GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: wherefromreferee? on February 08, 2010, 01:35:39 PM

Title: Dublin v Derry NFL Division 1 Parnell Park Sat 13th Feb
Post by: wherefromreferee? on February 08, 2010, 01:35:39 PM
Derry fresh from destroying Tyrone, Dublin after beating the Cute Hoors in Kerry for the first time in 28yrs.  Please discuss.
Title: Re: Dublin v Derry NFL Division 1 Parnell Park Sat 13th Feb
Post by: orangeman on February 08, 2010, 01:36:14 PM
Derry by 4 points.
Post by: heffo on February 08, 2010, 01:55:07 PM
Derry looked v impressive on Sat night without P Bradley.

They also gave us a footballing lesson in the same fixture last year - Derry by four.
Post by: Paddy1804 on February 08, 2010, 02:07:21 PM
Will be much tighter than Saturday  ;) but will be another good test for a young and developing side...  Here's hoping for another good result
Post by: Bensars on February 08, 2010, 02:12:23 PM
Dont know if derry will carry the same degree of preapartion and hunger into this game as they did against Tyrone. i would imagine that prepartion over the last 6-8 weeks had been geared towards the National league opener.

Dublin on the other hand are bound have have a bit of confidence from scrapping out a win against Kerry in their own back yard. 28 years since they had done it, and with new young team, playing northern style blanket defence.

Although the some Dubs are trying to play down their expectations, i would fancy Dublin by 2.
Post by: Declan on February 08, 2010, 02:25:56 PM
Based on what I saw over the weekend. Derry by a few
Post by: RedBolts on February 08, 2010, 02:39:17 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 08, 2010, 02:12:23 PM
Dont know if derry will carry the same degree of preapartion and hunger into this game as they did against Tyrone. i would imagine that prepartion over the last 6-8 weeks had been geared towards the National league opener.

Dublin on the other hand are bound have have a bit of confidence from scrapping out a win against Kerry in their own back yard. 28 years since they had done it, and with new young team, playing northern style blanket defence.

Although the some Dubs are trying to play down their expectations, i would fancy Dublin by 2.

From what i've heard Derry were actually pretty low-key heading into the Tyrone game, and weren't preparing specifically for it. The aim is to blood a few new players. Avoid relegation. Played better than Tyrone. Simple as that.

Another tough game on Saturday. Cannot wait.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 02:50:06 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on February 08, 2010, 01:35:39 PM
Derry fresh from destroying Tyrone, Dublin after beating the Cute Hoors in Kerry for the first time in 28yrs.  Please discuss.

The under card before the major powers do battle in the championship  8)
Post by: clawaddy on February 08, 2010, 03:17:28 PM
Really looking forward to this game  - both sides had good wins last week. Derry were excellent in this fixture last year, especially Eoin Bradley and Enda Lynn.  Why is this a home game for Dublin this year - It hought the fixtures were reversed each year?
Post by: INDIANA on February 08, 2010, 03:20:09 PM
Quote from: Bensars on February 08, 2010, 02:12:23 PM

derry by about 4-5 points. Dublin will find it hard to replicate yesterday within 6 days. And derry are better prepared than kerry at the moment. Derry will also be better clued in how to break down a blanket defence than kerry. Isn't kerry's strength and never will be.
Fennell will also get a real examination against Derry. I think I'd have handled quirke yesterday who I find hard to believe is kerry standard.
Really think derry have finally found the right positions for the likes of Mark Lynch. Dublin will look to build on the success of the newcomers again next week.
Just fancy Derry to be honest. It will take an awful lot of convincing for me to believe Dublin are again capable of living with the top teams.
Post by: orangeman on February 08, 2010, 03:36:14 PM
Listening to the radio this morning, 2FM Paddy Mc Kenna was saying that the Dublin team are training TWICE a day at the moment.

Morning and evening he said.

Was he right ?
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 08, 2010, 03:40:03 PM
cute hoorism from Heffo and Indy !!!

Should be a good game, two teams with a bit of confidence and hitting form for the league !

dont know the half of Dublins forwards and Fennell is showing Gilroy and the DCB what they missed out on last season by their lack of b*lls !

Looking forward to it. one or two points either way.
You dont follow Derry for over 30 years without becomming very sceptical and wary of a spontaneous collapse !  :D
Dont think it will happen, but that malaise has been a problem for a long time now !
Post by: INDIANA on February 08, 2010, 03:41:23 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 08, 2010, 03:36:14 PM
Listening to the radio this morning, 2FM Paddy Mc Kenna was saying that the Dublin team are training TWICE a day at the moment.

Was he right ?
yep twice tuesdays and thursdays. thats why I'm not getting carried away because the other counties fitness wise will catch up very soon. also that isn't sustainable over a long period of time. dublin need to won next saturday to take advantage of whatever fitness edge they currently have
Post by: Sonny Joe on February 08, 2010, 03:58:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 02:50:06 PM

are Tyrone on the slide. I know its hard to answer and only the c'ship will tell. But plyrs at this level have a life span and a high number of Tyrone players have been to the well many times. But they will answer those question s come the summer. Tyrone have now lost to Dryy, Donegal and of course Cork last summer. Very unTyrone like!!
Post by: The Aristocrat on February 08, 2010, 05:04:55 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 08, 2010, 03:36:14 PM

Was he right ?

They only did it for two weeks, that has stopped now.
Post by: HULK HOGAN on February 08, 2010, 10:55:42 PM
IS THIS GAME IN CROKE PARK I CANT WAIT TIL ENDA IS BACK WE WILL SCORE MORE!
Post by: The Aristocrat on February 08, 2010, 11:46:50 PM
Quote from: HULK HOGAN on February 08, 2010, 10:55:42 PM
IS THIS GAME IN CROKE PARK I CANT WAIT TIL ENDA IS BACK WE WILL SCORE MORE!

ITS IN PARNELL PARK AS THE TITLE STATES.
Post by: robertemmet on February 09, 2010, 10:13:32 AM
Are there any bars in London that have Setanta which are shopwing the Derry v Dublin game at the weekend?
Post by: Rawhide on February 09, 2010, 12:10:44 PM
According to the fixtures in the Irish News P. Hughes is the ref for the Dublin V Derry game. Cringe, he is as bad a ref as there is going at county level. He always seems to bring attention to himself for the decesions he makes. Seen him ref the Poly v Sig game, what a joke. He is sure to have a direct impact on the result on saturday. I feel sorry for the two teams. How is he able to get these games.
Post by: achtungantrim on February 09, 2010, 03:31:34 PM
Quote from: Sonny Joe on February 08, 2010, 03:58:56 PM

are Tyrone on the slide. I know its hard to answer and only the c'ship will tell. But plyrs at this level have a life span and a high number of Tyrone players have been to the well many times. But they will answer those question s come the summer. Tyrone have now lost to Dryy, Donegal and of course Cork last summer. Very unTyrone like!!

i said around the kildare quarter-final last year that tyrone looked like a team in decline. they continue to  look slow and one-paced. the legs are getting older and they have too many smurfs that can be out-muscled. they need more 6ft+, fast players that are skillful and comfortable on the ball a la kerry and cork. dublin will be a force this year, mark my words. i'll predict now that there won't be an ulster team involved at the semi-final stage of the championship. antrim will do well again, and will be a better match for tyrone in the ulster first round.

as for dublin v derry, the dubs by 4. derry don't have the steel required to match the major teams this year. the main champ contenders will be: cork, kerry, dublin, mayo and kildare.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 09, 2010, 05:13:49 PM
Quote from: achtungantrim on February 09, 2010, 03:31:34 PM

as for dublin v derry, the dubs by 4. derry don't have the steel required to match the major teams this year. the main champ contenders will be: cork, kerry, dublin, mayo and kildare.

Well Mayo as usual go from one extreme to the other in peoples estimations. Mayo are NEVER as bad as people (esp. outside the county make us out to be) & rarely as good as people (esp. inside the county make us out to be).

I don't think Kildare will do as well as people expect this year, I reckon Derry and Tyrone (even if ageing) to do better than them.

Yes Mayo & Dublin will be dangerous, maybe one will reach the Final but will NOT win Sam.

It's between Kerry & Cork and maybe a resurgent Tyrone.

Galway may feature once they start doing some ball and cardio training.
Post by: Fr. Cyril McDuff on February 10, 2010, 11:35:27 AM

i said around the kildare quarter-final last year that tyrone looked like a team in decline. they continue to  look slow and one-paced. the legs are getting older and they have too many smurfs that can be out-muscled. they need more 6ft+, fast players that are skillful and comfortable on the ball a la kerry and cork. dublin will be a force this year, mark my words. i'll predict now that there won't be an ulster team involved at the semi-final stage of the championship. antrim will do well again, and will be a better match for tyrone in the ulster first round.

Are all you county managers reading? Simple as that. Just gather up all those Sean Cavanagh clones that are playing junior football around your county and bob's your uncle.
Post by: robertemmet on February 10, 2010, 01:07:20 PM
QuoteAre there any bars in London that have Setanta which are shopwing the Derry v Dublin game at the weekend?

Any exiles in london able to help me?
Post by: achtungantrim on February 10, 2010, 01:17:35 PM
Quote from: Fr. Cyril McDuff on February 10, 2010, 11:35:27 AM

Are all you county managers reading? Simple as that. Just gather up all those Sean Cavanagh clones that are playing junior football around your county and bob's your uncle.

well, cork and kerry did, fr. cyril  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 01:56:10 PM

Kerry don't have  a huge amount over 6ft. So thats bullshit already. Cork sacrificed skill for size in a couple of positions and it won them nothing. So bang goes that theory.
Post by: Atticus_Finch on February 10, 2010, 02:26:51 PM
Quote from: robertemmet on February 10, 2010, 01:07:20 PM
QuoteAre there any bars in London that have Setanta which are shopwing the Derry v Dublin game at the weekend?

Any exiles in london able to help me?

What part of London are you in ?

I'll give you the name of a few good irish bars in different areas of London that will be showing it:

The White Bear - Kennington
The Kingdom - Kilburn
The c**k Tavern -  Euston
Marquis of Granby - Leicester Square (bang in the city centre)

I'd say the O'neill chain of bars would be showing it as well.  But i'd sooner sell my soul than watch a game in one of these "irish" bars
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 10, 2010, 02:37:19 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 01:56:10 PM
Kerry don't have  a huge amount over 6ft. So thats bullshit already. Cork sacrificed skill for size in a couple of positions and it won them nothing. So bang goes that theory.
Jeez Indy - I would have said that Kerry dont have that many under 6ft tall !
Only Darren osullivan is small, Declan osull prob the next smallest and hes about 5' 10"
a couple 5'11" I think the rest 6' or more
Post by: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 02:47:31 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 10, 2010, 02:37:19 PM
Only Darren osullivan is small, Declan osull prob the next smallest and hes about 5' 10"

Ranges from 5ft 10 to about 6ft average. I think if you look at the standard IC profile thats the general size.
The point being he's talking about putting forward some giants like Cork did last year who aren't very good footballers. And it was their undoing in my view. All the Kerry lads can play. I've seen Dublin going down that proposed route before and it was a disaster.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 10, 2010, 03:10:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 02:47:31 PM

Ranges from 5ft 10 to about 6ft average. I think if you look at the standard IC profile thats the general size.
The point being he's talking about putting forward some giants like Cork did last year who aren't very good footballers. And it was their undoing in my view. All the Kerry lads can play. I've seen Dublin going down that proposed route before and it was a disaster.
fair enough - think Darren os brings down the average considerably !!
Kerry lads are quite big and can play !! (obv)

Dublins problem wasnt the size of players - its that they were athletes more than footballers.
I still think the likes of hubbard are too small for IC - great little player but just too small.
Post by: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 03:19:59 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 10, 2010, 03:10:44 PM

Dublins problem wasnt the size of players - its that they were athletes more than footballers.
I still think the likes of hubbard are too small for IC - great little player but just too small.

I wouldn't prioritise size over ability bar a few positions. Seen Dublin  go down that road too much before.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 03:26:11 PM

That's nonsense. Cork were the best team in the country last year - skill and size - and the only thing that beat them was psychological
Post by: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 03:33:55 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 03:26:11 PM

That's nonsense. Cork were the best team in the country last year - skill and size - and the only thing that beat them was psychological

No they weren't because they were runners up. Thats basic stuff really. The best team every year wins the all-ireland.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 03:47:28 PM

Seems everything these other boys say about you is rightl...

So they lost to kerry in the final last year because of a paucity of skill, arrived at due to selecting size instead. All this despite outplaying kerry comfortably in munster?
Post by: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 03:54:42 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 03:47:28 PM

So they lost to kerry in the final last year because of a paucity of skill, arrived at due to selecting size instead. All this despite outplaying kerry comfortably in munster?

So a Munster title is more important than the All-Ireland? By that token Dublin must be the bext team in Ireland having won their province 5 years in a row. Cork were outplayed for 60mins in the all-ireland final. Kicking the ball over the bar is a skill in itself. The fact that Cork couldn't do it reflects their inferior ball skills to kerry. Kerry and Tyrone kick the ball over the bar better than everyone else. Hence the reason they are the 2 teams of the decade. To bracket Cork as a good as Kerry with no all-ireland title behind them is an insult to Kerry.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 10, 2010, 04:16:59 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 03:19:59 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 10, 2010, 03:10:44 PM

I wouldn't prioritise size over ability bar a few positions. Seen Dublin  go down that road too much before.
two fellas with equal pace and ability - size can then make a huge difference !
Post by: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 09:45:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 10, 2010, 03:54:42 PM

So a Munster title is more important than the All-Ireland? By that token Dublin must be the bext team in Ireland having won their province 5 years in a row. Cork were outplayed for 60mins in the all-ireland final. Kicking the ball over the bar is a skill in itself. The fact that Cork couldn't do it reflects their inferior ball skills to kerry. Kerry and Tyrone kick the ball over the bar better than everyone else. Hence the reason they are the 2 teams of the decade. To bracket Cork as a good as Kerry with no all-ireland title behind them is an insult to Kerry.

Just what are you talking about?
Who said a munster title was more important than an all ireland?
Cork lost the ai final in their heads.

Give me examples of how cork sacraficed skill for size...
Post by: Bogball XV on February 11, 2010, 12:34:03 AM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 09:45:24 PM

the team with the better forwards won - Cork's forwards weren't only worse in their heads, they were not technically as skillful as the Kerry forwards.  I don't know if they'd have done worse by selecting other smaller players or not, they probably wouldn't have made the final in that case though.
Post by: Hound on February 11, 2010, 08:38:55 AM
Dublin team named:

Michael  Savage           
Paul Conlon                                Rory O'Carroll                      Michael Fitzsimons
Paul Griffin (Capt)                     Cian O'Sullivan                          James McCarthy
Eamon Fennell                  Ross McConnell
Alan Hubbard                          Michael McAuley                           Paul Flynn
David Henry                             Blaine Kelly                     Kevin McManamon

Subs: Stephen Cluxton, Conor McCormack, Paul Casey, Sean Murray, Dara Nelson, Denis Carrigan, Tiernan Diamond, Bernard Brogan, Dean Kelly, Kevin Bonner, Brendan McManamon, Dean Rock, James Brogan.

Injured: Philly McMahon, Bryan Cullen, Alan Brogan, Barry Cahill, Ger Brennan, Conal Keaney, Darren Daly, Pat Burke, Darren Magee, Denis Bastic, Tomas Quinn, Ross O'Carroll.

I see Paddy Andrews in the paper today for some GPA charity thingy. Is Paddy not on the panel?
Post by: INDIANA on February 11, 2010, 10:32:49 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 11, 2010, 08:38:55 AM
Dublin team named:

Michael  Savage           
Paul Conlon                                Rory O'Carroll                      Michael Fitzsimons
Paul Griffin (Capt)                     Cian O'Sullivan                          James McCarthy
Eamon Fennell                  Ross McConnell
Alan Hubbard                          Michael McAuley                           Paul Flynn
David Henry                             Blaine Kelly                     Kevin McManamon

Subs: Stephen Cluxton, Conor McCormack, Paul Casey, Sean Murray, Dara Nelson, Denis Carrigan, Tiernan Diamond, Bernard Brogan, Dean Kelly, Kevin Bonner, Brendan McManamon, Dean Rock, James Brogan.

Injured: Philly McMahon, Bryan Cullen, Alan Brogan, Barry Cahill, Ger Brennan, Conal Keaney, Darren Daly, Pat Burke, Darren Magee, Denis Bastic, Tomas Quinn, Ross O'Carroll.

I see Paddy Andrews in the paper today for some GPA charity thingy. Is Paddy not on the panel?

Unwritten rule Hound that DCU players aren't playing because of sigerson on wednesday. Shhhhh!
Post by: INDIANA on February 11, 2010, 10:37:49 AM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on February 10, 2010, 09:45:24 PM

I don't rate Pearse O Neill highly personally as a skilled forward. Fintan Gould for example would be a better footballer for me.
This is a thread about Dublin v Derry by the way.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on February 11, 2010, 10:43:04 AM

I'm simply replying to a post you made so if you've an issue with the thread content, look in the mirror.

That's a very poor example. Fintan Gould is 6'2", powerful and pacy. You think he didn't get his place for physical deficiencies?
Post by: INDIANA on February 11, 2010, 03:03:35 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on February 11, 2010, 10:43:04 AM

I'm simply replying to a post you made so if you've an issue with the thread content, look in the mirror.

That's a very poor example. Fintan Gould is 6'2", powerful and pacy. You think he didn't get his place for physical deficiencies?

Its a very good example- 6ft 5 and 16 stone. Great physical attributes- limited football skills. Cork need a playmaker at 11 not a battering ram in my view. Fintan Gould is a footballer.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 11, 2010, 03:14:56 PM

none of my business, but...

Gould isn't a good enough footballer to make that cork team. It's an ironic example to pick actually because if counihan was going for physicality, the likes of gould would be playing wing forward instead of kerrigan or kelly and cussen would be playing a lot more.

Cork happen to have a lot of big fellas that can play ball.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on February 12, 2010, 12:00:41 PM
Derry team named...

1 Barry Gillis Machaire Fiolta
2 Brian Og McAlary Cill Ria
3 Gerard O'Kane Gleann An Iolair
4 Dermot Mc Bride Baile Na Scríne
5 Charlie Kielt Cill Ria
6 Mark Lynch Beannchar
7 Liam Hinphey Dun Geimhin
8 Fergal Doherty Baile Eochaidh
9 Patsy Bradley Sleacht Neil
10 Joe Diver Baile Eochaidh
11 James Kielt Cill Ria
12 Andrew Mc Cartney Baile Mhic Uiginn
13 Enda Lynn An Grianloch
14 Caolan O' Boyle Leamhthaigh
15 Aidy Mc Laughlin Carraig Bhan
16 Martin Dunne Baile Stíl
17 Michael Mc Goldrick Baile Eochaidh
18 Mark Craig Dun Geimhin
19 Barry Mc Guigan Sleacht Neil
20 Kevin McCloy Leamhthaigh
21 Brian Mullan Gleann An Iolair
22 Seamus Bradley Baile Na Scríne
23 Eoghan Brown Baile Eochaidh
24 Lee Moore Carraig Bhan
Post by: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 12:59:56 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 11, 2010, 03:14:56 PM

none of my business, but...

Gould isn't a good enough footballer to make that cork team. It's an ironic example to pick actually because if counihan was going for physicality, the likes of gould would be playing wing forward instead of kerrigan or kelly and cussen would be playing a lot more.

Cork happen to have a lot of big fellas that can play ball.

Paul Kerrigan is a big fella physically. paddy kelly should be centre forward. He's the class act of the half forwards and he's wasted on the wing. at 11 he would transform the cork team.
Post by: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 01:01:13 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on February 12, 2010, 12:00:41 PM
Derry team named...

1 Barry Gillis Machaire Fiolta
2 Brian Og McAlary Cill Ria
3 Gerard O'Kane Gleann An Iolair
4 Dermot Mc Bride Baile Na Scríne
5 Charlie Kielt Cill Ria
6 Mark Lynch Beannchar
7 Liam Hinphey Dun Geimhin
8 Fergal Doherty Baile Eochaidh
9 Patsy Bradley Sleacht Neil
10 Joe Diver Baile Eochaidh
11 James Kielt Cill Ria
12 Andrew Mc Cartney Baile Mhic Uiginn
13 Enda Lynn An Grianloch
14 Caolan O' Boyle Leamhthaigh
15 Aidy Mc Laughlin Carraig Bhan
16 Martin Dunne Baile Stíl
17 Michael Mc Goldrick Baile Eochaidh
18 Mark Craig Dun Geimhin
19 Barry Mc Guigan Sleacht Neil
20 Kevin McCloy Leamhthaigh
21 Brian Mullan Gleann An Iolair
22 Seamus Bradley Baile Na Scríne
23 Eoghan Brown Baile Eochaidh
24 Lee Moore Carraig Bhan

No Eoin bradley- presume suspended. Don't know much about the Derry team up front bar lynn and kielt. Seem to be as experimental as ourselves up there. Very hard game to call.
Post by: heffo on February 12, 2010, 01:36:56 PM
Very hard one to call - I can't see McCauley being given as much freedom tomorrow night as he was last week in Killarney..
Post by: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 02:19:51 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 12, 2010, 01:36:56 PM
Very hard one to call - I can't see McCauley being given as much freedom tomorrow night as he was last week in Killarney..

I like derry's spine at the back. Lynch might finally deliver on his class at 6 and O Kane is a super player anyway. Fergal Doherty will give Fennell a real examination this week. But without the Bradleys and Muldoon not sure about them up front. Kielt and Lynn are very good players. Have to fair and say Bradley didn't have a huge influence last week so maybe he won't be a massive loss to them.

I'll call it any say Dublin should win at home if Derry are missing 3 of their better forwards. But my gut instinct tells me Dublin will lose.
Don't ask me why.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 12, 2010, 03:06:41 PM
an experimental Dublin side against a Derry side lacking scoring power.
Could go either way. Dubs will be hard beaten if they replicate how they played against kerry (ok who were also quite experimental).
confidence andcontinuity for the Dubs will be hard to overlook.
If Derry had a couple of last weeks FF line I'd say Darry, now its hard to see where their scores will come from. Then again the FF line wasnt doing much last week - until the last 15 mins.

See yez in parnell pk. its 7.30 throw in isnt it?
Post by: heffo on February 12, 2010, 03:28:59 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 12, 2010, 02:19:51 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 12, 2010, 01:36:56 PM

Dublin should win at home if Derry are missing 3 of their better forwards. But my gut instinct tells me Dublin will lose.
Don't ask me why.

I think that sums up most Dublin supporters feelings on the game
Post by: doirebhoy on February 13, 2010, 07:22:29 PM
is it streamed anywere online???
Post by: omagh_gael on February 13, 2010, 07:31:09 PM
Cant find a streamed link...this is the best i can find...radio commentry

http://www.near.ie/webcam.html
Post by: Maguire01 on February 13, 2010, 08:10:16 PM
Got good odds on Derry for this. Made a few quid on this game last year.
Post by: Declan on February 13, 2010, 09:09:22 PM
Dublin 1-11 Derry 0-7 full time
Post by: Hound on February 14, 2010, 09:43:50 AM
Strange game.

Dublin started very well to lead 4-1 I think. Then we seemed to make a decision not to support the 2 forwards. A 2 man full forward line I can understand, but a two man forward line, with nobody supporting them is puke. That style of play as well as being very frustrating to watch turned a 4-1 lead into a 7-5 deficit.

We rectified it somewhat it in the second half and copped on that to score you need to have men a bit closer to goal, and we played quite well in the last quarter.

Under the circumstance of so little support for a lot of the game I thought Kevin McManamon and Blaine Kelly did really well, and hopefully both will continue to progress and be genuine attacking options come championship. Full back line did fine and well worth a few more outings, the Cuala lad had a very good second half. Cian O'Sullivan is clearly an excellent footballer, but will need to figure when to pass and when to run.

I wouldnt have Alan Hubbard, Tiernan Diamond or Kevin Bonner anywhere near the team.

Derry were wojous. In the second half in particular, they simply put up no opposition, which also makes it very hard to judge the Dubs.
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2010, 10:04:49 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 14, 2010, 09:43:50 AM
Strange game.

Dublin started very well to lead 4-1 I think. Then we seemed to make a decision not to support the 2 forwards. A 2 man full forward line I can understand, but a two man forward line, with nobody supporting them is puke. That style of play as well as being very frustrating to watch turned a 4-1 lead into a 7-5 deficit.

We rectified it somewhat it in the second half and copped on that to score you need to have men a bit closer to goal, and we played quite well in the last quarter.

Under the circumstance of so little support for a lot of the game I thought Kevin McManamon and Blaine Kelly did really well, and hopefully both will continue to progress and be genuine attacking options come championship. Full back line did fine and well worth a few more outings, the Cuala lad had a very good second half. Cian O'Sullivan is clearly an excellent footballer, but will need to figure when to pass and when to run.

I wouldnt have Alan Hubbard, Tiernan Diamond or Kevin Bonner anywhere near the team.

Derry were wojous. In the second half in particular, they simply put up no opposition, which also makes it very hard to judge the Dubs.

McHugh on the wireless was fairly giving off regarding the tactics of both sides in the first half. He reckoned it was anti-football at its worst and that punters should have their money refunded.

McConville labelled Dublin the Andy Murray of football.
Post by: The Aristocrat on February 14, 2010, 01:32:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 14, 2010, 10:04:49 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 14, 2010, 09:43:50 AM
Strange game.

McHugh on the wireless was fairly giving off regarding the tactics of both sides in the first half. He reckoned it was anti-football at its worst and that punters should have their money refunded.

McConville labelled Dublin the Andy Murray of football.

Just played them at their own game. Last year i was embarressed leaving Parnell when Derry steam roled us in Parnell. Fergal doherty destroyed our midfield that day, last night he didnt get a sniff.

McConville who? has been.