Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Evil Genius on October 14, 2009, 01:17:23 PM

Title: Armagh GAA "Fight Night" lives up to billing. (No comment or opinion, Tony?
Post by: Evil Genius on October 14, 2009, 01:17:23 PM
I know I've been away from the board for a while and so may have missed it on another thread etc, but how come there has been no mention of the following incident, as reported? I mean to say, when some RTE programme about the 200th Anniversary of the Bramley apple can cause Fearon, at least, to open an Armagh-related thread, surely this item cannot have escaped completely his and everyone elses attention?

http://www.irishnews.com/articles/540/5860/2009/10/12/629820_396673231401GAA8216.html

GAA 'fight night' spills onto street
By Andrea McKernon
12/10/09

RIOTING which led to the injury of 10 police officers in Armagh happened after a "fight night" event in the city organised by the Armagh county board of the GAA.

The officers were injured in clashes with a 150-strong crowd early yesterday at Friary Street close to Armagh City Hotel.

Police said one of their patrols was attacked outside the hotel at 2am.

"Police support was brought in from across the district. During the trouble litter bins were used to smash the windows of police vehicles and officers were kicked and punched.

"Four police vehicles had their windows, mirrors, lights and bodywork damaged," police said in a statement.

The officers sustained cuts and bruising to their faces, upper bodies, backs and legs.

None of the injuries were serious.

Revellers were also coming out of the hotel's Bunker night club as the violence erupted.

A 34-year-old man was last night charged with public order offences, criminal damage, four counts of assault on police and resisting arrest.

He has been ordered to appear at Armagh Magistrates Court on November 3.

A 21-year-old who was also arrested has since been released pending a report to the PPS.

An Armagh county board spokesman said he was aware that an incident had occurred at closing time at the hotel.

"The (function) room was booked for Armagh GAA. That is where trouble started," a hotel spokesman said.

The "Vegas fight night" was advertised on the Armagh country board website with an entrance fee of £30.

It matched local GAA players to box each other in a bid to raise money for the county team.

Sinn Fein yesterday blamed hotel security and police "heavy handedness" for stoking up tensions that ignited the trouble and said they had been inundated with complaints from people who were at the charity bash.

"We have requested to meet with the management of the hotel security and the PSNI as some reports were that security and the PSNI were heavy-handed in some cases," MLA Cathal Boylan said.

"There was trouble in the hotel but we want to know how it came to so many people spilling onto the street and the police action," he said.

Ulster Unionist MLA Danny Kennedy said: "There was an onus on the organisers of a fundraising event which had been taking place in an entertainment venue close to the incident to cooperate fully with the PSNI in order that the individuals involved in the trouble could be easily identified and brought to account for their unacceptable actions."
Title: Re: Armagh GAA "Fight Night" lives up to billing. (No comment or opinion, Tony?
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2009, 01:56:46 PM
this is some attempt by you again at cheap point scoring I presume...

as we know tony doesnt comment on everything and isnt exactly omnipresent...(he's hardly about these days and unlike yourself though is missed by his absence!)
but obv you had to try to 'package' this scrap on the board with some semblence of a 'reason'

what is your point though?(I dont expect you have one!)

I also presume that the 'patrol' happened ot be there and were not involved in any harrassment (for a change) ::)
Title: Re: Armagh GAA "Fight Night" lives up to billing. (No comment or opinion, Tony?
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 02:03:37 PM
 One of my neighbours was at this event and claims that a row broke out between a couple of drunken arseholes. The doormen steamrolled them and pushed the whole thing outside where the cops were waiting in riot gear. My question would be why did a supposedly compotent door team allow the situation to escalate to the extent that it did.It's easier in such situations to intercept a row than to break it up after it has kicked off.Why were the cops already outside ? Were the doorteam unsure about whether or not they could control the crowd if something kicked off  and so called the cops in advance? If so it does'nt say much about their operational procedures and policies. Or did the cops just take it upon themselves to turn up in riot gear- in which case they got what the wanted.....or maybe a bit more.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 14, 2009, 02:09:20 PM
I had a ticket to go wasnt feeling 100% so didnt go, however i knew a hell of a lot of other people at it,and they are all saying the same that the bouncers were acting like wankers, heavy handiness and then the police let off Gas Canisters inside to get everyone out, which angered everyone, people was choking and couging with the fumes, WTF

when outside the police men and women were just swinging their Batons for fun, a few innocent bystanders were split open,

Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 02:15:23 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on October 14, 2009, 02:09:20 PM
I had a ticket to go wasnt feeling 100% so didnt go, however i knew a hell of a lot of other people at it,and they are all saying the same that the bouncers were acting like w**kers, heavy handiness and then the police let off Gas Canisters inside to get everyone out, which angered everyone, people was choking and couging with the fumes, WTF

when outside the police men and women were just swinging their Batons for fun, a few innocent bystanders were split open,

I did'nt know that the cops had been inside, this only paints a worse picture of the doorteam - not a good sign when you can't police your own hotel.
Post by: Onion Bag on October 14, 2009, 02:22:06 PM
Yeh i know, the hotel is a shit hole anyway, i know another fella who was standing in the hotel and the bouncers came running up behind him knocked him over and went on, he is off work this week with 2 broken fingers,

when it did get hot and heavy, the cops and Bouncers were inside the hotel and the rowdy crowd were throwing chairs at the windows. 
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 02:28:37 PM
It sounds like feckin' roadhouse!
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 14, 2009, 02:31:03 PM
This thread would have been better left untouched.

Thereby, everyone could see the whole raison d'être of the poster styling himself / herself Evil Genius.

Welcome back.

Not.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on October 14, 2009, 02:31:49 PM
The Bouncers in the hotel have been heavy handed for a while now, i have not been in that place in over a year but have seen them in action a few times and dont know how they have gotten away with it, maybe last weekends event will put some manners in them
Post by: Onion Bag on October 14, 2009, 02:38:39 PM
They all got a bit of a trimming by all accounts, so hopefully that as you say umgola will put some manners in them
Post by: orangeman on October 14, 2009, 02:50:31 PM
We had one of those Gala dinners in the hotel in 2003. At about 2pm when the night was nearly over, a couple of the lads at the bar and in a flash, about RUC / PSNI cam rushing into the hotel with their batons drawn and but for a bit of good work by club members, the whole thing would have turned on the police and there would have been a full scale riot.

It was obvious to me that night that the management of the hotel see the police next door as back up for the bouncers and call them in to sort out the first sign of a row.

We had another Gala a coupe of years afterwards but didn't even consider the City Hotel due to this incident and a few other things that were completely unsatisfactory on the night.
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 14, 2009, 02:54:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 14, 2009, 02:50:31 PM
We had one of those Gala dinners in the hotel in 2003. At about 2pm when the night was nearly over, a couple of the lads at the bar and in a flash, about RUC / PSNI cam rushing into the hotel with their batons drawn and but for a bit of good work by club members, the whole thing would have turned on the police and there would have been a full scale riot.

It was obvious to me that night that the management of the hotel see the police next door as back up for the bouncers and call them in to sort out the first sign of a row.

We had another Gala a coupe of years afterwards but didn't even consider the City Hotel due to this incident and a few other things that were completely unsatisfactory on the night.

Either a hell of a good night, or the lough shore men don't have it any more.
Post by: illdecide on October 14, 2009, 02:59:52 PM
Evil, could you not have talked about the quality of the boxing that went on in the ring as the word on the street was there was a guy from Lurgan who was like a white Mike Tyson...an absolute legend of a man and it's a pity he didn't take up the boxing when he was younger...infact the bouncers and the police came looking him at the end of the night to help them out and it was at that point there was 10 officers injured...lol :P
Post by: Minder on October 14, 2009, 03:09:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 14, 2009, 02:59:52 PM
Evil, could you not have talked about the quality of the boxing that went on in the ring as the word on the street was there was a guy from Lurgan who was like a white Mike Tyson...an absolute legend of a man and it's a pity he didn't take up the boxing when he was younger...infact the bouncers and the police came looking him at the end of the night to help them out and it was at that point there was 10 officers injured...lol :P

Have you also served time in jail for rape?

Post by: illdecide on October 14, 2009, 04:00:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 14, 2009, 03:09:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 14, 2009, 02:59:52 PM

Have you also served time in jail for rape?

Yes and i also had white tigers...lol
Post by: EC Unique on October 14, 2009, 04:31:17 PM
We had our Gala there in 2004. Great night with no complaints.

Not suprised that a night that involves boxing, a large number of Armagh men and a shit load of drink ended up in trouble.

Perdictable to say the least! :-\
Post by: Final Whistle on October 14, 2009, 04:58:25 PM
TBF to the Armagh Brethern, the city hotel's bouncers are W*nks of the highest order who think they are Harder than Ali when all together and fighting one drunken yob. When its one on one they are as cold as a Siberian Christmas especially the one originating from Tyrone, the one who loves his fake tan from a bottle, tw*t!!

Therefore, I commend the good GAA folk in Armagh who kicked the hard men around the Friary Road.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2009, 05:55:46 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on October 14, 2009, 04:58:25 PM
TBF to the Armagh Brethern, the city hotel's bouncers are W*nks of the highest order who think they are Harder than Ali when all together and fighting one drunken yob. When its one on one they are as cold as a Siberian Christmas especially the one originating from Tyrone, the one who loves his fake tan from a bottle, tw*t!!

Therefore, I commend the good GAA folk in Armagh who kicked the hard men around the Friary Road.
Do you really think bouncers are allowed to go toe to toe with the punters. I'd if any bouncer did you wouldn't see you for dust. Tight lad.

Anyone with half a brain will know that bouncers operate in at least pairs as it's easier to buck someone out the door if you are assisted and as back up in case some clown pulls a bottle on you or their drunk mate decides to weigh in.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 14, 2009, 06:06:31 PM
It was discussed on te armagh club thread eg, you must have missed it.

hard to see how the hotel get much business if this is the way they behave.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 14, 2009, 06:13:19 PM
That hotel in Armagh is owned by a religious clut from Korea. I wouldn't cross the door of the place.
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 06:20:43 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 14, 2009, 06:13:19 PM
That hotel in Armagh is owned by a religious clut from Korea. I wouldn't cross the door of the place.

A religious clut eh? Interesting.
Regardless of who owns it ,the Mooney hotel group have the management contract for it and are much better operators than the debacle at the weekend would suggest.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 14, 2009, 06:44:57 PM
Quote from: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 06:20:43 PM

Regardless of who owns it ,the Mooney hotel group have the management contract for it and are much better operators than the debacle at the weekend would suggest.

That's them! The Moonies.
Post by: charlie stubbs on October 14, 2009, 06:55:48 PM
was at the event myself.  the trouble kicked off after i left.  had heard a rumour that the bouncers wouldnt be the most dead on(or typical bouncer wankers) but they seemed ok to me tbh.my mate got put out a few times coz he was full, but got in again.  i ran out of money and one had no problem with m running down to mcenerneys to get more money.  suppose canyt really comment on events though if werent there.  people had said to me there would be trouble between different clubs, but everyone seemed to be in good spirits during the night.  shame that this has soured which was a highly entertaining evening
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2009, 07:10:01 PM

So the fault lies with the hotel, the bouncers, the peelers. Anyone else? Apart from the innocent parties just sitting enjoying a quiet pint  ::)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 14, 2009, 07:36:08 PM
illdecide, you are being talked about on orchardcounty.com  :D

EG, I heard all about the escapades of the bouncers and the PSNI riot squads.  What's your point?

Do you even have one?
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 07:45:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2009, 07:10:01 PM

So the fault lies with the hotel, the bouncers, the peelers. Anyone else? Apart from the innocent parties just sitting enjoying a quiet pint  ::)

Not saying that in the slightest.If you read my earlier post I said that apparently it had been kicked off by a pair of drunken arseholes.But it was at this point that the door staff should have been on top of the situation. Whatever senior manager was on duty should have been well aware of the fact that their was a fair chance of drunken antics and should have had measures in place to ensure that if something kicked off it could be nipped in the bud calmly and quickly.You can't fill a room full of people with drink while rubbing your hands at the ringing of the till, without accepting that this room full of people are your responsibility while they are on your premesis. I think the blame lies with both parties and was then unduly exacerbated by the peelers.
Post by: illdecide on October 14, 2009, 10:00:21 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 14, 2009, 07:36:08 PM

EG, I heard all about the escapades of the bouncers and the PSNI riot squads.  What's your point?

Do you even have one?

What r they saying??? can i view it without joining as i'm not a member?
Post by: lurganblue on October 15, 2009, 09:08:25 AM
Quote from: illdecide on October 14, 2009, 10:00:21 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 14, 2009, 07:36:08 PM

Do you even have one?

What r they saying??? can i view it without joining as i'm not a member?

any links so i can get a laugh? couldnt find it there myself
Post by: illdecide on October 15, 2009, 09:26:05 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:19:49 AM
Actually I do have an opinion on this, and it would be in tandem with that of EG. I think its a fecking bizarre way for a GAA orientated body (or indeed any other so called respectable legitimate body)to fund raise,encouraging macho types to "fight" in an environment where there is alcohol flowing, a recipe for disaster. This shite might work well as a reality tv concept but not anywhere else

What where the organisers thinking of and will they ever get a bit of sense?

Stick to Mights at the Races for feck sake. >:(

What the hell r u talking about Tony...so it was the boxers fault now, for your information it was the county board who picked the boxers and maybe you should look at the fools with 12 pints of lager in them and not the lads that worked their balls of to box ??? (in the ring)
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 15, 2009, 09:27:10 AM
Country boys and drink. It's like giving whiskey to the Apaches. Not a good idea.  ::)
Post by: Final Whistle on October 15, 2009, 09:37:33 AM
Tony Baloney-it is not uncommon for four or five bouncers to be escorting one man to the door in the bunker. Plus they will make sure your head is used to open doors all  while nipping, pulling, hauling in an unappropriate fashion. Iv seen many a drunk call one out for none to come forth but to come two three four at once to administer a kicking. Tight Lads.
Post by: EC Unique on October 15, 2009, 09:45:26 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:19:49 AM
Actually I do have an opinion on this, and it would be in tandem with that of EG. I think its a fecking bizarre way for a GAA orientated body (or indeed any other so called respectable legitimate body)to fund raise,encouraging macho types to "fight" in an environment where there is alcohol flowing, a recipe for disaster. This shite might work well as a reality tv concept but not anywhere else

What where the organisers thinking of and will they ever get a bit of sense?

Stick to Mights at the Races for feck sake. >:(

Totally agree. Predictable outcome. Stupid idea that should not be repeated.
Post by: illdecide on October 15, 2009, 09:48:34 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 09:29:32 AM
Its a f**king stupid idea. Most amateur and professional  boxers are nutters anyway, mix this with those wanting to have a go and alcohol and you have a recipe for disaster.

I think you guys are all right...it was the actual boxers that started it ::) maybe if we'd have done the door instead of them other twats then we'd have sorted any problems out without needing the peelers (after all we're all nuts anyway)
Post by: Main Street on October 15, 2009, 11:42:22 AM
I wouldn't rule out extreme provocation, with some cheeky visitor from Down shouting out "Paddy O'Rourke"
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 15, 2009, 12:05:58 PM
Fearon you're a laugh
Post by: T O Hare on October 15, 2009, 12:50:51 PM
Tell me this lads.. what was McNultys and Watters fight like??? Did Ronan Murtagh win? and how did my old school mate Mickey Austin fair out????
Post by: illdecide on October 15, 2009, 12:59:00 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on October 15, 2009, 12:50:51 PM
Tell me this lads.. what was McNultys and Watters fight like??? Did Ronan Murtagh win? and how did my old school mate Mickey Austin fair out????

Watters and McNulty fight was the worst fight of the night and Paul Watters should have got the decision...Who was R Murtagh fighting and Micky Austin didn't have the goolies for it ;)
Post by: T O Hare on October 15, 2009, 01:04:22 PM
Quote from: illdecide on October 15, 2009, 12:59:00 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on October 15, 2009, 12:50:51 PM

Watters and McNulty fight was the worst fight of the night and Paul Watters should have got the decision...Who was R Murtagh fighting and Micky Austin didn't have the goolies for it ;)

Dont know who Murtagh was fighting seen his name in the paper!!!! Austy would talk a good scrap(after ten pints and ten half uns) :D :D
Post by: JUst retired on October 15, 2009, 02:41:21 PM
One of the big problems  would appear to have been the actions of the PSNI. Who else would spray pepper spray to clear out a hall,where people were doing nothing. The fight was outside with the bouncers. The peelers then antagonise everybody and get them all out side. Some crowd control ability shown there. Any wonder people lost the rag. :o
Post by: Aerlik on October 15, 2009, 02:54:34 PM
Boxing should be banned. Period.
Post by: give her dixie on October 15, 2009, 03:26:16 PM
Well folks, I have been following this thread with a vested interest, as i'm helping a charity who are
running one of these "Vegas Fight Nights" in a couple of weeks time.
The concept is a good idea, however, the costs involved are incredibly high.
The fixed costs for ring, referee's, judges, etc, etc run to well over £5,000, and then there is their
commision on ticket sales, which is 15% of ALL sales.
So, commision on a night like this was in excess of £4,500.
Therefore, it would take over £12,000 to put on a night like this.
For a club to run one of these nights, it could be done for a
whole lot less, and therefore making more profit for themselves.

The trouble that flared up on the night is no reflection on the organisers,
and to be honest, take any 1,000 people from any county, fill them with drink
at a fight night, some tear gas and the PSNI, then you will be gauranteed trouble!!
As far as i'm aware, the entertainment on the night was fantastic, and it's a shame that
the trouble at the end spoilt what was a good night.
It is a black eye for the GAA, and for Armagh folk who didn't deserve it.
Post by: Donagh on October 15, 2009, 03:28:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 03:16:22 PM
Funny, there is no peeler intervention at Gala Dinners, Auctions and the like.

Boxing is for macho scumbags and will largely attract similar types, and is a recipe for trouble I hope this stupid event is never repeated.

Funny for all the fights I've ever been to I can't remember any crowd trouble unlike that soccer game you run about after and the fecking inbreeds that associate themselves with it.
Post by: The Iceman on October 15, 2009, 04:33:46 PM
I am shocked at some of the comments especially from Aerlik and Tony about boxing.  Boxing is a sport. A combat sport just like Olympic or Greco Roman Wrestling, just like Mixed Martial Arts or Judo for example.
The skill required to compete at an amateur level is on a par with any other sport.  The dedication and determination to make it at a professional level is above and beyond what other sports require and aside from Boxing, most combative sports "stars" get paid a mediocre amount of money.
I have competed at various levels in Boxing and MMA and I'm certainly not a "nutter" nor would I label the majority of people I have ever trained with as "nutters".  There are always exceptions of course, as in every sport, and we all know our fair share of "nutters" on and off the field.
The incident at the Hotel in Armagh boils down to mis-management by the Security Staff, who have, for the longest time, been completely unprofessional, ill-prepared and badly managed.  The buck stops with them and the Hotel for employing them.
Post by: EC Unique on October 15, 2009, 04:48:28 PM
I can't understand why some of you do not get what happened here. A large group, mostly men, gather to watch other men fight in a ring. A fair few of the watching men (I would guess about 70%+) are drinking. They watch numerous fights getting excited about it. Some of these men are from opposing clubs and will have 'history'.

There is a good chance that the above scenario will end up in trouble with or without the added problem of the PSNI/bouncers.

A very bad idea and the GAA should distance themselves from such.
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 15, 2009, 04:52:16 PM
For some people to openly attack boxing as a sport is just crazy.  Cage fighting is another story but the art of boxing when mastered is a joy to watch, a great sport.
Post by: DennistheMenace on October 15, 2009, 04:58:54 PM
Boxing is no more dangerous than motorcycling and skiing.

Fabulous sport imo.
Post by: maddog on October 15, 2009, 05:36:34 PM
I've heard of countless incidents with these bouncers at that hotel and i can only wonder why any of the locals bother with the place. Hotel would soon get the message if nobody went.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 15, 2009, 06:00:22 PM
Quote from: maddog on October 15, 2009, 05:36:34 PM
I've heard of countless incidents with these bouncers at that hotel and i can only wonder why any of the locals bother with the place. Hotel would soon get the message if nobody went.
Yes, I agree. Some of the nice folk from the far end of Barrack Street congregate for a few pints the odd time and then hang around outside for a bit and dish out slaps to any fenian coming out with a few beers on them.  I wonder why the bouncers don't do anything about them

Oh and I have seen that happening with my own eyes, with PSNI sitting in the car park opposite (Dobbin Street) - strange how they didn't call in riot squads then or use teargas ::)
Post by: stew on October 15, 2009, 06:14:30 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 15, 2009, 06:00:22 PM
Yes, I agree. Some of the nice folk from the far end of Barrack Street congregate for a few pints the odd time and then hang around outside for a bit and dish out slaps to any fenian coming out with a few beers on them.  I wonder why the bouncers don't do anything about them

Oh and I have seen that happening with my own eyes, with PSNI sitting in the car park opposite (Dobbin Street) - strange how they didn't call in riot squads then or use teargas ::)

The psni in Armagh are a joke, not a set of balls between the lot of them, all they are good for is avioding the selling of drugs at the bus station on Railway street, then again they get all their reliable information from these knackers!!!!!  ::)

Post by: fitzroyalty on October 15, 2009, 06:49:25 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 15, 2009, 03:28:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2009, 03:16:22 PM
Funny, there is no peeler intervention at Gala Dinners, Auctions and the like.

Boxing is for macho scumbags and will largely attract similar types, and is a recipe for trouble I hope this stupid event is never repeated.

Funny for all the fights I've ever been to I can't remember any crowd trouble unlike that soccer game you run about after and the fecking inbreeds that associate themselves with it.
Quite right..Fearon take your face for a shite
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2009, 08:33:03 PM
Quote from: stew on October 15, 2009, 06:14:30 PM

The psni in Armagh are a joke, not a set of balls between the lot of them, all they are good for is avioding the selling of drugs at the bus station on Railway street, then again they get all their reliable information from these knackers!!!!!  ::)
You've seen all this from Americay? The locals can't be too annoyed about it or they'd do something about it.
Post by: camloughlad on October 15, 2009, 08:46:39 PM
never seen wat started the row on saturday,first i new of it was when standin haven the craic i smelled gas and turn round and a load of cops in riot gear usein gas til get the ppl out of the buliding,still no rows goin on at this stage from wat i could see.then ppl started till turn on them cause of the way they heavy handed ppl out of the building.surely if there was a row the hotel security men could of handle it no call for the cops.if the cops hadnt of showsed up none of this would of happen.we were put out of the building and were not aloud til go back in for our coats or nothing.went down sunday lookin for my coat they said no sorry your coat is not hear.
they dnt be long turnin the story round till suit themselfs.they never once said on the news that they entered the building and started usein cs gas till move innocent people.ppl that would of moved if had of been ask to never mind being pushed and shoved out threw doors that ppl the other side were throwin bottles at could of put them out another door.they were not long sayin that 10 police officers receiving injuries,what about the ppl they injured with there batons and gas.no word of them is there.
Post by: Minder on October 15, 2009, 08:48:52 PM
Quote from: camloughlad on October 15, 2009, 08:46:39 PM
never seen wat started the row on saturday,first i new of it was when standin haven the craic i smelled gas and turn round and a load of cops in riot gear usein gas til get the ppl out of the buliding,still no rows goin on at this stage from wat i could see.then ppl started till turn on them cause of the way they heavy handed ppl out of the building.surely if there was a row the hotel security men could of handle it no call for the cops.if the cops hadnt of showsed up none of this would of happen.we were put out of the building and were not aloud til go back in for our coats or nothing.went down sunday lookin for my coat they said no sorry your coat is not hear.
they dnt be long turnin the story round till suit themselfs.they never once said on the news that they entered the building and started usein cs gas till move innocent people.ppl that would of moved if had of been ask to never mind being pushed and shoved out threw doors that ppl the other side were throwin bottles at could of put them out another door.they were not long sayin that 10 police officers receiving injuries,what about the ppl they injured with there batons and gas.no word of them is there.

Armagh4Sam?
Post by: The Iceman on October 15, 2009, 09:25:42 PM
Lets call this for what it is lads.  A certain butcher's son with known loyalist connections has been involved in the Hotel's security/bouncer team for 5 years now.  I haven't been there in 3 years since I left but he was trouble then and I am sure (if he is still about) that he is trouble now.  A predominantly protestant team of men supposedly bouncing in a hotel full of predominantly Catholic punters is never going to work.
Post by: rosnarun on October 15, 2009, 10:16:02 PM
Why would a GAA club hold a function in a hotel whose security has loyalist connections ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2009, 10:45:36 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 15, 2009, 10:16:02 PM
Why would a GAA club hold a function in a hotel whose security has loyalist connections ?
A member of the door staff is a loyalist. Hardly means the hotel is a loyalist shebeen. Despite protestations from Iceman there are plenty of catholic staff in the hotel although he is correct that a well known local loyalist works the door. The hotel has made a fortune out of the gaa over the years at club, county and provincial level so I'd say it does a good deal to keep them coming back.
Post by: Franko on October 16, 2009, 11:59:58 AM
Where did EG go?  ??? ;)
Post by: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 01:10:07 PM
Reminds me of St Patrick's Day in the Holylands, bit of a crowd bein knobs on Carmel Street which culminated all in all in a beer box being set on fire in the middle of the road, then the riot police turn up at each end of the street, not letting anyone out and creating a hostile atmosphere, then proceeding to march down, batoning anyone who gets in the way. Gets a completely different portrayal on  the news obviously. All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot. There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.
Post by: camloughlad on October 16, 2009, 04:15:54 PM
ya was in the holy lands that day myself the cops were a joke,if they had of stayed away nothing would of happen
Post by: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 04:30:16 PM
Quote from: camloughlad on October 16, 2009, 04:15:54 PM
ya was in the holy lands that day myself the cops were a joke,if they had of stayed away nothing would of happen

They couldn't really have stayed away with what was going on, but it was blown completely out of proportion and all that was needed was uniformed officers to disperse a few crowds of rowdy students.
Post by: charlieTully on October 16, 2009, 04:37:06 PM
lets cut to the chace here, it was lurgan tramps started the whole thing. a cordon should be put around lurgan and craigavon and a passport needed to get out.
Post by: Doogie Browser on October 16, 2009, 04:37:18 PM
The 'blame the cops' line can only be wheeled out so many times, the students have done their best to wreck the holyands every St Patricks Day for 7/8 years now so it was inevitable it would combust like it did.
The Armagh fight night trouble was a mixture of many things which sadly we see in almost every town in Ireland on a Sat night, drunken yobs, ignorant bouncers and nervous cops - this always leads to trouble.
Post by: stew on October 16, 2009, 04:58:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2009, 08:33:03 PM

You've seen all this from Americay? The locals can't be too annoyed about it or they'd do something about it.

Believe it or not they have these things called aeroplanes and from time to time I board them and they take you to fantastic places like Dublin where I get a car and drive to Armagh, I have seen this shite go on, I have reported it myself and a mate that works in the depot has reported this activity multiple times to no avail, the psni dont want to mess with their drug dealing scum informers.
Post by: redhugh on October 16, 2009, 05:03:28 PM
Quote from: stew on October 16, 2009, 04:58:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 15, 2009, 08:33:03 PM

Believe it or not they have these things called aeroplanes and from time to time I board them and they take you to fantastic places like Dublin where I get a car and drive to Armagh, I have seen this shite go on, I have reported it myself and a mate that works in the depot has reported this activity multiple times to no avail, the psni dont want to mess with their drug dealing scum informers.

Kinda like the way Starsky & Hutch did'nt mess with Huggy bear!
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:19:41 PM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 01:10:07 PM
Reminds me of St Patrick's Day in the Holylands, bit of a crowd bein knobs on Carmel Street which culminated all in all in a beer box being set on fire in the middle of the road, then the riot police turn up at each end of the street, not letting anyone out and creating a hostile atmosphere, then proceeding to march down, batoning anyone who gets in the way. Gets a completely different portrayal on  the news obviously. All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot. There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.
Feckin peelers. Why can't they keep their noses out and let a mob of pissed up culchies do exactly what they want? Okay, so local residents whinge a bit when cars get set alight and stuff like that, but feck them too. If 300 or 400 students and assorted hangers on want to turn a residential area into party central in the middle of the afternoon they should be allowed to get on with it. Especially when they're nationalists. 800 years of oppression and we still can't trash an area when we want to. Feckin peelers.
Post by: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 05:28:37 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:19:41 PM
Feckin peelers. Why can't they keep their noses out and let a mob of pissed up culchies do exactly what they want? Okay, so local residents whinge a bit when cars get set alight and stuff like that, but feck them too. If 300 or 400 students and assorted hangers on want to turn a residential area into party central in the middle of the afternoon they should be allowed to get on with it. Especially when they're nationalists. 800 years of oppression and we still can't trash an area when we want to. Feckin peelers.

Where in my post did I say anything like that? I was talking about how the PSNI  completely took something minor and turned it into a full scale riot when there was absolutely no need for riot police and the like. I totally agree with you on what your saying, the place is terrible. I'd rather you didn't put words into my mouth though.
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:37:19 PM
My apologies. I think I confused you with the Fingerbob who suggested that the PSNI had an agenda against nationalists.

'There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.'

I'll be more careful in future.  ::)
Post by: stew on October 16, 2009, 08:11:48 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:37:19 PM
My apologies. I think I confused you with the Fingerbob who suggested that the PSNI had an agenda against nationalists.

'There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.'

The psni, or portions of the psni do have an agenda against Catholics, some of the bastards even liked to kill the odd chuckie when the chance arose back in the day, come to think of it they even blew away a fenian cop from the Glens (dont take my word for it ask the family of constable Campbell)

Just because you change the name away from the ruc does not mean that these tramps become decent cops overnight, they didnt and a lot of the cnuts that were ruc men are still running around harassing Catholics at every farts turn.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 16, 2009, 09:24:03 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on October 16, 2009, 04:37:06 PM
lets cut to the chace here, it was lurgan tramps started the whole thing. a cordon should be put around lurgan and craigavon and a passport needed to get out.
Where are you from then princess? Chase is not spelt with a 'c' btw, if you're gonna start being smart at least do it right  :-*
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 16, 2009, 09:33:02 PM
Students weren't blameless but it was nothing more than a PR stunt for the cops. Media gobbled it all up as always and spurned out the usual shit. Confining several hundred drunken students into one small street on the biggest drinking day of the year, instead of dispersing them, what was the sense in that?
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 09:33:23 PM
Quote from: stew on October 16, 2009, 08:11:48 PM

The psni, or portions of the psni do have an agenda against Catholics, some of the b**tards even liked to kill the odd chuckie when the chance arose back in the day, come to think of it they even blew away a fenian cop from the Glens (dont take my word for it ask the family of constable Campbell)

Just because you change the name away from the ruc does not mean that these tramps become decent cops overnight, they didnt and a lot of the cnuts that were ruc men are still running around harassing Catholics at every farts turn.
Constable Campbell was murdered in 1977. That's 32 years ago. Given that 30 years service in the police gives you the right to retire with a full pension, how many of those in the RUC at that time would you say are still in service? Here's another fact. The nature of the job means that the police officers in the tactical support units (that would be the peelers who turn up at Armagh Hotels or in the Holyland) are generally the younger element. (It becomes more and more difficult to jump in and out of landrovers once you get past the age of 35). The likelihood is, therefore, that many of these officers are post Patten. Given the 50:50 recruitment, there's a good chance that many of them are fenians. So why do you think they enjoy harassing fenians? Or do you think the fenian peelers just stand and watch their prod colleagues doing the harassing? Maybe they take their turn beating up the prods while their prod colleagues get their breath back?
Post by: stew on October 16, 2009, 09:48:49 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 09:33:23 PM

The psni, or portions of the psni do have an agenda against Catholics, some of the b**tards even liked to kill the odd chuckie when the chance arose back in the day, come to think of it they even blew away a fenian cop from the Glens (dont take my word for it ask the family of constable Campbell)

Constable Campbell was murdered in 1977. That's 32 years ago. Given that 30 years service in the police gives you the right to retire with a full pension, how many of those in the RUC at that time would you say are still in service? Here's another fact. The nature of the job means that the police officers in the tactical support units (that would be the peelers who turn up at Armagh Hotels or in the Holyland) are generally the younger element. (It becomes more and more difficult to jump in and out of landrovers once you get past the age of 35). The likelihood is, therefore, that many of these officers are post Patten. Given the 50:50 recruitment, there's a good chance that many of them are fenians. So why do you think they enjoy harassing fenians? Or do you think the fenian peelers just stand and watch their prod colleagues doing the harassing? Maybe they take their turn beating up the prods while their prod colleagues get their breath back?

Constable Campbell was murdered at the hands of his colleagues in 1977. Constable Campbell was an example I gave, there are many people murdered at the hands of the ruc and the scum that was the udr/rir etc, funnily enough the vast, and I mean vast majority were Catholics.
The nationalist population in the north think that the policing in the north is a disgrace, it was and is a disgrace and too many tubes from bygone days are still around harbouring hatred for Catholics and that has not changed, what % of cops were in the OO ffs.

As for the modern day peeler, there are far too many spineless bastids in the pissni and they are too often seen to be cowering in their cars whilst some por bastard is getting seven shades of shite kicked out of him by some shower of scum or other.

I do  not know of one Catholic who thinks the psni police the north with an even hand, not one and that is a sad reflection on the horrible regard they are held in and the piss poor job they are doing. If it is soliciting dodgy info from druggies then they are the men for you otherwise forget it and the sad thing is the decent cops get tarnished with the same brush as the rest of them. >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 16, 2009, 09:52:58 PM
Quote from: stew on October 16, 2009, 09:48:49 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 09:33:23 PM

Constable Campbell was murdered at the hands of his colleagues in 1977. Constable Campbell was an example I gave, there are many people murdered at the hands of the ruc and the scum that was the udr/rir etc, funnily enough the vast, and I mean vast majority were Catholics.
The nationalist population in the north think that the policing in the north is a disgrace, it was and is a disgrace and too many tubes from bygone days are still around harbouring hatred for Catholics and that has not changed, what % of cops were in the OO ffs.

As for the modern day peeler, there are far too many spineless bastids in the pissni and they are too often seen to be cowering in their cars whilst some por b**tard is getting seven shades of shite kicked out of him by some shower of scum or other.

I do  not know of one Catholic who thinks the psni police the north with an even hand, not one and that is a sad reflection on the horrible regard they are held in and the piss poor job they are doing. If it is soliciting dodgy info from druggies then they are the men for you otherwise forget it and the sad thing is the decent cops get tarnished with the same brush as the rest of them. >:(
Which you just did in your post up to that point.
Post by: Rossfan on October 16, 2009, 10:26:19 PM
I do  not know of one Catholic who thinks the psni police the north with an even hand, not one

Martin McGuinness,Gerry Adams,Gerry Kelly,Conor Murphy...........?????? ;)
Post by: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 12:15:27 AM

That had nothing to do with what you said, you were trying to suggest that I think that what students get up to in the holylands was fine and now your taking something completely different to make me look like a knob, and from being a long time reader of the message board, its something I've noticed you do alot in an attempt to win arguments. I was maybe a bit over the top with the hidden agenda quote, but I can't imagine the same heavy handed treatment being handed out to the "other side" in similiar conditions.
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 17, 2009, 11:34:33 AM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 12:15:27 AM

That had nothing to do with what you said, you were trying to suggest that I think that what students get up to in the holylands was fine and now your taking something completely different to make me look like a knob, and from being a long time reader of the message board, its something I've noticed you do alot in an attempt to win arguments. I was maybe a bit over the top with the hidden agenda quote, but I can't imagine the same heavy handed treatment being handed out to the "other side" in similiar conditions.
Have another look at your original post. Not only were you over the top with your hidden agenda bit, but you were decidedly under the top with your description of the students in the Holylands. You passed it off as a few knobs setting fire to a beer box. It was in fact several hundred knobs who, amongst other things, smashed up a car before setting it on fire. Many dragged sofas out into the street to sit on and drink their beer. Others were seen urinating in gardens or up against walls because they couldn't be arsed going looking for a toilet. All this in a residential area with traffic trying to pass up and down. If the police hadn't turned up they have been vilified. And as for sending a couple of uniformed cops down to have a quiet word, catch yourself on. They'd have been lynched.
Post by: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 01:24:31 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 17, 2009, 11:34:33 AM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 12:15:27 AM

Have another look at your original post. Not only were you over the top with your hidden agenda bit, but you were decidedly under the top with your description of the students in the Holylands. You passed it off as a few knobs setting fire to a beer box. It was in fact several hundred knobs who, amongst other things, smashed up a car before setting it on fire. Many dragged sofas out into the street to sit on and drink their beer. Others were seen urinating in gardens or up against walls because they couldn't be arsed going looking for a toilet. All this in a residential area with traffic trying to pass up and down. If the police hadn't turned up they have been vilified. And as for sending a couple of uniformed cops down to have a quiet word, catch yourself on. They'd have been lynched.

I'll go on ahead and assume, although correct me if I'm wrong that you weren't there on the day while I regrettably was and was also regrettably a resident of carmel street last year, which I think is 100% student which is sad in itself given the history of the area, and also does not give an excuse for what happened. But what you described in your post happens every year during the marching season. I'll give an example, Crossgar in Down is around 80% catholic yet thats where the orange order decided to hold a major parade this year which attracted tens of thousands of watchers. For most of the residents of the village this either meant sit in your house or go away for the weekend while much of what you said in your post that happened on st patricks day, takes place in they're town. I'd bet my life that if the riot police turned up to a street where this was taking place and block it off and proceed to beat people for literally no reason in alot of cases, it would turn into a riot. Not that this would ever happen because there is blatant double standards. 

Post by: Maguire01 on October 17, 2009, 08:36:43 PM
I do  not know of one Catholic who thinks the psni police the north with an even hand, not one and that is a sad reflection on the horrible regard they are held in and the piss poor job they are doing.
You clearly move in very limited circles. Given that more than 2,000 Catholics are actually in the PSNI and that both SF and the SDLP support the police (and by extension, their voters)...
Post by: Maguire01 on October 17, 2009, 08:39:39 PM
Re the Holylands incident...
Quote from: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 04:30:16 PM
They couldn't really have stayed away with what was going on, but it was blown completely out of proportion and all that was needed was uniformed officers to disperse a few crowds of rowdy students.

All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot.
Back to the real world - how would you actually go about dispersing a crowd of several hundred pissed students and their friends?
Post by: stiffler on October 17, 2009, 08:43:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 17, 2009, 08:39:39 PM

All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot.
Back to the real world - how would you actually go about dispersing a crowd of several hundred pissed students and their friends?

tell them that 3 for 5 is back on in shaws
Post by: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 10:05:57 PM

There wasn't just one big mob though, it was just a load of groups outside houses and the police turned up and blocked off the street and it turned into more of a mob. I wouldn't go about dispersing the crowd the way they did anyway. I asked a police woman if I could cross back over the road to go into my house and she told me to go quick so while crossing back over the road one of the police in riot gear grabs me and starts swinging his baton at me, and thats not an exageration of any kind. The icing on the cake was when he smirked in my face when I asked him what the f**k he was at. Take from that what you want.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2009, 12:48:56 PM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 10:05:57 PM

There wasn't just one big mob though, it was just a load of groups outside houses and the police turned up and blocked off the street and it turned into more of a mob. I wouldn't go about dispersing the crowd the way they did anyway. I asked a police woman if I could cross back over the road to go into my house and she told me to go quick so while crossing back over the road one of the police in riot gear grabs me and starts swinging his baton at me, and thats not an exageration of any kind. The icing on the cake was when he smirked in my face when I asked him what the f**k he was at. Take from that what you want.
Yet you still haven't actually given any solution as to how you would have dispersed the crowd.
Post by: fingerbob on October 18, 2009, 04:29:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2009, 12:48:56 PM

Yet you still haven't actually given any solution as to how you would have dispersed the crowd.

I would have sent uniformed officers in as the whole situation was overexxagerated by the media and this most likely would have worked but what they actually did was completely inappropriate. If riot police had to be used then why block off the street at both sides and not letting anyone out thus creating a riot atmosphere.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 18, 2009, 06:42:54 PM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 18, 2009, 04:29:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2009, 12:48:56 PM

I would have sent uniformed officers in as the whole situation was overexxagerated by the media and this most likely would have worked but what they actually did was completely inappropriate. If riot police had to be used then why block off the street at both sides and not letting anyone out thus creating a riot atmosphere.
But what would they have done?
Post by: charlie stubbs on October 18, 2009, 07:52:36 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on October 16, 2009, 04:37:06 PM

good 2nd post you creep.where you even there?go back to school
Post by: charlie stubbs on October 18, 2009, 08:01:04 PM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 05:28:37 PM

Where in my post did I say anything like that? I was talking about how the PSNI  completely took something minor and turned it into a full scale riot when there was absolutely no need for riot police and the like. I totally agree with you on what your saying, the place is terrible. I'd rather you didn't put words into my mouth though.

i was there(sober had to work the next day).  im all up for the craic and that but i would hardly call a yob taking a run at a landrover and trying to headbutt it as respectable behaviour.  why set a fire in the middle of the road to encourage more anti social behaviour from ohers, who are often trying to outdo eachother or see who is the "maddest"?there was people just trying to enjoy the day but there was idiots behaving like this.  its a thankless task for the psni on this day, people do get arrested for litle incidents but imagine the amount of cheek and bad manners they would receive from 0900 in the morning for around 24 hrs.  i know i would get to the stage where i would jst say enough is enough
Post by: charlieTully on October 18, 2009, 08:40:23 PM
charlie stubbs, lurgan and tullygally are the two worst holes in the province, recreational rioting, murdering police officers why cant the people there move on like the rest of us? i have left school long since btw.
Post by: illdecide on October 18, 2009, 10:37:39 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on October 18, 2009, 08:40:23 PM
charlie stubbs, lurgan and tullygally are the two worst holes in the province, recreational rioting, murdering police officers why cant the people there move on like the rest of us? i have left school long since btw.

You're talking thru your hole saan...i know your just a WUM so take your face for one
Post by: redhugh on October 18, 2009, 11:53:30 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on October 18, 2009, 08:40:23 PM

The province eh?? What province is that you're on about?
Post by: Minder on October 18, 2009, 11:59:17 PM
What is a "riot atmosphere" ? If you want to riot and act the **** you are going to, a few peelers about just makes it legitimate for some.
Post by: Evil Genius on October 21, 2009, 06:12:36 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 16, 2009, 11:59:58 AM
Where did EG go?  ??? ;)
Well I'd like to say that I was made to feel so impertinent, even chastened, by Lynchbhoy (reply #1), Saffron Sam 2 (#7) and ardmhachaabu (#25), that I retreated with my tail between my legs, sorry that I had the cheek to start a thread about a private GAA event which degenerated somewhat violently into a more public event. You know, on a GAA Board... ::)

Anyhow, whilst I was in fact otherwise engaged, I'm gratified to note that many other posters, who resisted the knee-jerk tendancy of the "Usual Suspects" to play the man rather than the ball whenever they see my name, have contributed to an interesting, informed and informative debate on the topic.

Of course, the discussion moved away somewhat from the original incident which gave rise to it, towards the subject of policing and public order generally, with specific reference to the Holy Lands.

On which point, those posters who consider that the problems which occur there eg on St. Paddy's Day, are actually a direct consequence of heavy-handed policing, rather than drink-fuelled blaggardism, might care to consider this intervention by a local public representative:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8303628.stm

Tuesday, 13 October 2009 06:58 UK

MLA to meet police over Holyland

South Belfast MLA Alex Maskey will meet with senior police officers later to discuss anti-social behaviour in the Holyland area of the city.

"Since the beginning of the university term, we have seen serious levels of anti-social behaviour," he said.

In September, Mr Maskey met with Employment and Learning Minister Reg Empey to discuss the issue.

Last year, 520 students were disciplined by Queen's and the University of Ulster over behaviour.

"At the most recent South Belfast DPP sub-group meeting residents from the Holyland area, while praising the work being done by PSNI officers in the ground, were critical of the management of resources in the area by senior PSNI management," continued Mr Maskey.

"Residents stated that they had felt very let down by the PSNI when they compared the resources actually used in the area with what they had been promised.

"I believe that it is incumbent upon the PSNI to develop a strategy to ensure that they are using adequate resources in the Holyland area. This will be the focus of my meeting with them."

Mr Maskey is to meet with representatives of Queen's University Students Union to discuss problems in the Holyland area on Wednesday.

Then again, that Maskey is always sticking up for the Peelers and demanding more of them on the streets. He'll be all for issuing them with heavier batons, next, or even Hurleys, to administer some traditional "community justice"... ;)