GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dougal Maguire on January 17, 2010, 03:04:54 AM

Title: All Ireland Scór na nÓg 2010
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 17, 2010, 03:04:54 AM
Congratulations to  Carrickcruppen Ballad Group and Silverbridge GFC in reaching the All Ireland Final of Scór na nÓg 2010 in 4 events.
Title: Re: All Ireland Scór na nÓg 2010
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 17, 2010, 02:16:10 PM
Well done indeed to Silverbridge and to everybody who took part in Scor. Scor really demonstrates how three dimensional the GAA actually is. It's so much more than a sporting organisation, there's a space for everybody regardless of where their talents lie.
Post by: downgirl on January 19, 2010, 10:52:10 AM
Who is it doing the solo singing for Silverbridge is it Megan Burns again??  Well done to everyone hope they can go on and bring the titles back to Ulster!  And hopefully Carrickcruppen will keep the Ballad Group title in Ulster as well!! I will miss not going to Athlone this year!  :(
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 11:01:46 AM

Quote from: downgirl on January 19, 2010, 10:52:10 AMI will miss not going to Athlone this year! 

I know what you mean. Not going to Athlone is something everyone should experience as often as possible.
Post by: cornafean on January 19, 2010, 11:08:33 AM
A magnificent achievement for Silverbridge. Well done to one and all.
Post by: Declan on January 19, 2010, 11:20:00 AM
Anyone know the outcome of the Leinster competition?
Post by: leenie on January 22, 2010, 08:26:01 PM

who won in the instrumental and novelty act....?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 22, 2010, 09:24:43 PM
Killeevan from Monaghan won the Novelty Act and I think Scotstown from Monaghan won the Instrumental.
Post by: leenie on January 23, 2010, 06:31:48 PM
 was it a funny or serious novelty act?

and do u know who won in the sets....

Post by: turk on January 23, 2010, 07:52:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 11:01:46 AM
Quote from: downgirl on January 19, 2010, 10:52:10 AMI will miss not going to Athlone this year! 

I know what you mean. Not going to Athlone is something everyone should experience as often as possible.

Good one Hardy! It was there!
Post by: magpie seanie on January 23, 2010, 11:58:24 PM
Connacht Scór na n-óg finals in Benada, Co. Sligo tomorrow.
Post by: seabee on January 24, 2010, 11:07:49 AM
The Connacht Scor na nOg Final winners winners are as follows (Full report to follow on www.connachtgaa.ie (http://www.connachtgaa.ie)):

Figure Dancing: Glencar - Manorhamilton (Leitrim)
Solo Singing: James Hazlett (Drumkeeran, Co. Leitrim)
Instrumental Music: Corofin (Galway)
Recitation: Grace Dooley (Padraig Pearses, Co. Roscommon)
Ballad Group: Caltra (Galway)
Question Time: Ballinameen (Roscommon)
Novelty Act: St. Farnans (Sligo)
Set Dancing: Abbeyknockmoy (Galway)
Post by: seabee on February 18, 2010, 09:10:04 PM
Anyone going on Saturday?
Post by: Any craic on February 19, 2010, 12:09:08 AM
http://www.vimeo.com/9562763 (http://www.vimeo.com/9562763) - Tyrone Senior Scor is this Sunday.
Post by: seabee on February 21, 2010, 12:40:08 PM
The 2010 All-Ireland Scór na nÓg winners are as follows:

Figure Dancing:    Glenflesk (Kerry)
Solo Singing:    Shane Lynam (Offaly)
Instrumental Music: Millstreet (Cork)
Recitation:       Brian Murphy (Kerry)
Ballad Group:    Moate (Westmeath)
Question Time:   Ballinameen (Roscommon)
Novelty Act:    Kilteely - Dromkeen (Limerick)
Set Dancing: (Joint winners) The Downs (Westmeath) and Boherbue, (Cork)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:25:34 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 21, 2010, 04:23:44 PM
Mind you in the cold light of day The Downs must have a hollow feel about their 'success' in the Set Dancing
Oh yeah? why's that. 
Post by: Rossfan on February 21, 2010, 05:02:39 PM
Comhgáirdeas do foireann glic ó mBaile na Mín.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 07:53:33 PM
Oh...
Post by: KIDDO 4 on February 21, 2010, 09:42:19 PM
Results from Tyrone senior scor final tonight at killeeshil
Figure-Dancing Killyclogher
Solo singing Andrea Begley Pomeroy
Instrumental groupDromore
Recitation Augher
Ballad group Killyclogher
Novelty act Eglish
SetDancing Killyclogher
Quiz Trillick

Post by: Oldira on February 22, 2010, 12:03:52 PM
Any idea what sort of questions came up in the Quiz? Thinking of taking part this year.
Post by: jen83 on February 22, 2010, 12:55:56 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 21, 2010, 07:50:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:25:34 PM
Mind you in the cold light of day The Downs must have a hollow feel about their 'success' in the Set Dancing
Oh yeah? why's that.

The MC announced The Downs as the winners, but he then realised that there had been a mistake and he then announced that Boherbue had won. By this point The Downs were on the stage being congratulated by Christie Cooney.  So the MC, after consulting with the adjuicators announced that there were joint winners.  It was the only way out of a difficult situation as some of The Downs team were in tears while others were getting very irate. Mind you, those who know about set dancing were of the opinion that The Downs, at best, might have came third and they did seem surprised when their name was announced.

I think what happened to the downs was a disgrance - Fair enough if a mistake was made it was made but in all honesty this is the All Ireland, Results etc should be watertight. The Downs have been knocking on the door for a very very long time. The kids had their medals taken off them and were sent home without medals as the officials did not have enough for cork and themselves. They kids still have no medals and there is no talk of them getting them.. Its not exactly fair I think
Post by: AZOffaly on February 22, 2010, 01:01:08 PM
QuoteSolo Singing:    Shane Lynam (Offaly)

Well done to young Lynam.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 22, 2010, 01:38:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 22, 2010, 01:01:08 PM

Anything to Ray?
Post by: norabeag on February 22, 2010, 02:03:34 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 22, 2010, 01:38:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 22, 2010, 01:01:08 PM

Anything to Ray?
or Des?
Post by: norabeag on February 22, 2010, 02:05:41 PM
Quote from: jen83 on February 22, 2010, 12:55:56 PM
Oh yeah? why's that.

The MC announced The Downs as the winners, but he then realised that there had been a mistake and he then announced that Boherbue had won. By this point The Downs were on the stage being congratulated by Christie Cooney.  So the MC, after consulting with the adjuicators announced that there were joint winners.  It was the only way out of a difficult situation as some of The Downs team were in tears while others were getting very irate. Mind you, those who know about set dancing were of the opinion that The Downs, at best, might have came third and they did seem surprised when their name was announced.

I think what happened to the downs was a disgrance - Fair enough if a mistake was made it was made but in all honesty this is the All Ireland, Results etc should be watertight. The Downs have been knocking on the door for a very very long time. The kids had their medals taken off them and were sent home without medals as the officials did not have enough for cork and themselves. They kids still have no medals and there is no talk of them getting them.. Its not exactly fair I think
I'm not sure about Provincial and All Ireland judging but at county level some of the judging of these events is at best questionable and that is as diplomatic as I can put it
Post by: jen83 on February 22, 2010, 02:52:09 PM
I'm not sure about Provincial and All Ireland judging but at county level some of the judging of these events is at best questionable and that is as diplomatic as I can put it

I completely agree with you - Having been on the end of a similar situation a few years ago I know their pain
Post by: cornafean on February 22, 2010, 03:43:52 PM
Quote from: norabeag on February 22, 2010, 02:05:41 PM
Quote from: jen83 on February 22, 2010, 12:55:56 PM
Oh yeah? why's that.

Unfortunately, these problems seem to crop up quite regularly at All Ireland level. For example a few years ago, at least one of the recitations in the All Ireland Scor Sinsir finals had marks docked for being "over time". Yet, when the DVD appeared  it was timed and found to be 40 seconds within the six minutes allowed. A letter was written to Croke Park and a reply was received, explaining that the adjudicator had left his watch into a jeweller to be checked and it was found to be "going too fast".  ::) (Of course no explanation as to why the same thing didn't happen to the winning recitation).

The guys who wrote Father Ted couldn't make it up.  :'(
Post by: leenie on February 23, 2010, 05:53:17 PM
Quote from: KIDDO 4 on February 21, 2010, 09:42:19 PM
Recitation Augher
Novelty act Eglish
SetDancing Killyclogher
Quiz Trillick

The recitation was Fergal Mc Connell from augher with his own composition on being a fair-weather supporter...very funny
Fair play to eglish in the novelty act, well deserved winners with a great sketch, great props and great actors....(even tho they beat us)

it was great to see a diversity in the acts going through as it had been dominated for a while... a few feathers ruffled but sure we'll see how tyrone does from here on it....

semi final in Dun Uladh on 6th march...

Tir Eoghain abu!
Post by: leenie on February 23, 2010, 11:12:27 PM
i have to say eglish's novelty act was one of the best i have seen in a yrs... production of it was great!

ulster final is sat 27th March  in Threemilehouse, co monaghan.
Post by: GAAsupporter on February 24, 2010, 09:30:50 PM
I was at the Tyrone Final and it was a great night.

Eglish's novelty act was great. Though i was quite surprised with the Ballad group winners. I really did think Drumragh would win. Also Killyclogher used the same songs as last year, the year they got to the All Ireland Final. Anyone else think this??

I heard about the mistake in the All-Ireland Scor na nOg Final..... what happened?? Were boherbue the actual winners??  ??? I was in the All Ireland Final last year... in the Fermanagh Novelty Act. Anyone remember it??  ;D It was a great year!

No Ulster winners this year! Argh!  :'( I thought the Instrumental group and Novelty act would do well... also crosserlough set dancers. They were amazing in Ulster.  :) I was very shocked when i heard the results.  ???
Comment back.... lol.
Post by: jen83 on February 26, 2010, 10:35:05 AM
Recitation Augher
Novelty act Eglish
SetDancing Killyclogher
Quiz Trillick

What happened to St Endas?
Post by: Oldira on February 26, 2010, 02:49:37 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on February 24, 2010, 09:30:50 PM
I was at the Tyrone Final and it was a great night.

a
No Ulster winners this year! Argh!  :'( I thought the Instrumental group and Novelty act would do well... also crosserlough set dancers. They were amazing in Ulster.  :) I was very shocked when i heard the results.  ???
Comment back.... lol.

Can you remember the questions from the quiz?
Post by: GAAsupporter on February 26, 2010, 06:51:04 PM
Quote"What about the Eglish Novelty act, what's the gist of the story, is it funny?"

It is about 2 workmen and they are fed up wiv da recession and there is an ATM bank machine so they steal it and sit on it cuz after they steal it a women comes in looking for it to get money out and all she see's is a "Hole in the Wall" and they act wile funny, like their panicking incase they get caught, and tell her she should come earlier and ova things and she asks where is the nearest one and they hand her £20 and say a long way off.
Then a priest comes and a police man and they sortof do the same but one of the workmen jumps in2 a bin (that is a prop) wiv da money so they won't get caught wiv the money. And the other workman has to lie to them and he trys to get them away ASAP. Its funi!  :P
But the ending is class..... 2 binmen come in and their about to take da bins.... and the ova work man trys to distract them and the man in the bin keeps popping up and tells him wat to say... but the binmen don't listen and leave wiv the bin the man is in...... but then he pops up out of the other bin!!  :D I dnt actually now how they did that...  ???

Props were class..... 2 bins, a fake JCB digger, an ATM and a wall thing where the ATM was. The peoples acting was unreal! they were amazing!
Post by: GAAsupporter on February 26, 2010, 07:07:44 PM
Regarding the questions to the quiz......  :-\

I can only remember a few.... but overall the quiz was "easyish". I didn't really pay attention to it... lol.

The general knowledge question was something like... In Fermanagh where is there a religious 2 sided figure? The answer was Boa Island. Another was in relation to Iris Robinson and they wanted to know in a film (i forget the name but it was in the 1960's) who played the younger boy that the woman had a relationship wiv.

The G.A.A question was like.... Who won the First All Ireland with the new Sam Maguire Cup.  Another was.... There was an All Ireland Final (or something) in New York (or somewhere) and they wanted to know who won it.

Irish History.... What organisation someman was apart off. Another was.... something to do with the Home Rule and they asked a question relating to that.

The Irish question was like.... (In English) What was the score in the Mc Kenna Cup Final between Tyrone and Donegal.
Thats all i remember!  ::)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 28, 2010, 10:36:13 PM
Was at a qualifier round of the Scór there tonight. When I was listening to the solo singers, it really struck me what a waste of time those crap reality TV shows like the All Ireland Tlanet Show really are. Far more talent and better entertainment available up and down the country in parish halls in the Scór. The GAA really has something to be proud of in the Scór.
Post by: jen83 on March 01, 2010, 10:23:35 AM
Results from the Westmeath Senior scór finals held on Saturday 27th Feb are as follows

Figure-Dancing: Mullingar Shamrocks
Solo singing Katie McCarthy - Mullingar Shamrocks
Instrumental music: Bunbrosna
Recitation : Hugo Slevin – St Josephs
Ballad group: Ballycomoyle
Questiontime: Mullingsr Shamrocks
Novelty act : Mullingar Shamrocks
SetDancing: Bunbrosna
Post by: turk on March 01, 2010, 11:27:25 AM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on February 26, 2010, 07:07:44 PM
Regarding the questions to the quiz......  :-\

I can only remember a few.... but overall the quiz was "easyish". I didn't really pay attention to it... lol.

The general knowledge question was something like... In Fermanagh where is there a religious 2 sided figure? The answer was Boa Island. Another was in relation to Iris Robinson and they wanted to know in a film (i forget the name but it was in the 1960's) who played the younger boy that the woman had a relationship wiv.

The G.A.A question was like.... Who won the First All Ireland with the new Sam Maguire Cup.  Another was.... There was an All Ireland Final (or something) in New York (or somewhere) and they wanted to know who won it.

Irish History.... What organisation someman was apart off. Another was.... something to do with the Home Rule and they asked a question relating to that.

The Irish question was like.... (In English) What was the score in the Mc Kenna Cup Final between Tyrone and Donegal.
Thats all i remember!  ::)

Couple of hard ones in there!!
Post by: gaa_phil on March 01, 2010, 06:38:06 PM
Any word on how the Down Scór final went last night?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 01, 2010, 10:23:29 PM
Competed in the Scor Quiz last night for the first time since the Junior Scor nearly 20 years ago , We finished third ,4 behind the winners and 2 behind the runners up

Questions as follows

Individual
1) Who are the sponsors of the Donegal Senior Football team
2) What was the profession of Michael Cusack
3) What is the middle Island of the Aran Islands called
4) Which County other than Fermanagh has never won a senior provincial title in either code
5)Which King instigated the Ulster Plantations of the 1600's
6) Who resigned as the Defence Minister in the Republic recently
7) Who was the 2009 young footballer of the year
8)What was the name of the book that John Mitchell wrote whilst in jail
9) What is the name of the fictional location that many of Brian Friels plays were set in

Team Questions

1) Which County was historically the fifth provence of Ireland
2) ( Irish Question) Who is the Tipperary Senior Football Manager
3) How many Ulster Counties have the red hand on their crest
4) Where were Gaelic posts erected recently for the first time ever
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 02, 2010, 12:56:21 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on March 01, 2010, 10:23:29 PM
Competed in the Scor Quiz last night for the first time since the Junior Scor nearly 20 years ago , We finished third ,4 behind the winners and 2 behind the runners up

Questions as follows

Individual
1) Who are the sponsors of the Donegal Senior Football team McEniff's Hotel?
2) What was the profession of Michael Cusack Teacher
3) What is the middle Island of the Aran Islands called Aran Mor
4) Which County other than Fermanagh has never won a senior provincial title in either code Wicklow
5)Which King instigated the Ulster Plantations of the 1600's James I
6) Who resigned as the Defence Minister in the Republic recently Willie O'Dea
7) Who was the 2009 young footballer of the year Michael Murphy
8)What was the name of the book that John Mitchell wrote whilst in jail Don't name Newry after me
9) What is the name of the fictional location that many of Brian Friels plays were set in Ballybeg

Team Questions

1) Which County was historically the fifth provence of Ireland Meath (Was a question in our first round - got it then in my defence!)
2) ( Irish Question) Who is the Tipperary Senior Football Manager John Evans (Had to thinka bout that - mightn't have got it under pressure)
3) How many Ulster Counties have the red hand on their crest 2? Monaghan and Tyrone?
4) Where were Gaelic posts erected recently for the first time ever Landsdowne Road?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 02, 2010, 01:14:45 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 02, 2010, 12:56:21 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on March 01, 2010, 10:23:29 PM

Questions as follows

Individual
1) Who are the sponsors of the Donegal Senior Football team McEniff's Hotel? Donegal Creameries
2) What was the profession of Michael Cusack Teacher
3) What is the middle Island of the Aran Islands called Aran MorInis Meain
4) Which County other than Fermanagh has never won a senior provincial title in either code Wicklow
5)Which King instigated the Ulster Plantations of the 1600's James IJames II
6) Who resigned as the Defence Minister in the Republic recently Willie O'Dea
7) Who was the 2009 young footballer of the year Michael Murphy
8)What was the name of the book that John Mitchell wrote whilst in jail Don't name Newry after meThe Jail Journal
9) What is the name of the fictional location that many of Brian Friels plays were set in Ballybeg

Team Questions

1) Which County was historically the fifth provence of Ireland Meath (Was a question in our first round - got it then in my defence!)
2) ( Irish Question) Who is the Tipperary Senior Football Manager John Evans (Had to thinka bout that - mightn't have got it under pressure)
3) How many Ulster Counties have the red hand on their crest 2? Monaghan and Tyrone?4- Monaghan , Tyrone, Cavan , Antrim
4) Where were Gaelic posts erected recently for the first time ever Landsdowne Road? Trinity College
[/q
Not bad at all, My individual questions were the first three, got Cusack but went for Inis Mor and Mceniffs Hotel for the other two
We got Meath and Trinity College, hadnt a baldy on John Evans and went for 2 red hand counties also
Post by: Billys Boots on March 02, 2010, 08:57:07 AM
Quote4) Where were Gaelic posts erected recently for the first time ever Landsdowne Road? Trinity College

Well, I watched a gaelic football match in College Park in 1992 - I remember Trevor Giles was playing on the day.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 02, 2010, 12:33:08 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 02, 2010, 08:57:07 AM
Quote4) Where were Gaelic posts erected recently for the first time ever Landsdowne Road? Trinity College

Well, I watched a gaelic football match in College Park in 1992 - I remember Trevor Giles was playing on the day.

Trinity College gets first set of GAA goalposts
Print Email+ Share+ 15/01/2010 - 08:21:41
History has been made at Dublin's Trinity College with the instillation of a set of GAA goalposts at College Park allowing Gaelic games to be played on the city centre campus for the first time in its 418-year history.

GAA members in the college have relied on the generosity of the Clanna Gael Fontenoy and Parnells GAA clubs in recent years for training facilities.

Trinity GAA Officer Eoin Vaughan said: "It's brilliant news for the college to have a set of goalposts in place to play Gaelic games in our city centre campus."

"GAA has always had an important part to play in college life, and anything we can do to make life easier for students by having a GAA facility on campus is a welcome bonus.

"We have 400 students involved in gaelic games in the college at the moment, and hopefully the addition of this training facility will boost us in our quest for success this year."

In 1879 the first meeting of the Irish Hurling union was held in House 17 of Botany Bay in Trinity College. Edward Carson played in a game in 1877.

The GAA did not take root in Trinity until the 1950s. The GAA's strong association with the Catholic Church, its ban of foreign games and the Catholic church barring their members attending college, all inhibited the development of Gaelic games.

The name most associated with the foundation of GAA in Trinity is Colm Kennelly who went on to become a Kerry All- Ireland star in 1953 and 1954.

The recent arrival of GAA goalposts for use in College park is further evidence of the growth of Gaelic games within the college.

The college handballers won All Ireland honours in the 40 by 20 intervarsities in Tralee recently and the ladies gaelic footballers have qualified for the final of their division of the league.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/trinity-college-gets-first-set-of-gaa-goalposts-442002.html#ixzz0h1Pq0pgL
Post by: Billys Boots on March 02, 2010, 02:30:42 PM
QuoteHistory has been made at Dublin's Trinity College with the instillation of a set of GAA goalposts at College Park allowing Gaelic games to be played on the city centre campus for the first time in its 418-year history.

Well I know I wasn't dreaming (in 1992) and I wasn't alone watching it.  As far as I remember it was an intervarsity-match - where did Giles go to College?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 02, 2010, 02:36:44 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 02, 2010, 02:30:42 PM
QuoteHistory has been made at Dublin's Trinity College with the instillation of a set of GAA goalposts at College Park allowing Gaelic games to be played on the city centre campus for the first time in its 418-year history.

Well I know I wasn't dreaming (in 1992) and I wasn't alone watching it.  As far as I remember it was an intervarsity-match - where did Giles go to College?
UCD I think
Post by: magpie seanie on March 02, 2010, 04:32:13 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on March 02, 2010, 02:36:44 PM

UCD I think

I was at that match too, think it was 1993 though BB's. Giles was in UCD and it was the colours gaelic football match. TCD actually won that match. Haven't beaten UCD too many times since I'd think.
Post by: gaa_phil on March 02, 2010, 10:59:01 PM
Results of the Down Scór (from Down GAA homepage);

Ceili dancing - Saval
Solo Singing - Bredagh (Aíne Brolly)
Instrumental Music - Darragh Cross (Hurling)
Recitation - Glenn (Micheal McConaghy)
Ballad Group - Rostrevor
Novelty Act - Clonduff
Set Dancing - Clonduff
Quiz - Longstone

Anyone hear about the Monaghan/Armagh results as they usually feature well in Ulster?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 02, 2010, 11:53:51 PM
Armagh final is this coming Sunday night.
Post by: Mac hinery on March 03, 2010, 12:11:52 AM
Quote from: gaa_phil on March 02, 2010, 10:59:01 PM

Ceili dancing - Saval
Ballad Group - Rostrevor
Novelty Act - Clonduff
Set Dancing - Clonduff
Quiz - Longstone

Anyone hear about the Monaghan/Armagh results as they usually feature well in Ulster?

Is that Joe's wee sister?
Post by: Billys Boots on March 03, 2010, 09:00:33 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 02, 2010, 04:32:13 PM

UCD I think

I was at that match too, think it was 1993 though BB's. Giles was in UCD and it was the colours gaelic football match. TCD actually won that match. Haven't beaten UCD too many times since I'd think.

Could have been '93 alright Seanie, the Alzheimers is well in train at this stage.  I was working in TCD at the time, and the match allowed me to avoid going back to work straightway after lunch.
Post by: Oldira on March 03, 2010, 12:35:21 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 02, 2010, 11:53:51 PM

If you are attending would you mind taking a note of the quiz questions and posting them up here. I enjoyed Newbridges set.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 03, 2010, 12:39:55 PM
Quote from: Oldira on March 03, 2010, 12:35:21 PM

If you are attending would you mind taking a note of the quiz questions and posting them up here. I enjoyed Newbridges set.

Well I'm taking part in the Quiz so hopefully I should remember most of them!

Quote from: Mac hinery on March 03, 2010, 12:11:52 AM

Ceili dancing - Saval
Ballad Group - Rostrevor
Novelty Act - Clonduff
Set Dancing - Clonduff
Quiz - Longstone

Yes.
Post by: turk on March 03, 2010, 01:05:54 PM

UCD I think

There was definitely colours matches played in Trinity in the early 90s.
Post by: Oldira on March 03, 2010, 01:14:12 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 03, 2010, 12:39:55 PM

Ceili dancing - Saval
Ballad Group - Rostrevor
Novelty Act - Clonduff
Set Dancing - Clonduff
Quiz - Longstone

Yes.

Best of luck! Hope you remember the answers too!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 03, 2010, 02:05:25 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 03, 2010, 12:39:55 PM

Ceili dancing - Saval
Ballad Group - Rostrevor
Novelty Act - Clonduff
Set Dancing - Clonduff
Quiz - Longstone

Yes.

Good luck with the quiz, youll need it if Jatrlaths Burns article is anything to go by
Published - Fri, Feb 12, 2010

Evening up the Scor

Jarlath can ask daughter Megan for a look at her All-Ireland medal for some inspiration.

By Jarlath Burns

THINGS are hotting up in the world of GAA. The league has started and thus will begin an unbroken line of inter-county GAA action right until November. There'll be controversy, referee bashing, suspensions, sackings, upsets, set-ups, rumours, rows, fall outs, winners, losers, every week and lots of it from club, county, underage, international. You name it, we've got it right up until Halloween at least.

As I've said before, the GAA combines the two worst aspects of Ireland in perfect harmony – short bursts of violence punctuated by committee meetings. And that's why it has been such an unbelievable success for 125 years.

And then there's Scór. It starts for us at the weekend. Scór Sinsear, or Senior Scór. Our club is the Crossmaglen of Scór. We are Scór giants. Unbeatable in many disciplines in Armagh, particularly the quiz where our teams do two nights a week for at least a month before the first round. That increases to three for the Ulster final and now they're doing around four in preparation for the All-Ireland. I was on a Silverbridge quiz team that got to an All-Ireland. Years ago

Their two nights a week preperation is exactly two  more than what our training regime entailed   
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 03, 2010, 06:19:59 PM

I haven't heard any of the results but the Monaghan/Cavan/Fermanagh Ulster Semi Final takes place next Friday night 12th March in Stradone Community Centre, Co Cavan at 8pm.

It should be a great night as some Fermanagh acts are actually of a high quality this year!  :o  :)   ;D

Post by: GAAsupporter on March 03, 2010, 08:23:23 PM
Tyrone/Derry/Donegal Ulster Semi Final on this Saturday 6th March in Dun Uladh Killyclogher Co.Tyrone.

Good night also!

Dromore Instrumental group.....savage!!  ;D
Post by: ceol agus peil on March 03, 2010, 08:56:00 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on March 03, 2010, 08:23:23 PM
I heard Drumragh made a complaint for an underage member in this team(low!). Great to see them beat them! Fair Play Dromore!
Post by: cornafean on March 04, 2010, 09:38:38 AM
The ban on underage members taking part in Scór Sinsir makes no sense. It should be scrapped. It's not as if Scór Sinsir is full of x-rated material  ;)
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 04, 2010, 09:48:09 AM
Quote from: cornafean on March 04, 2010, 09:38:38 AM
The ban on underage members taking part in Scór Sinsir makes no sense. It should be scrapped. It's not as if Scór Sinsir is full of x-rated material  ;)

Burnout?
Post by: Oldira on March 04, 2010, 10:30:40 AM
Tyrone/Derry/Donegal Ulster Semi Final on this Saturday 6th March in Dun Uladh Killyclogher Co.Tyrone.

Good night also!

Anyone going to this would they mind taking a note of the questions? Thanks
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 04, 2010, 05:21:02 PM
Quote from: ceol agus peil on March 03, 2010, 08:56:00 PM
I heard Drumragh made a complaint for an underage member in this team(low!). Great to see them beat them! Fair Play Dromore!

Yea they did!  :o
But that person isn't in it anymore....i think! They still won without that person anyway! Ulster Final is a defo for them! Hopefully! lol!  ;D
Post by: ceol agus peil on March 04, 2010, 10:12:45 PM
Whos in the Dromore Group this year? That must be a first for the club, never really seen any Dromore instumental groups at the scor.
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 06, 2010, 11:31:59 PM
Ulster Semi Finalists Winners from theTyrone/Derry/Donegal Semi Final

Figure Dancing: Watty Grahams (Derry)
Solo Singing: Andrea Begley (Tyrone)
Instrumental Music: Dromore (Tyrone)
Recitation: Glenfinn (Donegal)
Ballad Group: St. Eunan's Letterkenny (Donegal)
Novelty Act: Eglish (Tyrone)
Set Dancing: Killyclogher (Tyrone)
Quiz: Trillick (Tyrone)

:)
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 06, 2010, 11:37:55 PM
While I am sure the novelty acts are great craic to be involved in... wat have they do do with Irish culture?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 07, 2010, 12:12:11 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 06, 2010, 11:37:55 PM
While I am sure the novelty acts are great craic to be involved in... wat have they do do with Irish culture?

One of the criteria for marking is cultural content.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 07, 2010, 12:16:46 AM
they're embarrasing.
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 07, 2010, 01:33:13 PM
Novelty Acts are the best!!  :D

I got to the All Ireland Final last year in a novelty act!!  :D

Wat you's think of the winners of Saturdays Ulster Semi Final? Tyrone/Derry/Donegal....

Post by: Mac hinery on March 07, 2010, 06:35:21 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 07, 2010, 12:16:46 AM
they're embarrasing.

I agree and they take up too much time. 
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 08, 2010, 09:22:24 AM
Quote from: Mac hinery on March 07, 2010, 06:35:21 PM
they're embarrasing.

God love ya having 10 hugely important minutes of your life taken away. If you don't like them, leave when they come on. I doubt you'd be too badly missed.

Winners from Armagh last night were;

Ceili Dancing: Dromintee
Set Dancing: Dromintee
Solo Singing: Girl with a harp, can't remember where she was from
Recitation: Girl from Carrickcruppen, very high standard in this, thought the two from our club were excellent as well
Instrumental: Think it was Madden but wouldn't swear to it
Ballad Group: Cullyhanna  :)
Quiz: Silverbridge - performed superbly, only missed one question all night
Novelty Act: Silverbridge
Post by: Oldira on March 08, 2010, 11:21:05 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 08, 2010, 09:22:24 AM
they're embarrasing.

God love ya having 10 hugely important minutes of your life taken away. If you don't like them, leave when they come on. I doubt you'd be too badly missed.

Recitation: Girl from Carrickcruppen, very high standard in this, thought the two from our club were excellent as well

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 08, 2010, 11:57:11 AM
Quote from: Oldira on March 08, 2010, 11:21:05 AM

Not all of them. My questions were;

Ryan Carson scored 0-6 against Down in his Ulster championship debut last year. Who does he play for?

Which leader of the 1916 rebellion was executed sitting in a chair due to his wounds?

Which former intercounty footballer is the chief of staff of the Irish defence forces?

Other individual ones I remember;

Which prominent Dublin intercounty footballer retired in late 2009?

Who hosted the 2009 Rose of Tralee?

Which Kilkenny Civil engineer was involved in a 19th century rebellion (they gave the year, think it was 1867)?

Can't remember any of the 2nd fella's questions.

The Team questions I remember were;

Who won the 2009 All Ireland minor hurling championship?
Who did Cork defeat in a replay of the 2002 Munster football final?
There was one about a hill which used to be considered the centre of Ireland, what county was it in?
Can't remember the team history.

Post by: Mac hinery on March 08, 2010, 08:43:01 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 08, 2010, 09:22:24 AM
they're embarrasing.

I would be badly missed, I dance the sets  always on after the novelty act and its never just the 10 minutes either is it.  There's nearly always more than one novelty act. 

For a quizzer you don't exactly inspire confidence with your powers of recall.  How did you answer your own questions?

Ryan Carson scored 0-6 against Down in his Ulster championship debut last year. Who does he play for? yes aye a lad, handy with a ball, thought he was excellent as well.  What was the question?

Which leader of the 1916 rebellion was executed sitting in a chair due to his wounds?  The one with the moustache but wouldn't swear to it.

Which former intercounty footballer is the chief of staff of the Irish defence forces? Tidy uniformed fella, I think there's a couple of boys from our club could do it better though.

Jackass ;D
Post by: Dougal Maguire on March 08, 2010, 08:49:39 PM
Holy God, that was uncalled for.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 08, 2010, 09:21:19 PM

What was the question that they missed?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 09, 2010, 12:10:17 AM
Quote from: Mac hinery on March 08, 2010, 08:43:01 PM

I would be badly missed, I dance the sets  always on after the novelty act and its never just the 10 minutes either is it.  There's nearly always more than one novelty act. 

For a quizzer you don't exactly inspire confidence with your powers of recall.  How did you answer your own questions?

Ryan Carson scored 0-6 against Down in his Ulster championship debut last year. Who does he play for? yes aye a lad, handy with a ball, thought he was excellent as well.  What was the question?

Which leader of the 1916 rebellion was executed sitting in a chair due to his wounds?  The one with the moustache but wouldn't swear to it.

Which former intercounty footballer is the chief of staff of the Irish defence forces? Tidy uniformed fella, I think there's a couple of boys from our club could do it better though.

Jackass ;D

Funny enough I was concentrating on getting my questions right rather than remembering the other ones.

Quote from: Denn Forever on March 08, 2010, 09:21:19 PM

What was the question that they missed?

Well I can't know for sure, but it was a team question. I'd have thought it was the one about the Hill considered to be the centre of Ireland in pre-Christian times.
Title: Re: All Ireland Scór 2010
Post by: HELGA on March 09, 2010, 09:40:56 AM
Well what about the Silverbridge Novelty Act winning the County Title on Sunday night in St. Anthony's !!  It was hilarious, the actors were great  :)even Jarlath Burns got a part, is he trying to take the limelight from his lovely daughter Megan for an All-Ireland Title, time will tell !!! oh and well done to the Quiz Team, once again they are though with a Murphy and Reel Team..well done to Dearbhla Bennett from Mullaghbawn who got through in the Solo Singing   ;)

Can anyone answer this :- Has there ever been a Father and Son who have won a County Medal in Senior and Junior Scor, respectively?
Post by: cornafean on March 09, 2010, 02:21:27 PM
Quote from: HELGA on March 09, 2010, 09:40:56 AM
Can anyone answer this :- Has there ever been a Father and Son who have won a County Medal in Senior and Junior Scor, respectively?

I'm sure that there are loads and loads of them, including some in my own club.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 09, 2010, 04:13:05 PM
Quote from: cornafean on March 09, 2010, 02:21:27 PM
Quote from: HELGA on March 09, 2010, 09:40:56 AM

I'm sure that there are loads and loads of them, including some in my own club.

Well myself and the Da were on a winning quiz team together back in the day - I believe we beat Laureleye's team in the County Final.  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on March 09, 2010, 04:49:37 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 03, 2010, 09:00:33 AM

UCD I think

Could have been '93 alright Seanie, the Alzheimers is well in train at this stage.  I was working in TCD at the time, and the match allowed me to avoid going back to work straightway after lunch.

Sorry for being a little off topic with this but missed the replies last week. Was a student there at the time myself. Turk is also correct in mentioning the plural. The 1995 edition of the colours match was also played in College Park with the visitors inspired by Giles at centre back and Mick O'Byrne (I think) taking the spoils.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 09, 2010, 07:34:15 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 08, 2010, 11:57:11 AM

Ryan Carson scored 0-6 against Down in his Ulster championship debut last year. Who does he play for?

Which leader of the 1916 rebellion was executed sitting in a chair due to his wounds?James Connolly
Which former intercounty footballer is the chief of staff of the Irish defence forces?Dermot Early

Who hosted the 2009 Rose of Tralee?Ray Darcy

Which Kilkenny Civil engineer was involved in a 19th century rebellion (they gave the year, think it was 1867)?James Stephens?

Who won the 2009 All Ireland minor hurling championship?Galway
Who did Cork defeat in a replay of the 2002 Munster football final?Limerick?
There was one about a hill which used to be considered the centre of Ireland, what county was it in?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 09, 2010, 11:38:46 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on March 09, 2010, 07:34:15 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 08, 2010, 11:57:11 AM

Which leader of the 1916 rebellion was executed sitting in a chair due to his wounds?James Connolly
Which former intercounty footballer is the chief of staff of the Irish defence forces?Dermot Early

Who hosted the 2009 Rose of Tralee?Ray Darcy

Which Kilkenny Civil engineer was involved in a 19th century rebellion (they gave the year, think it was 1867)?James Stephens?

Who won the 2009 All Ireland minor hurling championship?Galway
Who did Cork defeat in a replay of the 2002 Munster football final?Limerick?

All right except it was Tipperary in the 2002 Munster final.
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 11, 2010, 09:15:34 PM
Fermanagh/Cavan/Monaghan Ulster Semi Final on Friday 12th March at 8pm in Stradone Community Centre Co. Cavan!

Post by: jen83 on March 12, 2010, 12:32:45 PM
Did anyone hear any results from either of the leinster semi finals last weekend?
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 13, 2010, 04:16:48 PM
Did anyone hear the full list of winners from last nights Ulster Semi Final between Fermanagh/Cavan/Monaghan?? ???

If you have...please post them!

Post by: GAAsupporter on March 14, 2010, 12:14:37 PM
Is the Recitation person from Carrickcruppen called Niamh Devine?

What is this person saying this year?
What is the solo singer from Down like? Silverbridge Novelty Act?

Could you give me this info please! lol!  :D

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 14, 2010, 06:49:16 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on March 14, 2010, 12:14:37 PM
Is the Recitation person from Carrickcruppen called Niamh Devine?

What is this person saying this year?
What is the solo singer from Down like? Silverbridge Novelty Act?

Could you give me this info please! lol!  :D

Recitation is about a man who takes HRT and becomes somewhat ladylike in his characteristics. Its very good although there were two against her from my own club who must have run her very close in the Armagh final.

The SIlverbridge Novelty Act gets a good laugh from the crowd though both times I was at the Scór I was backstage waiting to go on ourselves so I haven't really seen it myself. Jarlath Burns and his brother Colman who used to be Mayor of Newry are both in it.
Post by: Oldira on March 15, 2010, 11:41:04 AM
Quote from: jen83 on March 12, 2010, 12:32:45 PM
Did anyone hear any results from either of the leinster semi finals last weekend?

Leinster Semi Final in Ballymore:
Rince Foirne..Kildare & Louth
Solo Singing: Longford and Dublini
Recitation:Meath & Kildare
Music:Westmeath,Dublin and Kildare
Ballad Group:Westmeath and Longford
Quiz: Kildare and Longford
Novelty Act:Westmeath and Longford
Set:Westmeath and Kildare
Post by: cornafean on March 16, 2010, 05:59:45 PM
Winners of Ulster Sem Final ( Cavan, Fermanagh, Monaghan)

Rince Foirne - Emyvale, Monaghan
Amhránaíocht aonair - Emyvale, Monaghan
Ceol Uirlise - Derrygonnelly. Fermanagh
Aithriseoireacht - Cornafean, Cavan
Bailéad ghrúpa - Emyvale, Monaghan
Nuachleas -Belturbet, Cavan
Rince Seit - Emyvale, Monaghan
Tráth na gCeist - Cornafean, Cavan
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 17, 2010, 01:48:16 PM
What are all the Emyvale acts like? After their win in the All Irelands last year they have clearly came back on a high!

I hear Derrygonnelly Instrumental group from Fermanagh are very good!! Ulster title looming maybe?  ;D
Would you agree??

Post by: GAAsupporter on March 20, 2010, 12:29:28 PM
2 Fermanagh Acts in the final now!!  ;D

I think the favourites will be the Tyrone Novelty Act. It is a very funny play and was well thought out. Excellent use of props too!  :D

Yea, apparently Lisnaskea novelty act was over time..but there was no bell rang in either 9mins or 10mins so they were unaware of this. That was why they appealed.. i believe any way. It is also a good play.  ;D but i think Tyrone would be the favourites going into the Final. If either of them won i would be delighted!  :)

Post by: seabee on March 21, 2010, 09:39:27 PM
Leitrim were the big winners at the 2010 Connacht GAA Scór Sinsear Finals taking 7 of the 9 titles on offer. The results were as follows:

Figure Dancing: Glencar – Manorhamilton (Co. Leitrim)

Solo Singing: Claire Igoe, Corofin (Co. Galway)

Instrumental Music: Leitrim Gaels

Recitation: Louise Staunton Bornacoola (Co. Leitrim)

Ballad Group: St Marys (Co. Leitrim)

Question Time: Bornacoola (Co. Leitrim)

Novelty Act: Sean O Heslins (Co. Leitrim)

Set Dancing: Abbeyknockmoy (Co. Galway)

Any results from Munster yet?

Cormac McGill Cup (Best Overall County): Leitrim
Post by: MR99 on March 22, 2010, 10:22:49 AM
Quote from: cornafean on March 16, 2010, 05:59:45 PM

When and where is the Ulster final?
Post by: cornafean on March 22, 2010, 04:42:05 PM
Quote from: MR99 on March 22, 2010, 10:22:49 AM
Quote from: cornafean on March 16, 2010, 05:59:45 PM

When and where is the Ulster final?

Threemilehouse, this Saturday evening at 7.00pm
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 22, 2010, 06:16:25 PM
Quote from: seabee on March 21, 2010, 09:39:27 PM
Leitrim were the big winners at the 2010 Connacht GAA Scór Sinsear Finals taking 7 of the 9 titles on offer. The results were as follows:

Figure Dancing: Glencar – Manorhamilton (Co. Leitrim)

Solo Singing: Claire Igoe, Corofin (Co. Galway)

Instrumental Music: Leitrim Gaels

Recitation: Louise Staunton Bornacoola (Co. Leitrim)

Ballad Group: St Marys (Co. Leitrim)

Question Time: Bornacoola (Co. Leitrim)

Novelty Act: Sean O Heslins (Co. Leitrim)

Set Dancing: Abbeyknockmoy (Co. Galway)

Any results from Munster yet?

Cormac McGill Cup (Best Overall County): Leitrim

Would you know what the Sean O Heslins novelty act is like?  ??? Will they hope to retain their All Ireland title with this sketch?  ::)    :-\
And do you know what Claire Igoe is singing this year? Last year she made it to the All Ireland Final too. She was really good!  :)
Abbeyknockmoy in set dancing....what are they dancing? All ireland title again maybe!  8)

If you good give me this info it would be great!  ;D
Post by: seabee on March 23, 2010, 05:30:58 PM
A full report for you http://connachtgaa.ie/news.php?s=fp&storyid=369 (http://connachtgaa.ie/news.php?s=fp&storyid=369)
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 23, 2010, 06:36:40 PM
Thanks seabee!!  ;D     :)

Post by: gaa_phil on March 28, 2010, 02:27:26 AM
Any word on the results of 2nites Ulster final?
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 28, 2010, 11:09:21 AM
The Ulster Scor Sinsear Champions for 2010 are....

Figure Dancing: Dromintee, Co. Arnagh

Solo Singing: Aine Brolly, Bredagh, Co. Down

Instrumental Music: Derrygonnelly, Co. Fermanagh!  ;D

Recitation: Michael McGibney, Cornafean, Co. Cavan

Ballad Group: Aghagallon, Co. Antrim

Novelty Act: Eglish, Co. Tyrone!  ;D

Set Dancing: Emyvale, Co. Monaghan

Quiz: Cornafean, Co. Cavan

Great night of entertainment!  ;D  :)
Post by: gaa_phil on March 28, 2010, 07:02:29 PM
Brilliant result for scor as the titles were distributed between 7 counties, makes a change from one or two counties dominating every year!
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 28, 2010, 10:11:44 PM
Quote from: gaa_phil on March 28, 2010, 07:02:29 PM
Brilliant result for scor as the titles were distributed between 7 counties, makes a change from one or two counties dominating every year!

I couldn't agree with you more!  ;D
Great to see a fermanagh club wining a second Ulster Title in two years, Derrygonnelly this year in Instrumental music and St. Josephs Ederney last year in Novelty Act in Scor na nOg!  ;D
This great for a county that is not as involved in Scor as other Counties!  :)
Post by: Square Ball on March 29, 2010, 10:08:23 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on March 28, 2010, 11:09:21 AM

absolutely brilliant and well done
Post by: Denn Forever on March 29, 2010, 10:13:07 PM
Come on Cornafean or also known as team McGibney.  Best of luck.
Post by: Mac hinery on March 29, 2010, 11:27:46 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 29, 2010, 10:08:23 PM

Aine has superb voice and is a wonderful musician.  Another fine example of the many talented singers/musicians to have come from the Brolly clan and the Dungiven area.   Well done Aine.
Post by: gaa_phil on March 30, 2010, 03:32:35 AM
Quote from: Mac hinery on March 29, 2010, 11:27:46 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 29, 2010, 10:08:23 PM

Aine has superb voice and is a wonderful musician.  Another fine example of the many talented singers/musicians to have come from the Brolly clan and the Dungiven area.   Well done Aine.

I hear she is fantastic altogether! How come she's representing Down; did she move from Derry or is she a student in Belfast playing for Bredagh or something?
Post by: GAAsupporter on March 31, 2010, 10:35:16 PM
Does anyone know the Munster and Leinster Champions??  ???

If someone does, please post them, ASAP!  ???  ;)
Post by: downgirl on April 01, 2010, 07:33:53 PM
Great to see Killyclogher Ballad Group on Blas Ceoil there, I will never understand how they didn't win last year...imo they were the best ballad group by far!
Post by: Mac hinery on April 01, 2010, 07:55:47 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 01, 2010, 07:33:53 PM
Great to see Killyclogher Ballad Group on Blas Ceoil there, I will never understand how they didn't win last year...imo they were the best ballad group by far!

Always remember Downgirl,  it is futile to try and understand the adjudication process at Scór. 
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 01, 2010, 09:26:09 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 01, 2010, 07:33:53 PM

Yea, couldn't understand it last year! But....they entered this year and won Tyrone Scor....but they sang the EXACT SAME SONGS as last year!! :o 
They were beat in the Ulster Semi Final though by St. Eunans Letterkenny!  :-\
The ballad group this year was the one on Blas Ceoil.
Post by: downgirl on April 01, 2010, 10:11:50 PM
Oh I know I have been at the end of some bad decisions myself...mainly due to one person in my county but I won't name any names.......

So Killyclogher sang the same songs as least year?? I wouldn't have expected that.  Perhaps they didn't have the heart to change them because they knew they could sing them well???  What were the group from Letterkenny like?  Are there any videos from the Ulster final or anything up on youtube?  I can't find any myself.
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 02, 2010, 11:35:39 AM
Quote from: downgirl on April 01, 2010, 10:11:50 PM
Oh I know I have been at the end of some bad decisions myself...mainly due to one person in my county but I won't name any names.......

So Killyclogher sang the same songs as least year?? I wouldn't have expected that.  Perhaps they didn't have the heart to change them because they knew they could sing them well???  What were the group from Letterkenny like?  Are there any videos from the Ulster final or anything up on youtube?  I can't find any myself.

I didn't expect it either! Like if they were good enough last year to reach an All Ireland Final they could have done it again this year and changed their songs! The group from Letterkenny were good, but i didn't expect them to win because the group from derry were very good and IMO they were better than Killyclogher but thats probably because i have heard them sing them songs like 20 times!  :o Probably A reason why they didn't get through was because their video is on Youtube and everyone has probably seen it!

No, there is no videos on Youtube of the Ulster Final. There isn't even any of the Scor na nOg All Ireland Final!! :o Only if you were there Downgirl to video them! lol!

Last year in the Scor na nOg Ulster Final and All Ireland Final what did you think of the Fermanagh Novelty Act?  ??? Just curious cuz i know the people that were in it!  ;D
Post by: downgirl on April 03, 2010, 10:34:52 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 02, 2010, 11:35:39 AM

I didn't expect it either! Like if they were good enough last year to reach an All Ireland Final they could have done it again this year and changed their songs! The group from Letterkenny were good, but i didn't expect them to win because the group from derry were very good and IMO they were better than Killyclogher but thats probably because i have heard them sing them songs like 20 times!  :o Probably A reason why they didn't get through was because their video is on Youtube and everyone has probably seen it!

No, there is no videos on Youtube of the Ulster Final. There isn't even any of the Scor na nOg All Ireland Final!! :o Only if you were there Downgirl to video them! lol!

Last year in the Scor na nOg Ulster Final and All Ireland Final what did you think of the Fermanagh Novelty Act?  ??? Just curious cuz i know the people that were in it!  ;D

I was only at the All Ireland Final last year, couldn't make it up for the Ulster as I am living in Cork, Athlone was a good halfway point!  To be honest I can't really remember the novelty acts, can't remember much apart from the instrumental and ballad groups as that's where my heart lies, and I was that nervous for the girls after they had sang!  What was the novelty act about it might jog my memory?

I know I hope somebody takes some clips in Killarney anyway!
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 04, 2010, 12:14:48 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 03, 2010, 10:34:52 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 02, 2010, 11:35:39 AM

I was only at the All Ireland Final last year, couldn't make it up for the Ulster as I am living in Cork, Athlone was a good halfway point!  To be honest I can't really remember the novelty acts, can't remember much apart from the instrumental and ballad groups as that's where my heart lies, and I was that nervous for the girls after they had sang!  What was the novelty act about it might jog my memory?

I know I hope somebody takes some clips in Killarney anyway!

Well Saul ballad group last year were amazing! By far the best Scor na nOg ballad group i hvae ever heard! ;D
Emm... the Fermanagh Novelty Act was about a magic box and a man came in with a sore head and the doctor said he could cure it with his magic box as long as he believed in it. Then a man came in with a shaken hand and him and the man with the sore head put their hand in the magic box. The man with the shaken hand was cured but the main with the sore head now had as sore head and a shaken leg. Thern a woman came in with a shaken head and they put their hand in the box again but the man then had a sore head, shaken hand and now a shaken head. Then a man came in with a shaken leg and they did the same but the man now had a sore head, shaken hand, shaken head and a shaken leg. Then a pregnant woman came in and the man ran off the stage! All the other characters were all cured except that man because he didn't believe in the "Magic Box".  :D ;D
Any clearer to you now? It was full of funny lines and it was a good laugh!  :D
Post by: downgirl on April 04, 2010, 01:23:35 PM
Oh yea yea I remember it now alright, it was very good!  Who won novelty act last year anyway?  Were you down in Athlone for it? 
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 04, 2010, 03:12:17 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 04, 2010, 01:23:35 PM
Oh yea yea I remember it now alright, it was very good!  Who won novelty act last year anyway?  Were you down in Athlone for it?

Mount-bellow Moylough from Galway won it!  :'( But theres was very good!  ;D

Yea i was down in Athlone at it! To be honest i was in it! I just didn't want to say i was in it incase u said it was crap! lol!  ;) I was the doctor!  ;D

You going to Killarney for the All Ireland Final then? You said Ballad group and Instrumental music is what u like....well Ulsters representitives in both are good! Derrygonnelly from Fermanagh are in Instrumental Music....they are unbelievable!!  :o  They are as good as Boherbue last year in Scor na nOg if not even better!!  ;D I think they could win! Aghagallon from Antrim are in B'Group! They are good! Not quite like Saul though!  ;)

Down are in for Solo Singing!  :)
Post by: downgirl on April 05, 2010, 05:17:44 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 04, 2010, 03:12:17 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 04, 2010, 01:23:35 PM

Mount-bellow Moylough from Galway won it!  :'( But theres was very good!  ;D

Yea i was down in Athlone at it! To be honest i was in it! I just didn't want to say i was in it incase u said it was crap! lol!  ;) I was the doctor!  ;D

You going to Killarney for the All Ireland Final then? You said Ballad group and Instrumental music is what u like....well Ulsters representitives in both are good! Derrygonnelly from Fermanagh are in Instrumental Music....they are unbelievable!!  :o  They are as good as Boherbue last year in Scor na nOg if not even better!!  ;D I think they could win! Aghagallon from Antrim are in B'Group! They are good! Not quite like Saul though!  ;)

Down are in for Solo Singing!  :)

Haha no youse were good!  Sure you must have been good to win the Ulster final like! 

No won't be going to the final...I have finals this year so will be stressed out to the max when the scór is on...can't justify driving down to Killarney!  Boherbue were unreal last year like to be scór na nóg like!  They were staying the the same hotel as them we had some mighty session there on the Sat night!!
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 05, 2010, 06:10:06 PM
Thanks very much! But in the All Irelands the nerves hit us and we didn't perform to our best! In the Ulster Final we performed the best ever!  ;D It was a great night!
I would say the nerves hit us cuz that was only the 2nd year we had competed in Scor for like 4 out of 8 of us. And like to get to the All Ireland in our 2nd year was  ;D and amazing but terrifying! lol!
We were beat this year in the Ulster Semi's by the team that were to be the Ulster Champions. Lyk our semi final is "thee" Novelty Act Semi Final!  ;)

Aww you's would of had wile craic! Think i seen a video on youtube of yous?..  I still watch Saul ballad group on youtube!  :D And i have the DVD!  :D lmao!
That was a good year for Scor in Ulster! Unlike this year...no winners!  :o

Im going to the All Ireland Scor Sinsear Final! We'll be supporting the Fermanagh instrumentalists that are in the Final!  ;D And of course all the Ulster Acts!  :)
Post by: gorm agus bui on April 06, 2010, 07:36:52 PM

I dont think Saul really have any axes to grind with scoring in Down. We tend to get the rub of the green more than others!
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 12, 2010, 09:29:04 PM
Anyone know any of the other provincial winners??  ???

Cant find them anywhere!!  :-\
Post by: limerickperson on April 19, 2010, 11:20:40 AM
munster scor winner 2010

FIGURE SPA KERRY

SOLO SINGING TIPPERARY

MUSIC GLENFLESK KERRY

RECITIATION SPA KERRY

BALLAD GROUP MOYVANE KERRY

QUIZ CRATLOE CLARE

NOVELTY ABBEYDORNEY KERRY

SET BORRISOLEIGH TIPPERARY

Hope this helps
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 19, 2010, 10:22:02 PM
Quote from: limerickperson on April 19, 2010, 11:20:40 AM
munster scor winner 2010

FIGURE SPA KERRY

SOLO SINGING TIPPERARY

MUSIC GLENFLESK KERRY

RECITIATION SPA KERRY

QUIZ CRATLOE CLARE

Hope this helps

Thanks very much!  ;D Do you know what any of these are like? Glenflesk instrumental group??
Post by: seabee on April 20, 2010, 03:22:04 PM
Who's going to Killarney?
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 20, 2010, 04:43:41 PM
Quote from: seabee on April 20, 2010, 03:22:04 PM

Im going!!  ;D Going to support the fermanagh music group!!! They are class! All ireland title possibly!  ;) Oh and all the ulster acts obviously!  :D
Should be good!  :)
Post by: southsidejohnny on April 20, 2010, 04:50:46 PM
In the name of God can we keep the step dancing, funny stories and other stuff for the appropriate place. A hundred Scor medals isnt equal to a single junior B medal won out on the green pitch.
Post by: leenie on April 21, 2010, 11:05:27 AM
Scór is a GAA competition that combines all the colour and rivalry of Gaelic Games with the social/fun element of Ireland's traditional past-times. The competition was established by the GAA in 1969 with the aim of promoting Ireland's traditional pastimes and culture.

It is interesting to note the All Ireland Scór champions are presented with their medals by the President of the GAA, winners are All-Ireland Champions in their own right in the same way as All-Ireland Senior Football or Hurling Final winners!

Anyway

I would like to wish Eglish, Co Tyrone the very best in the Novelty act. Having competed against them for a number of years i couldn't wish for a better team (apart from me own) to do well in scor.
Its a brilliant novelty act that a lot of hard work and dedication has went into so i really hope it wins.

good luck Eglish!
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 21, 2010, 04:27:08 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 21, 2010, 11:05:27 AM
Anyway

I would like to wish Eglish, Co Tyrone the very best in the Novelty act. Having competed against them for a number of years i couldn't wish for a better team (apart from me own) to do well in scor.
Its a brilliant novelty act that a lot of hard work and dedication has went into so i really hope it wins.

good luck Eglish!

I will be there supporting Eglish all the way!! There is a video on youtube of one of the teams they are against...IMO Eglish are way better so its a good start for them!!
Also goodluck to the Fermanagh Music group from Derrygonnelly!! They are awesome!  ;D  Lets hope that both these have a good chance of becoming All Ireland Champions!!  ;D   :) 

Leenie.....what club are you from?
Post by: limerickperson on April 23, 2010, 04:10:34 PM
Quote from: seabee on April 20, 2010, 03:22:04 PM

me !!!!!!!!!!!

totally nuetral no local allgeances taking part just hope there are no f**k ups like at the scor na nog all ireland
Post by: limerickperson on April 23, 2010, 04:13:31 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 19, 2010, 10:22:02 PM
munster scor winner 2010

FIGURE SPA KERRY

SOLO SINGING TIPPERARY

MUSIC GLENFLESK KERRY

RECITIATION SPA KERRY

QUIZ CRATLOE CLARE

Hope this helps

Thanks very much!  ;D Do you know what any of these are like? Glenflesk instrumental group??

Wouldnt be great judge of muci know if they are good or bad but wouldnt know the finer points.I would have given the muster final to newport from Tipperary and Glenflesksecond ..For most of the audiences it was between the 2 but Glenflesk are excellent as well I think thery wer ein last years All Ireland as well.

Other acts are good Spa Figure dancing are AWESOME really cant see them been beaten tomorrow.............Dont think much of the munster ballad group

Hope to see some of ye tomorrow if only I know what ye looked like.

lol
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 23, 2010, 06:18:43 PM
Quote from: limerickperson on April 23, 2010, 04:13:31 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 19, 2010, 10:22:02 PM
munster scor winner 2010

FIGURE SPA KERRY

SOLO SINGING TIPPERARY

MUSIC GLENFLESK KERRY

RECITIATION SPA KERRY

QUIZ CRATLOE CLARE

Hope this helps

Wouldnt be great judge of muci know if they are good or bad but wouldnt know the finer points.I would have given the muster final to newport from Tipperary and Glenflesksecond ..For most of the audiences it was between the 2 but Glenflesk are excellent as well I think thery wer ein last years All Ireland as well.

Other acts are good Spa Figure dancing are AWESOME really cant see them been beaten tomorrow.............Dont think much of the munster ballad group

Hope to see some of ye tomorrow if only I know what ye looked like.

lol

Well am telling you now....Fermanagh's music group are unreal!!  ;D  I cant really see them being beat 2moro. It'll take a very good group to beat them! Unless the judging is poor which i hope it is isn't!  ???  Yea...em Ulsters reps in Figure Dancing are very good too, they use the whole stage...but they are up against spa...who were all ireland champs 5 years in a row in set dancing!  :o  Soo we'll soon see 2moro how they fare up against them! Come on Ulster!!!!  :)    ;D   ;) 

Well..i shall be wearin a Fermanagh jersey! lol!  :D
Post by: men in black on April 24, 2010, 07:08:47 PM
Any word on Eglish in the Novelty act.
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 24, 2010, 10:04:05 PM
All Ireland Scor Sinsir Champions 2010

Rince Foirne                     Spa, Co. Kerry
Amhranaiocht Aonair         Claire Igoe, Co. Galway
Ceol Uirlise                       Derrygonnelly, Co. Fermanagh  ;D :D :) ;D
Aithriseoireacht                Maynooth, Co. Kildare
Bailead Ghrupa                 Clara, Co. Offaly
Nuachleas                        Mullingar Shamrocks, Co. Westmeath
Rince Seit                        Abbeyknockmoy, Co. Galway
Trath na gCeisteanna        Bornacoola, Co. Leitrim

Great to see Derrygonnelly win!!!  ;D
They were amazing!!!  ;D

Post by: GAAsupporter on April 26, 2010, 10:43:05 PM
So for the people that were at the All Ireland Final what did yous think of it?  :) 

Twas a great night!  ;D
What does everyone think of the winners? Only one Ulster Act to win...and that was Derrygonnelly music group from Fermanagh!!  ;D   :) 
They were amazing! I was right anyway! lol!  ;)

Eglish, i thought were very unlucky not to win in the Novelty Act!  :(
Post by: leenie on April 27, 2010, 10:33:08 AM
congratulations to Derrygonnelly,

comiserations to Eglish.

gaasupporter what was the novelty act that won about?
Post by: downgirl on April 27, 2010, 02:42:22 PM
GAAsupporter...you didn't happen to take a video of the instrumental group???
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 27, 2010, 05:07:45 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 27, 2010, 10:33:08 AM
congratulations to Derrygonnelly,

comiserations to Eglish.

gaasupporter what was the novelty act that won about?

Emm it was about people trying to make up their mind about what to do for the Scor Novelty Act. They did loads of different things to see what they could do like in a hospital, a devil, a marriage councellor and more. There was a wile lot packed into 10mins. They also had singing in it...and there was a line they kept repeating, "Now smile at the judges" or something similar and then they went to the very front of the stage and all smiled at the judges and all did a pose! They did it like 3-4times. The singing was a song they made up themselves and it was in the tune of, Alive Alive O, and it went like, In Dublin fair city were they all cry pity.....................and we're here to win an All Ireland Scor Title, let us win an All Ireland Scor Title, All Ireland Scor Title.... an All Ireland Scor Title!  :)  Was good play but i felt the stuff they had in it was like sucking up to the judges....but it was very entertaining!  :)   ;D
I thought Eglish would win though because there's was very original!!  ;D 
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 27, 2010, 05:09:43 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 27, 2010, 02:42:22 PM
GAAsupporter...you didn't happen to take a video of the instrumental group???

No, i didn't take a video!  :-[  I was too nervous for them and i completley forgot about videoing them!  :-\  Awch sure it'll be on TV and the DVD is out!  ;)
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 28, 2010, 07:39:36 PM
The Winning Ballad Group, Clara Co. Offaly, has a video on youtube. Check it out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-yesBp2Jp4
Post by: Joxer on April 28, 2010, 08:45:34 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 26, 2010, 10:43:05 PM
So for the people that were at the All Ireland Final what did yous think of it?  :) 

Twas a great night!  ;D
What does everyone think of the winners? Only one Ulster Act to win...and that was Derrygonnelly music group from Fermanagh!!  ;D   :) 

No disrespect GAAsupporter but I am all for my Ulster teams winning an All-Ireland title and the standard was very very high on Saturday but of all the Ulster acts to compete,  I wouldn't have had Derrygonnelly anywhere near winning their section.
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 28, 2010, 10:18:43 PM
Quote from: Joxer on April 28, 2010, 08:45:34 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 26, 2010, 10:43:05 PM

Twas a great night!  ;D

No disrespect GAAsupporter but I am all for my Ulster teams winning an All-Ireland title and the standard was very very high on Saturday but of all the Ulster acts to compete,  I wouldn't have had Derrygonnelly anywhere near winning their section.

Who would you have predicted to win then? The kerry group?? Derrygonnelly were all about the music and had no fancy things and if the judges were judging it on the standard of traditional music, which they obv had, derrygonnelly were the clear winners!  :)
Post by: downgirl on April 29, 2010, 12:28:36 PM
You might have already seen this but highlights from the Donegal final:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u1Vu9OtkGjk

I take it these are the Donegal champs they are showing?  I quite like the ballad group! 
Post by: downgirl on April 29, 2010, 12:31:25 PM
Just after reading through the thread again....Clara won ballad group again.....????????????

IMO they didn't deserve to win last year...were they any better this year????
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 29, 2010, 04:46:31 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 29, 2010, 12:31:25 PM
Just after reading through the thread again....Clara won ballad group again.....????????????

IMO they didn't deserve to win last year...were they any better this year????

Yea Clara won again...2nd year in a row. Emm..well i think they sound the same as last year, although they are different songs, the harmonies in it are quite the same. But saying that, they were good...and the harmonies were very good. Their video is on youtube! Although i did fancy the Leitrim or Antrim ballad group to snatch the title..? The standard was very high...it was too close to call tho..
Post by: downgirl on April 29, 2010, 11:36:09 PM
Yeah was just speaking to my friend who was in Killarney, he said he would have put Clara 3rd at best and Antrim or Leitrim should have won!
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 30, 2010, 05:22:03 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 29, 2010, 11:36:09 PM
Yeah was just speaking to my friend who was in Killarney, he said he would have put Clara 3rd at best and Antrim or Leitrim should have won!

Well i would have to agree with your friend!! Would he be Saul ballad groups mentor??  ;D
Post by: downgirl on April 30, 2010, 09:00:13 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 30, 2010, 05:22:03 PM

Well i would have to agree with your friend!! Would he be Saul ballad groups mentor??  ;D

The very one!  :D
Post by: GAAsupporter on April 30, 2010, 10:52:33 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 30, 2010, 09:00:13 PM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on April 30, 2010, 05:22:03 PM

The very one!  :D

Lol! i was right!  :D   ;D  Well nw...he wud knw wat he was talkn about!  :)
Post by: GAAsupporter on May 12, 2010, 09:29:30 PM
Does anyone know when the scor is guna be on TV?? Or is it true that RTE hav dropped their scor coverage??  :(   :o 
Post by: GAAsupporter on May 28, 2010, 08:58:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=daVV-p0KfUc

Scor highlights!!  ;D   :) 
Post by: seabee on May 29, 2010, 10:09:38 AM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on May 12, 2010, 09:29:30 PM
Does anyone know when the scor is guna be on TV?? Or is it true that RTE hav dropped their scor coverage??  :(   :o

They won't be on this year - apparently due to RTE cutbacks!
Post by: downgirl on June 07, 2010, 03:47:10 AM
Quote from: GAAsupporter on May 28, 2010, 08:58:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=daVV-p0KfUc

Scor highlights!!  ;D   :)

What's the second tune Derrygonnelly are playing there?

That's awful scór isn't going to be on RTE.

Anybody going to Willie Clancy Week?!
Post by: seabee on June 13, 2010, 01:50:21 PM
Anyone at Congress yesterday?
Post by: Massey-135 on November 30, 2010, 12:36:41 PM
Trying to get entrants rounded up for the first Scor heat in February, does anyone know what's the minimum amount of categories you can enter? We wouldn't have much of a pick in our club and I could nearly definitely rule out us entering the two dancing categories and the novelty act. We might make 3 categories - would that be enough?
Post by: Joxer on November 30, 2010, 02:20:45 PM
Quote from: Massey-135 on November 30, 2010, 12:36:41 PM
Trying to get entrants rounded up for the first Scor heat in February, does anyone know what's the minimum amount of categories you can enter? We wouldn't have much of a pick in our club and I could nearly definitely rule out us entering the two dancing categories and the novelty act. We might make 3 categories - would that be enough?

Think it is three yeah but not exactly sure.
Post by: downredblack on November 30, 2010, 02:55:08 PM
Nearly sure it's two
Post by: limerickperson on February 28, 2012, 01:17:22 PM
2 minimum

but am sure there is no county that will turn any competitors for senior scor
Post by: Syferus on February 28, 2012, 04:08:48 PM
Is this the night of the living dead?