Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 07:56:51 PM

Title: Create a 'Soccer Discussion' section!
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 07:56:51 PM
One the first page here alone of 'General Discussion' there are 8 soccer threads, would it not be better to create a new section 'Soccer Discussion' section so that people will know where to go when they want to talk about soccer as there clearly is a demand to discussing it on the board. I assume the soccer boys would support this?

Mods, any chance of you could create this section?
Title: Re: Create a 'Soccer Discussion' section!
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 08:02:30 PM
I know this has been suggested before but I for one would like to see this happening . The current affairs and other general discussions are falling off the 1st and sometimes 2nd page too fast.   Threads like http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11937.0 which are quite popular  only seem to last on the 1st page for about  10 minutes.

A Soccer discussion would be much appreciated .

Post by: Lecale2 on April 19, 2009, 08:02:57 PM
Good idea.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 08:09:39 PM
What is this soccer?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 19, 2009, 08:09:56 PM
If there was a new sub-forum to be created, it would probably be best to call it 'other sports' (i.e. non GAA). No point in having a soccer forum and still have rugby, cricket etc discussed in the general forum.
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 19, 2009, 08:10:53 PM
Not a good idea.

Would they have to change the name to Gaa_and_soccer_board.com?
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 08:16:16 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 08:09:39 PM
What is this soccer?
The word soccer is a colloquial abbreviation of association (from assoc.) and first appeared in the 1880s. The word is sometimes credited to Charles Wreford Brown, an Oxford student said to have been fond of shortened forms such as brekkers for breakfast and rugger for rugby football. (See Oxford -er)
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 08:17:00 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 19, 2009, 08:09:56 PM
If there was a new sub-forum to be created, it would probably be best to call it 'other sports' (i.e. non GAA). No point in having a soccer forum and still have rugby, cricket etc discussed in the general forum.

But other sports wouldnt get a look in then, i think there is one cricket, one rugby thread that are very really discussed except if something major happens so it would come in under general discussion. But there is clearly a demand for a soccer section with so many soccer threads that are taking over General Discussion and always the dominant discussion on the first page.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 08:19:40 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 08:16:16 PM
What is this soccer?
The word soccer is a colloquial abbreviation of association (from assoc.) and first appeared in the 1880s. The word is sometimes credited to Charles Wreford Brown, an Oxford student said to have been fond of shortened forms such as brekkers for breakfast and rugger for rugby football. (See Oxford -er)

Well, I'm just about to get din dins so I'll look it up later.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 19, 2009, 08:25:49 PM
Quote from: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 07:56:51 PM
One the first page here alone of 'General Discussion' there are 8 soccer threads, would it not be better to create a new section 'Soccer Discussion' section so that people will know where to go when they want to talk about soccer as there clearly is a demand to discussing it on the board. I assume the soccer boys would support this?

How about just have the team threads and then one general soccer thread to discuss general topics, like transfers or who's going to be relegated etc?
I know what you're saying with the suggestion but if you made a soccer section there's an argument for a political section and this is a GAA Board.
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 08:28:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 19, 2009, 08:25:49 PM

How about just have the team threads and then one general soccer thread to discuss general topics, like transfers or who's going to be relegated etc?
I know what you're saying with the suggestion but if you made a soccer section there's an argument for a political section and this is a GAA Board.
I don't think having a soccer or even a political section is inconsistent with being a GAA Board unless rule 42 some how applies?   ;D ;)
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 08:33:36 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 08:28:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 19, 2009, 08:25:49 PM

I don't think having a soccer or even a political section is inconsistent with being a GAA Board unless rule 42 some how applies?   ;D ;)

I can see what POG is saying but this is only a discussion board and if there is a clear need for a soccer section i see nothing wrong with having one.
Post by: Orior on April 19, 2009, 09:31:20 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on April 19, 2009, 08:10:53 PM
Not a good idea.

Would they have to change the name to Gaa_and_soccer_board.com?

Agreed. Not a good idea.
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 09:44:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 09:32:52 PM
Fcuk off Tankie. Let's make a rugby section.

Or, just fcuk up, ya wee dick.

I dont think that there is demand for a Rugby section. But it is clear that you all have a huge interest in soccer and it has taken over the general discussion section, i really do not see what your problem is.

Also no need for the name calling - another poster would report you for that type of insult but i wont as you will probably end up banned and you aint the worst!
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 09:49:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 09:45:29 PM
Why do you complain so much?

It's a thread.

Open......Don't open

I is not a matter of open or close, the main page is full of soccer threads and other discussions get pushed down and then just dropped. If there is such and interest in one particular subject (English Soccer) that take up 8 threads on the main page alone well there there is a case for a soccer section.

What is peoples problem with it? it will make the board easier to use.
Post by: mountainboii on April 19, 2009, 09:57:29 PM
Very opportune time to complain that there are too many soccer threads on the first page - a Sunday evening on one of the final weekends of the season, just after two big FA cup games and several other important relegation/promotion battles. Some of these threads will probably stay near the front page til Wednesday because of the mid week games but come back Thursday or Friday and there might not be any soccer threads about. Also, whats wrong with people that they can't click on the 'page 2' link?
Post by: mountainboii on April 19, 2009, 10:06:21 PM
Four music related threads on the first page  :o

This is a joke, I'm finding the board very difficult to navigate now. I move for a music section to be created!
Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:07:17 PM
What is this soccer?

is this satire or a serious question?

does anyone get it?
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 10:07:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 10:03:11 PM
Quote from: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 09:49:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 09:45:29 PM
Why do you complain so much?

It's a thread.

Open......Don't open

I is not a matter of open or close, the main page is full of soccer threads and other discussions get pushed down and then just dropped. If there is such and interest in one particular subject (English Soccer) that take up 8 threads on the main page alone well there there is a case for a soccer section.

What is peoples problem with it? it will make the board easier to use.
Please stop talking shite. Easier to use? If one is incapable of clicking on the thread one wants to read, one is a f**king spastic.

Or if a huge amount of posters are English soccer fans and post about it everyday taking over the General Discussion - Why not just create a Soccer Section?
Post by: mountainboii on April 19, 2009, 10:10:20 PM
Six threads about TV shows between page one and two. Mods, create a TV section!  >:(
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 10:14:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 10:08:56 PM
Your board would be boards.ie. They cater for all.

I really dont see what your issue is, as a fan of English soccer would it not suit you better to have a soccer section where you could go and discuss all things soccer?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 19, 2009, 10:14:49 PM
It's nearing the end of the season so there are a couple more soccer threads than usual. Few more weeks and it'll quieten down again. Don't see the need for a soccer section really. As people have already said you'll often find nearly as many about TV or music.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:18:14 PM
Quote from: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:07:17 PM
What is this soccer?

does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:20:42 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:18:14 PM
What is this soccer?

does anyone get it?

I got it last night.

strange person
Post by: Minder on April 19, 2009, 10:22:18 PM
What is this soccer?

does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 10:29:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 10:16:19 PM
As a whinger, would you like a whinging section, Tankie?

Wise up and stop talking shite.

Nothing to do with whinging, i am just looking to enhance the board. I am not slagging you for supporting soccer or anything so i dont see why your acting like a child. You have yet to say why it is not required..
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 10:30:33 PM
Jasus some lads are bitterly a opposed to this . Must be a hang over from the 20's , say no to partition !  A GAA board  divided shall never be at peace
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:34:11 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 19, 2009, 10:22:18 PM
What is this soccer?

does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Want his number?
Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:35:25 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:34:11 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Does he teach grammar too?
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 10:37:33 PM
What is this soccer?

does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Want his number?

Chris ,how is it done over at OWC ? Is it NI football and then a general thing?
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:39:31 PM
There are loads of different sections.  Maybe 20 or so.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:41:38 PM
Quote from: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:35:25 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Fair play everton, yous deserved it over the 120mins.

Want his number?
Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:42:38 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:41:38 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Want his number?

???
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 10:44:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 10:34:39 PM
Tankie, it is a collection of threads. Wise up.

Is it because its a soccer section that you have a problem with, you all support English teams and talk about it all day so it would be much easier to have it all in one section.
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 10:48:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 10:46:12 PM
I do not support any soccer team.

well then this would suit you even better as you can have all the soccer threads in one section and you can post on all the different teams threads.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:50:03 PM
Quote from: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:42:38 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Want his number?

???

Does anyone get it?
Post by: Main Street on April 19, 2009, 10:52:30 PM
Whatever Tankie is for, I am against.

Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:53:05 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 10:50:03 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Want his number?

???

Does anyone get it?

Can you anwer the question please, do you not know what soccer is?
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 10:53:19 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 19, 2009, 10:52:30 PM

So your against a United Ireland ?
Post by: Tankie on April 19, 2009, 10:53:55 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 10:53:19 PM

So your against a United Ireland ?

Post by: Orior on April 19, 2009, 10:55:22 PM

LOL
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 10:55:35 PM
Quote from: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:53:05 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Want his number?

???

Does anyone get it?

Fred, Chris is doing the whole pretending not too  know what soccer is as he is oppose to the use of the word . No doubt because he thought it was an American import.
Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:57:58 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 10:55:35 PM
Quote from: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 10:53:05 PM
What is this soccer?

Does anyone get it?

I got it last night.
Was he gentle?

Wan't his number?

Want his number?

???

Does anyone get it?

Fred, Chris is doing the whole pretending not too  know what soccer is as he is oppose to the use of the word . No doubt because he thought it was an American import.

Thanks. Im not sure what anyone would find wrong with the word soccer, but whatever floats his boat.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:03:38 PM
Gnevin I would say opposed is too strong a word but it amuses me that with football being the one game where players use their feet, that it somehow finds itself being called soccer.  Strange.

Fred, relax man.
Post by: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 11:05:57 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:03:38 PM
Gnevin I would say opposed is too strong a word but it amuses me that with football being the one game where players use their feet, that it somehow finds itself being called soccer.  Strange.

Fred, relax man.

That line might have worked for you last night, but it won't work tonight.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:09:17 PM
Quote from: fred the red on April 19, 2009, 11:05:57 PM

Fred, relax man.

That line might have worked for you last night, but it won't work tonight.

It took a minute.  Very good :D
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 11:09:34 PM

Fred, relax man.
I assume you mean the one game where most of the players don't use their hands as all codes of "football" have some sort of kicking . It always amuses me when Soccer lads feel they have ownership of the word football. A lot of these codes developed at the same time and shared rules. Football was as natural a name for a game which had the mark but no hacking later to become soccer as the game had the mark and hacking later to become Rugby
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:20:37 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 11:09:34 PM

Fred, relax man.
I assume you mean the one game where most of the players don't use their hands as all codes of "football" have some sort of kicking . It always amuses me when Soccer lads feel they have own the word football. a lot of these codes developed at the same time and share rules. Football was as natural a name for a game which had the mark but no hacking later to become soccer as the game had the mark and hacking late to become Rugby

It is a world game.  The word football is not owned.  Just logical.

Fußball
Fútbol
Futebol
Футбол
足球
フットボール

Oh, and soccer in Spanish?  
fútbol
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 11:24:11 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:20:37 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 11:09:34 PM

Fred, relax man.
I assume you mean the one game where most of the players don't use their hands as all codes of "football" have some sort of kicking . It always amuses me when Soccer lads feel they have own the word football. a lot of these codes developed at the same time and share rules. Football was as natural a name for a game which had the mark but no hacking later to become soccer as the game had the mark and hacking late to become Rugby

It is a world game.  The word football is not owned.  Just logical.

f*ßball
Fútbol
Futebol
Футбол
足球
フットボール

Oh, and soccer in Spanish?  
fútbol
How is it any more logical than Football for Rugby or American or Gaelic.
Rugby is a world game too ,maybe not a widespread as soccer but still a world game.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:28:47 PM
err? because they run with the ball in their hands?

It's not complicated.
Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 11:31:17 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:28:47 PM
err? because they run with the ball in their hands?

It's not complicated.
Originally the soccer lads did too or at least caught the ball

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheffield_Rules . These rules are similar to the rules of Union than the rules we know for soccer today.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:39:27 PM
'The abolition of the fair catch'

Post by: Gnevin on April 19, 2009, 11:52:17 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:39:27 PM
'The abolition of the fair catch'

Your hopeless ,you clearly can't grasp the fact that when all these sports where formed  they all allowed the use of the hands and as such your argument about Soccer  being "pure" doesn't apply.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:54:53 PM
Read your own link!

Six years after the creation of the Sheffield Rules the Football Association rules were created.
Post by: J70 on April 20, 2009, 12:20:21 AM
The board is quiet enough for decent topics these days without cordoning off the soccer threads into their own little section. Leave them where they are. There is only a few of them anyway.
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 12:30:46 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 11:54:53 PM
Read your own link!

Six years after the creation of the Sheffield Rules the Football Association rules were created.
You mean
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laws_of_the_Game#1863_rules "If a player makes a fair catch, he shall be entitled to a free kick, providing he claims it by making a mark with his heel at once; and in order to take such kick he may go back as far as he pleases, and no player on the opposite side shall advance beyond his mark until he has kicked."?
Post by: Chrisowc on April 20, 2009, 07:49:10 AM
ffs!  You are going over a law abolished over 130 years ago to justify why football should be called soccer.

Anyway, good to see you are contributing to the 'soccer' discussions on the board  ;)
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 20, 2009, 08:42:27 AM

May be if you said that "football" is the one game that players only use their feet you'd be closer to the truth (leaving the keepers out....).  However I think that rugby, gaelic, australian and even American footballers do actually use their feet on occasion.

I notice that similar to Ireland countries like the US and Australia that have other popular codes regularly use the term soccer.  Indeed the Australian had a "soccer associations" and their international team was called the "socceroos" until order to change it by FIFA.  Maybe it's a convenience thing???????????

It's certainly seems to be an "OWC" habit to bristle every time soccer is mentioned (and indeed prompts the question "What's soccer").  I suspect that this comes from a reluctance to accept Gaelic football as a valid sport because it is run by the GAA.

/Jim.
Post by: nifan on April 20, 2009, 08:52:29 AM
Jim, they get annoyed when rugby people call it soccer too.

I dont get the issue. When someone says soccer or gaelic we all know what they mean. Football can be used for either but it is generally obvious in most contexts, or can be quickly clarified when not.

Some people are way to parochial over the names of things.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 20, 2009, 09:22:24 AM
Would this thread be considered a soccer disussion thread and therefore be included in the proposed new section - or is it a general discussion about a new section! Its all getting a bit confusing - we'll be under so much pressure to decide which section to post in incase we get shouted at! Would a disussion on a tv programme related to football (soccer) be in the soccer section? Say for example Jossy's Giants came back on tv - which section would i put a discussion about it on?
Post by: Roger on April 20, 2009, 09:30:34 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 20, 2009, 08:42:27 AM

May be if you said that "football" is the one game that players only use their feet you'd be closer to the truth (leaving the keepers out....).  However I think that rugby, gaelic, australian and even American footballers do actually use their feet on occasion.

I notice that similar to Ireland countries like the US and Australia that have other popular codes regularly use the term soccer.  Indeed the Australian had a "soccer associations" and their international team was called the "socceroos" until order to change it by FIFA.  Maybe it's a convenience thing???????????

It's certainly seems to be an "OWC" habit to bristle every time soccer is mentioned (and indeed prompts the question "What's soccer").  I suspect that this comes from a reluctance to accept Gaelic football as a valid sport because it is run by the GAA.

/Jim.
I never call it soccer and it seems foreign when I hear people say it.  Don't bristle at it mind, it's just no one in the UK that I know ever calls football that. As a member of a rugby club that was officially called a football club I would often refer to rugby as football too which means I often have to change my terminology so as not to confuse others.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 20, 2009, 09:31:08 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on April 20, 2009, 08:42:27 AM

/Jim.

In Australia they can't decide what is or isn't 'footy'.  Depending in what state you are in it could be Rugby League or Aussie Rules.

I'm certainly not bristling at the mention of soccer.  My original question was made in jest.  
Post by: ludermor on April 20, 2009, 09:33:35 AM
At least with the soccer threads you know what you are getting into when you open it but i wish there was a warning in each thread that Tankie has contributed to.
Post by: ziggysego on April 20, 2009, 09:58:59 AM
What is this soccer?

Chris is right, we should call it by it's proper name

Association Football ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2009, 11:06:11 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 20, 2009, 12:20:21 AM
The board is quiet enough for decent topics these days without cordoning off the soccer threads into their own little section. Leave them where they are. There is only a few of them anyway.

Agreed, their are really only 4 main soccer threads that regularly surface, Celtic, Man U, Liverpool and FAI/Ireland thread, as has been said already by another poster, the reason for the large number of threads atm is primarially (sp) the time of year. So bad idea, having visited OWC and seen the way a board cvan end up being segmented to death, it's just confusing and not worth it.
Post by: whiskeysteve on April 20, 2009, 11:11:48 AM
Terrible idea. This is a GAA discussion site and whilst other things should have their place in the general section no other sport should have its own section.

Besides who the f**k wants a load of inane soccer chat on here. There are thousands of soccer forums out there. If you are so desperate for a 'soccer only' corner of the net then jog on there
Post by: Mario on April 20, 2009, 11:18:32 AM
If there was a soccer section, i am convinced it would get more views/replies than the hurling section.
Post by: whiskeysteve on April 20, 2009, 11:35:05 AM
probably because there are more teams/matches/hyped up things to crow about. But anyway which would get more posts is irrelevant
Post by: bcarrier on April 20, 2009, 11:46:32 AM
Please mod No.

Other sports would just about be acceptable.
Post by: Orior on April 20, 2009, 12:03:32 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2009, 11:06:11 AM

Agreed, their are really only 4 main soccer threads that regularly surface, Celtic, Man U, Liverpool and FAI/Ireland thread, as has been said already by another poster, the reason for the large number of threads atm is primarially (sp) the time of year. So bad idea, having visited OWC and seen the way a board cvan end up being segmented to death, it's just confusing and not worth it.

Oh jeez no. Are you okay? Did they try to knock your windows in? Did you wash afterwards?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2009, 12:16:03 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 20, 2009, 12:03:32 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2009, 11:06:11 AM

Oh jeez no. Are you okay? Did they try to knock your windows in? Did you wash afterwards?

All very cloakn'dagger Orior, sneak in under an appropriate moniker eg: TrueBlueBilly1690, post a few innocent comments and settle in for the long haul.
Post by: Main Street on April 20, 2009, 01:50:59 PM
Quote from: Roger on April 20, 2009, 09:30:34 AM
I never call it soccer and it seems foreign when I hear people say it.  Don't bristle at it mind, it's just no one in the UK that I know ever calls football that.
In Ireland we use gaelic and soccer.
Mostly people use the word gaelic and soccer, what's the big deal? Ever since I can remember it was soccer and gaelic.
Soccer is a vaild acceptable term in Ireland. Nevertheless the common use of word soccer, say in the USA, appears to attract a degree of condescension and snobbery from those in the BBC, those who can't get their heads around that over the world there are plenty of other popular games played with a ball which also use the term football.

FWIW doing an Evil Genius 'google search test'  using the search term "soccer uk"  brings up 14.4m hits.

Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 20, 2009, 02:02:52 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 20, 2009, 01:50:59 PM
I never call it soccer and it seems foreign when I hear people say it.  Don't bristle at it mind, it's just no one in the UK that I know ever calls football that.
Mostly people use the word gaelic and soccer, what's the big deal? Ever since I can remember it was soccer and gaelic.
Soccer is a vaild acceptable term in Ireland. Nevertheless the common use of word soccer, say in the USA, appears to attract a degree of condescension and snobbery from those in the BBC, those who can't get their heads around that over the world there are plenty of other popular games played with a ball which also use the term football.

FWIW doing an Evil Genius 'google search test'  using the search term "soccer uk"  brings up 14.4m hits.

Aye but search "soccer ni" and you don't get any hits!
Post by: nifan on April 20, 2009, 02:05:05 PM

breaking out the pseudo science

soccer Ireland brings up 11.3m.
Adjusting for population, the term soccer is approx 8 times more popular in ireland than the uk   :P

QED
Post by: Roger on April 20, 2009, 02:17:49 PM

Agree with valid and acceptable.  I can't see why it would be unacceptable.   In the GB and NI football means association football.  I don't think snobbery and condescension comes into it as I imagine in places where other ball sports are termed football there is a terminology requirement to differentiate.  In GB & to a lesser extent NI there is no need really and that is why it sounds a bit strange to hear the term soccer. When someone says soccer, I know exactly what they mean so it's not something to "bristle" at.
Post by: nifan on April 20, 2009, 02:19:44 PM
QuoteIn the GB and NI football means association football.

In parts of NI that would be false.
Post by: thejuice on April 20, 2009, 02:20:13 PM
Football is
(http://www.100greatblackbritons.com/images/paul%20mcgrath.bmp)

Football is
(http://www.baltisearch.com/sports/quarterbacks/joe_montana.jpg)

Football is
(http://www.aacc-houston.org/Gala2007/footy.jpg)

Football is
(http://media.tribune.ie/site_media/photologue/photos/2007/Jun/10/cache/t101784b_display.jpg)

Football is whatever you want it to be.
Post by: nifan on April 20, 2009, 02:22:20 PM
ffs juice you could have got a picture for at least one of the other sports of them using their feet ;)
Post by: thejuice on April 20, 2009, 02:24:57 PM
Quote from: nifan on April 20, 2009, 02:22:20 PM
ffs juice you could have got a picture for at least one of the other sports of them using their feet ;)

yeah, for standing on.
Post by: Main Street on April 20, 2009, 02:27:08 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 20, 2009, 02:02:52 PM

Aye but search "soccer ni" and you don't get any hits!
The EG google test prohibits the use of commas ;D

Post by: Roger on April 20, 2009, 02:27:37 PM
Quote from: nifan on April 20, 2009, 02:19:44 PM

Fair enough.  In the main it would be true.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2009, 02:30:33 PM
Quote from: Roger on April 20, 2009, 02:27:37 PM

Very hard to prove or disprove.
Post by: Roger on April 20, 2009, 02:37:21 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 20, 2009, 02:30:33 PM
Quote from: Roger on April 20, 2009, 02:27:37 PM

Very hard to prove or disprove.
Fair enough. I personally think it's true, but since I don't give a toss what people call football it isn't an issue. 
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 04:10:11 PM
http://www.skysports.com/socceram

Some one should tell sky they got it all wrong   ;)
Post by: Tankie on April 20, 2009, 04:55:45 PM
Quote from: Mario on April 20, 2009, 11:18:32 AM
If there was a soccer section, i am convinced it would get more views/replies than the hurling section.

i think that would be corrct but i get the impression there are alot of 'True Gaels' here who has a love of English soccer but dont want to highlight it and would rather have it all jumbled up in a General Discussion section..... I think these lads need to grow up!
Post by: full back on April 20, 2009, 05:00:01 PM
Quote from: Tankie on April 20, 2009, 04:55:45 PM

i think that would be corrct but i get the impression there are alot of 'True Gaels' here who has a love of English soccer but dont want to highlight it and would rather have it all jumbled up in a General Discussion section..... I think these lads need to grow up!

If you dont like the board/threads, no one is forcing you to read them  ::)
Post by: Tankie on April 20, 2009, 05:01:55 PM
Quote from: full back on April 20, 2009, 05:00:01 PM

If you dont like the board/threads, no one is forcing you to read them  ::)

but you are missing the point - one specific subject dominates the General Discussion section so would it no be better to create a whole section where people could go and discuss all things soccer and then the General Discussion section would be free fro 'general discussion' ?
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 05:03:14 PM
We dont need one.

Here endeth the discussion.
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 05:05:02 PM
By the way, I just clicked on pages 2 and 3 of the general discussion board to see if there was anything I missed.

Wasnt that hard to be honest.
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 05:05:50 PM

I know a few men who would be massive GAA men but would also have season tickets at United. These would include club managers, Intercounty manager and an Intercounty Ref. Does this make them any less of a Gael, not at all.

Everyone for themselves. Does this board need a separate soccer board, no, got to Boards.ie for that or your own clubs wesbite.

If there are 8, 18 or 88 threads on soccer, then so be it. There will be there because enough people who post here have an Interest in them. If you post a thread on Cowens big lips and it slips of page one, then its because its a shit topic and no-one is interested, not because soccer is the be all and end all.
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 05:06:30 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 05:03:14 PM
We dont need one.

Here endeth the discussion.

How many soccer threads on page one of the general discussion would be needed for us to "need" one?
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 05:08:07 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 05:05:50 PM

I know a few men who would be massive GAA men but would also have season tickets at United. These would include club managers, Intercounty manager and an Intercounty Ref. Does this make them any less of a Gael, not at all.

Everyone for themselves. Does this board need a separate soccer board, no, got to Boards.ie for that or your own clubs wesbite.

If there are 8, 18 or 88 threads on soccer, then so be it. There will be there because enough people who post here have an Interest in them. If you post a thread on Cowens big lips and it slips of page one, then its because its a shit topic and no-one is interested, not because soccer is the be all and end all.

Why have any sections at all. Lets just have a stuff section and if they GAA related discussion gets over run so be it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 05:08:40 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 20, 2009, 09:33:35 AM
At least with the soccer threads you know what you are getting into when you open it but i wish there was a warning in each thread that Tankie has contributed to.

lol  :D
In fairness he's not the worst,he always gives me a good laugh,granted I'm usually laughing at him not with him  ;D
One thing about him though he is very predictable with his replies..
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 05:09:10 PM
Right now, not counting this thread, there are 6 out of 20 soccer related threads on the front page of the board.

I dont think that even if there were 12, we would need a seperate section. I dont read them, unless everything else is read, and it simply doesnt bother me.

If it aint broke, dont fix it.
Post by: Tankie on April 20, 2009, 05:12:00 PM

I never said they were any less a Gael, but i get the impression that this is the main reason why there is opposition. A bit like the GAA itself - We are an ametur organisation but Managers get paid (dont tell anyone), players get expenes and grants (but they do it for the love) and also refs get paid (but they do it for the love too).

I just think that a soccer section would enhance the General Section as soccer dominates it and it would be much better if there was a soccer section clearly defined!
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 05:16:43 PM
Quote from: Tankie on April 20, 2009, 05:12:00 PM

I never said they were any less a Gael, but i get the impression that this is the main reason why there is opposition. A bit like the GAA itself - We are an ametur organisation but Managers get paid (dont tell anyone), players get expenes and grants (but they do it for the love) and also refs get paid (but they do it for the love too).

I just think that a soccer section would enhance the General Section as soccer dominates it and it would be much better if there was a soccer section clearly defined!

We aren't trying to become Boards.ie. This is a GAA board first and foremost. Anything else and most people wouldn't have found it or stayed even OWC "friends"  ;)

If we have a soccer page, why stop there? How about a rugby one? Or Golf one? It would only end up with people going directly to one or two of the boards and not looking in at other threads that have an interesting description. Some threads would then have no views, replies and stay on page 1 for days.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 05:17:34 PM
Can we have a Debbie McGee appreciation section?
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 05:24:37 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 05:17:34 PM
Can we have a Debbie McGee appreciation section?
I'd support that  in exchange for a vote for a soccer section .
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 20, 2009, 05:39:30 PM
what about a Tony Fearon competition section
Post by: Main Street on April 20, 2009, 05:39:51 PM

Why don't you out them Tankie?
It would be for their benefit.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 20, 2009, 07:54:22 PM
Maybe its just me but having a Manchester United thread with 500+ posts on a gaaboard is quite sad in my opinion. In fact, in my opinion following a foreign soccer team to that extent is also quite sad. I have nothing against soccer and even play it but I'd never give that sort allegiance to it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 20, 2009, 08:09:02 PM
What are you on about or who are you on about?
Post by: Tankie on April 20, 2009, 08:32:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 20, 2009, 08:09:02 PM
What are you on about or who are you on about?

it is not upto me to judge, i just said that this is what appears to be peoples problem. - i.e. I chat about soccer all day but dont want to chat in a soccer section....  ::)
Post by: mountainboii on April 20, 2009, 08:35:44 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 20, 2009, 07:54:22 PM
Maybe its just me but having a Manchester United thread with 500+ posts on a gaaboard is quite sad in my opinion. In fact, in my opinion following a foreign soccer team to that extent is also quite sad. I have nothing against soccer and even play it but I'd never give that sort allegiance to it.

I suppose you only listen to Irish music and only ever watch TV shows produced by RTE?
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 20, 2009, 08:40:14 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 20, 2009, 08:35:44 PM

I suppose you only listen to Irish music and only ever watch TV shows produced by RTE?

Don't be such a gobshite. I clearly stated that I played soccer but that I couldn't understand the pathetic devotion some people show to foreign teams. I suppose you are one of these boys that say "we" when you speak about "your" team. Surely there is a soccer board somewhere else where you can discuss soccer?
Post by: cavan4ever on April 20, 2009, 08:46:01 PM
What the problem with soccers threads lately?
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 08:48:36 PM

I kinda find it sad that you'd give it another thought. Its much akin to having a favourite golfer, a favourite basketball team, or a favourite kind of food.

Too many look for excuses to gurn bout others.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 20, 2009, 08:53:10 PM

What about those on the board who support American football teams or AFL sides?

In my experience sports fans like to have a team to follow and can often have years invested in following the Chicago Bears or someone else from far way. It's a global village these days after all.
Post by: mountainboii on April 20, 2009, 08:55:00 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 20, 2009, 08:40:14 PM

Don't be such a gobshite. I clearly stated that I played soccer but that I couldn't understand the pathetic devotion some people show to foreign teams. I suppose you are one of these boys that say "we" when you speak about "your" team. Surely there is a soccer board somewhere else where you can discuss soccer?

Soccer is a sport, sport is a form of entertainment. Why to you feel the need to place narrow minded nationalistic restrictions on what people should be entertained by? That's whats really sad.
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 09:39:04 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 20, 2009, 08:53:10 PM

In my experience sports fans like to have a team to follow and can often have years invested in following the Chicago Bears or someone else from far way. It's a global village these days after all.
Their are no AFL or American teams playing in Ireland (beyond a few mickey mouse clubs) while there are LOI teams these soccer fans could be supporting
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 09:45:39 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 09:39:04 PM

Their are no AFL or American teams playing in Ireland (beyond a few mickey mouse clubs) while there are LOI teams these soccer fans could be supporting

For fcuks sake Gnevin, wind it up and stop worrying about being so damn parochial. Who cares? Why does it bother you, why would you even have a fecking opinion on what football team another irishman should be supporting?

People the world over follow the European leagues, with the EPL being probably the most popular. Why? Because its the best league.

Whats going to get more viewing? Tyrone versus fermanagh in a national league hurling clash, or Tyrone V Dublin in a cracking game at croker in the summer (Im reluctant to say AIF, because yiz havnt been there in a while :P )?

I loved watchin Omagh Town as a cub, but I still loved watching MOTD and supporting arsenal.
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 09:49:20 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 09:45:39 PM

For fcuks sake Gnevin, wind it up and stop worrying about being so damn parochial. Who cares? Why does it bother you, why would you even have a fecking opinion on what football team another irishman should be supporting?

People the world over follow the European leagues, with the EPL being probably the most popular. Why? Because its the best league.

Whats going to get more viewing? Tyrone versus fermanagh in a national league hurling clash, or Tyrone V Dublin in a cracking game at croker in the summer (Im reluctant to say AIF, because yiz havnt been there in a while :P )?

I loved watchin Omagh Town as a cub, but I still loved watching MOTD and supporting arsenal.
It doesn't bother me .  I was just offering a reason why AFL and American football can't be supported locally while soccer could .  As for me I just prefer to support club/team where I live . I prefer being able to get to home games  with out needing a plane.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 20, 2009, 09:51:56 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 20, 2009, 08:55:00 PM

Soccer is a sport, sport is a form of entertainment. Why to you feel the need to place narrow minded nationalistic restrictions on what people should be entertained by? That's whats really sad.

I didn't realise you knew me so well to presume that i have nationalistic views on anything. I have no problem with someone having an interest in soccer or anything else, I have an interest myself in that I play it and also like to watch a good game. However, the obsessive nature of certain people toward english soccer bemuses me. Most of these "fans" have no link to a team other than they liked the colour of their jersey when the were in national school. Or maybe they bought into the hype of the premiership. Who knows! All I said was I didn't understand it and i get attacked by this clown who reads a post and takes out the bits he wants to and feels fit to attach a label to me. I couldn't really give a shite if you got "your" team tattoed on the tip of your knob to be honest.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 20, 2009, 09:58:40 PM

Many probably do support a LOI team as well. Not enough perhaps but some do.
Post by: magickingdom on April 20, 2009, 10:00:39 PM
if there was a soccer section and it ended up with more posts then the gaa section would we be a soccer board ;D there are pages of discussion on this board on soccer but thats because most gaa fans are also soccer fans. for what its worth i much prefer the soccer threads on this board, some of the anti gaa crap that surfaces every now and then on soccer boards annoys the fcuk out of me and at least here you dont get that to any great extent
Post by: Gnevin on April 20, 2009, 10:13:10 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on April 20, 2009, 10:00:39 PM
if there was a soccer section and it ended up with more posts then the gaa section would we be a soccer board ;D there are pages of discussion on this board on soccer but thats because most gaa fans are also soccer fans. for what its worth i much prefer the soccer threads on this board, some of the anti gaa crap that surfaces every now and then on soccer boards annoys the fcuk out of me and at least here you dont get that to any great extent
I don't think we have more soccer than gaa post but some posters would be found out so to speak.
Post by: mountainboii on April 20, 2009, 10:19:37 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 20, 2009, 09:51:56 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 20, 2009, 08:55:00 PM

I didn't realise you knew me so well to presume that i have nationalistic views on anything. I have no problem with someone having an interest in soccer or anything else, I have an interest myself in that I play it and also like to watch a good game. However, the obsessive nature of certain people toward english soccer bemuses me. Most of these "fans" have no link to a team other than they liked the colour of their jersey when the were in national school. Or maybe they bought into the hype of the premiership. Who knows! All I said was I didn't understand it and i get attacked by this clown who reads a post and takes out the bits he wants to and feels fit to attach a label to me. I couldn't really give a shite if you got "your" team tattoed on the tip of your knob to be honest.

No, it would've been grand if you'd just said that you didn't understand it. You actually went on to belittle people's interests by referring to them as 'sad' - that's why you got 'attacked'.

What makes you think that because some people contribute a post to a soccer thread every once and a while that they're obsessed with it?

Whats your problem with people being entertained by foriegn sports teams? You don't have to have a link to a sports team for them to entertain you - you don't seem to get this.
Post by: cavan4ever on April 20, 2009, 10:20:42 PM
Myles peolpe follow soccer teams because they have a passion for them and i dont think its fair to say that they are sad.  
Post by: stephenite on April 21, 2009, 11:57:56 AM
I don't read any of the Liverpool, Man Utd or Chelsea threads. Have an odd look at the Everton thread and look at any of the Ireland soccer threads - just ignore the threads you don't want to read and stop moaning ::)
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 21, 2009, 12:22:17 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 21, 2009, 11:57:56 AM
I don't read any of the Liverpool, Man Utd or Chelsea threads. Have an odd look at the Everton thread and look at any of the Ireland soccer threads - just ignore the threads you don't want to read and stop moaning ::)

If you don't like what I've written why don't you stop reading it and stop moaning about it. Great example of a paradox - well done
Post by: stephenite on April 21, 2009, 12:39:25 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 21, 2009, 12:22:17 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 21, 2009, 11:57:56 AM

If you don't like what I've written why don't you stop reading it and stop moaning about it. Great example of a paradox - well done

;D The irony
Post by: Main Street on April 21, 2009, 12:42:46 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on April 20, 2009, 10:20:42 PM
Myles peolpe follow soccer teams because they have a passion for them and i dont think its fair to say that they are sad.  
What's sad is the disdain and condescension shown towards the LOI by people who refer to their team as "us", their team meaning some foreign team in a foreign league they see on tv, a team with which they have no connection with.
Many people from other countries around Europe  follow televised EPL religiously but I can't not find another example where the local league has been so neglected and so submerged in inferiority complex by local media and soccer followers consumed by the sky hyped up to gills branding.

Post by: Chrisowc on April 21, 2009, 01:04:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 21, 2009, 12:42:46 PM
What's sad is the disdain and condescension shown towards the LOI by people who refer to their team as "us", their team meaning some foreign team in a foreign league they see on tv, a team with which they have no connection with.
Many people from other countries around Europe  follow televised EPL religiously but I can't not find another example where the local league has been so neglected and so submerged in inferiority complex by local media and soccer followers consumed by the sky hyped up to gills branding.

You wouldn't have to look too far.  Just a few miles up the road and you would have another league in the same situation.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on April 21, 2009, 01:17:17 PM
When I was in Norway, and their league wouldn't be any great shakes, but they had a Soccer Saturday sort of program showing the scores in the matches, and I saw more people wearing Norwegian club jerseys than foreign teams.  Even when we were chatting to a few of the locals they followed their own teams.  Too bad people in this country don't think like that, the league might be in better shape then.
Post by: Main Street on April 21, 2009, 02:26:41 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on April 21, 2009, 01:04:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 21, 2009, 12:42:46 PM

You wouldn't have to look too far.  Just a few miles up the road and you would have another league in the same situation.
And that example just goes to prove beyond doubt the depth of common ground :)
Post by: Chrisowc on April 21, 2009, 02:29:39 PM
Exactly!  So why all that effort to go alone :D
Post by: Main Street on April 21, 2009, 02:31:53 PM
You mean you would take us back, after all that has passed.
Post by: whiskeysteve on April 21, 2009, 02:34:32 PM
Still a loada chat about this groundball section. Nuke the idea please
Post by: Chrisowc on April 21, 2009, 02:50:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 21, 2009, 02:31:53 PM
You mean you would take us back, after all that has passed.

No point.  Who would we drop?  ;D  and yis would never get a ticket.  There is a waiting list as long as your arm for a block booking.
Post by: ludermor on April 21, 2009, 03:09:31 PM
Must have been typed in massive font.
Post by: KCGaelicFootball on April 21, 2009, 08:47:02 PM
Soccer is for W ankers !!!!
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 01:01:05 PM
This is getting ridiculous. Can we have a official soccer thread if a Soccer section is a non runner?
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 28, 2009, 01:02:30 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 01:01:05 PM
This is getting ridiculous. Can we have a official soccer thread if a Soccer section is a non runner?
Outside of the 'Official' club threads I think there is merit to that Gnevin. 
Post by: Donagh on April 28, 2009, 01:28:35 PM

I agree this side of the Board is getting ruined as most of the interesting topics drop of the first page after a day or so. I vote a section for 'Other Sports'.
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 01:56:51 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 28, 2009, 01:28:35 PM

I agree this side of the Board is getting ruined as most of the interesting topics drop of the first page after a day or so. I vote a section for 'Other Sports'.

It must be pretty difficult to click on page 2....
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 02:15:04 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 01:56:51 PM

It must be pretty difficult to click on page 2....
Like it would be pretty difficult  to click on a soccer section?
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 28, 2009, 02:16:13 PM
We have had enough partition up here thank you very much.
Post by: bingobus on April 28, 2009, 02:20:57 PM

They mustn't be that interesing of they drop to page 2 after a day  ???
Post by: Tankie on April 28, 2009, 03:57:01 PM
I really like the Ryan Giggs thread, i think this is a perfect point to show how handy a soccer section would be but I guess we are all gonna live in denial  ::)
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 04:11:11 PM
Well I see this thread has ran for eleven pages now and there has never been a poll added.

Surely if you thought there was a will for it you would wanna get a mandate.
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 04:16:03 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 04:11:11 PM
Well I see this thread has ran for eleven pages now and there has never been a poll added.

This board isn't a democracy , the Admin and Mods run it with an Iron fist .
Post by: EC Unique on April 28, 2009, 04:21:52 PM
I enjoy the soccer discussions and would see no problem with it having it's own section. Go for it.. :)
Post by: Tankie on April 28, 2009, 04:22:22 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 04:16:03 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 04:11:11 PM

This board isn't a democracy , the Admin and Mods run it with an Iron fist .

Like communist Russia, pretending there wasnt a problem and that change wasnt needed until it was too late and they lost control. The General Discussion is over run with soccer threads that should be in one section....
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 04:35:04 PM
At time of post there are 3 genuine soccer threads on page one.

You say its overrun?
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 06:59:57 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on April 28, 2009, 04:35:04 PM
At time of post there are 3 genuine soccer threads on page one.

You say its overrun?
And at other time today  it was more than 10
Post by: ludermor on April 28, 2009, 08:17:33 PM
At the mnute there are 5 soccer threads on page 1.
1) This thread
2)What players took a dump
3)Football bets
4)Chelsea
5)Celtic

Now have a close look at the above and someone tell me who are the f**king idiots who are cloggin up page 1?
clue - have a look at who started threads 1 and 2
Post by: mountainboii on April 28, 2009, 08:48:55 PM
There are as many threads about stag/ hen parties on the first couple of pages as there are soccer ones. Maybe we need a stag party section too?
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 09:56:33 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 28, 2009, 08:48:55 PM
There are as many threads about stag/ hen parties on the first couple of pages as there are soccer ones. Maybe we need a stag party section too?
The stag party ones will come and go the soccer thread will always be here .
Post by: Puckoon on April 28, 2009, 10:13:39 PM
Gnevin, your point is noted and will remain noted.

Give it a rest for the love of god.
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 10:15:52 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 28, 2009, 10:13:39 PM
Gnevin, your point is noted and will remain noted.

Give it a rest for the love of god.
What , OK he soccer players taking a dump  thread was pointless all right but can't I reply here?
Post by: ONeill on April 28, 2009, 10:26:01 PM
If people are that worried about what is going on in the non-gaa section of the gaaboard then they should look elsewhere. This is the GAAboard first and foremost. Too many hangers on here with only a glancing interest in our national games.

The founder of this thread has made 699 gaa posts and 1293 non-gaa posts. An extremely high percentage of his most recent 30 posts have been about soccer.

I suggest he:

Subscribes to the Heat Magazine website
Subscribes to IRFU website forum
Gets a ride
Doesn't take an online discussion board too seriously
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 10:33:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 28, 2009, 10:26:01 PM
If people are that worried about what is going on in the non-gaa section of the gaaboard then they should look elsewhere. This is the GAAboard first and foremost. Too many hangers on here with only a glancing interest in our national games.
I think that's the main reason people don't want a soccer section as the statics will show how much time they spend in the soccer section
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 28, 2009, 10:43:13 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 10:33:35 PM
I think that's the main reason people don't want a soccer section as the statics will show how much time they spend in the soccer section

I'm sure people couldn't give a flying fcuk about what the statistics show  ::)
Post by: Gnevin on April 29, 2009, 12:04:38 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 28, 2009, 10:43:13 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 10:33:35 PM

I'm sure people couldn't give a flying fcuk about what the statistics show  ::)
I'd be interested in them for one but a true Gael like your self would be grand in sure . ;D
Post by: Lecale2 on April 29, 2009, 03:25:38 AM
I can't be arsed reading all this but have the mods expressed any view?
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 29, 2009, 09:00:36 AM
No.

They would never agree to a soccer section, its farcical.
Post by: Gnevin on April 29, 2009, 09:01:46 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on April 29, 2009, 03:25:38 AM

Yes they've posted here in their street name .
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 29, 2009, 09:03:30 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 29, 2009, 09:01:46 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on April 29, 2009, 03:25:38 AM

Yes they've posted here in their street name .

Well that could be true too.
Post by: Katchit on April 29, 2009, 10:48:02 AM
It's blantantly obvious (to me anyway) there is a need for an 'Other Sports Section;.

Considering 9 of the 19 threads on the General discussion's first page are dedicated to other sports I can't see how you can argue that this isn't cluttering up the general discussion with sports talk when other general and current affair issues drop off the page far too quickly.

It shouldn't be a soccer debate as some peoples narrowminded mindset will always be anti this for one reason or another but logically a new sub section should be created for more proactive and relevant discussion..
Post by: KCGaelicFootball on April 29, 2009, 02:19:31 PM
Quote from: Katchit on April 29, 2009, 10:48:02 AM
It's blantantly obvious (to me anyway) there is a need for an 'Other Sports Section;.

Considering 9 of the 19 threads on the General discussion's first page are dedicated to other sports I can't see how you can argue that this isn't cluttering up the general discussion with sports talk when other general and current affair issues drop off the page far too quickly.

It shouldn't be a soccer debate as some peoples narrowminded mindset will always be anti this for one reason or another but logically a new sub section should be created for more proactive and relevant discussion..

Go fe ck yourself !!! Soccer is for wankers !!! and Tosspots !!!
Post by: Homer on April 29, 2009, 04:46:52 PM
Is it time for a 'Tesco GAA Sectarianism' section?
Post by: KCGaelicFootball on April 29, 2009, 05:16:44 PM
Quote from: Homer on April 29, 2009, 04:46:52 PM

Tesco sucks !!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 29, 2009, 05:18:03 PM
Quote from: KCGaelicFootball on April 29, 2009, 05:16:44 PM
Quote from: Homer on April 29, 2009, 04:46:52 PM

Tesco sucks !!!

Thought you lived in the States?  ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 29, 2009, 05:20:24 PM
Maybe they have them in Kansas  :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 29, 2009, 05:29:00 PM
I was in Poland last week and there were Tesco stores all over the place!  They are in the states too, though not sure about good ole Kansas City!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 29, 2009, 05:30:37 PM
Tesco operates under another name in the US

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/12/Freshandeasy.png)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 29, 2009, 05:33:23 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 29, 2009, 05:30:37 PM
Tesco operates under another name in the US

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/12/Freshandeasy.png)

Sounds like an Ad for a high class hooker.