GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thebandit on April 08, 2009, 05:36:53 PM

Title: Paul McGrane Retires
Post by: thebandit on April 08, 2009, 05:36:53 PM
Paul McGrane anounced his retirement at Armagh training last night.

Very few have given what he gave to the jersey, and an absolute gentleman off the field.
Title: Re: Paul McGrane Retires
Post by: Puckoon on April 08, 2009, 05:38:29 PM
Armagh are losing some invaluable experience ahead of the championship if these retirements are true.

Post by: mountainboii on April 08, 2009, 05:50:37 PM
Quote from: thebandit on April 08, 2009, 05:36:53 PM

Very few have given what he gave to the jersey, and an absolute gentleman off the field.

Are you just going off what a couple of lads on orchardcounty have 'heard'? I'd hold back on this if that's the case.
Post by: bennydorano on April 08, 2009, 06:03:31 PM
Heard this earlier today myself and believe it (unfortunately), had been hearing for a while that his knee was banjaxed.  Dont want to roll out the obits in case it's not true, but in the top 3 Armagh all time greats IMHO, always was a huge huge fan.
Post by: thebandit on April 08, 2009, 06:40:22 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 08, 2009, 05:50:37 PM

Are you just going off what a couple of lads on orchardcounty have 'heard'? I'd hold back on this if that's the case.

Absolutely not, I'm not even a member!

Unfortunately it's true - as Benny says the knee is not in great shape. You'll find that there wont be many on here knocking Flappy, and thats a mark of how he carried himself. The unsung hero of Armagh football in the last 10+ years imo.
Post by: mountainboii on April 08, 2009, 06:45:32 PM
Quote from: thebandit on April 08, 2009, 06:40:22 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 08, 2009, 05:50:37 PM

Absolutely not, I'm not even a member!

Unfortunately it's true - as Benny says the knee is not in great shape. You'll find that there wont be many on here knocking Flappy, and thats a mark of how he carried himself. The unsung hero of Armagh football in the last 10+ years imo.

Balls, was kinda hoping it was just a silly rumour that someone over there had started  :'(
Post by: Midman on April 08, 2009, 07:32:38 PM

Thats a pity.In the last ten minutes when the game needed to be won he was the man to win the hard ball , always a go-to man. I wish him all the best, was a great servant to Armagh
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 08, 2009, 07:38:52 PM
legend!
Post by: jodyb on April 08, 2009, 08:53:08 PM
Sorry to hear the big man is calling it a day. Some sevant to his county. First time I ever saw him was in a railway cup game in Clones against Leinster '94 or '95, I think. I couldn't believe he wasn't a household name. He was fantastic that day.
Post by: Joxer on April 08, 2009, 09:26:08 PM
Never be a Armagh midfielder like him!

Total legend and gentleman!
Post by: under the bar on April 08, 2009, 10:15:37 PM
Kevin Hughes said that he never enjoyed playing against anyone as much as Paul McGrane as they could punch lumps out of one another without either giving an inch.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 08, 2009, 10:19:07 PM
Quote from: under the bar on April 08, 2009, 10:15:37 PM
Kevin Hughes said that he never enjoyed playing against anyone as much as Paul McGrane as they could punch lumps out of one another without either giving an inch.
That's as close to a compliment that you would give an Armagh man, eh?

McGrane will be missed, he's a legend as others have said.
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 08, 2009, 10:22:20 PM
Sad to hear. Gent and a Legend. Wore his heart on his sleave. Big dent to Armagh's ambitions this year  :'(
Post by: comethekingdom on April 08, 2009, 10:48:16 PM
Great footballer alright - credit to his county. Francie and McKeever hung up the boots too I believe!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 08, 2009, 11:16:47 PM
Not even joking he was in my work today, and I said what about the football and he just laughed and said didnt wanna talk about it... Suppose he is sick talking about it
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 08, 2009, 11:21:42 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 08, 2009, 11:16:47 PM
Not even joking he was in my work today, and I said what about the football and he just laughed and said didnt wanna talk about it... Suppose he is sick talking about it
Headline in the Lurgan Mail: 'ONL ends McGrane's career after dud tip'
Post by: Winnie Peg on April 08, 2009, 11:31:05 PM
Paul McGrane was the man! He was central to everything that Armagh has won over the past ten years. A man who never hogged the media. A legend and a gentleman.
Post by: Armamike on April 08, 2009, 11:50:06 PM
Time waits for no man unfortunately and time has caught up with Paul it seems.  Pivotal to everything good about Armagh over the past 10 years, he was the model footballer. From around about 1999 Paul just got better and better each year.  Bags of character and drive - the type of mentality that helped Armagh come out the right side of many's a tight game.
Post by: T O Hare on April 09, 2009, 01:11:20 AM
Really modest fella who is a fantastic role model, but what a player, the amount of clean ball he won for Armagh was unreal!!!! He will be a massive loss to Armagh!!!!! Though i suspect their wont be too many intercounty midfielders losing sleep over him retiring :D

Post by: David McKeown on April 09, 2009, 08:37:14 AM
Quote from: T O Hare on April 09, 2009, 01:11:20 AM
Really modest fella who is a fantastic role model, but what a player, the amount of clean ball he won for Armagh was unreal!!!! He will be a massive loss to Armagh!!!!! Though i suspect their wont be too many intercounty midfielders losing sleep over him retiring :D

Worried about the timing of a few of these retirements and or people leaving the panel, not wanting to stir anything as im just speculating but is it not very late in the day to be retiring.

That said Paul is a great footballer and a fine man and has more than earned the right to retire whenever he wants
Post by: full back on April 09, 2009, 08:41:20 AM
Great footballer
Big miss to Armagh
Post by: under the bar on April 09, 2009, 08:45:26 AM
From the outside looking in it is not a good reflection of Peter McDonnell's management.  Retirements of 2 key players a month before the championship?  Add to that the refusal of others to rejoin the panel. 
Post by: full back on April 09, 2009, 08:53:00 AM
Quote from: under the bar on April 09, 2009, 08:45:26 AM
From the outside looking in it is not a good reflection of Peter McDonnell's management.  Retirements of 2 key players a month before the championship?  Add to that the refusal of others to rejoin the panel. 

Was thinking that myself utb
Coincidence or something else happening
Post by: maddog on April 09, 2009, 09:00:20 AM
If every player gives what McGrane has given for the next 10 years we wont be long about challenging again for AI. If its true about Francie and McKeever then thats a shame as i think both had a another season in them.  Both great servants to Armagh hope they go on enjoying the club football for many a season.
We are in a transitional period but the signs are good overall.
Some great memories from all 3 of them.
Post by: INDIANA on April 09, 2009, 09:07:17 AM

why? neither of them have anything left to prove. Mc Grane must be 36 and Francie has lost a half yard. Good decision by both in my view. They already have all-ireland medals.
Post by: rrhf on April 09, 2009, 09:20:17 AM
A class act.  Absolutely pivotal to Armaghs decade of success. 
Post by: T Fearon on April 09, 2009, 09:31:49 AM
Sad news indeed. How quickly the time has flown since 2002, seven years but it seems like it was only a few weeks ago
Post by: under the bar on April 09, 2009, 09:33:45 AM
Quotewhy? neither of them have anything left to prove. Mc Grane must be 36 and Francie has lost a half yard. Good decision by both in my view. They already have all-ireland medals.

They already had an AI medal 7 seasons ago.   My point is McDonnell wanted several players to continue and doesnt get and answer until a few weeks before the championship start.  There may be nothing in it but it's hard to say that it doesnt look bad, especially when he's in the paper last week saying he has no idea whether Francie would be playing or or not.  
Post by: rionach 4 on April 09, 2009, 09:45:12 AM
Peter had known for a while that Francie and Paul weren't going to make it . Paddy had left a few weeks ago. He had hoped there would be some good news on paul's knee but when it didn't happen Peter decided to announce the three retirements at once which I think is a better strategy as to have announced francies three weeks ago Paddy's last week and Paul's this week as this would in my opinion have had a more detrimental effect on the players and team than the way it has occurred.   If you add to this the other three members who have left the panel within this last few weeks it does sap morale a little. A few of these retirements were inevitable and I have always believed you should never postpone the inevitable you should confront it.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 09, 2009, 09:50:11 AM
McGrane is a legend and a Gentleman. That point he scored against Dublin in the AISF (2002) will always stick in my mind. He was brilliant and as said was all things good about Armagh in the last decade. Unfortunate way to end by he was brilliant last year so he should not feel bad in any way!

Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 09, 2009, 09:57:33 AM
Quote from: rionach 4 on April 09, 2009, 09:45:12 AM
Peter had known for a while that Francie and Paul weren't going to make it . Paddy had left a few weeks ago. He had hoped there would be some good news on paul's knee but when it didn't happen Peter decided to announce the three retirements at once which I think is a better strategy as to have announced francies three weeks ago Paddy's last week and Paul's this week as this would in my opinion have had a more detrimental effect on the players and team than the way it has occurred.  If you add to this the other three members who have left the panel within this last few weeks it does sap morale a little. A few of these retirements were inevitable and I have always believed you should never postpone the inevitable you should confront it.

What other 3?  Peadar Toal and who else?

The 3 that have retired will be greatly missed, all tough men.  Hard to replace.
Post by: The GAA on April 09, 2009, 10:35:54 AM

Hammer blow for Armagh - particularly if they were planning to have him for the championship.

A trojan of a footballer, a man for an inspiational fetch or score exactly when it was needed and above all a complete gentleman.
Post by: Katchit on April 09, 2009, 10:58:34 AM
One of the few Armagh men I actually liked, awesome player on his day.
Post by: billy the kid on April 09, 2009, 10:59:11 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on April 09, 2009, 09:57:33 AM

What other 3?  Peadar Toal and who else?

Was wondering this myself, anyone care to elaborate lads?

McGrane will be sorely missed, and was a great fielder of the ball and could always be relied on to give 100%.  If he had been able to play this year it would have geatly aided the development of what is a pretty young midfield section for Armagh, Pairing him with Vernon, Toner or McKenna.  These 3 all have great potential, and I rate all three highly, but i wouldnt be convinced that any combination of them are ready to handle one of the better and more experienced midfields (Monaghan, Tyrone, Galway) in a championship match just yet.  

On his day McGrane was fit for anyone, and as someone mentioned earlier he wore his heart on his sleeve.

I for like many will miss watching him leaping high above all and plucking the size 5 from the air, and feeding it to a teammate as soon as he hit the ground again.      
Post by: rionach 4 on April 09, 2009, 11:12:49 AM
Peadar Toal, Conor clarke, Mal Mackin and I have also heard one of the o 'rourkes . which one I am not sure .
You will find that these players have opted out of the panel  for one reason or another.
Post by: illdecide on April 09, 2009, 11:16:10 AM
It just shows how well thought off Paul was from the posts here, the man was the perfect role model for any of the younger lads on the panel and the young kids following Armagh. A warrior on the field and a true gentleman off the field, a dedicated fella who done everything asked off him and more. A real family man and was seen in the chapel more times than some of the priests...lol

I will be shocked if any guy on this board no matter what county he's from has a bad word to say about Paul McGrane...
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2009, 11:36:42 AM
A complete gentleman and superb midfielder who gave his all to the Orchard County.
Post by: Orior on April 09, 2009, 11:40:33 AM
Legend
Post by: Donagh on April 09, 2009, 11:40:39 AM
ArmaghGAAforum, what's the story with that website of yours - is the casino and betting for real money?
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2009, 11:43:22 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 09, 2009, 11:40:39 AM
ArmaghGAAforum, what's the story with that website of yours - is the casino and betting for real money?

no its forum credits, you earn them by posting on the forum and you can spend/bet them in the casino or on bets we set up like  Armagh vs Cork. (http://armaghgaa.info/forum/f5/cork-vs-armagh-discuss-bet-your-forum-credits-75/) we will implement other ways of spending the credits on goods from the shop soon.

we also have a competition to give away a signed armagh jersey.
Post by: Donagh on April 09, 2009, 11:47:33 AM
Quote from: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2009, 11:43:22 AM
no its forum credits, you earn them by posting on the forum and you can spend/bet them in the casino or on bets we set up like  Armagh vs Cork. (http://armaghgaa.info/forum/f5/cork-vs-armagh-discuss-bet-your-forum-credits-75/) we will implement other ways of spending the credits on goods from the shop soon.

Interesting idea. Fair play.
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2009, 11:48:53 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 09, 2009, 11:47:33 AM
Quote from: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2009, 11:43:22 AM

Interesting idea. Fair play.

thanks, early days yet.  Only launched at the weekend so tell your mates!  ;D
Post by: heffo on April 09, 2009, 12:27:21 PM
Great player - he'll be sorely missed
Post by: Onion Bag on April 09, 2009, 12:45:28 PM
Legend Footballer, they will still be talking about him in 20-30 years as an Armagh Great,
Post by: Hank Everlast on April 09, 2009, 01:25:47 PM
Quote from: rionach 4 on April 09, 2009, 11:12:49 AM
Peadar Toal, Conor clarke, Mal Mackin and I have also heard one of the o 'rourkes . which one I am not sure .
You will find that these players have opted out of the panel  for one reason or another.

Neil O rourke and there was one other becuse there was 8 in total.  Peter was suppossed to be cutting the panel to 28 sometime next week... this makes his job a lot easier!!
Post by: amallon on April 09, 2009, 01:49:11 PM
A great servant for Armagh football and sound man too.  I'm still glad he's retired though!
Post by: the derg on April 09, 2009, 04:47:21 PM
inspiring player seemed to improve with age one of those people who outside the white line seemed too nice and humble to be a top sportsman yet once jersey was pulled on and on field he metamorphised into a top player with a steely will to win. along with cavanagh and tohill 3 best midfielders in ulster the past 20 years.
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 09, 2009, 06:57:09 PM
A fantastic player whom I always enjoyed watching & his attitude was immense.  He represented all that was good about Armagh football in contrast to the way Kieran McKeever represents a lot of what is bad about it.
Post by: dexter on April 09, 2009, 08:28:43 PM
Don't think St Galls men should have much to say on the attitude of county players. :-[
Post by: mackers on April 09, 2009, 08:30:18 PM
Along with Geezer he was the heartbeat of our best team ever, as the derg said in the top 3 midfielders in Ulster in the last 20 years. I wouldn't read anything sinister into his retirement, a family man who presumably sees the rest of the year at home rather than the treatment room and perhaps the subs bench.
Post by: stew on April 09, 2009, 10:21:41 PM

The squad seems to have had issues for some time, I would much rather had big Grimley at the helm, I hope that McDonnell does well but the reports I am hearing suggest that there is a fair amount of the panel that does not agree with him tactically nor do they like him as a leader.

Post by: johnpower on April 09, 2009, 10:57:22 PM
A top class midfielder who had one hell of a long career
Post by: illdecide on April 10, 2009, 09:42:08 AM
Quote from: dexter on April 09, 2009, 08:28:43 PM
Don't think St Galls men should have much to say on the attitude of county players. :-[

Or any player for that matter ::)
Post by: Onion Bag on April 10, 2009, 02:35:59 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 09, 2009, 06:57:09 PM
A fantastic player whom I always enjoyed watching & his attitude was immense.  He represented all that was good about Armagh football in contrast to the way Kieran McKeever represents a lot of what is bad about it.

Explain StGalls!
Post by: andunabu on April 10, 2009, 07:13:28 PM
Paul was a great player and a wonderful servant to Armagh.  He is an absolute gentleman who deserves all these plaudits. 
Post by: thewobbler on April 10, 2009, 08:59:24 PM
One of the most effective and best all -round midfielders of a generation. A rare footballer in that he was happy to play as a second midfielder - decoying for kick-outs, doing the dirty work, cleaning our breaking-ball, acting as a defensive shield - even though he had the skill, athleticism and awareness to be the leading midfielder, as he showed on many an occasion.

Truthfully though, his retirement is at the right time and might do Armagh a favour. Experience is hard to beat, but a 70 minute engine is more vital. They've at least 4 solid, youthful options at midfield to cover his tracks.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on April 11, 2009, 01:10:50 PM
Off the field met him a couple of times...an absolute 100% gentleman.
On the field A Legend...Armagh's Greatest Servant?

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 11, 2009, 02:54:26 PM
A superb footballer. In the top 3 or 4 midfielders of the decade without doubt and one of the major driving forces of our success over the past decade. Its no exaggeration to say that without Paul McGrane we wouldn't have won half of what we did. An old fashioned fielder of the ball in midfield, for 3 or 4 years himself and Sean Cavanagh were the 2 best midfielders in the country yet they could hardly have been much different as footballers. One of the most powerful punchers of a ball you'll every find as well. Not a great man for the scores but the goal which won the Ulster final in 2006 is memorable. He'll be sadly missed though i do think he's made the right decision. Charlie Vernon and Kieran Toner have big shoes to fill.
Post by: Oraisteach on April 11, 2009, 04:28:30 PM
Agree with all the positive sentiments.

McGrane and McGeeney were titans.  Loved to watch them play.