Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on March 31, 2009, 01:42:16 PM

Title: Catholics in PSNI
Post by: Feckitt on March 31, 2009, 01:42:16 PM
According to BBC website, 26% of PSNI are now catholic. 

Where are they all coming from?  I have never even heard rumours of someone I know joining the police!
Title: Re: Catholics in PSNI
Post by: Minder on March 31, 2009, 01:43:33 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on March 31, 2009, 01:42:16 PM

Where are they all coming from?  I have never even heard rumours of someone I know joining the police!

I come from a small village in North Antrim and there are four i know of that have joined the PSNI.
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 31, 2009, 01:46:20 PM
I do think rural areas of the 6 counties (particulary Antrim & Down) are providing the majority of catholic recruits.  A job in the cops has zero appeal to me no matter where I would live, I just think its a shit job, nothing more, the same would apply to the Gardai. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 01:48:58 PM

According to Lynchboy they are all coming from England.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 31, 2009, 01:52:23 PM
you can say the psni are heading in the right direction but they have a hell of a way to go to get support from republican community,when i see a policeman from crossmaglen,carrickmore or bellaghy then i will maybe change my opinion.
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2009, 01:56:03 PM
There have been many recruits even in West Belfast over this last four years. I actually have suspicions SS2 is a recruit. He has that look off him.
Post by: tyronefan on March 31, 2009, 01:56:16 PM
there is a good few from the west of Ireland

I have been stopped by a few different lads from Mayo
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 01:58:26 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 31, 2009, 01:56:16 PM

Couple of Dubs round Armagh too.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 31, 2009, 01:58:33 PM

seriously?
Post by: tyronefan on March 31, 2009, 02:00:28 PM
yeah  once in Derry and a few times around Omagh
Post by: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 02:01:43 PM
They does be regular adverts for the PSNI in the southern papers.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 31, 2009, 02:02:39 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 31, 2009, 02:00:28 PM
yeah  once in Derry and a few times around Omagh

jesus it's a long drive to work
Post by: tyronefan on March 31, 2009, 02:04:41 PM
not as bad as Mick O    :D

Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 31, 2009, 02:10:18 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 31, 2009, 02:04:41 PM
not as bad as Mick O    :D

he gets paid more :D
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2009, 02:16:51 PM
Martin & Gerry should join up and go on the beat with their truncheons hanging out...Lol
Post by: The Subbie on March 31, 2009, 02:35:06 PM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 01:58:26 PM

Couple of Dubs round Armagh too.

I would say that right enough would have found it hard to believe until i found this one day and nearly vomited everyroad

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1082 (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1082) 

Its full of happy handy hints and tips like " don't diss the ruc when your in garnerville and dont tell your new comrades your from the south till they get to see your as much of a p***k as they are "etc etc all essential knowledge for prospective southern stasi
Post by: Orior on March 31, 2009, 03:00:09 PM

26% kaflics, but how many nationalists? Or must that be left at the door on the way in?
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 03:25:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 31, 2009, 03:00:09 PM

26% kaflics, but how many nationalists? Or must that be left at the door on the way in?

One can only guess these are the same 'nationalist' families who stood idly by while events unfolded back in the 60's. Theres a few types on here that would be prime candidates for recruitment.
Then you have the idiots from the south who probably were too thick to get into Templemore so have flashed the catholic get-into-jail free card to boost numbers.
Post by: Lazer on March 31, 2009, 03:32:38 PM
And how many of the catholics are foreigners - seem to remember a story about the number of polish catholics applying for the police
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 31, 2009, 03:33:17 PM
have been told that a lot of the catholic recruits/police were sent over from England to bolster the percentile at least up until a while ago. Sounds like theres plenty of catholics in it now, but as Drumanee pointed out, its still missing recruits from the hardline regions.

also because of the continued police abuse and harrassment in Derry city, I cant see too many from there joining any time soon.

Things will hopefully change.
Post by: red hander on March 31, 2009, 04:22:32 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on March 31, 2009, 01:58:33 PM

seriously?

Met one from Donegal two months ago ... actually did me a good turn
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on March 31, 2009, 04:37:02 PM
All well and good having all these Catholics in the PSNI-however as has been pointed out how many are republicans and how many are Uncle Toms and Castle Catholics. Also god forbid the parades comission allows the OO down the Orm. Road or Garvaghy Road-would they be as happy as the RUC men who battered people of these roads in the past. That will be the big test-the PSNI have not been tested in this regard lets hope they never are. On a personal note I know 2 people who have joined...would not have let either of them near a gun! 
Post by: Minder on March 31, 2009, 05:06:43 PM
Quote from: Boolerhead Mel on March 31, 2009, 04:37:02 PM
All well and good having all these Catholics in the PSNI-however as has been pointed out how many are republicans and how many are Uncle Toms and Castle Catholics. Also god forbid the parades comission allows the OO down the Orm. Road or Garvaghy Road-would they be as happy as the RUC men who battered people of these roads in the past. That will be the big test-the PSNI have not been tested in this regard lets hope they never are. On a personal note I know 2 people who have joined...would not have let either of them near a gun! 
What is a "castle catholic",someone who does not go to mass or someone who is not a republican?
Post by: Gaffer on March 31, 2009, 05:27:49 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 31, 2009, 05:06:43 PM
What is a "castle catholic",someone who does not go to mass or someone who is not a republican?

Its how republicans  referred to any catholic who did not support the IRA!!!
Post by: heganboy on March 31, 2009, 05:32:19 PM
All well and good having all these Catholics in the PSNI-however as has been pointed out how many are republicans and how many are Uncle Toms and Castle Catholics. 

So what you're suggesting is that someone fills in a political allegiance as part of their application?
I can see how that would work....

and wtf are Uncle Toms and Castle Catholics
Post by: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 05:37:47 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 31, 2009, 05:27:49 PM

Its how republicans  referred to any catholic who did not support the IRA!!!

I think some people wont be happy until their were a few provos in the PSNI.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 06:05:34 PM
Quote from: Lazer on March 31, 2009, 03:32:38 PM
And how many of the catholics are foreigners - seem to remember a story about the number of polish catholics applying for the police

From House of Commons Written Answers - February 2007
http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200607/cmhansrd/cm070207/text/70207w0011.htm
QuotePSNI: Catholic Recruits
10. Mr. Hollobone: To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland how many Catholic recruits from eastern Europe have been recruited into the Police Service of Northern Ireland. [118060]

Paul Goggins: I am advised that currently there are no Roman Catholic recruits from eastern Europe in the Police Service of Northern Ireland.
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 06:06:44 PM

I think its someone who never yelled (publically or privately) UPTHE RA!
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 06:08:21 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on March 31, 2009, 05:37:47 PM
I think some people wont be happy until their were a few provos in the PSNI.

You probably mean until Sir Martin Ferris takes the position of Chief Constable of the PSNI?
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 06:15:15 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 06:05:34 PM

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200607/cmhansrd/cm070207/text/70207w0011.htm
10. Mr. Hollobone: To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland how many Catholic recruits from eastern Europe have been recruited into the Police Service of Northern Ireland. [118060]

Paul Goggins: I am advised that currently there are no Roman Catholic recruits from eastern Europe in the Police Service of Northern Ireland.

So which British government department did you get assigned to - ministry of propoganda?
You have to earn your keep I suppose.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 06:15:15 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 06:05:34 PM

So which British government department did you get assigned to - ministry of propoganda?
You have to earn your keep I suppose.

I find that it's sometimes useful to support a claim with evidence or a source, rather than hot air. But on the subject of propaganda, what do you call the claims that the 'Catholic quota' is being met using English and Polish nationals?

And what's the story with your infatuation with everything i post? Do you clock on when Lynchbhoy clocks off?

Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 07:00:38 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 06:49:57 PM
And what's the story with your infatuation with everything i post?

Don't flatter yourself, I just don't agree with your sentiments and your unwaivering dedication to unionist/british propoganda.

Probably the fact you masquerade as a gael doesnt sit well with me.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 07:12:39 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 07:00:38 PM
Don't flatter yourself, I just don't agree with your sentiments and your unwaivering dedication to unionist/british propoganda.
You don't agree with a lot of people i'm sure, but you seem to reserve cowardly comments and mudslinging for me. Also, you need to understand the difference between propaganda and citing reliable sources of reference.

And there's your problem - the idea that a gael has to fit into a certain box, the idea that every gael is like you.

I'm neither British, Unionist nor Protestant, but the idea that a gael could be any of these sits so uncomfortably with you speaks volumes - and is a million miles away from the ethos of the GAA.
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 07:30:37 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 07:12:39 PM
You don't agree with a lot of people i'm sure, but you seem to reserve cowardly comments and mudslinging for me. Also, you need to understand the difference between propaganda and citing reliable sources of reference.

And there's your problem - the idea that a gael has to fit into a certain box, the idea that every gael is like you.

I'm neither British, Unionist nor Protestant, but the idea that a gael could be any of these sits so uncomfortably with you speaks volumes - and is a million miles away from the ethos of the GAA.

I've coached English (as well as many other nationalities), Protestant and Unionists how to play Gaelic Football so don't even try to present that I'm uncomfortable with any of these groups. That's within the ethos of the GAA.

It seems you just seem to have an ambition, probably because of your political leanings/allegience to the RUC, to try influence folk on here with a softer unionist point of view.

I decided to pull out a quote from you just to show how much of a GAEL you actually are...this is from a thread about Mickey Harte.

Quote from: Maguire01 on March 29, 2009, 09:30:17 PM
What's the importance of having GAA played all over the world anyway?

Ethos of the GAA?? ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 31, 2009, 08:08:11 PM
Instead of talking about how many "roman catholics" are in the ruc, why don't they tell us how many Irish nationalists are there?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 09:09:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 31, 2009, 08:08:11 PM
Instead of talking about how many "roman catholics" are in the ruc, why don't they tell us how many Irish nationalists are there?
Probably because a) it's not that important to that many people other than the usual handful of sad bastards on here. They know who they are ;) And b) it's probably against some sort of fair employment legislation to ask someone what their political allegiance. Youse are the same hoors probably moaned for years about no Catholics in the police and then when some join they are either uncle toms or the wrong kind of Catholics.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 31, 2009, 09:11:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 09:09:26 PM
Probably because a) it's not that important to that many people other than the usual handful of sad b**tards on here. They know who they are ;) And b) it's probably against some sort of fair employment legislation to ask someone what their political allegiance. Youse are the same hoors probably moaned for years about no Catholics in the police and then when some join they are either uncle toms or the wrong kind of Catholics.

You can ask someone what relgion they are, what race they are etc so I dont see why you couldnt ask them if they were  unionist or nationalists. 
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 09:16:20 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 31, 2009, 09:11:39 PM
Probably because a) it's not that important to that many people other than the usual handful of sad b**tards on here. They know who they are ;) And b) it's probably against some sort of fair employment legislation to ask someone what their political allegiance. Youse are the same hoors probably moaned for years about no Catholics in the police and then when some join they are either uncle toms or the wrong kind of Catholics.

You can ask someone what relgion they are, what race they are etc so I dont see why you couldnt ask them if they were  unionist or nationalists. 

Surely the RUC PSNI already know who's got republican leanings - they probably lifted most of their fathers at some stage or another so just a case of checking their files!

That should narrow it down....
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 09:22:11 PM

POG I thought monitoring forms were done away with here. Donagh is usually clued up on this sort of thing so maybe he knows. I don't know why it is important. Any peelers I've dealt with in the past few years (always car issues!) have been nothing but civil.

I know one fella left our place a few years back to join and he was a catholic and big celtic man. In fact he was the only celtic fan I've ever met that wasn't an armchair republican/arsehole.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 09:22:35 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 07:30:37 PM

I've coached English (as well as many other nationalities), Protestant and Unionists how to play Gaelic Football so don't even try to present that I'm uncomfortable with any of these groups. That's within the ethos of the GAA.

It seems you just seem to have an ambition, probably because of your political leanings/allegience to the RUC, to try influence folk on here with a softer unionist point of view.
Great back-peddling. Well done. It doesn't sit well with you that i 'masquerade as a gael' because you disagree with my opinions, yet you have no problem coaching English, Protestants and Unionists, many of whom would no doubt have political leanings directly opposed to yours. That's logical.

I don't have any ambition to influence anyone - but i am entitled to express my opinion, without ridicule. I have no leanings or allegiance to the RUC or the Unionist cause. I have no problems is condemning underhand activities during the troubles. I have merely tried to point out that the PSNI is more than the RUC with a different name. You're entitled to your opinion as well of course.

On that point, given your great outreach to the English, Protestant and Unionist, i'm assuming you're just as happy to reach out to the PSNI Gaelic Football team? Or would that be demonstrating your allegiance to the RUC?

I decided to pull out a quote from you just to show how much of a GAEL you actually are...this is from a thread about Mickey Harte.

Ethos of the GAA?? ;)
Genius.
I dare to debate Mickey's idea for a GAA world cup - clearly i'm not much of a gael. Can you not even see that it's a question and not a statement?
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 09:39:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 09:22:35 PM

Great back-peddling. Well done. It doesn't sit well with you that i 'masquerade as a gael' because you disagree with my opinions, yet you have no problem coaching English, Protestants and Unionists, many of whom would no doubt have political leanings directly opposed to yours. That's logical.

I don't have any ambition to influence anyone - but i am entitled to express my opinion, without ridicule. I have no leanings or allegiance to the RUC or the Unionist cause. I have no problems is condemning underhand activities during the troubles. I have merely tried to point out that the PSNI is more than the RUC with a different name. You're entitled to your opinion as well of course.

On that point, given your great outreach to the English, Protestant and Unionist, i'm assuming you're just as happy to reach out to the PSNI Gaelic Football team? Or would that be demonstrating your allegiance to the RUC?

Ethos of the GAA?? ;)
Genius.
I dare to debate Mickey's idea for a GAA world cup - clearly i'm not much of a gael. Can you not even see that it's a question and not a statement?

Hahahahaha...I'm not the one back-peddling here...nice try to put it back to me.
You're quite right, you're not much of a gael and your so-called question doesnt mention anything about a world cup. Suck it up.

I have no issue with unionists/protestants playing GAA, in fact I encourage it and was absolutely delighted to teach them. The more people we can integrate into Irish society the better, they'll see that they have far more in common with their countrymen that they do with blighty. The northern Rugby crowd don't have an issue wearing the green so its only a matter of time. This integration furthers the realisation of the dream men and women of this island sacrificed their lives for.
Also no issue with RUC PSNI playing GAA either. Hopefully in time there will be a 32 county police force not under the direct rule of british forces which will answer the needs of the people.

You can express your opinion all you want.
I hope you have found reverse... without ridicule of course  :D

Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 09:42:46 PM
Its a sadly ironic point to have one self professed GAEL casting aspertions upon another gaels gael like credentials.

The ethos of the gaa is one of inclusiveness.

Think about it, and maybe drop the crap. Its pathetic.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 09:57:59 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 09:39:17 PM
Hahahahaha...I'm not the one back-peddling here...nice try to put it back to me.
You're quite right, you're not much of a gael and your so-called question doesnt mention anything about a world cup. Suck it up.
Classy, as ever. I'm not back-peddling at all - although it was a question. Personally, as great as it is to see people having an interest in GAA around the world, i wouldn't consider global domination to be the most important priority for the GAA, at least not at the minute. Although i'd be quite happy to consider the views of other posters on this one. And if it wasn't about a world cup, it must have been about some other relevant discussion - it wasn't a comment in isolation.

Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 09:39:17 PM
I have no issue with unionists/protestants playing GAA, in fact I encourage it and was absolutely delighted to teach them. The more people we can integrate into Irish society the better, they'll see that they have far more in common with their countrymen that they do with blighty. The northern Rugby crowd don't have an issue wearing the green so its only a matter of time. This integration furthers the realisation of the dream men and women of this island sacrificed their lives for.
Also no issue with RUC PSNI playing GAA either. Hopefully in time there will be a 32 county police force not under the direct rule of british forces which will answer the needs of the people.
That's all good and highly commendable. It just seems to contradict the reasons you cited for your problems with me.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2009, 10:01:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2009, 09:42:46 PM
Its a sadly ironic point to have one self professed GAEL casting aspertions upon another gaels gael like credentials.

Point well made.
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 10:03:34 PM

Sure will. I made my point.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 31, 2009, 10:47:21 PM
that's them West Tyrone fellas for ya HS
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 31, 2009, 10:53:13 PM
what are you blethering about?
Post by: stiffler on March 31, 2009, 10:56:16 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 31, 2009, 10:53:13 PM

robbery in ardboe
Post by: Myles Na G. on March 31, 2009, 11:00:48 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 10:03:34 PM

You make exactly the same point with everyone who doesn't square with your narrow, bigoted view of what a nationalist should be. You disagree with them, ergo they must be posing as a nationalist / gael / catholic / etc, etc. Very tedious.
Post by: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 11:11:36 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on March 31, 2009, 11:00:48 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 31, 2009, 10:03:34 PM

You make exactly the same point with everyone who doesn't square with your narrow, bigoted view of what a nationalist should be. You disagree with them, ergo they must be posing as a nationalist / gael / catholic / etc, etc. Very tedious.

Sweet baby jesus, this one decides to pop his head up...couldnt be arsd with debating EM, you already know what i think of you.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 31, 2009, 11:12:43 PM
Quote from: stiffler on March 31, 2009, 10:56:16 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 31, 2009, 10:53:13 PM

robbery in ardboe

Ghost Oh!!  :o
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2009, 09:25:33 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 09:22:11 PM

POG I thought monitoring forms were done away with here. Donagh is usually clued up on this sort of thing so maybe he knows. I don't know why it is important. Any peelers I've dealt with in the past few years (always car issues!) have been nothing but civil.

I know one fella left our place a few years back to join and he was a catholic and big celtic man. In fact he was the only celtic fan I've ever met that wasn't an armchair republican/arsehole.

You want to try and get out a bit more, meet a few more people!  ::)

f**king generalisations like that bullshit above (in bold) annoy my head.
Post by: Minder on April 01, 2009, 09:37:15 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2009, 09:25:33 AM

How is it a generalistaion when it is his personal experience ?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2009, 09:42:46 AM
Quote from: Minder on April 01, 2009, 09:37:15 AM

How is it a generalistaion when it is his personal experience ?

Well you can buy into his bullshit, personally most Celtic fans wouldn't fit into his "convienent" stereo type, not that Tony would have an axe to grind!
Post by: nifan on April 01, 2009, 09:46:11 AM
Ive a fair few mates who are celtic fans - i wouldnt call them armchair republicans, or assholes, though ive met a few who are. But then ive met liverpool fans or man u fans who are as bad.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 01, 2009, 09:48:15 AM

GDA I'm sure you're a great lad and there are plenty of good celts. I agree it sounds like a generalisation but where I'm from the celtic supporters club is full of boys who grew up with no interest in sport of any kind and would struggle to name more than half dozen players on the team. Many of them prob think Paul McStay still plays for them. They joined the club for drinking sessions and the Wolfe Tones in the minibus on the way to matches. So apologies to all you other Celts ;) I can say though that I've never met a Rangers fan I've liked!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 01, 2009, 09:55:11 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 01, 2009, 09:48:15 AM

GDA I'm sure you're a great lad and there are plenty of good celts. I agree it sounds like a generalisation but where I'm from the celtic supporters club is full of boys who grew up with no interest in sport of any kind and would struggle to name more than half dozen players on the team. Many of them prob think Paul McStay still plays for them. They joined the club for drinking sessions and the Wolfe Tones in the minibus on the way to matches. So apologies to all you other Celts ;) I can say though that I've never met a Rangers fan I've liked!

Fair enough Tony, I just hate the hangers on who give true Celtic fans the bad name your talking about. Btw have a friend who's a Rankers fan and he's not a bad aul spud, did slag the bollocks out of me after Arturs howlers on Saturday!  :-\ ;)