GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on July 21, 2009, 08:25:44 AM

Title: Quarter Finals Draw - GAABoard beats the media - all now fixed
Post by: Barney on July 21, 2009, 08:25:44 AM
I presume this draw will have to take place on next Sunday.

Of course with the GAA making a balls of their calender a proper draw cannot be held.

Limerick and Cork cannot meet again so that means that the winner of Meath/Roscommon will also be kept away from Cork to ensure that this does not arise.

Do we reckon all matches will end up being played in Croke Park or will U2 mess up the turf.

I presume Dublin will get the Bank Holiday Monday to themselves but any of the other matches are unlikely to test the capacity, even as double-headers.
Title: Re: Quarter Finals Draw
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 08:30:14 AM
Quote from: Barney on July 21, 2009, 08:25:44 AM
I presume this draw will have to take place on next Sunday.

Of course with the GAA making a balls of their calender a proper draw cannot be held.

Limerick and Cork cannot meet again so that means that the winner of Meath/Roscommon will also be kept away from Cork to ensure that this does not arise.

Do we reckon all matches will end up being played in Croke Park or will U2 mess up the turf.

I presume Dublin will get the Bank Holiday Monday to themselves but any of the other matches are unlikely to test the capacity, even as double-headers.

Can't get the monday if we draw an ulster team because its not a bank holiday up there.
Is this draw an open draw bar teams meeting previously?
Post by: Hound on July 21, 2009, 08:44:43 AM
Not quite an open draw - can't be a repeat of a provincial final. But Dublin could play Meath and Cork could play Kerry.

I dobut very much that they would use Bank Holiday Monday for a game, given it would mean supporters up North who work couldnt view it.

One on the Saturday, 2 on the Sunday and 1 the following Saturday would be my bet.

Depending on who's playing, the first Saturday could be a double bill with Meath/Ros v Limerick. Or the QF game the week after could be doubled up with KK v Waterford/Galway on the Sunday, although this is probably less likely.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 08:57:42 AM
As I said in another thread. There are serious concerns about Croke Park being ready in time. The residents are kicking up a stink. Can't blame them really. In order to relay the pitch apparently they have to work through the night- which obviously if you're living nearby isn't acceptable really IMO.
Post by: Barney on July 21, 2009, 09:01:09 AM
Tyrone are the only team left from the North - they can't play the Dubs.

It really is a disgrace that Croke Park is being dug up in the middle of the championship season.

Provincial champions should get home advantage if it is not ready. GNevin will be delighted to see Dublin play Kerry in Parnell Park. ;)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 21, 2009, 09:07:47 AM
Quote from: Barney on July 21, 2009, 09:01:09 AM
It really is a disgrace that Croke Park is being dug up in the middle of the championship season.

Provincial champions should get home advantage if it is not ready. GNevin will be delighted to see Dublin play Kerry in Parnell Park. ;)

Antrim?
Post by: Gnevin on July 21, 2009, 09:10:31 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 08:57:42 AM
As I said in another thread. There are serious concerns about Croke Park being ready in time. The residents are kicking up a stink. Can't blame them really. In order to relay the pitch apparently they have to work through the night- which obviously if you're living nearby isn't acceptable really IMO.

What a shock the Croke Park Moaners Association is out in full force .
Post by: illdecide on July 21, 2009, 09:24:30 AM

So what time of the year do you want them to do it Barney?. The summer is the logic time of the year as the grass grows like f**k and the pitch will knitt in quicker...if it's done in the winter you run the chance of the grass dying and it not taking to the surface due to s number of reasons ::)
Post by: stpauls on July 21, 2009, 10:16:47 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 21, 2009, 09:07:47 AM

Antrim?

Donegal aswell!!
Post by: heffo on July 21, 2009, 10:33:12 AM
Quote from: stpauls on July 21, 2009, 10:16:47 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 21, 2009, 09:07:47 AM

Antrim?

Donegal aswell!!

Donegal can play Dublin on the Monday potentially as it's a bank holiday up there
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 10:34:37 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 21, 2009, 09:10:31 AM

You'd be happy if someone was working at 3am next door to you ensuring you couldn't sleep? All to help Bono's pension? Come on.
Post by: Hound on July 21, 2009, 10:42:55 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 10:34:37 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 21, 2009, 09:10:31 AM

You'd be happy if someone was working at 3am next door to you ensuring you couldn't sleep? All to help Bono's pension? Come on.
I'd say there'd be feck all disruption and all they are looking for is money. As usual.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 10:54:59 AM
Just go down to Croke Park and listen to it some time. Anyway as uff.it stands I'd be amazed if they can relay a pitch in 5 days. Crazy stuff.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 21, 2009, 10:59:37 AM
From today's Irish Times:

Football quarter-final draw back to early evening slot

IAN O'RIORDAN

Tue, Jul 21, 2009

THE GAA have outlined details of the All-Ireland football quarter-final draw, which will take place in Thurles on Sunday evening, shortly after the second All-Ireland hurling quarter-final between Galway and Waterford. It marks a return to a more civilised hour following the late, late broadcast of last Sunday's fourth round qualifier draw – something which the GAA say "won't happen again".

The actual format of the quarter-finals will follow that of recent years in that the four provincial winners – Dublin, Cork, Tyrone and Mayo – will go into one bowl, and the four winners of the fourth-round qualifier in the other – Antrim or Kerry, Kildare/ Wicklow, Galway/Donegal, and Limerick/Meath or Roscommon.

The only precondition is the provincial finalist will be kept apart. Therefore, should Kildare beat Wicklow, they can't be drawn again against Dublin. Likewise, should Antrim beat Kerry, they can't be drawn against Tyrone, and similarly, if Galway beat Donegal, they can't meet the Connacht champions Mayo.

However, if Kerry win, they can be drawn against Cork again, as their previous meeting was in the provincial semi-final. Likewise, Dublin could well meet Meath again – should those teams progress.

While originally all four quarter-finals were due to be played on the weekend after next, August 1st/2nd, the delay to one of the fourth-round qualifiers – the meeting between Limerick and either Meath or Roscommon – means at least one of the quarter-finals will be postponed until the following weekend, August 8th/9th.

At their meeting yesterday, the GAA's Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC) didn't enter into the possibilities of which of those quarter-finals would be delayed. However the expectation is Dublin could be given a stand-alone fixture in Croke Park, should the opposition be deemed appetising enough.

"It totally depends on the draw so there was nothing discussed at this stage," said CCCC secretary Pat Doherty. "It depends as well on what team Dublin draw, so there was no point discussing the potential dates at this stage because it would all be mere speculation."

The issue of Croke Park not being available wasn't discussed either. While the stadium is currently a construction site for this weekend's three U2 concerts, the expectation remains the new playing surface will be in place in time for next weekend – despite the incredibly tight deadline of just under three days.

"We've been given a guarantee the pitch will be ready so we've no reason to be thinking Croke Park won't be available and that another venue should be considered," added Doherty.

"So while one of the quarter-final will definitely be put back until the weekend of August 8th, the other three games are still on course to be played in Croke Park on the weekend after next, as scheduled. That's the guarantee we have been given and the one we're working under."
Post by: meathie on July 21, 2009, 12:01:19 PM
so what happens if Cork comes out and they get Limerick/Meath/Roscommon. While there may be a chance they could meet there may be a chance that Roscommon or us could win and then it would not have to be prevented. how will they work that one??
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 21, 2009, 12:08:45 PM

Well if you read about it you would see that even if U2 weren't playing they would have had to dig up a substantial portion of the grass anyway as it is damaged and has to be replaced that is why U2 aren't paying the full bill for that work.
Post by: INDIANA on July 21, 2009, 12:27:41 PM
Which was damaged during the Take That concert.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 21, 2009, 01:06:22 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 21, 2009, 08:44:43 AM
Not quite an open draw - can't be a repeat of a provincial final. But Dublin could play Meath and Cork could play Kerry.

I dobut very much that they would use Bank Holiday Monday for a game, given it would mean supporters up North who work couldnt view it.

One on the Saturday, 2 on the Sunday and 1 the following Saturday would be my bet.

Depending on who's playing, the first Saturday could be a double bill with Meath/Ros v Limerick. Or the QF game the week after could be doubled up with KK v Waterford/Galway on the Sunday, although this is probably less likely.

They played games on the Monday in 2003 - Cork v Mayo and Donegal v Galway, if my memory serves me correctly. Would agree that your scheduling is the most likely though.

Be some embarassment is Croke Park isn't ready. Its fair enough if people are complaining about building work taking place in the middle of the night. Crazy time of the year to allow a concert.
Post by: Hound on July 21, 2009, 01:16:09 PM
Quote from: meathie on July 21, 2009, 12:01:19 PM
so what happens if Cork comes out and they get Limerick/Meath/Roscommon. While there may be a chance they could meet there may be a chance that Roscommon or us could win and then it would not have to be prevented. how will they work that one??
Just means that along with Limerick, neither Meath nor Roscommon can meet Cork in the quarter-finals.
Post by: heffo on July 21, 2009, 01:34:59 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 21, 2009, 01:06:22 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 21, 2009, 08:44:43 AM

They played games on the Monday in 2003 - Cork v Mayo and Donegal v Galway, if my memory serves me correctly. Would agree that your scheduling is the most likely though.

Be some embarassment is Croke Park isn't ready. Its fair enough if people are complaining about building work taking place in the middle of the night. Crazy time of the year to allow a concert.

Dublin played Donegal in the qtr final replay in 2002 on Bank holiday Monday too..
Post by: Maradona on July 21, 2009, 02:16:59 PM
I think the draw is seriously flawed if now Cork cant get Meath or Roscommon because they havent already played Limerick. For the life of me I cant understand how one draw has totally messed up subsequent games and made the quarter final draw flawed. Given the massive gaps between games in the provincial series, this should not be happening.  Plus this on-going craic that they cant committ when the quarter finals will be on because they have to wait to see who Dublin draws - its a joke and shows serious lack of respect for fans. Many of us want to follow our team but cant plan weekends away / holidays / etc. beacuse of this craic.
Post by: clarshack on July 21, 2009, 03:17:50 PM
think the following could well happen:

Sat 1st: Mayo v Kildare

Sun 2nd (Double header):
Cork v Galway
Tyrone v Kerry

Mon 10th:
Dublin v Meath

Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2009, 03:45:43 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 21, 2009, 03:17:50 PM

Mon 10th:
Dublin v Meath

Good on ya.
Just what we and Limerick want to hear  ;)
Post by: down6061689194 on July 21, 2009, 04:51:54 PM
With the big pay day for the Dubs game I'd imagine it will be  placed with Dub minors.
But the GAA had planned for 2 days as in the ticket packages, so what happens with them is a mystery
Post by: Jinxy on July 21, 2009, 04:52:50 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 21, 2009, 03:45:43 PM

Mon 10th:
Dublin v Meath

Good on ya.
Just what we and Limerick want to hear  ;)

Clarshack isn't from Meath so you can't use that for motivation!
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2009, 06:00:01 PM
Doesnt matter where he/she is from. It's still the kind of thinking we like to hear.  :D
Post by: Hardy on July 21, 2009, 08:05:59 PM
I yiz think there's fixtures confusion now, wait till we draw with Roscommon. Then Limerick. Twice.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 21, 2009, 09:15:46 PM

Sun 2nd (Double header):
Cork v Galway
Tyrone v Kerry

Mon 10th:
Dublin v Meath

How many supporters would attend a game on Monday 10th August?
Post by: armaghniac on July 21, 2009, 10:10:25 PM
QuoteHow many supporters would attend a game on Monday 10th August?

Teachers, knackers, wasters, kids, TDs, people on night shift, the unemployed, tourists....
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 21, 2009, 10:34:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2009, 10:10:25 PM
QuoteHow many supporters would attend a game on Monday 10th August?

Teachers, knackers, wasters, kids, TDs, people on night shift, the unemployed, tourists....

So, most of the population then...
Post by: clarshack on July 22, 2009, 08:59:40 AM
Quote from: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 21, 2009, 09:15:46 PM

Sun 2nd (Double header):
Cork v Galway
Tyrone v Kerry

Mon 10th:
Dublin v Meath

How many supporters would attend a game on Monday 10th August?

sorry, should have said Sat 8th August for the remaining 1/4 final. thought that monday 10th was the bank holiday in the south but its the 3rd of august isnt it?. if so the winner of meath/limerick/roscommon will likely play on the weekend of 8th/9th august but because the hurling semi-final is on sunday 9th august, the remaining football 1/4 final will probably be played on Sat 8th August.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 22, 2009, 09:50:09 AM
As a bit of a romantic I'm going for:

Cork v Antrim
Tyrone v Donegal
(Cork v Tyrone semi)

Dubs v Limerick
Mayo v Kildare
(Dubs v Mayo semi)

Dubs v Tyrone final...draw!!
Post by: joemamas on July 23, 2009, 01:53:55 PM
Under the category of you cannot make this stuff up.

Purchased a package of "football feast " tickets  three weeks ago, which I thought would include the q/finals on Aug 1,2,3.  Well the shitty planning by "the fixtures committee" in croke park took care of the above (wexford/ Roscommon draw).

Got a very insightful e-mail this morning from croke park,

A chara,
Congratulations on purchasing your Football Feast Package.
As you know we are still awaiting the full fixture details of the GAA Football Quarter Finals but here is what we do know:
-         Dublin are in one quarter final
-         Cork are in one quarter final
-         Tyrone are in one quarter final
-         Mayo are in one quarter final
None of the four above can play each other so we must await the results of the Qualifiers to determine the other participants. We will not know exact fixture details until Monday 27th July.

While they say they cannot give you the fixture details, I will take a wild guess and tell you when certain teams will not/will be playing.

Kildare will not be playing Saturday
Mayo will not be playing Monday
If the above two are drawn against one another, they will be playing on Sunday August 2nd or Saturday August 9th

Kerry will not be playing Monday,
Dublin will not be playing Saturday August 1
If the above two are drawn against each other they will be playing Sunday August 1, Potential double header with Kildare and Mayo,

Why all of the above , the draw for the all-ireland minor q/finals has been made, Kildare Dublin playing Saturday, Mayo Kerry playing Monday. It would be unprecedented that Minor and Senior teams from the same counties play at the same time at different venues.

How could the rocket scientists at Croke Park have avoided this bullshi*. The could have made the q/final draw last weekend explaing that they needed to to give teams and fans time to plan ahead, not to mention the some of the latter have purchased tickets for the so called football feast which was supposed to include the q/final on August 1,2, and 3.

Post by: muppet on July 23, 2009, 02:00:40 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 23, 2009, 01:53:55 PM
Under the category of you cannot make this stuff up.

Purchased a package of "football feast " tickets  three weeks ago, which I thought would include the q/finals on Aug 1,2,3.  Well the shitty planning by "the fixtures committee" in croke park took care of the above (wexford/ Roscommon draw).

Got a very insightful e-mail this morning from croke park,

A chara,
Congratulations on purchasing your Football Feast Package.
As you know we are still awaiting the full fixture details of the GAA Football Quarter Finals but here is what we do know:
-         Dublin are in one quarter final
-         Cork are in one quarter final
-         Tyrone are in one quarter final
-         Mayo are in one quarter final
None of the four above can play each other so we must await the results of the Qualifiers to determine the other participants. We will not know exact fixture details until Monday 27th July.

While they say they cannot give you the fixture details, I will take a wild guess and tell you when certain teams will not/will be playing.

Kildare will not be playing Saturday
Mayo will not be playing Monday
If the above two are drawn against one another, they will be playing on Sunday August 2nd or Saturday August 9th

Kerry will not be playing Monday,
Dublin will not be playing Saturday August 1
If the above two are drawn against each other they will be playing Sunday August 1, Potential double header with Kildare and Mayo,

Why all of the above , the draw for the all-ireland minor q/finals has been made, Kildare Dublin playing Saturday, Mayo Kerry playing Monday. It would be unprecedented that Minor and Senior teams from the same counties play at the same time at different venues.

How could the rocket scientists at Croke Park have avoided this bullshi*. The could have made the q/final draw last weekend explaing that they needed to to give teams and fans time to plan ahead, not to mention the some of the latter have purchased tickets for the so called football feast which was supposed to include the q/final on August 1,2, and 3.

Mayo support will travel across the country but a Monday fixture would stretch their loyalty to the limit. I'd say the Dubs will play Monday with the other games on Saturday and Sunday. Given the huge interest in Dublin it would be crazy to play a double header with them involved.
Post by: joemamas on July 23, 2009, 02:11:11 PM
If Dublin are drawn against kerry, it will not be Monday unless they decide to include Kerry minors on the bill as they are now scheduled to be playing on Monday afternoon in Portlaoise.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 23, 2009, 02:13:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 23, 2009, 02:00:40 PM

Mayo support will travel across the country but a Monday fixture would stretch their loyalty to the limit. I'd say the Dubs will play Monday with the other games on Saturday and Sunday. Given the huge interest in Dublin it would be crazy to play a double header with them involved.

Is a fixture on a bank holiday Monday really any different to a match on a Sunday?
Post by: joemamas on July 23, 2009, 02:25:01 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 23, 2009, 02:13:28 PM

Is a fixture on a bank holiday Monday really any different to a match on a Sunday?

Please look at my earlier post, If Mayo Minors are playing in Portlaoise at 2pm on Monday, Mayo seniors will not most likely be playing in Croke Park at the same time.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 23, 2009, 02:27:34 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 23, 2009, 02:25:01 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 23, 2009, 02:13:28 PM

Please look at my earlier post, If Mayo Minors are playing in Portlaoise at 2pm on Monday, Mayo seniors will not most likely be playing in Croke Park at the same time.

You wouldn't know what they'd do joemamas, I mean look at the way the fixtures committee have Antrim screwed up this weekend.
Post by: Rocky Mc Guigan on July 23, 2009, 02:41:50 PM
May not now be a Monday game with a double header on one of the weekend days and a stand alone game on the other
Post by: Hound on July 23, 2009, 02:47:59 PM
Potentially the Dublin minors and Dublin seniors could play as a double header on the Saturday of the bank holiday weekend.

I think a similar situation was vetoed by the minor opposition in a prior year, but that was when the opponets were a provincial champion and Dublin a runner-up, I think. So I'd say this could be a runner. While its over 2 years now since a Dublin game has been delayed, a curtain raiser is always desirable to allow a steady inflow rather than a big push before throw in.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2009, 02:57:26 PM
QuotePotentially the Dublin minors and Dublin seniors could play as a double header on the Saturday of the bank holiday weekend.

I think a similar situation was vetoed by the minor opposition in a prior year, but that was when the opponets were a provincial champion and Dublin a runner-up, I think. So I'd say this could be a runner. While its over 2 years now since a Dublin game has been delayed, a curtain raiser is always desirable to allow a steady inflow rather than a big push before throw in.

Well the sentiment is right very few Dublin supporters will show up for the minors as evidenced by the Leinster final and the Dublin support at the replay and the semi-final.
Post by: Frank Casey on July 25, 2009, 07:29:14 PM
Christy Cooney has indicated that Dublin will be given their own day out. I reckon if they were to draw Kerry (no offence to Antrim) they should be made go back to Thurles........................and get lost on the way like 2001.

From www.irishexaminer.com

Dublin promised top billing By Paul Keane

Saturday, July 25, 2009

GAA President Christy Cooney has guaranteed Dublin a stand alone All-Ireland football quarter-final fixture next weekend.

Dublin, along with the three other provincial champions, will find out tomorrow night who their last eight opponents are.

But what appears a definite is that the Sky Blues won't take part in any potential double header over the Bank Holiday August weekend.

It's good news for the county's huge support base who feared a major ticket shortage in the event of a double header.

Cooney also dismissed reports that if Dublin were drawn to face Kerry the quarter-final tie may go ahead in Thurles.

He said Dublin would only have played in Thurles this summer in the event of the Leinster final ending in a draw as Croke Park is currently out of commission.

He also stated that Croke Park will be fully operational next weekend despite the short turnaround in laying down a new pitch from Wednesday onwards following the U2 concerts there.

"I think it's fairly definite that it will be (a stand alone quarter-final for Dublin)," said Cooney.

"It's most unlikely that we'll be able to cater for a crowd with any other two counties involved.

"The Dubs could fill (Croke Park) on their own but understandably they'll have to share tickets with another county. So be it. We would expect that will happen."

Cooney said there's no reason all four quarter-finals can't take place at Croke Park over the Bank Holiday weekend.

"We're happy that once the stage is taken down next Wednesday we'll have a pitch in place ready to play next Saturday that's in top condition," continued Cooney.

"We're very comfortable with that. There's been a lot of time and effort gone into logistics and making sure the sod we're getting is A1 and the pitch will play to form.

"If we wanted to play next Saturday, Sunday and Monday (at Croke Park) we'd do that.

"It'll depend on who Dublin draw and who they're playing and if they draw an Ulster team, which is only Antrim now at this stage, we couldn't play that, for instance, on a Monday because it's not a Bank Holiday in Ulster."

Cooney was speaking at the unveiling of the GAA's Codes of Best Practice in Youth Sport and Behaviour in the company of Minster for Children and Youth Affairs Barry Andrews.

The purpose of the codes is to prove guidance 'for all units and branches of the GAA family in their work with children and young people'.

Meanwhile Dublin duo Conal Keaney and Peadar Andrews hope that following in the footsteps of Real Madrid's galacticos will boost their All-Ireland football title hopes.

The Leinster champions held a two day training camp at the Carton House estate in Kildare this week, moving in to use the plush training facilities just as Madrid were moving out after a high profile stay.

"The pitch out there is similar to Croke Park, the surface is like a golf course, it's unbelievable really," said Keaney who has trained there before as part of Dublin's official link up with Carton House.

"There were a few more advertisements around the pitch and Audi cars around the place this time. Unfortunately they weren't for us.

"We had a couple of sessions and worked on a few things that we think will be of use to us going forward."

The camp took place on Wednesday and Thursday and some players stayed on there until yesterday.

"Obviously there was a lot of hype about the place with Real Madrid just leaving," said Dublin defender Andrews.

"But it has fantastic facilities and the pitch was great. It just allowed us to get a lot of work done and we're very happy with it.

"It's a lot more private and Pat gets his points across a lot better.

"This is the business end of the championship and hopefully we can get in our best shape over the next eight or nine weeks."

One high profile player who didn't take part in the Carton camp was Dublin forward Mark Vaughan who has been released from the panel for disciplinary reasons.

The All-Ireland club winner instead took part in a mid week league game for Kilmacud Crokes as his former colleagues geared up for their assault on the Sam Maguire Cup.

Dublin's management team have refused to comment on the Vaughan situation though Andrews admitted the loss of such a fine player was regrettable.

"Everyone knows Mark Vaughan is a fantastic player," said Andrews. "It was evident throughout Kilmacud's run when they won the club championship. But that's a management issue, I don't know the ins and outs of it, he's been carrying a wee bit of an injury.

"It is a loss to lose someone as talented as him but I suppose we have to get on with it at this stage and try to finish out the championship."

Post by: Barney on July 25, 2009, 07:56:11 PM
Quote"If we wanted to play next Saturday, Sunday and Monday (at Croke Park) we'd do that.

"It'll depend on who Dublin draw and who they're playing and if they draw an Ulster team, which is only Antrim now at this stage, we couldn't play that, for instance, on a Monday because it's not a Bank Holiday in Ulster."

To paraphrase:

Basically we'll make the draw, see what suits Dublin and everybody else can fit in around that. Unfortunately whoever are playing Dublin will have to get a few tickets, but no way do Dubin supporters need to worry about travelling. We can use Croke Park, but will probably send some of the matches down the country because Croke Park is no longer a GAA Stadium and is a multi-purpose entertainment facility. But Dubs rest assured any advantage we can give you we will.
Post by: tyssam5 on July 25, 2009, 08:06:46 PM
As has been mentioned why the hell was the 1/4 draw not done last weekend. It could even hav put some number on the gates of certain games as people might want to see the team they are playing next. Monkeys couldn't f**k the scheduling up better.
Post by: Orior on July 25, 2009, 08:39:33 PM
I reckon...

Tyrone v Meath
Cork v Donegal
Dublin v Kerry
Mayo v Kildare
Post by: Maigheo Abu on July 25, 2009, 09:07:21 PM
Can't see the Dubs drawing Kerry. The powers that be want both sides to go a distance further.
Post by: magickingdom on July 25, 2009, 09:09:12 PM
Quote from: Maigheo Abu on July 25, 2009, 09:07:21 PM
Can't see the Dubs drawing Kerry. The powers that be want both sides to go a distance further.

?? could you give any particular reason why the powers that be want kerry to go further
Post by: ildanach on July 25, 2009, 09:19:57 PM
i think it could be:

sat 1st double header mayo v kildare & cork v donegal
sun 2nd tyrone v kerry
sun 8th dublin v llimerick / meath
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 25, 2009, 11:33:43 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 25, 2009, 08:06:46 PM
As has been mentioned why the hell was the 1/4 draw not done last weekend. It could even hav put some number on the gates of certain games as people might want to see the team they are playing next. Monkeys couldn't f**k the scheduling up better.

it would have restricted the draw unnecessarily. Donegal can now be drawn against Mayo whereas Donegal / Galway last weekend couldn't have been in the same way as Antrim / Kerry couldn't have been drawn against Tyrone but Kerry could be should they beat the Saffrons.
Post by: Cllr Willie Power on July 26, 2009, 12:05:18 AM
Cooney said there's no reason all four quarter-finals can't take place at Croke Park over the Bank Holiday weekend.

"We're happy that once the stage is taken down next Wednesday we'll have a pitch in place ready to play next Saturday that's in top condition," continued Cooney.

"We're very comfortable with that. There's been a lot of time and effort gone into logistics and making sure the sod we're getting is A1 and the pitch will play to form.

"If we wanted to play next Saturday, Sunday and Monday (at Croke Park) we'd do that.

Oh no reason at all Christy, apart from the fact that Meath v Limerick still have to play before one of the Quarter Finals can be played. What a chimp...  ::) Seriously, whoever is drawing up the fixtures this year should be shot. A total joke that none of the teams until Monday who or when they are playing - never mind the supporters who want to make plans for a Bank Holiday weekend.
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 01:32:05 AM
I'd say Dublin will play on August 8th
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 11:14:44 AM
Tyrone play Donegal at Clones next sunday
draw already made   ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 26, 2009, 11:54:27 AM
I hope whatever happens Tyrone get to play in Croke Park. Thats were you want to be playing at this stage. I'll take a guess at this:
Tyrone v Kerry (if they win!)
Cork v Kildare
Dublin v Donegal
Mayo v Meath/Limerick.
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 04:27:04 PM
is the draw on the Sunday game tonight?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 04:37:16 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 04:27:04 PM
is the draw on the Sunday game tonight?

I was under the impression that it was on sometime after the Galway v Waterford as the coverage isn't over until 7pm
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 04:40:00 PM
its on after the hurling
Post by: slievegullion on July 26, 2009, 05:35:05 PM
IF, and its a big if, they have any control over the draw then I'd say it will be Dublin v Meath/Limerick with the hope that Meath come through. The rest will fit itself round this.

That would suit them best as it would lessen complaints of Dublin getting a home fixture and either Kerry or Donegal having to travel a great distance to play. It would also slot in nicely for August 8th becuase of Meaths delay.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 05:50:00 PM
I'm going for:

Mayo v Kildare
Tyrone v Kerry
Dublin v Donegal
Cork v Meath/Limerick

Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 26, 2009, 05:51:25 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 05:50:00 PM
I'm going for:

Mayo v Kildare
Tyrone v Kerry
Dublin v Donegal
Cork v Meath/Limerick

Cork can't get Limerick.
Post by: slievegullion on July 26, 2009, 05:53:05 PM
What times the draw on at?
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 05:59:37 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 26, 2009, 05:51:25 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 26, 2009, 05:50:00 PM
I'm going for:

Mayo v Kildare
Tyrone v Kerry
Dublin v Donegal
Cork v Meath/Limerick

Cork can't get Limerick.

How can they do an open draw then? does that mean cork can onky be drawn against Kerry, kildare or donegal?

they really must want dublin v meath on august 8th
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 06:00:04 PM
about 10 min
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 06:08:55 PM
they are showing highlights now...
Post by: slievegullion on July 26, 2009, 06:12:44 PM
Are they showing Antrim highlights?
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 06:14:24 PM
Quote from: slievegullion on July 26, 2009, 06:12:44 PM
Are they showing Antrim highlights?

Donegal at the moment
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2009, 06:29:04 PM
Showing highlights is a joke. This is far too much of the Donegal v Galway game. Are RTÉ only showing them to sell ads? They ought to be ashamed of themselves.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 06:32:56 PM
Dublin to draw Meath/Limerick to rule out any chance of Cork possibly meeting Limerick as well as giving Dublin a stand alone fixture on the 8th/9th.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 26, 2009, 06:33:42 PM
Perhaps they need to record a few draws...you know, until they get the balls to come out the right way...
Post by: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 06:41:56 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2009, 06:29:04 PM
Showing highlights is a joke. This is far too much of the Donegal v Galway game. Are RTÉ only showing them to sell ads? They ought to be ashamed of themselves.

esp as this game was on live yesterday, it would make some sense if it was the kerry v antrim game which was not shown and was on today. they should have done the draw and spent the last hour talking about the ties
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2009, 06:44:21 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 26, 2009, 06:41:56 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2009, 06:29:04 PM

esp as this game was on live yesterday, it would make some sense if it was the kerry v antrim game which was not shown and was on today. they should have done the draw and spent the last hour talking about the ties

Exactly. That's what Setanta are setting themselves up to do - The Hub is scheduled to start at 6.45, which I presume is timed to get in some quality draw discussion in. RTÉ will just throw them a few quips from Pat and that'll be it. Very disappointing, but hardly surprising.

Oh Christ, more ads!
Post by: muppet on July 26, 2009, 06:48:26 PM
Cork v Donegal

Tyrone v Kildare

Dubs v Kerry

Mayo v Meath/Limerick
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 26, 2009, 06:48:49 PM
Tyrone v Kildare
Post by: glens73 on July 26, 2009, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 26, 2009, 06:49:31 PM
Mayo v Kerry

Dublin v Meath/Limerick

Dubs v Kerry
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 06:52:36 PM
Which is it?

What is the draw, there are several different versions posted here.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 26, 2009, 06:53:17 PM
Quote from: glens73 on July 26, 2009, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 26, 2009, 06:49:31 PM
Mayo v Kerry

Dublin v Meath/Limerick

Dubs v Kerry

Sorry I'm an idiot! Dublin v Kerry and Mayo v Meath / Limerick

Dublin v Kerry on Saturday.

Tyrone v Kildare and Cork v Donegal next Sunday I would have thought

Mayo v Meath / Limerick the following weekend
Post by: tyrone girl on July 26, 2009, 06:53:29 PM
as muppet said
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2009, 06:54:07 PM
Spillane has said Dublin v Kerry next Saturday....
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 26, 2009, 06:55:16 PM
great draw, 4 cracking games IMO,
Post by: slievegullion on July 26, 2009, 06:57:01 PM
Tyrone and Kildare will be very interesting. Personally think Kildare have a very good chance.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 26, 2009, 06:57:39 PM
Mayo V Meath or Limerick, interesting draw, we should be good enough to beat either, would like to get to play Meath but either way we have to be happy with that.
Post by: CoDeo2 on July 26, 2009, 06:59:16 PM
Tyrone v Kildare double header with Cork v Donegal next Sunday then?
Post by: carol6 on July 26, 2009, 07:00:29 PM
Four great games methinks and the teams coming off the back of good competitive wins this weekend will have momentum to help them. Just a thought on the Tyrone v Kildare game, who will have to change their traditional white colours?
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 26, 2009, 07:03:51 PM
Quote from: carol6 on July 26, 2009, 07:00:29 PM
Four great games methinks and the teams coming off the back of good competitive wins this weekend will have momentum to help them. Just a thought on the Tyrone v Kildare game, who will have to change their traditional white colours?
TYrone usually have changed, don't recall seeing Kildare in anything other than white for championship. But who knows?

Good games alright, Mayo should beat Meath (or Limerick), Tyrone will see off Kildare after a battle, Cork may get through but I wouldn't bet on it, and Dublin-Kerry, well it's squeaky bum time for the two, no room for error now. Dubs only just.
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 07:06:14 PM
i thought they had set a game aside for the bank holiday monday

although a double header would make perfect sense
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 26, 2009, 07:07:52 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 26, 2009, 07:03:51 PM
Quote from: carol6 on July 26, 2009, 07:00:29 PM
TYrone usually have changed, don't recall seeing Kildare in anything other than white for championship. But who knows?

Good games alright, Mayo should beat Meath (or Limerick), Tyrone will see off Kildare after a battle, Cork may get through but I wouldn't bet on it, and Dublin-Kerry, well it's squeaky bum time for the two, no room for error now. Dubs only just.

Both will probably change as in the league game last year, Tyrone to all red, Kildare to dark green.

Post by: aodhruadh on July 26, 2009, 07:16:41 PM
Am I right in saying the winners of Tyrone/Kildare will play the winners of Donegal/Cork in the semi?

Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 26, 2009, 07:17:29 PM
Quote from: aodhruadh on July 26, 2009, 07:16:41 PM
Am I right in saying the winners of Tyrone/Kildare will play the winners of Donegal/Cork in the semi?

Yep.
Post by: sam03/05 on July 26, 2009, 07:25:00 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on July 26, 2009, 07:19:38 PM
Now we will see whether Tyrone have a fourth gear.

i think Tyrone have shown that they a fourth gear and a pretty impressive fifth one if needed as well
the current tyrone team have very little to prove to anyone - having won 3 all irelands
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 26, 2009, 07:25:35 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on July 26, 2009, 07:19:38 PM
Now we will see whether Tyrone have a fourth gear.

Why do you say that? Is it because its the q - final, or specifically against a McGeeney managed Kildare. At this stage of the competition, a 4th, 5th
and even 6th gear will be needed, no matter who the opposition is.
Post by: nedman on July 26, 2009, 07:38:58 PM
Quote from: Maigheo Abu on July 25, 2009, 09:07:21 PM

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Karl Kennedy on July 26, 2009, 08:50:25 PM
rite with the quarter finals sorted?
what way do the semis work as potential pairings and what could be a potential All Ireland Final 2009?
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 08:51:54 PM
Wonder what price you'd get for four provincial winners to go through for a Tyrone V Cork semi and Dublin V Mayo. That's how I see it anyway
Post by: Barney on July 26, 2009, 08:55:32 PM
Being the GAA don't be suprised if Kildare and Tyrone don't bother changing jerseies!!

Seriously though, some good games. Don't know if the arrangements will be as straightforward as people envisage.

Kerry minors are due to play on the Bank Holiday Monday in Portlaoise. Maybe they will put the game on Saturday week, with Mayo v Meath/Limerick on the Sunday before the hurling semi-final. That way they can charge semi-final prices for one of the quarters - they have done it the last two years to accomodate the Dubs with a day on their own.

Don't rule out Mayo v Meath/Limerick being out of Dublin either.
Post by: criostlinn on July 26, 2009, 08:59:04 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on July 26, 2009, 08:50:25 PM
rite with the quarter finals sorted?
what way do the semis work as potential pairings and what could be a potential All Ireland Final 2009?

(Mayo V Meath/Limerick)  V  (Dublin V Kerry)     30/8/09

(Tyrone V Kildare)  V (Cork V Donegal)               23/8/09
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:07:24 PM
For the 2007 Ulster Final, both teams were to wear their change strip but Monaghan chose to wear their traditional White/Blue jersey and got fined for it. I think in the 2005 qualifers, both Tyrone and Monaghan had to wear their change strips and was the same for Mayo v Fermanagh in the 2004 AI Semi-Final.
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2009, 09:13:27 PM
i think it is in the official guide that both teams have to change if their is a clash of colours.
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2009, 09:51:15 PM
Quote from: Barney on July 26, 2009, 08:55:32 PM
Being the GAA don't be suprised if Kildare and Tyrone don't bother changing jerseies!!

Seriously though, some good games. Don't know if the arrangements will be as straightforward as people envisage.

Kerry minors are due to play on the Bank Holiday Monday in Portlaoise. Maybe they will put the game on Saturday week, with Mayo v Meath/Limerick on the Sunday before the hurling semi-final. That way they can charge semi-final prices for one of the quarters - they have done it the last two years to accomodate the Dubs with a day on their own.

Dublin will not agree to the extra week. Thats from the horse's mouth. They are going to insist on it next week. Neutral or otherwise. They don't want 4 weeks between games like last years disaster.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:53:32 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2009, 09:51:15 PM

Dublin will not agree to the extra week. Thats from the horse's mouth. They are going to insist on it next week. Neutral or otherwise. They don't want 4 weeks between games like last years disaster.

Was wondering how long it would take before someone would mention this. Did they not take the same stance last year and ended up playing a week later and ruined their preparation.
Post by: orangeman on July 26, 2009, 09:54:00 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 26, 2009, 08:51:54 PM
Wonder what price you'd get for four provincial winners to go through for a Tyrone V Cork semi and Dublin V Mayo. That's how I see it anyway

All four will be favourites but there'll be ome shock at least IMHO.
Post by: INDIANA on July 26, 2009, 10:42:37 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 09:53:32 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 26, 2009, 09:51:15 PM

The extra week was foisted on them by the Gaa to maximise revenue. it won't be happening this year. I don't care if its in parnell park and I have to stay at home once its on next week.

Was wondering how long it would take before someone would mention this. Did they not take the same stance last year and ended up playing a week later and ruined their preparation.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 26, 2009, 11:32:38 PM
There's no real logical reason for Dublin v Kerry not to be played this week. Would expect it to be on Saturday. Woul Mayo fans prefer their q/final to be a double header with the hurling or on its own outside Croke Park. Hard to see them opening Croke Park on its own for that one if Limerick qualify. Was there something earlier in the year about a guarantee that all the q/finals would be in Croke Park?

QuoteThe extra week was foisted on them by the Gaa to maximise revenue. it won't be happening this year. I don't care if its in parnell park and I have to stay at home once its on next week.

Dublin wanting a standalone game in Croke Park was also an issue. They couldn't have it every way.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 26, 2009, 11:44:41 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 26, 2009, 11:32:38 PM
There's no real logical reason for Dublin v Kerry not to be played this week. Would expect it to be on Saturday. Woul Mayo fans prefer their q/final to be a double header with the hurling or on its own outside Croke Park. Hard to see them opening Croke Park on its own for that one if Limerick qualify. Was there something earlier in the year about a guarantee that all the q/finals would be in Croke Park?

QuoteThe extra week was foisted on them by the Gaa to maximise revenue. it won't be happening this year. I don't care if its in parnell park and I have to stay at home once its on next week.

Dublin wanting a standalone game in Croke Park was also an issue. They couldn't have it every way.

In 2006, Mayo played Laois in a replay which was a double-header with Kilkenny and Clare in hurling semi-finals. It wouldn't be that big a deal I'd say.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 11:50:33 PM
Last year Cork and Kildare also played in the football AIQF before the Cork v Killkenny AISF in the hurling.

Only thing being that you will be paying semi-final rates rather than rates for quarter finals.

Im assuming ticket prices for quarter finals will be the same regardless if its a stand alone fixture or a double header.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 27, 2009, 07:44:03 AM
Paddy Powers

All-Ireland SFC Outright 2009
Saturday 1st August 2009, 15:00
Outright Betting    Hide

Tyrone    13/8
Cork    4/1
Dublin    4/1
Kerry    9/2
Mayo    9/1
Kildare    28/1
Donegal    33/1
Meath    33/1
Limerick    150/1

Each Way Odds 1/3 places 1,2

Ladbrooks
14:00

Tyrone 2.62
Cork 4.00
Kerry 5.00
Dublin 5.50
Mayo 8.50
Donegal 34.00
Kildare 34.00
Meath 34.00
Limerick 151.00
Each-way bets 1/3 odds first 2 

Boyle Sports

Selection Price
Tyrone  13/8 
Cork  4/1 
Dublin  4/1 
Kerry  9/2 
Mayo  8/1 
Kildare  20/1 
Donegal  33/1 
Meath  33/1 
Limerick  150/1 
Post by: Hound on July 27, 2009, 07:55:15 AM
Another handy draw for the Dubs!
The culchie conspiracy theorists who were all very loud earlier in this thread have dried up pretty sharpish  ;D

I'd expect Cork to account for Donegal pretty handily. Be very interesting to see if the Lillies can give Tyrone a game. Mayo v Meath would be super craic after past history, while Limerick now can see a great chance to make an All Ireland semi-final. Though I think Mayo will prevail in the end to play the winners of Dublin/Kerry.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on July 27, 2009, 08:07:25 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 27, 2009, 07:55:15 AM
The culchie conspiracy theorists who were all very loud earlier in this thread have dried up pretty sharpish  ;D

I'd expect Cork to account for Donegal pretty handily. Be very interesting to see if the Lillies can give Tyrone a game. Mayo v Meath would be super craic after past history, while Limerick now can see a great chance to make an All Ireland semi-final. Though I think Mayo will prevail in the end to play the winners of Dublin/Kerry.

Mayo's path to the final is grudge central.

If we play Meath next thats remember 1996
If we play the Dubs, they out for revenge for '06
If we play Kerry we want to whollop them for '97, '04, '06 because of percieved Kerry weakness, they just want to shut up what they think is the usual Mayo sh!t£ talk
If we play Cork in a Final then thats revenge for '89
If we play Tyrone in a Final, they want to show Mayo are not an exception to their great dominance over other teams
If we play Donegal it will be Mayo's first chance to rectify Championship & League defeats inflicted on us by Donegal.

Of course there are probably plenty of grudge matches for other counties in here.
Limerick V Kerry
Dublin V Meath
Meath V Cork
Cork V Dublin
Kerry V Tyrone
Kildare V Dublin
Donegal V Tyrone
Dublin V Donegal just to mention a few.
Post by: Doogie Browser on July 27, 2009, 09:54:28 AM
According to the TV listings RTE are showing a live game on Sat evening (5.00pm I think), I wonder is this the Meath/Limerick Qualifier or will one of the AIQF's be played at this time on Sat evening?
Post by: deiseach on July 27, 2009, 09:56:18 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 27, 2009, 07:55:15 AM

They'll be back. Should Dublin beat Kerry we'll know it's because Kerry were vulnerable and the draw was rigged.
Post by: sammymaguire on July 27, 2009, 10:07:07 AM
KILDARE @ 28/1 seems a decent each way BET OR lump on Tyrone NOW!
Post by: Hardy on July 27, 2009, 10:55:52 AM
Jayz there's a serious accumulation of grudges in Mayo!
Post by: Barney on July 27, 2009, 12:55:16 PM
Cork/Donegal at 2 on Sunday. Tyrone/Kildare at 4. Both in Croke Park.

Meath/Limerick at 7 in Portlaoise on Saturday evening.
Post by: Barney on July 27, 2009, 12:56:01 PM
Full Details here - http://www.gaa.ie/page/gaa_football_all_ireland_senior_championship3.html
Title: Re: Quarter Finals Draw - GAABoard beats the media - all now fixed
Post by: mick999 on July 27, 2009, 01:15:34 PM
Combo ticket packages available online as well :

http://tickets.gaa.ie/gaaticketpackages.html (http://tickets.gaa.ie/gaaticketpackages.html)
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 01:30:27 PM
Quote from: mick999 on July 27, 2009, 01:15:34 PM

http://tickets.gaa.ie/gaaticketpackages.html (http://tickets.gaa.ie/gaaticketpackages.html)

What' the score with the 2 quarter finals and 2 semis package ??? Which quarter finals does it cover ???????
Post by: Canalman on July 27, 2009, 01:30:42 PM
Can guarantee you that Dublin game will be played next weekend..... may be part of a double bill if needs be. Dubin won't agree to a postponement throwing their preparation out the window.
Post by: full back on July 27, 2009, 01:32:08 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 27, 2009, 01:30:42 PM
Can guarantee you that Dublin game will be played next weekend..... may be part of a double bill if needs be. Dubin won't agree to a postponement throwing their preparation out the window.

??? ???

Sure it has been fixed for next Monday
Post by: mick999 on July 27, 2009, 01:53:29 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 01:30:27 PM
Quote from: mick999 on July 27, 2009, 01:15:34 PM

What' the score with the 2 quarter finals and 2 semis package ??? Which quarter finals does it cover ???????

According to the terms and conditions,

" In the event that the football quarter finals are held over three separate days, the Football Feast or Dual Package holder will be asked to indicate the two days he or she wishes to attend or will be given the option of purchasing a ticket for the third day at face value."
Post by: aodhruadh on July 27, 2009, 02:42:11 PM
What price are the standard individual tickets for the Quarter and Semis? ... just wondering what the savings will be for a combo ticket.
Post by: theoriginalmup on July 27, 2009, 03:36:31 PM
All the dubs will have to leave courtown early on the monday
Post by: tyrone86 on July 27, 2009, 03:41:40 PM
Quote from: aodhruadh on July 27, 2009, 02:42:11 PM
What price are the standard individual tickets for the Quarter and Semis? ... just wondering what the savings will be for a combo ticket.

Last year was E35 for Quarters and E45 for Semis
Post by: orangeman on July 27, 2009, 03:45:05 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on July 27, 2009, 03:41:40 PM
Quote from: aodhruadh on July 27, 2009, 02:42:11 PM

Last year was E35 for Quarters and E45 for Semis

Combo ticket is €65 I think.
Post by: joemamas on July 27, 2009, 08:08:06 PM
just looked at the weather for the next week in Dublin. Very heavy rain possible/probable, should be interesting around Croke Park.

Post by: ross4life on July 27, 2009, 08:10:02 PM
it's interesting that the bookies still think it's gonna be a Tyrone v Kerry Final how exciting  ::)
Post by: muppet on July 27, 2009, 11:15:15 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 27, 2009, 08:08:06 PM
just looked at the weather for the next week in Dublin. Very heavy rain possible/probable, should be interesting around Croke Park.

The following weekend will be much brighter, spreading from the west.  ;D
Post by: Hound on July 28, 2009, 07:07:32 AM
Residents protesting around Croke Park this morning, according to the radio. Preventing workers getting in to remove the stage...
Post by: INDIANA on July 28, 2009, 07:57:25 AM
esidents in the vicinity of Croke Park have begun a protest action over what they describe as the intrusion caused by extensive works to host the three U2 concerts.

They say their intention is to disrupt or delay trucks taking away the band's stage and equipment.

A residents' motor convoy travelled along the Clonliffe Road earlier this morning.
Advertisement

They are are also due to stage a picket on St Joseph's Avenue this morning, which is a route that trucks are expected to use.

The residents are angry that Dublin City Council has permitted continuous 44-hour works from midnight last night to dismantle the stage.

Probably all kerrymen. They are on a tight deadline to remove the stage- could cause major problems if there are long delays.