Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:01:59 PM

Title: Traditional Irish Food
Post by: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:01:59 PM
Is there such thing?

The French, Italians and even the English might look down on us but there are times when I love nothing better than the meals my mother used to cook.
Liver, bacon and onions. Or Champ. Or stew. Or fried turnip/cabbage and bacon. Vegetable soup. A fry on Sunday afer Mass.

Sometimes the traditional Irish meals we grew up with just hit the spot.
Title: Re: Traditional Irish Food
Post by: Rossfan on October 20, 2009, 09:10:45 PM
Spuds an' mate is yer only man  :)
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 20, 2009, 09:52:35 PM
Surely you watched Ultimate Ulster's top ten Ulster foods.

Made the mouth water, but then I'm a bigot.
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 09:54:26 PM
I love a good plate of champ and bacon.
Post by: Gnevin on October 20, 2009, 09:55:15 PM
Coddle and Batch , your only man.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:56:49 PM
What's that?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 20, 2009, 09:59:05 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 20, 2009, 09:52:35 PM
Surely you watched Ultimate Ulster's top ten Ulster foods.

Made the mouth water, but then I'm a bigot.

SS2 do you want me to start a thread for you?  ;)
Post by: under the bar on October 20, 2009, 10:00:26 PM
Potato pudding - a halloween favorite.   You don't see it much outside of parts of West Tyrone and Galway
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 10:06:21 PM
Jesus not another of these threads. Usually started by some hungry hoor.

What was the top ten on Ultimate Ulster then? No doubt it was the 6 county fry?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2009, 10:06:27 PM
Quote from: under the bar on October 20, 2009, 10:00:26 PM
Potato pudding - a halloween favorite.   You don't see it much outside of parts of West Tyrone and Galway

you see it in Ardboe - our mam used to make it every Halloween - fecking rank
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 20, 2009, 10:09:31 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 10:06:21 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.
Post by: Caid on October 20, 2009, 10:11:20 PM
Boxty
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:19:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 20, 2009, 10:06:27 PM

The only woman I knew who made that was also from Ardboe.
Post by: rosnarun on October 20, 2009, 10:20:32 PM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 10:21:57 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 20, 2009, 10:09:31 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.
Chinese curry? I wouldn't feed that to a dog.
Post by: Caid on October 20, 2009, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:19:22 PM

Preddy pudding is prevalent around Fermanagh/South Tyrone between Halloween and Christmas time as well.  Was never that big a fan
Post by: redhugh on October 20, 2009, 10:24:15 PM
Calf's liver with bacon and onions,champ and buttered cabbage.
Post by: Minder on October 20, 2009, 10:28:04 PM
I love it the way everyone says "champ, bacon, Denny sausages and a big glass of milk mmmm" in these threads yet they probably reach for the supernoodles and a bottle of BPM when the hunger is on..........
Post by: redhugh on October 20, 2009, 10:31:09 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 20, 2009, 10:28:04 PM
I love it the way everyone says "champ, bacon, Denny sausages and a big glass of milk mmmm" in these threads yet they probably reach for the supernoodles and a bottle of BPM when the hunger is on..........

Speak for yourself :P
Post by: Gnevin on October 20, 2009, 10:33:37 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:56:49 PM
What's that?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coddle

Post by: mournerambler on October 20, 2009, 10:34:34 PM
Hard to beat a couple of herring beat up in a cup :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 10:36:40 PM
Quote from: redhugh on October 20, 2009, 10:31:09 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 20, 2009, 10:28:04 PM

Speak for yourself :P
You'd be lucky to get a packet of supernoodles off Minder. What is BPM by the way?
Post by: 5 Sams on October 20, 2009, 10:39:39 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 20, 2009, 10:33:37 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 20, 2009, 09:56:49 PM
What's that?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coddle

An Irish Breakfast is your only man...forget this Ulster Fry shit where they have beans and insipid sausages...them denny yokes... :'(

Hairy bacon, Clonakilty puddin, free range Lispole eggs, good quality beef ispini, the only  concession to the Ulster Fry would be slims...and plenty of them....ar doigh 8)
Post by: supersarsfields on October 20, 2009, 10:43:14 PM
Quote from: Caid on October 20, 2009, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 20, 2009, 10:19:22 PM

Preddy pudding is prevalent around Fermanagh/South Tyrone between Halloween and Christmas time as well.  Was never that big a fan

Awww lads i've been looking forward to this since last Halloween. Great stuff altogether. Just wouldn't be the healthest feed when you've added on your kilo of melted butter!!
Post by: Gnevin on October 20, 2009, 10:54:20 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colcannon

yum!
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 11:00:16 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

Since when was Chinese curry and Italian food.. traditiona irish food?
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on October 20, 2009, 11:13:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 11:00:16 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

bearing in mind this is coming from people who think ulster is a country
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2009, 11:20:33 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

Thread title is misleading. The show was Ulster's Favourite Dish. Chinese Curry was actually 3rd.
Post by: Bod Mor on October 20, 2009, 11:21:04 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 20, 2009, 10:20:32 PM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

Also: Bacon, turnips and spuds
Bacon and cabbage...and spuds
Mackerel cooked on the tongs with a feed of spuds and a raw onion
Gorra bui (beastings from a cow boiled up)
Cally with spring onions cut up (Ya know the summer is on the way when ya have this!)

And of course beef and Guinness pie :) This Aussie wan was asking me the other day did we eat beef and Guinness pie all the time in Ireland so I told her the truth....the recipe died out with the last Leprachaun!
Post by: boojangles on October 20, 2009, 11:31:25 PM
Boxty bread will kill ya dead,Oaten meal will do ya no harm!
Boxty is still very common in Cavan.Long may it last-savage stuff ;D

Colcannon is also a particular favourite of mine.Beautiful.
When my mother made Colcannon in the little skillet pot-Oh ya did,so ya did,so did she and so did I and the more I think about it sure it makes me want to cry!

Ya can't beat Cabbage and Turnips either.

I never heard of Beef and Guinness pie until I was in an O Neills Irish pub in Liverpool.Not very traditional is it?
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2009, 11:38:59 PM
Quote from: windyshepardhenderson on October 20, 2009, 11:13:23 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

bearing in mind this is coming from people who think ulster is a country

Who?
Post by: moysider on October 20, 2009, 11:39:56 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on October 20, 2009, 11:21:04 PM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

Cally with spring onions cut up (Ya know the summer is on the way when ya have this!)

And of course beef and Guinness pie :) This Aussie wan was asking me the other day did we eat beef and Guinness pie all the time in Ireland so I told her the truth....the recipe died out with the last Leprachaun!

My God. Giorra Buí. Seriously. I heard of people eating beastings/colostrum fried or boiled but assumed it was poverty food and not from choice. Have you eaten the stuff? At least it would prevent you from getting white scour for a while. The rest of the stuff is great fare.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 20, 2009, 11:44:19 PM
Bacon and cabbage with the cabbage boiled in the pot with the bacon. Serve with loads of floury spuds. Use butter and/or the cabbage water for extra moisture. I always eat at least two plates of it. Can't get enough.
Post by: Bod Mor on October 20, 2009, 11:44:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 20, 2009, 11:39:56 PM

My God. Giorra Buí. Seriously. I heard of people eating beastings/colostrum fried or boiled but assumed it was poverty food and not from choice. Have you eaten the stuff? At least it would prevent you from getting white scour for a while. The rest of the stuff is great fare.

Have I eaten the stuff??? I was reared on the stuff, talk about putting hairs on your chest! There's nothing better after a day horsin hay-bales around than a feed of Gorra bui. If only I had a pot of it now!! The yella scour is one of the side affects but sure what can ya do :)
Post by: rosnarun on October 20, 2009, 11:52:24 PM
of course its poverty food. but then again its a while since we dwelt in taras halls .
who wouldnt prefer a cut of prime steak every  day and a suckling pig but necessity is the mother of invention and most delicacies are byproduct of an necessary imagination ya dont think Ceuubeeens wer anyones first choice after the pig was killed?
My aunt told me when they were young they used to eat lambs tails as a treat thrown in the fire( my mother was far too posh for that)
Post by: moysider on October 20, 2009, 11:52:45 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 20, 2009, 11:44:19 PM
Bacon and cabbage with the cabbage boiled in the pot with the bacon. Serve with loads of floury spuds. Use butter and/or the cabbage water for extra moisture. I always eat at least two plates of it. Can't get enough.

Is there another way to prepare it?
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 20, 2009, 11:52:57 PM
lol you's culchies are all the same

"ooh cabbage oooh turnips "

turnips and cabbage is bogging
Post by: rosnarun on October 20, 2009, 11:55:22 PM
some funny people them onsist on fying the cabbage . i think thast is what you call over egging the Pudding.

never heard it called Giorra Buí but the old lad used to boil it with nettles.
Post by: mournerambler on October 20, 2009, 11:58:22 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 20, 2009, 11:52:57 PM

I suppose your a fan of venison with chilli & chocolate sauce or some yuppie stuff like it fitz ;D
Post by: moysider on October 21, 2009, 12:00:34 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on October 20, 2009, 11:44:27 PM

Have I eaten the stuff??? I was reared on the stuff, talk about putting hairs on your chest! There's nothing better after a day horsin hay-bales around than a feed of Gorra bui. If only I had a pot of it now!! The yella scour is one of the side affects but sure what can ya do :)

Dunno Bod. There little enough beastings around when the hay is being saved. Thats late for cows calving. I ve been familiar with it all my life and never saw a human eat the stuff. Cats that drink it die cause they cant digest it and dogs dont care for it either. Heard old people talk of making an omelette with it but they were in hard times and they fucked it away after.
Post by: redhugh on October 21, 2009, 12:01:11 AM

Naw the're not - maybe your ma's a s**te cook.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2009, 12:02:00 AM
Youse eat some shite in Mayo.
Post by: ludermor on October 21, 2009, 12:33:39 AM
Another one for Bod Mor id say,
Carregeen Moss, boiled so it turns to jelly and and taken to ward off the ravages of the winter.
Post by: Bod Mor on October 21, 2009, 12:39:34 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 21, 2009, 12:00:34 AM
Dunno Bod. There little enough beastings around when the hay is being saved. Thats late for cows calving.

Ah the hay is saved fairly late down our way, try and coincide with the cows calving and bringing home the turf. The rest of the year is left for talking about football :)
Quote from: ludermor on October 21, 2009, 12:33:39 AM
Carregeen Moss, boiled so it turns to jelly and and taken to ward off the ravages of the winter.

How did I leave out the carrageen moss!! Love the stuff, It's handy for the winter surely. Many a time I was nearly killed collecting the stuff!
Post by: moysider on October 21, 2009, 12:41:41 AM

There s stuff I have eaten. Boiled in milk and it turns gelatinous. It s a sea-weed.  Not hectic taste but I m sure its full of good stuff.
Post by: moysider on October 21, 2009, 12:46:28 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on October 21, 2009, 12:39:34 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 21, 2009, 12:00:34 AM
Dunno Bod. There little enough beastings around when the hay is being saved. Thats late for cows calving.

Ah the hay is saved fairly late down our way, try and coincide with the cows calving and bringing home the turf. The rest of the year is left for talking about football :)

How did I leave out the carrageen moss!! Love the stuff, It's handy for the winter surely. Many a time I was nearly killed collecting the stuff!

Jaysus your some chancer. Far from moss and beastings you were reared. Its not about hay being saved late but the cows calve earlier in the year. You must have had a poor granny lived near the sea in hard times whose only cow calved in July.
Post by: Bod Mor on October 21, 2009, 01:18:35 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 21, 2009, 12:46:28 AM

Jaysus your some chancer. Far from moss and beastings you were reared. Its not about hay being saved late but the cows calve earlier in the year. You must have had a poor granny lived near the sea in hard times whose only cow calved in July.

Yeah, up around your way the big farmers with yer hundreds of acres, big Landini tractors and big sheds it's a good idea to have cows calving early on in the year but on small farms (couple of acres and a handful of cows) it doesn't work that way.

Chancer?  ???

Some conlusions you're jumping to!
Post by: ross4life on October 21, 2009, 02:48:08 AM
Traditional Bacon and Cabbage with Mustard Sauce but in the usa it's cornbeef and cabbage ::) & stew is a traditional Irish dish made from lamb, beef or mutton
Post by: johnneycool on October 21, 2009, 09:23:58 AM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

I'm almost afraid to ask what beastings are, is it the afterbirth?

Fresh soda bread and wheaten bread still moist, not that shite served up by Ormeau, just off the griddle with melted butter and a dollup of jam. Used to get it most days after coming home from school.
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 21, 2009, 09:52:51 AM
Oh and fish and chips was in it too.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 21, 2009, 10:48:12 AM
Portadown's gift to the cullinary world spud apple bread. Basically its potato bread filled with bramley apples & loads of sugar, cooked on a griddle & served with butter & more sugar.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 21, 2009, 11:00:09 AM
Hard to beat bacon and cabbage fried on the pan.  the bacon has to be good and salty ;D  Nice floury spuds as a base, with the bacon and cabbage on top, finished off with 2 runny fried eyes.  Food of the gods ;D
Post by: redhugh on October 21, 2009, 11:04:03 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 21, 2009, 11:00:09 AM
Hard to beat bacon and cabbage fried on the pan.  the bacon has to be good and salty ;D  Nice floury spuds as a base, with the bacon and cabbage on top, finished off with 2 runny fried eyes.  Food of the gods ;D

Runny fried eggs with cabbage!! That is is some fcuked up sh*t.I would'nt fancy cleaning your cage.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 21, 2009, 11:07:27 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 20, 2009, 11:52:45 PM

This mention of frying the cabbage made me think I had to be clear about the way it should be done. Must be an Ulster thing this frying the cabbage. Don't understand why myself.
Post by: Hardy on October 21, 2009, 11:35:06 AM
She had childer in the barn, she had childer in the byre
And another ten or twelve sittin roarin by the fire.
She fed them on potatoes and on soup she made from nettles
And lumpsa hairy bacon that she boiled up in the kettle.
Post by: stpauls on October 21, 2009, 01:16:47 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 21, 2009, 11:07:27 AM

This mention of frying the cabbage made me think I had to be clear about the way it should be done. Must be an Ulster thing this frying the cabbage. Don't understand why myself.

fry the bacon and a pan, and then fry the boiled cabbage in the bacon fat afterwards. YUM YUM!!!
Post by: delboy on October 21, 2009, 01:20:37 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 21, 2009, 11:07:27 AM

If its not fried its not worth a f**k.

That statement holds true for about 90 % of food  ;D
Post by: Canalman on October 21, 2009, 02:04:49 PM
I've been told that banana sandwiches are not too common outside Ireland. Might qualify as a TIF.
Post by: ludermor on October 21, 2009, 02:09:07 PM
a lad i work with has a banana sandwich with cheese and raspberry jam.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 21, 2009, 02:45:30 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on October 20, 2009, 11:58:22 PM

I suppose your a fan of venison with chilli & chocolate sauce or some yuppie stuff like it fitz ;D
don't knock it  ;)
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on October 21, 2009, 10:48:12 AM
Portadown's gift to the cullinary world spud apple bread. Basically its potato bread filled with bramley apples & loads of sugar, cooked on a griddle & served with butter & more sugar.
The food of kings. Up there with wheaten bread.
Post by: Hardy on October 21, 2009, 03:20:36 PM
Wheaten bread is soon forgotten.
Post by: Puckoon on October 21, 2009, 05:27:00 PM
I posted this before, but it is always worth a second read.

Bacon and Cabbage

I know this is a cruel thing to do to those of you who are far away from Ireland's kitchens so, if you have a craving for bacon and spuds and cabbage upon you at this moment, then stop reading here and scroll elsewhere. PLEASE GO NOW.....I WILL BE BACK NEXT WEEK.........

Those of you who are still here, accordingly, should be informed that of all the foods and gastronomic delights of all the cultures of the world nothing, in its time and season, compares with the total experience of Irish Spuds and Irish Collar Bacon and Irish Cabbage all combined together for what we call a "good feed". Those who have departed from us, dear remaining readers, have departed because they are in farflung corners of this complex world and know that it would break their hearts to be reminded, in all the detail I am about to give, of the sheer sensual joy of the kind of plates of Bacon and Cabbage that their mothers and grandmothers used place before them as a matter of course.

You can travel the world over at the highest level of luxury. You can devour exotic dishes of all the other cultures. You can have fillet steak and Peking Duck and Italian Pastas and goulashes and curries and stir fries, banquets of Beef Wellington, fifteen course dinners of all the savouries and sweet concoctions of all the nations famed for their cuisine. You can have caviar and birds' nest soup and alligator steaks, Cajun suckling pig and shark's fins and yet, if you have any iota of Irish blood in you at all, nothing will ever quite reach into the deep marrow of your soul's content as a good feed of Bacon and Cabbage.
The mood came upon me yesterday. When that mood descends upon the top of your head, as it did with me quite suddenly, then it links immediately with the pit of the stomach and you instantly know what it feels like to be addicted to cocaine or substances of that nature. You must have your fix. Inside five minutes I was inside the splendid Corofin establishment of Tom Hogan Junior and Senior and it was Tom Junior who was behind the counter.

I need, says I, the Feed. Young Tom is wise beyond his years. I did not need to say anything further. One speedy sortie through Tom's emporium and he laid before me a small sack of Golden Wonder spuds, the very finest spuds in the world, together with a lovely wedge of Munster Collar Bacon lightly smoked, and as fine a head of cabbage as I've ever clapped an eye on. This head of cabbage was green on the outside and white on the inside and as solidly constructed as the poll of an elder of Ian Paisley's Free Presbyterian church. The cost was minimal. It was less than the cost of one tiny thigh of a smoked quail I'd paid for in Galway just one week earlier.

I went home. The Dutch Nation, whom I love, does not yet understand the workings of Bacon and Cabbage so I did the cooking my own self, growing ever more feverishly famished by the minute. The big saucepan was produced and the head of cabbage, thoroughly washed, was chopped and put down in clear cold water surrounding the smoked collar of Bacon. The lid was replaced and the heat set for a long slow boiling process that would cook the beautiful Bacon in a way that would spread its smokey slightly saltified juices though the concurrently cooking green and white cabbage beneath an aromaticating froth. This froth, burbling happily away under the lid of the saucepan, slowly but subtly began to spread its olfactorification and glorification right throughout the kitchen and beyond. Soon, standing at the sink washing the Golden Wonders, I became almost giddy with a combination of expectation and sheer animal hunger.

Golden Wonder spuds are the princesses of their species. They are pear-shaped beauties whose skin, paradoxically, feels coarse and gritty to the touch but is quite remarkably delicate at the same time. They are the perfect spuds to travel alongside Bacon and Cabbage because, when properly cooked, they have an outstanding flavour and a finely floury consistency. But they need to be perfectly cooked because, given one minute too long in the boiling water, they will burst open. The Dutch Nation watched me with amused amazement as I fussed over my two saucepans like an old hen, constantly licking my lips. It was a matter of perfect timing you see to ensure that the Golden Wonders were drained and steaming away towards their ultimate perfection just as the Bacon and Cabbage were at the same stage, the Bacon joint removed from the draining Cabbage for the last three or four minutes, its steam forming a perfect halo inside another halo as I sharpened my knife and readied my plates.

I enjoy a glass of wine with every other dinner. But not with Bacon and Cabbage. With Bacon and Cabbage there is no drink to touch a glass of ice cold milk. And you must also have real butter....for the spuds....and you must have fresh English mustard. (The really only good thing about the English is their mustard!)

Two large willow-pattern plates and all the other elements were assembled together and, finally, about two hours after my initial hunger, the Dutch Nation and I sat down at the table, the evening sun garnishing the cottage window, the fire crackling hungrily in the background. And the first mouthful of that Feed was akin to the doorstep of Paradise.

Ahhhhhh!

The Americans have Corned Beef and Cabbage. It is not the same thing. In Europe it is possible to put together some kind of bacon, some kind of potatoes and some kind of cabbage. But it is not the same. The Dutch Nation is now no longer even a token vegetarian. I am sated for a week or so. If you have never been to Ireland and if you like food then it is worth coming just for that reason alone. In its time and season Bacon and Cabbage....and Golden Wonders....puts Killarney into the shade altogether. And that's a fact.

Post by: Lecale2 on October 21, 2009, 06:11:23 PM
Great stuff Puckoon. I can almost smell it!
Post by: downredblack on October 21, 2009, 08:35:40 PM
Champ and fish on a Friday , Herring , Mackeral or Ray . If the boats were'nt out a bit of smoked or red as we used to call it as kids . I remember the granny was brilliant at bonning out herrings under the running tap . There wouldn't be a bone to be found once she was done with them beauties .
Post by: rosnarun on October 21, 2009, 11:01:58 PM
Quote from: ludermor on October 21, 2009, 02:09:07 PM
a lad i work with has a banana sandwich with cheese and raspberry jam.

were you a friend of Elvis
he used to have fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches
Post by: leenie on October 21, 2009, 11:04:32 PM
carrots and parsnips mashed together!
Post by: Caid on October 21, 2009, 11:06:39 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 21, 2009, 11:04:32 PM
carrots and parsnips mashed together!

Average enough fodder that is
Post by: gawa316 on October 21, 2009, 11:23:47 PM
Love a big plate of mince and spuds
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 21, 2009, 11:29:17 PM
who doesn't? in fact - I'll make some for dinner tonight with some peas and carrots
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 22, 2009, 12:03:22 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 21, 2009, 11:23:47 PM
Always a winner in this house too. The wife still insists on mixing hers up like a child.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2009, 12:09:17 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 22, 2009, 12:03:22 AM
Always a winner in this house too. The wife still insists on mixing hers up like a child.

As well she should
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 22, 2009, 12:19:30 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 21, 2009, 05:27:00 PM
I posted this before, but it is always worth a second read.

Bacon and Cabbage

I know this is a cruel thing to do to those of you who are far away from Ireland's kitchens so, if you have a craving for bacon and spuds and cabbage upon you at this moment, then stop reading here and scroll elsewhere. PLEASE GO NOW.....I WILL BE BACK NEXT WEEK.........

Those of you who are still here, accordingly, should be informed that of all the foods and gastronomic delights of all the cultures of the world nothing, in its time and season, compares with the total experience of Irish Spuds and Irish Collar Bacon and Irish Cabbage all combined together for what we call a "good feed". Those who have departed from us, dear remaining readers, have departed because they are in farflung corners of this complex world and know that it would break their hearts to be reminded, in all the detail I am about to give, of the sheer sensual joy of the kind of plates of Bacon and Cabbage that their mothers and grandmothers used place before them as a matter of course.

You can travel the world over at the highest level of luxury. You can devour exotic dishes of all the other cultures. You can have fillet steak and Peking Duck and Italian Pastas and goulashes and curries and stir fries, banquets of Beef Wellington, fifteen course dinners of all the savouries and sweet concoctions of all the nations famed for their cuisine. You can have caviar and birds' nest soup and alligator steaks, Cajun suckling pig and shark's fins and yet, if you have any iota of Irish blood in you at all, nothing will ever quite reach into the deep marrow of your soul's content as a good feed of Bacon and Cabbage.
The mood came upon me yesterday. When that mood descends upon the top of your head, as it did with me quite suddenly, then it links immediately with the pit of the stomach and you instantly know what it feels like to be addicted to cocaine or substances of that nature. You must have your fix. Inside five minutes I was inside the splendid Corofin establishment of Tom Hogan Junior and Senior and it was Tom Junior who was behind the counter.

I need, says I, the Feed. Young Tom is wise beyond his years. I did not need to say anything further. One speedy sortie through Tom's emporium and he laid before me a small sack of Golden Wonder spuds, the very finest spuds in the world, together with a lovely wedge of Munster Collar Bacon lightly smoked, and as fine a head of cabbage as I've ever clapped an eye on. This head of cabbage was green on the outside and white on the inside and as solidly constructed as the poll of an elder of Ian Paisley's Free Presbyterian church. The cost was minimal. It was less than the cost of one tiny thigh of a smoked quail I'd paid for in Galway just one week earlier.

I went home. The Dutch Nation, whom I love, does not yet understand the workings of Bacon and Cabbage so I did the cooking my own self, growing ever more feverishly famished by the minute. The big saucepan was produced and the head of cabbage, thoroughly washed, was chopped and put down in clear cold water surrounding the smoked collar of Bacon. The lid was replaced and the heat set for a long slow boiling process that would cook the beautiful Bacon in a way that would spread its smokey slightly saltified juices though the concurrently cooking green and white cabbage beneath an aromaticating froth. This froth, burbling happily away under the lid of the saucepan, slowly but subtly began to spread its olfactorification and glorification right throughout the kitchen and beyond. Soon, standing at the sink washing the Golden Wonders, I became almost giddy with a combination of expectation and sheer animal hunger.

Golden Wonder spuds are the princesses of their species. They are pear-shaped beauties whose skin, paradoxically, feels coarse and gritty to the touch but is quite remarkably delicate at the same time. They are the perfect spuds to travel alongside Bacon and Cabbage because, when properly cooked, they have an outstanding flavour and a finely floury consistency. But they need to be perfectly cooked because, given one minute too long in the boiling water, they will burst open. The Dutch Nation watched me with amused amazement as I fussed over my two saucepans like an old hen, constantly licking my lips. It was a matter of perfect timing you see to ensure that the Golden Wonders were drained and steaming away towards their ultimate perfection just as the Bacon and Cabbage were at the same stage, the Bacon joint removed from the draining Cabbage for the last three or four minutes, its steam forming a perfect halo inside another halo as I sharpened my knife and readied my plates.

I enjoy a glass of wine with every other dinner. But not with Bacon and Cabbage. With Bacon and Cabbage there is no drink to touch a glass of ice cold milk. And you must also have real butter....for the spuds....and you must have fresh English mustard. (The really only good thing about the English is their mustard!)

Two large willow-pattern plates and all the other elements were assembled together and, finally, about two hours after my initial hunger, the Dutch Nation and I sat down at the table, the evening sun garnishing the cottage window, the fire crackling hungrily in the background. And the first mouthful of that Feed was akin to the doorstep of Paradise.

Ahhhhhh!

The Americans have Corned Beef and Cabbage. It is not the same thing. In Europe it is possible to put together some kind of bacon, some kind of potatoes and some kind of cabbage. But it is not the same. The Dutch Nation is now no longer even a token vegetarian. I am sated for a week or so. If you have never been to Ireland and if you like food then it is worth coming just for that reason alone. In its time and season Bacon and Cabbage....and Golden Wonders....puts Killarney into the shade altogether. And that's a fact.

Jaysus, I'm nearly crying here. Sorry now I didnt heed the advice at the start, but curiosity killed the cat!!

Agree with carrots & parsnips mashed together too. Brown scones with a lump of cheddar. Turnips with brown sauce.

Mmmmm cant wait to go home for Xmas
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2009, 12:25:47 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on October 21, 2009, 01:18:35 AM

Yeah, up around your way the big farmers with yer hundreds of acres, big Landini tractors and big sheds it's a good idea to have cows calving early on in the year but on small farms (couple of acres and a handful of cows) it doesn't work that way.

Chancer?  ???

Ah Jaysus Bod I was only rippin the piss. Wish I had those hundreds of acres. Have you seriously eaten the stuff?
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2009, 12:43:06 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 21, 2009, 09:23:58 AM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

Fresh soda bread and wheaten bread still moist, not that shite served up by Ormeau, just off the griddle with melted butter and a dollup of jam. Used to get it most days after coming home from school.

Beastings/Colostrum is the milk that a cow produces after giving birth. It is yellow and thick and curds when heated. Full of antibodies and unless a newborn calf gets a good feed of it he s in trouble because his immune system is poor without it. It takes a few days before a cow produces the white milk you can put in your tay. As for the afterbirth, the cow usually eats that herself if let. But many farmers wont allow them to do that because it does nt look right a herbivore eating meat, and choke can happen as well. It s badly needed protein for her and it cleans up the mess that would attract predators when these animals were wild. Never came across anybody that actually eat beastings or the afterbirth/cleanings. Mind you I would nt knock it. In hard times protein was protein, end off. Delicacies like snail  and frog were famine food that became delicacies.
Post by: Bod Mor on October 22, 2009, 01:03:28 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2009, 12:25:47 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on October 21, 2009, 01:18:35 AM

Chancer?  ???

Ah Jaysus Bod I was only rippin the piss. Wish I had those hundreds of acres. Have you seriously eaten the stuff?

No bother, one of them days, ya know yerself ;)

I have eaten the stuff. I was home last year but couldn't get a hold of stuff at all. We boil it in the saucepan til about half of it looks like almost cooked scrambled eggs and then horse it into a bowl and eat away. Don't wear your best underwear the next day though!
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2009, 01:54:01 AM

+1.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2009, 02:02:23 AM
didn't bother with the mince and spuds (hate waiting on the spuds steaming) - went with that famous Irish dish of perogies with fried bacon and onions
Post by: gawa316 on October 22, 2009, 10:09:07 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2009, 02:02:23 AM
didn't bother with the mince and spuds (hate waiting on the spuds steaming) - went with that famous Irish dish of perogies with fried bacon and onions

What the feck is perogies? Love fired bacon and onions so could be onto a winner here
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2009, 10:10:39 AM
Halloween next weekend.

Potato Pudding!!!  ;D
Post by: gawa316 on October 22, 2009, 10:11:44 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2009, 12:09:17 AM

As well she should

It's the only way, get it all mixed up, drop the knife, hold onto the plate with your left hand and slap it into ye! ;D
Post by: johnneycool on October 22, 2009, 10:51:52 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2009, 12:43:06 AM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

Beastings/Colostrum is the milk that a cow produces after giving birth. It is yellow and thick and curds when heated. Full of antibodies and unless a newborn calf gets a good feed of it he s in trouble because his immune system is poor without it. It takes a few days before a cow produces the white milk you can put in your tay. As for the afterbirth, the cow usually eats that herself if let. But many farmers wont allow them to do that because it does nt look right a herbivore eating meat, and choke can happen as well. It s badly needed protein for her and it cleans up the mess that would attract predators when these animals were wild. Never came across anybody that actually eat beastings or the afterbirth/cleanings. Mind you I would nt knock it. In hard times protein was protein, end off. Delicacies like snail  and frog were famine food that became delicacies.

Right so, many's a calf had the feeding bag with the colostrum rammed down its gullet to get the stuff into it.

how would you cook it for human consumption?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2009, 12:40:15 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 22, 2009, 10:09:07 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 22, 2009, 02:02:23 AM

What the feck is perogies? Love fired bacon and onions so could be onto a winner here

Perogies are a delightful little dough dumpling stuffed with potatoes and cheese. They'd be Polish / Eastern European in nature
Post by: tbrick18 on October 22, 2009, 01:11:32 PM

From what I remember

(nothern) Irish Stew
Champ
the fry
Chinese curry
Italian food
sea food
Steak (#1)

forget the rest.

True story...I was once in Chicago for work and some of the people I was working with insisted on taking us out to an authentic Irish bar in some suburb or another for food. The bar was called Peggy Kinanes (or Piggy Kinyans if you were a russian taxi driver) and was actually very nice and owned by an ex-pat from Kilkenny. On the menu they had a Full Irish, Irish Stew, Cod and Chips...all the usual suspects. But right at the end of the menu they had "Curry Chips....a traditional Irish favorite". I got speaking to the owner and said to him about the Curry Chips and he says..."sure everybody eats curry chips on the way home from the pub".
Couldn't argue with that.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 22, 2009, 01:13:42 PM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

:D  :D
I cant believe anybody would eat that.....
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 22, 2009, 01:16:32 PM
Have a craving for a big feed of spuds and mince after reading this thread  :P
Post by: ziggysego on October 22, 2009, 01:17:36 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on October 22, 2009, 01:16:32 PM
Have a craving for a big feed of spuds and mince after reading this thread  :P

You're not the only one.
Post by: laceer on October 22, 2009, 04:46:54 PM
Mince and spuds mixed up with a load of pepper and about half a bottle of brown sauce on, washed down with a pint of milk. nom nom
Post by: EC Unique on October 22, 2009, 05:59:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2009, 12:43:06 AM
goody
boxty
cally

Proper Irish food

Deadly!!

That is disgusting :-X
Post by: Yes I Would on October 22, 2009, 09:13:42 PM
Yous are whettin the appetite lads..
Nothin like a good plate of boiled spuds, on a cold winters evenin, covered in streaky bacon, and fried cabbage, drippin with grease, washed down with a naggin of whiskey, Yum Yum..
Post by: comethekingdom on October 22, 2009, 09:26:12 PM
Puckoon has said it all there. - Streaky Bacon, Boil her up for a wee while - then fire in the cabbage towards the end. The only spud is the Golden Wonder. Steam them for best results as they are usually so floury that if you try to boil them they'll go into shite. Then when all is served fire on the Chef brown sauce and wash all down with a big pint of ice cold milk. Yum Yum.
P.S. - Knew a boy who ate a piece of a cow's clearing once for a dare!!
Post by: Silky on October 24, 2009, 11:04:43 AM
What the difference between a bacon joint and a gammon joint.

All the talk on here had me away down to Dunnes for a bacon joint and a cabbage. All they had was feckin gammon joints!

Would it taste near the same so?
Post by: Lecale2 on October 24, 2009, 12:50:04 PM
Quote from: Silky on October 24, 2009, 11:04:43 AM
Don't know what the difference is other than the taste.

Here's a link to a fella in the states who delivers Irish style cuts of pork. Useful for anyone out there feeling home scik.

http://www.britishbacon.com/comersus6f/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=18 (http://www.britishbacon.com/comersus6f/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=18)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2009, 01:39:54 PM
Quote from: Silky on October 24, 2009, 11:04:43 AM

All the talk on here had me away down to Dunnes for a bacon joint and a cabbage. All they had was feckin gammon joints!

Would it taste near the same so?
A bacon joint can be any cured cut from the pig. A gammon joint is a hind leg cut which has been deboned. A ham joint is the same except the bone is kept in. As far as I know!
Post by: leenie on January 01, 2010, 11:13:15 PM
hmmmmmmmmmm fried egg sandwich
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 02, 2010, 02:12:51 PM
Boxty anyone?
Post by: muppet on January 02, 2010, 06:17:41 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 02, 2010, 02:12:51 PM
Boxty anyone?

Yes please. I'll be round in 5.
Post by: Denn Forever on January 02, 2010, 06:40:44 PM
A nice cheese and onion Tatyo sandwich with soft white Pan loaf bread (brown pan if you a health nut). Something moreish about them.