Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Declan on February 12, 2009, 02:15:14 PM

Title: Question re Belfast
Post by: Declan on February 12, 2009, 02:15:14 PM
Folks - Would ye recommend the Ramada for a weekend break?
Title: Re: Question re Belfast
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 12, 2009, 02:16:59 PM
No, but that's just me  :)
Post by: Minder on February 12, 2009, 02:17:40 PM
Quote from: Declan on February 12, 2009, 02:15:14 PM
Folks - Would ye recommend the Ramada for a weekend break?

My friend is having his wedding reception in it next year and obviously he was well impressed with it.
Post by: Orior on February 12, 2009, 02:39:06 PM
Do you mean the Ramada at Shaws Bridge? Its about 3 mile out of the city centre, but walking distance from the Belfast to Lisburn towpath so nice enough area.

They can also provide sports massages. Nudge nudge wink wink berry berry.
Post by: girt_giggler on February 12, 2009, 03:00:24 PM
It's a very nice spot IMO
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 12, 2009, 03:12:39 PM
No.
Too far out and not even in a nice area.
Plenty to choose from in the city itself, and most reasonably priced or if you want a country break then try somewhere further up the coast towards the glens.
Post by: Rois on February 12, 2009, 03:57:00 PM
Declan - if you're going to spend the weekend in the hotel, then it's grand, nice place, nice food, good gym and beauty salon etc. 

Not if you're coming up to trip around Belfast for the craic. 
Post by: girt_giggler on February 12, 2009, 03:57:40 PM
If you wanna go out of the city then don't look any further than Galgorm Manor. A little pricey but its some spot
Post by: Maguire01 on February 12, 2009, 05:19:44 PM
It's only a 15 minute taxi trip from the City Centre and a nice spot if you want country walks (along the towpath) but still want to be close to the city. If you're coming up to party, it's the wrong place.
Post by: kumquat on February 12, 2009, 07:22:14 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 12, 2009, 02:39:06 PM
Do you mean the Ramada at Shaws Bridge? Its about 3 mile out of the city centre, but walking distance from the Belfast to Lisburn towpath so nice enough area.

They can also provide sports massages. Nudge nudge wink wink berry berry.

Dukes has just been refurbished & ive heard good reports. out of the city centre yet only 10 mins walk away.
check out the link.

www.dukesatqueens.com
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 12, 2009, 08:18:54 PM
Hmmm... a more detailed 'No' is called for here I think.

Their food is over-priced and there is not enough of it.  On top of that it is in a bad area, contrary to what some posters have said.
Post by: Minder on February 12, 2009, 08:41:49 PM
Has there been bother associated with it, the fact that it isnt in a "good area" ?
Post by: Declan on February 12, 2009, 11:37:57 PM
Thanks for the advice folks - Too old to be partying unless its in A Hardy's bar!!.

Probably will look elsewhere as want to be central enough
Post by: ONeill on February 12, 2009, 11:49:29 PM
Has a great bonfire outside it once in a while.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on February 12, 2009, 11:56:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 12, 2009, 08:41:49 PM
Has there been bother associated with it, the fact that it isnt in a "good area" ?
Yes, some of the locals have developed a bad habit of burning cars with southern registrations parking at it
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2009, 12:09:29 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on February 12, 2009, 11:56:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 12, 2009, 08:41:49 PM
Yes, some of the locals have developed a bad habit of burning cars with southern registrations parking at it
When, about twenty years ago? Minder it's on the edge of the Belvoir estate which is a loyalist heartland.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 13, 2009, 12:14:48 AM
No my sister held her wedding reception here and the marriage broke up - I blame the hotel!!!! :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2009, 12:58:52 AM
Declan, try the Tara Lodge, and he's a good GAA man (http://www.taralodge.com/ (http://www.taralodge.com/)), and very close to the centre (and off-road parking).
Post by: mountainboii on February 13, 2009, 01:38:56 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2009, 12:58:52 AM
Declan, try the Tara Lodge, and he's a good GAA man (http://www.taralodge.com/ (http://www.taralodge.com/)), and very close to the centre (and off-road parking).

A lot of wee hoods and noisy students around that area.

Post by: Declan on February 13, 2009, 12:27:10 PM
Cheers FSB - good reviews from what i can see
Post by: Roger on February 13, 2009, 01:01:40 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 13, 2009, 01:38:56 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2009, 12:58:52 AM

A lot of wee hoods and noisy students around that area.

And mucksavages.
Post by: Rois on February 13, 2009, 02:00:29 PM
Declan, Tara Lodge is on the same street as the B&Bs that charge by the hour.  I'd avoid it and go to the Holiday Inn if you can get a good rate.
Post by: Declan on February 13, 2009, 03:44:09 PM
cheers Rois -
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 13, 2009, 03:56:26 PM
Jurys Inn, it's one minute from City Hall and bloody reasonably priced, everything close by.
Post by: Rois on February 13, 2009, 04:15:35 PM
Ah no GDA, no leisure facilities or anything in Jury's, sure those people earning euros are loaded, we should be sending him to the Merchant. 
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 13, 2009, 04:24:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on February 13, 2009, 04:15:35 PM
Ah no GDA, no leisure facilities or anything in Jury's, sure those people earning euros are loaded, we should be sending him to the Merchant. 

Right enough, Dukes is suposed to be quite nice now, but still no gym, depends what he's up for Rois, Jurys is just really handy.
Post by: Declan on February 13, 2009, 04:36:55 PM
Loads of Euros alright!!!! 

Its  a wedding anniversary weekend so needs to be "comfortable" ;)

Can get a great offer on the new "Fitzwilliam" opening in March
Post by: heganboy on February 13, 2009, 04:39:11 PM
malone Lodge is a pretty sound place to stay...
Post by: Quagmire on February 13, 2009, 04:45:05 PM
If you're after the city centre you'll not do much better than Ten Square, it's right behind the city hall. I've never been in it but it looks pretty good and there seems to be a few people about it any time I'm passing, worth a wee look if nothing else I suppose.

http://www.tensquare.co.uk/
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on February 13, 2009, 04:52:09 PM
Quote from: Quagmire on February 13, 2009, 04:45:05 PM
If you're after the city centre you'll not do much better than Ten Square, it's right behind the city hall. I've never been in it but it looks pretty good and there seems to be a few people about it any time I'm passing, worth a wee look if nothing else I suppose.

http://www.tensquare.co.uk/

Belfast is changing...that was a post office in my day!
Post by: Rois on February 13, 2009, 05:09:25 PM
Ten Square's a gorgeous place, lovely reasonable restaurant, good bar for drinks but no leisure facilities.  The Fitzwilliam is right beside Jury's (and the Europa) but obv a wee step up, might be good to try.  Walked past it today and it has a right bit to go if it aims to be open next month though! 

Ach go down to the Merchant and go all out - good bar, stunning place inside (the kind of place I went for afternoon champagne tea - get the picture?), great restaurant, and nightclub if you want.  Might be a wee bit noisy though down there at the weekends.

Post by: Minder on February 13, 2009, 05:13:27 PM
Does anyone actually use a gym in a hotel,surely the whole idea is to get away and relax and if you were interested in keeping fit you would do that another time.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 13, 2009, 08:12:18 PM
Parador on the Ormeau Rd is your only man. 5 minute bus ride from City Hall and great craic in the bar every night of the week. One of the few places you'll get top watch GAA on a Sunday if there's soccer/racing on.

http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g186470-d211235-r7432165-Parador_Hotel-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html (http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g186470-d211235-r7432165-Parador_Hotel-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html)
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2009, 09:23:24 PM
Quote from: Rois on February 13, 2009, 05:09:25 PM
Ten Square's a gorgeous place, lovely reasonable restaurant, good bar for drinks but no leisure facilities.  The Fitzwilliam is right beside Jury's (and the Europa) but obv a wee step up, might be good to try.  Walked past it today and it has a right bit to go if it aims to be open next month though! 

Ach go down to the Merchant and go all out - good bar, stunning place inside (the kind of place I went for afternoon champagne tea - get the picture?), great restaurant, and nightclub if you want.  Might be a wee bit noisy though down there at the weekends.

He's on a wedding anniversary overnighter in a city centre hotel so I can't imagine the gym will be high on his to do list.

The people that frequent the likes of the merchant would make you vomit so I'd give it a miss.
Post by: Rois on February 13, 2009, 09:30:15 PM
Tony not sure why you would say that.  A tad judgemental.  The Merchant is a lovely place, Cloth Ear not the best bar in the world but the cocktails in the residents' bar are nice - real top class service and definately not something you'd get everywhere.  Muck-savage free. 

Prob agree about the gym but not all the leisure facilities - with a bad head on me there's nothing I like more than a swim.  If it's a weekend break, there might just be time to check out the jacuzzi and sauna in there, not out of the realms of possibility on a rosemantic break. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2009, 09:38:36 PM
Quote from: Rois on February 13, 2009, 09:30:15 PM
Tony not sure why you would say that.  A tad judgemental.  The Merchant is a lovely place, Cloth Ear not the best bar in the world but the cocktails in the residents' bar are nice - real top class service and definately not something you'd get everywhere.  Muck-savage free. 

Prob agree about the gym but not all the leisure facilities - with a bad head on me there's nothing I like more than a swim.  If it's a weekend break, there might just be time to check out the jacuzzi and sauna in there, not out of the realms of possibility on a rosemantic break. 
I'm not knocking the place. Belfast is full of nice places, but they are often let down by the people in them. City centre establishments are full of pretentious arseholes and The Merchant would be a prime example. Unfortunately the likes of The Errigle is going the same way which is a shame. I like real people.
Post by: Minder on February 13, 2009, 09:45:46 PM
I hear you Tony,i was in the Cloth Ear once and it was packed with people trying to look pretty,and that was just the fellas. The order of the day seemed to be to sip on one bottle of beer for an hour and pout. It didnt actually feel like a pub,it was all very artificial. Why would you bother your arse getting ready to go out if you are going to get on like that on a night out. Each to their own but its not my idea of a night out. I read today that another bastion of pretence, the Potthouse, is only opening at weekends now due to falling trade.
Post by: Quagmire on February 13, 2009, 09:51:31 PM
You're right there, The Errigle has gone to the dogs, I used to love going infor a few pints and a craic, you'd always end up having a yarn with a few randomers. Now you're paying city centre prices to be squashed to the walls and have no craic!! The Pavillion is a much better bet now for a relaxed yarn over a few sups.
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2009, 10:56:40 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 13, 2009, 09:38:36 PM
I like real people.

What the hell are you doing on here then foo?
Post by: redcard on February 13, 2009, 11:04:31 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on February 13, 2009, 08:12:18 PM
Parador on the Ormeau Rd is your only man. 5 minute bus ride from City Hall and great craic in the bar every night of the week. One of the few places you'll get top watch GAA on a Sunday if there's soccer/racing on.

http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g186470-d211235-r7432165-Parador_Hotel-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html (http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g186470-d211235-r7432165-Parador_Hotel-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html)

I booked to stay at the Parador for three nights. It was cheap but clean and the staff seemed friendly. Our first night was fine though the bar directly under our room was very noisy during the day and night. On the second night we arrived back at the hotel at 1.30am( the bar shut at 1) and the place was empty. No staff, no night porter, no answer on the telephone and no key on the set we were given matched the outside door! Luckily having lived in Belfast I had friends to stay with a £30 taxi fare away. When we returned the next day to collect our things and leave the managers response was oops sorry about that! We were not offered any compensation or valid excuse. The manager even suggested we must have been back later than we said and that we must have had a key for the outside door! When we gave him the keys to check, unsuprisingly he did not return! Will not be back!!
http://www.tripadvisor.in/ShowUserReviews-g186470-d211235-r21868091-Parador_Hotel-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html#REVIEWS

Post by: Chrisowc on February 14, 2009, 12:26:16 AM
Quote from: Minder on February 13, 2009, 09:45:46 PM
I hear you Tony,i was in the Cloth Ear once and it was packed with people trying to look pretty,and that was just the fellas. The order of the day seemed to be to sip on one bottle of beer for an hour and pout. It didnt actually feel like a pub,it was all very artificial. Why would you bother your arse getting ready to go out if you are going to get on like that on a night out. Each to their own but its not my idea of a night out. I read today that another bastion of pretence, the Potthouse, is only opening at weekends now due to falling trade.

Belfast is so far up it's on hole.  Victoria Square took the biscuit.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 14, 2009, 12:31:04 PM
I'd say it's no worse than any other city of its size. It's just that 10 years ago there was nothing like the Victoria Square / Merchant etc.

Have never set foot inside the Potthouse myself, and never intend to.
Post by: Quagmire on February 14, 2009, 01:58:36 PM
Belfast is just trying to catch up with other cities as it was left so far behind when the Troubles were on, it's a vastly changed place in the last 10 years and I think it's great to see. The Merchant and Vaudeville are obviously old buildings which have been renovated and Belfast was trying to promote a new, vibrant image in the wake of the recent past. Weekend visitors from the UK rocketed and was evidenced in the amount of budget hotels going up. 
Belfast may have got up it's own hole abit but it's only for those of us who can remember it differenly, younger people who only know Belfast as it is now might think it's like any other city of it's size.

Personally I'm not a fan of these bars and the Cathedral Quarter in general, but thats just me, ye couldn't beat the Bot with a big stick in my eyes!!  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2009, 02:10:52 PM
The Bot has always been full of arseholes ;D
Post by: Quagmire on February 14, 2009, 02:12:22 PM
you'd hope so, everyone has one and it's a busy bar!  :P
Post by: under the bar on February 14, 2009, 10:24:10 PM
Ye would try the new Premier Inn  boutique hotel in the Cathedral Quarter.  I've heard that since room bookings in Belfast have hit rock bottom they will gladly haggle on the price & extras.
Post by: Declan on February 15, 2009, 03:42:38 PM
thanks for all the advice folks. Much appreciated. Looking like Ten Square/Merchant/Europa/Fitzwilliam at this stage as there are great deals available for them all. Just have to get the boss to rubberstamp the decision!!
Post by: milltown row on February 15, 2009, 04:44:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 13, 2009, 05:13:27 PM
Does anyone actually use a gym in a hotel,surely the whole idea is to get away and relax and if you were interested in keeping fit you would do that another time.

stayed in the Slieve Donard thursday and friday. used the gym one morning the round to the pool they had steam room and next that the sauna with views of Slieve Donard Mountain brilliant, after all the food we ate i had to go to the gym