Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 06:08:58 PM

Title: This time 10 years ago I was.................
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 06:08:58 PM
So we are coming to the end of the decade,only seems likes yesterday we were all worried about the Y2K bug and making plans for what we do for the Millennium New Years Eve

This time 10 years ago I was in my 3rd year of my apprenticeship and living in Limerick as I was in Limerick I.T for my 6 month college block,I had a '97 VW Golf and a hell of a lot more hair  :-[,I think I was going out with some girl from Mullingar as well  :-[
Title: Re: This time 10 years ago I was.................
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 07, 2009, 06:12:38 PM
I was in my second year of college in Galway, had a big crush on a girl in my class, was not to impressed with the fact Galway's football team had a year earlier won Sam so easily in comparrison to Mayo and me living in Galway.
Post by: Puckoon on December 07, 2009, 06:14:03 PM
I was writing scholastic philosophy essays at queens and wondering what I was doing a course like that for.
I was bar-tending at the weekends
I was drinking too much
I was regularly getting stiches due to drink related accidents
I was in between michelles.
I had retired from the football.
I was playing lots of music.
I was buying too many clothes and shoes.
I was 19.

I was as happy as a clam in shite with two dicks.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2009, 06:37:28 PM
I had just moved into our first house that we'd bought.
I had just seen BC junior take his first steps down the hallway.
I was working for my sins in Antrim.
I was training like a maniac for AI semi even though I was under 2 months suspensions for boxing Paul Brewster in the noggin.
I wasn't drinking too much as I didn't need to(was on such a drought in those days that 2 pints and I was gone...now I can get at least 3 in me :P)
I was not 19 :(
Post by: muppet on December 07, 2009, 07:06:20 PM
a decade younger..............
it was a decade less since Mayo's last All-Ireland.....
the notion of a rugby Grand Slam for Ireland or Wales was laughable....
Chelsea and Man City were irrelevant....
Mary Harney & Michael O'Leary were telling us about the 'good government' we had.....

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 07, 2009, 07:09:32 PM
Looking forward to my first year of under 16 football for Cullyhanna (or Lower Creggan as it turned out) and getting ready for 4th year school exams.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 07:20:36 PM
Quote from: noeldebrun on December 07, 2009, 07:15:30 PM
still in primary school and still believed in Santa (i was only 9 at the time)

Jaysis I was 21  :-[
Post by: shambo on December 07, 2009, 07:37:59 PM
6 months married!!

Drinking like i was single.

Buying my first Christmas tree (from Fultons) cost a fortune.

I still had money i my pocket

Just passed my test

Falling out of Thompsons Garage (still manage that the odd time)

Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2009, 07:50:17 PM
I was three months into a subbing job in West Belfast at the school I'd eventually get a full time job at.
I was living in West Belfast.
I was playing a bit of music at Francie McPeake's.
I had just returned from Birmingham and was missing it.
I was about to break up with my GF of five years but would eventually marry
Tyrone were miles from an All-Ireland
I was coming to terms with the follicle bother
I was 2 stone lighter.
I was sleeping at night.
I was having panic attacks.
I won rear of the year at the Feile.

One of those ain't true.
Post by: Puckoon on December 07, 2009, 07:57:43 PM
Yes, she was about to break up with you over her shame at your first place in the rear of the year competition.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 07, 2009, 08:20:44 PM
Ive no idea.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 07, 2009, 08:22:47 PM
I was in a job I hated
I drove a  VW Scirocco (faster than Laoislads)
I was having panic attacks (worse than O'Neills - well unless he was admitted to A&E over his)
Westmeath football was on the up
I was the same weight
I could drink 10 pints easy (I still can but it takes me a month)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 07, 2009, 08:30:10 PM
Doing an IT conversion course.
Living on Agincourt St.
Drinking the bit out - primarily in The Parlour and Magennis'.
The future Mrs. Baloney was in England doing her PGCE.
At least a stone and a half lighter.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 08:34:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 07, 2009, 08:30:10 PM
Doing an IT conversion course.
Living on Agincourt St.
Drinking the bit out - primarily in The Parlour and Magennis'.
The future Mrs. Baloney was in England doing her PGCE at least a stone and a half lighter.

Fixed that for you
Post by: stew on December 07, 2009, 08:42:54 PM
Working in a new job in a new industry and feeling overwhelmed.

Going to school full time and feeling overwhelmed.

Moving in to the new homestead and feeling overwhelmed.

Living with three wemen in the house and feeling overwhelmed.

Lastly, loving life and enjoying the precious bit of relaxation I got every time school was out.

Oh yeah, ten years ago today I took the last seizure I ever took, that was overwhelming too. :'(
Post by: mc_grens on December 07, 2009, 08:44:07 PM
... drunk more than likely.

This being my birthday and all.
Post by: stew on December 07, 2009, 08:46:56 PM
Well happy birthday mc grens........................good man yourself.
Post by: Mario on December 07, 2009, 08:53:49 PM
Just got my first computer, a millenium bug proof packard bell. Spent a lot of time on freeserve chat room asking people asl?

Was in 3rd year at school.

Feels about 10 years ago too.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 07, 2009, 09:04:35 PM
Just back from 4 months in San Fran and 3 months in Germany
Westmeath had just won another underage AI
I'd got the job I was holding out for
Property prices were on the way up
It was madness to buy
Post by: omagh_gael on December 07, 2009, 09:18:09 PM
Ah the old ASL, I was in the same boat Mario, a desparate 15 year old trying to getting chatting to the chanciest blades I could.

As well as the chat rooms used to be obsessed with msn messenger, so silly looking back, get in from school and mad to get on the pc to chat to my mates who I had just seen an hour ago.

Bad day though when my dad caught me looking at chancey websites on his work laptop  :(
Post by: redhugh on December 07, 2009, 09:19:00 PM
...living in Dublin running a pub that I hated
...still adamant that I would never own a mobile phone
...realising that I should give up the notion of going back to football as I was now too unfit and would be no great loss anyway
...coming to terms with the fact that I had to start watching what I ate
...learning that in life you can't be everyone's friend
...partying like a madman
... starting to realise that your actions always have consequenses.
...only 26..

Post by: FL/MAYO on December 07, 2009, 09:19:26 PM
Had just bought my first house.
back in school studying to be a paramedic.
Would meet my future wife in 9 months time.
about 25lbs lighter.
Could still drink 10 pints of Guinness no problem.
Hangovers went away the next day.
Still hanging in there playing GAA with two dodgy ankles.
using Webtv for internet access.
watching a stock market bubble, everyone was an expert..sounds familar
Not as happy as I am now, fatherhood is mighty ;D
Post by: the colonel on December 07, 2009, 09:21:12 PM
5th year at school
getting ready for first drink I had, was airlocked on millenium eve.
thinking about what I wanted to do as a career, got the job i wanted in a roundabout way.
playing hurling and football, hurling for a pile of teams
multiple stones lighter
Post by: Orior on December 07, 2009, 09:49:53 PM
- the world was my oyster, and I hate any fish food
- there were still some jokes that I had not heard before
- my life was simpler
- I was still on the up
- I had real real friends with faces, not internet eejits with avatars
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 09:51:16 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 07, 2009, 09:49:53 PM
- my life was simpler
- I was still on the up

Join Facebook and you'll see what a lot of us look like...
I'm defiantly the best looking,ludermor is a fine looking horse too
Post by: give her dixie on December 07, 2009, 10:00:29 PM
I had just landed in Sydney as part of a Round The World trip.
I was a month into a 6 month trip, and boy did I enjoy it!
Brought in the new century at a massive party on Bondi Beach,
and havn't stopped partying since!!!
What a difference 10 years make eh?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2009, 10:01:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 09:51:16 PM
- my life was simpler
- I was still on the up

Here baldy, dream on!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 10:01:36 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2009, 10:01:10 PM
- my life was simpler
- I was still on the up

Here baldy, dream on!!

Shaven  ;)
Post by: stephenite on December 07, 2009, 10:09:42 PM
Had just finished writing a programme that protected the world from millenium bug-was looking forward to the fame, fortune and riches that were about to flow my way.

:'(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 10:10:30 PM
Quote from: stephenite on December 07, 2009, 10:09:42 PM
Had just finished writing a programme that protected the world from millenium bug-was looking forward to the fame, fortune and riches that were about to flow my way.

:'(

Had you hooked up with Baby Spice yet?
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 07, 2009, 10:12:07 PM
- my life was simpler
- I was still on the up

Here baldy, dream on!!
My picture is better looking than both of you!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2009, 10:27:58 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 07, 2009, 10:12:07 PM
- my life was simpler
- I was still on the up

Here baldy, dream on!!
My picture is better looking than both of you!

Certainly the best likeness anyway!!!
Post by: leenie on December 08, 2009, 02:37:54 AM
recovering from celebrating my 18th birthday... 10 yrs on still no sense

in 7th yr "studying" for my a levels

looking forward to going to the glenavon for christmas

short hair and 2 sizes bigger...

the gaaboard was a distant dream.....
Post by: muppet on December 08, 2009, 05:37:38 AM
Actually...I quit smoking in 1999.
Post by: gerry on December 08, 2009, 07:52:01 AM
married   ::) ::)
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on December 08, 2009, 07:53:18 AM
I was in 3rd year at school,
Kicking football for the Corn Na Og,
Was not as fat,
Relationships lasted 3 days before going with their best friends,
Didnt have a drink problem,
And didnt have a hairy ass
Post by: Billys Boots on December 08, 2009, 08:55:40 AM
Doing more or less exactly what I'm doing today - sounds like time for a mid-life crisis.  ::)
Post by: Declan on December 08, 2009, 09:21:42 AM
10 years younger and a stone lighter
Still playing
Other than than "plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose"
Post by: mountainboii on December 08, 2009, 09:30:04 AM
Was at the peak of my football career, at 14  :'(
Post by: haveaharp on December 08, 2009, 09:34:15 AM
In prison
Post by: Lazer on December 08, 2009, 09:39:45 AM
-Still at school - "studying" for my A-Levels

-Waiting for my 17th Birthday so i could use the driving licence i had just received

-Working Saturdays in a poundshop

and i still hadn't made the fantastic discovery that is alcohol

Post by: AbbeySider on December 08, 2009, 09:50:18 AM
I was 16
and lacking in confidence
and not having the best time of it in school

Didnt like my life back then and dont like to look back.
Post by: ballinaman on December 08, 2009, 10:14:23 AM
-13 yrs old
-Already knew what following Mayo football was going to be like, 3 AI defeats witnessed,96,97,99(Club),sickened.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on December 08, 2009, 10:22:02 AM
Quote from: AFS on December 08, 2009, 09:30:04 AM
Was at the peak of my football career, at 14  :'(

i was 13 and at the height of my powers!  >:(
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on December 08, 2009, 10:22:21 AM
10 stone ago I was running round the college fields in Armagh, MacRory cup winter training had just commenced and the footballs were duely dispatched to the store and our school dinners regularly were seen twice in one day. All worth it though.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on December 08, 2009, 10:45:47 AM
Had just started my Junior Cert year in school
Played soccer with my local club
Could grow more hair on my head but used to get it shaved off, now I'm just losing it...

Now I'm 24 years old...those 10 years passed quickly.  I hope the next ten are just as good.
Post by: Tubberman on December 08, 2009, 10:47:50 AM
Was in 2nd year in college in Limerick - used to hate the fact that our exams were a week or so after we came from Christmas!
Was probably about a stone and a half heavier than I am now, apart from that I'm pretty much the same as I was then.
Post by: thejuice on December 08, 2009, 10:49:01 AM
(http://www.sportingvisions.com/imgdir/125510933/one-print-only.jpg)

i was still celebrating   ;D
Post by: haveaharp on December 08, 2009, 10:54:48 AM
Quote from: thejuice on December 08, 2009, 10:49:01 AM
(http://www.sportingvisions.com/imgdir/125510933/one-print-only.jpg)

i was still celebrating   ;D

Should that not be in black and white ?
Post by: Treasurer on December 08, 2009, 11:04:21 AM
Partying like it was 1999...

In the one and only job I've had that I can truly say I fully enjoyed - flat out preparing for Y2k and imminent disaster.

Driving a Ford Fiesta that I never liked.

Keeping ticketmaster in business by going to more concerts than I had dinners

Post by: boojangles on December 08, 2009, 11:27:38 AM
Junior Cert St Pats Cavan
Only thing on my mind was women and acting the lad
Still hadn't bought my 1st Mobile fone
My arm was in a cast after falling off my bike on the way to training
Had tasted alcohol once,wasn't that pushed-if only that feeling lasted ::)
Cavan were shite
Post by: deiseach on December 08, 2009, 11:48:07 AM
Chomping at the bit to get out of college and earn a crust.
Two years and three months away from meeting Mrs d
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 08, 2009, 11:48:48 AM
was in my 2nd year of playing football
had never tasted alcohol
thought the armagh players were celebrities
my quest to lose my virginity was just beginning (will keep u's posted)
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on December 08, 2009, 11:50:35 AM
Quote from: muppet on December 07, 2009, 07:06:20 PM
Mary Harney & Michael O'Leary were telling us about the 'good government' we had.....

Chelsea actually finished 3rd in the EPL in 98-99 and won the FA Cup in 2000
Post by: sammymaguire on December 08, 2009, 12:10:55 PM
graduated, living in England, realising the women in England are loose, scraping a living, driving a green Corolla... 22 yrs old ah those were the days
Post by: AZOffaly on December 08, 2009, 12:14:02 PM
I was in Phoenix Arizona, and golfing.
I was playing football with Clan na Gael in San Diego.
I was a Cardinals Season Ticket holder
My girlfriend (now my wife)  and I had a 3 bed apartment in Phoenix, with swimming pools and a Gym on site.
I was 26 :(

However, now I'm married, I have a house in Newport (although the swimming pool is a more natural phenomonen), a job at home, am coaching youngsters and have a 3 year old boy of my own.

It's been a great decade for me Thank God, so hopefully more to come.

Post by: Dinny Breen on December 08, 2009, 12:45:57 PM
- I was living in Kimmage with the future wife
- I had stopped playing football
- Was still playing rugby
- Was listening to The White Stripes, Moby and The Red Hot Chillii Peppers
- Was working for Eircell
- Started working as a DBA for the first time
- Ireland were knocked out of the rugby world cup in Lens which was the result that kicked started the revivial in Ireland, Australia won their 2nd World Cup
- I was 26 also
- Got paid £2K and a £400 DVD player for sitting on my hole waiting for something to go wrong, also known as Y2k
- It was the start of a great 10 years in my life cummulating in marriage and a beautiful daughter...
Post by: westmayo on December 08, 2009, 01:42:12 PM
-Was in first year in college in Limerick
-Sleeping a hell of a lot
-Drinking even more
-Living off take away's and pasta and sauce, (hadn't learned to cook at this stage)
-Going home every weekend to work to pay for the drinking
-About to meet another in the long line of possible future Mrs West Mayo's (who weren't)
-Not playing football anymore
-Being pissed off after finding out exams in UL were after xams, so i'd be heading back on New Years Day to get some study done
-Finding out the college library was a great place to check out the talent

Post by: Rawhide on December 08, 2009, 02:07:51 PM
was in college
was a woman in a mans body
couldn't belive my luck that i could see a joey any time I wanted
I was very happy to go out with the lads for a night out
was unhappy most of the time until I had a sex change
Post by: The Iceman on December 08, 2009, 02:15:22 PM
Was 21 living in Carmel St in Belfast on placement year with Bass Ireland and living with a lad on placement with Guinness. Needless to say was drinking too much, partying hard in Orpheus on Tuesday nights and sleeping 12 hours on Wednesday after work.
Wasn't taking the training seriously at all but managed to stay in decent enough shape.

Had a company car, more money than anyone else in my year on placement and frequented the Arena most Saturday nights.....
Post by: Asal Mor on December 08, 2009, 02:26:32 PM
I was labouring back home in beautiful Galway. Now Im teaching English in China - earning less and working harder. It's so much more rewarding though :'(.
Post by: muppet on December 08, 2009, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on December 08, 2009, 11:50:35 AM
Quote from: muppet on December 07, 2009, 07:06:20 PM

Chelsea actually finished 3rd in the EPL in 98-99 and won the FA Cup in 2000

Portsmouth won an FA Cup recently and are not relevant.
Post by: cookstownblue on December 08, 2009, 05:59:01 PM
I was 15, didnt drink, didnt smoke, was a virgin, now im a semi alcoholic, smoke 20 benson and hedges a day........and still a virgin! ;)
Post by: Celt_Man on December 08, 2009, 06:37:31 PM
Quote from: westmayo on December 08, 2009, 01:42:12 PM
-Was in first year in college in Limerick
-Sleeping a hell of a lot
-Drinking even more
-Living off take away's and pasta and sauce, (hadn't learned to cook at this stage)
-Going home every weekend to work to pay for the drinking
-About to meet another in the long line of possible future Mrs West Mayo's (who weren't)
-Not playing football anymore
-Being pissed off after finding out exams in UL were after xams, so i'd be heading back on New Years Day to get some study done
-Finding out the college library was a great place to check out the talent

What are ya on about??? Sure Pasta and Sauce is definitely cooking!!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 08, 2009, 06:55:07 PM
- I still played football for the club
- I was still riding occasionally as an amateur jump jockey (was about 3 stone lighter than I am now so!)
- I drove a green '96 Corolla
- I was going out with a girl from Wexford
- I was able to go out on a proper session without feeling like sh1t for a few days afterwards
- I was doing a bit of part-time work in the local
- I was about halway through my undergrad degree course in college
- I had a lot less grey hair
- I had fcuk all money in my bank account

Good times
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 08, 2009, 09:11:30 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 07, 2009, 06:14:03 PM
I was writing scholastic philosophy essays at queens and wondering what I was doing a course like that for.
I was bar-tending at the weekends
I was drinking too much
I was regularly getting stiches due to drink related accidents
I was in between michelles.
I had retired from the football.
I was playing lots of music.
I was buying too many clothes and shoes.
I was 19.

In between Michelles what????
Post by: Puckoon on December 08, 2009, 09:16:18 PM
#1 & #2. (And not in potty parlance either horse). :o
Post by: armagh leg-end on December 08, 2009, 09:38:21 PM
was only 10
in p7 at primary school
was looking forward to santa coming
my current car was only 2 years old with about 240,000 less mile!lol
Post by: 3000 miles away on December 08, 2009, 10:08:35 PM
in 4th year at school,
mad for drink, women and caesars or oasis of a fri nite
drinking in the cattlemart of a sat nite,looking forward to my first over 18's disco with my new leather jacket to make me look older
took a year off football(crippled with growiing pains)
just being a general nuisance.

Post by: sheelinside on December 09, 2009, 10:30:12 AM
in college,
sleeping by day, only appearing at night
on a 6 month high after winning intermediate champ
drinking quite a bit (a lot more than now)
living with 3 mayo buckaroos in dublin (and one token roscommon man)
barred from the portobello in dublin for a year

Post by: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2009, 12:12:23 PM
i was 27 years old,
i was about to get engaged
i had just put a deposit on out 1st home
i was training like fcuk for the Ai club semi final against na fianna (which we lost) :(
i was happy with life and thankfully 10 years on i still am
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2009, 12:13:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 08, 2009, 12:14:02 PM
My girlfriend (now my wife)  and I had a 3 bed apartment in Phoenix, with swimming pools and a Gym on site.

However, now I'm married, I have a house in Newport (although the swimming pool is a more natural phenomonen), a job at home, am coaching youngsters and have a 3 year old boy of my own.

newport in mayo Az ?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 09, 2009, 12:45:22 PM
Was living in Newry, just about to turn 30.
Had just bought a site, some people at the time thought we were mad paying £26k for a site!
Now about to turn 40 I'm a couple of stone lighter with 2 kids & thorougly enjoying my resurrected football career!
Post by: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 12:58:30 PM
I'm genueinely struggling to know what I was doing but then it dawned on me....This week ten years ago

- Final year of college in Dublin, living in Ranelagh
- Just finished christmas exams which conincided with birthday and a very messy rip in dublin which saw me and flatmate thrown out of The Palace nightclub on Camden st.
- Next day got accepted into one of Big Four accountancy firms in dublin (was actually big 5 at the the time).
- Was seeing a bird from Kilkenny, who wasn't impressed when I disappeared from the Palace that night
- Was doing very little on the GAA front apart from attending the odd match
- Had 2/3 parttime jobs on the go to fund the student lifestyle
- Generally, good, carefree times.

Now, Married, 2 kids, heavily involved in GAA club, mortgage, car, can't drink without dying, overweight etc etc etc etc
Post by: thebandit on December 09, 2009, 03:10:15 PM
Quote from: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 12:58:30 PM
I'm genueinely struggling to know what I was doing but then it dawned on me....This week ten years ago

- Just finished christmas exams which conincided with birthday and a very messy rip in dublin which saw me and flatmate thrown out of The Palace nightclub on Camden st.
- Next day got accepted into one of Big Four accountancy firms in dublin (was actually big 5 at the the time).
- Was seeing a bird from Kilkenny, who wasn't impressed when I disappeared from the Palace that night

Now, Married, 2 kids, heavily involved in GAA club, mortgage, 3 cars, can't drink without dying, overweight etc etc etc etc
Post by: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 03:17:31 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 09, 2009, 03:10:15 PM
Quote from: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 12:58:30 PM

Now, Married, 2 kids, heavily involved in GAA club, mortgage, 3 cars, can't drink without dying, overweight etc etc etc etc

Haha, thats where you are wrong. The "spare" car has been passed on and deal will be closed this week! You will still see the car round the town though! A good fellow Faughs man is the new owner.
Post by: Tyronelass on December 09, 2009, 08:06:19 PM
Following on from what I've heard my parents say for years, the years go quicker the older you get!

10 years ago:
I was 17
6th year at school
Greenvale was the 'in' place & no doubt planning the christmas & new year outing itinerary
Taking driving lessons in preparation for driving test in the new year
About to meet the now husband
Same weight as now 
Not a worry in the world

10years later:
work/mortgage/ trying to get a house liveable for christmas!  :'(

Hope for the next 10years:
The good life  ;D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 09, 2009, 09:02:31 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2009, 12:13:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 08, 2009, 12:14:02 PM

newport in mayo Az ?

I'm guessing Tipperary closer to Offaly
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 09, 2009, 09:25:35 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2009, 12:12:23 PM
i was 27 years old,
i was training like fcuk for the Ai club semi final against na fianna (which we lost) :(

Your 37  :o

I would have said 17  :-*
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2009, 09:46:40 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 09, 2009, 09:25:35 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 09, 2009, 12:12:23 PM
i was 27 years old,

Your 37  :o

I would have said 17  :-*

ah your too kind LL  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 09, 2009, 09:49:34 PM
I was telling anybody who would listen that Fianna Fail would destroy Ireland.
I was telling anbody that would listen that Bertie Ahern would be the ruination of Ireland and was fooling them all.
I didn't support any political party, all I did know was that I hated FF & SF.
I hated Meath Football (I don't anymore, I'm actually a bit of a fan now).
I really really believed that Mayo where on the brink of not alone winning Sam but winning multiple Senior Football All-Irelands.
I said I would never live in Dublin (I eventually did).

Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 10, 2009, 09:59:58 AM
Moving into my first home.
Had a great paying job I liked.
Was in alot better shape.
Considering marriage (thankfully not).
Still older than most posters are now.
Wondering if Prince was going to do a remake of 1999.
Didn't kow about Al Queda, Swine Flu or HDTV.
Thought I was through with school.
Still didn't have internet access.
Post by: The Iceman on December 10, 2009, 08:27:13 PM
Quote from: Tyronelass on December 09, 2009, 08:06:19 PM
Following on from what I've heard my parents say for years, the years go quicker the older you get!

10 years ago:
I was 17
6th year at school
Greenvale was the 'in' place & no doubt planning the christmas & new year outing itinerary
Taking driving lessons in preparation for driving test in the new year
About to meet the now husband
Same weight as now 
Not a worry in the world

10years later:
work/mortgage/ trying to get a house liveable for christmas!  :'(

Hope for the next 10years:
The good life  ;D

you were still going to the greenvale at 17??? Surely you were too old for the place!!!

10 years ago I was collecting the Ex's wee sister from the place and she was 15 - she was going to Clubland then at 16/17