Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: full back on March 20, 2009, 08:26:05 AM

Title: Champions League Draw
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 08:26:05 AM
Really dont want the scousers today
Prefer not to get Barca either

Teams in draw

Man Utd
Chelsea
Liverpool
Arsenal
Barcelona
Villareal
Porto
Bayern
Title: Re: Champions League Draw
Post by: EC Unique on March 20, 2009, 09:43:20 AM
Don't care who we get. If your gonna win it you gotta beat em.....

Would not mind getting the bin dippers at this stage. They are set up nicely for a knock down...  When are these matches to be played?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on March 20, 2009, 09:45:28 AM
The first legs will be on 7 and 8 April and the return legs on 14 and 15 April.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on March 20, 2009, 09:49:15 AM
This is the my prediction for the draw

Chelsea v villarreal
Bacelona v Porto
Bayern Munich v Liverpool
Arsenal v Man United
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 09:52:08 AM
United are nailed on to get Porto or Villareal.
Post by: Hank Everlast on March 20, 2009, 10:00:27 AM
Chelsea v villarreal
Liverpool v Barcelona
Bayern Munich v Arsenal
Porto v Man United

Thats what i reckon
Post by: gawa316 on March 20, 2009, 10:08:31 AM
Practice run just brought up Liverpool v United and Chelsea v Arsenal.

Don't fancy meetin utd at all.One reason being I'll feel physically sick for the duration of both matches
Post by: winsamsoon on March 20, 2009, 10:22:41 AM
Chelsea v Barcelona
Bayern V Man Utd
Porto v Liverpool
Arsenal v Villareal

United always turn the easiest draw with the second leg always at home. Liverpool are the same arabs.
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 10:24:45 AM
Does the actual draw start at 11am?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2009, 10:43:38 AM
There is always a bit of shite talking before they start pulling the balls out.

www.uefa.org (http://www.uefa.org) usually have a wee pop-up graphic as it happens (or near enough) so I'll be leaving it minimised in work until the fun starts.

I really only fancy Barca, United or Liverpool for it this year. Unfortunately I think United will end up playing another English team in teh final again.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 10:46:04 AM
I think UEFA are due to announce that United are getting a bye to the final and the other 7 teams will have a round robin playoff to see who qualifies to face them. Seems fair to me.  ;)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 10:48:07 AM
Current prices from Stan James

Man United    5/2    
Barcelona            5/2    
Chelsea            11/2    
Liverpool            6/1    
Arsenal            9/1    
Bayern Munich    10/1    
Villarreal            25/1    
Porto            33/1

See how much they change?

Hope for Liverpool United, a winner takes all match with the losers having to delete their official thread  from the non gaa discussion section... Agreed?
Post by: The GAA on March 20, 2009, 10:51:36 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on March 20, 2009, 09:43:20 AM

Never understood that saying. A lot of championships have been won with the help of someone taking a favourit or bogey team out somewhere.

are all teams in the one hat and anyone can get anyone?
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 10:55:14 AM
Quote from: The GAA on March 20, 2009, 10:51:36 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on March 20, 2009, 09:43:20 AM

Never understood that saying. A lot of championships have been won with the help of someone taking a favourit or bogey team out somewhere.

are all teams in the one hat and anyone can get anyone?

Yes.

I'm convinced it will be United v. Liverpool.
Post by: The GAA on March 20, 2009, 10:57:18 AM

Hope it is ... it'd be a bit of craic
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 10:58:07 AM
I must say this old Liverpool 'we don;t fear anyone in Europe' is a bit warped.

I don;t want United, if we meet United will rightly be favourites.

Is the draw on Setanta? I am sure LFCtv will have a touchline reporter in Istanbul for it anyway.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 10:59:17 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 10:58:07 AM

Is the draw on Setanta? I am sure LFCtv will have a touchline reporter in Istanbul for it anyway.

On Sky Sports News now... So you agree if Liverpool meet United the losers dhould delete their official thread?
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:01:41 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 10:59:17 AM

On Sky Sports News now... So you agree if Liverpool meet United the losers dhould delete their official thread?

Sure the scousers delete/lock their thread if they dont like what is posted on it ;)
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:02:17 AM

You're very excited about this possibility, yeah Loney we will delete the thread.
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:04:52 AM
Watch/listen to draw

http://www.uefa.com/
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 20, 2009, 11:05:05 AM
Heart says Liverpool, head says Porto.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:05:10 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:02:17 AM

You're very excited about this possibility, yeah Loney we will delete the thread.

Sure as you were telling me at the match the other night, I am Uniteds number one closet fan!!

:D ;D
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:06:13 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:05:10 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:02:17 AM

Sure as you were telling me at the match the other night, I am Uniteds number one closet fan!!

:D ;D

What was it you said?  If they sold Berbatov and signed Ibrahimavoic they would be worth going over to see?
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 11:11:24 AM
Told you United would get Porto !
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:11:37 AM
Easy draw for United, there'ds a surprise.

Pool get Chelsea. Away second, which is a major blow.
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:12:46 AM
And just to compound things, United get the easy semi-final draw.
Post by: youngfella on March 20, 2009, 11:13:01 AM
Villarreal v Arsenal
Manchester United v FC Porto
Liverpool v Chelsea
Barcelona v Bayern Munich
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:13:09 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 11:11:24 AM

Nostradamus wouldnt have a look in

Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:11:37 AM

Suppose it was fixed?
Post by: T O Hare on March 20, 2009, 11:13:17 AM
United have some chance in making the final, they will be favs on their own now
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:13:44 AM

Are you actually suggesting the draw was fixed?
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:14:10 AM
Yes that is exactly what I said.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2009, 11:14:37 AM
Quote from: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:13:09 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 11:11:24 AM

Nostradamus wouldnt have a look in

Suppose it was fixed?
Course it was fixed.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:15:14 AM
New odd from Stanley

Man United    11/5    
Barcelona            5/2    
Chelsea            11/2    
Liverpool             6/1    
Arsenal             7/1    
Bayern Munich    12/1    
Villarreal            40/1    
Porto            50/1
Post by: Hank Everlast on March 20, 2009, 11:15:39 AM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 09:52:08 AM

Spot on minder.... always the same
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:15:45 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:14:10 AM

So who all is in on this fixing?? Do United pay off the officials or what? I am intrigued...
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:16:45 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:15:45 AM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:14:10 AM

So who all is in on this fixing?? Do United pay off the officials or what? I am intrigued...

Yes they give them free tickets to Old Trafford, very unfair.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 20, 2009, 11:17:39 AM
 ;D Happ days, couldn't have asked for much more. Only negative is we'll be the 'official' away team should we get to the final ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 11:18:30 AM
Quote from: Hank Everlast on March 20, 2009, 11:15:39 AM

A stopped clock is right twice a day.

Anyway - if you get penalties against you ignored and "ghost goals" awarded it more than makes up for it.
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:20:09 AM
 :D :D
Great draw for Utd
Even better to see all the conspiracy theorists out in force already

Its an open draw FFS lads, get over it ::)
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:21:54 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 11:18:30 AM

Anyway - if you get penalties against you ignored and "ghost goals" awarded it more than makes up for it.

Referee has said Cech would have been sent off and a penalty awarded. You have also no evidence to support it being a ghost goal as it was inconclusive, so a bit of a stupid post.
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 20, 2009, 11:22:38 AM
Porto are a decent side but have a dodgy keeper, a bit like United I suppose.
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:23:24 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 20, 2009, 11:22:38 AM
Porto are a decent side but have a dodgy keeper, a bit like United I suppose.

Gooood, gooood, the hatred is strong in this one.
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 11:23:58 AM
I remember the last time United thought Porto would be handy in Europe.........
Post by: mrsandman on March 20, 2009, 11:25:00 AM

Aye i have to admit we're the biggest cheats in the country, we should just win the trophies from now on and give them to liverpool, 'cause there obviously not capable of pickin up any themselves at the minute.
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:25:45 AM
I fancy the a scouser/Utd final now
Chelsea & Barca are arguably better teams but the fat spanish waiter knows how to get a result over 2 legs in Europe
That would be tasty
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:26:00 AM
Quote from: mrsandman on March 20, 2009, 11:25:00 AM

Aye i have to admit we're the biggest cheats in the country, we should just win the trophies from now on and give them to liverpool, 'cause there obviously not capable of pickin up any themselves at the minute.

Delighted you have joined up.
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:26:51 AM
Quote from: full back on March 20, 2009, 11:25:45 AM
Chelsea & Barca are arguably better teams but the fat spanish waiter knows how to get a result over 2 legs in Europe
That would be tasty

It is certainly on the cards. I would say United should get their ok, Chelsea or the Pool to reach the other.
Post by: slow corner back on March 20, 2009, 11:28:01 AM
Arsenal Should have too much for Villareal over two legs, Utd to beat Porto setting up a very tight semi, Utds record at Arsenal is not good. Other half Chelsea Lpool is a toss of a coin game, ghost goals and John Arne Risses head not likely to appear this time. Barca v Bayern could be a goal fest heres hoping. When are the matches played?
Post by: EC Unique on March 20, 2009, 11:28:24 AM
Excellent Draw from Utd point of view. Should make the Final but nothing easy at this stage.

I will go for:

Arsenal
Utd
Liverpool on pens
Bayern

with Liverpool v Utd Final  ;D ;D
Post by: Rossie11 on March 20, 2009, 11:28:59 AM
Chelsea have to be happy. Home in 2nd legs of both 1/4 and semi..
Huge advantage..
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:30:28 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2009, 11:15:14 AM
New odd from Stanley

Man United    11/5    
Barcelona            5/2    
Chelsea            11/2    
Liverpool             6/1    
Arsenal             7/1    
Bayern Munich    12/1    
Villarreal            40/1    
Porto            50/1

Odds changed again:

Man United    15/8    
Barcelona            11/4    
Chelsea             6/1    
Liverpool             13/2    
Arsenal             7/1    
Bayern Munich    12/1    
Villarreal            33/1    
Porto            50/1
Post by: Declan on March 20, 2009, 11:38:35 AM
I think Arsenal will beat Utd in the semis. Liverpool Chelsea is too close to call 
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 11:41:29 AM
I just hope Liverpool are not too cocky playing Porto in the final.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 20, 2009, 11:43:29 AM
Think the scousers are looking the best  bet of the English(purely based on price) at 13/2 they will chin chelsea by boring them out of the park and sneaking a wonder goal by Gerard

Truth be told i wouldn't mind who wins it aslong as they weren't english. It would be worth it just to hear the ballbags on tv crying about why they didn't win it. It would be even better on RTE to see the Irish ones who know more of that culture than their own.

Nail if you get a chance lad can you see what price the bookies are giving for a non English winner ??? (if they have this bet0 good stuff.
Post by: The GAA on March 20, 2009, 11:49:44 AM

Bayern could be the best value. they've started to show some good form recently and cruised through the last 16
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 11:50:16 AM
Arsenal will not be too far away. Will have everyone fit by the semis and will defo dispose of Villareal. 7/1 on them is best value.
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:52:07 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on March 20, 2009, 11:43:29 AM
Think the scousers are looking the best  bet of the English(purely based on price) at 13/2 they will chin chelsea by boring them out of the park and sneaking a wonder goal by Gerard

I would take that any day Win.
Post by: ONeill on March 20, 2009, 12:08:21 PM
Another Arsenal-Barca final. Get yer money on it. Henry to score a hat trick only for bendtner to get 4.
Post by: mrsandman on March 20, 2009, 12:12:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 20, 2009, 12:08:21 PM
Another Arsenal-Barca final. Get yer money on it. Henry to score a hat trick only for bendtner to get 4.

:D :D Not in a month of sundays unfortunately.
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 12:13:57 PM
I would rather have got Barcelona than Chelsea, really tough draw especially with Essien back & Drogba in a bit of form. I have a feeling Arsenal will be hard to beat over two legs and will beat United.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 20, 2009, 12:58:50 PM
Well there's another season without a trophy
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2009, 01:02:59 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 11:21:54 AM

Referee has said Cech would have been sent off and a penalty awarded. You have also no evidence to support it being a ghost goal as it was inconclusive, so a bit of a stupid post.
He can add that to his 3533 previous ones.
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 01:04:06 PM
Quote from: mrsandman on March 20, 2009, 12:12:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 20, 2009, 12:08:21 PM

:D :D Not in a month of sundays unfortunately.

wha...ahhhh smart man, well spotted sir. I don't understand sarcasm.
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 01:05:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2009, 01:02:59 PM

Ach now, Seanies a good old poster.
Post by: Rav67 on March 20, 2009, 01:09:48 PM
People giving "predictions" earlier for the draw - wft is that about??

For the record I think the lottery numbers this week will be 4 9 10 19 25 35
Post by: 118cmal on March 20, 2009, 01:15:10 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on March 20, 2009, 01:09:48 PM
People giving "predictions" earlier for the draw - wft is that about??

Sure it was a fix didn't you hear???

My two-pennies worth:

Think Arsenal will go through against Villareal by an odd goal
United will coast through
Liverpool and Chelsea is too hard to call in my opinion
Barca will squeeze past Bayern

If Chelsea beat Pool I think Barca will beat them in the Semi's, but if Pool beat Chelasea I fancy Pool to beat Barca in the semi's.  Still with me??

United should squeeze past Arsenal.

So for me it's either United vs Barca/Liverpool.  If I had to choose, I think it'll be United vs Barca.  Think the second leg at Stamford Bridge could sway the QF chelsea's way!
Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 01:20:08 PM
Sure Minder knew Utd would get Porto, he told us earlier
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on March 20, 2009, 01:23:05 PM
That would be tasty

CL Semi Final 2008

First Leg:      Liverpool 1-1 Chelsea
Second Leg: Chelsea 3-2 Liverpool
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 01:25:21 PM
Quote from: full back on March 20, 2009, 01:20:08 PM

I have the sports almanac that Biff had in Back To The Future II
Post by: YogiBear on March 20, 2009, 01:27:45 PM
Good draw for the gunners think they will get through and play manure who should breeze past porto.  Chelsea should beat liverpool because 2nd leg at stamford bridge.  Barca shoul beat bayern now that Klose is out for 8 weeks.  Think it will be a repeat of 06 final with Henry on losing side again
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 20, 2009, 01:28:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 20, 2009, 01:25:21 PM
Quote from: full back on March 20, 2009, 01:20:08 PM

I have the sports almanac that Biff had in Back To The Future II
Who wins the national this year?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 20, 2009, 02:06:46 PM
Must be the least surprising draw in history. We get Chelsea yet again and United get the red carpet rolled out for them all the way to the final.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 02:17:00 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 20, 2009, 02:06:46 PM
Must be the least surprising draw in history. We get Chelsea yet again and United get the red carpet rolled out for them all the way to the final.

The irony of Liverpool supporters complaining about luck!
Post by: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 02:29:49 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on March 20, 2009, 01:23:05 PM
That would be tasty

CL Semi Final 2008

I don't get it?

Rafa has overcome Chelsea twice in recent years... ???
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2009, 02:31:03 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 01:05:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2009, 01:02:59 PM

Ach now, Seanies a good old poster.

Cheers but its alright Corn. I'm used to it by now. All the abuse tends to come from the same type of individual and coming from them its actually a compliment.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on March 20, 2009, 02:47:33 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 20, 2009, 02:29:49 PM
That would be tasty

CL Semi Final 2008

I don't get it?

Just making the point that Benitez's record over two legs is not flawless depsite what 5Live and ITV would have you believe.  I seem to remember losses over two legs agin' Marseille and Benfica over the past few years as well.
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 20, 2009, 04:55:41 PM

slur alex must have did the draw 2day...
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 20, 2009, 04:57:58 PM

the plus thing about being at home 1st is that masch brings alot more to the table away from home
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2009, 05:06:24 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on March 20, 2009, 02:47:33 PM
That would be tasty

CL Semi Final 2008

I don't get it?

Just making the point that Benitez's record over two legs is not flawless depsite what 5Live and ITV would have you believe.  I seem to remember losses over two legs agin' Marseille and Benfica over the past few years as well.
Who said it was flawless? Even the most bitter anti Liverpool/Benitez person would have to admit his record in Europe is tremendous, especially when you look at the quality of some of the players he had for those games. Inter, Barcelona, Madrid, Juventus, Chelsea and Arsenal have all been beaten in the knock out stages under Benitez. It could be argued they were underdogs in every one of those ties. Marseille over two legs was Uefa Cup under Ged Houllier.
Post by: mountainboii on March 20, 2009, 05:08:22 PM
A lot of silly Liverpool fans with short memories complaining about United 'easy' draw.

If United get to the final this year the 4 teams they are likely to play in the knock out stages are Inter, Porto, Arsenal and possibly Chelsea.

In the knock out stages of last season's CL the 3 teams that Liverpool played were Inter, Arsenal and Chelsea.

Did Rafa fix the draw last year too?

Post by: full back on March 20, 2009, 05:14:39 PM
Dont be daft AFS, Fergie fixed the draw last year as well so that Utd would win the CL
He is allowed to take his pick of teams every year, he even gets to pick the next round possibilities

FFS, what a load of sh1te
It was a good draw for UTD, nothing else
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 20, 2009, 05:18:58 PM
That would be tasty

CL Semi Final 2008

I don't get it?

marseille in cl?dont think so king.  think you are referring to 2004 under houiler when the drog was born..
Post by: mountainboii on March 20, 2009, 05:27:50 PM
Quote from: full back on March 20, 2009, 05:14:39 PM
Dont be daft AFS, Fergie fixed the draw last year as well so that Utd would win the CL
He is allowed to take his pick of teams every year, he even gets to pick the next round possibilities

FFS, what a load of sh1te
It was a good draw for UTD, nothing else

I see.

He was a bit of an eejit making us play Lyon last year when we could've got Fenerbahce, Olympiacos or Celtic. Then the idiot made us play Roma when we could've got Fenerbahce again, or Schalke.

He ballsed up the year before too. Making us play Roma in the quarters when we could've had someone shit like PSV. Wonder who it was the got PSV in that round?
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 20, 2009, 05:29:34 PM
view on the draw is

utd v porto- to cruise past porto obv the draw wasnt fixed but arguably the three teams united may have wanted to avoid are on the other side of the draw plus bayern had a ridiculous win in previous round so are obv no mugs.  ronaldo be in for a fierce reception in away leg.  united underestimated porto in 04 slur alex wont let them do this again

barca v bayern- could be the most open draw of the round. barca from midfield up should have 2 much.  bayern will be able to get at barca's defence though with klose out 4 8 weeks cant look past barca

pool v chelski- will be nip and tuck again.from a lpool  perspective more pleased mascherano not available for the home leg, though whoever deputises will have to step up to the mark.  drogba on great form, so to essien.  torres and gerrard both flying.  should be an intriguing tie too close to call.  

villareal v arsenal-  arsenal will be favourites for this one.  was talking to a arsenal supporter in work today before the draw he said this would be the type of game arsenal could lose on something like a stupid away leg.  with arsenal having a number of players coming back though this is a good draw for them.  arsenal to go through 3-1 over 2 legs
Post by: corn02 on March 21, 2009, 02:55:09 PM
That would be tasty

CL Semi Final 2008

I don't get it?

Nobody said it was flawless, but losing two two-legged matches in the times he has been there is pretty impressive.