GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on January 31, 2010, 05:08:55 PM

Title: Mayo v Galway NFL Division 1. 7/2/2010
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 31, 2010, 05:08:55 PM
Might as well start this thread. It will be my only thread starter for a while so I may as well start off with a bang.

Galway have been racking up huge scores in their FBD campaign. Mayo haven't,so form suggests Galway. However it is in Castlebar and Mayo won't want to lose the game there.

My own feeling is that Mayo will struggle in this game and Galway to win easily.
Title: Re: Mayo v Galway NFL Division 1. 7/2/2010
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 31, 2010, 05:15:31 PM

Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 31, 2010, 05:08:55 PM
Might as well start this thread. It will be my only thread starter for a while so I may as well start off with a bang.

Galway have been racking up huge scores in their FBD campaign. Mayo haven't,so form suggests Galway. However it is in Castlebar and Mayo won't want to lose the game there.

My own feeling is that Mayo will struggle in this game and Galway to win easily.
Would ye want to lose it in Galway? FBD form will be irrelevant. But way to try and make Galway favourites. ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 31, 2010, 05:19:14 PM
I'm just saying it as I see it Sligonian. I honestly think Galway could be a surprise package this year in the championship as well. Along with Down in Ulster.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 31, 2010, 05:33:23 PM
mayo and galway games are never won easily. Why so negative?
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on January 31, 2010, 05:34:25 PM
Sounds like Galway are a bit further along with their training...

Mayo would really need to be winning this in terms of the league because we have a tough fixture program this year and only have two other home games.

But I don't see us having a good league campaign this year and Kernan will want to lay down an early marker as Galway manager, so I reluctuntly have to go for a Galway win.  :(

Hopefully I'll be more upbeat by the time the Connacht Championship comes around.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 31, 2010, 05:42:08 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on January 31, 2010, 05:34:25 PM
Sounds like Galway are a bit further along with their training...

Mayo would really need to be winning this in terms of the league because we have a tough fixture program this year and only have two other home games.

But I don't see us having a good league campaign this year and Kernan will want to lay down an early marker as Galway manager, so I reluctuntly have to go for a Galway win.  :(

Hopefully I'll be more upbeat by the time the Connacht Championship comes around.
But sure ye dont have a hope in that, if I was ye I wouldnt bother turning up like us in 2008 ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 31, 2010, 05:43:56 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 31, 2010, 05:19:14 PM
I'm just saying it as I see it Sligonian. I honestly think Galway could be a surprise package this year in the championship as well. Along with Down in Ulster.

I'll believe it when I see it. Not that we don't have the potential but who knows how the whole Joe Kernan thing will go. I've heard they have been training like savages but you just don't know until you see them in action a few times. FBD doesn't count for much really and even league football can be deceiving.
Post by: Barney on February 01, 2010, 08:15:33 AM
While I think Mayo will be toe-for-toe with Galway if they meet later in the Championship I see this as quite a comfortable win for Galway.

Worrying factor for me is that there has been nothing new tried at corner-back in the FBD - Liam O'Malley and Donal Vaughan at best are not corner-backs, and from another point of view are not good enough to play at this level. Keith Higgins isn't a corner-back either. A Galway forward line in form will expose these difficulties.

We're also short of Kilcoyne, Mortimer and Dillon up front, relying on Ronaldson for scores against a top class intercounty team is too much and we are probabaly going to struggle in this area early in the season. Stereotypically our forward line is always sub-par but at the moment it is our best area of the field.

Add in new manager bounce and post-season training  ;) ; and a fair bit of motivation after our two defeats of them last year and it all adds up to it being the turn of the Tribesmen and a 5/6 point win.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on February 01, 2010, 09:17:03 AM
Quote from: Barney on February 01, 2010, 08:15:33 AM
Add in new manager bounce and post-season training  ;) ; and a fair bit of motivation after our two defeats of them last year and it all adds up to it being the turn of the Tribesmen and a 5/6 point win.
There was no "collective" post season training Barney  ;)  That is currently banned by GAA HQ  :P

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 01, 2010, 01:11:37 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on February 01, 2010, 09:17:03 AM
Quote from: Barney on February 01, 2010, 08:15:33 AM
There was no "collective" post season training Barney  ;)  That is currently banned by GAA HQ  :P

Cute-hoorism not limited purely to the Kingdom so?
Post by: southsidejohnny on February 01, 2010, 01:25:01 PM
Thats what four years of having a manager like O Mahony does to the supporters. Remember his aim , "To dampen the expectations of the Mayo supporters". Reading the first post it would appear that Johnno has succeded beyond his own dismal expectations.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2010, 03:57:05 PM
To be honest johnny, I have no hope in him delivering the ultimate prize. I don't think he will repeat the Connacht victory he just about won at the end last year either. Then again, maybe it is his plan, to suck all hope from us and then pull off a masterstroke...

(I wish!!!)
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 01, 2010, 04:25:00 PM
Seems like a make or break year for Johnno so. I still rate him highly as a manager, maybe the players need to stand up this year and take a more responsibility for their own performances
Post by: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:54:22 PM
Mayo will not only beat Galway but they will win Sam this year.

The AIF will end with Donal Vaughan scoring a last minute goal after a 100 yard solo run.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 01, 2010, 06:00:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:54:22 PM

The AIF will end with Donal Vaughan scoring a last minute goal after a 100 yard solo run.

Nah, it will be Liam O'Malley.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2010, 08:03:51 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 01, 2010, 06:00:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 01, 2010, 05:54:22 PM

Nah, it will be Liam O'Malley.

Both wrong, It'll be David Clarke soloing from his own goal!
Post by: mayo 4 eva on February 01, 2010, 09:16:41 PM
As much as it pains me to say it.......Galway by 3.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 01, 2010, 09:43:06 PM
depends on mayo team. Better not have barry kelly at 11. Does JOM have any clue at all? why didnt feeney play at 3 yesterday and try Caf elsewhere? It pains me
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2010, 10:00:57 PM
What was the team for yesterday's game foreverhopeful?
Post by: muppet on February 01, 2010, 10:05:27 PM
Jeysus have we become Roscommon all of a sudden?

Maybe it's the recession.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 01, 2010, 10:06:26 PM
clarke
o malley
caf
vaughan
gardiner
howley
higgins
parsons
s o'shea
moran
kelly
trev
ronaldo
a o shea
e varley
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on February 01, 2010, 10:12:08 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on February 01, 2010, 04:25:00 PM
Seems like a make or break year for Johnno so. I still rate him highly as a manager, maybe the players need to stand up this year and take a more responsibility for their own performances

I heard Johnno on Newstalk once discussing his management strategy. He said that there was only so much a manager could do. He can only present his ideas to the team and if they go with them they'll succeed and if they don't there's no hope.

In other words, if the team wins it's because Johnno's a super manager, and if they lose, it's because they're not listening to him.

Maybe I have the quote wrong. I wouldn't like to go to the witness stand on it. But that's how I remember it.
Post by: moysider on February 01, 2010, 10:14:34 PM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on February 01, 2010, 09:43:06 PM
depends on mayo team. Better not have barry kelly at 11. Does JOM have any clue at all? why didnt feeney play at 3 yesterday and try Caf elsewhere? It pains me

Yesterday s team had the look of the team that s going to start the league. Clarkey, O Mal, Caff, Vaughan, Gard, How, Hig, O S, Parsons, Andy, Kelly, Trevor, Var, O S, Ron.

Cant see many changes except maybe McGar. I believe the boss thinks he has his A team pretty much sorted since last year and will stack all his chips on them. Only a disastrous league will see him look elsewhere. Harte, Dillon and Mort will be back in the mix presently
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2010, 10:56:14 PM
To be honest moysider, I think we need to start off with a bang, by beating Galway and Tyrone. However, what I think and what will happen are probably two different things altogether and it will be interesting to see how the team do without the palyers you mentioned above.
Post by: moysider on February 01, 2010, 11:30:53 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2010, 10:56:14 PM
To be honest moysider, I think we need to start off with a bang, by beating Galway and Tyrone. However, what I think and what will happen are probably two different things altogether and it will be interesting to see how the team do without the palyers you mentioned above.

At least we should find out the state of mind of the team come Sunday. A few players missing can be no excuse after a manager in place for 4 years. If the oft mentioned 'structures' are in place then players should slot in. If the players still believe in the boss's creed then it should be in evidence in how they go about their business the next day. Not entirely hopeful and not especially interested in this match [losing the floodlit fixture has just pissed me off] but we ll see. This is not a Mayo side to set the pulses racing but that is what a lot of people wanted. Expectations dumbed down. Thing is though, if county board want to pay for the botched job in Castlebar they need a team people will turn up to see. Before the Spring is out we ll have somebody out calling for the Mayo public to get behind the team. We ll have come full circle.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 02, 2010, 12:04:59 AM
he better decide where he play andy moran. is no 7, 10,11 or will he throw him in corner again? He has matured alot in last yr and is now a real leader. no 11 for me. Good to see varley, ronaldson and douglas now competing for corner berth. They are all proper corner forwards.
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 12:39:32 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on February 02, 2010, 12:04:59 AM
he better decide where he play andy moran. is no 7, 10,11 or will he throw him in corner again? He has matured alot in last yr and is now a real leader. no 11 for me. Good to see varley, ronaldson and douglas now competing for corner berth. They are all proper corner forwards.

Agree. No way Andy can be played as a back. I expect both Andy and McLoughlin to start in forwards by June. We re not without options. Ronaldson, Varley and Douglas have tons to offer. However I m not hopeful about whats developing [or not] at the other end. Midfield as well a bit iffy.
Post by: rosnarun on February 02, 2010, 12:41:48 AM
i love thy way ever one ageees FBD form counts for nothing when a team is winning well but protends omens of doom when we lose or scrape out a few Victories.
this is not the time for slagging JOM(that was what winter was for ). so lets start out the year again with a clean slate nearing in mind that probably no more than 7 of sundays starters will start come june and with the exception of A ose none of sundays forward might start the championship with Dillion Whacko Bmoran killer and  p harte  all to come in and what about AOM and  BJP? and Aidan Campbell must be pursued a player of real quality.
in other words we've seen nothing yet and ive seen no reason to believe we have slipped back to galways level
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 02, 2010, 12:47:47 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 02, 2010, 12:41:48 AM
in other words we've seen nothing yet and ive seen no reason to believe we have slipped back to galways level

That would be a hell of a fall alright from that lofty perch in the stars overlooking the football galaxy. ;D
Post by: Bod Mor on February 02, 2010, 01:09:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 01, 2010, 10:14:34 PM
Yesterday s team had the look of the team that s going to start the league. Clarkey, O Mal, Caff, Vaughan, Gard, How, Hig, O S, Parsons, Andy, Kelly, Trevor, Var, O S, Ron.

Ah come on now Moysider, don't be that lazy. I thought I was reading the Dublin team for a minute there!
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 01:15:45 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 02, 2010, 12:41:48 AM
i love thy way ever one ageees FBD form counts for nothing when a team is winning well but protends omens of doom when we lose or scrape out a few Victories.
this is not the time for slagging JOM(that was what winter was for ). so lets start out the year again with a clean slate nearing in mind that probably no more than 7 of sundays starters will start come june and with the exception of A ose none of sundays forward might start the championship with Dillion Whacko Bmoran killer and  p harte  all to come in and what about AOM and  BJP? and Aidan Campbell must be pursued a player of real quality.

Thing is Ros most teams have had their big guns out by now. You ve listed 7 'forwards' whose current location is unknown. This is about the 50th year in a row that we go with winter and summer teams. It s a joke. So after 3 summers of confusion we ll get a touring side again this summer. But most of the names will be familiar for the summer fans. Oh X,Y and Z are still playing. Lovely. Should win so.
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 01:18:49 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on February 02, 2010, 01:09:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 01, 2010, 10:14:34 PM

Ah come on now Moysider, don't be that lazy. I thought I was reading the Dublin team for a minute there!

I know, I know. Should nt be doin this any more.
Post by: rosnarun on February 02, 2010, 02:48:29 AM
with amateuer sport thought there is only a certain call a county has on players
dont think any one can begrudge dillion ans conor having gone off , those 2 have dedicated most of thier youth to mayo football and i rather see them take a wee break than retire early morand kilcoyne are injured. harte has work issues i think Campbell absence is a tragedy and i don't know the status of BJp and AOM . anyone any clues?
But there is loads to be positive about . A Osé will go from strength to strength. I thonk S osé's time has come too, douglas and keegan look like real contenders Ronald son seems to be making the step up , with a refreshed dillon and mortimer back i think we could be in for a long summer again.
If you can't be optimistic this time of the years f**k it altogether.
Post by: stephenite on February 02, 2010, 02:52:59 AM
Good man Ros - negativity has been depressing. Feck all won at this time of year, and we have what we have. There's very few footballers left out that either aren't that bit too old or don't have the discipline to make it
Post by: southsidejohnny on February 02, 2010, 08:22:54 AM
In fairness Stehenite you put up sensible posts so I hope you accept this one in the spirit its posted. I have gone to Mayo matchs since 1965. I have seen highs and lows. A pattern develops and at the moment we are in the bullshit pattern where a manager that has lost his way is spoofing us in the hope it comes right. Listen to the posts. All are saying Barry Kelly is played out of position. But does O Mahoney care? The answer is no because Kelly aint going to feature on Johnnos team.
OMahoney was given a simple brief in 2006, remember? it was to drive on a team that had misfired in two finals. His response and modus operandi was to lower expectations and rebuild. Well for one I am pissed off. Expectations are at an all time low, we have six forwards as defenders, if we persevere with McGarrity and Parsons at mid we will be eaten. As for the forwards does it matter if Dillon, Mort, Killer, B Moran are out. None can put two successive successful matches together. Mayo has turned into a club side with all the s%**T that goes with it.A copmplete clearout is needed and that starts with O Mahoney. But that aint going to happen
Post by: Barney on February 02, 2010, 08:37:23 AM
I think JOM is treating the Meath game last Summer as an aberration after what he considers a relatively successful championship.

And it was relatively successful. The Galway and Roscommon wins were very satisfactory. The late collapse against Galway and Meath raises questions about fitness. So there are two possibilities that arise in my view -

1. was the training programme sufficient, timed properly? Have there been any changes in who is training the team? I can't answer the first, the answer to the second is no.

2. Players that came into the "Summer Team" as classed by moysider did not have the sufficient hard work done to play full championship pelt football - Keith Higgins, Trevor Howley, Barry Moran, David Heaney and Aidan Kilcoyne - that is 1/3 of the team. It cannot be done. This year for one reason or another we are starting the season without likely championship regulars in Mortimer, Dillon, Kilcoyne, Barry Moran, Tom Cunniffe and Pat Harte. Same problem.

Neither issue appears to have been addressed.

Where there is a maturity amongst Mayo supporters this time around is that the reality of the lack of fight in the Meath game has lead to people questioning players and management, and the diabolical refereeing on that day has not been held up as an excuse. Has the same kind of post-mortem been carried out by the team? If so, that is a positive. Because we need lads who are prepared to grow a pair in the tough games - we saw last year against Galway in Tuam that there is fight in a lot of these fellas. Why does it only come out against Galway? We need to look beyhond that.

Defensively we are just not at it. We could start on Sunday with Liam O'Malley on Nicky Joyce again. Now maybe he will get away with it in winter but who would mortgage their house on him getting the better of the Galway man come Summer.

I agree with Ros about Aidan Campbell - something should be done to get this man playing for Mayo again. Huge potential and may need an arm around the shoulder. That is what JOM used to be good at - look at times when certain players in Galway were in a bit of bother, he brought them through and got the best out of them.

Reckon there will be a very poor crowd in Castlebar on Sunday. People are just fed up with the politicing, the back-biting, the sub-standard performances. It is sad because Mayo is such a passionate football county as can be seen from the nonsense we all type here. There is a good group of players available with potential. There is a good group of players at minor and under 21 level. We can have a very successful future but it needs everybody pulling together management, County Board and supporters. We have never done that before in Mayo and maybe opportunities will be lost again.
Post by: small white mayoman on February 02, 2010, 09:41:17 AM
Quote from: Barney on February 02, 2010, 08:37:23 AM
I agree with Ros about Aidan Campbell - something should be done to get this man playing for Mayo again. Huge potential and may need an arm around the shoulder. That is what JOM used to be good at - look at times when certain players in Galway were in a bit of bother, he brought them through and got the best out of them.

used been the most important word there , his man management skills have just gone out the window all you have to do is look at the way he is treating some of the players, he has disregarded quality players and other  players just have not improved under his management look at conor mort last year
Post by: stephenite on February 02, 2010, 11:34:00 AM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on February 02, 2010, 08:22:54 AM
In fairness Stehenite you put up sensible posts so I hope you accept this one in the spirit its posted. I have gone to Mayo matchs since 1965. I have seen highs and lows. A pattern develops and at the moment we are in the bullshit pattern where a manager that has lost his way is spoofing us in the hope it comes right. Listen to the posts. All are saying Barry Kelly is played out of position. But does O Mahoney care? The answer is no because Kelly aint going to feature on Johnnos team.
OMahoney was given a simple brief in 2006, remember? it was to drive on a team that had misfired in two finals. His response and modus operandi was to lower expectations and rebuild. Well for one I am pissed off. Expectations are at an all time low, we have six forwards as defenders, if we persevere with McGarrity and Parsons at mid we will be eaten. As for the forwards does it matter if Dillon, Mort, Killer, B Moran are out. None can put two successive successful matches together. Mayo has turned into a club side with all the s%**T that goes with it.A copmplete clearout is needed and that starts with O Mahoney. But that aint going to happen

No problem with the spirit of the post - and I accept you're greater experience in all the years you've watched Mayo.

However, to your post - you talk of a complete clearout, who are the replacements you'd have in mind as manager and key players.

A new manager is fine, but I don't see where the new players are coming from?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 02, 2010, 02:09:01 PM
As I write this, there are 16 straight posts, from Iolar to swm, that I can totally accept and that 16 includes GBB's apt observation.
Janey! Barney is in eloquent form today but, more importantly, he was spot on with his assessment. If one were to go by the tenor of posts here, Mayo fans aren't happy bunnies right now and there is no reason why posters on here can't be taken as a representative sample of Mayo fans in general.

Thing is Ros most teams have had their big guns out by now. You ve listed 7 'forwards' whose current location is unknown. This is about the 50th year in a row that we go with winter and summer teams. It s a joke.

Well, I can go back 50 years and never lost the faith along the way either. We have never had quite the same situation that we have now. We have had pretty talented minor and u21 sides for a good number of years now and while one solitary u21 title isn't a brilliant return, there are many other counties who would love to have the emerging talent we ought to be looking at right now. We also had the most battle-hardened bunch of vets on hand, with the exception of Kerry, when O'Mahony took over for the '07 season.
I really don't know why Aidan Campbell and Ciaran Mac were dropped and I accept that it's the manager's prerogative to pick his squad. Maybe it's not fair to compare John O'Mahony with Jack O'Connor in this regard but it is fair to record that Jack kept his personnel problems out of the public arena as team and manager kept their concentration on the task in hand.
Can the same be said for Johnno?
If he says a manager can only do so much, I will be on his side, with one subtle reservation:  How much is so much? If he means as much as he possibly can, I don't think any manager can be faulted. The same goes for players; if they play to the best of their abilities and still come up short, they shouldn't feel they have let their county down.
I'm thinking here of the Meath v Kerry game last season.
Meath were well beaten on merit. But, while I know Meath fans were disappointed, I haven't heard any of them claiming it was a lack of commitment form either the team or the manager that got them scalded.
If Mayo had beaten Meath and gone on to face Kerry, I doubt very much that Mayo fans would be feeling in a similar, charitable mood afterwards.

Maybe John Bannon really did us a big favour when he reffed our game with Meath? I get no pleasure from criticising my own county and all its team represents for me but I do keep an eye on the history of past performances and I'm not feeling upbeat right now. This really has to be Johnno's make or break year. After all, this is his fourth year in charge and there is sweet damn all to show for his efforts and the same goes for those who play for him also.
To give him due credit, he seems to be coming up with some idea of the side he has in mind and he may feel that he is starting to get the lads who will play to his way of thinking.  This year will tell and I'd only ask that himself and his team show some sign of steady progress and will wind the season up saying they gave it their best shot.
I'm often told that I always put sentiment before sense where Mayo are concerned but I don't think I am asking for a lot in this case.
Post by: muppet on February 02, 2010, 03:58:56 PM
Mayo will win Sam this year.

Other than that gem of wisdom the only comments I'd like to make is that we really need to move away from picking players out of position. Andy Moran for example is a very good player and has a huge work rate but is not a defender. Might be worth a shout at 11 but he must be picked up front.

In the backs we still have about 6 half backs and no corner backs. Feeney & Caffekey have played a lot of football in the fullback line and maybe along with Kevin Keane we could start a back 3 who always play there. Half backs need Higgins on the left with any 2 from Howley, Cunniffe, O'Malley, Barrett & Vaughan. I'd give O'Malley his U-21 2004 berth at 6 a go in a league game or two while trying one or two other options also.

Midfield sees us with players who have played well in the past but are going backwards. That is a bad sign. Seamus O'Sé deserves a look while I always thought Barry Moran would make it here but that doesn't seem to be happening either.

Up front looks better than it has for a while with the likes of Dillon, Trevor & Andy to be added to my favourite FF line of Killer, Pillar & Thriller. I always rated Ronaldson though and it is good to see a few new faces challenging.

Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 04:11:00 PM
Quote from: Barney on February 02, 2010, 08:37:23 AM
I think JOM is treating the Meath game last Summer as an aberration after what he considers a relatively successful championship.

And it was relatively successful. The Galway and Roscommon wins were very satisfactory. The late collapse against Galway and Meath raises questions about fitness. So there are two possibilities that arise in my view -

1. was the training programme sufficient, timed properly?Have the re been any changes in who is training the team? I can't answer the first, the answer to the second is no.

2. Players that came into the "Summer Team" as classed by moysider did not have the sufficient hard work done to play full championship pelt football - Keith Higgins, Trevor Howley, Barry Moran, David Heaney and Aidan Kilcoyne - that is 1/3 of the team. It cannot be done. This year for one reason or another we are starting the season without likely championship regulars in Mortimer, Dillon, Kilcoyne, Barry Moran, Tom Cunniffe and Pat Harte. Same problem.

Neither issue appears to have been addressed.

Where there is a maturity amongst Mayo supporters this time around is that the reality of the lack of fight in the Meath game has lead to people questioning players and management, and the diabolical refereeing on that day has not been held up as an excuse. Has the same kind of post-mortem been carried out by the team? If so, that is a positive. Because we need lads who are prepared to grow a pair in the tough games - we saw last year against Galway in Tuam that there is fight in a lot of these fellas. Why does it only come out against Galway? We need to look beyhond that.

Defensively we are just not at it. We could start on Sunday with Liam O'Malley on Nicky Joyce again. Now maybe he will get away with it in winter but who would mortgage their house on him getting the better of the Galway man come Summer.

Reckon there will be a very poor crowd in Castlebar on Sunday. People are just fed up with the politicing, the back-biting, the sub-standard performances. It is sad because Mayo is such a passionate football county as can be seen from the nonsense we all type here. There is a good group of players available with potential. There is a good group of players at minor and under 21 level. We can have a very successful future but it needs everybody pulling together management, County Board and supporters. We have never done that before in Mayo and maybe opportunities will be lost again.

I have expressed doubts about the fitness regime on here a few times. However I believe there has been a change in who is training the team - at least for a while. If last years set up resumes or has resumed I m not sure.
As regards JOM s and used to be good at man management. Yeah there were times in Galway when a couple of players threw the rattles out of the pram. Unlike in Mayo they were quickly back on board. Why? I think we need to look further than JOM for the answer.
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 09:02:31 PM

On a different note here s an interesting quote from Big Joe from todays Independent interview.

"The one thing about Galway is that they were great footballers but when they didn't have the ball, they didn't work hard enough to get it back and that's what we're going to try and get them to do. To work harder to get the ball."

Hmmmmmm. I always thought that likes of Savo Finnegan, Clancy etc used to work really hard at closing down defenders when they did nt win the ball. If fairness to Johnno he used to be bawling 'pressure' constantly from the side line. He s even got Conoreen hanging out of defenders last year. I wonder will Johnno take the bait and ate him like he did poor auld Paudí. Johnno s getting it from all sides.

Of course Johnno did not play with 8 defenders. Is that what Joe has in mind with work harder? When Forde went down the negative, defensive route it did n't go down well. Maybe Joe will be a better bully and maybe 9 years on from 01 people wll be more inclined to accept a more 'practical' approach. This could be interesting. Could we see Galway playing with 3 forwards - Armstrong, Nicky J and Meeehan say- with the rest of the team packed with defenders and dirt trackers?

Post by: bucko on February 02, 2010, 10:03:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 02, 2010, 03:58:56 PM

Other than that gem of wisdom the only comments I'd like to make is that we really need to move away from picking players out of position. Andy Moran for example is a very good player and has a huge work rate but is not a defender. Might be worth a shout at 11 but he must be picked up front.

In the backs we still have about 6 half backs and no corner backs. Feeney & Caffekey have played a lot of football in the fullback line and maybe along with Kevin Keane we could start a back 3 who always play there. Half backs need Higgins on the left with any 2 from Howley, Cunniffe, O'Malley, Barrett & Vaughan. I'd give O'Malley his U-21 2004 berth at 6 a go in a league game or two while trying one or two other options also.
Midfield sees us with players who have played well in the past but are going backwards. That is a bad sign. Seamus O'Sé deserves a look while I always thought Barry Moran would make it here but that doesn't seem to be happening either.

Up front looks better than it has for a while with the likes of Dillon, Trevor & Andy to be added to my favourite FF line of Killer, Pillar & Thriller. I always rated Ronaldson though and it is good to see a few new faces challenging.

Andy's probably the logical choice at CHF for the league, he's a better forward than a defender, showed a decent enough foot passing ability during the c'ship, has serious workrate and a little bit of strength and bite in him.

O'Malley did give a great performance at CHB in U21 final in 2004, him and Howley were the only reason Mayo were still in the game after the first half. Question is tho, after MacHale classed him as a potential replacement for Jimmy Nallen, why have successive managements played him in the corner ever since, bar a 20 min run as a sub at wing back v Galway in 2005 CF? I felt that alot of criticism toward him after the connacht final last year was a bit unfair, granted Nicky Joyce made hay, but O'Malley was only a week back training after a 5 week layoff with injury. And what did Nicky Joyce do the week after against Donegal? Sod all and got subbed!

I see Connelly speaking in the Mayo News today about midfield and players needing to stand up, spot on with both points. Poor midfield performance and lack of leadership is why we lost to Meath last year. McGarrity really has to step up as a player and now a senior member of the squad. He set a high standard for himself in 2006, I've only seen flashes of those performances since he came back from illness. Ditto Parsons, set a high mark in 2008 and has dropped a good way from it. Consistancy of high performances is what they both need to produce. I still have doubt over the 2 of them as a partnership, one of them alongside a more workhorse, physical player, maybe Seamus O'Shea might be a better option(I had hoped James Kilcullen, was disappointed when I seen he wasn't in the squad, liked what I saw of him at club level) I was always told thet your backline is only as good as the midfield in front of them!
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on February 02, 2010, 10:34:44 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 02, 2010, 09:02:31 PM

On a different note here s an interesting quote from Big Joe from todays Independent interview.

"The one thing about Galway is that they were great footballers but when they didn't have the ball, they didn't work hard enough to get it back and that's what we're going to try and get them to do. To work harder to get the ball."

Hmmmmmm. I always thought that likes of Savo Finnegan, Clancy etc used to work really hard at closing down defenders when they did nt win the ball. If fairness to Johnno he used to be bawling 'pressure' constantly from the side line. He s even got Conoreen hanging out of defenders last year. I wonder will Johnno take the bait and ate him like he did poor auld Paudí. Johnno s getting it from all sides.

Of course Johnno did not play with 8 defenders. Is that what Joe has in mind with work harder? When Forde went down the negative, defensive route it did n't go down well. Maybe Joe will be a better bully and maybe 9 years on from 01 people wll be more inclined to accept a more 'practical' approach. This could be interesting. Could we see Galway playing with 3 forwards - Armstrong, Nicky J and Meeehan say- with the rest of the team packed with defenders and dirt trackers?

Ah God, I hope it doesn't come to that. Galway are some of the great aristocrats of football. Why, it's actually a treat getting beaten by them, such is the poetry of their peileadóireacht. My Galway friends have assured me of this on several occasions. Several. Thinking about them packing defences with dirt trackers - why, it'd be like Marie Antoinette down in the kitchen, peeling praties or scrubbing floors, her eyes wet with tears. Say it ain't so Moysider, say it ain't so!
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 11:02:36 PM
Quote from: bucko on February 02, 2010, 10:03:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 02, 2010, 03:58:56 PM

Andy's probably the logical choice at CHF for the league, he's a better forward than a defender, showed a decent enough foot passing ability during the c'ship, has serious workrate and a little bit of strength and bite in him.

O'Malley did give a great performance at CHB in U21 final in 2004, him and Howley were the only reason Mayo were still in the game after the first half. Question is tho, after MacHale classed him as a potential replacement for Jimmy Nallen, why have successive managements played him in the corner ever since, bar a 20 min run as a sub at wing back v Galway in 2005 CF? I felt that alot of criticism toward him after the connacht final last year was a bit unfair, granted Nicky Joyce made hay, but O'Malley was only a week back training after a 5 week layoff with injury. And what did Nicky Joyce do the week after against Donegal? Sod all and got subbed!

I see Connelly speaking in the Mayo News today about midfield and players needing to stand up, spot on with both points. Poor midfield performance and lack of leadership is why we lost to Meath last year. McGarrity really has to step up as a player and now a senior member of the squad. He set a high standard for himself in 2006, I've only seen flashes of those performances since he came back from illness. Ditto Parsons, set a high mark in 2008 and has dropped a good way from it. Consistancy of high performances is what they both need to produce. I still have doubt over the 2 of them as a partnership, one of them alongside a more workhorse, physical player, maybe Seamus O'Shea might be a better option(I had hoped James Kilcullen, was disappointed when I seen he wasn't in the squad, liked what I saw of him at club level) I was always told thet your backline is only as good as the midfield in front of them!

Good stuff.

My own thoughts about lads ending up corner back on Mayo teams is that they are the ones that make a better fist of it. I mean the reason O Malley and say Keith have ended up in corners and Peadar Gardiner has n't is that O Mal and Hig can do it better. But both are basically half backs as well doing the best they can in an alien position. O Malley is a fine player in his position. Playing for his club he is a stand out player.
I believe this is a bit of a monster we have created in this county. We demand a footballer in every position of the field and maybe we should be looking for a few anti-footballers at say 2 and 4. In rugby one of the crucial positions is a brute of a tighthead prop. If Mayo were a rugby team we probably would nt have any props in the squad at all and end up with 2 openside flankers in the front row. After 3 years rebuilding we dont have a top class corner back. Playing in div 1 and expecting to win big championship matches we need defenders.
Leadership is an issue. The trouble with leadership is that it is either in a lad or not for the most part. This squad is low on leaders. Which makes it more baffling likes of Aidan Higgins is left out.
Post by: moysider on February 02, 2010, 11:25:52 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on February 02, 2010, 10:34:44 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 02, 2010, 09:02:31 PM

Ah God, I hope it doesn't come to that. Galway are some of the great aristocrats of football. Why, it's actually a treat getting beaten by them, such is the poetry of their peileadóireacht. My Galway friends have assured me of this on several occasions. Several. Thinking about them packing defences with dirt trackers - why, it'd be like Marie Antoinette down in the kitchen, peeling praties or scrubbing floors, her eyes wet with tears. Say it ain't so Moysider, say it ain't so!

I did n't make up that quote IolarCoisCuain. Them s BigJoe's words.

Ok, let's look at the appointment of JK. Apart from the fact that he was available, there has to be a strategy in this. Remember this is the second time Galway have gone for this approach. Forde replaced Johnno when it eventually dawned on our neighbours that the game at the top level had moved on but Johnno could n't keep up. But it was too soon for the players and the supporters. Sammon, a brilliant coach of classical game soothed things for a time but classical does nt win these days. JK has not been appointed to do what Sammon did. If you wanted a coach to play poetry/ Marie Antoinette football then you could nt do better than Sammon. As good a skills coach as you could get. Yet he lasted 2 years only. What do you expect from JK? Coaches are n't flighty creatures. The players are the ones that are going to do the adjusting. There ll be lots of pratie peeling and floor scrubbing I think for lads more used to ways of the Second Estate. They ll probably be the better for it, as regards results anyway. And results are all that matter really.
Post by: rosnarun on February 03, 2010, 01:28:34 AM
i think this could be a year off for galway. If Kernan is going to transform them in to his own image of a Dirty hard hitting team full of big me it wont be done over night. I expect to see some 'strange ' selections this year as he tries to make a sow sear of somewhat of a silk purse .but there was no point in getting kernan in if it was fancy football you were after.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 03, 2010, 10:02:43 AM
I think we could be in for a good hiding from Galway. Kernan has brought a new level of professionalism to the Galway camp that would eclipse some professional soccer and rugby teams. They are working very hard for the time of year and the way they started against GMIT, racing into a 1-10 to 0-3 lead by half time and then bringing off Meehan and bringing on 5 subs to try and even things up is worrying.

Im going to say it here, Galway at 14-1 are a good each-way bet for the All Ireland. Im not saying they will lift Sam this year but you will get 7-1 if they get to the final on an each-way bet. Its very possible they will get to a semi where anything can happen. I wouldnt like to come up against them in the latter stages of the championship.

I know O Mahoney too is holding a lot of trials and had a good look at guys trying to unearth talent in the county. But I dont think O Mahoney cares about the FBD and its only being used as experimentation and trying guys in different places. In fact, I think we will see a totally different team and squad for the NFL and championship which is why I think we could be well beaten against Galway the next day. The NFL will be the true indication of how things are shaping up for the Championship.
Post by: venter on February 03, 2010, 10:34:59 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 03, 2010, 10:02:43 AM

Im going to say it here, Galway at 14-1 are a good each-way bet for the All Ireland. Im not saying they will lift Sam this year but you will get 7-1 if they get to the final on an each-way bet. Its very possible they will get to a semi where anything can happen. I wouldnt like to come up against them in the latter stages of the championship.

Back them to win! If they get to a final they will be full of confidence, and a confident galway team with Joe Kernan calling the shots would be capable of anything!

I think it will be tight on sunday, Galway by 3. With Nallen and Heaney now retired, am I rightin thinking we have only one 30 year old in the squad?
Post by: mckieran on February 03, 2010, 10:43:40 AM
QuoteHmmmmmm. I always thought that likes of Savo Finnegan, Clancy etc used to work really hard at closing down defenders when they did nt win the ball. If fairness to Johnno he used to be bawling 'pressure' constantly from the side line. He s even got Conoreen hanging out of defenders last year. I wonder will Johnno take the bait and ate him like he did poor auld Paudí. Johnno s getting it from all sides.

I think he was referring to the current forwards rather than the forwards you mention
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2010, 05:58:17 PM
Where are all the Galway posters? I thought this thread would have caught their imagination a bit. Seems beating Mayo isn't much for them anymore. You're right AbbeySider, maybe we should bet on them for the AI so...
Post by: ballinaman on February 03, 2010, 06:04:54 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2010, 05:58:17 PM
Where are all the Galway posters? I thought this thread would have caught their imagination a bit. Seems beating Mayo isn't much for them anymore. You're right AbbeySider, maybe we should bet on them for the AI so...
Couldn't do it. The money would be tainted :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 03, 2010, 06:30:09 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2010, 05:58:17 PM

Most of the Galway lads here seem to hibernate for the winter only to reapper just before the Summer. Been that way for a few years now for some reason.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 03, 2010, 10:39:43 PM
I fail to understand the constant fear of Galway, as usual it will be close. Mayo win.
Post by: moysider on February 03, 2010, 10:50:57 PM

Maybe it's not so much a fear of Galway, but a realisation for even the most optimistic that things could get very ropey indeed this Spring/Summer, with little prospect of an Autumn. Not sure Galway have anything to do with it really. After the Meath disaster[ for that is what it was - no learning curve there] there s not many more shots this lot can take.
Post by: rosnarun on February 03, 2010, 11:13:21 PM
dummo what you mean by 'shots this lot can take' the mayo team is a constanyly evolving process look at team that lost in 2006
D Clarke; D Geraghty, D Heaney (capt), K Higgins; A Higgins, J Nallen, P Gardiner; R McGarrity, P Harte   BJ Padden  G Brady, A Dillon; K O'Neill , C Mortimer   C McDonald 

only about 7 of that team are still on the panel .
i think we are seeing the birth of a new mayo team this year, based Aidan ose , S ose parsons K higgins G cafferkey k mclaughlin cunniffe and others that will hopefully make the grade.
you could say with nallen and heany gone BJP and AOM Awol. and  Harte and the  mort X 2 will struggle for places    and the old team are gone the rest will be replaced in the coming years and MAyo will go on, just like it always does.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2010, 11:31:43 PM
I doubt Trevor Mortimer will struggle for a place as he is the captain for the year. I am not looking forward to this year at all to be perfectly honest with ye all. Southsidejohnny is right, I used to be optimistic, but he has dampened my expectations to unreasonable low levels. Thnigs might be better next year, but that is a long time away.
Post by: Zulu on February 03, 2010, 11:46:22 PM
Jesus lads ye'd talk yerself into a depression, what have you boys got to look forward to this year? Well, you've got division 1 football which should guarantee some cracking football, you have a good chance of retaining your Connacht title which means you have a good chance of getting to a QF at least. You also have one of the top 10 (at least) teams in the country which means that winning an AI isn't completely beyond the realms of possibility, you also have numerous good young footballers coming through. Try following a county that has no chance of seeing any of those things some time, then ye'll know depression.

JOM is doing a decent job for my money and Mayo have a decent squad which will do well but haven't got enough to win an AI IMO, still that's teh story for most counties, Galway included if that's any consolation.
Post by: moysider on February 04, 2010, 12:13:03 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 03, 2010, 11:13:21 PM
dummo what you mean by 'shots this lot can take' the mayo team is a constanyly evolving process look at team that lost in 2006
D Clarke; D Geraghty, D Heaney (capt), K Higgins; A Higgins, J Nallen, P Gardiner; R McGarrity, P Harte   BJ Padden  G Brady, A Dillon; K O'Neill , C Mortimer   C McDonald 

only about 7 of that team are still on the panel .
i think we are seeing the birth of a new mayo team this year, based Aidan ose , S ose parsons K higgins G cafferkey k mclaughlin cunniffe and others that will hopefully make the grade.
you could say with nallen and heany gone BJP and AOM Awol. and  Harte and the  mort X 2 will struggle for places    and the old team are gone the rest will be replaced in the coming years and MAyo will go on, just like it always does.

Of course it goes on. It does everywhere but there are times it does n't just go well. I ve no problem with the players coming along but as you point out, they re hopefuls to make the grade. Birth of a new Mayo team this year? We ve been listening to this rebuilding lark for 4 years now. There s a new birth every year. Thats better than the average cow. You re talking about coming years? Last 4 going nowhere. So another 4 maybe to settle a side. Christ, a player s career does nt last that long.
Let's call a spade a spade. Talk turkey. This set up is running out of runway. I d be amazed if we dont have new management in 9 months time. Will the team have been left in a better place than it was found? Doubt it. Structures, what structures? It ll be a a brand new start and a new broom. Drawing board again.

As regards 'shots this lot can take'. I m not necessarily just talking about players. There has been hapless days in championship against Galway 2 1/2 times [last years last 10 mins collapse was a good indication of what would happen later]. Meath and Derry were as bad as any defeats we ve had last 20 years. We had older teams take beatings in semis and finals but these were  new fresh teams  bitchslapped about the place.  Only Bernard Dunne has been put on his arse more by mediocre opposition in recent times. 
Post by: macdanger2 on February 04, 2010, 04:31:14 AM
QuoteMeath and Derry were as bad as any defeats we ve had last 20 years

WFT?? Were you at the 1) Cork game in 93 2) Galway game in 95 3) Kerry game in 04/06???!!! Not to mention the losses to Westmeath and Rossies in between!!!

Sunday won't tell us a lot either way - if we win, people will say "sure it's only the league" abd if we lose people will say "well if we're playing sh*te in the league then...". Galway were flying in last years league until Mayo narrowly beat them and then the wheels came off completely for them.

I fancy Galway to win this one by 3=4 points, I reckon Kernan will have them playing like Armagh except with Armstrong/Meehan/N Joyce in the inside line.

Hopefully O'Se will get a run at MF and show that he has a chance of making it at this level.
Post by: Tubberman on February 04, 2010, 08:43:17 AM
I think we'll lose on Sunday, and I fear we could lose pretty badly.
But that's not because I think we've gone significantly backwards, it's more because Galway have been flying and seem the fittest team in the country (due to the 'individual' winter training they've been doing).
Mayo, on the other hand, are only back in collective training a few weeks. I wouldn't write off the year before it's started.
Nor would I write it off after Sunday, regardless of what happens.
I'm not expecting anything major from Mayo this year (a Connacht title and a semi-final appearance would be the most I'd hope for), but no need for the deep depression before the league has even started.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 04, 2010, 08:48:50 AM
moysider didn't say worse mcdanger. He said as bad as. I wasn't at the Derry game in 07 but from what I've heard the DISplay was absolutely awful. You know when Mayo were only 4 up after the first quarter against Meath, the seeds of doubt were planted in my mind about the game that day.
Post by: Barney on February 04, 2010, 08:59:14 AM
The Derry display was atrocious. But then again we had 4/5 lads just out of minor playing only their second championship match, and without a years training behind them.

Last year we had a team that unfortunately choked when the going got tough. They did not play well on the day - if they had they may have won but there was a complacency and arrogance (mental weakness again) that was unwarranted in the run-up to the game. Some of the Mayo players think that they can be great without working for it. In any other county that game would be a turning-point, a wake-up call (e.g. Sligo v Tyrone) - in Mayo you fear it is just another catalogue that will allow some people involved at the higher levels bemoan their luck and continue doing the same thing with the same ready made excuses available if it goes belly-up.
Post by: stephenite on February 04, 2010, 09:07:39 AM
I had a huge piece typed up, one of the longest one I've typed in over 6 years on this board, it was generally querying the widespread negativity of nearly every Mayo poster on the board (I'm living away this last while as some would know), it seems to be mainly an anti JOM thing.

I scrapped to it ask a couple of questions.

Is JOM the right man to manage Mayo this season, if not,why not?

Have we the players in place to play at the highest level this year, if not are we missing a genuine talent in the county that could do the job (not Pierce Hanley)?
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 04, 2010, 09:35:28 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 04, 2010, 09:07:39 AM
I had a huge piece typed up, one of the longest one I've typed in over 6 years on this board, it was generally querying the widespread negativity of nearly every Mayo poster on the board (I'm living away this last while as some would know), it seems to be mainly an anti JOM thing.

Have we the players in place to play at the highest level this year, if not are we missing a genuine talent in the county that could do the job (not Pierce Hanley)?

i think that when o'mahony came in to the job he wanted to quench expectations stephenite and he has certainly done that. i know staunch mayo supporters who would never have missed a match and now have no interest in going , i don't know whether its an anti o' mahony thing at this stage every one knows that he is there for another 2 years but this is his 4th year in charge and nothing seems to have changed with him. he has the same selectors involved , same trainer the set up needs to be freshened up IMO and that has not happened.
Post by: stephenite on February 04, 2010, 09:44:28 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 04, 2010, 09:35:28 AM

i think that when o'mahony came in to the job he wanted to quench expectations stephenite and he has certainly done that. i know staunch mayo supporters who would never have missed a match and now have no interest in going , i don't know whether its an anti o' mahony thing at this stage every one knows that he is there for another 2 years but this is his 4th year in charge and nothing seems to have changed with him. he has the same selectors involved , same trainer the set up needs to be freshened up IMO and that has not happened.

Cheers Deel - for what's it worth I think JOM as a realist knew that he had to dampen down expectations in the County when he came on board, it's my opinion that we were lucky to beat Dublin in the semi final in 2006 and that JOM knew some of the older players like Mac and DB were not going to be the ones to get us over the line so he went back to the drawing board. He probably didn't handle the Mac situation in the most delicate manner and that's regrettable but this appears to happen in Mayo football where Maughan didn't handle DB or Kevin O'Neill very well either.

I don't think we have the players to win an AI under O'Mahoney but have the makings of a fairly decent team to keep us in the top 8-10 teams in the country, and that's all that can be expected from the players we have.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 04, 2010, 11:49:36 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 04, 2010, 09:44:28 AM

Cheers Deel - for what's it worth I think JOM as a realist knew that he had to dampen down expectations in the County when he came on board, it's my opinion that we were lucky to beat Dublin in the semi final in 2006 and that JOM knew some of the older players like Mac and DB were not going to be the ones to get us over the line so he went back to the drawing board. He probably didn't handle the Mac situation in the most delicate manner and that's regrettable but this appears to happen in Mayo football where Maughan didn't handle DB or Kevin O'Neill very well either.

I don't think we have the players to win an AI under O'Mahoney but have the makings of a fairly decent team to keep us in the top 8-10 teams in the country, and that's all that can be expected from the players we have.
That's a mighty fine post and, for the record, I do not disagree with one iota of what you wrote. You also wrote something some months ago to the effect that the only Mayo team that was genuinely unlucky in an AIF was the senior side in '96. Apart for saying that the minors of 2008 could have beaten Tyrone and the lads last year were in with a chance until the closing minutes, I'd fully accept your assessment.
Furthermore, the minor sides in question could have won but neither were the better side in their respective finals.
Without a doubt, Mickey and Beefer did lead us to the final of '06 but it was a game we hadn't the proverbial snowball's chance of winning. I have criticised Johnno over many things but I don't think if M&M were still in charge, the situation would be any better than it is now. Apart from team selection and substitutions, they had lost control to the senior players and were reduced to leading from the rear.
With all the hype and history that comes with Mayo football, John O'Mahony was always going to get flak from many quarters. He wants an AI as much as any of us and I've no hesitation in saying he genuinely feels he is doing his best.
The trouble for me is that when he talked about dampening expectations, he succeeded beyond his wildest expectations.

QuoteHe probably didn't handle the Mac situation in the most delicate manner and that's regrettable but this appears to happen in Mayo football where Maughan didn't handle DB or Kevin O'Neill very well either.
You are being very diplomatic here;
If the McDonald episode is a true  measure of his tactical awareness and man management skills, the future will continue to be as depressing as the past—and the present.
Maybe I only see what I want to read but I can't find any evidence on this board that there is a widespread demand for an AI.

QuoteI don't think we have the players to win an AI under O'Mahoney but have the makings of a fairly decent team to keep us in the top 8-10 teams in the country, and that's all that can be expected from the players we have.

That sums up my feelings also; I think most here will agree with you also.
However, I'd say most will also agree with me that all obvious signs are pointing in the opposite direction.
This year so far, he has done little wrong and he may have some idea of where he plans to go. Good luck to him and may he succeed in everything he'd like to do.  Last year gave me some hope that he finally is beginning to tell his arse from his elbow.
As Johnno began to show signs of rationality, the spotlight switched to the players and to put it mildly, he will have a lot to do to get them within an assess' roar of an AI.
He certainly can't be blamed for all that's wrong with Mayo football but the buck stops with him. I also think that we don't have the players to go all the way but we may well have them by next season or the one after—if Johnno  gets the best out of what he has at present.

Post by: AbbeySider on February 04, 2010, 02:24:16 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 04, 2010, 11:49:36 AM
Without a doubt, Mickey and Beefer did lead us to the final of '06 but it was a game we hadn't the proverbial snowball's chance of winning. I have criticised Johnno over many things but I don't think if M&M were still in charge, the situation would be any better than it is now.

Its not often I can disagree with you Lar but I cant let that quip slide.

When you in a final, of course you have a chance of winning it. In fact, its not often the best team skill wise that win finals. Its who wants it more, and who are tactically aware and Kerry were far hungrier than us and systemically took us apart without having to change the script from 2004.
A lot of what happened in that final is a direct result of the management not getting it right on the sideline and learning from the same mistakes made in 2004. Is it any wonder the players themselves took things into their own hands?

Beefer and Mickey Moran have to take some responsibility if not all of the responsibility for the following:

- Heads being wrong going into the game.
In interviews afterwards Beefer admitted that they treated the All-Ireland just the same as the previous game against Dublin and like it was just another game. They had the exact same routine as the semi which was wrong as they should have been prepared to lift the performance from the semi and not hope that things go well, which was a fools hope. You could see it in the faces of the Mayo players before the game, totally relaxed and not focused, kicking wide after wide and having a leisurely warm-up. However Kerry ware knocking the shite out of each other in a tight possession game the other end and they looked ready for battle. I could tell before the game that we were in for a hammering.

- Tactically not learning anything from 2004
Not starting Brady was a mistake after his display against Dublin in the Semi but Mickey Moran and Morrison failed to learn anything from our defeat against Kerry in 2004. The same problems were there in 2006 and the didnt do anything to combat them. Nallen was roasted in 2004 at centre back by Declan O Suilleabhain, and Kerry knew to run at him again in 2006 and Declan O Suilleabhain destroyed him in minutes (no disrespect to Nallen who was left exposed by Gardiner a lot but thats another story). Nallen didnt have the legs for CB in 2006, especially in wide open spaces like Croke Park. They had absolutely no plan to curb the Donaughy threat at the edge of the square when they should have played a sweeper behind Nallen to protect him and in front of Donaughy when high balls came in. They only got the idea to bring on Brady when he demanded it from the subs bench but it was already damage limitation and we were taking water. It was basic stuff.

- Losing control of the players
It was obvious that the management had no control of the players or dressing room in 2006. Between Brady and Heaney refusing to leave the front of the hill in the Semi and Brady calling the shot to be put in on Donaughy showed a lack of leadership by the management. The other thing that annoyed me was reading afterwards that nether of the management even knew or noticed that McGarity was off the pitch and receiving attention after the blow he got from Whealan. I cant imagine managing a team and not knowing a) your playing with 14 men and b) your main midfielder and one of the main players was injured.

A lot of stuff has been posted on these threads about M&M getting a raw deal from the county board but when you take into account the above and you were left with a decision after being crucified in another final to Kerry you have to ask questions of the management.

In 2006 we could have won, if the players believed and had respect for the management, if their heads were right going into the game and if the management had a clue what they were doing and learned from 2004.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 04, 2010, 02:28:03 PM
That was a complete rant!  :D

Apologies for hijacking the thread,
Lar you can reply to that one over on the Mayo discussion thread!  ;)
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13.msg726626#msg726626
Post by: galwayman on February 04, 2010, 02:30:46 PM
I can't really understand why most of the Mayo lads on here are so sure ye will lose - and some of ye say heavily - at the weekend.
At the end of the day it is Galway v Mayo where there is rarely much between the teams and ye are playing at home.
What exactly have Galway done so far to merit such pessimism at your own chances?
All counties were in experimentation mode in the FBD - Galway and Mayo included - and both sides topped their groups despite not playing particularly well by all accounts.
Just because we have a new manager in Joe Kernan doesn't mean we are suddenly super fit and I don't know why everyone here seems to think Galway have all this extra training done because they haven't.

It is a 50-50 game and will be long forgotten in the summer when the real Galway v Mayo battle commences in McHale Park.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 04, 2010, 02:40:26 PM
Quote from: galwayman on February 04, 2010, 02:30:46 PM
I can't really understand why most of the Mayo lads on here are so sure ye will lose - and some of ye say heavily - at the weekend.
At the end of the day it is Galway v Mayo where there is rarely much between the teams and ye are playing at home.
What exactly have Galway done so far to merit such pessimism at your own chances?
All counties were in experimentation mode in the FBD - Galway and Mayo included - and both sides topped their groups despite not playing particularly well by all accounts.
Just because we have a new manager in Joe Kernan doesn't mean we are suddenly super fit and I don't know why everyone here seems to think Galway have all this extra training done because they haven't.

It is a 50-50 game and will be long forgotten in the summer when the real Galway v Mayo battle commences in McHale Park.

that just shows you how low things are in mayo when we have a galway man trying to instill confidence in us  :D thanks  galwayman
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2010, 02:46:10 PM

No negativity here. Mayo will win Sam in 2010.

Yes, because Mayo will win Sam in 2010.
Don't know but Mayo will win Sam in 2010.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 04, 2010, 04:03:36 PM
The two big men have their say.

QuoteO'Mahony hails great rivalry in Kernan's first taste of western derby

GALWAY v Mayo has always been one of the closest rivalries in football but they have taken it to fascinating levels over the past four years with no fewer than six of their last seven competitive clashes producing one-point wins.

Given that remarkable sequence, it's hardly surprising that bookmakers are divided on the outcome of Sunday's NFL clash in Castlebar. Ladbrokes have installed Mayo as 4/5 favourites with Galway at 5/4 while Paddy Power prices Galway at evens and Mayo at 11/10.

Only one of their last seven games has produced a clear winner when Galway had seven points to spare in the 2007 Connacht quarter-final. Otherwise, it has been incredibly close with the last two Connacht finals returning exactly the same scoreline (2-12 to 1-14), albeit with different winners.

Home advantage doesn't matter very much either as Mayo won championship and league games in Salthill and Tuam last year while in 2008 Galway recorded a double in Castlebar.

"As an outsider looking in, I'd always have thought of Galway v Mayo as a close rivalry but I didn't realise it was quite that tight. Mayo won the last two games so hopefully it's Galway's turn. Any margin will do," said new Galway manager, Joe Kernan.

John O'Mahony, who has managed both counties at alternate periods over 15 seasons, says it didn't matter which side of the fence he looked from, the approach was always the same.

"It really is one of the great rivalries in Irish sport and has been enhanced over the last few years when so many games were won by a point. Home or away, league, championship or challenge, Mayo-Galway rivalry is special. There's a respect there which underpins everything," he said.

Despite the closeness of the clashes between Connacht's 'Big Two', they haven't drawn since November 1997 when a league game finished level in Castlebar.

Mayo set out in pursuit of their first NFL (Div 1) title since 2001, when they beat Galway in the final. And yes, that was a one-point game too with Mayo edging home 0-13 to 0-12. Galway last won the title in 1981. They reached three finals in the last decade but lost to Mayo and Kerry (twice).

Galway v Mayo: As Close As It Gets

2009: Mayo 2-12 Galway 1-14 (Connacht final)

2009: Mayo 1-11 Galway 0-13 (NFL)

2008: Galway 2-12 Mayo 1-14 (Connacht final)

2008: Galway 2-9 Mayo 1-11 (NFL)

2007: Galway 2-10 Mayo 0-9 (Connacht quarter-final)

2007: Mayo 2-10 Galway 1-12 (NFL semi-final)

2006: Mayo 0-12 Galway 1-8 (Connacht final)
Post by: Chimley on February 04, 2010, 04:20:53 PM

It seems that we are not making progress under JOM and the defeat to Meath seems to have been forgotten by the management already. We are still persisting with half backs as corner backs, Trevor Howley at centre back and small men up front. When AOS came off against Meath, I don't think that we created a worthwhile attack afterwards because we had no presence left up front. There is no progression visible outside of the camp at least.
The background to this is that if you are a Connacht footballer under the age of 26 with a Connacht U21 medal in your arse pocket then you are a mayoman (with one or two possible exceptions). We have been in the past two all-Ireland minor finals too so the conveyor belt of talent coming through has never been as good. We should surely be looking forward to these exciting young players coming through, to at least continue their dominance of Connacht as a minimum and hopefully as a launching pad to an all-Ireland challenge yet here we are a week before the opening league match of the year afraid that we will be hammered out the gate by Galway. Something is wrong with that.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 04, 2010, 04:33:02 PM
Quote from: Chimley on February 04, 2010, 04:20:53 PM
We should surely be looking forward to these exciting young players coming through, to at least continue their dominance of Connacht as a minimum and hopefully as a launching pad to an all-Ireland challenge yet here we are a week before the opening league match of the year afraid that we will be hammered out the gate by Galway. Something is wrong with that.

It doesn't really work like that though. Mayo could win 10 U-21 Connacht titles in a row but they'd still know on any given day Galway could beat them. And vice versa. Sure before that run between 02-07 Galway won 5 out of 6 Connacht minor titles yet Mayo won 4 out of 6 U-21 titles during the same period. That's just the way it goes.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 04, 2010, 05:12:00 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 04, 2010, 02:28:03 PM
That was a complete rant!  :D

Apologies for hijacking the thread,
Lar you can reply to that one over on the Mayo discussion thread!  ;)
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13.msg726626#msg726626
Somehow, I think you have missed my point, Abbey.
I have said all along that while I have issues with John O'Mahony's management style, I don't think he should be blamed for everything that is wrong with Mayo football; past or present.
I would also feel that I have given the poor man credit where due at all times and that I have done so more often than most.

QuoteWithout a doubt, Mickey and Beefer did lead us to the final of '06 but it was a game we hadn't the proverbial snowball's chance of winning.
That's the place where we part company, is it?
That was not intended as a quip of any sort. I gave my reasons in the last sentence of that paragraph.
QuoteApart from team selection and substitutions, they had lost control to the senior players and were reduced to leading from the rear.

That's not blaming the players, is it?
In fact, you have gone to considerable length to make points that I had skipped over. I don't think we had a realistic hope that day because of the breakdown in communications between management and players and I feel much of the blame lies with M&M for this. Jack O'Connor was later to state the obvious; right from the start, Kerry would kick it high into Donaghy as he knew Donaghy had the beating of Heaney. He also had a mighty dust up in his camp when he played Declan O'Sullivan on Jimmy Nallen.  From '04, he knew Nallen couldn't cope with O'Sullivan. He picked a man to do a job though that meant handing the captaincy to him as well.
Kerry were better organised, hungrier for success and there was one man in total charge that day. Compare the Kerry tactics and organisation with Mayo's and you may see why I think we hadn't a hope of winning that game.
Really, you have given most of the obvious reasons yourself so I won't dwell on them. I do feel that we did not have the players to beat Kerry that day but that is a quite separate issue.
Getting to an All Ireland is fine but actually winning it is even better still and to be brutally frank, I don't think we have had many sides that were genuinely good enough to do that in any given year that I can remember.
Still; an aura seems to have developed around the team of being romantic losers, ever-doomed to fail and to rise again only to effin' fall down once more and so on and on, like a speech by Bertie Ahern.

QuoteI have criticised Johnno over many things but I don't think, that if M&M were still in charge, the situation would be any better.

I think the pair was treated disgracefully but I have noticed that some supporters in general look back at 2006 and feel that the two buckos, who got us to a final at their first attempt, would have at least one title to their credit by now. That by inference means we would have one or more by now if only John O'Mahony had not been appointed.
Let John O'Mahony stand or fall on his own actions; any Mayo side that may win an All Ireland will need to win it on merit as there is nothing to be gained by hankering for a heroic past that never existed.
Geez, Abbey, you seem to be in horrid form this weather. Is there a fatwah or something against me down Ballintubber way? ;D
And why bother scutterin' off to the Mayo discussion thread? Isn't this the place where all matters of national importance are debated and analysed in depth? That's why every single topic that has a Mayo connection of any sort, will wind up by being taken over by Mayo lads who want to discuss really importance issues such as Johnno's latest moves and his inexplicable failure to accept our expert and considered advice? Oh, by the way, you can also  include Sligonian's crusade to have Bellaghy and Tom Parson expatriated.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 04, 2010, 05:29:35 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 04, 2010, 05:12:00 PM
I think the pair was treated disgracefully but I have noticed that some supporters in general look back at 2006 and feel that the two buckos, who got us to a final at their first attempt, would have at least one title to their credit by now. That by inference means we would have one or more by now if only John O'Mahony had not been appointed.
Let John O'Mahony stand or fall on his own actions; any Mayo side that may win an All Ireland will need to win it on merit as there is nothing to be gained by hankering for a heroic past that never existed.
Geez, Abbey, you seem to be in horrid form this weather. Is there a fatwah or something against me down Ballintubber way? ;D
And why bother scutterin' off to the Mayo discussion thread? Isn't this the place where all matters of national importance are debated and analysed in depth? That's why every single topic that has a Mayo connection of any sort, will wind up by being taken over by Mayo lads who want to discuss really importance issues such as Johnno's latest moves and his inexplicable failure to accept our expert and considered advice? Oh, by the way, you can also  include Sligonian's crusade to have Bellaghy and Tom Parson expatriated.

Apologies if I came across as being in horrid form or especially argumentative/aggressive in any way!  ;) I was just trying to state a few facts and how I felt about it '06.
Reflecting on the M&M year, I do feel kind of strongly that they had major flaws and failings that all surfaced in the final, but the tell tail signs were there before that. Im only disagreeing and saying that we had every chance of winning in '06 if things were right and we learned from previous mistakes. Also M&M getting the cut in '06 was harsh and ruthless but I honestly think that it was McDonald, Brady, Heaney and O neill that dragged us to that final (especially McDonald no more than in 2004) and it was very little to do with M&M in the end.
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2010, 05:31:47 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 04, 2010, 05:29:35 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 04, 2010, 05:12:00 PM

Apologies if I came across as being in horrid form or especially argumentative/aggressive in any way!  ;) I was just trying to state a few facts and how I felt about it '06.
Reflecting on the M&M year, I do feel kind of strongly that they had major flaws and failings that all surfaced in the final, but the tell tail signs were there before that. Im only disagreeing and saying that we had every chance of winning in '06 if things were right and we learned from previous mistakes. Also M&M getting the cut in '06 was harsh and ruthless but I honestly think that it was McDonald, Brady, Heaney and O neill that dragged us to that final (especially McDonald no more than in 2004) and it was very little to do with M&M in the end.

Any game that you score 3 goals in the 1st half you'd think you were in with a shot.
Post by: mannix on February 04, 2010, 06:34:20 PM
who would we put on donaghy at fullforward today? and darren o sullivan? is kieran conroy or ger cafferkey strong enough and aggressive enough like david brady was or are we still short of his likes as a full back?
I also believe that after watching mickey moran being told by heaney that them warming up into the hill against dublin was fine and to leave it alone that he had lost control, would kerry go against what jack o connor says? JOM is really going to need to have his players fight in the championship like they never did before bar the dubs in 2006 and tyrone in 2004, giving up is too easy after all the hard work especially against limited opposition that Mayo should be well able for.
Post by: Duine Eile on February 04, 2010, 09:46:26 PM

1   Paul Doherty   Réalta Thuama

2   Garreth Bradshaw   Maigh Cuilinn

3   Finian Hanley   Bothar na Tra/Cn na Cathrach

4   Donal O'Neill   Seamróige Cortuin

5   Declan Meehan   Cealltrach

6   Garry O'Donnell   Realta Thuama

7   Niall Coyne   Carna/Caiseal

8   Joe Bergin   An Creagán-Maigh Locha

9   Mark Lydon   Maigh Cuilinn

10   Paddy Kennedy   Bearna

11   Paul Conroy   Naomh Sheamus

12   Niall Coleman   Anach Cuain

13   Sean Armstrong   Bóthar na Tra/Cn na Cathrach

14   Nicky Joyce   Cill Fhir Iarainn

15   Michael Martin   Seamróige Cortuin

16   Adrian Faherty   Baile Clár na Gaillimhe

17   Tomas Fahy   Cill Fhir Iarainn

18   Conor Healy   Bothar na Trá/Cn na Cathrach

19   Michael Meehan   Cealltrach

20   Danny Commins   Baile Clár na Gaillimhe

21   Eoin Concannon   Naomh Sheamus

22   Jamie Murphy   Realta Thuama

23   David Finnegan   Seamróige Cortuin

24   John Paul O'Connell   Baile Clár na Gaillimhe
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2010, 09:52:14 PM
Mayo SF v Galway: David Clarke (Ballina); Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis); Peadar Gardiner (Crossmolina), Trevor Howley (Knockmore), Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore); Tom Parsons (Charlestown), Ronan McGarrity (Ballina); Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen), Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy),..Trevor Mortimer (Shrule); Enda Varley (Garrymore), Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy), Mark Ronaldson (Shrule)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 04, 2010, 10:40:32 PM
Parsons and McGarrity need to get their act together or else it could end up messy. It will be interesting to see how Seamus O Shea operates at no 11. Hopefully he will prove successful. Defensively I'm not sure about full-back line or if K McLoughlin will wait where he is or he might swop with Andy Moran. All we can do is be there urging them on and hopefully something good will happen. I just don't trust my instinct that it will happen that way though. I would like to see Howley playing a good game at no 6.
Post by: moysider on February 04, 2010, 10:45:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 04, 2010, 09:52:14 PM
Mayo SF v Galway: David Clarke (Ballina); Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis); Peadar Gardiner (Crossmolina), Trevor Howley (Knockmore), Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore); Tom Parsons (Charlestown), Ronan McGarrity (Ballina); Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen), Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy),..Trevor Mortimer (Shrule); Enda Varley (Garrymore), Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy), Mark Ronaldson (Shrule)

Well done Muppet. Could nt find it anywhere. Must say I like a lot of that and its a team you d like to see play. We ll just have to see how it goes and not just a list of names. A couple of things.

Keith gone back to corner. Johnno obviously believes in this fb line. In fairness too, McLoughlin would have more craft and guile going forward.

Good to see Andy in forwards. SoS be an 11 or are we going with 3 midfielders? We ll probably have to anyway cause they have a lot of beef in there.
Post by: The flame still burns on February 04, 2010, 11:17:52 PM
Brief analysis of the Mayo team

http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/
Post by: moysider on February 04, 2010, 11:41:01 PM
Quote from: The flame still burns on February 04, 2010, 11:17:52 PM
Brief analysis of the Mayo team

I would nt pay much heed to the numbering to be honest. All kinds of switching could happen. I d expect Ó Sé to start as outright midfielder and Parsons in a more advanced role. In my time Mayo have never gone with the classic playmaker type 11 anyway. Fellas like Hanahoe, Ógie, Thomkins, Connor,  Blaney, Giles, Mairtín Beag, McGuigan, O Sullivan. Says a lot about us really and why we come up short. 11 in football is like a 10 in rugby. Our underage teams dont encourage or nurture this type of player either.

As for the fb line. Looks like management believes they will learn their trade and are the most likely to do so from what they have. Their call. Their future may well depend on it.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 04, 2010, 11:49:30 PM
i like our full forward line. Great balance to it. Picking o se will allow t parsons to attack more. Last yr i was suggesting trying him at no.11 cos his best assest seemed to be running through the middle and taking points. Galway's team is packed with midfielders. 2 in half forward line + centre back is midfielder.  Its gonna need the 3 lads for mayo in the middle + andy and trev mopping up. Really hope varley does well. himself and o'shea deserve a chance. I would have liked to see maybe kieran conroy at 6 and utilise trevor elsewhere. Or else feeney at full and caf at 2,4,6. Its absolute madness having 2 wingbacks in corner's. Give dermot geraghty another shot. I've seen many many men do worse
Post by: rosnarun on February 05, 2010, 12:34:40 AM
the time for slagging o mahony is gone, hes there and will be there till after the next election. no point in arguing the toss about that atr this time of year.
As for bad performaces we could surely have a separate thread about which was the worst . but Derry is right up there though losing a connacht final to leitrim is pretty unforgivable too.mty childhood is scarred with a loss to sligo pn my 1st big day out, i spent years thinking sligo were giants of the game.
As for the team it looks solid enough,
is JOM trying to redefine CHB with 1st kelly and now óSE great time for óse but not exactly a natural forward maybe a swap with parsons and hes only being a dick naming him at 11
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 05, 2010, 01:50:15 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 04, 2010, 05:29:35 PM

First things first, I wish Johnno and the  lads every success on Sunday and I know it is said that league form counts for nothing  but that usually comes from the losers. It's better to win well than lose gallantly any day.
I think the team is starting to have a settled look about it and that can't be a bad thing. It's an improvement over the first couple of years when Johnno seemed hell bent on confusing everybody, including himself. A solid performance against Galway is as good a way as any to start the season on a high note. A 10 point win would do nicely but I'd settle for a lucky 1 point result.
Look, I know you weren't being aggressive or anything like that and I was only slagging. Mayo football has little to do with logic and good arguments never need good facts to start them off.
Mayo football should be concerned with the present in order to plan for the future.
What started me off on my latest grouse is that I hear lots of Mayo followers (not here particularly) say that M&M would have won us an AI if only they were still around. I think that's pure wishful thinking. And wishful thinking never helps anyone. M&M did help the team get rid of the habit of giving in when the pressure comes on. Like sticking with it to the end against Galway, Laois and Dublin but their credibility as tacticians had gone after the Dublin game. How could any side be expected to win when the players have lost confidence in the management?
The players themselves did have the same spirit to win as they had shown against Dublin- you can blame M&M for this or poor selection or the hand of history or whatever but the fact is their confidence was at rock bottom.
In the Dublin game, Brady pinned Whelan's lugs back after he came on to replace McGarrity and I felt this was typical of the team spirit on the day. In the final, I knew the game was going to be lost after a few minutes and this had little to do with Donaghy's early goal.
Ciaran Mac had gone into this game carrying an injury. The first time he got possession, he was surrounded by four or five Kerry players who roughed him up. The ref didn't interfere and it was obvious they meant to do more damage to his injury.
How many Mayo players came to his aid? Only one and that was the smallest player on the field. Connereen got in a sliding tackle on one of the Kerry hoors that dropped him but by then Mac had lost possession and Kerry had sent out a message.
There was damn all evidence of the spirit they had shown against Dublin.
For me, that may have been just one isolated incident but it was a telling one.
I'm ending as I began by saying we were genuinely unlucky to lose the '96 final and that one alone. It's time for everyone to stop harking back to the past as the future is going to be tough enough.
Post by: mannix on February 05, 2010, 02:50:58 AM
Lar na parka, you have a very good way of putting it and you would write a good book.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 05, 2010, 03:28:32 AM
I'm a little disappointed that we're going with the same FB line, would like to see Feeney/AN Other given a chance in there.

I don't recall that incident you decribe Lar but it bears a striking resemblance to something which also happened in a very recent AIF.......

Are there any other midfielders in the county that deserve a shot other than the 5 (incl Harte) that we have?He doesn't seem to fancy Kilcullen for whatever reason. K Conroy? Anyone else?
Post by: Tubberman on February 05, 2010, 09:30:05 AM
I like the full forward line that's named for Sunday - has the look of a line that could put up a decent score and would be capable of goals.
Like others here, I'd assume SOS will play midfield, with Parsons going to CHF. Delighted to see SOS starting, we badly need physicality in midfield, which neither Parsons nor McGarrity can offer.
I have to say the two backlines don't fill my with confidence though. Vaughan and K Higgins as corner backs won't be good enough. We've seen that FB line in action, and it's not the answer.
I would have liked to see Alan Feeney get a start, hopefully he'll get his chance at some stage.
In fairness, Galway's team is experimental enough, so maybe the doom and gloom is misplaced - 50/50 game.
Or maybe that's just my mood getting better as the weekend approaches....  ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 05, 2010, 11:13:40 AM
Good man tubberman, to be honest, my gloom always lifts just as the ball is thrown in.  :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 05, 2010, 11:27:21 AM
roll on sunday, we are going to hammer them galway boys off the pitch
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 05, 2010, 11:39:11 AM
Quote from: mannix on February 05, 2010, 02:50:58 AM
Lar na parka, you have a very good way of putting it and you would write a good book.

Thank you very much, mannix, you are most kind.
Actually, there are a couple of books and a few CDs to my name.
I didn't compose all of the contents; just the intro and a few shovels of bullshine with the Irish- American market in mind.
There are some (okay, the missus and the mutt) who think I'm an expert on the subject in question.
Would you like to know what this subject matter is?

In case you do:
Mayo folklore, history, myths and superstitions! ;D ;D

Bejasus; some of ye here could stay tuned in to Joe Byrne on Mad West.
He just might announce details of my next effort some time soon.
Post by: shaund10 on February 05, 2010, 11:39:32 AM
I somehow doubt that. Mayo people look too much into the connaught final last year. Mayo beat a vastly underperforming galway side by a point, and with the aid if two lucky goals. If Niall Coleman had managed to keep his hand on that last kick out, im sure the result would have gone the other way. Thats how close it was.

Since then, Mayo have stuttered through the FBD, while Galway have been impressive. The Galway side looks more settled and the Mayo one more experimental. I can't understand how Mayo are favorites in places. I think home advantage has largely gone out the window in this fixture in recent years. Mayo seem to have more fans at both grounds anyway!

I think the naming of 5 players that you could call midfielders is a ploy by JK to crowd the middle and leaves oceans of space for the boys inside, ala Armagh with Clarke and McDonald. Also don't be surprised to see Joe Bergin line up at Full Forward at some stage during the game. N.Joyce and S.Armstrong are on serious form, and I'd expect Meehan to be introduced before half time. The thought of them 3 left alone with space inside is frightening.

The tussle betwwen A.O'Shea and Hanley could be crucial. AOS got the better of this one last year and it's time for Hanley to show that he isn't a player who will get bullied by imposing Full Forwards.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 05, 2010, 12:03:28 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 05, 2010, 03:28:32 AM
I'm a little disappointed that we're going with the same FB line, would like to see Feeney/AN Other given a chance in there.

I don't recall that incident you decribe Lar but it bears a striking resemblance to something which also happened in a very recent AIF.......

Are there any other midfielders in the county that deserve a shot other than the 5 (incl Harte) that we have?He doesn't seem to fancy Kilcullen for whatever reason. K Conroy? Anyone else?

Kilcullen and the Feeneys have been involved in a lot of trial games, and doing well so I dont know what JOM is waiting for. I think Feeney is a more natural defender than Vaughan and perhaps McLoughlin but could be fitness thats keeping them both off the starting line-up?
As regards other mid-fielders, Jason Gibbons and Alan Freeman have had good displays last year and the year before but they are a big young for the big stuff yet.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 05, 2010, 12:59:31 PM
Don't think the result of this weekend's game will have much bearing come the Summer if the sides were to meet again. Mayo are missing a couple of lads. Galway are missing the Corofin contingent and a couple of lads including PJ amongst them. In fact looking at the teams Mayo seem to have a side out that will not be far off their championship selection bar the obvious unavailables. Kernan seems to be still tinkering with positions and trying some new lads which is to be expected I guess so early into his reign. Has left Michael Meehan on the bench to give Michael Martin a run out.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on February 05, 2010, 01:35:19 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 05, 2010, 12:59:31 PM
Don't think the result of this weekend's game will have much bearing come the Summer if the sides were to meet again. Mayo are missing a couple of lads. Galway are missing the Corofin contingent and a couple of lads including PJ amongst them. In fact looking at the teams Mayo seem to have a side out that will not be far off their championship selection bar the obvious unavailables. Kernan seems to be still tinkering with positions and trying some new lads which is to be expected I guess so early into his reign. Has left Michael Meehan on the bench to give Michael Martin a run out.
Thats basically it in a nutshell GBB.  This league campaign needs to uncover a few lads that will be credible candidates for starting berths come the championship and now is the time to be giving them a shot at proving their worth.  I would be quite happy to retain Div 1 and find a few players.  We have flattered to deceive in recent league campaigns and then flopped come championship time.  The Mayo side looks stronger than I thought it was going to be and as usual it will be tight on Sunday but I think we have a little bit more momentum going into this and sure isnt it our turn to win!
Post by: The flame still burns on February 06, 2010, 02:11:47 AM
A few words on the retirement of two greats, Messrs Nallen and Heaney.

Post by: mrhardyannual on February 06, 2010, 09:33:43 PM
if either Mayo or Galway are to be involved in the final stages of championship then a run to the semi-finals of the league is a preresquisite. No team that hasn't performemed well in the league has qualified for an All-Ireland final in years.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 06, 2010, 09:58:39 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 05, 2010, 12:03:28 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 05, 2010, 03:28:32 AM

Kilcullen and the Feeneys have been involved in a lot of trial games, and doing well so I dont know what JOM is waiting for. I think Feeney is a more natural defender than Vaughan and perhaps McLoughlin but could be fitness thats keeping them both off the starting line-up?
As regards other mid-fielders, Jason Gibbons and Alan Freeman have had good displays last year and the year before but they are a big young for the big stuff yet.
I often wondered about Kilcullen and his abrupt departure from the scene. Same goes for the brother. Whatever the reason may have been is immaterial by now. Good to see him back in contention. I still think he could be the answer to the FB problem. If he has picked up a bit of cuteness along the line, he would be a good asset to have on hand. I'm not criticising Caff in saying this; it's good to have options.
Post by: Tubberman on February 07, 2010, 04:01:37 PM
Well I didn't see that coming! Is it time to lose the run of ourselves?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 04:33:04 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 07, 2010, 04:01:37 PM
Well I didn't see that coming! Is it time to lose the run of ourselves?

Should we book the Citiwest is that what your asking  :D nah I don't think so, but its always nice to beat Galway and it was a hammering too, we where 13 points up at one stage before Trevor was sent off.

I thought Seamus O'Shea, Donal Vaughan and Kevin McLoughlin where outstanding. McGarrity, Keith Higgins and Andy Moran where very good too. Indeed most Mayo players had a good game.

Micheal Meehan made a very positive impact for Galway when he came on. He is still a legend of a player, strong and skillful.

Re: Trev's dismissal I thought it a bit harsh, but a few people around me thought it was a red. When I listened to Mid-West ;D on the way home, they where sure it was a bad call, Andy Moran was interviewed and it seems Mayo are going to challenge the red. It made a big difference to the game and allowed them back into it, prior to the red we looked like we might beat them by 20 points, but maybe that was a blessing Christ we would lose the run of ourselves if that had happened.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 07, 2010, 04:48:50 PM
Definitely didn't see that coming. Mayo were impressive. A lot of good performances. Only Aidan O'Shea was poor. By the same token Galway were cat. Beaten out the gate at midfield and leaden footed all over the field. But we'll take the result!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 04:51:24 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 07, 2010, 04:48:50 PM
Definitely didn't see that coming. Mayo were impressive. A lot of good performances. Only Aidan O'Shea was poor. By the same token Galway were cat. Beaten out the gate at midfield and leaden footed all over the field. But we'll take the result!

True they where slow and a 6's and 7's with the ball. It seemed to me they haven't used a football in training at all.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 07, 2010, 04:57:14 PM
Delighted with that, didn't see it coming at all.

No point getting carried away or anything, but nonetheless it was an excellent performance up until Trevor got sent off. I couldn't see how that was a red card, it was a bit high and loose, but nothing particularly intentional. A yellow at most.

Very impressed by McLoughlin and S O'Shea. Thought Varley came into it well after a slow start as well.

Don't know who the Galway number 7 was, but he had a shocking 20 minutes early on before Kernan took him off. Meehan improved Galway when he came on, but he was up to his usual tricks and the ref (who struck me as someone who must have never kicked a ball in his life) bought it every time.

A badly needed 2 points given the fixture program we have ahead.

St. Patrick had a good old row with a steward at half time who wouldn't let him into the stand. That was funny.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2010, 05:00:21 PM
Didn't see the game so had to rely on the radio but it seemed Mayo were good on the day and Galway were just plain bad. Lads on GBFM were saying it was Galway's worst display in the league in years and they just looked leaden footed all day.

Still no point worrying about a league game in February even when it's such a poor performance. If it starts to become a trend then it's time to start worrying. We usually start the league like a train only to fade as the year goes on so hopefully we can reverse that this year. Home next week now against Monaghan which is a must win now really or else the spectre of relegation will begin to loom.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 05:07:31 PM
Its on TG4 now.

Enda Varley was in top form too.

Seeing the Trev red again, it was bloody harsh, he went in for a shoulder, it was at worst a yellow.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 05:16:09 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on February 07, 2010, 04:57:14 PM
Delighted with that, didn't see it coming at all.

No point getting carried away or anything, but nonetheless it was an excellent performance up until Trevor got sent off. I couldn't see how that was a red card, it was a bit high and loose, but nothing particularly intentional. A yellow at most.

Very impressed by McLoughlin and S O'Shea. Thought Varley came into it well after a slow start as well.

Don't know who the Galway number 7 was, but he had a shocking 20 minutes early on before Kernan took him off. Meehan improved Galway when he came on, but he was up to his usual tricks and the ref (who struck me as someone who must have never kicked a ball in his life) bought it every time.

A badly needed 2 points given the fixture program we have ahead.

St. Patrick had a good old row with a steward at half time who wouldn't let him into the stand. That was funny.

Number 7 was Niall Coyne, I thought Garry O'Donnell at centre hald back was poor too.

Ya Meehan was pushing in the back, subtle stuff but ya his usual tricks, still a brilliant player all the same.
Post by: Tatler Jack on February 07, 2010, 05:24:21 PM
QuoteSeeing the Trev red again, it was bloody harsh, he went in for a shoulder, it was at worst a yellow.
[/b]

Maybe harsh but an experienced players should know that when you are 13 pts up there is no need to go in such a reckless manner. He probably intended to shoulder but he was never going to be  able to hit a clean shoulder from the angle he was coming from.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on February 07, 2010, 05:30:25 PM
Thought it was a red even if there was no intent. Fair play to the Galway lad for not making much of it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2010, 05:34:32 PM
Mayo proved me wrong thank God. But Galway were absolutely terrible so no point in getting carried away. Next weekend will be a tester. McLoughlin was my motm, but Billy Fitz gave it to S O'Shea. No quibbles there as he was brilliant all game too (when he was on) Still unsure about the full-back line, when Meehan came on the high balls came showering down on them. If Galway were any good elsewhere it would be a massive problem. Suppose having seen Trevor's red on tv, there is no point in appealing it.

Still nice to beat Galway though! :)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 05:39:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2010, 05:34:32 PM
Mayo proved me wrong thank God. But Galway were absolutely terrible so no point in getting carried away. Next weekend will be a tester. McLoughlin was my motm, but Billy Fitz gave it to S O'Shea. No quibbles there as he was brilliant all game too (when he was on) Still unsure about the full-back line, when Meehan came on the high balls came showering down on them. If Galway were any good elsewhere it would be a massive problem. Suppose having seen Trevor's red on tv, there is no point in appealing it.

Still nice to beat Galway though! :)

If it had been closer we could have stuck Alan Feeney in a full back to see if he could shore things up a little tighter.
Post by: Chimley on February 07, 2010, 06:00:19 PM
Great start to the year. If we never win another game we have a highlight already. I thought there were many fine performances and Seamus O'Sé brought a bit of bite around the middle. Our backs looked comfortable on the front foot for most of the game but there is a lingering doubt about their defensive work. Someone needs to tell them that there's no offside rule in gaelic football. I don't think Trevor can have any complaints about the sending off. If you misjudge a shoulder that badly you have to take what's coming. O'Sé jnr needs to be taken to one side and shown how to fistpass the ball. All his passes from the hand were borderline. Overall a surprisingly easy win against a Galway team that had no shape about them today.
Post by: ballinaman on February 07, 2010, 06:03:46 PM
Heading to New Zealand for a year or maybe more at end of the month so that was the last Mayo game I'm going to see for awhile (unless Mayo reach AI final ;)) so i can safely say i quite enjoyed that match.

McLoughlin was my MOTM, great hands and intelligent use of the ball any time he got it as well as the 2 points. Seamus O'Shea was excellent also, real powerhouse in the middle going forward. Andy Moran gave Coyne a real roasting, Big Joe didn't even look at him when he took him off early. Donnie Vaughan covered a wealth of ground too. Meehan was dangerous as usual, should have been called for charging once or twice IMO though.

Trev Mort sending off was the only downside. Straight red too which is a real kick in the balls. Seeing it back on TV, i don't think he'll have much hope of getting off, caught the galway player across the chin.

Up Mayo! :)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 06:16:01 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 07, 2010, 06:03:46 PM
Heading to New Zealand for a year or maybe more at end of the month so that was the last Mayo game I'm going to see for awhile (unless Mayo reach AI final ;)) so i can safely say i quite enjoyed that match.

McLoughlin was my MOTM, great hands and intelligent use of the ball any time he got it as well as the 2 points. Seamus O'Shea was excellent also, real powerhouse in the middle going forward. Andy Moran gave Coyne a real roasting, Big Joe didn't even look at him when he took him off early. Donnie Vaughan covered a wealth of ground too. Meehan was dangerous as usual, should have been called for charging once or twice IMO though.

Trev Mort sending off was the only downside. Straight red too which is a real kick in the balls. Seeing it back on TV, i don't think he'll have much hope of getting off, caught the galway player across the chin.

Enjoy New Zealand Ballinaman
Post by: ballinaman on February 07, 2010, 06:19:30 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 06:16:01 PM

Sound man. 11 hours of a time difference, gonna kill me when it comes to sport ffs!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 06:22:22 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 07, 2010, 06:19:30 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 07, 2010, 06:16:01 PM

Sound man. 11 hours of a time difference, gonna kill me when it comes to sport ffs!

Ya I found that too when I was in Australia, if you had no work on monday you had to find a pub that stayed open late enough, and if you had work you had to sit up half the night trying to find it badly streamed or any local station you can find that works and reporting the match.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 07, 2010, 06:27:34 PM
It was a good day for Mayo. They did what they had to do and did it well.
Everyone, including John O'Mahony, should be pleased.
Galway will feel disappointed but there will be better days ahead. Nobody can take anything for granted where Galway are concerned and a bad start doesn't mean things won't improve.

BTW; it's many years since I saw Johnno himself in such fine physical shape. I hope it's a sign of things to come.
Post by: Pangurban on February 07, 2010, 07:17:48 PM
Very impressed with Mayo today, there was an air of assurance and swagger throughout their team, like watching Down at their best. Early days but good omens for a exciting year in the land of the almost men
Post by: Tubberman on February 07, 2010, 07:27:01 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on February 07, 2010, 07:17:48 PM
Very impressed with Mayo today, there was an air of assurance and swagger throughout their team, like watching Down at their best. Early days but good omens for a exciting year in the land of the almost men

Woah there Nelly!!
It was the first league game of the year. Galway made us look good by refusing to mark or tackle the Mayo players.
And as Jor Kernan said to JOM at the final whistle "It's a long year".... 
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2010, 07:37:02 PM
Was it only me or did Aiden O'Shea look heavy? Maybe Hanley (who was the only standout player for Galway) knew what he was doing, but O'Shea still looked sluggish today.
Post by: ballinaman on February 07, 2010, 07:42:43 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2010, 07:37:02 PM
Was it only me or did Aiden O'Shea look heavy? Maybe Hanley (who was the only standout player for Galway) knew what he was doing, but O'Shea still looked sluggish today.
Not alot went right for him. He doesn't have the most acceleration from a standing start but he's quick when he gets going as his point showed. Thought Bradshaw for Galway was played well as usual.
Post by: galwayman on February 07, 2010, 09:03:07 PM
That game today kind of sums up my pre-game puzzlement at the lack of confidence in the Mayo posters beforehand.

We got our arses kicked today and deservedly so is all that can be said. And it's not easy to take when your home house is about a mile from the Mayo border as mine is  :)

I don't really read anything into matches at this time of year (we are usually flying at this time of year only to flop come the summer) BUT I think it is fair to say that today's game once again highlighted one of the major achilles heels of this Galway team, which has been evident for the last number of years - pretty much since the retirement of the great Kevin Walsh.
That is of course the shambles that is our midfield.
Or more accurately our lack of a midfield.
Time and again over the last number of seasons we have been cleaned out of it in this sector.McGarrity must love playing against us becuase he knows he has the beating of whoever we play there.

The sad fact is that we do not have a single inter county standard midfielder in the county. There has really been 5 different lads played here at various stages over the years - all 5 of whom played some part today. Bergin,Coleman,Cullinane,Lydon,O'Donnell.
Cullinane imho is the only one of the 5 with the necessary physique to play county football at midfield. But of course he is not an athlete at all and his basic skills are poor. Lydon & O'Donnell aren't good enough for county football at all full stop. That leaves Coleman (who is not a bad player but much too small physically to win primary posession in midfield) and Bergin who must be one of the most infuriating players I have ever seen in my years watching Galway play.
He really has not developed at all from all the promise he showed in his u-21 days.I remember him dominating the midfield sector in the 2002 AI u-21 final against the Dubs. Unfortunately these days it is rare to see him catching any clean ball at all in games.McGarrity has become the dominant player around the middle in most Galway v Mayo matches.

Anyway that is the main reason why I see us struggling this year. I think our problems in the backs and up front can certainly be ironed out and improved upon as the year goes on but I just don't feel the personnel are available within the current squad to sort out our midfield problems. We will not win anything without a midfield that is for sure.

Today we played without intensity and there was no bite to our play.Gareth Bradshaw,Armstrong in patches and Meehan to an extent when he came on were the only players to really put it up to Mayo today.

P.S. I felt Mortimer's challenge was more worthy of a yellow card than red. It looked bad in real time but having looked at the replay there didn't seem to be intent there.He was attempting to shoulder O'Neill who kind of turned back into the shoulder so it looked bad and he certainly caught him full on but it didn't look intentional to me.

P.P.S
Quotebut he was up to his usual tricks
I'm not quite sure what you are insinuating about Meehan by the remark above but am surprised to read a comment like that in relation to MM to be honest about it.
Post by: moysider on February 07, 2010, 09:53:25 PM

More like it. The most encouraging display from our seniors for a long time. Galway might nt have been great but still .....
The most encouraging thing for us was the individual quality and the overall attitude of the players, which was so positive. I think this display finally puts to rest the notion that management had n't/dont have the quality to work with. e.g we have at least 3 midfielders better than anything Galway can tog.
McLoughlin is probably the best player playing in Mayo at the minute. He was brilliant today. After today SOS is a must. We ll be praying he stays fit and will be seen as a major loss if anything happens to him. Enda Varley is a big addition too. He worked really hard and looks a real threat. And not afraid to go for goal. Andy Moran was excellent today as well while Tom Parsons was back to his 08 self, thank God. McGarrity too, looked up for it but still does a few silly things. As does Trevor. He was unlucky to get a straight red ( if Duffy was as brave last Sept in Croke Park Sam might have spent the winter by the Lee) but it did n't look great on tv. But it was his kicking of the ball that would have you tearing your hair out. And what s he at taking frees out the field. All he does is sky them. We missed 3 very scorable frees today as well. That ll have to be sorted.

Still not convinced that the backs will cut it against other opposition. We know the Galway forwards well through all the grades and we ll always deal grand against likes of Nicky and Army. Meehan is a different animal and in a tight game would beat us on his own. We cant handle him at all when he gets under ball.

As for Galway? Hard to know. They ll always be a threat with Meehan, and Joyce to come back and while we have more quality players overall its unlikely there ll be much in it later in the year if we meet again. They ll do well to fix up midfield while their half forwards look neither fish nor fowl. I mean Coleman and Conroy. Should be midfielders but hardly good enough while not creative enough to be forwards. Big Joe of course will only want them to be destructive forces but on todays evidence they looked unsure what they were at. Kildare under McGeeney looked cat at the start as well.  BJ will be patient because he knows his way has worked for him before.
Post by: stephenite on February 07, 2010, 09:59:03 PM
Sounds like a good result, one good league game does not however mean that Seamus O'Se is a must, catch yourself on Moysider, we're not even halfway through Feb and even if the signs are encouraging there's a long way to go for both teams.
Post by: moysider on February 07, 2010, 10:11:42 PM
Quote from: stephenite on February 07, 2010, 09:59:03 PM
Sounds like a good result, one good league game does not however mean that Seamus O'Se is a must, catch yourself on Moysider, we're not even halfway through Feb and even if the signs are encouraging there's a long way to go for both teams.

What I m saying is that SOS, if he remains sound and fit will be a big addition. He gives us somethig we have nt had and there was never a question mark over his technical ability. If he remains fit and well he ll be a fixture. The fact that he got mom means that I was n't the only one impressed. Undoubtedly there s a long way to go but today things looked brighter than from some time.
Post by: muppet on February 07, 2010, 10:38:39 PM
Doom and gloom replaced by boom and zoom.

Someone said Joe Kernan said to Johno that 'it is a long year'. Joe, a week is longer in Mayo football than it is even in politics.

Nothing like the Mayo roller coaster is there?

Missed the game through work but I had a big smile when I the texts started coming in.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 07, 2010, 10:44:16 PM
Quote from: galwayman on February 07, 2010, 09:03:07 PM
P.P.S
Quotebut he was up to his usual tricks
I'm not quite sure what you are insinuating about Meehan by the remark above but am surprised to read a comment like that in relation to MM to be honest about it.

Just to clarify what I'm saying here.

Michael Meehan is an outstanding forward, the best in the province at the moment. As someone else said there, if he got enough ball, he'd beat us on his own.

But he also play's referees very well and always has done. Does it in a few different ways, but the most frustrating one (from an opposition fans point of view) is his charging into players and then falling down thing. Did it a few times today in the second half and picked up frees from it. As an opposition defender, your only options are to foul him, hold your ground (resulting in him falling down and winning a free) or just get out of the way.

Either way he wins, and it's rarely picked up on by refs.

Just my opinion.

Anyway today's result will count for little when the teams inevitably reconvene for another crack at each other in the Summer.
Post by: mckieran on February 07, 2010, 10:55:00 PM
In every Galway thread, there is always one Mayo poster who makes some snide remarks about Meehan. The explanation above could be applied to any forward in th country...

As for the match, I thought Galway were awful The forwards had no shape. Where was Michael Martin supposed to be playing in the first half? Corner forward, Centre foward? Somewhere between the half forward line & the full forward line? Armstrong and Nicky Joyce didnt link up with each other at all. Gardiner & McLoughlin  were excellent for Mayo. Galways forwards could not keep up with them at all. Midfield continues to be a problem, Cullinane should be starting. He is not perfect, far from it, But he is the best midfielder in Galway.

For Mayo, I was seriously impressed with McLoughlin, Moran & S.O'Se. Mayos midfield were impressive too. But I would be worried if I was Mayo. Mayo were ahead by 13 points at one stage ( I think) and only won by 6. They started messing around with the ball too much like they did in the championship last year (When it nearly cost them). The sending off was harsh, If I was ref, I would have given a yellow. But I have seen people sent off for less and am unsure about the raptuous appluase he got from the Mayo following.

On another note, That is one hell of a new stand (Except for those 2 annoying poles in the middle). If they can develop McHale park on the other sides (Into something similar), they will have some stadium down in Castlebar
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2010, 11:08:44 PM
Well if you want to bet on Galway for a Connacht title you might as well do it now as their odds will have lengthened considerably after today.

They sounded terrible on the radio anyway so I didn't need to see them on telly later to confirm that. Will see them in person against Monaghan next weekend. Unusual to see Galway so off the pace this early in the league as they are usually flying this time of year.
Post by: Stimpy on February 07, 2010, 11:14:23 PM
galway def. out of running for championship this year, terrible performance, mayo to walk outa connaught....

by joe that kernan mans a coy character, i remember the same league form from that great armagh team not so long ago
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2010, 11:17:03 PM
By Joe he is... And yet you're saying Mayo will walk out of Connacht??
Post by: Stimpy on February 07, 2010, 11:19:23 PM
no but thats wat most people will be thinking
Post by: moysider on February 07, 2010, 11:29:02 PM
Quote from: Stimpy on February 07, 2010, 11:19:23 PM
no but thats wat most people will be thinking

Nah. Everybody knows this will only be an incentive to the losing team for next time to reverse things. That may well happen but today was encouraging for us in that we look like getting a team together that may be able to go the scenic way if need be. The thing that pleases me today is not the result in itself. Its the 2 points gives us a chance of staying in division 1 , which is crucial for a team in development. With the winter training ban and the waste of time that is the FBD these leage games against the better teams are a must. Plus the attitude of the players was spot on and the performances individually were all good with a few very encouraging like those mentioned earlier.
Galway looked a bit bewildered today. Understandable as this is an alien game for them doing the Crossmaglen thing. By Summer they'll have ironed out a lot. And we know the Crossmaglen way works.  BJ did nt look, or sound troubled.( I don't know what to make of his 'long year' remark to johnno). Was he wishing Mayo a long year or was he taking a hump from the game? If he said 'it's a long year' then I think that's a very strange thing to say. Not what you d expect a manager to say to another after a game.
Post by: muppet on February 07, 2010, 11:29:32 PM
Quote from: Stimpy on February 07, 2010, 11:14:23 PM
galway def. out of running for championship this year, terrible performance, mayo to walk outa connaught....

by joe that kernan mans a coy character, i remember the same league form from that great armagh team not so long ago

Ye'll struggle in the semi-final against Sligo.
Post by: moysider on February 08, 2010, 12:16:36 AM
Quote from: mckieran on February 07, 2010, 10:55:00 PM
In every Galway thread, there is always one Mayo poster who makes some snide remarks about Meehan. The explanation above could be applied to any forward in th country...
As for the match, I thought Galway were awful The forwards had no shape. Where was Michael Martin supposed to be playing in the first half? Corner forward, Centre foward? Somewhere between the half forward line & the full forward line? Armstrong and Nicky Joyce didnt link up with each other at all. Gardiner & McLoughlin  were excellent for Mayo. Galways forwards could not keep up with them at all. Midfield continues to be a problem, Cullinane should be starting. He is not perfect, far from it, But he is the best midfielder in Galway.

For Mayo, I was seriously impressed with McLoughlin, Moran & S.O'Se. Mayos midfield were impressive too. But I would be worried if I was Mayo. Mayo were ahead by 13 points at one stage ( I think) and only won by 6. They started messing around with the ball too much like they did in the championship last year (When it nearly cost them). The sending off was harsh, If I was ref, I would have given a yellow. But I have seen people sent off for less and am unsure about the raptuous appluase he got from the Mayo following.

On another note, That is one hell of a new stand (Except for those 2 annoying poles in the middle). If they can develop McHale park on the other sides (Into something similar), they will have some stadium down in Castlebar

Correct. Though I think he got a few soft ones, so what? He s good enough to manufacture them and if the ref buys it ...... I m sure Galway folk have been snide as well about Conoreen gettin handy ones in the past.

I dont want to start a row or anything but I ve been convinced that the current Galway forwards are living on the reputation of the 98-01 boys for some time. Stuff driven by a media that are lazy and like their stereotypes. Only Meehan would have been good enough for that team. The reality is nobody in hfline within an ass's roar of Ja, Donnellan and Clancy. Different planet.

As Mayo people we re always worried. If we ever lost the possesssion game to Galway as they  did to us today the scoreboard would run out of digits. We re not clinical or ruthless enough when on top. Like Meath last year when we cant make our dominance count. It s no mystery. Its all there on dvd. Things break down for us and to correct that will take coaching and maybe a change of personnel if they cannot adapt.

The sending off changed the game. We only scored once after in last 25 mins. Understandable this time of year if you lose a man.

Correct about the messing about with the ball. I like our possession/running game mixed up with a few long ones( today we did nt get the ball in right - OS having to sprint to wide low ball and Trevor's garryowens down on Ron). Even while well ahead we turned over ball like it was hot and late in the game it was like Salthill all over again. Dem s the rocks we ll perish on again if its not worked on.

f**k it, I was trying to be all positive tonight but Stephenite took the head off me earlier for my enthusiasm so a bit of balance required.

Not going to say anything about the stand in Castlebar - on this thread.
Post by: mannix on February 08, 2010, 12:40:44 AM
was just on the phone there to CITYWEST about a siute for late September, they told me to calm down and not be daft. And there was I trying to beat the rush as I know conoreen and dillon are due back soon and sure we are a shoo in for Sam.
Post by: moysider on February 08, 2010, 12:52:03 AM
Quote from: mannix on February 08, 2010, 12:40:44 AM
was just on the phone there to CITYWEST about a siute for late September, they told me to calm down and not be daft. And there was I trying to beat the rush as I know conoreen and dillon are due back soon and sure we are a shoo in for Sam.

Go ahead and book it. Always a good day anyway. I think our minors could make it a three in a row.
Post by: mckieran on February 08, 2010, 12:53:14 AM
Quotedont want to start a row or anything but I ve been convinced that the current Galway forwards are living on the reputation of the 98-01 boys for some time. Stuff driven by a media that are lazy and like their stereotypes. Only Meehan would have been good enough for that team. The reality is nobody in hfline within an ass's roar of Ja, Donnellan and Clancy. Different planet.

There is an element of truth of this. But I do think that Meehan, N.Joyce and Armstrong would be well able to compete for a place on any team in the country. Today, the forwards reminded me of how they were under Forde (Thats not good!). I would have loved to see a 3 man full forward line in the second half of Armstrong, Meehan, N.Joyce. It would be interesting to see how the Mayo full back line could have dealt with that (If Galway could get the ball into them). But we didnt get it. From what I could make out, the Galway forward line in the second half was: Martin, Armstrong, Cummins, Joyce, Meehan. No idea where Conroy was playing.

I was shocked at Galways inability to challenge for the ball at midfield as well. Mayo won a couple of marks which could have been avoided if a alway man had just challenged for the ball.

Didnt realise that there was a different thread about McHale pk, havent been on this forum in a while...

I still think Galway are far better than we saw today. Diarmuid Blake, P. Joyce and the Corofin guys will make a big difference. But it is hard to see how they will improve on last year... Certainly, none of the new guys look like they are going to stake a claim for a place
Mayo on the other hand do seem to have more going for them. Strong half back line, excellent midfield. If they can get A O'Se up to speed at no. 14. Nallen & Heaney gone is a good thing (There is always a tendency to look to the old guys when things are going wrong when you should be looking to younger players). Andy Moran is a real leader on the pitch now and looks like a good option at no.10 (Rather than 7). Varley looked lively for Mayo too. And I thought the no.24 caused more problems for Hanley than O'Se did.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 08, 2010, 12:55:01 AM
delighted for seamie o'shea. I was putting him in my preferred teams for last year and got a lot of replies questioning my decision. I know moysider agreed and we were right. We needed a dog in the middle 3rd and now we have one. SO'S has always been impressive underage. He is a hardy lad and he can play a bit. Our forward line is very balanced now. Kevin Mcloughlin is a natural footballer. He can play on any line in the mayo team (bar midfield!).
Credit to JOM for team selection. Full forward line has great balance. All capable of getting goals. Andy is our PLAYMAKER and has become a great leader on the pitch. Parsons and McGarrity will flourish with the help of S'OS.
What i would like to see is a panel of 20/22 developed. Alan Feeney MUST get game time. K Conroy, C barret, N douglas, A freeman, S nally also. Not all at once obviously but Mayo must realise that in order to win an AI you need a strong bench. Today was very nice and many will say leave the team. But look at what kidney is doing with Ireland. He is getting everyone game time before world cup. He is developing a serious panel. EO'S didnt and Ireland team became flat and unimaginative. JOM must ensure that he starts different players. I'm not saying wholesale changes. Maybe 1/2 a game and use subs as early as half time. I think it's possible to this without upsetting the balance of the teram i.e. Douglas for Ronaldson. C barrett for gardiner. I think it's the strongest panel we've had in a long time. With dillon, c mort, killer, harte, b moran to come back in aswell it really does  look promising.
Kerry wont be the same this year without walsh and kennelly and d murphy gone. Possibly d o se and mccarthy to go. Dub wont be up to much. Tyrone will be dangerous if s o'neill is fit and playing well. Cork will be there in last 4 at least. I think we really should be looking at pushing hard for AI. AND WHY NOT?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on February 08, 2010, 09:39:18 AM
Well that was the most comprehensive beating I have seen Mayo give Galway in a long time.  The scoreline actualy flatters us  :-\  Too early in the year to be drawing any conclusions about personnel and performances but we have a mountain of work to get through now until the end of the league.  Monaghan at home next week is a must win or we will be under a lot of pressure to retain Div 1 status.  Anyway, well done to Mayo and hopefully we can return the compliment later in the year!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 09:45:22 AM
Lads not to piss on the parade but Galway must be flat out training when they were stuck to the ground like thy were yesterday. It's v early to be writing them off & I think they'll still win Connacht.
Why? Leaving Galway aside:
full back line- we were opened up on several occasions yesterday with high balls over the top, in the 1st half I counted 3, did we not learn from last year. Corner backs are too small, we've known this since 04. Plus they both go forward at the same time, FFS one passed to the other up at the Galway goal in the second half.
Gardiner- great servant but not good enough to win an AI and I feel bad saying that.
Midfield - I agree that SOS will be a great addition but he is immobile, big man when he gets going but doesn't have the work rate, Parsons needs to be working double time & one good game doesn't make up for 09. McGarrity could do with been taken out and shown how to tackle, FFS it's brutal. In general should be told not to shoot, ever!
Varley - MOM after mclaughlin yesterday but he is very small, a worry.
Mort - great man for running and carrying the ball but can he not be told leave a free down, parsons, mclaughlin & moran should be takin all the frees.

Early days yet but no cause to be losing the run of ourselves, we'll know more after next Sunday in omagh.
Post by: stephenite on February 08, 2010, 09:49:54 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 08, 2010, 12:16:36 AM

f**k it, I was trying to be all positive tonight but Stephenite took the head off me earlier for my enthusiasm so a bit of balance required.

Not going to say anything about the stand in Castlebar - on this thread.

Well, I wasn't trying to take your head off - and you were the one at the game so I've a bit of a cheek trying to dampen your enthusiasm after my rant on negativity earlier last week.

I suppose all I'm saying is that S. O'Se has been injured, out of form and whatever else for the last 2 odd years, and the last thing that should be said about him after 1 league game is that if he gets injured we're fckued. It's only a league game in Feb, let him and the rest of the team start enjoying winning and their football. There's many a young man that has starred on fields up and down the country at this time of year before burning out for the summer and perhaps we in Mayo should just sit back and let's see where this win takes them before deciding that this years early starter is the missing piece of the jigsaw and a must for the team.

I think it was Jack O'Connor who noted that Mayo were flying at a very high altitude for that time of the year when we took Kerry in the opening league match in Killarney a couple of years back, it could be that this is more of the same thing.

You've been calling for his inclusion on here for a while, and fair play it looks like you were right, not that that surprises me at all.
Post by: Barney on February 08, 2010, 10:13:17 AM
It was a very encouraging result and great to get 2 points on the board early in the year. If we had lost we were immediate in a dog-fight to save our Division 1 status.

I think it is a good result for Galway. The Big-Joe merry-go-round might fade into the background a bit, let them iron out their problems and they will be flying come Summer. We all know that it is going to be 50/50 if the two teams meet later in the year.

The way we put Galway to the sword in the first half and just after half-time was impressive. Too often Mayo teams let their opponents dictate the tempo and tone of a game. This time we lorded it at midfield and used it as a basis to push home.

There is nothing to get carried away with and plenty of work to do - full-back line did look very exposed again at times, early in the game and when Meehan came on. SOS did provide good cover to the back 6 and was a loss when he went off. We also gave Galway 7 points from frees - more disciplined defending is required. We also need to sort out our freetaking - I would favour Kilcoyne when fully fit. Ronaldson is fine for the "handy" ones, but anything outside 25 - 30 yards with much of an angle is out of his range. it could cost us yet in a league match.

So better than expected. Nobody will be carried away - the Meath game has left a healthy scepticism and reality in Mayo supporters and I think there will be a demand that this kind of attitude carries on all year. I hope the players don't see themselves as vindicated already
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 10:48:02 AM
One for the Galway lads, where was matt Clancy yesterday, AI winner, played in the FBD, only 27, should be coming into his prime now
Post by: AbbeySider on February 08, 2010, 11:26:16 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 07, 2010, 04:48:50 PM

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2010, 07:37:02 PM
Was it only me or did Aiden O'Shea look heavy? Maybe Hanley (who was the only stand-out player for Galway) knew what he was doing, but O'Shea still looked sluggish today.

Would agree, although lets not forget that Finian Hanley is one of the best full backs in the country! Aidan was a little quieter by his own standards but still had good spells.

I thought Seamus O Shea was excellent. Ball in hand and his decision making were top drawer. I couldnt get over his workrate and athleticism. I have never seen him move so well.

Enda Varley was also excellent in the corner. Im delighted he is doing well.
Kevin Mclaughlin was my man of the match. He really opened my eyes as I hadnt expected that performance from him.

Even Donal Vaughan played well, in the ground he covered and the attacking style at least.
I still worry about our full back line though as Meehan caused serious panic when he came on.
All in all it was nice to see some of the younger and fresher faces stepping up.

Quote from: ballinaman on February 07, 2010, 07:42:43 PM
Not alot went right for him. He doesn't have the most acceleration from a standing start but he's quick when he gets going as his point showed. Thought Bradshaw for Galway was played well as usual.
Bradshaw probably should be mid-field for Galway. They need his engine and work rate around there. Surprised at Bergan being so quiet.

Going back to the game, Mayo looked more conditioned as regards fitness and stamina, im not sure should we be over excited at this as its not the time of year to be peaking like that. Galway looked like a team still in the gym, bigger than us and quite bulky and I hear from good sources they havnt done much regarding stamina work yet.

All in all it was a nice win over our rivals but it doesnt really mean anything apart from picking up important points.

One swallow doesnt make a summer.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 08, 2010, 11:36:17 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 09:45:22 AM
Midfield - I agree that SOS will be a great addition but he is immobile, big man when he gets going but doesn't have the work rate

Is that a little harsh?
SOS was one of the major positives yesterday. Incredible athleticism and he was all over the pitch.

You must have been at a different game if you think he was immobile yesterday.
Post by: Tubberman on February 08, 2010, 11:41:15 AM
QuotePosted by: AbbeySider 
Insert Quote
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on Today at 09:45:22 AM
Midfield - I agree that SOS will be a great addition but he is immobile, big man when he gets going but doesn't have the work rate

Is that a little harsh?
SOS was one of the major positives yesterday. Incredible athleticism and he was all over the pitch.

To be honest, before yesterday, my impression of SOS would have been similar to Mayo4Sam's. I thought he was a big physical presence but unable to get around the pitch, and had a questionable workate (e.g. first half of U21 final in 06).
I wasn't at the match yesterday, but watching it on TG4 I was very impressed and surprised at his workrate. He was on the ball an awful lot, and was well able to take off on a run before laying it off.
If he can keep up that level of performance for the year, he'll be a massive bonus to us.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 08, 2010, 12:47:30 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 08, 2010, 11:41:15 AM
QuotePosted by: AbbeySider 
Insert Quote
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on Today at 09:45:22 AM

Is that a little harsh?

To be honest, before yesterday, my impression of SOS would have been similar to Mayo4Sam's. I thought he was a big physical presence but unable to get around the pitch, and had a questionable workate (e.g. first half of U21 final in 06).
I wasn't at the match yesterday, but watching it on TG4 I was very impressed and surprised at his workrate. He was on the ball an awful lot, and was well able to take off on a run before laying it off.
If he can keep up that level of performance for the year, he'll be a massive bonus to us.

...and stay fit and most importantly injury free. He limped off yesterday, I hope its not too serious.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 01:21:08 PM
I've the same issue with AOS, the bust themselves chasin a lad down, fund themselves back at the half back line & then can't make the big burst up the field again. I think the manager needs to talk to both about using their energy wisely. I think what it is is that they want to do it all themselves, not selfishly but in earnest but u can't be both the lad who kicks it in & the lad who cathes it & the lad who defends.
Having said that I'm big fans of both, esp AOS, I think I'd we ever win an AI it'll be him that leads us, reminds me of the Bomber Brogan
Post by: mckieran on February 08, 2010, 02:25:34 PM
QuoteBradshaw probably should be mid-field for Galway. They need his engine and work rate around there. Surprised at Bergan being so quiet.

Bradshaw is not physically tall enough for inter county midfield. The same applies for Blake (He was tried there by Forde a few years back)
Post by: mouview on February 08, 2010, 03:57:27 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 10:48:02 AM
One for the Galway lads, where was matt Clancy yesterday, AI winner, played in the FBD, only 27, should be coming into his prime now

Are you taking the p**s?

Of all the players unavailable to Kernan yesterday, only PJ imho would have made a tangible difference. There'd be a scatter of the Corofin backs there someplace too but if you put them altogther they'd just about make one good player between them. The only saving grace about yesterday was that it came at the beginning of the year when there's still enough time to rectify *some* of the ills. Gary O Donnell can scarcely lift Tuam, not to mind Galway; Niall Coyne isn't good enough. Michael Martin won't push himself to get on his college's team, Enda Concannon a better bet at the moment. At last we should have a Galway manager that will see Bergin's chronic lack of footballling ability. Our best half-back, Bradshaw, should be played there. Donal who corner-back? Paddy who wing-forward? If things don't improve it could be a very short year for Kernan, but more particularly for his 2 unconvincing selectors. Alan Mulholland's U-21s have suddenly taken on much greater significance.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 08:06:43 PM
So u don't rate Clancy?
Post by: macdanger2 on February 08, 2010, 10:56:53 PM
All of a sudden there's savage optimism!!!!

Great win, but Galway are surely putting in the hard work now that will pay off in the summer, there's no way they could be that poor otherwise.

Our backline needs sorting out in a big way - I think all 6 of our backs had a shot at the posts yesterday!! FFS, who is minding the house if everyone is up attacking?? Shows a lack of discipline IMO. The back three in particular should know that their job is to defend first at all costs and play football second. We won't win much with that kind of play, nice and all as it may be to watch. In all honesty, would Galvin or Dec O'Sull be afraid to see any of the Mayo back 8 coming flying at him as he was going to take a pass?? Lack of physicality will cost us - only Howley has any sort of agression about him.

The next match will be very interesting, Tyrone will need to win after losing the opener so it should be a good test.
Post by: mouview on February 08, 2010, 11:05:53 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2010, 08:06:43 PM
So u don't rate Clancy?

'Fraid not; smashing honest lad, but very limited. Head down in possession and usually cedes the ball when closed down. Has had his good moments but is very much part of the general malaise affecting football in Galway at present.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 11:10:44 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 08, 2010, 10:56:53 PM

Great win, but Galway are surely putting in the hard work now that will pay off in the summer, there's no way they could be that poor otherwise.

Our backline needs sorting out in a big way - I think all 6 of our backs had a shot at the posts yesterday!! FFS, who is minding the house if everyone is up attacking?? Shows a lack of discipline IMO. The back three in particular should know that their job is to defend first at all costs and play football second. We won't win much with that kind of play, nice and all as it may be to watch. In all honesty, would Galvin or Dec O'Sull be afraid to see any of the Mayo back 8 coming flying at him as he was going to take a pass?? Lack of physicality will cost us - only Howley has any sort of agression about him.

The next match will be very interesting, Tyrone will need to win after losing the opener so it should be a good test.

Ya while Vaughan was excellent and Peader good, both are very attacking players, McLoughlin flying up the wing too, we could be very exposed, but McLoughlin was flippen brilliant. I think we need to give Alan Feeney a shot at full back the next day, even for the second half, thats not saying anything negative about Cafferkey but Mayo need to build a panel. A great team needs a second team good enough to beat the first. Thats how Kerry and Tyrone prospered and how Cork is heading in the right direction. I think Neil Douglas needs to be tried out too and Barry Kelly would be worth a shot.

I for one questioned others fear of Galway prior to this match. I could not understant why people rated us so lowly, I also have wondered how the media had us second favourates to get demoted.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 11:14:25 PM
Question to the Galway lads & I suppose the other Mayo lads at the match, what did ye reckon of Gary O'Donnell, I thought he was poor. But reading the media reports today it seems I was wrong, I don't think so, but then again I would always be very sceptical at my talent on knowing sporting talent.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 08, 2010, 11:23:42 PM

Arrah, I wouldn't say that, not in my case anyhow.
I'd liked what I saw but it's a case of taking one game at a time.
It was a solid start to the season and all the newcomers and those who have been on the fringe acquitted themselves well. Some may or not make the grade when summer comes but if they had been plonkers last Sunday, there would only be one answer to that question.
Post by: moysider on February 08, 2010, 11:39:39 PM

God knows what Galway are up to. Or Kildare either? McGeeney and BJ could well be putting their teams through the same science this time of year with a Summer peak in mind. Johnno admitted resting his squad mainly last week.  It ll be interesting to see how it all evolves. Mayo need a different approach to fitness this year as we plateaued around June and didnt push on when things got serious. Have we got the know-how to do this.
Galway will be a much sterner proposition with the return of likes Damien Burke, Blake,Sice  Mullaghy and PJ. Even the much maligned Mattie Clancy.Even among the carnage yesterday I was impressed with O Neill at CB. Ok Varley did well but on the back foot O Neill was pacy and game and knew what he was at.
You re spot on about the Mayo backline. Management will have to make hard calls here. I honestly believe that we have the personnel to do it. It was suggested to me earlier that K Higgins would be a better option at 6. I must say it had nt occured to me but mo dhuine
pointed out he is a better stopper/tackler than Howley while both are short on size anyway. Howley is a hit or miss stopper with a reliance on the shoulder. Howley on the other hand would improve us physically on the wing where he could go toe to toe with likes of Galvin. My preferred 6 would of course be Cafferkey. As regards our backs attacking. I would have no problem with it - as long as it s structured and our ball retention is good enough. Tyrone have been a success with a fluid game where defenders attack and forwards cover back. Look at the contributions of likes of Davy Harte and Philip Jordan and even Ricey from cb to the Tyrone scoresheets. The last day at half time 3 Mayo backs had scored( McL X2), Gard and Vaughan. Both midfielders also. Of the forwards Andy Moran scored 2 from play. Ronaldson scored the rest from frees. Those stats would suggest that we had a successful running game going. Balls kicked in to targets yielded little. Yesterday we managed to run through the packed middle third. But we know we can go route one as well.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 08, 2010, 11:43:28 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 11:14:25 PM
Question to the Galway lads & I suppose the other Mayo lads at the match, what did ye reckon of Gary O'Donnell, I thought he was poor. But reading the media reports today it seems I was wrong, I don't think so, but then again I would always be very sceptical at my talent on knowing sporting talent.

I didn't see the game yesterday but can't say I've been impressed anytime I've seen him. Seems to be filling a place in the wider squad at the moment. Played centre-back yesterday but certainly won't be threatening Diarmuid Blake's position come the Summer I would imagine. He's actually from Gort which is smack in the middle of hurling territory in Galway but transferred to Tuam Stars as they don't take football too seriously in Gort. Just a way to stay fit for hurling.

Certainly come the championship we will need PJ, Blake, Bane, Mattie Clancy and the Corofin lads back (Damien Burke, Kieran Fitz, Gary Sice, Alan Burke and Greg Higgins). I wasn't sure how many of the Corofin lads would make the team come the Summer but certainly 3 or 4 of them have a chance but hard to tell really as they will be coming in late and nobody knows yet what Kernan has planned as far as putting a team together. The above lads will improve matters alright but only one of them is a midfielder (Higgins). He was arguably the best midfielder in the county championship and had a great game against Charlestown in the Connacht final but whether he has what it takes for intercounty I just don't know. Through a process of elimination he probably deserves a shot anyway.
Post by: galwayman on February 08, 2010, 11:46:30 PM
QuoteQuestion to the Galway lads & I suppose the other Mayo lads at the match, what did ye reckon of Gary O'Donnell, I thought he was poor. But reading the media reports today it seems I was wrong, I don't think so, but then again I would always be very sceptical at my talent on knowing sporting talent.

I thought he was poor. The amount of times in the 2nd half he gave away stupid frees with a blatant push in the back wasn't even funny. He is not county standard by a long way.
Post by: moysider on February 08, 2010, 11:55:34 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 08, 2010, 11:14:25 PM

Not impressed by him. Thought he was carrying a bit of timber/or just too big and lacked a bit of cut. My only qualification on SOS s display is that he will meet meaner no 6 s. That s if he s persisted with at 11 long term.
Post by: spuds on February 09, 2010, 05:53:02 AM
not be to carried away yet lads keepit inthe pants til we beat a fewmore teams if we do get consistant
Post by: mckieran on February 09, 2010, 11:18:36 AM
QuoteCertainly come the championship we will need PJ, Blake, Bane, Mattie Clancy and the Corofin lads back (Damien Burke, Kieran Fitz, Gary Sice, Alan Burke and Greg Higgins). I wasn't sure how many of the Corofin lads would make the team come the Summer but certainly 3 or 4 of them have a chance but hard to tell really as they will be coming in late and nobody knows yet what Kernan has planned as far as putting a team together. The above lads will improve matters alright but only one of them is a midfielder (Higgins). He was arguably the best midfielder in the county championship and had a great game against Charlestown in the Connacht final but whether he has what it takes for intercounty I just don't know. Through a process of elimination he probably deserves a shot anyway.

Gotta agree about Higgins. He needs to be looked at in a few games.  A better option than Lydon or O'Donnell at midfield I think.

I havent been impressed with O'Donnell either. Strange that he got games under Sammon and now Kernan though. He must have something...

Mayo lads are being a bit harsh on the backs here. Galways forwards dropped so deep that they had no option but to follow them up the field. O'Mahony admitted this in an interview afterwards as well.
Post by: venter on February 09, 2010, 12:09:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 08, 2010, 11:39:39 PM
. It was suggested to me earlier that K Higgins would be a better option at 6. I must say it had nt occured to me but mo dhuine
pointed out he is a better stopper/tackler than Howley while both are short on size anyway. Howley is a hit or miss stopper with a reliance on the shoulder.

I would also like to see Higgins get a shot at centre back. He is a class act but his form at corner back is starting to get a bit worrying. In fairness, with his height it is hard for him to compete aginst the bigger forwards in the air , like meath last year and even meehan on sunday. But he also has a tendency to stand well off his man, it's like he has too much confidence in his own pace. This isn't going to work against the very top corner forwards.
Having said that, there is no way he could be dropped as he has so much to offer.He seems to read it well and would have the pace for the running centre forwards like o'sullivan or Pierce O'Neill.

Howley is our centre back but he doesnt seem to be dominating his area. If we are going for the hard hitting type of centre back he has to dominate. For Crossmolina, we had Damian Mulligan doing it for years. He was the man and he knew it, anyone that came down his channel got hit and they new they were going to get hit. At a higher level, the same could be said about McGeeney for Armagh. I'm not sure if Howley has the presence and the leadership for that type of game. not yet anyway.

Seamus O Se, Varley and Mcloughlin were all great additions the last day. Mcloughlin is a lovely footballer and you could put him nearly anywhere. How was he not on the team last year?

I was delighted Seamus O se did well. He has a massive physical presence around the middle and he pretty much cleaned Gary O'Donnell out of it. Aidan O Se struggled against Hanley. In one way, thats probably a good thing as we performed well without over-relying on him

Good debut for Varley as well. The forwards have plenty of competition for places with Dillon,mort,harte,B Moran and Kilcoyne all yet to come back. How many of those 5 will make the championship 15?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 09, 2010, 01:44:34 PM
Quote from: venter on February 09, 2010, 12:09:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 08, 2010, 11:39:39 PM
. It was suggested to me earlier that K Higgins would be a better option at 6. I must say it had nt occured to me but mo dhuine
pointed out he is a better stopper/tackler than Howley while both are short on size anyway. Howley is a hit or miss stopper with a reliance on the shoulder.

I would also like to see Higgins get a shot at centre back. He is a class act but his form at corner back is starting to get a bit worrying. In fairness, with his height it is hard for him to compete aginst the bigger forwards in the air , like meath last year and even meehan on sunday. But he also has a tendency to stand well off his man, it's like he has too much confidence in his own pace. This isn't going to work against the very top corner forwards.
Having said that, there is no way he could be dropped as he has so much to offer.He seems to read it well and would have the pace for the running centre forwards like o'sullivan or Pierce O'Neill.

Howley is our centre back but he doesnt seem to be dominating his area. If we are going for the hard hitting type of centre back he has to dominate. For Crossmolina, we had Damian Mulligan doing it for years. He was the man and he knew it, anyone that came down his channel got hit and they new they were going to get hit. At a higher level, the same could be said about McGeeney for Armagh. I'm not sure if Howley has the presence and the leadership for that type of game. not yet anyway.

Seamus O Se, Varley and Mcloughlin were all great additions the last day. Mcloughlin is a lovely footballer and you could put him nearly anywhere. How was he not on the team last year?

I was delighted Seamus O se did well. He has a massive physical presence around the middle and he pretty much cleaned Gary O'Donnell out of it. Aidan O Se struggled against Hanley. In one way, thats probably a good thing as we performed well without over-relying on him

Good debut for Varley as well. The forwards have plenty of competition for places with Dillon,mort,harte,B Moran and Kilcoyne all yet to come back. How many of those 5 will make the championship 15?
I've had one major reservation about Johnno's tactics- for the first two years at any rate. He had kept chopping and changing players about and giving nobody a chance to settle in any position.
Andy Moran is a fine player but he couldn't be expected to excel as a corner forward and a wing back at the same time. Billy Joe must have been tried in every line of the team and he winds up by dropping out of the reckoning. Trevor Mort is one more example. Whatever chance he has of making it as a back or as a forward, he can't make a success of both.
I mean it's not just a case of an individual player being good in any position but you'd have to give him and the others around him some time to build up some sort of understanding.
Sine the beginning of the championships last year, O'Mahony seems to be getting some of idea as to his best line-up. That's positive thinking and means he won't have to disrupt every line on the field if he needs to make a change or a switch. Maybe Keith would be a better individual choice at CHB than Howley but this might cause problems in the FB line. Same goes for Trevor; I think he deserves his place but if Johnno goes hunting for a spot for him right now, this could cause problems elsewhere.

I'm thinking here about John Maughan and the '97 final. When Dermot Flanagan had to go off, Maughan made  4 switches to replace him and a real chance of winning that game was lost.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 09, 2010, 02:34:07 PM
i'd have never really thought of higgins as a no. 6 but he would be the one man who could live with declan o sullivan. For me d o' sullivan is the complete footballer and the one who does the most damage for kerry. If he plays well Kerry play well.

Its great the competition for places this year. Suddenly we have 3 big target men in A O'S, Barry Moran & Alan Freeman ( whom i rate highly)  We had varley & ronaldo in the corners. We have douglas, kilcoyne, c mortimer to compete as well. In the half forwards we have pat harte & alan dillon to return as well as the option of K McLoughlin.
Midfield we have J Kilcullen, J gibbons, B Kelly & G mc donagh to back up mcgarrrity, parsons & S O'S.
I had nearly forgotten about tom cunniffe at this stage. He will give us options along with c barrett, k conroy, Lee keegan (worth a look again at 6) & s nally for the half back spots.
In the full back line we have liam o'malley (worth a shot also in the half backs) and alan feeney (must be given some game time during the league).
This competition for places must be utilised. J O'M can't afford to stick with current 15 and then be fucked when one gets injured.
Post by: Tubberman on February 09, 2010, 02:45:29 PM
I thought Howley would make a good CHB, and maybe he will yet, but I'm getting more doubtful.
It's his height and pace that would worry me. Keith Higgins is a very good half back, but I think that has to be on the wing, not the centre.
Higgins is hardly the tallest, and he certainly isn't the strongest/most physical. So I'd have major reservations about him starting CHB. I'd prefer to see Tom Cunniffe back there again (when is he due back anyway), or else Ger Cafferkey with Alan Feeney at FB.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2010, 03:40:30 PM
I'm sorry to whoever said K Higgins could mark Pearse O'Neill because that, to me, is nonsense. O'Neill would be far too strong and Higgins would have got ate by Joe Sheridan last August too. I take the point about Declan O'Sullivan - Higgins could do well there. But in a man marking job and not as a centre-back so simply move him there for that game.
Centre-back does remain a problem as do the corner-back slots. If we had two good, tough corner men I wouldn't be concerned about Ger Caff at 3. But at the minute, I would be.
I'd like to see Kieran Conroy given a shot at 6. Howley, for me, is too small. Maybe on the wing or in the corner. Or even wing-forward. BUt not centre-half back. McLouglin, of course, would do  a fine job at 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 15. Maybe 6 but may be a bit light. Perhaps worth a shot.

We do have more options now though. We'll see where that brings us in the league.
Post by: HowAreYeGettinOn on February 09, 2010, 04:23:40 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2010, 03:40:30 PM
We do have more options now though. We'll see where that brings us in the league.

Nice to see that there's a lid being kept on the optimism. Sunday suggests that we're not as bad as the Meath game indicated, and that when Mayo are disrespected enough the team do (eventually) bare their teeth.

I think Sunday next in Tyrone will give us a better idea where we're really at though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 09, 2010, 09:38:17 PM
When is Tom Cunniffe's groin ever going to clear up? He could be tried at no 6, I wasn't too impressed with Howley either the last day.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 09, 2010, 10:09:56 PM
Is there any potential in either of the Kilcullen brothers, David or James at number 6?
Post by: moysider on February 09, 2010, 10:39:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 09, 2010, 09:38:17 PM
When is Tom Cunniffe's groin ever going to clear up? He could be tried at no 6, I wasn't too impressed with Howley either the last day.

Is there any evidence to suggest that Tom Cunniffe would be an improvement? Another attacking wing back if he did play 6 underage, it was underage after all. No more physically imposing than Higgins. Less so than Howley. He d be grand behind a dominant midfield, they all would.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on February 09, 2010, 11:43:44 PM
if u want a big strong strapping centre back ala graham canty look no further than Seamie O Se!! Ah no with him playing as an extra man in the middle he should be able to help out the no.6 a bit more. Dont think howley should be there tho. Is it just cos he is the only mayo defender to use his shoulder?!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 09, 2010, 11:47:09 PM
Jees lads give Howley a chance, he has 1 yr under his belt. His positional sense is unmatched on the panel.
McLaughlin looks like a serious footballer, we seen scoring half back before but his 2nd pt on Sunday was taken with such confidence & surity. Timed all his runs forward to perfection. Be interesting to see how he gets on this Sunday
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on February 09, 2010, 11:54:46 PM
Bit late with the comments on this match but the main thing I took from the match was that it's a fine stand ye Mayo lads have in McHale park! Not gone on the blue seats but the poles in the front aren't as bad as I thought they would be and it's certainly well built, it's still a shame a cantilevered stand wasn't used.

Mayo were quite good on Sunday but Galway were dreadful, an error ridden performance combined with legs that looked like they were stuck to the ground from (I'm assuming) heavy training. As poor a performance as I've seen from any Galway team in a long time, if Mortimer hadn't got the line it would have been a total and utter rout.
Galway have showed false form in the league the last few years and hopefully we will not be half as bad come the summer, certainly if the form the last day wa repeated in any other games we'll get another good trimming. I think everyone will know a lot more about both teams after a few more league games.