This time 10 years ago I was.................

Started by The Real Laoislad, December 07, 2009, 06:08:58 PM

Galwaybhoy

Had just started my Junior Cert year in school
Played soccer with my local club
Could grow more hair on my head but used to get it shaved off, now I'm just losing it...

Now I'm 24 years old...those 10 years passed quickly.  I hope the next ten are just as good.

Was in 2nd year in college in Limerick - used to hate the fact that our exams were a week or so after we came from Christmas!
Was probably about a stone and a half heavier than I am now, apart from that I'm pretty much the same as I was then.

haveaharp

Treasurer

Partying like it was 1999...

In the one and only job I've had that I can truly say I fully enjoyed - flat out preparing for Y2k and imminent disaster.

Driving a Ford Fiesta that I never liked.

Keeping ticketmaster in business by going to more concerts than I had dinners

boojangles

Junior Cert St Pats Cavan
Only thing on my mind was women and acting the lad
Still hadn't bought my 1st Mobile fone
My arm was in a cast after falling off my bike on the way to training
Had tasted alcohol once,wasn't that pushed-if only that feeling lasted ::)
Cavan were shite

Chomping at the bit to get out of college and earn a crust.
Two years and three months away from meeting Mrs d

was in my 2nd year of playing football
had never tasted alcohol
thought the armagh players were celebrities
my quest to lose my virginity was just beginning (will keep u's posted)

A Quinn Martin Production

Quote from: muppet on December 07, 2009, 07:06:20 PM
a decade younger..............
it was a decade less since Mayo's last All-Ireland.....
the notion of a rugby Grand Slam for Ireland or Wales was laughable....
Chelsea and Man City were irrelevant....
Mary Harney & Michael O'Leary were telling us about the 'good government' we had.....

Chelsea actually finished 3rd in the EPL in 98-99 and won the FA Cup in 2000
Antrim - One Of A Dying Breed of Genuine Dual Counties

graduated, living in England, realising the women in England are loose, scraping a living, driving a green Corolla... 22 yrs old ah those were the days

I was in Phoenix Arizona, and golfing.
I was playing football with Clan na Gael in San Diego.
I was a Cardinals Season Ticket holder
My girlfriend (now my wife)  and I had a 3 bed apartment in Phoenix, with swimming pools and a Gym on site.
I was 26 :(

However, now I'm married, I have a house in Newport (although the swimming pool is a more natural phenomonen), a job at home, am coaching youngsters and have a 3 year old boy of my own.

It's been a great decade for me Thank God, so hopefully more to come.

- I was living in Kimmage with the future wife
- I had stopped playing football
- Was still playing rugby
- Was listening to The White Stripes, Moby and The Red Hot Chillii Peppers
- Was working for Eircell
- Started working as a DBA for the first time
- Ireland were knocked out of the rugby world cup in Lens which was the result that kicked started the revivial in Ireland, Australia won their 2nd World Cup
- I was 26 also
- Got paid £2K and a £400 DVD player for sitting on my hole waiting for something to go wrong, also known as Y2k
- It was the start of a great 10 years in my life cummulating in marriage and a beautiful daughter...

westmayo

-Was in first year in college in Limerick
-Sleeping a hell of a lot
-Drinking even more
-Living off take away's and pasta and sauce, (hadn't learned to cook at this stage)
-Going home every weekend to work to pay for the drinking
-About to meet another in the long line of possible future Mrs West Mayo's (who weren't)
-Not playing football anymore
-Being pissed off after finding out exams in UL were after xams, so i'd be heading back on New Years Day to get some study done
-Finding out the college library was a great place to check out the talent

Rawhide

was in college
was a woman in a mans body
couldn't belive my luck that i could see a joey any time I wanted
I was very happy to go out with the lads for a night out
was unhappy most of the time until I had a sex change
cccc is a true supporter lol

Was 21 living in Carmel St in Belfast on placement year with Bass Ireland and living with a lad on placement with Guinness. Needless to say was drinking too much, partying hard in Orpheus on Tuesday nights and sleeping 12 hours on Wednesday after work.
Wasn't taking the training seriously at all but managed to stay in decent enough shape.

Had a company car, more money than anyone else in my year on placement and frequented the Arena most Saturday nights.....