GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 05:10:33 PM

Title: AIQF Tyrone v ?
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 05:10:33 PM
Some big decisions for Mickey. With McGinley back and Dooher nearing full fitness, will Sean return to FF even though he has just played his best football at MF? Does that mean Penrose loses out or will we need his pace in CP? Will PJ Quinn be under threat?

Who would you like to avoid/draw from Kerry, Galway, Donegal, Kildare, Meath, Wicklow, Roscommon or Limerick?
Title: Re: AIQF Tyrone v ?
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 22, 2009, 05:16:52 PM
wouldnt say I'm not bothered, but would be interesting to get Kerry at this point - i think the big threat will come from the west...Mayo or Galway...not too sure about Dublin, flattering to decieve yet again...

McGinley should be straight back into midfield with Cavanagh moving back to/or between the full forward line - after that the team is sorted? C Cavanagh has been given an awful lot of time and plenty of opportunity to show his class...maybe wait until next year, just incase he costs us...
Post by: longball on July 22, 2009, 05:18:17 PM
The team:

1. Packie

2. Gourley               3. Justin                  6. Gormley

5. Harte                  7. Jordan                4. Ricy

8. McGinley             9. Hub

10. Dooher             14. Cavanagh           12. Joey

13. Penrose            11. Tommy              15. Mugsy

O'Neill and PJ to miss out.
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2009, 05:22:13 PM
Team will inevitably depend on the opposition.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2009, 05:24:15 PM
I think we're destined to meet Kerry next, would be some game and prob be better to face them now without star. Would Kerry like to face us now though? Could be the game to fire them up big time (provided they get the length!) mickey has a lot of big calls to make, although I'm sure he'll not complain. I think sean has to play out round the middle but would that leave us too light near the posts if mc ginley was to come back in at the expense of penrose for example?
Post by: longball on July 22, 2009, 05:24:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 22, 2009, 05:22:13 PM

Why?
No matter who Tyrone are playing they will put out their strongest team. Plus as mentioned many times before any Tyrone player can play anywhere on any given day.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 05:27:28 PM

That's not Mickey's style at all. He played the exact same team v Armagh and Derry and only changed for Antrim because of McGinley's injury.

I think it'll be same 1-7

Then Hub and Enda

Dooher - Tommy - Joe
O'Neill - Sean - Mugsy
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2009, 05:31:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 05:27:28 PM

That's not Mickey's style at all. He played the exact same team v Armagh and Derry and only changed for Antrim because of McGinley's injury.

I think it'll be same 1-7

Then Hub and Enda

Dooher - Tommy - Joe
O'Neill - Sean - Mugsy

So you think even if it was kerry that he'd play the exact same players ?.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 05:35:10 PM
Definitely. Last year the Donaghy/Walsh threat was exceptional. With Donaghy out I cannot see anything changing. Positional changes perhaps during the game but sure that's Harte's forte.
Post by: EC Unique on July 22, 2009, 05:43:42 PM
Is this game on Sunday week?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2009, 05:47:31 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 22, 2009, 05:43:42 PM
Is this game on Sunday week?

Depends on the draw which is this Sunday at 6.15pm
Post by: chatchampionship on July 22, 2009, 05:47:57 PM
Quote from: longball on July 22, 2009, 05:18:17 PM
The team:

1. Packie

very harsh on PJ who was outstanding against Derry and Armagh
I dont think Stephen O' Neill can be dropped he is the best forward in Ireland and his last display at Croke Park v Dublin
was awesome.
Post by: Rois on July 22, 2009, 06:03:31 PM
I hope it's Sunday week, otherwise I'll miss it. 

I'd like Meath, they stopped us in 07 when we were Ulster champs, it would be fairly satisfying to get past them. 
Otherwise, a team that hasn't played us in the championship - Wicklow/Limerick. 
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 06:08:57 PM
Would like to get Meath as well as Tyrone really need to beat them. Kildare would be a novelty and could be a good game  Am tired of the Kerry saga... nothing to prove there anymore.   
Title: Teilifís
Post by: drici on July 22, 2009, 06:30:18 PM
Aye might be good say if Kildare whack Wicklow 6-18 to 0-04 and then get drawn with Tyrone and TV3 get the match and Peter Canavan would get to do it then and the presenter could say "Peter, you would have an insight into the thinking of Micky Harte having played for Tyrone..." and then ask him some question based on that premise and then the presenter could say, "Peter, you've played against Kieran McGeeney..." and then ask him some question based on that premise and Peter could say "How come we have to stand up on TV3 so much, you don't see that on RTÉ at all, youse are just copying this lark off them dopey sateillite channels where they stand up to read the news and all and people are starting to think I'm like Willie Carson who has to stand on a box so he is nearer to the height of the co-presenter when he's on Goals Will Come/Bloody Mary/Independent Video man for the Ulster Council's oul channel" and there would be decent betting in the Bookies because Kildare had beat Wicklow 6-18 to 0-04.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 22, 2009, 06:35:29 PM
Tv3 don't have any more matches after Saturday  :P
Title: Suidhiughadh
Post by: drici on July 22, 2009, 06:39:37 PM
Peter will be glad to get sitting down to watch the matches then.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2009, 06:43:12 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 22, 2009, 06:03:31 PM

I'd like Meath, they stopped us in 07 when we were Ulster champs, it would be fairly satisfying to get past them. 

That doesn't make much sense if you want to see the game considering a quarter final involving Meath wouldn't be played until Saturday/Sunday fortnight.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 22, 2009, 07:17:50 PM
I think it would be a bit harsh to drop PJ Quinn after Sunday. I thought he did a decent enough job on Paddy Cunningham and if you look at the four points from play that Cunningham got, 2 of them came as a result of runners coming through the middle and PJ had to go out to tackle them.

Team will more than likely just show one change with McGinley probably coming in for Penrose I would think.
Post by: Rois on July 22, 2009, 07:45:04 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2009, 06:43:12 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 22, 2009, 06:03:31 PM

That doesn't make much sense if you want to see the game considering a quarter final involving Meath wouldn't be played until Saturday/Sunday fortnight.

Full of nonsense, me.  Haven't thought about permutations that seriously!! Set the dates and possibilities out there for me will you, if you're
that bothered. And then I'll pick one that makes sense.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 07:49:44 PM
If it's Meath/Roscommon or Limerick, it's a fortnight this weekend. Kerry or Galway/Donegal or Kildare/Wicklow and it's next weekend.
Post by: ziggysego on July 22, 2009, 07:53:16 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 22, 2009, 05:24:15 PM
I think we're destined to meet Kerry next, would be some game and prob be better to face them now without star. Would Kerry like to face us now though? Could be the game to fire them up big time (provided they get the length!) mickey has a lot of big calls to make, although I'm sure he'll not complain. I think sean has to play out round the middle but would that leave us too light near the posts if mc ginley was to come back in at the expense of penrose for example?

I still reckon Antrim will win this weekend.

Ideally I'd like to meet Meath in the 1/4 final and correct 2007.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 08:06:11 PM
...and 1996
Post by: tyroneboi on July 22, 2009, 08:07:34 PM
Will the Dubs not be after a stand alone quarter final at Croke Park? They will probably draw the winners of Meath, Roscommon or Limerick then.
Post by: red hander on July 22, 2009, 08:20:18 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 08:06:11 PM
...and 1996

Ditto
Title: Re: Suidhiughadh
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 22, 2009, 08:26:38 PM
Quote from: drici on July 22, 2009, 06:39:37 PM
Peter will be glad to get sitting down to watch the matches then.

Why does he wear earphones when Matt Cooper asks him the questions? ..and did anyone hear that other eejit at kerry game say Sligo player should have went for point from the penalty. Peter soon hammered him on that... Canavan would have buried the penalty. 
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 22, 2009, 08:42:29 PM
Everyone seems to be in agreement that if Enda slots back in Penfold has to the man to make way. I'd say it could be any one of these three, Mugsy, Tommy or Penfold. Is the Ardboe man essential for free kicks with the right boot? Does Mugsy get the nod for past glories? I seem to be the only poster who appreciates what the Aghyaran man brings to the table. I think PJ will retain his jersey.
Post by: ziggysego on July 22, 2009, 08:43:52 PM
I'm all for Penrose. I think Mugsy would be the one back on the bench.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2009, 08:51:27 PM
Thought Mugsy did well on Sunday and would definately have him ahead of Penrose. Penrose is great at getting out in front for the ball but the end product isn't always the best. I wish Brian McGuigan had got more time on Sunday. If fit and back to anywhere near his best he would be an automatic starter. O'Neill and Mugsy would benefit from his passing. Depending on his form I would pick him ahead of Tommy, maybe the Ardboe posters who have watched them play more feel differently? Sean O'Neill was unlucky not to get a run on Sunday, I thought he looked in earlier games like he could provide Davy Harte with real competition for a place in the half back line.

Think we might get Donegal/Galway in the quarters but would prefer Kerry. Wouldnt be hard to get the team fired up for that.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 22, 2009, 09:07:40 PM
Fair point regarding Sean O'Neill. The defense is pretty solid and if I was to be asked which defender was closest to the noose, I would have to say Harte. Now, over pints, Harte's defensive attributes are discussed after every game and we always ask is his obligatory score worth his position if his man is doing damage. The thing about that is, Tyrone are so good, the half backs always look brilliant. When we're being pegged back and under pressure, I know I'd rather have O'Neill in there. A hardy buck who does a marking job. Now I'm not trying to wind any Errigal Ciaran boys up, that's my own personal opinion on the matter, but this is always a hot topic of discussion when the creamy black pints are flowing.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 22, 2009, 09:18:59 PM

I dont think Stephen O' Neill can be dropped he is the best forward in Ireland and his last display at Croke Park v Dublin
was awesome.

a little biased there I'm afraid!
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 09:36:32 PM
I'd completely disagree regarding O'Neill's man marking. I think that's his weak point and that he makes the other defenders more wary of staying back...from what I've seen anyway. Great attacking half back but a little naive. Harte much more aware of his duties if not quite a Conor Gormley.
Post by: chatchampionship on July 22, 2009, 09:40:12 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 22, 2009, 09:18:59 PM

was awesome.

not biased
he is the best in Ireland and will prove it before the summer is over
Post by: tyssam5 on July 22, 2009, 09:43:46 PM
Quote from: Mr. Nakata on July 22, 2009, 08:42:29 PM
Everyone seems to be in agreement that if Enda slots back in Penfold has to the man to make way. I'd say it could be any one of these three, Mugsy, Tommy or Penfold. Is the Ardboe man essential for free kicks with the right boot? Does Mugsy get the nod for past glories? I seem to be the only poster who appreciates what the Aghyaran man brings to the table. I think PJ will retain his jersey.

Penrose can start very well, e.g. AI final last year, but I thinkn tend s to fade out of games to an extent. If he can't keep it going for 70 mins, maybe a spell as a sub coming in for 20mins to liven things up would be an option?
Post by: comethekingdom on July 22, 2009, 09:48:05 PM
Quote from: chatchampionship on July 22, 2009, 09:40:12 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 22, 2009, 09:18:59 PM

was awesome.

not biased he is the best in Ireland and will prove it before the summer is over

How is he? He played shite agin Antrim. There's piles of v good fwds in Ireland and SON is definetly one of them but not the best in Ireland.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2009, 10:23:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 22, 2009, 09:36:32 PM
I'd completely disagree regarding O'Neill's man marking. I think that's his weak point and that he makes the other defenders more wary of staying back...from what I've seen anyway. Great attacking half back but a little naive. Harte much more aware of his duties if not quite a Conor Gormley.

From what I've seen of O'Neill this year in league and championship he has looked brilliant going forward. Down in Westmeath he also looked like a decent defender. But its early days and suppose wont know just how good is to we see a bit more of him in big games. Harte is good going forward and never stops making runs,provides an outlet for the man in possession. Always looks good cause he gets on end of scores. Still dont think he is great going back and often relies on other players to cover him. Overall would have no complaints about him starting but think O'Neill could provide serious competition.
Post by: loughshore lad on July 22, 2009, 10:27:11 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 22, 2009, 08:51:27 PM
I wish Brian McGuigan had got more time on Sunday. If fit and back to anywhere near his best he would be an automatic starter. O'Neill and Mugsy would benefit from his passing. Depending on his form I would pick him ahead of Tommy, maybe the Ardboe posters who have watched them play more feel differently?

I don't think I would have Brian ahead of Tommy at this point.  Tommy has been exceptional for Ardboe this season.  As I posted here on sunday night I though he was harshly called ashore on sunday, he scored 3 points and set up another 3.  Brian has been playing very well of late as well and I also thought he would have got more time on sunday but perhaps Mickey is trying to squeeze that wee bit more out of him, he is going to be vital coming into the business end of things.

Not so sure I agree entirely O'Neill.  Having saw Sean O'Neill a few times for Dromore I have got the impression this guy is the real deal, obviously he is extremely strong from an attacking perspective but from what I have saw he is no slouch defensively either.  They have a big word for him round St Mary's as well and he has played full back for them indicating his defensive ability is good as well.  If anything I reckon he could replace Jordan before Harte in the long run.

The Tyrone wing backs are helped immensely by Dooher, Joe and to a lesser extent Hub.  The cover they give to the wing backs is fabulous.
Post by: redhandluke on July 23, 2009, 01:09:32 AM
Strange nobody has mentioned SON's performances to date - very poor IMHO.
MH has given him three chances, and although he has laid on a few chances, MH has him there primarily to score - for which he has failed miserably
Would be surprised if he starts in the QF, with Penfold taking his place.
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 23, 2009, 01:54:10 AM
Quote from: redhandluke on July 23, 2009, 01:09:32 AM
Strange nobody has mentioned SON's performances to date - very poor IMHO.
MH has given him three chances, and although he has laid on a few chances, MH has him there primarily to score - for which he has failed miserably
Would be surprised if he starts in the QF, with Penfold taking his place.

I'd be surprised if he doesn't start!! Shows you the standard Stevie's set when you get comments like above. Just because he doesn't score massively every game then people are calling for him not to start. Sean Cavanagh was what people call "quiet" the last two games and Harte's response to Thomas Kane was that he had bailed out Tyrone often in the past and no doubt would do so again in the future. Ditto for Stephen O'Neill.

Harte has named an unchanged team (if possible) for the last three games. I expect him to do the same, subject to injuries.
Post by: Zapatista on July 23, 2009, 08:11:55 AM
Quote from: chatchampionship on July 22, 2009, 05:47:57 PM

was awesome.

I don't think he will be dropped either but he isn't the 'best forward in Ireland' at the minute. We should take the advice we have been giving to Down and Armagh and not be living on past glory.

Spillane said last week that the 3 best forwards in the country are Gooch, Cavanagh & O'Neill. I disagree, Bernard Brogan has been better than all 3 of them this year. That could change though.
Post by: Final Whistle on July 23, 2009, 08:42:41 AM
Quote from: loughshore lad on July 22, 2009, 10:27:11 PM
I wish Brian McGuigan had got more time on Sunday. If fit and back to anywhere near his best he would be an automatic starter. O'Neill and Mugsy would benefit from his passing. Depending on his form I would pick him ahead of Tommy, maybe the Ardboe posters who have watched them play more feel differently?

I don't think I would have Brian ahead of Tommy at this point.  Tommy has been exceptional for Ardboe this season.  As I posted here on sunday night I though he was harshly called ashore on sunday, he scored 3 points and set up another 3.  Brian has been playing very well of late as well and I also thought he would have got more time on sunday but perhaps Mickey is trying to squeeze that wee bit more out of him, he is going to be vital coming into the business end of things.

Not so sure I agree entirely O'Neill.  Having saw Sean O'Neill a few times for Dromore I have got the impression this guy is the real deal, obviously he is extremely strong from an attacking perspective but from what I have saw he is no slouch defensively either.  They have a big word for him round St Mary's as well and he has played full back for them indicating his defensive ability is good as well.  If anything I reckon he could replace Jordan before Harte in the long run.

The Tyrone wing backs are helped immensely by Dooher, Joe and to a lesser extent Hub.  The cover they give to the wing backs is fabulous.

Id have to disagree, Jordan is the heartbeat  of the team. Note the breaks he makes from his own 45 to the opposition 45 turning a 10 v 8 to a 8 v 6, setting up attack after attack. Id love to see the posession stats. Jordan the unrecogonised playmaker in the team.

Saying that O'Neill looks like the perfect replacement with great feet and a dead ball expertise. a real talent.

Question-when was the last time Jordan missed a inter county championship game and can anyone answer what other number has Jordan ever worn?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 23, 2009, 08:43:26 AM
QuoteSpillane said last week that the 3 best forwards in the country are Gooch, Cavanagh & O'Neill. I disagree, Bernard Brogan has been better than all 3 of them this year. That could change though.

Maybe, but form is temporary and class is permanent.  I agree with Spillane simply due to the fact that when the aforementioned 3 are on form they are the best.  How valuable is Penrose?  He wins a serious amount of ball that he recycles to a player in a scoring position and he does this quite abit in matches.  It probably seems easy as he is always out in front but this is something that not every player can bring to the table.  His pace means that he is always a yard or two ahead of the defender hence his high success rate at winning possession.  I think Mulligan has been very efficient without and has been getting through a good bit of work in each game.  He is playing in a different role than what we are used to and some of his passes on Sunday were top drawer.  Anytime he was presented with a scoring chance he took it aswell.  Ideally I would love to see him back in the FF line where he would be more dangerous.  I don't think Tyrone need to beat Meath, but it would be good to beat them.  At this stage all the teams left seem very capable of beating each other on any given day, I just hope that the apparent lack of a real battle so far wont hinder the team come the next game a la 2007.  
Post by: Mr. Nakata on July 23, 2009, 10:29:34 AM
I suppose it's horses for coarses. When Tyrone were getting pinned back against Armagh Sean O'Neill came on and never ventured past the half way line. His job was to steady the ship. Against Derry he came on, burst up the field and scored a peach of a point, but the game was a procession at that stage. I think he'll be in there soon. Jordan for me is future captain material. Consistently brilliant.
Post by: qz on July 23, 2009, 01:38:15 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on July 23, 2009, 08:42:41 AM

Id have to disagree, Jordan is the heartbeat  of the team. Note the breaks he makes from his own 45 to the opposition 45 turning a 10 v 8 to a 8 v 6, setting up attack after attack. Id love to see the posession stats. Jordan the unrecogonised playmaker in the team.

Saying that O'Neill looks like the perfect replacement with great feet and a dead ball expertise. a real talent.

Question-when was the last time Jordan missed a inter county championship game and can anyone answer what other number has Jordan ever worn?

I reckon Jordan won the #7 shirt from Declan mcCrossan in the last group game of the 2002 NFL v Mayo which was his first start for Tyrone . He played #7 in the subsequent NFL final victory v Cavan.  In the next game,first round of the 2002 ulster championship v Armgh in the drawn game he didnt start (may have been injured?). However he played #7 in the lost replay & has played left half back in every championship game since.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 23, 2009, 02:12:14 PM
Interesting that you think Tommy is ahead of Brian at the moment as I was wondering how Brian's return was progressing & why him or McCullagh aren't starting this year. Is it true he still has poor side vision so it's easier to disposs him now?

Being from SoN's club I'm totally 'biased' but I think he's been very quiet this year bar that excellent catch & goal v Armagh
He's not a patch on the player we saw in Croker back in February shooting from mad angles but I think there might be a good reason for that.
As we know Mickey is a master tactician and every year he knows teams will find ways to combat how they play, so at the start of this year everyone was looking at our FF line of Mugsy, Sean & SoN and thinking wow that could be awesome.

Fact is it has been poor enough in score taking & I reckon its cos more and more teams are using a sweeper or double markers like Tyrone did with Paddy Bradley. They can almost make your star players look invisible.
I reckon we now have a decoy FF line to date and its main purpose is to win ball out in front of their men like Penrose & Stevie have been doing and laying it off to the runners coming through like Sean's goal last Sunday.
I'd like to see stats on how many of the scores from play we've got are from half forwards & midfielders or defenders. I'd say quite a lot.

I think Penrose is better than Mugsy at winning ball in the FF line cos Mugsy can be slow running onto a pass and doesn't seem to make good runs into space to win the ball clean. He always seems to have a defender hanging out of him ala Francie.
I think he'll benefit from the roving roll if he continues to play it but I'd say from here on it they'll be pressure from McCullagh, Brian & even Mellon.

There's no doubt we've got a much stronger fitter panel this year than for the last 6 years & dare I say it options at MF.
Added to that the two McMahons have added a lot to the team & I must say I'm delighted to see how Joey has risen his game again as I doubted for some time he was too lazy to put in the hard graft. I'd just love to see Justy moved out the field further but sure maybe he'll be a decoy FB and actually rove up the field.

Sean O'Neill must be a dilemma for Harte alright as he's shown great performances this year but then again he hasn't really been tested too much and its probably a lot easier to play in the team now than when we were struggling a few years ago.

Everyone is a little nervous about the next match & will we be caught cold against a team that has been flying in the qualifiers. Of course its possible but I just think Tyrone are now like a well oiled machine and Mickey controls them with his dual joysticks depending on what he wants them to do. Everyone's level of performance is quite high now and so it has become much more about tactics & the SYSTEM.

I think the hardest thing for a manager to work out how to beat Tyrone is to work out what are their strengths and what way will they play this week. They certainly haven't been depending on big Sean & SoN to date & still our half back line continues to push forward and get scores.
I'm hopeful of a Tyrone v Dublin final and a reversal of 2005 when Everton won the FA cup.
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 05:51:47 PM
Penrose won almost every ball hit at him on Sunday in the first half and laid it off. I think his place is well merited but with McGinley and Dooher probably starting next day, he'll lose his starting berth. Mugsy scored a couple of beauties on Sunday reminiscent of '05, especially his last when he dummied McLean.

Sean Cavanagh's dummy (or ridiculous dummy as Brolly oft quotes) is almost comical now. You knew about 4-5 seconds beforehand that he was going to do it. The players, crowd and commentator knew. He still pulled it off to perfection and pointed. I suppose the only way is to mill him!

As for B McGuigan, he said himself that his peripheral vision is almost gone, something that was his strongest asset. He's still excellent at keeping possession and playing the highest percentage ball, demoralising when the opposition are chasing the game. He did it masterfully in the AIF last year when he came on. I just cannot see him starting this year. Tommy seems to pop up with crucial scores in every game now.

Colm Cavanagh is still an enigma. There's something infuriatingly clumsy about him yet you know there's a footballer inside there. He seems to come on full of beans and just dunders into everything that moves, yet he's always involved.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 23, 2009, 06:20:26 PM
Think you meant 1995 there Fuzzman
Post by: loughshore lad on July 23, 2009, 10:27:36 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 23, 2009, 02:12:14 PM
Interesting that you think Tommy is ahead of Brian at the moment as I was wondering how Brian's return was progressing & why him or McCullagh aren't starting this year. Is it true he still has poor side vision so it's easier to disposs him now?

Brian is playing much, much better this year than he did last year, he seems more comfortable within himself and the hamstring injury before the Armagh game came at a bad time for him.  Although the peripheral vision is affected on one side I dont know to exactly what extent although he has not been dispossessed too many times lately.

Quote from: Fuzzman on July 23, 2009, 02:12:14 PM
I reckon we now have a decoy FF line to date and its main purpose is to win ball out in front of their men like Penrose & Stevie have been doing and laying it off to the runners coming through like Sean's goal last Sunday.
I'd like to see stats on how many of the scores from play we've got are from half forwards & midfielders or defenders. I'd say quite a lot.

This has been apparent in the play for quite some time now.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 23, 2009, 10:52:42 PM
Heard Brian Mc Guigan being deployed in half back line in some club games this year- any truth in this Loughshorelad
Post by: orangeman on July 23, 2009, 10:54:39 PM
Quote from: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 23, 2009, 10:52:42 PM
Heard Brian Mc Guigan being deployed in half back line in some club games this year- any truth in this Loughshorelad

Nope.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 23, 2009, 11:36:36 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on July 23, 2009, 10:27:36 PM
Brian is playing much, much better this year than he did last year, he seems more comfortable within himself and the hamstring injury before the Armagh game came at a bad time for him.  Although the peripheral vision is affected on one side I dont know to exactly what extent although he has not been dispossessed too many times lately.

That would be my take too. He seems much more like his old self, and actually seems to be adapting his game to the peripheral vision shortcomings so as not to be compromised by it, which is something that only someone of his class could actually do.
Post by: tyrone86 on July 24, 2009, 01:07:20 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on July 23, 2009, 08:42:41 AM

Agree 100%. He's the defensive equivalent of Dooher. In fact, of all the lads currently playing from those Minor panel of 97/98 I'd say Jordan is probably the lad that will play at the highest level the longest.

It's hard to see were Sean O'Neill is going to fit in the short term. While everything is dependent on form, very few lads nail a place in the team down this soon and the class of the lads there at the moment make opportunities scarce. I'd envisage he'll take over the role of Ricey in a couple of years, or if Justy is required at Midfield in the foreseeable future then perhaps there is a jersey for him at CHB with Gormley at FB.
Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2009, 01:15:18 AM
For me, of the 97-09 vintage, Jordan has been numero uno.
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 09:22:16 AM
The team:

1. Packie

I still stick by what ive named above!

Tommy is the most in form player in Tyrone at the minute.

Someone also mentioned on this thread that Mugsy isnt doing it?? he kicked three points at the weekend and played killer passes he done this job well without shinning something he has done in every game this year and is well fit for his place.

Re SON. I know he won and layed off a lot of ball over last two games etc but he has looked clumsy as well and took a lot of wrong options! also 0-1 in two games isnt good enough for an inside forward. If Paddy Bradley, Eoin Bradley, Gooch, Bernard Brogan, Michael Meenan, Tommy Freeman, Aidan Kilcoyne all players that SON is likened to done the same, ie won a bit of ball and layed it off but only scored 0-1 in two games, they would be slated! Feel he will be left off the next day but he is a great sub to have! REMEMBER 03!
Also if you knew my MAIN REASON for leaving him off you'd understand!
Post by: nrico2006 on July 24, 2009, 10:48:25 AM
QuoteRe SON. I know he won and layed off a lot of ball over last two games etc but he has looked clumsy as well and took a lot of wrong options! also 0-1 in two games isnt good enough for an inside forward. If Paddy Bradley, Eoin Bradley, Gooch, Bernard Brogan, Michael Meenan, Tommy Freeman, Aidan Kilcoyne all players that SON is likened to done the same, ie won a bit of ball and layed it off but only scored 0-1 in two games, they would be slated! Feel he will be left off the next day but he is a great sub to have! REMEMBER 03!

You are joking.  I feel that SON will have a big game next time out, especially if its in Croke Park.  As for 2003, was it not a case of him being in England most of the year and then having an injury that prevented him from getting his place.  He is a player that should start if fit, no question.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 24, 2009, 11:04:06 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 24, 2009, 10:48:25 AM
QuoteRe SON. I know he won and layed off a lot of ball over last two games etc but he has looked clumsy as well and took a lot of wrong options! also 0-1 in two games isnt good enough for an inside forward. If Paddy Bradley, Eoin Bradley, Gooch, Bernard Brogan, Michael Meenan, Tommy Freeman, Aidan Kilcoyne all players that SON is likened to done the same, ie won a bit of ball and layed it off but only scored 0-1 in two games, they would be slated! Feel he will be left off the next day but he is a great sub to have! REMEMBER 03!

You are joking.  I feel that SON will have a big game next time out, especially if its in Croke Park.  As for 2003, was it not a case of him being in England most of the year and then having an injury that prevented him from getting his place.  He is a player that should start if fit, no question.

Absolutly correct. To even suggest not starting him is ridiculous. Ok he has not been brilliant but you dont leave legends like him on the bench when fit. Im sure he will be back to his brilliant best in Croke Park.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 11:15:30 AM
Get well soon longball  ;)
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 11:15:58 AM
Legends---- i dont care what you've done in the past lad i need you to be performing in the hear and now. There is too many people knocking on the door in Tyrone for players not to be performing. Can honestly see him not starting but some bench if Oneill, B McGuigan and C McCullagh all on it.
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 11:18:33 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 11:15:30 AM

Who are yos dropping for McGinley to come back in then??
Post by: Fuzzman on July 24, 2009, 12:30:30 PM
As we said in the car up to the Derry match, maybe Mickey will play Stevie at FB as positions mean nothing nowadays and it will confuse the opposition.  :D

I think if Stevie ties up 2 defenders and wins is own ball & sets up several scores then he's doing more than enough
Its all about team these days and no longer about having one or two star players who get all the scores.

Can anyone post up who has got all the scores so far this year?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 12:47:05 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 11:18:33 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 11:15:30 AM

Who are yos dropping for McGinley to come back in then??

All I'm saying is that you don't deliver a confidence shattering bench place to someone who's on his way back to being the best forward in the country, and who isn't doing a half-bad job at all on that way back.
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 12:51:11 PM
Im saying is you take him out of the fire and introduce him as a sub. What do you think taking Tommy McGuigan off would have done to his confidence! He just kicked 3 points and was playing well while it wasnt happening for others and he was the first to be taking off!
Post by: Final Whistle on July 24, 2009, 12:56:03 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 11:15:58 AM
Legends---- i dont care what you've done in the past lad i need you to be performing in the hear and now. There is too many people knocking on the door in Tyrone for players not to be performing. Can honestly see him not starting but some bench if Oneill, B McGuigan and C McCullagh all on it.

Lol.-Longball was retiring big Sean last wek and he rattled 1-4 from play.

Wait to you see O'Neill playing a blinder!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 12:58:02 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 12:51:11 PM
Im saying is you take him out of the fire and introduce him as a sub. What do you think taking Tommy McGuigan off would have done to his confidence!

He started didn't he, and despite his points he fluffed a few big lines (a gaping goal, for instance).
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 12:59:36 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on July 24, 2009, 12:56:03 PM

I wasnt retiring wee Sean i was just saying i wouldnt of been suprised if he was left off due to reasons that prob shouldnt be discussed on the board. HE WOULD HAVE BEEN LEFT OFF ONLY FOR THE INJURY TO MCGINELY!

ONeill out
Post by: tyrone86 on July 24, 2009, 12:59:52 PM
I think what has to be borne in mind about O'Neill is that while the majority of the team have played 20 odd games between Club Football and National League, I'd be surprised if Stevie has made it to double figures yet. He's probably still about a week or two behind the rest of the lads in terms of sharpness. Give the man the chance.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 01:28:48 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 12:59:36 PM
I wasnt retiring wee Sean i was just saying i wouldnt of been suprised if he was left off due to reasons that prob shouldnt be discussed on the board. HE WOULD HAVE BEEN LEFT OFF ONLY FOR THE INJURY TO MCGINELY!

:D :D :D

longball for manager...                                                                                                                                of Armagh!
Post by: Fuzzman on July 24, 2009, 02:06:17 PM
So say you were boss for the day Longballs
What would your whole team be?
What other changes would you make & why?

What's the story with Mellon this year?
He hasn't had any game time at all this year has he?

Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 24, 2009, 02:08:34 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 24, 2009, 02:06:17 PM
So say you were boss for the day Longballs
What would your whole team be?
What other changes would you make & why?

What's the story with Mellon this year?
He hasn't had any game time at all this year has he?

jesus wept
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 02:11:19 PM
Ive already posted my team here numerous times. This is strictly for the next match thou!

Mellon picked up an injury as far as i know and wasnt on the bench for the Ulster Final. Shows the strength of the Tyrone Panel the fact that Mellon, Magee, Carlin, Mulgrew all have no time so far this year.
Post by: Final Whistle on July 24, 2009, 02:24:08 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 12:59:36 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on July 24, 2009, 12:56:03 PM

ONeill out

You dont have a clue!!! :D :D :D
Post by: Zapatista on July 24, 2009, 02:28:19 PM
Stevies problem is that he is always compared to himself. If he was compared to a mere mortal he would still be a top class player ;)
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 02:31:15 PM
I was only taking the mick about the oneill out as if id want to get rid of one of the best forwards in Ireland! Even if i do have a strong PERSONAL reason to drop him as well!!!!!

My point is he is off form and the panel is so strong that i wouldnt be suprised at him being left off the next day.
Post by: On_the_Couch on July 24, 2009, 02:38:32 PM
You'd have to have rocks in your head to drop O'Neill at the moment - even if he has only scored 0-1 from play in 2 games, he must have been involved in setting up about 1-7 and he sucks in 2 or 3 players every time he gets the ball which leaves acres of space for Penrose and Tommy to take pot shots at goal.  At moment I couldn't care less if he is not scoring freely, but given a choice between him and Penrose one on one with a keeper, I know who I'd rather have sitting on the bench - sorry Marty.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 02:40:13 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 02:31:15 PM
My point is he is off form and the panel is so strong that i wouldnt be suprised at him being left off the next day.

They're Coming to Take You Away Ha Ha Ho Ho Hee Hee, They're Coming to Take You Away Ha Ha Ho Ho Hee Hee....
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 03:06:34 PM
So fear but UR giant BALLS on the line who are you dropping for McGinley!
Post by: Final Whistle on July 24, 2009, 03:12:26 PM
not simple, but Dooher. the man is class yes, but is his trademark strong running is wearing thin?

play a triumphat in the middle, no defence could cope with the anchorage hughes provides to the strong running mcginley and cavanagh.

or drop penrose/mugsy and keep dooher. id keep SON in no matter what. he frees the room up for the rest, plus his handling is out of this world. qwer hands on thon boy!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 24, 2009, 03:36:32 PM
Quote from: longball on July 24, 2009, 03:06:34 PM
So fear but UR giant BALLS on the line who are you dropping for McGinley!

Waiting until we know the opponents lb, but it won't be S O'N (he never stole my ice-cream)  ;)
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 03:45:18 PM
cheeky he didnt steal my ice cream either.....

cant see how anyone could consider dropping Mugsy he has done very well this year and is workig his balls off for the team, something he may not have done in the past. He has earned his spot

Im still sticking by my notion. Think its between Penrose and O'Neill for Corner forward.

Cant see Dooher being left off. Cant see him finishing as many games this year but he will be on from the start.
Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2009, 06:34:52 PM
I think it's Jarlath Burns in today's GL who argues for McGinley back at 15 in his 03 role, keeping Sean and Hub as 8&9..
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2009, 07:50:56 PM
Can't believe how quick some posters are to question Dooher and O'Neill starting. Dooher has started one county game all year and that was an ulster final. Off course its going to take him a game or 2 to get up to his usually excellent standards. I actually thought he did rightly on Sunday and covered a good bit of ground. Would be slightly concerned about O'Neill's form but again he has had very little football. He has still been involved in a lot of scores and I have no doubt he will come good if injury free - expect a big performance in the next game if fit.

As said previoulsy I would probably leave Penrose of the starting team. He's one of the best players around at getting out in front for a ball and would make must county teams but just has a habbit of wasting possession - can often be to greedy. I'd go with this from midfield up:
Hughes
Cavanagh
Dooher
McGuigan (Brian if close to top form, Tommy if not)
Joe McMahon
McGinley
O'Neill
Mulligan

McGinley would come out deep a bit like 03 as suggested above. Cavanagh could also switch at times and if needed could operate at full forward. Penrose and Tommy/Brian McGuigan would be excellent options as would Mellon,McCullagh etc.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2009, 07:59:37 PM
Anyone know how many of Tyrones scores have come from free's in this years championship? Wouls imagine its low like last year.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 24, 2009, 09:00:27 PM
Done a bit of research on BBC archives and so far this year Tyrone have scored 9 frees and 1 '45':

v Armagh 2-10: 4 frees 1 '45'
v Derry 0-15: 4 frees
v Antrim 1-18: 1 free
Scorers so far:

Ricey - 0-01
Davy - 0-02
Jordan - 0-01
Block - 1-00
Sean o neill - 0-01
Hub - 0-04
Sean - 1-07
Dooher - 0-02
Joey - 0-03
Penrose - 0-03
Tommy - 0-09
Mugsy - 0-04
Brian - 0-02
SoN - 1-04
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2009, 09:13:43 PM
So thats 10 scores from placed balls out of 46 scores. I'd say thats a very low ratio.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 03:43:29 PM
So Kerry, Kildare, Donegal and Limerick/Meath in the hat to draw Tyrone tonight. Who do use want to draw or avoid? At this stage of the season I don't care who we get. If we are to win the All-Ireland then will have to beat who is put in front of us. Won't be suprised if we get Kerry. Just need to be wary of an ambush similar to when Kerry ambushed Armagh in 2006.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 03:43:29 PM
So Kerry, Kildare, Donegal and Limerick/Meath in the hat to draw Tyrone tonight. Who do use want to draw or avoid? At this stage of the season I don't care who we get. If we are to win the All-Ireland then will have to beat who is put in front of us. Won't be suprised if we get Kerry. Just need to be wary of an ambush similar to when Kerry ambushed Armagh in 2006.

I'd prefer to avoid Kerry to be honest.
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 04:05:51 PM
please please please please tyrone v kerry. its an ideal time for kerry to meet tyrone, nothing expected of kerry...

ps.... how will ye tyrone boys sleep tonight if ye get kerry? and as for cork it would be a night of nightmares ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 04:08:00 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 04:05:51 PM
please please please please tyrone v kerry. its an ideal time for kerry to meet tyrone, nothing expected of kerry...

ps.... how will ye tyrone boys sleep tonight if ye get kerry? and as for cork it would be a night of nightmares ;)

Cork v Kerry would be another great tussle. Wouldn't mind seeing that draw.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 26, 2009, 04:54:33 PM
I've a feeling we'll get Kildare.

Don't think we've ever met them b4 in the championship.

The wife's family all want Donegal to get Tyrone.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 06:54:53 PM
Tough test in meeting Kildare. Geezer will have Kildare fired up for facing Tyrone. Most likely will be next weekend.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 06:55:40 PM
you're feeling was correct fuzzman, Kildare it is. Wouldn't be easy but it's certainly a novelty tie
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2009, 07:06:54 PM
Whichever team has to change their jersies will lose.
Always happens.  8)
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 07:08:14 PM
tyrone will wear red and will win by 10
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 07:18:00 PM
Sure we won't be able to keep the ball kicked out to yee northern boyos.  ;)

I can't recall us ever being beaten wearing the green rag below so bring it on! (One of them matches was a win over Waterford though)

(http://www.irishnews.com/webimages/20090316/sport4.jpg)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 07:46:05 PM
so with the game being against Kildare will this affect our line up? Who will lose their place or will enda have to start his one on the bench? Will sean start on Early and run him from the start? How do the Kildare lads see the midfield battle?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on July 26, 2009, 08:50:06 PM
rite with the quarter finals sorted?
what way do the semis work as potential pairings and what could be a potential All Ireland Final 2009?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 08:51:17 PM
Semi-Final 1 - Cork/Donegal v Tyrone/Kildare
Semi-Final 2 - Dublin/Kerry v Mayo/Meath/Limerick
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 08:56:22 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 07:46:05 PM
so with the game being against Kildare will this affect our line up? Who will lose their place or will enda have to start his one on the bench? Will sean start on Early and run him from the start? How do the Kildare lads see the midfield battle?

Hard one to call really. Dermot is absolutely flying at the moment. His fielding has always been second to none but he's really added to his all round game despite all his injuries and health problems down the years. That said, he's been breaking the ball a lot more this year compared to previous years. I don't think McGinley (Presuming Cavanagh starts full-forward) or Kevin Hughes are better high fielders of the ball but they have nullified the likes of Darragh Ó Sé over the years by simply surrounding him when he comes down with the ball. The breaks are going to be crucial then and that's where I think Mikey Conway will be missed. He's been hoovering up the breaking ball all year and driving forward but he looked in a bad way when he went down last night and I can't see him making it. The likes of Flynn, Flan, Roli, Paudie O'Neill and Morgan Flaherty are all going to have to work till the arses are hanging out of them to stop Dooher, Harte and Jordan winning all the breaks. We'll have to be a lot cuter with our kickouts as well and I imagine Geezer will be working with Tom Corley this week to get this right.

We're in the perfect position going into this match. Nobody will give us a prayer but we're battle hardened and we already have a big game at Croke Park under our belts this year. If Tyrone are to be bate this year, next weekend might be when they're at their most vulnerable. They haven't been put to the pin of their collar this year and if we can get a bit of a run on them, who knows?
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 09:00:51 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 08:56:22 PM

Hard one to call really. Dermot is absolutely flying at the moment. His fielding has always been second to none but he's really added to his all round game despite all his injuries and health problems down the years. That said, he's been breaking the ball a lot more this year compared to previous years. I don't think McGinley (Presuming Cavanagh starts full-forward) or Kevin Hughes are better high fielders of the ball but they have nullified the likes of Darragh Ó Sé over the years by simply surrounding him when he comes down with the ball. The breaks are going to be crucial then and that's where I think Mikey Conway will be missed. He's been hoovering up the breaking ball all year and driving forward but he looked in a bad way when he went down last night and I can't see him making it. The likes of Flynn, Flan, Roli, Paudie O'Neill and Morgan Flaherty are all going to have to work till the arses are hanging out of them to stop Dooher, Harte and Jordan winning all the breaks. We'll have to be a lot cuter with our kickouts as well and I imagine Geezer will be working with Tom Corley this week to get this right.

We're in the perfect position going into this match. Nobody will give us a prayer but we're battle hardened and we already have a big game at Croke Park under our belts this year. If Tyrone are to be bate this year, next weekend might be when they're at their most vulnerable. They haven't been put to the pin of their collar this year and if we can get a bit of a run on them, who knows?
I think that's overstating it a bit. I wouldnt say Kildare have no chance, far from it. Would be wary enuff of this game   
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:19:11 PM
John Devine ruled out for 2 months with a dislocated shoulder which happened in training on Sunday.

QuoteTyrone meet Kildare in last eight

Tyrone will face Kieran McGeeney's Kildare in the quarter-finals of the All-Ireland Football Championship.

The other last-eight ties will see Donegal tackling Cork, Mayo up against either Limerick or Meath and Dublin meeting Kerry in the tie of the round.

Tyrone will be without keeper John Devine against Kildare and probably the rest of the season after he suffered a dislocated shoulder on Sunday.

The last-eight ties will be played at Croke Park over the next two weekends.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte told BBC Sport that Devine is likely to be out of action for another two months after he suffered the injury in training which means that he is likely to miss the remainder of the championship.

"He was stretching for a ball in stopping a shot when the injury occurred," Harte told BBC Sport.

"It's very disappointing and we hope that he recovers as quickly as possible."

It's desperately bad luck for Devine who missed last year's All-Ireland final after his father died on the eve of the game.

Pascal McConnell and Johnny Curran will now be in contention to take the goalkeeping jersey for the rest of the Championship.

The speculation is that Dublin will face Kerry at headquarters next Saturday with the Cork v Donegal and Tyrone v Kildare clashes taking place a day later.

There is also the possibility that a Sunday double-bill involving the Ulster counties could start the quarter-finals with the Dubs facing Kerry on the Bank Holiday Monday in the Republic.

Limerick will take on Meath in the remaining fourth-round qualifier next weekend with the winners facing Mayo at Croke Park a week later.

Tyrone are All-Ireland favourites but Kildare look capable of presenting Mickey Harte's side with a tough test.

Harte was philosophical after learning of his quarter-final opponents.

"It's at the stage of the Championship where they are no easy draws and where there usually is some kind of connection between the teams," added Harte.

"The link between Kieran McGeeney and ourselves is something that will be focused on but we know that it's going to be a tough test.

"They looked very impressive in the Leinster Final and did well to carve out a result against Wicklow on Saturday night."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8169733.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8169733.stm)

Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2009, 09:19:40 PM
you would imagine that tyrone v kildare and Cork v Donegal will be a double header on sunday.

kildare impressed me against dublin so it will be a very tough encounter.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 09:20:36 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 09:00:51 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 08:56:22 PM

I think that's overstating it a bit. I wouldnt say Kildare have no chance, far from it. Would be wary enuff of this game  

I don't think it is overstating it to be honest. Tyrone are 13/8 favourites for the All-Ireland, we are 28/1 outsiders with five teams ahead of us in the betting. Doubt many pundits in the meeejia will be giving us much of a prayer. Probably right as well but sure no lose situation, give it a lash and all that!!

Cill Dara Abú
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:21:44 PM
Hopefully. They will get a bigger attendance by having Cork v Donegal and Tyrone v Kildare on the Sunday rather than the Saturday. Doesn't matter when the Dublin v Kerry game is on as will be a sell-out regardless.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:24:32 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:21:44 PM
Hopefully. They will get a bigger attendance by having Cork v Donegal and Tyrone v Kildare on the Sunday rather than the Saturday. Doesn't matter when the Dublin v Kerry game is on as will be a sell-out regardless.

Have heard that Dublin v Kerry is Saturday and double header on Sunday.

Might they play Dublin and Kerry on the Monday ( bank holiday ).
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 09:24:52 PM
I'd say Saturday for a Kildare-Tyrone/Cork-Donegal double header is more likely with Kerry-Dublin on Sunday or Monday. Kerry will be given an extra day or twos break after playing today and rightly so.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 09:25:05 PM

I would reckon Saturday Portlaoise  Meath V Limerick... Sunday Croke Park  Cork V Donegal and Tyrone V Kildare and bank Holiday in Republic Monday two 'southern' teams Croke Park  Dublin V Kerry  
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2009, 09:30:41 PM
Forgot that our minors along with the Dubs are out next Saturday in Cavan. Don't know if them fixtures are set in stone though.

Maybe Kildare-Tyrone/Cork-Donegal double header on Sunday with Kerry-Dublin on Monday is more likely in order to avoid a clash. It would also give them more chance to get the pitch in order.
Post by: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 09:33:31 PM
I'd say Sunday Cork v Donegal and Kildare v Tyrone. Monday Dublin v Kerry. Croke Park.

Interesting pairings and of all the teams we could have been drawn against, it's the one I'm most unsure of.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:35:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 09:33:31 PM
I'd say Sunday Cork v Donegal and Kildare v Tyrone. Monday Dublin v Kerry. Croke Park.

Interesting pairings and of all the teams we could have been drawn against, it's the one I'm most unsure of.

Admit it. You'd have taken Kildare before the draw, wouldn't you ?.

Wexford last year, were perceived to have been a softish draw and both Down and Armagh fell to them.
Post by: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 09:37:35 PM
Actually, no I wouldn't have taken Kildare. Would have taken Kerry! ;)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:38:19 PM
At this stage of the All-Ireland, you won't care who you play. If you have serious ambitions to win Sam, you won't care who you play as will have to beat them somewhere along the way.
Post by: kickingmule on July 26, 2009, 09:52:51 PM
@ this stage of the championship, there's no hiding place....
kildare are a fine footballing side and tough as teak ... tyrone will need to be @ their best to win this game.
but i do believe tyrone will up the tempo in this one.
THEY WILL BLOODY NEED TO!!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 10:07:24 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 09:37:35 PM
What are you winking about Ziggy? I'd loved to have got Kerry and no kiddin
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 10:19:38 PM
Tyrone will be without keeper John Devine against Kildare and probably the rest of the season after he suffered a dislocated shoulder on Sunday.

The last-eight ties will be played at Croke Park over the next two weekends.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte told BBC Sport that Devine is likely to be out of action for another two months after he suffered the injury in training which means that he is likely to miss the remainder of the championship.

"He was stretching for a ball in stopping a shot when the injury occurred," Harte told BBC Sport.

"It's very disappointing and we hope that he recovers as quickly as possible."

It's desperately bad luck for Devine who missed last year's All-Ireland final after his father died on the eve of the game.

Pascal McConnell and Johnny Curran will now be in contention to take the goalkeeping jersey for the rest of the Championship.

It's at the stage of the Championship where they are no easy draws

Mickey Harte
The speculation is that Dublin will face Kerry at headquarters next Saturday with the Cork v Donegal and Tyrone v Kildare clashes taking place a day later.

There is also the possibility that a Sunday double-bill involving the Ulster counties could start the quarter-finals with the Dubs facing Kerry on the Bank Holiday Monday in the Republic.

Limerick will take on Meath in the remaining fourth-round qualifier next weekend with the winners facing Mayo at Croke Park a week later.

Tyrone are All-Ireland favourites but Kildare look capable of presenting Mickey Harte's side with a tough test.

Harte was philosophical after learning of his quarter-final opponents.

"It's at the stage of the Championship where they are no easy draws and where there usually is some kind of connection between the teams," added Harte.

"The link between Kieran McGeeney and ourselves is something that will be focused on but we know that it's going to be a tough test.

"They looked very impressive in the Leinster Final and did well to carve out a result against Wicklow on Saturday night."

Post by: u bent op uw on July 26, 2009, 10:32:17 PM
Great stuff, last eight of the Championship. On holiday abroad for both weekends (QF and SF). If we beat Cill Dara , will cut short for the semi-final. Good luck Tir Eoghain, let the good times roll.
Post by: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 10:52:33 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 10:07:24 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 26, 2009, 09:37:35 PM
What are you winking about Ziggy? I'd loved to have got Kerry and no kiddin

Yeah, me too. That's what I'm saying.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 27, 2009, 12:42:45 AM
I think O'Neill should get onto the mods, surely this has to be the 'official' thread as opposed to the thread that popped up yesterday! Stewarts enquiry! p.s. How's about Kildare sneaking into the thread title  ;D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2009, 01:18:33 AM
Nah, stick with the question mark - keep em guessing.

The gods of alphabetical order will punish O'Neill anyway if Kildare "sneak" into the thread title!
Post by: cadhlancian on July 27, 2009, 05:17:25 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 27, 2009, 12:42:45 AM
I think O'Neill should get onto the mods, surely this has to be the 'official' thread as opposed to the thread that popped up yesterday! Stewarts enquiry! p.s. How's about Kildare sneaking into the thread title  ;D
Ok , so should I start a thread for the All ireland S/f titled AISF Tyrone V ?......this thread was started in respect to who "we" in Tyrone would actually like to draw in the QF. And to be honest, I put that "official " bit in to see if I could catch someone like urself, making a "gaunch out of himself" :D God forbid , should I ever undermine the clannish inner circle that I have begun to notice  exists here! :-\
Post by: tyssam5 on July 27, 2009, 08:55:21 AM
That's very unfortunate for Devine, man was due a bit of luck this year. But big Packie will be solid as always.
Post by: longball on July 27, 2009, 08:58:30 AM
The team:

1. Packie

And so it begins!!!!
The longball prophecies
Post by: Radioulster on July 27, 2009, 09:42:10 AM
Why Gourley? Kildare are full of pace and Gourley is one of the slowest about PJ will be there look at the antrim match again 7 points from frees and 4 from play 3 of them in the last few minutes! O'Neill will be there as well form is temporary, class is permanent.
Post by: longball on July 27, 2009, 09:47:32 AM
Quote from: Radioulster on July 27, 2009, 09:42:10 AM
Why Gourley? Kildare are full of pace and Gourley is one of the slowest about PJ will be there look at the antrim match again 7 points from frees and 4 from play 3 of them in the last few minutes! O'Neill will be there as well form is temporary, class is permanent.

Gourley would be perfect to mark Smith!
Post by: longball on July 27, 2009, 09:48:12 AM
Also some day I will tell the Stevy O'Neill story and then yous will all understand!
Post by: ziggysego on July 27, 2009, 09:49:08 AM
Quote from: longball on July 27, 2009, 09:48:12 AM
Also some day I will tell the Stevy O'Neill story and then yous will all understand!

Bit of a loaded statement...
Post by: Fuzzman on July 27, 2009, 10:09:07 AM
I'm intrigued Longball.

IM me to brigten up my Monday morning.

I was at the Dublin v Kildare Leinster final wearing my Tyrone shirt on the hill.
There were a few lily whites there as well.

It was a strange match with Dublin doing most of the early running and looking the much better team but Kildare got a lot of easier scores to stay in touch.
Thought the defending though by both teams was very loose & if they play like that again against Tyrone they'll concede a big score.

I was surpised McGeeney & Grimley wouldn't have them super organised with clear defensive strategy in place.
The space that Bernard Brogan & even Sherlock got was amazing. Sherlock caught his ball for the goal at chest height with his man behind him.

I hope its next Sunday as I don't like Saturday games in Croker and think it suits counties who have to travel better to come down on the Sat night or else early Sunday morning.

The Dubs in work are happy with getting Kerry & I'm looking forward to that one nearly as much now.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 27, 2009, 10:09:39 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 27, 2009, 05:17:25 AM
Ok , so should I start a thread for the All ireland S/f titled AISF Tyrone V ?......this thread was started in respect to who "we" in Tyrone would actually like to draw in the QF. And to be honest, I put that "official " bit in to see if I could catch someone like urself, making a "gaunch out of himself" :D God forbid , should I ever undermine the clannish inner circle that I have begun to notice  exists here! :-\

Well if u noticed my post was Tongue in cheek, hence smiley face at the end   ;D
Post by: longball on July 27, 2009, 11:35:53 AM
Fuzz im not sure i should tell the story during the championship! I dont want Tyrone fans to turn against him or start a big debate! It would proberly be picked up by that Jorno we all know surfs the board  ;) then it'l be in the papers etc and he doesnt need that sort of attention during the championship and his dry spell!
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 27, 2009, 03:28:49 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 09:25:05 PM

I would reckon Saturday Portlaoise  Meath V Limerick... Sunday Croke Park  Cork V Donegal and Tyrone V Kildare and bank Holiday in Republic Monday two 'southern' teams Croke Park  Dublin V Kerry  

Should the Fox be on the fixtures committee or wot  :o
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 03:30:17 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 27, 2009, 03:28:49 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 09:25:05 PM

I would reckon Saturday Portlaoise  Meath V Limerick... Sunday Croke Park  Cork V Donegal and Tyrone V Kildare and bank Holiday in Republic Monday two 'southern' teams Croke Park  Dublin V Kerry  

Should the Fox be on the fixtures committee or wot  :o

Free tickets for being on this committee I believe.  ;)
Post by: cadhlancian on July 27, 2009, 03:37:12 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 27, 2009, 10:09:39 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 27, 2009, 05:17:25 AM

Well if u noticed my post was Tongue in cheek, hence smiley face at the end   ;D
[/quote
apologies sir :-[