anthony Daly has a big task this year to avoid suffering second season syndrome. After a good division one campaign and a Leinster final appearance the Dubs will be hoping for big things this year. They may well have a good year but my money is on waterford to see them off on Sunday.
Dropping down a level to Division 2 Clare with a new management team get to start life in the lower reaches against Down in Ennis. Down who also have a new manager are always game but with the long trip and the quality of the opposition I expect them to return empty handed. Elsewhere after an encouraging end to last season Laois start again against Kildare in a midlands derby. While it is good to see Kildare making strides in hurling I fear Divisuion 2 is a step too far and expect Laois to beat them with a bit to spare.
Westmeath welcome Wexford on Sunday and will want to improve on what was a disapointing 2009 for them. The sight of Carlow in the Liam McCarthy must annoy any westmeath hurling supporter who must wonder why it is not them. It is up to westmeath to do something about it starting against wexford. I do not think they will be able to with Wexford winning by a few points. Last in Division 2 is Antrim against the aforementioned Carlow. Having beaten Antrim twice in 12 months Carlow will see this as a possible away 2 points. Antrim with home advantage will think otherwise. This will be the tightest game in Division 2 on sunday with ( hopefully ) Antrim edging home by a couple of points, although in the absence of the St Galls and Dunloy players I am not overly confident.
Lower down I will go for wins for London, Armagh and Dery although without much confidence.
The Tyrone manager reckons he has only 13 players so Donegal should deal with them with Louth and Fingal winning with home advantage
In Div 4 wins for Monaghan, Lietrim and South Down???
Title: Re: National Hurling league Round 1
Post by: Minder on February 19, 2010, 09:27:50 PM
Think Tipp are a great price at Evens, strong team out and Kilkenny without the Ballyhale contingent.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2010, 10:10:19 PM
I'm going to take a trot over to Semple Stadium to see the Tipp Kilkenny game. Looking forward to it, and I hope the sleet/snow/hail/rain doesn't destroy it. Is there some celebration or something on before it?
Post by: Reillers on February 19, 2010, 10:31:38 PM
Cork team v Offaly.

1. Donal Óg Cusack (Cloyne)

2. Shane O'Neill (Bishopstown)

3. David Cunningham (Glen Rovers)

4. Shane Murphy ( Erin's Own)

5. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)

6. Ronan Curran (St. Finbarr's)

7. Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

8. John Gardiner (Na Piarsaigh)

9. Tom Kenny (Grenagh)

10. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)

11. Mark O'Sullivan (Dripsey)

12. Niall McCarthy (Carrigtwohill)

13. Kieran Murphy (Sars - Capt)

14. Aisake Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Subs

16. Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig)

17. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)

18. Kevin Hartnett (Russell Rovers)

19. Ray Ryan (Sarsfields)

20. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)

21. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields)

22. Graham Calnan (Glen Rovers)

23. Michael Cussen (Sarsfields)

24. Fintan O'Leary (Ballinhassig)
Post by: Reillers on February 19, 2010, 10:32:51 PM
Offaly team (according to the Offaly GAA site.)

1. James Dempsey, Kinnitty

2. James Rigney, Kinnitty

3. Paul Cleary, Birr

4. David Kenny, Belmont

5. Diarmuid Horan, St Rynagh's

6. Ger Oakley, Carrig & Riverstown

7. Derek Morkan, Shinrone

8. Dylan Hayden, Birr

9. Rory Hanniffy, Birr

10. Brian Carroll, Coolderry

11. Joe Bergin, Seir Kieran

12. Conor Mahon, Kilcormac/ Killoughey

13. Cathal Parlon, Coolderry

14. Ger Healion, Kilcormac/ Killoughey

15. Shane Dooley, Tullamore
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2010, 11:56:48 AM
I hope Dublin hurlers win something this year.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on February 20, 2010, 01:00:19 PM
Waterford team to start on sunday against Dublin,
C Hennessy;
J Meagher,
L Lawlor,
N Connors;
D Prendergast,
M Walsh,
J. Murray;
J Nagle,
R Foley;
M Shanahan,
K Moran,
T Connors;
S Walsh,
G Hurney,
S. Molumphy.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on February 20, 2010, 03:01:45 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 19, 2010, 09:27:50 PM
Think Tipp are a great price at Evens, strong team out and Kilkenny without the Ballyhale contingent.
Where is that Minder?? 8/11 ON PP
Post by: Minder on February 20, 2010, 03:31:37 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on February 20, 2010, 03:01:45 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 19, 2010, 09:27:50 PM
Where is that Minder?? 8/11 ON PP

They were evens in Ladbrokes the other day, possibly before they named a strong team.4/5 at Ladbrokes.
Post by: INDIANA on February 20, 2010, 04:09:29 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2010, 11:56:48 AM
I hope Dublin hurlers win something this year.

Bit to go yet- hopefully we will have a right crack at the league because I doubt kilkenny or tipp will be that bothered about winning it. But with the championship draw the backdoor beckons.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2010, 04:58:07 PM
will there be any links for this game tonight? Setanta i think are showing it. bloody disgrace!!!

Tg4 showing our game tomorrow. 8/11 for no goals seems a fair price, with good defence and the weather to be bitter cold i'll have some of that.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2010, 05:39:37 PM
Just heading out the door here to Thurles. Good fall of snow on at the moment here in North Tipp. Hope the game is not affected too much. Visibility is pretty bad at the moment, and snow in floodlights must be a nightmare to play in..
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 20, 2010, 06:40:00 PM
Galway team v Limerick

James Skehill
Damien Joyce
Shane Kavanagh
Pat Holland
Donal Barry
Tony Og Regan
Kevin Hynes
Ger Farragher
Niall Cahalane
Aonghus Callanan
Cyril Donnellan
David Burke
Aidan Harte
Joe Gantley
Niall Hayes
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2010, 07:36:54 PM
Well I never made it to Thurles anyhow. Snow very bad, came on an accident where a car had overturned on snow and ice outside Rear Cross. Spent a half hour helping Gardai on point duty (1 squad arrived, lunacy), and decided to head for home.

Looks like I might have made the best decision, that game shouldn't go ahead and will be a farce if it does.
Post by: Zulu on February 20, 2010, 07:41:46 PM
It's off AZ afaik.
Post by: orangeman on February 20, 2010, 07:44:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2010, 07:36:54 PM
Well I never made it to Thurles anyhow. Snow very bad, came on an accident where a car had overturned on snow and ice outside Rear Cross. Spent a half hour helping Gardai on point duty (1 squad arrived, lunacy), and decided to head for home.

Looks like I might have made the best decision, that game shouldn't go ahead and will be a farce if it does.

Jesus lads, weather must be terrible.

Will they play it tomorrow ?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2010, 08:03:15 PM
spent twenty mins trying to find radio station to listen to it!!

hope weather not too bad in dublin tomorrow for our game
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2010, 08:08:43 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 20, 2010, 07:41:46 PM
It's off AZ afaik.

Yeah, they just announced it after I posted. Only sensible decision really. The players would have been in danger there. I'm glad I turned around now, wouldn't like to be braving those roads coming back from Thurles, and I did a fair bit of 'ice' driving up in Offaly. Tonight was very bad on the Newport-Thurles road.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 21, 2010, 09:02:09 AM
Any other matches off today? There's fairly heavy snow laying in Belfast.
Post by: keadyhurling on February 21, 2010, 10:57:07 AM
armagh v mayo off
Post by: mc_grens on February 21, 2010, 12:17:03 PM
All the way from Dublin to Thurles and they call it off. No other realistic option. I went on the pitch after to cross over and get a beer in Sars clubhouse and it was dodgy enough.

Great inter-county pub crawl on the way home though- topped by an hour and a half by the stove in abbyleix!
Post by: GAA_Punter on February 21, 2010, 12:59:19 PM
Just been looking at the Clare Down match the handicap is 13points , I was thinking Down plus 13 might be worth a punt , Anyone got any thoughts ??
Post by: Lecale2 on February 21, 2010, 01:14:39 PM
I'd be surprised if Down finish within 20 pts of Clare.
Post by: maxpower on February 21, 2010, 01:19:17 PM
I'd go Down at plus 13, Paul Braniff in good early season form and new management team in so they'll be fighting right to the end.

Clare on the other hand have made their feelings on Div2 well known, any although they should win promotion handy I think this could be a sticky fixture for them. Be great for the rest of Div2 if Down could nick a point today.
Post by: GAA_Punter on February 21, 2010, 01:51:40 PM
Clare 0-07 0-00 Down
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/02/21/gaa-live-scores-sunday-21st-february
Post by: Lecale2 on February 21, 2010, 02:20:44 PM
Clare 1-13 Down 0-04 half time.
Post by: GAA_Punter on February 21, 2010, 03:07:50 PM
Sunday 21 February

Allianz NHL Division 1
Cork 0-09 0-07  Offaly, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, 2.30pm
Limerick 1-07 0-08 Galway, Kilmallock, 2.30pm
Waterford 1-09 0-06 Dublin, Walsh Park, 2.30pm

Allianz NHL Division 2
Antrim 1-04 0-03 Carlow, Casement Park, 2.30pm
Clare 2-20 0-06 Down, Cusack Park <strong>Full Time</strong>
Laois OFF Kildare, Portlaoise, 2.30pm
Westmeath 0-05 0-04Wexford, Mullingar, 2.30pm

Allianz NHL Division 3a
Armagh OFF Mayo, Crossmaglen, 2.30pm
Derry 0-02 0-06 Kerry, Celtic Park, 2.30pm
London 1-12 1-15 Meath, Ruislip, 1.00pm

Allianz NHL Division 3b
Fingal OFF Wicklow, Swords, 2.30pm
Louth 0-02 0-02 Sligo, Dundalk, 2.30pm
Tyrone 0-00 0-00 Donegal, Omagh, 2.30pm

Allianz NHL Division 4
Cavan 0-06 0-02 Leitrim, Kingspan Breffni Park, 2.30pm
Longford OFF Down South, Michael Fay Park, 2.30pm
Monaghan OFF Fermanagh, Inniskeen, 2.30pm

O'Byrne Cup final
Louth 0-03 0-02 DCU, Drogheda, 2.45pm

FBD Connacht FL final
Mayo 0-00 0-00 Galway, McHale Park, 2.30pm

Cadbury Leinster U21FC
Wicklow 0-00 0-00 Longford, Aughrim, 2.30pm

AIB All-Ireland club SFC semi-finals
Corofin (Galway) OFF St. Gall's (Antrim), Parnell Park
Kilmurry-Ibrickane (Clare) 0-09 0-04 Portlaoise (Laois), Gaelic Grounds, 2.30pm<strong>

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/02/21/gaa-live-scores-sunday-21st-february/
Post by: The Aristocrat on February 21, 2010, 04:02:42 PM
Dubs getting raped by Waterford, Alan McCrabbe got a broken shinbone.
Post by: slow corner back on February 21, 2010, 04:35:51 PM
Thats bad news about McCrabbe I heard he was taken away in an ambulance didnt know the extent of the injury.
Post by: orangeman on February 21, 2010, 07:02:41 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on February 21, 2010, 04:35:51 PM
Thats bad news about McCrabbe I heard he was taken away in an ambulance didnt know the extent of the injury.

I think the word is that he mightn't be as bad as first feared. That was on the radio but no official confirmation so far.
Post by: Reillers on February 21, 2010, 07:35:51 PM
It's his knee not his shin, according to newstalk.
Post by: slow corner back on February 21, 2010, 07:42:08 PM
Were you at the cork match today Reilers? I was wondering how your new full back went? I thought Cadogan looked OK at full back last year and wondered why he was dropped. Was it due to his football commitments?
Post by: Reillers on February 21, 2010, 07:57:59 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on February 21, 2010, 07:42:08 PM
Were you at the cork match today Reilers? I was wondering how your new full back went? I thought Cadogan looked OK at full back last year and wondered why he was dropped. Was it due to his football commitments?

Cunningham was doing pretty good till he went off injured. Cadogan came on then and played very well. He wasn't dropped, he was on the bench cause he'd had the game with the footballers. Plus the fact it's no harm giving others a go.
Post by: cicfada on February 21, 2010, 10:02:22 PM
Only 3000 people in the Pairc today Reillers, bad show when you  consider that the team is happy......well relatively happy if I go by rumours  breaking this week!! I mean today in Kilmallock there were 3000 people there to watch those youngsters!!! Where were all the marchers?? Maybe they should get Des Bishop to do the half time entertainment...they will probably turn up then!! ;)
Post by: Reillers on February 21, 2010, 10:20:58 PM
Quote from: cicfada on February 21, 2010, 10:02:22 PM
Only 3000 people in the Pairc today Reillers, bad show when you  consider that the team is happy......well relatively happy if I go by rumours  breaking this week!! I mean today in Kilmallock there were 3000 people there to watch those youngsters!!! Where were all the marchers?? Maybe they should get Des Bishop to do the half time entertainment...they will probably turn up then!! ;)

..I've done it..the time machine, it works, it's 2009!!

..Oh get a life ffs. ::)
Post by: cicfada on February 21, 2010, 10:28:34 PM
Quote from: Reillers on February 21, 2010, 10:20:58 PM
Quote from: cicfada on February 21, 2010, 10:02:22 PM

..I've done it..the time machine, it works, it's 2009!!

..Oh get a life ffs. ::)

Clever boy, avoiding the issue I see!! Try and answer  the point.  Your evasion tactics will only get you so far!! As for the match itself, well done to Cork, bigger tests ahead but  Offaly followed by Limerick is a nice way to start the  campaign!!
Post by: stevecw on February 21, 2010, 11:05:32 PM
Couldn't make the Antrim/Carlow game today, but listened on the radio. Sounded a poor game overall in bad conditions. Seems that Carlow missed a lot of easy chances, and that is so typical of us  ::) Def something we need to work on fast.
Also the carlow commentators were saying that it was very soft free awarded in the last min that gave Antrim the win.

Anyone here at it, as I know there are plenty of Antrim people on here.

Disappointed that we lost that as despite missing a few, thought we might have caused an upset there. Makes the rest of the league a battle to survive for us now rather than have an outside go at the final.
Post by: ringy on February 22, 2010, 12:12:58 AM
Decent enough performance today by Cork. Patrick Horgan was a delight to watch today. Gardiner (brilliant with the long range frees) , Brian Murphy and Fraggie had good games also . Curran was also good as the game went on, Cadegon looking very secure at full-back and Shane O'Neill showing moments a class defending and his driven ability to go forward, still would prefer him and Brian Murphy switch come championship. Cussen had a few decent touches when he came on, dissappointed with Aisake to be honest but did win a good couple of frees. Shane Dooley was awesome with his free taking also. Satisfactory enough day but bigger challenges ahead.
I expect abit of tinkering with the forwards the next day with the likes of Cian McCarthey (Teddy Macs son), Fintan O'Leary and Cussen starting
Post by: INDIANA on February 22, 2010, 08:01:03 AM
Only saw the delayed viewing as I got called into work for a few hours and couldn't go. But Dublin were very poor yesterday against Waterford. Totally listless. No explanation  for it and no excuses. Physically beaten and hurled off the park. Some of our lads looked likes they hadn't lifted a hurl since last August.
Tactically teams have found us out and I think we will have to revert to orthodox. But the league is going to be a struggle now. It all hinged on yestedays game having  a possible crack at the league and thats gone now.
Waterford are going to be a force this year- lots of good young players  well able for it as well. Won't need some of the absentees. the changing of the guard happened yesterday for Waterford. Good thing for hurling as well.
Back to the drawing board for us. Didn't envisage that after the first game. Selection and tactics have to change otherwise we'll struggle to stay up.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on February 22, 2010, 01:58:19 PM
Great start to the season for Waterford with a team filled with unfamiliar names. Dublin never looked as fluid as they were last year and missed loads of chances. Waterford will take confidence from this game and if they can get a result against Galway they would be in with a great chance of doing well in the league with the old guard due back after that match. There should be plenty of competition for places suir side this year and could be the push Waterford needs in the right direction. Dublin need to pick themselves for the next match and maybe work a bit on stickwork, were just a touch rusty yesterday i feel
Post by: orangeman on February 22, 2010, 04:50:24 PM
Dublin hurling manager Anthony Daly has been handed a boost by the news that Alan McCrabbe's injury is not as bad as was initially feared.

McCrabbe was taken by ambulance to hospital after an incident during his side's 0-12 to 4-13 defeat against Waterford.

The Dublin man appeared to have suffered a serious leg injury after he was struck on the shin by Jamie Nagle.

However, despite a 10-minute stoppage and fears that Crabbe could have broken the leg, a scan showed that there was no break and the injury is no more serious than bad bruising.

Post by: Reillers on February 22, 2010, 06:07:18 PM
Quote from: ringy on February 22, 2010, 12:12:58 AM
Decent enough performance today by Cork. Patrick Horgan was a delight to watch today. Gardiner (brilliant with the long range frees) , Brian Murphy and Fraggie had good games also . Curran was also good as the game went on, Cadegon looking very secure at full-back and Shane O'Neill showing moments a class defending and his driven ability to go forward, still would prefer him and Brian Murphy switch come championship. Cussen had a few decent touches when he came on, dissappointed with Aisake to be honest but did win a good couple of frees. Shane Dooley was awesome with his free taking also. Satisfactory enough day but bigger challenges ahead.
I expect abit of tinkering with the forwards the next day with the likes of Cian McCarthey (Teddy Macs son), Fintan O'Leary and Cussen starting

Ya. Gardiner was a big surprise, the midfield did very well, I don't think that that mid would be good enough for the harder games in the championship, but it did well and he really surprised me. He hasn't played well in a while and it was great to see him turn in such a strong performance.
The FB line did well, Shane Murphy was excellent.

I think we're wasting a few players in the backline with the positions we had them in. I mean why Shane O Neill and Brian Murphy weren't switched is beyond me.

The subs did well, I've been surprised by Cian McCarthy, he didn't have time to make a real impact in the game cause he came on late, but he's been doing well. I didn't really rate him before, but he's done well this year. Fintan O Leary is a very promising young lad and Cussen did very well as well when he came on. Aisake on the other hand was poor enough. But hopefully, like a few other playres, he'll improve with game time.

Lorcan McLoughlin did ok, very nervous in the first half, settled better in the second.
O Sullivan went well as well, caught some nice ball, scored a nice point or two.

Our new captain had a great day, Hoggy did very well, Donal Og did excellent as well.

A lot of hard work has been put in and the camp is a lot happier these days..but ffs, will Walsh ever teach them how to fuckin catch a ball. So many poor handling errors. Frustrating as anything.

A decent enough day out though. The first half..well the less said about the first half the better. The second picked up and Cork improved a lot, while Offaly faded rapidly.

It was a good day all round. Scored more than anyone else. And all that was without the on form Newtown lads.

Walsh is apparently said to ring the changes for the next game so we'll wait and see.

A nice start.
Post by: Premier Emperor on February 22, 2010, 07:10:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 20, 2010, 07:47:51 PM
Tuesday night. Free in - might head down.
It will be worth every cent!
Post by: stevecw on February 22, 2010, 08:33:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 21, 2010, 11:15:34 PM
Quote from: stevecw on February 21, 2010, 11:05:32 PM
Couldn't make the Antrim/Carlow game today, but listened on the radio. Sounded a poor game overall in bad conditions. Seems that Carlow missed a lot of easy chances, and that is so typical of us  ::) Def something we need to work on fast.
Also the carlow commentators were saying that it was very soft free awarded in the last min that gave Antrim the win.

Anyone here at it, as I know there are plenty of Antrim people on here.

Disappointed that we lost that as despite missing a few, thought we might have caused an upset there. Makes the rest of the league a battle to survive for us now rather than have an outside go at the final.
Have to agree. A free in was given for the Carlow back charging. It was soft.
Carlow missed a bagful and should have won the game. Youse let in a soft goal too. Not sure what happened at all and the umpires hadn't a clue either but they awarded a goal. Carlow were unlucky today.

Yes it seems what u say is 100% agreed with on the Carlow side too. Was talking with a mate of mine, who is part of the panel but out injured at the moment.
He was obviously there yesterday and said pretty much what you said. They were really angry with the ref seemingly who even apart from the late harsh free, was def not on the Carlow side during the game. They feel as if they were hard done by on many occasions. And were not happy that an Ulster Ref was doing a game there.
But he reckoned that the missed chances were what really cost them the game. Def 2 points thrown away, and they were well pissed off & so was Kevin Ryan the manager is dressing room after by all accounts.

Means Westmeath at home on Sunday is a must win game, otherwise we will be sucked right into a relegation battle. Need to win that & win it well. Hopefully we'll have 2 of the better players back from injury, so that should help.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on February 23, 2010, 10:51:46 AM
It was strange seeing Donal Ogs helmet.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 23, 2010, 02:44:18 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on February 23, 2010, 10:51:46 AM
It was strange seeing Donal Ogs helmet.

I can imagine.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2010, 06:06:34 PM
would you get a good price on Carlow against Westmeath?

oh and Donal Ogs helmet, what colour was it :D :D
Post by: stevecw on February 23, 2010, 07:24:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2010, 06:06:34 PM
would you get a good price on Carlow against Westmeath?

Not really, with Paddy Powers we are 8/13 and W'mth are 11/8. Would be worth adding to an accumulator though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2010, 08:41:39 PM
Tipp/KK off again! :o
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 23, 2010, 08:44:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2010, 08:41:39 PM
serious!!!

cant see our game going ahead this weekend either at Parnell. weather is bad at the minute
Post by: orangeman on February 23, 2010, 09:25:14 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2010, 08:41:39 PM

When was it called off ??