GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 09:35:36 AM

Title: Big Joe in line for the Galway job
Post by: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 09:35:36 AM
Speculation on the radio this morning that Joe Kernan is in line for the vacant Galway job

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0827/kernanj.html
Title: Re: Big Joe in line for the Galway job
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on August 27, 2009, 09:55:05 AM
I hear that big Joe is in the running for the Armagh Job?
Post by: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 10:02:12 AM
Quote from: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 09:35:36 AM
Speculation on the radio this morning that Joe Kernan is in line for the vacant Galway job

Couldn't be according to some here Joe would never manage any other county team. ;D
Post by: man in black on August 27, 2009, 10:10:06 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 10:02:12 AM

Couldn't be according to some here Joe would never manage any other county team. ;D

Joe Kernan said that with his own lips. Supermacs must have made him an offer he couldnt refuse.
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2009, 10:16:28 AM
Quote from: man in black on August 27, 2009, 10:10:06 AM

Joe Kernan said that with his own lips. Supermacs must have made him an offer he couldnt refuse.

It'll take more than auld Supermacs.  ;)
Post by: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 10:25:25 AM
supermacs is stinking.
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2009, 10:31:02 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 10:25:25 AM
supermacs is stinking.

He'd rather have a nice cup of tea anyway. Doesn't Micko love the tea as well ?

Post by: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 10:51:48 AM

Amazing how travel expenses will change a man mind
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 27, 2009, 10:53:30 AM
Quote from: man in black on August 27, 2009, 10:10:06 AM

Hey taking the hurling job is he. I would love it if Galway got Big Joe & even Micko in a dream team management, I would say bring it on.
Post by: rrhf on August 27, 2009, 11:22:42 AM
He could do a job with Galway, put some balls on them. 
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 11:37:13 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on August 27, 2009, 09:55:05 AM

Didn't he rule himself out a few weeks ago?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2009, 11:44:57 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2009, 10:31:02 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 10:25:25 AM
supermacs is stinking.

He'd rather have a nice cup of tea anyway. Doesn't Micko love the tea as well ?

with no actual info to go on regarding my thoughts on the galway job, I still feel for some reason that mick odwyer would jump at the opportunity if offered...
Post by: Billys Boots on August 27, 2009, 12:03:26 PM
No shortage of hotels in Galway for consulting fees either.  ::)
Post by: Orior on August 27, 2009, 12:25:58 PM
Are managers becoming Armagh's greatest export?

Maybe thats why the RIRA checkpoints were set up - to stop these boys moving away.
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2009, 12:29:35 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 27, 2009, 12:25:58 PM
Are managers becoming Armagh's greatest export?

Maybe thats why the RIRA checkpoints were set up - to stop these boys moving away.
[/b]
Or ensure their safe passage.
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 12:40:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 27, 2009, 12:34:38 PM
Joe should hold on. There might be a vacancy in Tyrone any day now and Joe has experience of leading teams to consecutive All Ireland Finals, a feat that proved beyond Harte ;D

We'll hold on to Mickey, thanks Tony. Three Sams isn't enough for us, hope you're content with your one ;)
Post by: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 12:46:22 PM
Joe should hold on. There might be a vacancy in Tyrone any day now and Joe has experience of leading teams to consecutive All Ireland Finals, a feat that proved beyond Harte ;D

No Fearon you hold on to him, made too many blunders while in charge of the orchard county. Who can forget the 05 semi when he took off the geezer just cos Cavanagh was showing him the heels. Or when a flu riffen, half fit Tyrone team took the Orangemen on a tour of Croke Park in 03 final. Kernan should have had 3 inter county successes. This would have made him a great manager, unfortunatly, the Armagh players were not GOOD enough.

And anyway, your only trying to put him off cos you want all the perks of managing a Galway team...(http://www.miltonkeynes.nhs.uk/nhs/static/img/content/who_is_at_risk.jpg)
Post by: haveaharp on August 27, 2009, 12:59:11 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 12:46:22 PM

No Fearon you hold on to him, made too many blunders while in charge of the orchard county. Who can forget the 05 semi when he took off the geezer just cos Cavanagh was showing him the heels. Or when a flu riffen, half fit Tyrone team took the Orangemen on a tour of Croke Park in 03 final. Kernan should have had 3 inter county successes. This would have made him a great manager, unfortunatly, the Armagh players were not GOOD enough.

And anyway, your only trying to put him off cos you want all the perks of managing a Galway team...(http://www.miltonkeynes.nhs.uk/nhs/static/img/content/who_is_at_risk.jpg)

Too much peroxide in 86
Monocelled team in 95
Sick to the stomach in 02
Flu ridden in 03
In detox in 04
"flying" in 05
In detox in 06
ditto 07
Atkins diet leading to facial hair explosion in 08
Stomach bugs (bless) in 09

Jesus what for 2010 ?

Post by: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 01:09:05 PM
imagine what we would have won if we had of been fit   :D
Post by: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 01:09:45 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 27, 2009, 12:59:11 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 12:46:22 PM

Too much peroxide in 86
Monocelled team in 95
Sick to the stomach in 02
Flu ridden in 03
In detox in 04
"flying" in 05
In detox in 06
ditto 07
Atkins diet leading to facial hair explosion in 08
Stomach bugs (bless) in 09

Jesus what for 2010 ?

Armagh 2010-will the team still be in transition? Or will the Kernans leak the team to the opposition again? Maybe its time to bring back Houli???
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 01:17:45 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 01:09:05 PM
imagine what we would have won if we had of been fit   :D

They eating the same lasagnas as your beloved Spurs?
Post by: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 01:19:35 PM
you have the wrong man Ziggy, I am no fan of Spurs
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 01:28:30 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 01:19:35 PM
you have the wrong man Ziggy, I am no fan of Spurs

Oops. When I see Tony posting about Tyrone, a red mist desends..  :D
Post by: tyronefan on August 27, 2009, 01:30:32 PM
I hear you brother
Post by: haveaharp on August 27, 2009, 02:23:44 PM

Armagh 2010-will the team still be in transition? Or will the Kernans leak the team to the opposition again? Maybe its time to bring back Houli???

Will the team still be in transition - no doubt yes. One must be realistic, Armagh have to get a plan A to start with and not the plan A B C D E and F that one Tyroneman told me Mickey Harte had to combat Cork. :D
Post by: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 02:39:12 PM
Yawn!!! another Fearon wanabe with a "we are not as good as Tyrone, so lets Run them down whenever we get the slighest oppertunity" mindset.

Id say Kernan could do well in Galway, at least they wouldnt shit the load a la Armagh.
Post by: haveaharp on August 27, 2009, 02:51:09 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 02:39:12 PM
Yawn!!! another Fearon wanabe with a "we are not as good as Tyrone, so lets Run them down whenever we get the slighest oppertunity" mindset.

Id say Kernan could do well in Galway, at least they wouldnt shit the load a la Armagh.

Not at all - noone would run down Tyrone if ye didnt build yourselves up to be slapped down and i for one was there supporting you last year. However the arrogance on some of these threads before the Cork game was astounding and disappointing for an Ulster side, id expect it of Kerry.

A few examples

From this thread alone ;D

"Gormley eats two Pearse O Neills every morning for breakfast! and anyhow fancy Ricey for that job, Gormley will have better players to deal with!" :o

A sarcy RRHF
"No this Cork  team are too good to fall flat again.  I went striaght into the bookies this morning and put my hard earned money on them to win Sam.  Our only hope is to batten down the hatches and play like we did V kerry in 2003."

Talktothehand
"harte will have plenty of time to get to grips with cork because like all tyrone people this is the game we've been expecting all year!"

Kickingmule
every game is different  ... yeah cork are a big side, ...massive midfield, strong runniing half backs, tall fast forward division, whats new then?

i believed after last sundays draw was made ... kildare was a serious outfit ..... @ that stage i would have taken cork if available, kildare have been taken care off, job done no panic, ...one game @ a time.

now we have cork ... i'm happy ... a totally new ball game for them, tyrone will ajust their gameplan accordlly and win this game!!!

can cork? ....i don't believe they can ..... tyrone to win ...with enough to spare

Kicking mule Again
totally agree .... as all-ireland champions why the hell  should we hold any fear of the rebels,
to be honest, kildare were the one team who concerned me .... and that hurdle has been cleared

Tyrone redhand
Enough of this negativity. We are the AI champions, we beat Kerry 3 times and we will beat them again if they make it past Meath ......why should we fear Cork ?

I think Tyrone will win this one with a bit to spare. We just have too much class with guys like Sean Cavanagh, Brian Dooher, Stevie and Mugsy. Also, I'd hope McCullagh starts this one. I think this is a game suited to him as he will get more space. Cork havent really beaten anyone except a poor Kerry side who IMO are a beaten docket. Dont be fooled by that Dublin result. I fancy Meath to beat them then it'll be revenge for '96 !!

what are u talking about. We are still a young team and will be winning AI for the next few years. I think we will beat Kerry if we meet them as I feel  they are over the hill at this stage but I dont see u lot beating them. and keep thing you will beat us by 5 or 6 pints, we luv that kinda talk...you will get a big surprise when we hammer you on our way to 2 in a row !

popinpoput
Have to say I have that warm feeling that I last experienced before the Dubs game last year.....fully expecting a comfortable victory...6+ points

Keyser Soze
I think this Cork team has been overhyped, they are still essentially the same players that have folded in major Croke Park occasions over the past few years, i don't think it will be any different this time tbh unless they get a blinding start and put Tyrone on the back foot. Other then that they will have to hope that Tyrone take the foot off the gas at some stage - as they have tended to do on occasion this year.

A comfortable win for Tyrone.

Fear on Strath Ban
Let's see Miskella and O'Leary launch their surging runs with Dooher and Mc Mahon
hanging off them.

Mickeys Beard
Tyrone by six.  Mulligan two goals.
:-X

Post by: Fear Boirche on August 27, 2009, 03:24:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 11:37:13 AM

Looks like it:

QuoteKernan rules out return to Orchard post
Gaelic Games
By Staff Reporter
23/07/09

JOE Kernan has ruled out any possibility of

returning to the Armagh management post left

vacant by Peter McDonnell.

The former All-Ireland winning manager has cited business commitments and the potential antagonism caused by having four sons on the panel as the key reasons why he will not consider going for the job.

Kernan and two business partners have recently started a new 'Sportstats' company. They have bought the franchise rights to a Global Positioning System (GPS) that monitors players in training.

Kernan's sons are now running his estate agency company while he focuses on selling the GPS kit to a range of teams from Gaelic football, hurling, rugby and soccer.

"I've started this new business and in the climate we are in at the moment, and after 30 years of looking after everybody else, I think I have to look after myself," said Kernan.

The Crossmaglen man went on: "I was very lucky to work with my club and my county. I do believe that with all the young boys who are there, we have a good future. But at this minute in time I would have to say: 'No'.

"I'm going to look after my business. We've got a lot of very big contracts and I think it's time for me to look after myself."

Kernan, who led Crossmaglen to three All-Ireland club titles, admitted that the potential for controversy due to the involvement of four of his sons in the squad was another reason why he would not allow his name to be put forward.

He said: "While there are great people out there, there are still a few bigots who just can't accept that Joe Kernan could manage a team with four of his sons on it.

"That is very sad. A few things have been said about it already. I had my own problems with it when I was there near the end.

"Some of the things which were done were very unfair. It's just sad that some people would spoil something that should be very good.

"But I would prefer to have happiness in my own house with my own family. My family means more to me than anything."

Following the news that Kernan has ruled himself out, speculation will now centre on whether Kieran McGeeney and Paul McGrimley will throw their hats in the ring.

McGeeney and his assistant manager Paul Grimley have won widespread praise for the job they have done with the Kildare footballers.

It will not have escaped the attention of Armagh fans that the Lilywhites racked up tallies of

1-16 (v Offaly), 2-12 (v Wexford), 2-18 (v Laois) and 0-18 v (Dublin) in the Leinster Championship.

Kildare were once totally dependent on John Doyle, but under McGeeney they are scoring freely from a variety of positions. Armagh supporters can certainly relate to a side that can struggle to score due to an over-dependence on a couple of marksmen.

Kernan said he was confident that McGeeney would be a success with Armagh, but noted that there was no guarantee the former Orchard captain would leave the Lilywhites.

"He's doing a good job in Kildare. I don't know what sort of a deal he has with them and whether he would be willing to leave them. That is up to Kieran.

"He has settled in well and he is doing a good job with the players. His players would jump through hoops for him and I'm sure he is very happy up there."

However, Kernan insisted that a great opportunity exists for whoever replaces Peter McDonnell. He firmly believes that Armagh have the potential to lift another All-Ireland title.

"In my honest opinion I think we can win another All-Ireland within the next five years. The players are all young enough. From Ronan Clarke at 26 to Kieran Toner at 20, I honestly believe that we are good enough to go on.

"I don't think we are going backwards," he said.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2009, 03:33:22 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 27, 2009, 12:03:26 PM
do you not reckon he'd do it for the love of the game ?
sure he loves long drives !
Post by: Billys Boots on August 27, 2009, 04:00:40 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2009, 03:33:22 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 27, 2009, 12:03:26 PM
do you not reckon he'd do it for the love of the game ?
sure he loves long drives !

As they might say in Ballinamore; 'No comment'.
Post by: D4S on August 27, 2009, 04:39:41 PM
Just deleted my last point as I believe i was VERY WRONG! Chatting to a good source just now and JK has actually already taken a training session with Galway which hasn't been mentioned yet here....but apologies if it was in the radio edit at the beginning of the thread I didnt listen to it!
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 05:08:35 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 27, 2009, 04:39:41 PM
Just deleted my last point as I believe i was VERY WRONG! Chatting to a good source just now and JK has actually already taken a training session with Galway which hasn't been mentioned yet here....but apologies if it was in the radio edit at the beginning of the thread I didnt listen to it!

So much for him no managing another county team, whilst his sons play for Armagh. Unless.... maybe he doesn't expect Armagh to get too far over the next few years ;)
Post by: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 05:31:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 05:08:35 PM

So much for him no managing another county team, whilst his sons play for Armagh. Unless.... maybe he doesn't expect Armagh to get too far over the next few years ;)

its alright ziggy I'm going to get some mileage out of this one. What people don't realise is he's very interested in another job as well- all in good time maybe!
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2009, 05:59:29 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 05:31:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 05:08:35 PM

its alright ziggy I'm going to get some mileage out of this one. What people don't realise is he's very interested in another job as well- all in good time maybe!

Dubs ?
Post by: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 06:45:36 PM

Indiana is under some misconception that we could  give a shite if joe managed someone else. could care less.

what he can't grasp is that we are pointing out he has said that himself.

Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 27, 2009, 06:46:21 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 06:45:36 PM

Indiana is under some misconception that we could  give a shite if joe managed someone else. could care less.

Exactly
Post by: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 06:50:31 PM

he also thinks that he's "in the know" because he knows joe hasn't exactly distanced himself when mentioned in terms of the dublin job previously - and made a few private overtures too
Post by: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 06:52:24 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 06:45:36 PM

Ouch -touched a nerve there. Some nordies are good at giving it but not so good when the shoe is on the other foot. ;D
Post by: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 07:02:03 PM

what exactly are you trying to get at us with?

I think any nerves touched may be due to the realization that you're still posting. every minute that passes without a self important post from you is a minute with hope...
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 27, 2009, 07:21:17 PM
Where the frig are the Galway people on this? It had turned into a Fearon v Tyrone thread!
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 08:04:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 27, 2009, 07:21:17 PM
Where the frig are the Galway people on this? It had turned into a Fearon v Tyrone thread!

I'll be interested in seeing what the fall-outs will be of the Down v Mayo game ;)
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on August 27, 2009, 08:07:56 PM

Don't most threads involving the Nordies?

This is pure speculation for the moment, I think it's better to see if he is appointed at all and then comment on his suitability for the post.
Whoever gets the job they have a tough station ahead of them regardless.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 27, 2009, 08:10:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2009, 08:04:59 PM

I'll be interested in seeing what the fall-outs will be of the Down v Mayo game ;)

I bet you will. ;D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 27, 2009, 08:18:32 PM

Not much to say really. It's all just speculation at this point. I'm still trying to figure out if he'd be a good appointment or not. His record is certainly impressive on the face of it but he'd certainly need some local help as well as while he might know the senior Galway players I'm sure his knowledge of who might be of use to him from the local club scene would understandably be limited.

Difficult to argue with his record in fairness. Granted maybe Armagh should have won another AI but they were remarkably consistent for many years but whether he can invest the same passion and energy into another county remains to be seen.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 27, 2009, 08:58:57 PM

I'll dispute that one!!!

Do any of the bookies offer a market on these things, the way that they do on every soccer manager??
Post by: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 09:29:26 PM

What are galway doing training?
Post by: Armamike on August 27, 2009, 09:31:17 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 27, 2009, 02:51:09 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on August 27, 2009, 02:39:12 PM

Not at all - noone would run down Tyrone if ye didnt build yourselves up to be slapped down and i for one was there supporting you last year. However the arrogance on some of these threads before the Cork game was astounding and disappointing for an Ulster side, id expect it of Kerry.

A few examples

From this thread alone ;D

"Gormley eats two Pearse O Neills every morning for breakfast! and anyhow fancy Ricey for that job, Gormley will have better players to deal with!" :o

A sarcy RRHF
"No this Cork  team are too good to fall flat again.  I went striaght into the bookies this morning and put my hard earned money on them to win Sam.  Our only hope is to batten down the hatches and play like we did V kerry in 2003."

Talktothehand
"harte will have plenty of time to get to grips with cork because like all tyrone people this is the game we've been expecting all year!"

Kickingmule
every game is different  ... yeah cork are a big side, ...massive midfield, strong runniing half backs, tall fast forward division, whats new then?

i believed after last sundays draw was made ... kildare was a serious outfit ..... @ that stage i would have taken cork if available, kildare have been taken care off, job done no panic, ...one game @ a time.

now we have cork ... i'm happy ... a totally new ball game for them, tyrone will ajust their gameplan accordlly and win this game!!!

can cork? ....i don't believe they can ..... tyrone to win ...with enough to spare

Kicking mule Again
totally agree .... as all-ireland champions why the hell  should we hold any fear of the rebels,
to be honest, kildare were the one team who concerned me .... and that hurdle has been cleared

Tyrone redhand
Enough of this negativity. We are the AI champions, we beat Kerry 3 times and we will beat them again if they make it past Meath ......why should we fear Cork ?

I think Tyrone will win this one with a bit to spare. We just have too much class with guys like Sean Cavanagh, Brian Dooher, Stevie and Mugsy. Also, I'd hope McCullagh starts this one. I think this is a game suited to him as he will get more space. Cork havent really beaten anyone except a poor Kerry side who IMO are a beaten docket. Dont be fooled by that Dublin result. I fancy Meath to beat them then it'll be revenge for '96 !!

what are u talking about. We are still a young team and will be winning AI for the next few years. I think we will beat Kerry if we meet them as I feel  they are over the hill at this stage but I dont see u lot beating them. and keep thing you will beat us by 5 or 6 pints, we luv that kinda talk...you will get a big surprise when we hammer you on our way to 2 in a row !

popinpoput
Have to say I have that warm feeling that I last experienced before the Dubs game last year.....fully expecting a comfortable victory...6+ points

Keyser Soze
I think this Cork team has been overhyped, they are still essentially the same players that have folded in major Croke Park occasions over the past few years, i don't think it will be any different this time tbh unless they get a blinding start and put Tyrone on the back foot. Other then that they will have to hope that Tyrone take the foot off the gas at some stage - as they have tended to do on occasion this year.

A comfortable win for Tyrone.

Fear on Strath Ban
Let's see Miskella and O'Leary launch their surging runs with Dooher and Mc Mahon
hanging off them.

Mickeys Beard
Tyrone by six.  Mulligan two goals.
:-X

Dear oh dear.
Post by: D4S on August 27, 2009, 10:37:20 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 09:29:26 PM

This is 100% FACT! He has been up and down meeting people concerned with te vacant post, and he took the players for a training session to get a feel for things!
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2009, 10:47:21 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 27, 2009, 10:37:20 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on August 27, 2009, 09:29:26 PM

This is 100% FACT! He has been up and down meeting people concerned with te vacant post, and he took the players for a training session to get a feel for things!

When is he supposed to have taken this session ? Before the playoffs ? Before the Connacht final ?
Post by: D4S on August 27, 2009, 10:53:46 PM
Within the last 10 days :-X
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2009, 10:55:49 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 27, 2009, 10:53:46 PM
Within the last 10 days :-X

By the way D4S, are you happy now, you Cork bast**d?  ;)
Post by: D4S on August 27, 2009, 11:03:54 PM
FOSB thankyou for asking........I have to say on the day I was hoping for a great game, and when cork when a few points up early on I wanted tyrone to get a goal to make it interesting, but on the whole the best team obviously won and that was what I hoped for so will be more than happy to wear my cork jersey on AI final day to cheer them on against Meath  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on August 27, 2009, 11:07:49 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 27, 2009, 08:18:32 PM

Not much to say really. It's all just speculation at this point. I'm still trying to figure out if he'd be a good appointment or not. His record is certainly impressive on the face of it but he'd certainly need some local help as well as while he might know the senior Galway players I'm sure his knowledge of who might be of use to him from the local club scene would understandably be limited.

Difficult to argue with his record in fairness. Granted maybe Armagh should have won another AI but they were remarkably consistent for many years but whether he can invest the same passion and energy into another county remains to be seen.

His biggest problem will be finding the hardened workers the galway team needs to compete with the big guns. I don't believe these types of players are in the current galway squad. They have enough skill in my view but they lack a few terriers who can play a bit.
Post by: muppet on August 27, 2009, 11:30:35 PM

He ruled out running a long time ago.
Post by: DuffleKing on August 28, 2009, 09:04:52 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 27, 2009, 11:30:35 PM

He ruled out running a long time ago.

he has also droned on and on about not managing other counties while selling himself flat out behind the scenes... take everything from joseph mor with a pinch of salt
Post by: rrhf on August 28, 2009, 09:25:06 AM
A sarcy RRHF
"No this Cork  team are too good to fall flat again.  I went striaght into the bookies this morning and put my hard earned money on them to win Sam.  Our only hope is to batten down the hatches and play like we did V kerry in 2003"

You really are grasping at straws there mate.   :D
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 28, 2009, 10:59:53 AM

Would agree with all of that and I would think the highlighted part would be absolutely critical to any "outside" appointment.  There have been a few names bandied about lately that I wouldnt like to see within an asses roar of our senior setup anytime soon.  I thought our county coffers were in relatively poor shape but there is obviously a good bit of loose change floating around somewhere if Joe is being swayed in our direction!
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2009, 11:37:02 AM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 28, 2009, 10:59:53 AM

Would agree with all of that and I would think the highlighted part would be absolutely critical to any "outside" appointment.  There have been a few names bandied about lately that I wouldnt like to see within an asses roar of our senior setup anytime soon.  I thought our county coffers were in relatively poor shape but there is obviously a good bit of loose change floating around somewhere if Joe is being swayed in our direction!
maybe kevin walsh would help out  - or even do it on his own !
Post by: myball22 on August 28, 2009, 01:05:44 PM
I see Ray Silke has ruled himself out of the running. He wrote in his Galway Advertiser column: 'There have been more names bandied about for the role than confetti at a wedding and some of them are off-the-wall suggestions.
'I would include myself in that category. I have not even managed a club team at senior level as of yet, never mind a county team. Still, paper never refuses ink.
'With a very young and growing family and a lot of work commitments, I would have no interest in managing any county team at this juncture.'

Who said he was in the running for the job anyway?  :P

On my own behalf I would also like to declare myself out of the running for the Galway job  :)

Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 28, 2009, 01:05:52 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2009, 11:37:02 AM

now now, dont be going upsetting Sligonian on a friday afternoon  ;) :D
Post by: supersarsfields on August 28, 2009, 01:18:47 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 28, 2009, 09:25:06 AM
A sarcy RRHF
"No this Cork  team are too good to fall flat again.  I went striaght into the bookies this morning and put my hard earned money on them to win Sam.  Our only hope is to batten down the hatches and play like we did V kerry in 2003"

You really are grasping at straws there mate.   :D

Would have to agree, in fact with more than just that one!!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 28, 2009, 01:54:49 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 28, 2009, 01:05:52 PM

Well lads, like Brian Clough was nothing without Peter Taylor, use his Leeds stint as evidence, Kevin Walsh is nothing without Sloyan, Durcan and Taylor, Now I would like to think Kevin is astute enough to know that, they wont budge so I doubt he will. Just to make sure ive sent him a copy of the Damned United with a wee note  :D :D :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2009, 02:27:45 PM

its friday and I couldnt help myself get upto a little bit of divilment !

Sorry sligonian !

Would actually love to see micko get the gig.
Post by: Hardy on August 28, 2009, 02:28:22 PM
Quote from: myball22 on August 28, 2009, 01:05:44 PM
I see Ray Silke has ruled himself out of the running. He wrote in his Galway Advertiser column: 'There have been more names bandied about for the role than confetti at a wedding and some of them are off-the-wall suggestions.
'I would include myself in that category. I have not even managed a club team at senior level as of yet, never mind a county team. Still, paper never refuses ink.
'With a very young and growing family and a lot of work commitments, I would have no interest in managing any county team at this juncture.'

On my own behalf I would also like to declare myself out of the running for the Galway job  :)

I'm out too.

"As of yet" - what does that mean?

First post of all time that's all monos ... mono ... words of one ... Feck!
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 28, 2009, 02:31:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 28, 2009, 02:28:22 PM
Quote from: myball22 on August 28, 2009, 01:05:44 PM

I'm out too.

"As of yet" - what does that mean?

First post of all time that's all monos ... mono ... words of one ... Feck!

Drink ! ! !
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 28, 2009, 03:48:07 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 28, 2009, 01:54:49 PM

Well lads, like Brian Clough was nothing without Peter Taylor, use his Leeds stint as evidence, Kevin Walsh is nothing without Sloyan, Durcan and Taylor, Now I would like to think Kevin is astute enough to know that, they wont budge so I doubt he will. Just to make sure ive sent him a copy of the Damned United with a wee note  :D :D :D
As with any good manager, Kevin has been astute enough to get guys in as part of his management team that know the in's and out's of Sligo football.  This is a skill in itself  ;).  The one thing he commands is respect, as he has done it at the highest level and has the medals and awards to show for it.  IMO he has done an excellent job in his first year as Sligo manager and I think they have the potential to win D3 in the league and possibly push on again in the championship next year.  He will need to at any rate as that Sligo crowd are damn hardy fcukers to keep happy if your anything to go by :P :D :D
Post by: mckieran on August 28, 2009, 10:13:42 PM
QuoteWho said he was in the running for the job anyway? 

Thats exactly what I was thinking when reading it! I wouldnt like Silke as manager. I still remember the Galway team he picked at the start of this season. And then at the end, he says no. 6 was one of our most troublesome areas since Tomas Mannion retired??? What planet is he on? Diarmuid Blake has been one of our top performers in the last few years.
Post by: mouview on August 28, 2009, 11:25:06 PM
NO, he's actually correct on that one - Blake has been exposed as not being good enough this year. Not sure if McKernan would suit Galway football, Peter Forde didn't anyway, but whoever get's the job will have their eyes opened fairly quickish as to the team's shortcomings. Goalie ok, in defence only Hanley and Bradshaw look good enough, Fitzie maybe, but time's not on his side; the rest of them, including the rest of the Corofin contingent are very average indeed. Midfield, the frontrunners Coleman and Bergin would hardly make one good player between them, though this is not now our worst sector. Up front things are a little bit better with Meehan, Conroy and hopefully Armstrong being fine. Nicky needs to find discipline and consistency and it's unlikely Big Joe would bring out the best in him. Hard to see PJ ever having a proper influence again. All other players are disposable and new blood needs to be found as a priority. Colin Forde, providing his injury clears up, is one for the uture. Tomas Fahy I thought would be good enough, and may still be, but needs to bulk up and more importantly *needs to stay away from malevolent influences around at home*. Copy Duine Eile??!!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 29, 2009, 06:49:52 AM
is it possible to claim mileage in mars bars ?
Post by: D4S on August 29, 2009, 03:19:38 PM
JK has accepted the job ;) They came lookin for him!

Just terms + *mileage* (cough) to be agreed!
Post by: orangeman on August 29, 2009, 08:09:47 PM
Quote from: D4S on August 29, 2009, 03:19:38 PM
JK has accepted the job ;) They came lookin for him!

Just terms + *mileage* (cough) to be agreed!

It's a fair auld run from Cross to Galway.It would add up to a good few yoyos.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 29, 2009, 09:57:47 PM
Of all the contacts I have in the county, North, Mid and South, none are indicating any truth in this so it may be Galway putting the word out more than anything else...

Though, if it comes to it, I will be willing to say I got it wrong but I don't think so at this point.
Post by: Duine Eile on August 29, 2009, 10:22:10 PM
There's been no final decision been made by anyone yet, the clubs nomination papers don't have to be in until next Friday so nobody has been given the job yet and won't either until after next Friday.
Post by: johnpower on August 29, 2009, 10:22:35 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on August 28, 2009, 05:33:30 PM
Joe mightn't have a problem with his sons playing for Armagh if Paul Grimley takes over as manager.

Will this be a big stumbling block to Grimley getting the job ?
Post by: orangeman on August 29, 2009, 10:24:25 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 29, 2009, 10:22:35 PM
Joe mightn't have a problem with his sons playing for Armagh if Paul Grimley takes over as manager.

When they're winning, no - when they're losing yes.

That's the way it always is.
Post by: johnpower on August 29, 2009, 10:29:07 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 29, 2009, 10:24:25 PM

The inter county manager position is becomning a real pressure position . How many counties at this stage are looking for a new manager ? I can count Down,Armagh,Galway  how many more ?
Post by: orangeman on August 29, 2009, 10:37:15 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 29, 2009, 10:29:07 PM

The inter county manager position is becomning a real pressure position . How many counties at this stage are looking for a new manager ? I can count Down,Armagh,Galway  how many more ?

Even club managers are under fierce pressure.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 30, 2009, 04:14:41 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on August 29, 2009, 09:57:47 PM
Of all the contacts I have in the county, North, Mid and South, none are indicating any truth in this so it may be Galway putting the word out more than anything else...

And sure why would they do that? They would have absolutely nothing to gain by fabricating a Joe Kernan is interested story. It is a fairly high profile job as it is.
Post by: cadhlancian on August 30, 2009, 05:07:18 AM
Quote from: johnpower on August 29, 2009, 10:29:07 PM

The inter county manager position is becomning a real pressure position . How many counties at this stage are looking for a new manager ? I can count Down,Armagh,Galway  how many more ? Kerry on monday ;D
Post by: D4S on August 30, 2009, 12:10:53 PM

Though, if it comes to it, I will be willing to say I got it wrong but I don't think so at this point.
I am telling you now FACT it is his job if he wants it, and he did take a session with the players last week to meet up with them.  All supposed to be very hush hush but I have spoke to an excellent source whom I trust and Joe Kernan will be the next Galway manager, and good luck to him!
Post by: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 12:52:27 PM

Spoke to a very prominent source in Galway who says while its not quite a done deal , its very close to being- he's very interested. Think the travel is a drawback though.
I can't see Joe kernan sitting around for a decade waiting for his sons to be all retired before taking a county team again. There are very few good inter county managers out there and he's one of them. He can't take the armagh job because of his sons but the chances of galway meeting armagh are fairly remote.
I'd love to see him take the Dublin job personally at some point. ;)
Post by: DuffleKing on August 30, 2009, 02:15:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 30, 2009, 12:52:27 PM

Spoke to a very prominent source in Galway who says while its not quite a done deal , its very close to being- he's very interested. Think the travel is a drawback though.
I can't see Joe kernan sitting around for a decade waiting for his sons to be all retired before taking a county team again. There are very few good inter county managers out there and he's one of them. He can't take the armagh job because of his sons but the chances of galway meeting armagh are fairly remote.
I'd love to see him take the Dublin job personally at some point. ;)

joe couldn't get the armagh job thins time - subtle difference,

also, there's still a bit of daylight between joe and galway on finance. money is a bigger issue now for hoe than it may have been in the past.
Post by: Logan on August 30, 2009, 04:38:31 PM
I'd love to know the make up of his backroom team if he does take it
Post by: Louth Exile on August 31, 2009, 05:43:52 PM
Expect an announcement on this shortly, probably this evening!!

Post by: Zapatista on August 31, 2009, 06:18:29 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on August 31, 2009, 05:43:52 PM
Expect an announcement on this shortly, probably this evening!!

Headline news on RTE. Not an announcement but the story.
Post by: armaghniac on August 31, 2009, 08:30:23 PM
QuoteI'd love to know the make up of his backroom team if he does take it

perhaps that is why Mohammed Ali is visiting Ireland.  :)
Post by: galwayman on August 31, 2009, 09:33:02 PM
I think it would be great news for us if Joe were to take the job. A man with a proven track record in managament at both club and county level is exactly what we need.
Having said that - Joe really would be some manager if he can be successful with Galway given the lack of talent in the current squad.
We just don't have the players at the moment I'm afraid.
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2009, 09:43:42 PM
Done deal. d4s got it right.
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 31, 2009, 09:57:37 PM
Not a good idea for the tribesman.

However I may have misinterpreted the thread title and assumed Kernan rather than Bergin in a player / manager role.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on August 31, 2009, 10:19:32 PM
Sure Big Joe can get a lift with Leitrim's Mickey Moran and John Morrison as far as Carrick-on-Shannon, surely someone from Galway can wade their way through Roscommon and get him the rest of the way..... problem solved. 
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 31, 2009, 10:23:02 PM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on August 31, 2009, 10:19:32 PM
Sure Big Joe can get a lift with Leitrim's Mickey Moran and John Morrison as far as Carrick-on-Shannon, surely someone from Galway can wade their way through Roscommon and get him the rest of the way..... problem solved.

Just buy a motorbike and sidecar for them. ;D
Post by: cicfada on August 31, 2009, 10:28:04 PM
" Will Galway bate Mayo?...... ............they will with Big Joe!"   :P
Post by: Shortso79 on August 31, 2009, 10:36:33 PM
Kernan Expresses Galway Interest

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/0831/kernanj.html
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 01, 2009, 10:18:33 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 28, 2009, 03:48:07 PM

As with any good manager, Kevin has been astute enough to get guys in as part of his management team that know the in's and out's of Sligo football.  This is a skill in itself  ;).  The one thing he commands is respect, as he has done it at the highest level and has the medals and awards to show for it.  IMO he has done an excellent job in his first year as Sligo manager and I think they have the potential to win D3 in the league and possibly push on again in the championship next year.  He will need to at any rate as that Sligo crowd are damn hardy fcukers to keep happy if your anything to go by :P :D :D
Yes I am , I expect the best. I expect us to get promoted again no doubt and then win ConNacht in 2010. anything else is a failure. No pressure then for KW ;).

Interestiing when kernan was asked about taking back the Armagh job a while back, he listed various excuses then when he becomes linked to Galway job he files a formal appllication. Wonder where all those business and personal activities went to ;)
Post by: stew on September 01, 2009, 10:33:15 PM
Quote from: galwayman on August 31, 2009, 09:33:02 PM
I think it would be great news for us if Joe were to take the job. A man with a proven track record in managament at both club and county level is exactly what we need.
Having said that - Joe really would be some manager if he can be successful with Galway given the lack of talent in the current squad.

Joe is a proven winner at both Club and County level, he is a tremendous motivator and I wish him nothing but the best in his new role with Galway.

Joe will make Galway better, he will add an edge to them and they will be very well prepared, make no mistake, Galway will improve under JK.
Post by: D4S on September 01, 2009, 10:34:19 PM
Aer Arann and free flights from dublin to galway...that's all I'm saying ::)
Post by: Armamike on September 01, 2009, 10:41:12 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 01, 2009, 10:18:33 PM

Yes I am , I expect the best. I expect us to get promoted again no doubt and then win ConNacht in 2010. anything else is a failure. No pressure then for KW ;).

Interestiing when kernan was asked about taking back the Armagh job a while back, he listed various excuses then when he becomes linked to Galway job he files a formal appllication. Wonder where all those business and personal activities went to ;)

Exactly. That was spin.
Post by: thebandit on September 01, 2009, 10:54:16 PM
Quote from: D4S on September 01, 2009, 10:34:19 PM
Aer Arann and free flights from dublin to galway...that's all I'm saying ::)

Would you fancy commuting from Cross to Galway 3 times a week?

I don't think its unreasonable to get flights.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 01, 2009, 10:58:12 PM
Quote from: Armamike on September 01, 2009, 10:41:12 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 01, 2009, 10:18:33 PM

Exactly. That was spin.

couldn't get the armagh job
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 01, 2009, 10:58:33 PM
Quote from: stew on September 01, 2009, 10:33:15 PM
Quote from: galwayman on August 31, 2009, 09:33:02 PM

Joe is a proven winner at both Club and County level, he is a tremendous motivator and I wish him nothing but the best in his new role with Galway.

Joe will make Galway better, he will add an edge to them and they will be very well prepared, make no mistake, Galway will improve under JK.

I think he could be a success in the role as long as he lets the team play when they have the ball. Peter Ford went too far in the other direction and completely stifled our attacking play in the hope of keeping the score down at the other end. Hopefully Kernan (if he takes the job) will add something to our physical preparation (which was pretty poor this year by all accounts) and he adds some organisational discipline to the squad. And he teaches them how to tackle. Our tackling this year was shambolic at times although how much of that was down to them not being conditioned properly is hard to tell. It's not an easy job as Galway like a fair few others look a fair bit behind the likes of Kerry, Cork and Tyrone but there is plenty of good players there to work with. Undoubtably he will have to find a few new lads to fill certain roles though.

If he takes the job of course.
Post by: cadhlancian on September 02, 2009, 02:29:41 AM
lads. dress it up all you like, it it MOST definetly about the MONEY, and to a lesser degree the quality of players at his disposal. I watched Joe Kernan , a couple of years back talking in an interview, saying that he would most definetly NEVER manage another county, apart from his own, well what do you know? ::) Two years later, Armagh don't have a manager, and Big Joe fancies travelling halfway around the world to manage another team. Probably he had just watched that great American Baseball movie " for the love of the game" :P . Anyways lads, how much do you reckon hes getting?
Post by: Zapatista on September 02, 2009, 08:03:27 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on September 02, 2009, 02:29:41 AM
I watched Joe Kernan , a couple of years back talking in an interview, saying that he would most definetly NEVER manage another county, apart from his own, well what do you know? ::)

I certainly wouldn't begrudge him, he's allowed a change of heart.

It's bonus too that he won't be commentating from the sideline for TV3. Everyones a winner.
Post by: rrhf on September 02, 2009, 08:27:53 AM
great to see him back in the game. 
Post by: AbbeySider on September 02, 2009, 09:28:55 AM
To be honest its a great appointment for Galway if he does take the job.

On a personal level, if he does take it he will always be a hypocrite in my eyes.
He has said countless times that he could never manage another team outside of Crossmaglen and Armagh.

It looks like he is after the money.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 02, 2009, 09:49:08 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 02, 2009, 09:28:55 AM

On a personal level, if he does take it he will always be a hypocrite in my eyes.
He has said countless times that he could never manage another team outside of Crossmaglen and Armagh.

Sure aren't they all Abbeysider. In fairness to big joe if he does take the gig at least its not in the province of ulster and at least he has some connection as his mother was from galway . i allways liked joe and admired what he has done for both crossmaglen and Armagh.   
Post by: Barney on September 02, 2009, 10:13:15 AM
A great appointment for Galway for sure.

You have to admire the way their Board goes about appointing managers. Aim high, act quietly and quickly and get the deal done. Money is never a problem, whatever is best for the county. And when the right man is there he is generally supported to the hilt.

Joe has the raw material and should definitely have the maroon and white in the Quarter Finals next year and from there his real worth will be tested.
Post by: INDIANA on September 02, 2009, 10:24:11 AM

He's never made any secret of the fact he wanted to manage outside teams privately. He's always been interested in the Dublin job for instance so its no surprise to me. Joe is probably well into his 50's at thsi stage, how many more chances will he get to manage at this level? Especially with a team with the sort of latent talent  Galway has. The chances of them meeting Armagh are fairly remote anyway.
I doubt very much with his job that Joe needs the money that much. This is a football decision.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 02, 2009, 10:27:23 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on September 02, 2009, 10:24:11 AM

He's never made any secret of the fact he wanted to manage outside teams privately. He's always been interested in the Dublin job for instance so its no surprise to me. Joe is probably well into his 50's at thsi stage, how many more chances will he get to manage at this level? Especially with a team with the sort of latent talent  Galway has. The chances of them meeting Armagh are fairly remote anyway.
I doubt very much with his job that Joe needs the money that much. This is a football decision.

Yopu're not going to believe this Indiana but for opnce I agree with you.  If Joe does take the Galway job it will be for football reasons as he sees a slumbering giant needing a kick in the arse the way he did with us at club level.

I am still skeptical that it will come through and Grimley taking the Monaghan role may change things a bit I feel, but if he does go I wish him the best.
Post by: Sandino on September 02, 2009, 10:32:54 AM
This could be a great appointment for Galway. He have a great record and Galway players have a load of talent. This could really shake up football in the west and help regain the glory days. As a tyrone man I say fair play to galway and good luck.
Post by: AbbeySider on September 02, 2009, 11:42:35 AM
He's never made any secret of the fact he wanted to manage outside teams privately. He's always been interested in the Dublin job for instance so its no surprise to me.

Privately? Never made any secret? Really...?

I have heard Kernan in person say that he would never manage anyone else.

As well as that he has said the same to media.
I would be interested to know where your hearing that he wanted the Dublin job.
Or that he was openly saying that he would manage other teams  ::)
Surely he would have been picked before Pat Gilroy if it was the case that he was interested in the Dublin job?
I mean  Pat Gilroy or Joe Kernan... like seriously... 

Joe is probably well into his 50's at thsi stage, how many more chances will he get to manage at this level?
Are you having a laugh? Any county in the country jump at the chance of getting him in. Its not like he wouldnt be getting big offers.

Especially with a team with the sort of latent talent Galway has. The chances of them meeting Armagh are fairly remote anyway.
Talent?
No offence lads but Galway are limited enough, no more than Mayo.
But the difference is that I dont see as much talent coming through for Galway.

This is a football decision.
Not in my book
Post by: ballinaman on September 02, 2009, 11:54:39 AM

Don't think he'll make much of a difference, fairly limited team, (no more than ourselves), Padraig Joyce on the way out and not a whole lot of underage quality players coming through. Contrast Galway to Roscommon who will have a serious team soon with the underage players coming through
Post by: AbbeySider on September 02, 2009, 11:56:34 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 02, 2009, 10:27:23 AM
If Joe does take the Galway job it will be for football reasons as he sees a slumbering giant needing a kick in the arse the way he did with us at club level.

He is about 3-4 years too late
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 02, 2009, 12:42:48 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 02, 2009, 11:54:39 AM

Contrast Galway to Roscommon who will have a serious team soon with the underage players coming through

Galway have won 2 U-21 All-Ireland's and a minor this decade. Roscommon have won a minor yet it's Roscommon who have all the good young players? The management and political selection of the Galway minor team in particular has been shambolic in recent years (bar under Alan Mulholland) but don't be hoodwinked by that. There are some very good young players coming through in Galway. We always produce players. They are not always given the best chance to shine though as underage managment seems to be an afterthought in Galway and often awarded to lads who should be nowhere near a job like that (I can think of one especially in recent years). Granted Mayo are on a bit of a roll at present underage in Connacht but but before that it was Galway dominating underage for a few years. That's just the way it goes. The wheel will turn again before long.

Nobody is saying that we are not a long way behind Kerry, Cork and Tyrone but we do have some talent to work with. Meath have reached two of the past three All-Ireland semi-finals and they have won far less at underage than Galway this decade so aspirations of reaching semi-finals at least are hardly fanciful. Bottom line. We should be doing better than just getting to the quarter-finals every year or in this year's case not even getting that far.
Post by: INDIANA on September 02, 2009, 01:18:20 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 02, 2009, 11:42:35 AM
He's never made any secret of the fact he wanted to manage outside teams privately. He's always been interested in the Dublin job for instance so its no surprise to me.

Privately? Never made any secret? Really...?

I have heard Kernan in person say that he would never manage anyone else.

As well as that he has said the same to media.
I would be interested to know where your hearing that he wanted the Dublin job.
Or that he was openly saying that he would manage other teams  ::)
Surely he would have been picked before Pat Gilroy if it was the case that he was interested in the Dublin job?
I mean  Pat Gilroy or Joe Kernan... like seriously... 

Joe is probably well into his 50's at thsi stage, how many more chances will he get to manage at this level?
Are you having a laugh? Any county in the country jump at the chance of getting him in. Its not like he wouldnt be getting big offers.

Especially with a team with the sort of latent talent Galway has. The chances of them meeting Armagh are fairly remote anyway.
Talent?
No offence lads but Galway are limited enough, no more than Mayo.
But the difference is that I dont see as much talent coming through for Galway.

This is a football decision.
Not in my book

1- JK is very well in with a lot of prominent Dublin football people. From what I know he's very mindful of not ending up playing Armagh in the final when managing someone else. So thats why in my view this is a football decision and I'd say he didn't decide over a cup of tea to take it. It's be perfect for Dublin- the media hype wouldn't bother him at all he's that sort of character.
DCB don't appoint outsiders for the football job thats the bottom line. They could have made a serious play for JOC but again our outdated policy ensured that it never even got off the ground.

2- I think there is  lot of ability in Galway- I think they are terribly badly organised though at all levels. They produce natural ball players like Kerry. Not sure any other county does. So we beg to differ on that.

3- You're entitled to your opinion on the money aspect. But as I said above this is a football decision in my view based on the fact that he mighn't have the energy for senior inter coutny management in a few years. He'd hate to play armagh in a final, but as I said the chances are remote.
He's done very well for himself in business, he doesn't need the money. So i don't agree there.
Post by: Logan on September 02, 2009, 01:28:54 PM
I can't see how it's a 100% football decision
No way

Indiana - your points (especially about Dublin) don't add up to enough of a reason. Some of your other reasons aren't accurate either.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 02, 2009, 01:38:03 PM
I doubt he's making a fortune off the Galway county board anyway which makes me think this isn't entirely a monetary decision. The board allegedly were nearly skint after building the Galway football centre out in Loughgeorge and I can't see Aer Arann stumping up big bucks in the current economic climate. I'm sure they will try do the best for him as far as travel and expenses go but I would be very surprised if he's making anything like what some people think he's going to be getting. The county board just don't have that type of money and they don't have a sugar daddy investor (that I know of).
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 02, 2009, 01:43:53 PM
Quote from: Logan on September 02, 2009, 01:28:54 PM
No way

Indiana - your points (especially about Dublin) don't add up to enough of a reason. Some of your other reasons aren't accurate either.
Have to say that I'd agree with Indiana on what he said regarding Dublin.

I'd expect Galway to have decen talent, they always do.

As for money making - I dont think hes too badly off. Certainly doesnt look impoverished !
Another man (like grimley) who is football mad and while most of us would baulk at a long round trip that the likes of ODwyer, grimley, Mickey moran/morrison and now maybe JK all do to manage their teams - these guys do it and sometimes no money is enough for that lost time.

Post by: INDIANA on September 02, 2009, 03:00:44 PM
Quote from: Logan on September 02, 2009, 01:28:54 PM
No way

What points exactly?

- that he wouldn't be interested in the Dublin job? Of course he would

- that the DCB don't appoint outsiders? - they don't.

- that JOC wasn't a possibility talked about back in October?- he was but as usual it never even got to first base.

People must think he's going to get 100k or something. No short drive to salthill 3 days a week and weekends. If thats a decision motivated by money its silly. Because its far easier as people here know to make more money on the club scene than at most county teams. with the exception of a couple. I've never really heard of Galway been flush with GAA sugar daddies.

Post by: Logan on September 02, 2009, 03:12:59 PM
You'd be amazed the figures for IC managers these days

I'm very doubtful if flights and many nights away from home are all for the good of 'spreading' the Armagh Gospel as someone said!!
Post by: orangeman on September 02, 2009, 03:57:17 PM
I was lsitening to the radio last night and ir said something along the lines of Kernan wanting the job but that there a couple of outstanidng issues to be resolved, one of them being the travel distance, but that with Aer Arann sponsoring Galway, that this issue would be resolved handy enough.

Was this just tongue in cheek or were they suggesting flying him to Galway for training etc ?
Post by: JMohan on September 02, 2009, 04:01:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 02, 2009, 03:57:17 PM
I was lsitening to the radio last night and ir said something along the lines of Kernan wanting the job but that there a couple of outstanidng issues to be resolved, one of them being the travel distance, but that with Aer Arann sponsoring Galway, that this issue would be resolved handy enough.

Was this just tongue in cheek or were they suggesting flying him to Galway for training etc ?
Yes
Post by: orangeman on September 02, 2009, 04:12:22 PM
Quote from: JMohan on September 02, 2009, 04:01:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 02, 2009, 03:57:17 PM

Yes

Did they not fly Paudie to Westemath one year ?
Post by: ross matt on September 02, 2009, 05:31:11 PM
I doubt if Kernan's motivation is monetary to any great extent. He's manager with a very successful record and previous to that was an outstanding intercounty player who now had 4 sons following in his footsteps. Surely he has  a passion and hunger for the game? Of course he will have to be financially rewarded but I would imagine that would be very secondary in his concerns.

Like most neutrals he's bound to have an admiration for Galway's natural talent and style of play. However I do think he's a year or two late. Galway were very disappointing this season. Failed to build on the promising previous one. Badly lacking options in midfield, centre back & the half forwardline. Joyce is nearing the end of his career. Deccie Meehan surely in the same boat. Donnellan hardly returning now. Bergin whilst a fine player has never fulfilled his potential due to injuries etc. They appear to have incorporated all the likely talent of their two successful u-21 sides. The winning minor side may have one or two more to add to Conroy but surely they'd be coming on stream now?

I think Mayo have the up and coming talent. In Roscommon we've had one AI winning minor side.....one or two other minor & U-21 sides that underachieved but that's only the makings of a competitive senior side in the next 2-3 years. Nothing that will win major silverware. Mayo have had an assembly line of talent coming from u-21. Personally I think the likes of Kernan would be more suitable for them. Galway still have outstanding individuals but you'd imagine they'd need a more root and branch approach from someone who's clued in to the current club scene and local politics.
Post by: armaghniac on September 02, 2009, 07:10:14 PM
Part of Big Joe's success has been the team around him. At Armagh he had Grimley, and McCloskey as trainer. In Galway he'll need a team with local knowledge.
Post by: under the bar on September 02, 2009, 11:11:07 PM
Am I right in thinking that a board regular might be in line to eat a big slice of humble pie cos of the way he slated another poster from his county who said Joe might soon be taking another county mgt job?

As I recall he then went on to state he something along the lines of he knew the Kernans personally and Joe would never take another county job while his sons played for Armagh etc?

Post by: moysider on September 03, 2009, 01:16:14 AM

To be honest I just dont get what Galway are doing here. Why Kernan? Has this been thought out?

Any team I ve seen Kernan in charge of were very different to what The Galway footballing public want to see from their team. And eh... the players as well. Forde got ate when he tried to get them to play the Kernan way. Salmon was more a traditionalist/ romanticist but when he did nt win his ways are passé apparently and senior players expected to win. What do Galway people think Kernan will bring to the party?

Galway have won 2 AIs since 98. Surely there should be some managerial material coming out of those teams - Sligo at least gave Walsh a chance. Where s the likes of Fahy, Mannion, Ja, Donnellan, Clancy, Joyce even though still a player?
Post by: JMohan on September 03, 2009, 08:08:56 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 02, 2009, 07:10:14 PM
Part of Big Joe's success has been the team around him. At Armagh he had Grimley, and McCloskey as trainer. In Galway he'll need a team with local knowledge.
That would be my concern too
Post by: Carbery on September 03, 2009, 09:46:00 AM
Quote from: JMohan on September 03, 2009, 08:08:56 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 02, 2009, 07:10:14 PM
That would be my concern too

In Crossmaglen he had Donal McKenna and Ollie Entee in his management setup.
Post by: AbbeySider on September 03, 2009, 10:05:41 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 03, 2009, 01:16:14 AM

To be honest I just dont get what Galway are doing here. Why Kernan? Has this been thought out?

Any team I ve seen Kernan in charge of were very different to what The Galway footballing public want to see from their team. And eh... the players as well. Forde got ate when he tried to get them to play the Kernan way. Salmon was more a traditionalist/ romanticist but when he did nt win his ways are passé apparently and senior players expected to win. What do Galway people think Kernan will bring to the party?

Galway have won 2 AIs since 98. Surely there should be some managerial material coming out of those teams - Sligo at least gave Walsh a chance. Where s the likes of Fahy, Mannion, Ja, Donnellan, Clancy, Joyce even though still a player?

Good post Moy
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2009, 10:47:59 AM
Galway want the Micko factor, if you know what I mean, being delivered by a modern day coach / manager. I thnk they'd have taken Micko were it not for his age. Joe will be expected to bring new methods and deliver a bounce after the team not living up to its undoubted potential.

Galway need a couple of new players and that's something Joe can't deliver.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 03, 2009, 11:27:38 AM

In fairness to Kernan while Armagh were involved in some dour struggles especially in Ulster they did actually play some very good football once they got to Croke Park. It's hard to argue with his record and at the moment there doesn't seem to be any stand-out local candidate. Walsh is committed to Sligo for now while the likes of Joyce and Silke who one day willl probably go into management haven't yet. There are a couple of lads with club All-Ireland titles but people just don't see them being up to it I guess. Sammon had the team playing nice football alright but all year the players weren't happy with the physical preparation they did. They faded badly in the 2nd half so many games between league and championship it was ridiculous. Just about the only game they finished strongly all year was the Connacht final.
Post by: mckieran on September 03, 2009, 07:17:59 PM
QuoteIn fairness to Kernan while Armagh were involved in some dour struggles especially in Ulster they did actually play some very good football once they got to Croke Park. It's hard to argue with his record and at the moment there doesn't seem to be any stand-out local candidate

Yeah, its one of these incorrect GAA myths that Kernans Armagh team focussed on physicality. Sure, they had physical players but those guys could play and they played some fantastic stuff. How could you not with players like Marsden, McDonnell, McConville, Clarke in the forwards?
Post by: under the bar on September 03, 2009, 09:36:57 PM
Joe made an all-ireland winning side out of a of a bunch of Div 2 & 3 rate players.  What on earth makes anyone think could he not do a good job with Galway?
Post by: D4S on September 04, 2009, 11:36:47 AM
Quote from: under the bar on September 03, 2009, 09:36:57 PM
Joe made an all-ireland winning side out of a of a bunch of Div 2 & 3 rate players.  What on earth makes anyone think could he not do a good job with Galway?

That's a load of crap! He inherited a team on the cusp. They'd won a couple of Ulster titles in recent years and made an all ireland semi final in 2000, taking kerry to a replay, which was also a draw and were only beaten in extra time! Hardly div 2 or 3 standard!  kernan was the last cog needed to push armagh over the line and win the all-ireland....but he did not miraculously transform some mediocre team!

Mickey harte did the same with tyrone in 03.  Kernan and harte are both great motivators and command respect within their ranks.
Post by: mountainboii on September 04, 2009, 11:50:21 AM
Quote from: D4S on September 04, 2009, 11:36:47 AM
Quote from: under the bar on September 03, 2009, 09:36:57 PM

That's a load of crap! He inherited a team on the cusp. They'd won a couple of Ulster titles in recent years and made an all ireland semi final in 2000, taking kerry to a replay, which was also a draw and were only beaten in extra time! Hardly div 2 or 3 standard!  kernan was the last cog needed to push armagh over the line and win the all-ireland....but he did not miraculously transform some mediocre team!

Mickey harte did the same with tyrone in 03.  Kernan and harte are both great motivators and command respect within their ranks.

Bet he didn't expect to catch a Down fishy  :D
Post by: mouview on September 04, 2009, 12:14:12 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 03, 2009, 11:27:38 AM

In fairness to Kernan while Armagh were involved in some dour struggles especially in Ulster they did actually play some very good football once they got to Croke Park. It's hard to argue with his record and at the moment there doesn't seem to be any stand-out local candidate. Walsh is committed to Sligo for now while the likes of Joyce and Silke who one day willl probably go into management haven't yet. There are a couple of lads with club All-Ireland titles but people just don't see them being up to it I guess. Sammon had the team playing nice football alright but all year the players weren't happy with the physical preparation they did. They faded badly in the 2nd half so many games between league and championship it was ridiculous. Just about the only game they finished strongly all year was the Connacht final.

Hard to see Silke (or Joyce) ever getting the big job. They would need to prove themselves in club management first and I don't think either would ever have the full nailed-on support of the players, given that there's a bit of rivalry between Corofin and Killererin (and Corofin and everyone else for that matter - mainly through jealousy of their success). SIlke does tend to fanny it a bit too, a-la Niall Quinn. Kevin Walsh on the other hand would be universally respected.
Post by: mckieran on September 04, 2009, 03:39:10 PM
QuoteSIlke does tend to fanny it a bit too, a-la Niall Quinn

Nice comparison!

QuoteKevin Walsh on the other hand would be universally respected.

Indeed he would. As would players like Gary Fahey and Tomas Mannion
Post by: Carbery on September 05, 2009, 11:13:58 AM
Former Westmeath manager Tomas O Flatharta is to challenge Joe Kernan for the Galway football manager's position.

O Flatharta, who stood down as Lake County boss this summer, has informed Galway officials he is willing to go forward for the job after being among the nominees. Sligo manager Kevin Walsh, ex-Clare boss Frank Walsh, former selector Pete Warren and Joe Kernan were also been nominated for the position. However, only Kernan and O Flatharta are interested in succeeding Liam Sammon.

Former Armagh All-Ireland winning manager Kernan, who remains the favourite for the job, was nominated by five clubs.

Ironically, one of O Flatharta's greatest days in charge of Westmeath came in 2006 when they recorded a famous All-Ireland qualifier victory in Pearse Stadium. He was brought to the midlands by fellow Kerryman Paidi O Se in 2003 and was O Se's right-hand man when Westmeath won their first Leinster SFC title the following year.

He succeeded O Se as manager in late 2005 and led Westmeath to an All-Ireland quarter-final appearance in 2006 as well as to a NFL Division 2 title last year. But the fact that they endured a disastrous 2009 is unlikely to help O Flatharta's chances of landing the Galway job.

Galway football board secretary Seamus O'Grady confirmed Kernan and O'Flatharta had declared their intention to go forward for the position.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 05, 2009, 02:37:04 PM
QuoteKernan's appointment close to done deal

FRONTRUNNER for the vacant Galway senior football manager's job, Joe Kernan, says he can lead Galway to All-Ireland success.

The Crossmaglen man, who is now a dead-cert to succeed Liam Sammon as Galway boss, told Tribune Sport this week that the abundant talent of players available and the strong football tradition in the county, means winning the Sam Maguire Cup is "without a shadow of a doubt" something that can be achieved again in the next few years.

Kernan, who managed Armagh's All-Ireland winning side of 2002, also revealed that when he was approached initially by officials from the Football Board, he was reluctant to take the post because of the long journey involved by car every week and for family reasons.

However, a hunger to get back into inter-county management at a top level and the opportunity to work with skilful players and officials in Galway "who seem driven and passionate about their football" persuaded him to throw his hat into the ring.

"I was approached by a couple of county teams but they didn't really appeal to me. Then I spoke to people at the Salthill/Knocknacarra club when I was in Galway a few weeks ago and I also met with County Board officials and I just had a good gut-feeling about Galway.

"I did my time with Armagh and I decided maybe it was time for a new challenge and I decided not to go back. The feeling I got from Galway is great and the officials seem driven and passionate as well.

"Then Galway came in and I discussed it with my family and they all said 'yes' so I put my name forward. I have been officially nominated now and I have to wait and see. Transport (to Galway) was a stumbling block at the start because (I thought) car was the only way to get there. But Galway football is sponsored by Aer Arann and I'm just a 45-minutes drive from Dublin Airport and Galway Airport is only a few miles to the training facility at Loughgeorge, which looks amazing, and so I decided that travel wasn't really an issue.

"My mother is from Ballinasloe and that had a bearing on my decision as well because I know that if I do get the job, I have a local connection and I know I'd be very welcome," he said.
Post by: Logan on September 05, 2009, 03:58:04 PM
QuoteKernan's appointment close to done deal

FRONTRUNNER for the vacant Galway senior football manager's job, Joe Kernan, says he can lead Galway to All-Ireland success.

The Crossmaglen man, who is now a dead-cert to succeed Liam Sammon as Galway boss, told Tribune Sport this week that the abundant talent of players available and the strong football tradition in the county, means winning the Sam Maguire Cup is "without a shadow of a doubt" something that can be achieved again in the next few years.

Kernan, who managed Armagh's All-Ireland winning side of 2002, also revealed that when he was approached initially by officials from the Football Board, he was reluctant to take the post because of the long journey involved by car every week and for family reasons.

However, a hunger to get back into inter-county management at a top level and the opportunity to work with skilful players and officials in Galway "who seem driven and passionate about their football" persuaded him to throw his hat into the ring.

"I was approached by a couple of county teams but they didn't really appeal to me. Then I spoke to people at the Salthill/Knocknacarra club when I was in Galway a few weeks ago and I also met with County Board officials and I just had a good gut-feeling about Galway.

"I did my time with Armagh and I decided maybe it was time for a new challenge and I decided not to go back. The feeling I got from Galway is great and the officials seem driven and passionate as well.

"Then Galway came in and I discussed it with my family and they all said 'yes' so I put my name forward. I have been officially nominated now and I have to wait and see. Transport (to Galway) was a stumbling block at the start because (I thought) car was the only way to get there. But Galway football is sponsored by Aer Arann and I'm just a 45-minutes drive from Dublin Airport and Galway Airport is only a few miles to the training facility at Loughgeorge, which looks amazing, and so I decided that travel wasn't really an issue.

"My mother is from Ballinasloe and that had a bearing on my decision as well because I know that if I do get the job, I have a local connection and I know I'd be very welcome," he said.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Duine Eile on September 08, 2009, 02:15:04 PM
Well the decision's been made, the new Galway manager will be officially announced in Loughgeorge tomorrow night. It's obviously going to be Kernan that gets it, you'd wonder why O Flatharta let his name go forward and go through the interview process when even the dogs in the street knew the job was Joe's.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 08, 2009, 02:25:24 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 08, 2009, 02:15:04 PM
Well the decision's been made, the new Galway manager will be officially announced in Loughgeorge tomorrow night. It's obviously going to be Kernan that gets it, you'd wonder why O Flatharta let his name go forward and go through the interview process when even the dogs in the street knew the job was Joe's.

Not a bit strange to announce it while he's on holiday? Thought they would have waited until he got back. Maybe Aer Arann have chartered a flight for him. A fresh lobster and a bottle of Kristal on the flight over for big Joe. ;D
Post by: Logan on September 08, 2009, 02:35:00 PM
I presume he'll have to name his backroom team also?
Post by: Joxer on September 08, 2009, 02:44:46 PM
Anyone take a guess at who it'll be?  He'll hard.y take anyone from Armagh with him will he?
Post by: thebandit on September 08, 2009, 02:54:12 PM
Quote from: Joxer on September 08, 2009, 02:44:46 PM
Anyone take a guess at who it'll be?  He'll hard.y take anyone from Armagh with him will he?

Grimley?
Post by: Logan on September 08, 2009, 03:01:15 PM
Quote from: thebandit on September 08, 2009, 02:54:12 PM
Quote from: Joxer on September 08, 2009, 02:44:46 PM

Grimley?
Banty?
Post by: Aghdavoyle on September 08, 2009, 03:02:31 PM
this is the highest grossing management deal in the history of the gaa.
I hope p duffy isn't paying too of attention...
Post by: Logan on September 08, 2009, 04:25:55 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on September 08, 2009, 03:02:31 PM
I'd think he if he wants to get busy he has enough to worry about in his own county
Post by: Apple Crumble on September 08, 2009, 05:11:42 PM
Quote from: Logan on September 08, 2009, 04:25:55 PM
I'd think he if he wants to get busy he has enough to worry about in his own county

Apparently hes lined up Aidan O'Rourke & Ja Fallon as his backroom team.

Interesting.
Post by: The GAA on September 08, 2009, 06:06:16 PM
Quote from: Apple Crumble on September 08, 2009, 05:11:42 PM

Interesting.

Aidan O'Rourke? not a chance
Post by: armaghniac on September 08, 2009, 06:39:04 PM
QuoteAidan O'Rourke? not a chance

Aidan would be suprise, but if Quinno can get Keano and all that.
Post by: yellowcard on September 08, 2009, 10:26:14 PM
Quote from: Apple Crumble on September 08, 2009, 05:11:42 PM

Interesting.

Not a mission.
Post by: crossfire on September 08, 2009, 10:32:59 PM

Welcome back Aghdavoyle. ;) ;)
Post by: Duine Eile on September 09, 2009, 12:12:24 AM
Don't know if I'd believe that story about Ja, he was selector under Peter Forde and it wasn't exactly sucessful, don't know if he'd be asked again. Names I've heard in relation to the back room team are Michael Donnellan and Sean Og de Paor. Only rumours of course but both fantastic players in their day, it would be interesting to see how they'd get on as part of a management team.  I could see Joe bringing someone from Armagh into his team but you'd imagine he'd need one if not two selectors with a good local knowledge.
Post by: Overthebar! on September 09, 2009, 09:32:17 AM
whats the story with jk and o'rourke? do they not get on?
Post by: lowball on September 09, 2009, 11:14:02 AM
well they wouldn't be working in a management team together.

Unless Aidan wanted to retire early from management and only find out through the papers!!!
Post by: DuffleKing on September 09, 2009, 11:36:24 AM

would o'rourke's relationship with kernan be any worse than most of the rest of the 2002 team?
Post by: lowball on September 09, 2009, 11:43:04 AM
I didn't know his relationship with them was bad. I assumed he would still be God to most of them. Not counting Geezer, Aidan and may be Oisin. I was always of the opinion that he was very good to all of them both on and off the field and surely unless they are a very fickle bunch they would repay that.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 09, 2009, 11:52:11 AM

not my understanding at all. from my knowledge the majority of them would have a grudging respect for him with little or no contact. byond that there's a fair list who would have an even harder view of joe.
Post by: tyronefan on September 09, 2009, 12:13:24 PM
According to the RTE news  Joe will be appointed the new Galway manager to night in time for the county championship semi finals

He must want to get down and get a look at the teams
Post by: mrhardyannual on September 09, 2009, 06:08:19 PM
Good to see an outside manager get the job. We in Mayo have taught them all they know for the past dozen years or so ------and no thanks received. ;) ;) ;)
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2009, 06:12:57 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 09, 2009, 12:12:24 AM
Don't know if I'd believe that story about Ja, he was selector under Peter Forde and it wasn't exactly sucessful, don't know if he'd be asked again. Names I've heard in relation to the back room team are Michael Donnellan and Sean Og de Paor. Only rumours of course but both fantastic players in their day, it would be interesting to see how they'd get on as part of a management team.  I could see Joe bringing someone from Armagh into his team but you'd imagine he'd need one if not two selectors with a good local knowledge.

He succeeded in getting selected while a selector!

I believe a Mayoman did that before him. For 10 points name him.
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 06:29:24 PM
Tight tops all round in Galway then.
Post by: Armamike on September 09, 2009, 10:12:21 PM
Apart from the obvious fiscal attractions i can't really understand men like this wanting to manage other counties and in the process plotting the downfall of their own county. It takes a certain mindset i suppose. 
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 09, 2009, 10:50:25 PM
Official from Galway GAA

QuoteJoe Kernan is the new Galway Senior Football manager. Galway football delegates rubber stamped the appointment tonight at a meeting in Loughgeorge. He has a three year term. 

Best of luck to the Joe Show. There's two of them now.
Post by: Duine Eile on September 09, 2009, 11:18:46 PM
Did ye hear John Joe on the radio, apparently Joe was only informed he had the job at 8.10 this evening. Yeah right, the job was his since the day contact was made by the Galway county board. No mention of any backroom team this evening, we'll have to wait a few weeks for that.
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2009, 11:50:20 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 09, 2009, 11:18:46 PM
Did ye hear John Joe on the radio, apparently Joe was only informed he had the job at 8.10 this evening. Yeah right, the job was his since the day contact was made by the Galway county board. No mention of any backroom team this evening, we'll have to wait a few weeks for that.

Exactly - Galway have their man.

Any speculation on who will form gthe backroom team ?
Post by: Duine Eile on September 10, 2009, 01:12:21 AM
The names rumoured locally are Alan Mulholland, Ja Fallon, Mikey Donnellan and Sean Óg de Paor. I could see Mulholland being involved alright, not so sure about the rest. I'm sure he'll bring someone from Armagh also.
Post by: ross4life on September 10, 2009, 02:54:22 AM
well if he gets you to a All Ireland final next year don't sack him like your neighbours Mayo did with Mickey Moran  :P
Post by: mountainboii on September 10, 2009, 05:14:24 AM
Quote from: Armamike on September 09, 2009, 10:12:21 PM
Apart from the obvious fiscal attractions i can't really understand men like this wanting to manage other counties and in the process plotting the downfall of their own county. It takes a certain mindset i suppose.

I can understand it perfectly. He's in the property industry, so like everyone else his workload has probably been slashed in the last year or so. Taking this job, instead of being bored out of his head down in his office in Cross, he can occupy himself at the top level of the sport he loves. Managing a county football team is a great job. I'm also sure it hasn't been lost on Joe how rarely Galway meet Armagh in the championship.
Title: Re: Big Joe gets the Galway job
Post by: tyronefan on September 10, 2009, 09:14:52 AM
Good luck to him

As AFS pointed out he probably has plenty of time on his hands at the minute
Post by: redhugh on September 10, 2009, 01:16:19 PM
What's the talk in Galway.......I'd imagine ye must be a happy lot with big Joe's appointent?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 10, 2009, 02:36:34 PM
QuoteAFTER being officially ratified as manager of Galway's senior football team last night, Joe Kernan has less than a month to prepare for his first game in charge with the Tribesmen pencilled in to take on New York in the FBD League final in the Big Apple on October 11.

The Crossmaglen man could have his backroom team finalised as early as next Tuesday night with Alan Mulholland and Paul McGettigan among those who could be included on Kernan's ticket.

If appointed, Mulholland would also act as county U-21 team manager, where he would be reunited with many of the side he guided to All-Ireland minor success in 2007.

McGettigan and Mulholland also represent the North and West Boards that have traditionally been part of back-room teams in Galway.

Kernan returns from holiday on Saturday and is expected in Tuam Stadium the following day for the county's senior football semi-final double header where as many as half of the 2009 squad could be in action with Michael Meehan's Caltra taking on Joe Bergin's Mountbellew/Moylough and Seanie Armstrong's Salthill/Kocknacarra facing reigning champions Corofin.
Post by: under the bar on September 10, 2009, 03:28:22 PM
Met Joe in Athlone the other day driving a Porsche Ceyenne so he must have got an advance from the Galway county board!

Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on September 10, 2009, 03:49:05 PM
What will Galway make of this new player tracking analysis that Joe will bring with him? Quite an expensive bit of software by all accounts
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 10, 2009, 04:03:32 PM
2 Ai winning managers in connacht now thats a first
Post by: Rossfan on September 10, 2009, 09:13:52 PM
Three  ;)
Post by: DuffleKing on September 10, 2009, 09:18:20 PM

does minors count?
Post by: Rossfan on September 10, 2009, 09:35:49 PM
Why not?
If players count then there's 4.
Post by: muppet on September 10, 2009, 09:40:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 10, 2009, 09:35:49 PM
Why not?
If players count then there's 4.

Not to mention U-21s or even Ladies.
Post by: Maigheo Abu on September 10, 2009, 10:59:16 PM
Best of luck to Joe. See ya in Johhny McHales for a medium next summer.
Post by: muppet on September 11, 2009, 12:26:37 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 10, 2009, 09:18:20 PM

does minors count?

Don't know but their grammar is pretty good.
Post by: Logan on September 11, 2009, 09:12:26 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 11, 2009, 12:26:37 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 10, 2009, 09:18:20 PM

does minors count?

Don't know but their grammar is pretty good.

Do minors count?
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 11, 2009, 09:26:17 AM
sorry lads should have phrased that better at the moment the managers involved in managing the senior teams in connacht
2 have won the Ai a senior championship as managers
1 has won the Ai  senior championship twice as a player
1 has Coached an Ai winning senior team
1 has managed an Ai winning minor team
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 11, 2009, 05:50:53 PM
More on Joe's travels.

By Colm Keys

Friday September 11 2009

Joe Kernan will take to the skies at least twice a week to fulfill his commitment as the new Galway football manager.

Kernan's position was confirmed on Wednesday night and by yesterday morning, from his base on Spain's Costa Blanca where he is holidaying, he was beginning to put his backroom team together.

Aer Arann, Galway's team sponsors, will play the central role in getting Kernan across the country for training and matches.

The regional airline carrier operates four daily return flights from Dublin to Galway which will provide Kernan with easy access.

Kernan's Crossmaglen base is little more than 45 minutes from Dublin airport, the flight time across the country is just 25 minutes and Loughgeorge -- where most of the training will take place -- is only 15 minutes by road from Galway airport.

"Padraig O Ceidigh and Aer Arann have been really helpful in that regard," said Kernan.

"I'll travel down on the afternoon of training and come back the following morning. There's a 7.45am flight from Galway and that will get back to Dublin by 8.30. From there, if I have business in Dublin, it will suit me anyway."

Kernan added: "I had a 'dry run' when I went down to meet the interview committee last week and it worked out very well."

Kernan said he envisaged training on Tuesday and Friday nights and would expect to spend a lot of weekends in Galway.

"If flight schedules don't suit then I'll certainly take to the road. It's not great from Ardee to Mullingar but after that it improves," he said.

"I'll have plenty of time down there to speak with the board and players before and after training. And at weekends we'll get through plenty."

Kernan said it took him a weekend to make up his mind about declaring an interest after the Galway football board chairman, John Joe Holleran, made contact with him.

"John Joe sold it to me. He's a Galway man true and true. I wasn't expecting a call but when I got it, I said I would think about it. The family encouraged me to think hard about it too. I had said I wouldn't manage any other county when the lads were playing, but they urged not to think that way. The more I thought about it the more I felt I should let my name go forward. It's a great challenge."

Several names have been linked with his backroom team and Alan Mulholland, the former minor manager, would appear to be a front runner.

Kernan will appoint physical trainers but his old side-kick from Armagh, John McCloskey, is tied up with English Premiership rugby side Wasps until next April. After that, however, it is speculated that he could play a role over the summer months.

Kernan said he has been astounded by the quality of the facilities at Loughgeorge where Galway train.

"I don't think I've ever seen a gym as good as it. There is a capacity for 60 players to be training there at one time. There's a 40-metre indoor running track. It's an incredible facility for a county to have."

Kernan said one of the advantages with Galway is that all the players are within an hour to an hour-and-a-half of the training ground.

"It's not as if a number of them are based in Dublin. Everyone is around and can be together all the time. That's a huge help," he said.

Observing Galway earlier this year, Kernan felt they were a team that could reach the last four in this year's championship.

"Obviously it didn't come to pass but that's the potential and more we're talking about in Galway. They have great players, they have great forwards and getting the most out of those forwards will be a priority obviously," he said.

Kernan got the job ahead of Tomas O Flatharta, the former Westmeath manager, who was interviewed on Monday night.

The appointment of Kernan is sure to enthuse the Galway players and the football public and Kernan himself appears driven towards the challenge.

"I'm going down for the (Galway senior football) semi-finals in Tuam on Sunday and looking forward to it. Three All-Ireland champions in recent times in action -- I know what having All-Ireland club champions can do for a county."

Kernan and the 2009 Galway squad are off to New York next month for the FBD League final and he will use that opportunity to put plans in motion.

"We'll be pinpointing a good league campaign. Galway have been competitive in the league over the last few years and we'll try to build on that," he said.
Post by: Rossfan on September 11, 2009, 09:52:43 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 11, 2009, 09:26:17 AM
sorry lads should have phrased that better at the moment the managers involved in managing the senior teams in connacht

Only ONE of them lives in the County they manage  ;) :D
Post by: muppet on September 11, 2009, 09:55:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 11, 2009, 09:52:43 PM

Only ONE of them lives in the County they manage  ;) :D

Does Flossy like that joke?
Post by: Duine Eile on September 14, 2009, 11:12:11 PM
I doubt Big Joe was very impressed by the talent on show yesterday, two of our best forwards, Meehan and Armstrong were very quiet, both matches were of a very average standard. Selectors are to be named in the coming weeks, apparently nobody has been spoken to yet, rumours still going around about Alan Mulholland being nearly a cert for one position though.

On different note, the county final is to be played in Tuam this year from what I've heard, first time in about 7 years. Fantastic crowd there yesterday, about 8,000. John Joe and the lads must have finally conceded that neutrals don't travel to Pearse Stadium.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 15, 2009, 10:43:25 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 14, 2009, 11:12:11 PM
I doubt Big Joe was very impressed by the talent on show yesterday, two of our best forwards, Meehan and Armstrong were very quiet, both matches were of a very average standard. Selectors are to be named in the coming weeks, apparently nobody has been spoken to yet, rumours still going around about Alan Mulholland being nearly a cert for one position though.

On different note, the county final is to be played in Tuam this year from what I've heard, first time in about 7 years. Fantastic crowd there yesterday, about 8,000. John Joe and the lads must have finally conceded that neutrals don't travel to Pearse Stadium.

8000 :o, why dont they go to county games anymore? Its the opposite with us.
Post by: thebackbar on September 15, 2009, 02:39:32 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 14, 2009, 11:12:11 PM

I'm surprised to hear that there was 8,000 at it, Galway Bay FM had the attendance at half that, with the general consensus being that the crowd was boasted by the attendance of big Joe.  I don't think Pearse Stadium has hosted a county semi-final double header in recent times so we don't have any numbers to compare against. I'm yet to be convinced that Galway has a huge football following that will only come to matches in Tuam Stadium.

However it will be interesting to see how many people attend the county final in Tuam, we will be able to do a genuine comparison on last years figures. Having being at Tuam stadium over the past week its fair to say that a lot of work has gone into improving the grounds, however the toilets there are a disgrace. I had the misfortune to enter them, never again :(

Post by: Qwerty28 on September 15, 2009, 07:06:48 PM
What are Joes business interests he refers to in the Indo article? Sounds as if he'll be spending most weekend in Galway
Post by: seafoid on September 15, 2009, 08:35:58 PM
2 have won the Ai a senior championship as managers
1 has won the Ai  senior championship twice as a player
1 has Coached an Ai winning senior team
1 has managed an Ai winning minor team

I remember a very patronising Sunday tribune article from Ross Kyarr in 1996 the day Mayo beat Kerry predicting that a Connacht team might make the all-Ireland final within 10 years. It was more like 10 hours. And the following 10 years had a good few all-Irelands at various grades.