GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barna Bee on December 16, 2009, 03:04:36 PM

Title: McHale Park ...The new Stand
Post by: Barna Bee on December 16, 2009, 03:04:36 PM
What a lump of lard....what's withthe permanent poles in the middle obstructing everyones view?Could they not have spent a few more bob building a cantilevered stand ...looks like something out of the 30's . Who built this heap? and why did they allow this go ahead ? Developers were sh1t buy the look of it

http://www.castlebar.ie/JLoftus/McHale_Park_Stand_Update.shtml
Title: Re: McHale Park ...The new Stand
Post by: sammymaguire on December 16, 2009, 03:32:19 PM
there is a recession on in Mayo!
Post by: muppet on December 16, 2009, 03:46:31 PM
Quote from: Barna Bee on December 16, 2009, 03:04:36 PM
What a lump of lard....what's withthe permanent poles in the middle obstructing everyones view?Could they not have spent a few more bob building a cantilevered stand ...looks like something out of the 30's . Who built this heap? and why did they allow this go ahead ? Developers were sh1t buy the look of it

Ddddddddddddon't mention the wwwwwar!
Post by: blanketattack on December 16, 2009, 03:46:41 PM
Please tell me that those photos of the TV stand are of it before it was completed and before the scaffolding was removed?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 16, 2009, 04:25:31 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on December 16, 2009, 03:46:41 PM
Please tell me that those photos of the TV stand are of it before it was completed and before the scaffolding was removed?

Its still not finished but that pic is pretty much how it will look. As Muppet says, don't mention the war!
Post by: Barna Bee on December 16, 2009, 04:30:20 PM
Ok this is too interesting to let go ....what has gone on ?....or alledgedly i suppose what was said to have gone on but can't be proven?
Post by: Hardy on December 16, 2009, 04:43:09 PM
Jayz it's a bit retro-looking alright. Keenans of Carlow, circa 1955.
Post by: ballinaman on December 16, 2009, 04:54:30 PM
Blue seats,poles in the stand, military watch tower for McHale road.....well that turned out well!!
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on December 16, 2009, 05:02:27 PM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/mayo-reveal-mchale-park-costs-1977837.html

Wednesday December 16 2009

The redevelopment scheme at McHale Park in Castlebar will cost the Mayo county board 730,000 euros next year, it has been revealed.

Auditor Michael McHugh said the capital payment to Ulster Bank next year would be 500,000 euros with a total of 230,000 euros due in interest on loans. He added that the county board planned to meet these repayments through fundraising and a development draw.

With the draw yielding 240,000 euros this year, it would leave almost 500,000 euros to be raised through fundraising.

------------------------------

For what the Mayo Co. Board got out of it...
Post by: rootthemout on December 16, 2009, 05:08:45 PM
is the press stand the old watch tower from cross just with a lick of new paint :D
Post by: muppet on December 16, 2009, 05:22:48 PM
Quote from: rootthemout on December 16, 2009, 05:08:45 PM
is the press stand the old watch tower from cross just with a lick of new paint :D

That is what some of the locals think.
Post by: prewtna on December 16, 2009, 05:38:53 PM
mchale park is a joke.

1) they dont need the bloody media tower at all. simple solution like in gaelic grounds in limerick - stick the cameras above in the roof with all associated gantries and walkway access - commentators too and have the rest of the press up along the back wall in ther own area. not as if we would be losing much 'corporate' space for executive boxes or the likes.

2) the poles! in the name of jaysus!!! take a look at hyde park or salthill - admitadely much smaller stands but no poles. why do we need a 10,000 seater stand? we dont! 7500 is plenty and use the money in the balance to build a decent fecking roof.

3) paying for it. the county board have imposed more development draw tickets upon the clubs of mayo. our club cant sell what we get in a standard year never mind the extra, so the club has to fork out instead. that money could be paid to coaches or give young lads gear or anything - maybe drain the fecking training pitch we have.

4) orientation - its facing west!! the prevailing wind rain and evening sun all come from there! its on the wrong side of the bloody pitch. 

if you want an example of what not to do when building a stand see mchale parks new stand. total disaster.
Post by: prewtna on December 16, 2009, 05:47:08 PM
i needed to get that off my chest - i feel much better now!
Post by: magickingdom on December 16, 2009, 07:28:40 PM
i read the posts first, expected a horror show then looked at the pictures and said 'its not that bad'. maybe if i had looked at the pictures first..... :-\

Quote from: prewtna on December 16, 2009, 05:38:53 PM

orientation - its facing west!! the prevailing wind rain and evening sun all come from there! its on the wrong side of the bloody pitch. 

now thats a major blunder
Post by: Barney on December 16, 2009, 07:53:45 PM

I posted this on the GAA Finances thread earlier in the week.

It is quite alarming the quality of the development that the County Board have decided to push ahead with which we will be paying for for many years

QuoteRecent articles in the Mayo News about the state of finances in Mayo are alarming and given the economic status of the country look like getting worse.

i know the County Board are looking to sell seats in the new stand but cannot see too many being able to make the commitment at this time.

This over-investment could haunt Mayo GAA for years to come:

County Board count cost of McHale Park

Treasurer's Report
Daniel Carey

MAYO GAA Board will have to raise €730,000 next year for the McHale Park redevelopment, it was revealed at last week's Convention in Westport.
Ballinrobe delegate Alan Flannery asked what the repayments on the McHale Park redevelopment would be next year, and queried what the impact of this would be on club levies. Auditor Michael McHugh said that the capital payment to Ulster Bank next year would be €500,000, and there would be a total of €230,000 due in interest on loans. He added that the County Board planned to meet these repayments through fund-raising and the Development Draw. With the draw accounting for €240,000 in 2009, that leaves almost half a million to be raised through fund-raising.
Secretary Seán Feeney said that a €1 million loan from the bank has to be paid back within two years, which would, he said 'make it tight for us'. He added that the loan was still operating a variable interest rate on advice from Croke Park.

Coaching costs cut
MEANWHILE, Mayo GAA Board may have to reduce the amount of money being put into coaching, Treasurer JP Lambe told Convention. Noting that the County Board had put €32,000 into coaching and development, the Garrymore clubman said: "With the expenses coming up [in relation to the McHale Park redevelopment], I don't know can we continue to put that kind of money into coaching."
Coaching Officer Hugh Rudden said he advocated spending more money on coaching. He noted that the Cúl Camps hade made a €30,000 profit, and said the amount of money spent on coaching by the County Board 'isn't all that high'.
"Some other counties have coaching levies on clubs," the Ballyhaunis clubman added. "I understand that another levy mightn't go down well with the clubs [but] a little support from clubs mightn't go astray, even if we start off with a small levy."
The Treasurer reported a surplus of €466,797 for 2009, up by over €206,000 on the previous year. Income increased by over €208,000 to €1.924,476, while expenditure increased by just under €2,000 to €1,457,679. Lambe said that payments from clubs 'dragged out quite a bit' last year, and warned: "We won't be able to carry that next year".
Gate receipts reduced by almost €12,000 overall in 2009, and Bord na nÓg receipts were down by over €10,000 to €3,725 – "the lowest of all time", according to Lambe. "A lot of games were played in the early morning or late evening, and gates were not even collected at some games. Bord na nÓg will need to look at playing finals on long evenings in the summer," he said.

Almost €11m spent on McHale Park in year when clubs dug deep

Mike Finnerty

THE amount of money that has been spent on the McHale Park project in 2009, and the contributions that Mayo GAA clubs make to the County Board coffers, were two of the most striking aspects of the Mayo GAA Board accounts that were presented to the County Convention last night (Monday).
Figures presented under 'Fixed Assets' for the McHale Park pitch and stand would suggest that approximately €10.8m had been spent on the development work in Castlebar up to October 31 this year.
In 2008, the McHale Park pitch and stand had a value of €2,663,474 while that figure has now risen to €13,464,727 — an increase of €10,801,253 since the start of the year.
The estimated total cost of the McHale Park development at the beginning of the project was €16.5m. However, it is believed that the final figure may be lower due to the current economic climate.
A Central Council grant of €5m for the McHale Park project is also laid out in the Mayo GAA Board Balance Sheet, as is a Central Council loan for €1.5m.
Under 'Current Liabilities', a bank loan (due within one year) of €500,000 is included, while under 'Net Current (Liabilities) Assets', a bank loan (due over one year) of €4,849,609 is also outlined.
MEANWHILE, Mayo GAA Treasurer, JP Lambe, also revealed that the clubs of the county contributed approximately €744,288 to the County Board funds in 2009.
The 'County Board Draw' brought in €240,000, summer camps were responsible for €128,517, club affiliation fees and insurance added up to €241,801, club levies accounted for €50,000, club contributions (€100 each) raked in €5,968, and clubs' contributions for referees expenses were €78,000.
The Mayo GAA Board also took in €173,085 from 'gates' at club championship games right across the county during the 2009 season.
In summary, at the end of October, the Mayo GAA Board had spent €466,000 less than it had taken in during the previous twelve months.

Where the money goes....

Mike Finnerty

SENIOR FOOTBALL TEAM COSTS 2009
IT cost €373,683 to prepare the Mayo senior football team in 2009, an increase of €22,500 on the previous season.
However, the catering costs of John O'Mahony's squad saw a dramatic decrease in the space of twelve months. Last season's catering bill amounted to €39,150, compared to €64,000 in 2008.
However, travelling expenses for the Mayo senior squad last season came to €268,161, an increase of €50,000 on the previous campaign. The medical costs of the county senior squad were €48,407 this year.

MINOR FOOTBALL TEAM COSTS 2009
REACHING an All-Ireland Minor Final for the second successive season meant that the cost of running the Mayo minor squad in 2009 was quite similar to the previous year.
The final tally of €102,602 was down approximately €9,000 on 2008, with the catering bill (€43,898) accounting for most of the expenditure.

SENIOR HURLING TEAM COSTS 2009
THE cost of Mayo's recent hurling renaissance is plain to be seen in the balance sheet too; it cost €130,901 to send the senior squad into battle last season.
However, this is a decrease of €33,500 on the 2008 figures which totalled €164,442.  The bulk of the running costs of the county hurling team were amassed from travelling expenses which amounted to €89,177.

MASTERS Football COSTS ARE THE LOWEST
THE Mayo over 40s team remains the most economical of all the county squads. In 2009, their only expense submitted to the Mayo GAA Board was €3,250 for sportsgear. They spent no County Board money on catering, travelling or medical expenses.

Post by: blast05 on December 16, 2009, 09:19:42 PM
Re the media tower  ... something along the lines of Omagh - stand on one side and a monstrosity of a media tower on the opposite side.
Certainly agree that a 7.5K stand with a roof that did not require poles to support it would have been a better spend of money. The poles do not obstruct the view however even nearly as badly as the old ones .... and btw, Pearse stadium has very thick poles about 4 or 5 rows from the back  - and each pole completely destroys the experience for 5 -10 people.
Post by: stephenite on December 16, 2009, 10:02:29 PM
It's the seats that annoy me.
Post by: ballinaman on December 16, 2009, 10:10:17 PM
Quote from: stephenite on December 16, 2009, 10:02:29 PM
It's the seats that annoy me.
+1 ffs , blue!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2009, 10:22:32 PM
Lads it's a fine stand. The poles are hardly noticeable. Ye would look for a problem in an orgy in heaven, ffs. I take great pride every time I pass along the ring road behind McHale Road. As for those complaining on McHale road, complaints for complaints sake methinks, I wonder how many of them are not blow-ins and I see they have hired a serial complainer solicitor to get involved.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 16, 2009, 11:11:44 PM
It would look well in Hyde Park in fairness.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2009, 11:21:07 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 16, 2009, 11:11:44 PM

Are you having a dig at both Mayo & Roscommon there?

It would dwarf the stands in Pearse or Hyde Park.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 17, 2009, 12:44:26 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2009, 11:21:07 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 16, 2009, 11:11:44 PM

Are you having a dig at both Mayo & Roscommon there?

It would dwarf the stands in Pearse or Hyde Park.

Jays you're fierce touchy about an auld stand. ;D
Post by: stephenite on December 17, 2009, 01:29:40 AM
It's a shite stand - money wasted by wasters
Post by: quiltylads on December 17, 2009, 02:30:36 AM

What's with the neutral blue seating? Couldn't they hae done Green/Red every second section?
Post by: stephenite on December 17, 2009, 05:37:15 AM
Quote from: quiltylads on December 17, 2009, 02:30:36 AM

What's with the neutral blue seating? Couldn't they hae done Green/Red every second section?

Exactly - or Red seating with a white lettering as Gaeilge, or vice versa. Options abound for anyone with half an imagination. And don't anyone bleat about cost - if you're going into debt, different colours of the seats is not going to make too much difference.
Post by: Tubberman on December 17, 2009, 08:58:38 AM
The poles are a bit obtrusive - you'd think that in 2009 it would be standard design to have a cantilevered roof (not that I have any idea about designing stands or anything else!).
I was told by someone working underneath the stand that the facilities are very impressive - large dressing rooms and huge warm-up areas. It also has rooms for the match officials, and will house the county board offices. So maybe that's why it's such a large stand. If they built a 7.5k capacity stand, they probably wouldn't have been able to fit all those facilities in.

But the seats really annoyed me when I saw them! How hard would it have been to put in green and red seats - or at least spell out MAIGH EO on them! It's not a massive deal, but it's something you'd think would have been done without a second thought.

The media tower is going to be modified as far as I know - reduced in height and have a different finish on it so it doesn't look like a military installation! But that saga will prob go on for a while. The whole plannig this was handled terribly - by the county board and by the designers. But it's also worth pointing out there are two Castlebar councillors who have no fondness for the GAA and are loving this...
Post by: prewtna on December 17, 2009, 09:39:39 AM
that stand - its something that annoys me every time i see it. i ranted earlier about it so i wont go into it again but its just symptomatic of the recent celtic tiger attitude - 'il build a bigger house than you no matter what it looks like or how it cripples me'. i fully agree it is an improvement on what was there before but nevertheless theres so much wrong with it.

Post by: Lar Naparka on December 17, 2009, 01:57:51 PM
When the idea of redevelopment was first talked about, I was impressed by the County Board's initiative and farsightedness. I still am but having seen the pics posted here earlier; I can see what the fuss with local residents is about.
Janey: Long Kesh or Crossmaglen barracks wouldn't look out of place here!
It's good to know that the facilities being provided are going to be first rate and are a welcome sign that Mayo is moving with the times but it's the local people who will have to look at it all year long.
It's a bit like the old saying about spoiling a ship for a happorth of tar, isn't it?
Post by: joemamas on December 17, 2009, 02:14:16 PM
Quote from: prewtna on December 16, 2009, 05:38:53 PM
mchale park is a joke.

1) they dont need the bloody media tower at all. simple solution like in gaelic grounds in limerick - stick the cameras above in the roof with all associated gantries and walkway access - commentators too and have the rest of the press up along the back wall in ther own area. not as if we would be losing much 'corporate' space for executive boxes or the likes.

2) the poles! in the name of jaysus!!! take a look at hyde park or salthill - admitadely much smaller stands but no poles. why do we need a 10,000 seater stand? we dont! 7500 is plenty and use the money in the balance to build a decent fecking roof.

3) paying for it. the county board have imposed more development draw tickets upon the clubs of mayo. our club cant sell what we get in a standard year never mind the extra, so the club has to fork out instead. that money could be paid to coaches or give young lads gear or anything - maybe drain the fecking training pitch we have.

4) orientation - its facing west!! the prevailing wind rain and evening sun all come from there! its on the wrong side of the bloody pitch. 

if you want an example of what not to do when building a stand see mchale parks new stand. total disaster.

could not agree more on the posts, in this day and age it is beyond stupid. I am all for developement and planning for the future, but the likelihood of filling that stand more than twice a year are slim to say the least, our county final had maybe 3,000 . the stand looked empty, Bizarre planning if you ask me, wonder where the ultimate approval decision for the design came from.
Post by: muppet on December 17, 2009, 02:24:40 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2009, 10:22:32 PM
Lads it's a fine stand. The poles are hardly noticeable. Ye would look for a problem in an orgy in heaven, ffs. I take great pride every time I pass along the ring road behind McHale Road. As for those complaining on McHale road, complaints for complaints sake methinks, I wonder how many of them are not blow-ins and I see they have hired a serial complainer solicitor to get involved.

This rhetoric sounds very familiar. ::) It continues that ' most of the residents didn't object' and therefore we are in the right. It ignores the fact that most of the residents don't live under the tower of Crossmaglen.

The blow-ins on McHale Road are not those living there.

The stand is on the east side because there was no way they would ever get planning on the west side. The houses there would never see the sun again. The tower that has been built on the west side does not comply with the planning. The residents have done nothing wrong and are being treated very poorly and have every right to protest.

I have always considered the McHale Road residents to be a big part of match day, decorating their houses on green & red, and many of them played for and are/were members of Castlebar Michels club. The new conflict between residents and McHale park seems to have a lot to do with those who took it off the Mitchel's hands.
Post by: LilySavage on December 17, 2009, 02:30:43 PM
Pile of junk. An eyesore in fact!
Post by: prewtna on December 17, 2009, 03:04:15 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 17, 2009, 02:24:40 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 16, 2009, 10:22:32 PM

This rhetoric sounds very familiar. ::) It continues that ' most of the residents didn't object' and therefore we are in the right. It ignores the fact that most of the residents don't live under the tower of Crossmaglen.

The blow-ins on McHale Road are not those living there.

The stand is on the east side because there was no way they would ever get planning on the west side. The houses there would never see the sun again. The tower that has been built on the west side does not comply with the planning. The residents have done nothing wrong and are being treated very poorly and have every right to protest.

I have always considered the McHale Road residents to be a big part of match day, decorating their houses on green & red, and many of them played for and are/were members of Castlebar Michels club. The new conflict between residents and McHale park seems to have a lot to do with those who took it off the Mitchel's hands.

agreed it wouldnt get planning on that side of the pich so to be fair me saying its on the wrong bloody side is a bit harsh.

the whole thing seems to send out the image of 'ah itll do' kind of job from design and building of the stand and media tower to the treatment of both mchale road residents and the planning process
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on December 17, 2009, 05:03:44 PM
Quote from: stephenite on December 17, 2009, 05:37:15 AM

Exactly - or Red seating with a white lettering as Gaeilge, or vice versa. Options abound for anyone with half an imagination. And don't anyone bleat about cost - if you're going into debt, different colours of the seats is not going to make too much difference.

depends on whether you get blue seats at a knock down price  :D :D ;D ;D :D :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 17, 2009, 06:41:54 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on December 17, 2009, 05:03:44 PM

Leitrim probably have the best stand in Connacht. Mayos stand in a farce IMO, i remember reading that they got blue seats because they dont fade colour. A bit of joke that. But sure whens its full you wont see them only positive i can say. I know planning stipulations mean its west facing stand which really makes the roof obsolete considering most weather fronts come in that way and was a problem on the old one. Probably one of the worst aesthically looking grounds in Ireland but when its full will carry some atmosphere though. I would of developed Markievicz differently aswell but sure you just have to accept these things and move on.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 17, 2009, 08:09:25 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 17, 2009, 06:41:54 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on December 17, 2009, 05:03:44 PM

Leitrim probably have the best stand in Connacht.

I've been in it and it's a fine stand in Carrick but the stand in Pearse is better in all honesty. Not to mention it holds 5,000 more punters.

The stand in McHale Park is bigger again even though it looks a bit like something out of the 1970's.
Post by: randomtask on December 17, 2009, 10:13:50 PM
i think it looks well think counted 4 very thin poles
Post by: highorlow on December 17, 2009, 11:29:51 PM
It's not that bad at all.

If they were to do a cantilever type stand you are getting into huge cost. If we use Thomand Park as an example.

Thomand Park cost circa €40 million to build (construction costs) with a seating capacity of 15,000. Its a fine stadium but if a shower of rain comes and you are seated half way down you would get wet. So based on the above construction costs a stand such as Thomand on one side you'd be talking at least €20 million, plus design costs etc.

If anything I'd have more of a gripe with the floodlight columns which are taking up a huge chunk of the terracing on the opposite side in McHale and block out the view of a good few spaces. I can only assume that they must have been restricted from putting them back further up the terrace?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 18, 2009, 12:52:03 AM
Quote from: highorlow on December 17, 2009, 11:29:51 PM

If they were to do a cantilever type stand you are getting into huge cost. If we use Thomand Park as an example.

Thomand Park cost circa €40 million to build (construction costs) with a seating capacity of 15,000. Its a fine stadium but if a shower of rain comes and you are seated half way down you would get wet. So based on the above construction costs a stand such as Thomand on one side you'd be talking at least €20 million, plus design costs etc.

If anything I'd have more of a gripe with the floodlight columns which are taking up a huge chunk of the terracing on the opposite side in McHale and block out the view of a good few spaces. I can only assume that they must have been restricted from putting them back further up the terrace?

They have to be postioned in a way that they do not throw too much light on McHale road. More of the lights have to be the McHale Road side so the light is mostly thrown in the opposite direction.
Post by: RMDrive on December 18, 2009, 09:27:34 AM
Quote from: highorlow on December 17, 2009, 11:29:51 PM

Very true. They restrict the view for a surprisingly large area.
Post by: Barney on January 05, 2010, 05:15:40 PM
QuoteLights out for Galway?

Floodlit game uncertain for Mayo in Castlebar

Daniel Carey

MAYO'S National Football League opener against Galway is in limbo, with plans to stage the game under floodlights at McHale Park, Castlebar now in doubt.
Castlebar Town Council's decision to grant retention planning permission for the McHale Park development has been appealed to An Bord Pleanála by Peter Sweetman and Associates, on behalf of the McHale Road Residents Association.
Mayo GAA Board Chairman James Waldron insists the game will be played in the county ground – but says it is not yet clear whether it will take place under lights. The game, the first inter-county match to be played under floodlights in McHale Park, is scheduled to take place on Saturday evening, February 6. The game is due to be televised by Setanta Sports.
"Whether it's the Saturday night or the Sunday, I don't know," the County Board Chairman told The Mayo News. "We have to get clarification on that. As of now, it's still fixed for the Saturday night, but it would be really down to whether we're allowed to use the lights or not."
But the Mayor of Castlebar believes a match cannot be played under lights in McHale Park while An Bord Pleanála consider the matter. Cllr Michael Kilcoyne, who has been a vocal critic of the GAA's handling of the project, said: "The lights are the subject of the appeal and cannot be used – it would be a breach if they do that. A further breach."
A spokesman for An Bord Pleanála said that there was 'no request for an oral hearing' in the appeal, but that the board 'has the right' to call one if deemed necessary. He added that the board hopes to deal with the matter 'on or before April 29, 2010', so a resolution ahead of the National League opener looks highly unlikely.
James Waldron insisted that there is no question of the game being moved to an alternative venue. "It will be in McHale Park – there's no doubt about that," he concluded.
Seamus Granahan, Castlebar Town Manager, said that Castlebar Town Council 'will be making a submission' to An Bord Pleanála. He confirmed that 'there was some unauthorised work done' at McHale Park in early December, but that the GAA had 'immediately' promised to deal with it.

The incompetence continues and is staggering. The lack of uproar is nearly more worrying. I wonder how many 10 year tickets have been sold though?

Now I'd say there is some sensationalism here about the Galway game and cheap publicity for a politician, but then to read that there was more unauthorised work carried out at the beginning of December....
Post by: prewtna on January 05, 2010, 08:24:50 PM
i suppose if we want to be really fussy, a precedent has already been set at mchale park.

the lights have in fact already been used. the county final i think it was, was quickly decending into darkness and next thing we know - hey presto - lights on!

so whats the harm in doing that again for galway match?!!! lol we can all congregate for the game as it is fixed at the moment and when everyone realises that actually its a bit dark and we cant see the players as they warm up, flick the lights on so someone doesnt do themselves a mischief on the 804 and maintanence spread around the back of the stand?

its a health and safety thing - health and safety! say it enough and you might actually believe it.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 05, 2010, 11:32:13 PM
Quotei remember reading that they got blue seats because they dont fade colour.

Yeah that was the reason i heard too.
Post by: moysider on January 06, 2010, 12:13:31 AM
Quote from: Barney on January 05, 2010, 05:15:40 PM
QuoteLights out for Galway?

Floodlit game uncertain for Mayo in Castlebar

Daniel Carey

MAYO'S National Football League opener against Galway is in limbo, with plans to stage the game under floodlights at McHale Park, Castlebar now in doubt.
Castlebar Town Council's decision to grant retention planning permission for the McHale Park development has been appealed to An Bord Pleanála by Peter Sweetman and Associates, on behalf of the McHale Road Residents Association.
Mayo GAA Board Chairman James Waldron insists the game will be played in the county ground – but says it is not yet clear whether it will take place under lights. The game, the first inter-county match to be played under floodlights in McHale Park, is scheduled to take place on Saturday evening, February 6. The game is due to be televised by Setanta Sports.
"Whether it's the Saturday night or the Sunday, I don't know," the County Board Chairman told The Mayo News. "We have to get clarification on that. As of now, it's still fixed for the Saturday night, but it would be really down to whether we're allowed to use the lights or not."
But the Mayor of Castlebar believes a match cannot be played under lights in McHale Park while An Bord Pleanála consider the matter. Cllr Michael Kilcoyne, who has been a vocal critic of the GAA's handling of the project, said: "The lights are the subject of the appeal and cannot be used – it would be a breach if they do that. A further breach."
A spokesman for An Bord Pleanála said that there was 'no request for an oral hearing' in the appeal, but that the board 'has the right' to call one if deemed necessary. He added that the board hopes to deal with the matter 'on or before April 29, 2010', so a resolution ahead of the National League opener looks highly unlikely.
James Waldron insisted that there is no question of the game being moved to an alternative venue. "It will be in McHale Park – there's no doubt about that," he concluded.
Seamus Granahan, Castlebar Town Manager, said that Castlebar Town Council 'will be making a submission' to An Bord Pleanála. He confirmed that 'there was some unauthorised work done' at McHale Park in early December, but that the GAA had 'immediately' promised to deal with it.

The incompetence continues and is staggering. The lack of uproar is nearly more worrying. I wonder how many 10 year tickets have been sold though?

Now I'd say there is some sensationalism here about the Galway game and cheap publicity for a politician, but then to read that there was more unauthorised work carried out at the beginning of December....

Cant say that I know the whole story here but it looks bad. Apparently the locals dont like the arrogance of the top shelf of the county board or they dont like the organisation or the people involved, first stop. You d have to wonder if this development should have happened here. Councillor 'whatyemaycallhim' should consider what the local economy gains from matches. Stuff that towns like Ballina, Crossmolina and Charlestown would like a bit of still. Funny, its not like McHale Park is the first venue in Castlebar to be flood lit. Celtic Park, Tennis club, Mile Bush have floodlighting for years. Obvious for a distance and frequently used. Dont remember much fuss about them.  I smell a shakedown which is not helped by the lack of savvy in our illustrious officers. I suspect our McHale road residents have caught Jones Road fever. They should nurture the goose instead of strangling the poor beast.
Post by: macdanger2 on January 06, 2010, 03:50:07 AM
QuoteMEANWHILE, Mayo GAA Board may have to reduce the amount of money being put into coaching, Treasurer JP Lambe told Convention. Noting that the County Board had put €32,000 into coaching and development, the Garrymore clubman said: "With the expenses coming up [in relation to the McHale Park redevelopment], I don't know can we continue to put that kind of money into coaching."

He's dead right, no point in wasting money on fancy-dan sh*t like coaching, we're better off spending the money on a new stand.
Post by: Tubberman on January 06, 2010, 08:55:23 AM
QuoteCouncillor 'whatyemaycallhim' should consider what the local economy gains from matches. Stuff that towns like Ballina, Crossmolina and Charlestown would like a bit of still. Funny, its not like McHale Park is the first venue in Castlebar to be flood lit. Celtic Park, Tennis club, Mile Bush have floodlighting for years. Obvious for a distance and frequently used. Dont remember much fuss about them.  I smell a shakedown which is not helped by the lack of savvy in our illustrious officers. I suspect our McHale road residents have caught Jones Road fever. They should nurture the goose instead of strangling the poor beast.

Good post, I'd agree with that. And to be honest, I think the Cllr(s) in question might be steering the resident's association along a route that they wouldn't be particulalrly bothered about taking if left to their own devices. That's only my opinion, can't say I know for sure.
But the CB have handled the whole redevelopment shockingly bad in most aspects - design, planning permission, PR....
Post by: Clarin Pearl on January 07, 2010, 01:17:07 AM
It's been a while since i've been on here and look what i've missed.
So they've spent the guts of 800,000 to ruin the best stadium in connacht.
its a mackey stand for a new decade.

Apart from the driving afterwards, evening games are the way to go.
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2010, 03:52:22 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 06, 2010, 08:55:23 AM
QuoteCouncillor 'whatyemaycallhim' should consider what the local economy gains from matches. Stuff that towns like Ballina, Crossmolina and Charlestown would like a bit of still. Funny, its not like McHale Park is the first venue in Castlebar to be flood lit. Celtic Park, Tennis club, Mile Bush have floodlighting for years. Obvious for a distance and frequently used. Dont remember much fuss about them.  I smell a shakedown which is not helped by the lack of savvy in our illustrious officers. I suspect our McHale road residents have caught Jones Road fever. They should nurture the goose instead of strangling the poor beast.

Good post, I'd agree with that. And to be honest, I think the Cllr(s) in question might be steering the resident's association along a route that they wouldn't be particulalrly bothered about taking if left to their own devices. That's only my opinion, can't say I know for sure.
But the CB have handled the whole redevelopment shockingly bad in most aspects - design, planning permission, PR....

Not what I'm hearing.
Post by: criostlinn on January 17, 2010, 01:17:58 PM
Anyone know what going on with this. Is the match on the Saturday or Sunday.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 18, 2010, 12:47:47 AM
Have been saying this for yonks. McHale Park has be over done. This is NOT Man United, Coventry, Millwall in Soccer. This is not Munster, Leceister in Rugby. This is Mayo in Gaelic football.
Broken down Mayo football begins in February and finishes in October. Unlike other sports Gaelic football can be haphazard venue wise. Depending on Success or competition draws venues can be busy or completely unused. In Soccer Millwall are guaranteed 23 home fixtures not counting the add on of possible Cup fixtures. Their average crowd is 10,000.

Could McHale Park guarantee 10,000 people once a year

December to February

FBD League......nuff said

February to April offers Max 4 games at home in the League.
The pocket fillers are;

The Dubs
Galway
Kerry
And who ever are AI Champions

Will any of those attract a crowd of more than 8,000?

May to September - Championship Games

Galway will draw a crowd (every second year)
Roscmmon/Sligo/Leitrim (every second year) will draw a decent crowd

Back door

Chances unlikely as only Galway can send Mayo realistically into back door.

Chances of Northern team meeting western seaboard team. ie Donegal meeting Galway a few years back.

Mayo Club games

Not worth mentioning crowd wise

A Closer Look

So we will look at a dream year.

We Play Dublin, Galway, Kerry in League.
We meet Galway in an early Connacht round
We meet Sligo in a final
Galway play Derry in Back door in Castlebar

Now we look at our Nightmare year

Play Cork, Laois, Kildare in League
Leitrim/Ros/Sligo/Galway away in Championship
No Back door games.

Conclusion

McHale Park is a White Elephant. Money should have been spent more wisely on a more compact model. The rest should have been spent on a development complex for underage football and for County teams. Club members who are already double jobbing are getting more burnt out with fund raising.

Post by: ballinaman on January 19, 2010, 01:34:17 PM
Lights out for the Galway league match, moved to the Sunday. Some joke.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on January 19, 2010, 01:43:56 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 19, 2010, 01:34:17 PM
Lights out for the Galway league match, moved to the Sunday. Some joke.
Ah bollix.  Was looking forward to goin up on the Sat evening followed by a trip to Westport for a scatter of pints.   

There seems to be a right mess made of the whole revamp to McHale Park e.g. the stand has pillars, seats are blue (why blue?), TV tower and press area does not conform to planning and now the lights are a problem.  I'm sure a shed load of money has been spent but the county board down there should be answering a lot of tough questions.  They have made a right balls of the whole effort and as usual it the ordinary fan that will suffer in the long run. 
Post by: muppet on January 19, 2010, 02:34:45 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 18, 2010, 12:47:47 AM
Have been saying this for yonks. McHale Park has be over done. This is NOT Man United, Coventry, Millwall in Soccer. This is not Munster, Leceister in Rugby. This is Mayo in Gaelic football.
Broken down Mayo football begins in February and finishes in October. Unlike other sports Gaelic football can be haphazard venue wise. Depending on Success or competition draws venues can be busy or completely unused. In Soccer Millwall are guaranteed 23 home fixtures not counting the add on of possible Cup fixtures. Their average crowd is 10,000.

Could McHale Park guarantee 10,000 people once a year

December to February

FBD League......nuff said

February to April offers Max 4 games at home in the League.
The pocket fillers are;

The Dubs
Galway
Kerry
And who ever are AI Champions

Will any of those attract a crowd of more than 8,000?

May to September - Championship Games

Galway will draw a crowd (every second year)
Roscmmon/Sligo/Leitrim (every second year) will draw a decent crowd

Back door

Chances unlikely as only Galway can send Mayo realistically into back door.

Chances of Northern team meeting western seaboard team. ie Donegal meeting Galway a few years back.

Mayo Club games

Not worth mentioning crowd wise

A Closer Look

So we will look at a dream year.

We Play Dublin, Galway, Kerry in League.
We meet Galway in an early Connacht round
We meet Sligo in a final
Galway play Derry in Back door in Castlebar

Now we look at our Nightmare year

Play Cork, Laois, Kildare in League
Leitrim/Ros/Sligo/Galway away in Championship
No Back door games.

Conclusion

McHale Park is a White Elephant. Money should have been spent more wisely on a more compact model. The rest should have been spent on a development complex for underage football and for County teams. Club members who are already double jobbing are getting more burnt out with fund raising.

Sometimes I wish we were invaded by many different countries so we would have some buildings. The only buildings are they few built by the British.

There is no hope of the Irish ever building anything because we always talk ourselves into making it smaller or we talk ourselves out of it completely, with the exception of the Gaa. There were lots against the development of Croker too.

I for one want to be in McHale Park with 35,000 people at a Connacht Final, not 6,500 comfortable people.
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 03:05:12 PM
Don't want to drag the debate into architecture, but you're right, Muppet. We've built feck all of any worth since the Brits left and nothing at all lasting, that I can think of.

Though we're not alone in the latter. I think it's hugely Ironic that this generation's fetish for disposable buildings will mean the most remarkable memorial the information age will leave for a millennium hence will not not be great architecture, but a mountain of unbiodegradable plastic litter.
Post by: muppet on January 19, 2010, 03:06:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2010, 03:05:12 PM
Don't want to drag the debate into architecture, but you're right, Muppet. We've built feck all of any worth since the Brits left and nothing at all lasting, that I can think of.

Though we're not alone in the latter. I think it's hugely Ironic that this generation's fetish for disposable buildings will mean the most remarkable memorial the information age will leave for a millennium hence will not not be great architecture, but a mountain of unbiodegradable plastic litter.

And a leaky tunnel. Maybe we should use it to supply the city with water?
Post by: rosnarun on January 19, 2010, 07:34:03 PM
lads did you not know the end of every great era is marked by the building of grandiose public monuments to the kings emporers , a sogn they have nothing left to acheive except to try and ensure future praise for themselves
Post by: furboot on January 19, 2010, 07:57:10 PM
"Flash Forward" to Saturday night 6th Feb - no floodlights on and with darkness all around will the blue seats still be visibly blue and will the pillars interfere with your line of vision ? just wondering ??
Post by: moysider on January 19, 2010, 08:41:28 PM

f**k it anyway. A Saturday night match under lights would have been an occasion to look forward to and would have spiced things up a bit. A few scoops after as well. To be honest Sunday afternoon league games in a dreary 80% empty McHale Park have become more about duty than enjoyment. Clubs are stretched trying to sell tickets for this development and then it cant be used.
A load of bollix. These problems should have been identified in the feasibility study - I m sure there was one done - and the development should have moved to a green site with the old site sold.

Anybody know what the conditions are that would allow the lights to be used - ever? That they can only be used during daylight hours? I mean what can be changed with the lights that would make them less intrusive or whatever? They cant be lowered or dimmed or disguised. Underground lighting does nt work either.
Post by: Barney on January 19, 2010, 10:18:46 PM
What a pile of dung.

€15m wasted on this charade.

Floodlight presumably paid for and now interest being paid off on that and they will be idle for at least another 12 months.

A new stand with blue seats (FG) and poles facing into the sun, and with the wind blowing into it, that will lie empty except on one day every two years.

Has anybody bought one of the five year tickets? Surely this is going to have massive repurcussions for the future finances of Mayo GAA. And yet nobody is asking any questions at County Board meetings.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 19, 2010, 10:31:23 PM
Quote from: Barney on January 19, 2010, 10:18:46 PM
What a pile of dung.

€15m wasted on this charade.

Floodlight presumably paid for and now interest being paid off on that and they will be idle for at least another 12 months.

A new stand with blue seats (FG) and poles facing into the sun, and with the wind blowing into it, that will lie empty except on one day every two years.

Has anybody bought one of the five year tickets? Surely this is going to have massive repurcussions for the future finances of Mayo GAA. And yet nobody is asking any questions at County Board meetings.

A bit of sanity on the Board! Did anyone do a Cost Benefit Analysis on this Fiasco.

Not only is this White Elephant going to cost the Good hard working GAA Clubs years to play off. It will also have to be maintained. All for one big game against Galway every two year. Ha Ha Ha  :D
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on January 19, 2010, 11:15:13 PM
Well in fairness, The consultant Engineers have a lot to answer for. I used to work for them about 6 years back, they weren't up to much then, they dont seem to be up to much now. McHale park needed to be renovated though. Better then nothing! A forum HS reader and occasional user here but got fed up of all the WUMS, this place seems to have all the intelligent debate!
Post by: moysider on January 19, 2010, 11:25:28 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on January 19, 2010, 11:15:13 PM
Well in fairness, The consultant Engineers have a lot to answer for. I used to work for them about 6 years back, they weren't up to much then, they dont seem to be up to much now. McHale park needed to be renovated though. Better then nothing! A forum HS reader and occasional user here but got fed up of all the WUMS, this place seems to have all the intelligent debate!

Welcome Peter STG. These are trying times, all around. There s a whole load of explanation needed from the consultants, planners etc. The board men, while autocratic and self serving, hardly concieved and completed this sad project on their own - did they?

Heads need to roll for this. This pile of shite is going to be a milestone around clubs for years. In fact it s already turning good people away from getting involved at executive level in clubs. Even last year senior board men were laying down the law in meetings with clubs about meeting targets. They could have presented a job you could be proud of selling. How can anybody sell this pile when a lot of people are struggling as it is.

You must be related to the man or from Islandeady.
Post by: rosnarun on January 20, 2010, 12:15:04 AM
Peter  welcome .
i ll think youll find for all theiir fault the average Hogan stand contributer has closer links and knowledge of the local Scene than most of the Expats on here
you wont find pages and pages on grass roots topics here like the memorable Are Kilfian getting just a little carried away??
Post by: From the Bunker on January 20, 2010, 01:56:44 AM

We once had a person who spent good 'Tidy Towns' money on a wrongly spelt Sign coming into our local village. He came up with the cover line 'Better than Nothing'. To which we all agreed we would rather have nothing than a sign that straight away made our village look stupid.

Post by: southsidejohnny on January 20, 2010, 08:40:16 AM
Probably a Fianna Fail man, it fits with the way they have ran the country since its birth slightly better than nothing.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on January 20, 2010, 06:05:19 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 19, 2010, 11:25:28 PM

Welcome Peter STG. These are trying times, all around. There s a whole load of explanation needed from the consultants, planners etc. The board men, while autocratic and self serving, hardly concieved and completed this sad project on their own - did they?

Heads need to roll for this. This pile of shite is going to be a milestone around clubs for years. In fact it s already turning good people away from getting involved at executive level in clubs. Even last year senior board men were laying down the law in meetings with clubs about meeting targets. They could have presented a job you could be proud of selling. How can anybody sell this pile when a lot of people are struggling as it is.

You must be related to the man or from Islandeady.

It was an exciting project initially but a right arse has been made of it. A far out Relation of the great man himself, but unfortunatlely i didnt inherit his skill, A bit of junior B football is all i'm fit for these days, i'd say he'd be turning in his grave if he knew one of his desendants played for the covies!
Post by: Kimbap on January 21, 2010, 08:42:47 PM
I was also a HS user but came to the realisation that it's full of kids,eejits and WUMS.I like An Fear Rua but have recently been reading on here,does seem to be more intelligent chat here.
The situation with mchale park is not good that's for sure.Firstly the design of the stand is flawed in that it has poles,a cantilever stand would have cost an extra million approx which isn't that much,if you're going to do a job do it right.Also there is no creative thinking gone into it,its just a shed,if iwas an architech and came up with that i'd be embarrassed.There was nothing that could be done about the positioning of the stand as there was no chance of getting planning on the Mchale road side.The thing that i want to know about now and what everyone seems to have forgotton about with the tower and lights problems is what is happening at the albany end? The plans show an extension to this end but nothing seems to happening,any reliable info on this would be greatly appreciated.