Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 10:21:34 AM

Title: Brian Kerr brings Faroes to Belfast
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 10:21:34 AM
Seems like Mr Kerr is looking forward to bringing his charges to Belfast:

Quote"If we weren't to play Ireland, I'm happy to be playing Northern Ireland. Friends have been on to say that the bus for Belfast is ready," he added.

I wonder if his friends have been talking to the boys over on OWC, especially MD_HNISC:

QuoteI already cannot wait to give this complete and utter c**t the most vile and disgusting abuse ever at both games.

Football for All!

/Jim.
Title: Re: Brian Kerr brings Faroes to Belfast
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 10:23:46 AM
Jim you sound surprised by this? Have I not being trying for years to expalin the reality of Windsor Park?

As for the rest of us, if gives us an extra incentive to see a team do well against the North of Ireland...as if that was needed.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 10:29:34 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 10:23:46 AM
Jim you sound surprised by this? Have I not being trying for years to expalin the reality of Windsor Park?

As for the rest of us, if gives us an extra incentive to see a team do well against the North of Ireland...as if that was needed.

Tony-is Kerr not a total Judas going to manage another country or do you just keep that bile for your fellow county men?   
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 10:37:39 AM
I can't believe that comment

Er Kerr sacked by FAI, no chance of being reinstated, accepts alernative employment with another Country

The three I refer to were offered the job by their own county (or at least the chance to talk about the job), but declined to do so,  preferring management jobs in other counties.

Now surely even you can see the fundamental difference here?
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 10:38:46 AM

Tony,

I read about their campaign on their website.  I'm sure that making the place more welcoming to all (including families) would mean that they would not encourage "vile and disgusting abuse" to anyone.

So yes I'm surprised that this kind of thing is left unchecked on their site.

/Jim.

(EDIT: I see there have been replies but they seem more worried about the media reporting this abuse than it actually occurring).   
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 08, 2010, 10:42:13 AM
Is kind of ironic considering the abuse you have been spouting against three Armagh men that did so much for their county. Doesn't have to be foul language to be bile.
Post by: ONeill on February 08, 2010, 10:56:13 AM
What do you call someone from there? A pharaoh?
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 10:58:35 AM
Its not ironic, Kerr was sacked and wasn't offered the chance to manage his own country again, the three I'm referring to were offered the chance to at least talk about managing their own county. No analogy, no comparison whatsover here.

If Peter Mc Donnell was offered another County management post he would have my best wishes.

Jim now you see what Football for All was all about, simply a PR exercise, nothing more or nothing less. Kerr also spent a lot of time up North (isn't he from Belfast originally or his father was) at the invitation of IFA/Linfield. Thats the thanks he gets >:(
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on February 08, 2010, 12:17:56 PM
I think Kerr's father came from the docks area of Belfast.
Post by: Rav67 on February 08, 2010, 01:42:51 PM
Would there be any reason for them to hate Kerr? (apart from birthplace/religion etc)
Just wondering...
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 01:50:03 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on February 08, 2010, 01:42:51 PM
Would there be any reason for them to hate Kerr? (apart from birthplace/religion etc)
Just wondering...

He worked with FAI under-age teams who have poached over 1 million NI starlets since 1990.

/Jim.
Post by: Rav67 on February 08, 2010, 01:53:23 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 01:50:03 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on February 08, 2010, 01:42:51 PM
Just wondering...

He worked with FAI under-age teams who have poached over 1 million NI starlets since 1990.

/Jim.

Ah I see.  A man in the course of his employment legitimately maximising his resources.  **** indeed.
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2010, 02:06:33 PM
No, just being a fenian and former manager of that "Foreign team across the border" is suffice. I'll bet there's widespread collections of 20p pieces happening already.

Actually being a keen follower of Italian football and the national team I was half thinking of going along to see them at Windsor Park, providing it doesn't clash with one of the real Ireland team's games
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 09, 2010, 08:27:21 AM
Could be an interesting game when the Irish go the Faroes. Read an interesting piece about the Faroes game against Lithuania, which they won 2-1. The game was moved to Toftir, over an hour from the nearest hotel. If the game is fixed for winter the Irish could be in big trouble.

As for MD_HNISC, not overly surprised. Disappointing though that that is his priority. Will be intersting to see how long it is before we get a mention on the same thread.
Post by: rossie mad on February 09, 2010, 10:07:57 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 10:21:34 AM
Seems like Mr Kerr is looking forward to bringing his charges to Belfast:

Quote"If we weren't to play Ireland, I'm happy to be playing Northern Ireland. Friends have been on to say that the bus for Belfast is ready," he added.

I wonder if his friends have been talking to the boys over on OWC, especially MD_HNISC:

QuoteI already cannot wait to give this complete and utter c**t the most vile and disgusting abuse ever at both games.

Football for All!

/Jim.

Is this fella for real?
Tried to get on this site this morning to read the thread but you have to registrer first and it seems impossible if you put in a gaa related user name.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 09, 2010, 10:27:28 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 09, 2010, 08:27:21 AM
As for MD_HNISC, not overly surprised. Disappointing though that that is his priority. Will be intersting to see how long it is before we get a mention on the same thread.

On normal form the only mention will be one of indignation that the critics of the comment are motivated purely by bigotry and hatred of OWC, a dig at some aspect of the GAA, a self-righteous bit of sarcasm such as "and we're the bigots" and a suitable roll-eyes emoticon.

Interestingly on the same thread the claim is made that as a supporter you have the "right" to abuse opposition players or managers if the motivation is correct.  I wonder is that a soccer thing or an OWC thing? 

Regardless, "vile and disgusting abuse" from any quarter, towards any target is surely inconsistent with "Football for all".  Imagine explain to a child that said abuse is okay because it's directed at someone who selected a couple of 17year old Northern Ireland lads for his squads ten years ago.

/Jim.

[EDIT] For Rossie mad (You sewer-dweller):

From Roger@OWC:

QuoteBrian Kerr is a former manager of a rival team who targeted our players under his watch. If people give him a bad reception then you can't fault them and nor could any media in any country. Fearon and Co on his gaaboard will make a lot of this no doubt but no one should listen to those on that sewer of a board. I'm not sure anyone actually does listen to those sewer dwellers. Personally I can't say I'm fussed on Kerr for his targeting of us, but he is a non-entity managing a minnow who we simply need to beat and that should be the focus.

5 of the Queen's pounds will let you register to make the point about the ever-so subtle difference between "bad reception" and "most vile and disgusting abuse ever".
Post by: rossie mad on February 09, 2010, 10:39:50 AM

Who called me a sewer dweller?
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2010, 10:44:21 AM
Quote from: rossie mad on February 09, 2010, 10:07:57 AM
Tried to get on this site this morning to read the thread but you have to registrer first and it seems impossible if you put in a gaa related user name.

I wouldn't, if I were you. I've never seen the site, as I'd have as much interest in it as I have in professional crochet, but I remember reading here that the administrators have form in releasing the personal details and addresses of members who registered in supposed confidence. That's scary, especially given some of the types who might fetch up on that site - the types that the organisers are laudably working to eradicate from NI soccer support.

To be fair, though, Jim it wouldn't be hard for anyone from OWC to go back from here armed with lunatic quotes from some of our headbangers and we'd be a bit peeved if they were taken as representative of the majority attitude here.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 09, 2010, 10:44:38 AM
Quote from: rossie mad on February 09, 2010, 10:39:50 AM

Apparently we all are over here.  Read Roger's post.

/Jim.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 09, 2010, 10:48:38 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 09, 2010, 10:44:21 AM
To be fair, though, Jim it wouldn't be hard for anyone from OWC to go back from here armed with lunatic quotes from some of our headbangers and we'd be a bit peeved if they were taken as representative of the majority attitude here.

Point taken Hardy.  I was being a tad mischievous to be honest.  That said on the same thread no-one has expressed misgivings about the idea of abusing someone, merely how it might be misrepresented by interested parties.

Also I did acknowledge that this idea of abuse could be more of soccer issue than an OWC issue.

/Jim.
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2010, 10:54:58 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 09, 2010, 10:48:38 AM

Point taken Hardy.  I was being a tad mischievous to be honest.  That said on the same thread no-one has expressed misgivings about the idea of abusing someone, merely how it might be misrepresented by interested parties

Also I did acknowledge that this idea of abuse could be more of soccer issue than an OWC issue.

/Jim.

I don't know anything about OWC (except what I read here), but I do know that organised abuse of opponents in soccer is endemic. As far as I can gather, for a lot of them, it seems to be the main reason they go to matches.
Post by: rossie mad on February 09, 2010, 10:57:16 AM
Ok point taken just cant get my head around that post.
I mean in my eyes thats football hoolinganism and i thought those dark days were left behind in the eighties.

If this poster says this and its not condemned would it be seen that most people going to that game would be baying for kerrs blood.

Im sure kerr didnt poach any players as im sure they made the choice themselves.
Its just an excuse in my eyes for spreading hatred.

Post by: saffron sam2 on February 09, 2010, 11:11:25 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 09, 2010, 10:44:38 AM
Quote from: rossie mad on February 09, 2010, 10:39:50 AM

Apparently we all are over here.  Read Roger's post.

/Jim.

That's our Roger I take it. Disappointing, but not surprising attitude from him. Still, 'tis one for others to take up with him when he returns here.
Post by: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 11:13:11 AM
Soccer players and indeed managers are abused the World over. Robbie Keane will get pelters when he plays at Ibrox and to be fair, Rangers high profile signings in the past got pelters at Parkhead.

The main bone of contention though is that the North of Ireland supporters (supported by their mono cultural allies in the media up here, eg the Belfast Telegraph editorial only yesterday referred to them as being "Champion" ::) have made great play out of the fact that they are non sectarian, have eradicated a problem that has existed since time immemorial in Northern Irish soccer and the laughable suggestion that anyone can attend Windsor Park now and feel comfortable. All plainly rubbish as I've gone to great lengths to explain, and no doubt there will be a sectarian element to the abuse that Kerr will face (though having made reasonable progress to date with the Faroes, I wouldn't rule him out of a move to a higher proflle job in club management, thus sparing him the dubious pleasure of a visit to Windsor Park). of course the OWC crowd will claim the abuse was motivated by "player poaching" (they fail to see that players make their own choices and very often these are influenced by the sectarianism endemic in North of Ireland soccer) and not sectarianism , but the referall to this site as a "sewer" is a reasonable indication of the mindset.

Though abuse of players is not confined to soccer. Joe Kernan a couple of years ago referred to a stream of constant abuse he and the Armagh team were subjected to on a league visit to Derry, and the year before lastr, at the Ulster Championship tie in Clones between Down and Armagh, a so called Down fan had a placard mocking Oisin Mc Conville's well publicised addiction.
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2010, 01:05:19 PM
No doubt the Faroes will be targetting the Norn Iron scalp. I'd say Kerr will look for an August or September home fixture.
Some of the sewer dwellers will be having an eye on that one.

Anyone remember hearing the news of the Faroes' first competitive game, held in Sweden, when they beat Austria with a well taken goal.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoTss_6KsZk&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoTss_6KsZk&feature=related)

Post by: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 02:00:55 PM
I'll be watching that one, in front of a big fire , with coal from the bath tub, assuming the pigs in my living room don't block the tv. ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2010, 02:27:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 02:00:55 PM
I'll be watching that one, in front of a big fire , with coal from the bath tub, assuming the pigs in my living room don't block the tv. ::)
why do you keep coal in your bath tub ?
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2010, 02:35:31 PM
would agree with Jim that it is bad form that such a comment is allowed remain and from what Jim says is not attacked with the scorn it deserves by others - because the others are as complicit!

I disagree with Tony regarding such mindsets and hooliganism being prevalent in GAA circles - while we will have a few headcases/knackers they will never be on the same scale as the problems soccer has. Irish soccer has well known problems with shamrock rovers fans, there are problems off the field almost as much as on it in the north of Ireland league and I was very close to stepping into stop a few scumbags from beating up a rangers fan a few years ago myself as he was set upon purely because he was a rangers fan walking to the game in the midst of Celtic fans. ...that wasnt right and only because I feared getting my ownhead kicked I didnt attempt to stop it but such deplorable behaviour is a disgrace (I have been namy places supporting Celtic and thisis the only such incident I have seen - so obv its a problem some have with rangers whichcauses them to lose it - which is still inexcusable and still a disgrace)
A soccer problem indeed !
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2010, 02:37:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2010, 02:27:37 PM
Funny that you are curious about that but pay no heed to the pigs in the living room.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2010, 02:39:49 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 09, 2010, 02:37:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2010, 02:27:37 PM
Funny that you are curious about that but pay no heed to the pigs in the living room.
thought that was the norm in Armagh small farming freeholds...
;) :D
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 09, 2010, 02:44:42 PM

Of course if you watch it on the Beeb you will have to put up with the wall to wall coverage of "that Foreign Team".  You can have a chuckle about SammyG writing letters to the Beeb about Royal Charters and Golden Boy venting his fury about all and sundry.

Marty might even drop you a postcard from Tórshavn Tony.

/Jim.
Post by: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 04:58:53 PM
Given that a lot of soccer games all over the world have a lot of political baggage stretching back decades, (eg Celtic Rangers, Barca Madrid etc) abuse is inevitable, but it is increasing in the GAA as well.

Jim I've had enough postcards from OWC, if only the feckers would bring me back presents from abroad!! ;D
Post by: stew on February 09, 2010, 08:13:34 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 08, 2010, 10:38:46 AM

Tony,

I read about their campaign on their website.  I'm sure that making the place more welcoming to all (including families) would mean that they would not encourage "vile and disgusting abuse" to anyone.

So yes I'm surprised that this kind of thing is left unchecked on their site.

/Jim.

(EDIT: I see there have been replies but they seem more worried about the media reporting this abuse than it actually occurring).

Why Jim, they have posted peoples personal information on their website, in fact wee marty, the chunky monkey that runs the site posted my details on there. They will stoop to nothing over there but God forbid you say one bad word about BB or in Oriors case have the gall to call the proposed new stadium 'the orange bowl'  :D and you get banned.

A lot of haters post on that site, more than their fair share thats for sure.
Post by: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 08:59:06 PM
What people from the 26 counties need to understand is that a so called "Northern Ireland" soccer team competing in international competitions like the World Cup and European Championships is arguably the only tangible perception that unionists have left, to convince (or delude)themselves and the wider world that the six counties is a "country". Hence the very name of their website "Our wee Country", hence the fact that every home game becomes an excuse for unionist triumphalism a proclamation to the world that "we exist" etc.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 10, 2010, 08:33:48 AM
The wagons have circled over there.   It would appear that everyone knows "vile and disgusting abuse" is par for the course at soccer grounds the world over.  As long as it's not motivated by sectarians it is fine.

I've been accused of telling tales out of school but personally I don't believe that "vile and disgusting abuse" has any place at sporting events, regardless of code.  And Mr. Owl (You obviously read this board), as I stated already 5 pounds is too much to pay to make that point to a bunch of people who don't want to know.

The original poster now claims "there's a perfectly healthy pantomine [sic] nasty element to being a football supporter", let's hope it more of the pantomime than "vile and disgusting".

/Jim.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 10, 2010, 08:51:26 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on February 10, 2010, 08:33:48 AM
The wagons have circled over there.   It would appear that everyone knows "vile and disgusting abuse" is par for the course at soccer grounds the world over.  As long as it's not motivated by sectarians it is fine.

I've been accused of telling tales out of school but personally I don't believe that "vile and disgusting abuse" has any place at sporting events, regardless of code.  And Mr. Owl (You obviously read this board), as I stated already 5 pounds is too much to pay to make that point to a bunch of people who don't want to know.

The original poster now claims "there's a perfectly healthy pantomine [sic] nasty element to being a football supporter", let's hope it more of the pantomime than "vile and disgusting".

/Jim.

Is "sewer dweller" healthy pantomine (sic)?

I chnaged my avatar to a picture of a sewer dweller. 'Twas either going to be that or a photograph of Roger, but I wanted to show that even sewer dwellers have standards that some (and I mean some) on that board will never come close to achieving.
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2010, 11:12:53 AM
If only you had been treated with consideration and kindness all those years ago, you might have had a chance to get out of your hovel, refuse to have 18 kids, get a job and live like Protestants.

Post by: rossie mad on February 10, 2010, 11:14:54 AM

I honestly cant believe what im reading.
Are the vast majority of northern ireland soccer supporters like this or is it a large miniority?

This is bordering on hooliganism in my book and that no one condemned the comment is beyond belief.
Would the IFA not be aware of such a site or its teachings?
Post by: wicked on February 10, 2010, 11:36:07 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2010, 11:12:53 AM
If only you had been treated with consideration and kindness all those years ago, you might have had a chance to get out of your hovel, refuse to have 18 kids, get a job and live like Protestants.

And have a car and a television set.
Post by: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 01:29:35 PM
No rossie. I would think that this guy is expressing the view of the average North of Ireland fan, its alright to abuse, but as long s there's no "sectarian motivation". They don't see the fact that a lot of players from a catholic/ nationalist background are opting to play for the FAI team precisely because of the history of sectarianism at Windsor Park.

It all boils down to the fact that the North of Ireland soccer team has become a badge of identity for many people who are more interested in politics than football and go to games to express their political identity.

I personally am not opposed to booing opposing players, if they've done a Judas or made some disparaging remark about the club I support etc, and I love the wit of soccer supporters (eg about ten years ago Graham Rix was Asstnt Manager of Chelsea and an ex Arsenal player, and he'd just been released from jail for having unlawful carnal knowledge and the Spurs fans were chanting "You're worse than Gary Glitter!! :D) but I think a line should be drawn and no player ever abused simply because of his colour, creed or sexual orientation.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 10, 2010, 02:03:23 PM
There is a lot of hate on that site. They seem to be permanently irate about something or other whether it be related to football, rugby, politics or something on the telly. I won't even mention GAA. Most of it one way or another seems to come back to Ireland.

Where is the love? ;D
Post by: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 02:09:22 PM
Yeah but the laughable thing is

They claim to be non sectarian! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 10, 2010, 02:18:36 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 10, 2010, 02:03:23 PM
There is a lot of hate on that site. They seem to be permanently irate about something or other whether it be related to football, rugby, politics or something on the telly. I won't even mention GAA. Most of it one way or another seems to come back to Ireland.

Where is the love? ;D

They are always organising boycotts of different establishments, generally because they are perceived to ignore the wee six soccer team! Sad fcuks.
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2010, 05:06:14 PM
 Apparently Kerr was supposedly the sharp edge of the FAI sectarian policy that attempted to drive a wedge between the IFA and soccer players from nationalist background. Ironic that this conspiracy theory is fully believed to have merit at a time when neanderthal behaviour was common enough practice at WP.
Considering that there is an absence of evidence that young players were actually poached during Kerr's time, are the boundaries of credulity to be further stretched by an explanation that the ace football detective's efforts were thwarted every time by the IFA buffoons?

The gentleman's agreement between the IFA and FAI fell apart around the GFA. There were a number of Northern kids who wanted to be considered for selection by the FAI and were not turned away. You have a choice of believing that the gentleman's agreement was broken by the FAI or just fell apart naturally over the course of time.

prediction     Faroes 2 Norn Iron 0     Norn Iron 1 Faroes 1

Post by: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 06:16:45 PM
Even the use of he term "poaching" and the implication of illicit activity, or bundling a lad into a car outside Windsor Park and driving him down to Dublin against his will,shows the downright arrogance of these cnuts.

No one was ever forced against their will to opt for the FAI and I suspect that had the option been available to them the likes of Jennings, Donaghy and O'Neill, even George Best would have opted for the FAI years ago. >:(

As I said before I'm pretty sute the IFA used Brian Kerr in some cosmetic cross community initiatives, and there's the thanks he gets >:(
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2010, 07:07:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 09, 2010, 11:13:11 AM
The main bone of contention though is that the North of Ireland supporters (supported by their mono cultural allies in the media up here, eg the Belfast Telegraph editorial only yesterday referred to them as being "Champion" ::) have made great play out of the fact that they are non sectarian, have eradicated a problem that has existed since time immemorial in Northern Irish soccer and the laughable suggestion that anyone can attend Windsor Park now and feel comfortable.
Why are you reading the BT? Are you looking for reasons to be offended?
Someone as sensitive as you should be more careful with what you read.
Post by: stew on February 10, 2010, 07:30:36 PM
I would love to know were the feck nifan went, I would also like his take on this situation however I think that he would probably say that a small minority of people will hurl abuse at Kerr and that the rest of the fans will tell them to shut up and watch the game.

Given the apathy surrounding rogers comments I think it is more than a few and I will be watching thezse games with great interest, I hope they leave Kerr alone.
Post by: iluvni on February 10, 2010, 08:35:43 PM

I'd imagine Kerr will get a few half-hearted jeers which will last for  about 2 seconds, then he'll be forgotten about.

As usual, Fearon and those like him will be sadly disappointed that NI fans fail to let themselves down as he'd like.
Probably wont stop the boring f**ker from crying though.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 10, 2010, 10:41:15 PM
Quote from: iluvni on February 10, 2010, 08:35:43 PM

I'd imagine Kerr will get a few half-hearted jeers which will last for  about 2 seconds, then he'll be forgotten about.

As usual, Fearon and those like him will be sadly disappointed that NI fans fail to let themselves down as he'd like.
Probably wont stop the boring f**ker from crying though.

There is no-one like Anthony Fearon Esq.
Post by: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 10:57:37 PM
"will last for  about 2 seconds, then he'll be forgotten about." Just like the North of Ireland's Euro Campaign ;D

The Faroes North of Ireland games will probably decide who finishes bottom of the group. The Faroes have taken points of the six counties previously, when they (ie the 

Post by: MW on February 11, 2010, 12:06:08 AM

Where is the love? ;D

Hmm. Discussion board, heal thyself. As I might say if I were an internet-age Galiliean preacher-faith healer.
Post by: stew on February 11, 2010, 12:30:59 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 10, 2010, 10:57:37 PM
"will last for  about 2 seconds, then he'll be forgotten about." Just like the North of Ireland's Euro Campaign ;D

The Faroes North of Ireland games will probably decide who finishes bottom of the group. The Faroes have taken points of the six counties previously, when they (ie the

I think he will get stick from start to finish tbh. The north will not finish at the bottom of the group and they might even be fit to finish third.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 11, 2010, 12:39:00 AM
Quote from: MW on February 11, 2010, 12:06:08 AM

Where is the love? ;D

Hmm. Discussion board, heal thyself. As I might say if I were an internet-age Galiliean preacher-faith healer.

Welcome back MW, funny you pop in now from last being here New Years.
Care to comment on the point/statement in question, or would you rather use Galwaybayboy as deflection?
Post by: stew on February 11, 2010, 01:08:06 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 11, 2010, 12:39:00 AM

Where is the love? ;D

Care to comment on the point/statement in question, or would you rather use Galwaybayboy as deflection?

Thats actually a typical owc tactic, they do it in here all the time.

Boys like mw are some craic, by the time they are finished deflecting not only is the issue of the day not owc's fault but it is the GAA's.  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on February 11, 2010, 09:00:46 AM
I think by the neames he'll be called at Wndsor Park, Brian Kerr will be mistaken for his Spanish cousin, Juan Kerr ;D
Post by: Rossfan on February 11, 2010, 06:38:44 PM
Quote from: stew on February 11, 2010, 01:08:06 AM

Where is the love? ;D

Boys like mw are some craic, by the time they are finished deflecting not only is the issue of the day not owc's fault but it is the GAA's.  ::)

Dublinfella must be one of their members too  ;D ;D
Post by: MW on February 13, 2010, 06:17:08 PM

Where is the love? ;D

So every post on a thread must relate only to the initial post and not to subsequent ones?

I don't think Brian Kerr will get a great deal of abuse - and if people want to boo or barrack him (given his role in 'tapping' NI players), that's their prerogative. I don't think it should cross into obscenity though.

By the way my point above was that while people on this thread have complained about how this board has been referred to on OWC, the very word they've complained about, and other similar words, have been used on here by regular posters to refer to OWC.

My message above was this - instead of people on either board looking first to find fault and offence on the other, they could look to heal the faults in their own board.
Post by: MW on February 13, 2010, 06:18:57 PM
Quote from: stew on February 11, 2010, 01:08:06 AM

Where is the love? ;D

It'll cause you no end of cognitive dissonance to learn that I don't, and indeed can't, even read OWC. Can you compute that?

Not sure what I'm supposed to be saying is the GAA's fault, either...
Title: An unlikely friend?
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on March 02, 2010, 12:08:04 PM
An unlikely friend for OWC:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0302/1224265432025.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0302/1224265432025.html)

/Jim.
Post by: T Fearon on March 02, 2010, 12:19:55 PM
Sad but not untypical of an attitude all too prevalent in the free state, that the North is a "foreign land" etc.

Can Brian Kerr not see that individuals are making a free choice that was denied to the likes of Pat Jennings, Martin O'Neill, Geroge Best etc?
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 12:51:53 PM
Kerr is a bitter sort especially re the FAI, Trap and Brady.

re the non selection of Keith Fahey

"The overlooking of Keith Fahey is disappointing, but unsurprising.

Maybe he needs an Italian club manager to make his case? One hopes his previous spats as an immature youth with Liam Brady and Don Givens while at Arsenal are not being held against him."

Brian is partial to revealing vindictive gossip.
Maybe Brian doesn't realise that not everybody bears a grudge from a dispute never mind carry it around with them in their back pocket for years, dragging it out on occasion to have good sniff to feel miserable and sour.

But I do have a problem with the pursuit of lads who have played for Northern Ireland at underage level – in Duffy's case even up to under-21. If either had declared for the Republic when they were younger then fine, but once a fella gets to 17, 18 we shouldn't be dizzy trying to get them.
Fair enough, that's Kerr's opinion. FIFA had allowed a lad to change up to the age of 21, now they have no age limit on a change.
The FAI only answer the phone should a young natural born Irish citizen think he is good enough to be considered for the FAI. McCaffery (the FAI underage manager) did not pursue Shane Duffy. He made it plain and clear that Shane first decides.

Post by: Declan on March 02, 2010, 01:39:04 PM
He's right re Fahey and Ward's non selection though
Post by: Rav67 on March 02, 2010, 01:40:15 PM
I see he even refers to the "Belfast Agreement" like a proper unionist!
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 03:21:31 PM
Quote from: Declan on March 02, 2010, 01:39:04 PM
He's right re Fahey and Ward's non selection though
Which bit or all bits?
the disapointment ? the lack of surprise because Trap 30 years in the game can't make his own judgement? or Brady carrying around a grudge over some supposed spat 10 years ago?
Title: Re: An unlikely friend?
Post by: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 06:20:59 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on March 02, 2010, 12:08:04 PM
An unlikely friend for OWC:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0302/1224265432025.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0302/1224265432025.html)

/Jim.

Reads to me that he is trying to butter up the holigan element of the OWC fans who intend on giving him a rough ride.

Doubt he will get anything out of the 2 games, but you never know.
Title: Re: An unlikely friend?
Post by: deiseach on March 02, 2010, 06:35:31 PM
Quote from: The Worker on March 02, 2010, 06:20:59 PM
Reads to me that he is trying to butter up the holigan element of the OWC fans who intend on giving him a rough ride.

More like buttering up Irish Times readers
Post by: magickingdom on March 02, 2010, 08:51:05 PM
as ever with him hes full of inconsistencies, its ok to pick from england because their big but not ni because their neighbours. .  bollix - no one is getting poached - their irish
Post by: Ulick on March 02, 2010, 08:54:23 PM
Looks like he is after a job. Let's face it after the Faroes he doesn't have too many options.
Post by: Main Street on March 02, 2010, 11:04:51 PM
He is doing well with the Faroes and is a good manager.
But there's nothing more bitter than a whiney moaning Dub with a load of chips on his shoulder.