GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on February 05, 2009, 08:25:59 AM

Title: Mayo v Donegal - Valentines Night Massacre or the start of new love for JOM?
Post by: Barney on February 05, 2009, 08:25:59 AM
I think we have exhausted the Derry game - we know our problems and no we won't be seeing Croke Park too often in 09.

Donegal lads - will ye have many players back for this one. I'm sure there will be a rebound from the thrashing in Kerry.

Mayo lads, what changes would you make from the last day.
Title: Re: Mayo v Donegal - Valentines Night Massacre or the start of new love for JOM?
Post by: Tubberman on February 05, 2009, 08:47:23 AM
I wouldn't make many changes in personnel - it's the tactics and enthusiasm that need to be addressed more than anything.

The only changes to the starting 15 I would make are possibly:

Full Back line:
McLoughlin in for Vaughan - Hard on Vaughan as the Derry match was his first game, but I'd like to see how McLoughlin gets on.

Half Back line:
Trevor Mort in for Pat Kelly/Gardiner - I'm not sure about this move and it's the least likely to happen, but I thought Trevor looked very good in the half backs in 07 before the injury curse struck again. And he doesn't convince me as a top forward. I'd like to see Cunniffe get another chance at CHB, but I'm not sure which of the lads on the wing should make way. Maybe Gardiner, as two attacking half backs would leave us exposed. 

Midfield:
No change

Half Forwad line:
Alan Dillon at CHF, flanked by BJP and Pat Harte (if he's available, otherwise Andy Moran)

Full Forward line:
Conor Mort in for Andy Moran

I actually made more changes that I thought I would with that team. Regardless of who lines out, the main things I'd be looking for are:
- A more consistent use of the long ball into Barry Moran (unless it is giving no rewards obviously)
- Half backs/midfield/half forwards making themselves available for clearances from the full back line
- Players to play with their heads up looking out for the best option
- The entire team showing a desire to win the match
- A win  :D
Title: Re: Mayo v Donegal - Valentines Night Massacre or the start of new love for JOM?
Post by: mannix on February 05, 2009, 11:33:50 AM
JOM will be under pressure should we lose this one, he team better get hungry in a hurry.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 05, 2009, 09:38:51 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 05, 2009, 08:47:23 AM

Half Back line:
Trevor Mort in for Pat Kelly/Gardiner - I'm not sure about this move and it's the least likely to happen, but I thought Trevor looked very good in the half backs in 07 before the injury curse struck again. And he doesn't convince me as a top forward.

Where is Trevor Mortimer's best position? Its up there with 'why do we choker in Croker' as one of the great mysteries of Mayo football! He had a great 2004 at full-forward and looked good at wing-back v Derry in 2007 but the feeling is half-forward is the place for him. Now while a lot of his performance the last day can be put down to rustiness, I don't think his future is at centre-half forward because he brings no structure to that position. We need a playmaker there in my opinion. And that's Dillon as far as the current squad goes. Trevor's style is more suited to the wing. That's one switch I would make. Leave Billy Joe unless Pat Harte is around for this game and not for a few more after that as he's meant to be in the US for some league games. If that's the case give him the start while he's round. Else put him in midfield for Parsons.
Conor for Andy inside. Leave the full-back line as is, Vaughan deserves another run out. Maybe switch Kelly with Cunniffe in the half-back line, then we've two attacking wing-backs and a guy who can hopefully hold the fort in the middle.
But selections are far from the substantive issue. There's no point going on about it too much but we need to see a bit of enthusiasm and character in our team. I won't go on any longer because I'll only depress myself
Post by: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 09:49:29 PM
Quote from: Barney on February 05, 2009, 08:25:59 AM
and no we won't be seeing Croke Park too often in 09.

If I see you in Croke park after we win in September you're getting a full hiding
Post by: moysider on February 05, 2009, 10:45:19 PM
We need structure in the half forward line. Dillon looks like he s the best option at 11 but I m not convinced. He looks glued to the ground again on the heavy pitches like he did this time last year and we probably wont see him able to cover the ground for months yet. He found it very difficult the last day to make a yard of space. As I ve said before I d like to see Parsons at 11. He s more of a player than a fetcher/grafter and neither himself or McGarrity are well versed in the darker arts at least 1 midfielder needs. Harte should start with McG if he s around. Otherwise Seamas O Sé or maybe Conroy/Kelly.

If we re playing a sweepling player like BJP the last day then it should be out of the corner forward position and leave the half forward line intact. We were shapeless the last day. Or play both wing forward s in deep roles as outlined below similar to Tyrone. I might bring in McLoughlin just to have a look at him. I d rather see a Chris Rarrett or Boyle than Kelly on wing but I would start Kelly 6 and playing 2 attacking wing backs from Gardiner, Barrett, Cuniffe or Boyle. I think they re much of a muchness. But the team needs coaching and shape. Conor will also have to learn to play with Barry Moran. If management can get him to do that they ll rise alot in my estimation.

David Clarke.

Liam O Malley.                                                            Ger. Cafferkey                                                   Kevin McLoughlin/Donal Vaughan.

Peadar Gardiner/Chris Barrett                                         Pat. Kelly                                                          Tom Cuniffe/Colm Boyle.

Ronan McGarrity                                                            Pat Harte/ Kelly/Conroy/O Sé

Trevor Mortimor( Sweeper)

Billy Joe Padden                                                                                                                                    Alan Dillon

Tom   Parsons

Conor Mortimor                                                                 Barry Moran

Of course if some of the old guard were to become available I would reconsider so I reserve the right to revise the above. Right now I would love if they went with the above.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 05, 2009, 11:16:59 PM
Parsons at centre-half forward? Hmmm interesting suggestion and there's merit in it. Can't see it happening though. That half-forward line could work but can't imagine him going for a two man inside line. He'll look for two to play off Barry Moran, Mort and Sweeney for now I'd say.

By the way Chris Barrett is back training after injury or surgery, not sure which. But he's a bit off match standard as far as I know
Post by: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 11:23:26 PM
That's a good team Moysider - I don't think we can get away with Pat kelly at CHB though
Post by: moysider on February 06, 2009, 12:19:25 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 05, 2009, 11:16:59 PM
Parsons at centre-half forward? Hmmm interesting suggestion and there's merit in it. Can't see it happening though. That half-forward line could work but can't imagine him going for a two man inside line. He'll look for two to play off Barry Moran, Mort and Sweeney for now I'd say.

By the way Chris Barrett is back training after injury or surgery, not sure which. But he's a bit off match standard as far as I know

I cant see it happening either Sniper but I d love to see it happen. Lets examine this more closely. Our prefered half forward line at the moment appears to be Trevor, Billy Joe and Alan Dillon - not necessarily in that order. All 3 players I have the great respect for. But there are problems. 2 lack pace ( and on the last days showing a bit of fitness - but that will come) and the other lacks a bit of composure and will never be a good 11. Now if you take the big 2  - Kerry and Tyrone( might as well compare ourselves to the best) and look at the pace and power likes of Galvin, O Sullivan, Dooher( maybe not the fastest but.....) and say McMahon bring to the hf line and its obvious we have some way to go. In the case of McGuigan Tyrone have one of the best 11s there has been. He s similar to Blaney, they control a game like a quarter back or a good outhalf. While O Sullivan is a different 11 he is if anything more lethal.
I dont think we can afford the luxury of 3 men inside with the personnel we have in the middle third at the moment. Besides Barry Moran would benefit from more space inside. V Derry because we played 3 forwards inside there were the 2 corner backs onto him in a shot while the corner forwards hung around with one arm as long as the other. If we could isolate Barry and Conor inside we could make hay if Conor bought into the idea. There is a problem. We d have to get support in there as well. But it s something I believe we need to work on. I believe Parsons could be a great source of scores for us in that system as would Harte if he played an attacking role ( Harte also an option for 11 - lets face it if we got the structure sorted we have adaptable personnel) Dillon, BJP and hbs would be good for a few scores as well if this team took shape. I dont think management has anything to moan about. They laid down a serious marker last year about taking this team forward. But there was no obvious improvment in the forward play of the team as a result of the purge. The last day the team was a rabble and will continue to be unless they start putting some shape on it. If I were Johnno I would be praying that Barry Moran stays fit. He s the ace in the pack and its up to him to get a system in place to get the most out of him. Anyway I m sick giving him advice.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 06, 2009, 12:47:25 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 06, 2009, 12:19:25 AM

I cant see it happening either Sniper but I d love to see it happen. Lets examine this more closely. Our prefered half forward line at the moment appears to be Trevor, Billy Joe and Alan Dillon - not necessarily in that order. All 3 players I have the great respect for. But there are problems. 2 lack pace ( and on the last days showing a bit of fitness - but that will come) and the other lacks a bit of composure and will never be a good 11. Now if you take the big 2  - Kerry and Tyrone( might as well compare ourselves to the best) and look at the pace and power likes of Galvin, O Sullivan, Dooher( maybe not the fastest but.....) and say McMahon bring to the hf line and its obvious we have some way to go. In the case of McGuigan Tyrone have one of the best 11s there has been. He s similar to Blaney, they control a game like a quarter back or a good outhalf. While O Sullivan is a different 11 he is if anything more lethal.
I dont think we can afford the luxury of 3 men inside with the personnel we have in the middle third at the moment. Besides Barry Moran would benefit from more space inside. V Derry because we played 3 forwards inside there were the 2 corner backs onto him in a shot while the corner forwards hung around with one arm as long as the other. If we could isolate Barry and Conor inside we could make hay if Conor bought into the idea. There is a problem. We d have to get support in there as well. But it s something I believe we need to work on. I believe Parsons could be a great source of scores for us in that system as would Harte if he played an attacking role ( Harte also an option for 11 - lets face it if we got the structure sorted we have adaptable personnel) Dillon, BJP and hbs would be good for a few scores as well if this team took shape. I dont think management has anything to moan about. They laid down a serious marker last year about taking this team forward. But there was no obvious improvment in the forward play of the team as a result of the purge. The last day the team was a rabble and will continue to be unless they start putting some shape on it. If I were Johnno I would be praying that Barry Moran stays fit. He s the ace in the pack and its up to him to get a system in place to get the most out of him. Anyway I m sick giving him advice.

I agree with pretty much all you're saying there moysider. Trevor aside we do have a pace problem in the half-forward line. But, and this ties in with your argument, we have a plethora of half-forwards and damn all inside men. So a formation of 4-2 would resources better than the traditional 3-3. I've said that 15 is one position we need to find someone for. Sweeney's audition has been going okay but he has a long way to go to being a championship corner-forward. Playing just Conor and Barry Moran inside and having someone like BJP, Andy Moran or whoever dropping back from 15 to augment the half-forward line would suit tactically and in terms of personnel. And yes, Barry Moran is vital!
We don't have a good forward line at the minute. But we have a good, sniping inside man in Conor, what looks like a serious full-forward in BM and two lads who can be as good half forwards as are around if used correctly - that's Trevor and Dillon. Looking at it that way, there's something to be hopeful of, if we can get the system right . . .
Post by: moysider on February 06, 2009, 12:49:25 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 11:23:26 PM
That's a good team Moysider - I don't think we can get away with Pat kelly at CHB though

Take your point about Pat Kelly. First of all must say I think he s been a bit of a scapegoat in the past but would I have him in the team if everybody was available? Well ..... As regards 6 I think our best options are Nallen(still if he wants it), Heaney, Howley and Cafferkey. Worryingly we might not see Howley again for some time and while I m convinced  Cafferkey would be a great 6 he most likely be making a fist if 3. Looking at Cuniffe last day and comparing him to Nallen 95 ... well there s no comparison. Great forward runs but does nt nail down the centre and does nt orchestrate the counter in the manner which we had become accoustomed to. But we were spoiled and did nt appreciate it. There nobody about now with the long spidery arms of Nallen to intercept, disposses and turn defence into attack. Just think if we have a hb line of Peadar, Tom C and Pat Kelly it stands up better with Cuniffe on the wing. Pat plays anchor and the other 2 given their head to attack. Cuniffe playing at 6 usually carrys up the wings anyway. May as well have him out there.
Post by: rosnarun on February 06, 2009, 01:22:16 AM
trevor will be very lucky to keep a place in the team after last sunday. i'm very much of the opinion that trevor is a full forward line player or nothing. it the only position wher he has looked top class. but that was a few years ago and he must prove he still has it and im beginning to doubt him sad to say.
Crazy talk moving parsons out of midfield i expect him to play there for years  for mayo . he is a huge talent lets not feck about with him.
we should take a look at Mcloughlin and others in ballybofey as what ever about the result it should be our easiest game of the league campaign along with westmeath .  we need to know our best team before we meet dublin kerry galway and tyrone or it could get right ugly.
I'd put omalley to full back with Mcloughlin in the corner and us cafferky as a sub to slowly introduce him to the county scene as he was a bit ovewhelmed against derry and with were lucky the fat lad was only brought on for the last few minutes or another county career could have been over
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 06, 2009, 01:38:21 AM
Ros I meant to respond to your previous post about Cafferkey as well. I think you're being extremely harsh on his performance from Sunday. He wasn't brilliant, I'm not saying that, but he did well. Eoin Bradley (a very fast forward) won about 70/30 of the ball that came their way (and that percentage was higher in the first quarter) but Cafferkey defended him very well, stood him up and ran him down cul-de-sacs. Now when you consider most good inside forwards are dangerous when they get on the ball (and Bradley is dangerous, believe me) then its a fair achievement for Cafferkey to have defended him so well. Why did Bradley win so much ball in front? Well pace is part of the reason but Cafferkey is quick too. The main reason I think was because there was loads of space for the ball to be kicked into because the half-back line was dragged all over the shop and any inside forward should be winning that type of ball. The full-back line were under siege in my opinion with the quality of ball coming in but they defended it very well.
Also it was Liam O'Malley who marked Paddy Bradley so your second point is moot.
On Trevor, I wouldn't worry too much about his performance the last day because he, more than any other Mayo player, needs a few games to get the sharpness back. Its always been an issue for him, but he'll be raring to go in a couple of games.
Post by: rosnarun on February 06, 2009, 09:38:26 PM
im just saying the guy needs to be protected . he had a woeful game last week. 70/30 is not good enough for a full back . let them have the ball and then tackle ? wasn't that what heaney tried  in 2004 . but im not writing him off by any means as he looks a very good footballer . but at no stage did i think  that i couldn't wait to see him marking Cavanagh donaghy Meehan/joyce  or even conal keaney. the guy is just not ready yet and probably won't this year no matter how much we'd like him to be.
as regards trevor there is no reason based on the last few years of evidence that he should still be a starter for mayo . he has missed far to much time and seems to be lacking the composure and sure footedness that is the minimum expected of a county player. Hard work and Grit can only get you so far.
this is the last match mayo can even do a minimum of experimenting in and they need tp get in shape for the bigger games ahead.
I would be very disappointed if cafferkey trevor, cunniffe or Clarke start in donegal as they are not on the ball at the moment
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on February 07, 2009, 12:05:01 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2009, 09:38:26 PM
im just saying the guy needs to be protected

If you're saying the guy needs to be protected then why attack him Rosnarun? I don't get that.

You can come along here and say that you want O'Malley at fullback or that the search for a fullback continues or that Kevin Cahill has never been missed. There's no need to go picking on a young lad starting out, and you don't have to compromise your always stern criticism to do it.
Post by: moysider on February 07, 2009, 01:12:22 AM
This is getting ridiculous.
Cafferkey did not have a bad game. He was marking a good fast forward who was fed good low ball. What was he supposed to do? Oh yeah, get out in front! As if Francie or Tom O Sullivan etc could. If they tried they d be yellowed after 5 mins. Would that be better? Justin McMahon was poor v Dublin. Does that mean he should nt be started next Tyrone game for his own protection? Oh he s different and so is Tom and Francie. Celtic crosses.

Mayo management need to decide who their best players are and shape the team to measure. I m not sure Caf. will ever be a good full- back but neither will anybody else if he s not played there for the long haul. He s more likely to be a success there than lads that have been tried there last 2 years. He s some experience there, he quick and has recovery and he s clever. He s not the biggest but he has reach. All I know is he ll never be a good full-back unless he s given games and time. Others were maybe given too much time when it was clear soon enough they were in trouble. For his own sake I d maybe prefer to see  Caf . elsewhere but i think he s probably our best bet at 3 now from current panel. And in his U21 years he pulled out big games against big teams and that s the type of player this county needs. Its not likely he ll learn his trade at club or elsewhere. A few games and he ll be as likely 6 or midfield with the club.

I ve said already O Malley was our best back the last day. I say leave him at 2 where he s done well and try and nail down one corner at least. We have a lot of players low on confidence in this county panel. When we get some result with a player lets give him some time to breathe. He s struggled at full on occasion in the past which set him back, so if we have to nail down one full back line position at a time so be it. Caf's man the last day was the target and O Malley did a good mopping/covering job. If roles were reversed we might well have seen different fortunes for our 2 and 3. Leave O Malley at 2 I say.

Clarke had a very good year last year. So some people want to shaft one of our most recent successes now as well. On what basis?  Conceding 1 goal? A hanging kickout into the wind? A fluffed punch when he clearly pulled it after hearing the whistle for a square ball? Ridiculous.

As for Trevor. My biggest issue with Trevor is that he does nt mind himself enough and his recklessness usually ends up with him coming off second best. He has a habit of stretching his leading leg across the running player going past him. Did it the last day. He was ripping through Galway last year before he did the same thing and he needs to learn. Fit and playing the sweeping role his game is set up for he would be a hugely important player. Just dont play him as an orthodox 11 or let him take frees.
Maybe Rosnarun could suggest who is good enough to play from the current panel instead of who is nt good enough.
And for 'good enough' you may substitute 'ready'.
Post by: stephenite on February 07, 2009, 05:34:58 AM
Ros just doesn't like to see Ballina lads playing for Mayo - this is the same man who stated that Pat Harte was not and never would be of inter county standard. Fair enough if that's your opinon, but you don't play midfield in a team that makes it to the All Ireland final, socre a goal in that All Ireland final if you're not up to inter county standard.
Post by: m@yoman on February 07, 2009, 10:48:38 AM
Barney, your title on this post makes you worthy of a red-top journalist...excellent!  :D :D

The match against Derry has been well discussed on a previous post so I won't dwell on that either.....A few players need to "get their @rse in gear" as a former manager of mine once said to us in a Minor match..there's many's a young lad round the country who would give anything to get a chance to play in their county jersey.....the passion to play for the green and red so evidenced by great players in the past seems to be missing at the moment....some players seem more concerned with boot deals, their level of fake tan/hair gel/moisturiser etc than getting on and giving it 110%....

if that is not back in abundance by Valentines night then we could be on a hiding to nothing this year...
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2009, 02:21:08 PM
Quote from: stephenite on February 07, 2009, 05:34:58 AM
Ros just doesn't like to see Ballina lads playing for Mayo - this is the same man who stated that Pat Harte was not and never would be of inter county standard. Fair enough if that's your opinon, but you don't play midfield in a team that makes it to the All Ireland final, socre a goal in that All Ireland final if you're not up to inter county standard.

Funnily enough stephenite, I also agree with rosnarun about Pat Harte not up to inter-county standard. He doesn't have the pace for it in my opinion. I also don't know why JOM replaced Sweeney with Ronaldson with another small forward Ronaldson who probably be pushed aside in big championship games by good cornerbacks. Tubberman A Moran's best position is in the full-forward line and nowhere else. If he's not good enough there he's not good enough at all. And I'm also mystified as to the lack of Donegal contributors to this thread...
Post by: RMDrive on February 07, 2009, 04:49:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2009, 02:21:08 PM
And I'm also mystified as to the lack of Donegal contributors to this thread...

We were just being polite and didn't want to interrupt yous. Either that or it was hard to get a word in edgeways  ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2009, 06:51:45 PM
Well all we do is start of threads with the name of the other county in it and we complain about everything that's wrong. We want to see a Donegal perspective too you know! ;)
Post by: moysider on February 07, 2009, 11:18:49 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2009, 02:21:08 PM

Funnily enough stephenite, I also agree with rosnarun about Pat Harte not up to inter-county standard. He doesn't have the pace for it in my opinion.

With respect Farandeelin I think you re well wide of the mark here. For a midfielder he s got more than adequate pace and is much quicker than alot of midfielders at county level and quicker than some of our regular half forwards like Dillon and BJP. And he s a better bet than speedy lads like Kilcoyne. He got a long stride and covers the ground better than lads that appear to be going fast but have short strides and work overtime to cover the ground. TJ was similar and if anything Harte is considerably faster. Look how often he gets up in support from deep positions and his role in the goal v Tyrone last year. If you dont like the cut of his jib fair enough. But to say he lacks pace for the game is only letting yourself down.
Post by: MacDanger on February 09, 2009, 12:42:11 AM
Fair enough if that's your opinon, but you don't play midfield in a team that makes it to the All Ireland final, socre a goal in that All Ireland final if you're not up to inter county standard.

You mean the goal that was served up to him on a plate by a Knockmore man??? ;)
Post by: stephenite on February 09, 2009, 12:44:52 AM
Quote from: MacDanger on February 09, 2009, 12:42:11 AM
Fair enough if that's your opinon, but you don't play midfield in a team that makes it to the All Ireland final, socre a goal in that All Ireland final if you're not up to inter county standard.

You mean the goal that was served up to him on a plate by a Knockmore man??? ;)

Post by: Goldengreen on February 09, 2009, 02:19:21 AM
so from what i hear this game will be moved from Ballybofey to Letterkenny, does anyone have more info on it, will it be on the saturday at the same time or will it now be on Sunday??
Post by: Barney on February 09, 2009, 08:28:21 AM
Quotehttp://steunans.donegal.gaa.ie/plugins/eventsdisplay.cgi?site_id=736

According to the above the match has been fixed for Letterkenny on Saturday afternoon.

Any reports from the Ballinrobe match on Saturday?
Post by: Donegal Danny on February 09, 2009, 11:35:21 AM
Yes game is on in O'Donnell Park Letterkenny on Saturday at 2.30 so hope there is plenty of Mayo supporters up for the match and stay and enjoy the famous Letterkenny nightlife. Heard some Mayo players weren't happy with JOM asking them to leave Higgin's weding on Saturday to go and play Cavan. As regards the game i think Donegal will be stronger than against Kerry with Cassidy and Mc Fadden back from injury. Not sure about some of the new Mayo lads but i would take Pat Harte for midfield any day over Donegals pairing in Kerry. If you want to see 2 slow Midfielders then look  at a video of the Kerry game and see Boyle and Gallagher.
Post by: moysider on February 09, 2009, 04:20:38 PM
Quote from: Barney on February 09, 2009, 08:28:21 AM
Quotehttp://steunans.donegal.gaa.ie/plugins/eventsdisplay.cgi?site_id=736

According to the above the match has been fixed for Letterkenny on Saturday afternoon.

Curses. I was looking forward to seeing the match on Setanta, now this. I m pretty sickened to say the least. If the game was in Ballyshannon I d be tempted to go but Leterkenny.........
Post by: Tubberman on February 10, 2009, 10:48:46 AM
Moysider, as far as I know Setanta will still be showing deferred coverage of the Donegal match on Sat night.

The Mayo News have some updates on player availability for Saturday. There are quite a few players that could miss out, depending on injury, illness and games scheduled for later this week

O'Mahony won't know until later in the week which Mayo forwards will be available for the game, with doubts over a number of players. Alan Dillon suffered a groin injury in training last week, and sat out last Saturday's challenge match against Cavan, while Andy Moran also missed the game with a knee injury. O'Mahony is 'hopeful' they will have recovered in time for next Saturday's game, but told The Mayo News last night (Monday) that he and his management team 'won't know until later in the week' whether they'll be available.
The Mayo boss will also be waiting on news of Austin O'Malley, who suffered a bad 'flu' which kept away from both work and training all last week. Aidan O'Shea is unlikely to be available for the trip to Donegal, as he will be playing for St Gerald's College on Friday night. A number of other players – including Ger Cafferkey, Kieran Conroy and Mark Ronaldson – are due to feature in Sigerson Cup action this week.
Regarding Cavan's visit to Ballinrobe last Saturday, O'Mahony noted that the game represented Chris Barrett's 'first involvement with us for nearly a year', and that Mickey Mullins, Seamus O'Shea, James Gill and Barry Kelly also got game time. With Mayo and Donegal both having lost their first league matches, next weekend's fixture takes on particular significance.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 10, 2009, 10:59:01 AM
see in the western people today that anthony hennigan was giving out about the negative comments following the Derry Game on various message boards . Ok so which one of ye it Anthony   ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2009, 12:40:13 PM
Curses that they've changed the feckin game. Prob won't get off work. And apparently Setanta may not be playing it as delayed coverage now either. Shoddy organisation
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 10, 2009, 01:57:48 PM
Looking like the match is still going ahead on Sat?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 10, 2009, 06:35:05 PM
I thought the Tipperary v Cork hurling match was going to be shown on Setanta. Sure we all have mid-west anyway! ;)
Post by: Barney on February 10, 2009, 09:23:02 PM
Nothing too inspiring in the Mayo News reports on the Cavan game.

We're going nowhere fast with the likes of Mullins, Colm Cafferkey or Mark Ronaldson. Our squad is looking alarming thin.

2009 looks like topping 07 and 08.
Post by: rosnarun on February 10, 2009, 11:14:17 PM
my idea of protecting young players has nothing to do with comments on a message board. its more to do with him not getting humiliated in front of a large crowd being taken off and never being seen again.
as for a bias against ballina it more to do with the crazy talk you here every year after some one new wins a county title . every no mark on the team is touted as being an intercounty saviour despite all the evidence to the contrary. remeber the all too predictable devenny and Haran fiascos
i was not shouting for half the cross team to be promoted when they won and lost the club finals. and would have objected as loudly as anyone had Micheal moyles or liam moffat become mayo regulars. . if a player is good enough he will be spotted no matter what club he plays for. be it kilmaine or (this year ) ballaghadereen else a manager is not doing his basic job.
Post by: moysider on February 11, 2009, 12:52:01 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 10, 2009, 11:14:17 PM
my idea of protecting young players has nothing to do with comments on a message board. its more to do with him not getting humiliated in front of a large crowd being taken off and never being seen again.

One way of making sure a player is not humiliated is not to play him - ever. As long as a young lad is not played injured or out of position what s the problem? Well I can tell you a lot of the problem. Our younger players are coming into a team without leadership and shape. As anybody saw the Derry match will appreciate, we re all over the place. Thats what makes the process of introducing new players difficult. No organisation, no spine or shape to the team.  Most county teams get maybe 8 serious games a year - league and championship. The ratio of training/challenge games/ meaningless FBD fare/ trials to the few serious games is ridiculous. The amount of money spent on this each year is a scandal but that s another debate. But how is management supposed to blood new players. It s the rock I fear this management may perish on. They fed the media and some gullible fans the rebuilding story. But it s not possible to rebuild in county football. Successful counties(Tyrone/Kerry) have a successful template and a core of hardened regulars from year to year, and they replace natural wastage by the best available newcomers while sticking to the successful blueprint as best they can. In Tyrone Dooher will be wheeled out for as long as there fuel in the tank and a some thread left. I m not sure what Johnno really believed he would achieve with his 3/5 year plan. Only he can say - if he ever says. But there is no precedent for what he did being a success.
Post by: moysider on February 11, 2009, 01:41:11 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 10, 2009, 10:59:01 AM
see in the western people today that anthony hennigan was giving out about the negative comments following the Derry Game on various message boards . Ok so which one of ye it Anthony   ;)

What s he on about? Read his piece.

Now on the surface this is meaningless Sh***. Fills a few inches. He probably needs to defend the efforts of a guy he used to share airtime with and I appreciate loyalty and all that. But then he starts on about confidence and quotes outgoing Connacht Council President Lauri Quinn, from Sligo, saying about Mayo teams playing with confidence and expecting to win every match they played. For a bissful  moment I thought I been stuck in another unfortunate Mayo on a different planet altogether but now I where it was all happening - a vibrant and successsful Mayo footballing county.  Of course Lauri was just being nice as you are when you re giving a farewell speak.
 But  Hennigan needs to realise that if a lot of Mayo people are coughing and sneezing there s a flu around. If a lot of Mayo football people are grumpy then things are not looking good and have been crap for a few years, there s some justification for it. 2/3 years is a fair whack out of anybody s life and if you factor in likely recovery time - ah f**k it  I m depressed enough. Whatever happy pills this guy has he needs to share them. Lecturing us about being upbeat in the current economic and Mayo football climate is nothing short of ill-judged to say the least.
However, the most serious thing about his little piece is this. This is the paper who se editor used his editorial to ridicule Maughan in 05 - a year after getting to an AI final. Has Laffey had a go last 2 years... er, no actually. Hennigan might need to check with his fellow columnists before going after these messengers. James Horan s column in the ' Western'' this week was as pessimistic as anything on the message boards. Hennigan needs to wise up. Do his job. He s not paid to be a cheerleader or minder. He s not paid to be confident or optimistic. He s a hack and should call it as it is.
Post by: Barney on February 11, 2009, 08:24:41 AM
Sad and all as it may seem I actually had a sleepless night because of Mayo football (a not too infrequent occurence).

This is from Mike Finnerty's report on the Mayo/Cavan game:

QuoteTHOSE who travelled to Ballinrobe last Saturday night expecting to see signs of a dramatic improvement in the form of the Mayo senior footballers would have left with mixed emotions.
Missing only a handful of regulars, Mayo struggled to put Cavan away in this annual floodlit fixture and some of the unforced errors and general lethargy was as alarming as it was surprising.

The comments here on the Board have been extremely negative and the likes of Anthony Hennigan and posters from other counties are bemused by the fact that we are dissatisfied with our fortunes and the job which our manager is doing. The above quote summarises exactly how many of us feel.

This Saturday is a MASSIVE game for this Mayo team and the Management. A defeat will mean relelgation from Division 1, and a depressing run-in to another hapless championship. A lack of bite, of improvement in the team could in effect signal the death knell for the management. Probably not until season end but barring a suprisingly good Summer, sometime around late July/early August.

On the other hand a convincing performance of passion and endeavour will appease some of us in that at least we might see the management and players are at one on thsi and there is not a case of a breakdown in the relationship.

All the signs are that it will be more of the same on Saturday - inconsistent team selection, lack of game plan, lack of passion etc etc etc. I'll travel more in hope than confidence.

On the overall scale rather than moving Mayo football to the next step JOM has brought us back to 1993. I think we have yet to hit rock bottom, but that will come. We are probably at last 4/5 years away from putting in a serious and credible challenge for an All Ireland. Connacht Championships may be won, but the commitment of players, the tactical ingenuity of management and the overall dedication of all to the ultimate aim. Noel Connelly (with Peter Forde in my opinion) is the only man to lead that charge but as I haev said before players need to look at themselves also.

But all those bright hopes are quickly dimmed by the realisation that the County Board must be in a hell of a financial mess when you consider that the fundraising from the 04 and 06 All Irelands doesn't appear to have any impact and with a new stadium (whose capicity will more than likely never be tested) to pay for.

It all makes the Recession seem positive.

And I think the only two on here that will definitely not be uncloaked as Anthony Hennigan are ros and myself!!
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on February 11, 2009, 10:07:21 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 11, 2009, 01:41:11 AM

This is the paper who se editor used his editorial to ridicule Maughan in 05 - a year after getting to an AI final. Has Laffey had a go last 2 years... er, no actually. Hennigan might need to check with his fellow columnists before going after these messengers. James Horan s column in the ' Western'' this week was as pessimistic as anything on the message boards. Hennigan needs to wise up. Do his job. He s not paid to be a cheerleader or minder. He s not paid to be confident or optimistic. He s a hack and should call it as it is.

Well said Moysider! I had forgotten about that. That was a vicious attack from Laffey that time, and he's been quiet as a church mouse since. They were just tough enough to kick a man when he was down.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 11, 2009, 10:32:37 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on February 11, 2009, 10:07:21 AM
Quote from: moysider on February 11, 2009, 01:41:11 AM

This is the paper who se editor used his editorial to ridicule Maughan in 05 - a year after getting to an AI final. Has Laffey had a go last 2 years... er, no actually. Hennigan might need to check with his fellow columnists before going after these messengers. James Horan s column in the ' Western'' this week was as pessimistic as anything on the message boards. Hennigan needs to wise up. Do his job. He s not paid to be a cheerleader or minder. He s not paid to be confident or optimistic. He s a hack and should call it as it is.

Well said Moysider! I had forgotten about that. That was a vicious attack from Laffey that time, and he's been quiet as a church mouse since. They were just tough enough to kick a man when he was down.

He also had quite a cut at Mc d after his inteview with the independent. He (LAFFEY) definately didn't believe Mc D's side of the story . It seems he is more interested these days in Benitz (spl) treatment of Robbie Keane  ::)
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 11, 2009, 11:34:51 AM
this is taken from the Hogan stand.  i could be wrong but is Letterkenny only 20 minutes from Ballybofey. I think its this sort of thing that is annoying supporters o'mhony is alway complaining about something. The match is fixed in Letterkenny its still been played on a pitch so just get on with it  >:( 

Venue change not to O'Mahony's liking

Mayo manager John O'Mahony has expressed his unhappiness at the change of time and venue for Saturday's National Football League clash with Donegal.

The Division 1 tie was originally fixed for Ballybofey at 7.30pm on Saturday, but will now take place in Letterkenny at 2.30pm, much to the disappointment of O'Mahony who would have preferred a more southerly venue and a Sunday setting.

"We were delighted when we heard (initially) it was going to be in Ballybofey, because obviously, it would have cut our journey time hugely," he said.

"The fact that it's not under lights isn't of huge relevance, really, but we would have preferred a shorter journey, especially for supporters.

"Also, some people may not be in a position to travel on a Saturday, and in our case, people will have to be travelling very early. So it does inconvenience us to a certain extent, but we just have to go with the flow."

O'Mahony won't name his team until later in the week as he awaits fitness reports on forwards Alan Dillon (groin) and Andy Moran (knee).

Post by: RMDrive on February 11, 2009, 12:08:00 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 11, 2009, 11:34:51 AM
this is taken from the Hogan stand.  i could be wrong but is Letterkenny only 20 minutes from Ballybofey. I think its this sort of thing that is annoying supporters o'mhony is alway complaining about something. The match is fixed in Letterkenny its still been played on a pitch so just get on with it  >:( 

Venue change not to O'Mahony's liking

Mayo manager John O'Mahony has expressed his unhappiness at the change of time and venue for Saturday's National Football League clash with Donegal.

The Division 1 tie was originally fixed for Ballybofey at 7.30pm on Saturday, but will now take place in Letterkenny at 2.30pm, much to the disappointment of O'Mahony who would have preferred a more southerly venue and a Sunday setting.

"We were delighted when we heard (initially) it was going to be in Ballybofey, because obviously, it would have cut our journey time hugely," he said.

"The fact that it's not under lights isn't of huge relevance, really, but we would have preferred a shorter journey, especially for supporters.

"Also, some people may not be in a position to travel on a Saturday , and in our case, people will have to be travelling very early. So it does inconvenience us to a certain extent, but we just have to go with the flow."

O'Mahony won't name his team until later in the week as he awaits fitness reports on forwards Alan Dillon (groin) and Andy Moran (knee).

You are not wrong. It's only 20 min from Ballybofey to Letterkenny.
As for people not being available on a Sat, well that works for Donegal supporters as well.

I think the whole location thing has taken away from what should be a good match. The last few times the teams have met the games have been decent and there has been very little between them at the end.
Post by: RMDrive on February 11, 2009, 12:13:44 PM
After their comprehensive defeat to Kerry last time out, Donegal manager John Joe Doherty has made five changes to his side for Sunday's NFL Division 1 clash with Mayo.

Michael Boyle returns in goals while the full back line is re-enforced with Declan Walsh and Neil McGee drafted in.

Ciaran Bonner will partner Neil Gallagher in midfield with Michael Doherty and Michael Murphy the two newcomers in attack.

Donegal (NFL v Mayo) - Michael Boyle, Declan Walsh, Neil McGee, Paddy McDaid, Frank McGlynn, Barry Monaghan, Eamon McGee, Neil Gallagher, Ciaran Bonner, Rory Kavanagh, Conall Dunne, David Walsh, Michael Doherty, Stephen Griffin, Michael Murphy.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Donegal/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=106846

Great to see Murphy back in the line-up. Still worried about our back lines though; not just from a defensive point of view but also about their inability to get quick ball into the forwards. If we fart around agin like we did against Kerry then we'll be in big trouble.
Post by: muppet on February 11, 2009, 12:47:29 PM
Barney sorry to see the recession is getting to you.

I'm sure some here will remember your 2004 epic: 'Blueprint to respectability'.
While it was a worthwhile production it wasn't called: 'Blueprint to 2 AI Finals in 3 years'.

On that basis I have to put you down as a glass half empty man. I'm a glass half full man meself.  ;D

BTW the next time we play Donegal at home we should play them in Blacksod. Of course it will be a long time before we are in the same division as them so we don't have to worry, isn't that right Barney?
Post by: Barney on February 11, 2009, 02:08:25 PM
Muppet I may be a doom and gloom merchant but would am prepared to open myself to positive thinking.

From what you have seen of Mayo this year and the previous two years list five positives that show we are moving forward.

Yes, the Blueprint thread may look stupid in light of getting to two Finals but we were thrashed in those and probably were not the second best team in the country. Many of the same problems remain - I'd love to have a read through that thread but can't find it.
Post by: muppet on February 11, 2009, 04:30:46 PM
Quote from: Barney on February 11, 2009, 02:08:25 PM
Muppet I may be a doom and gloom merchant but would am prepared to open myself to positive thinking.

From what you have seen of Mayo this year and the previous two years list five positives that show we are moving forward.

Yes, the Blueprint thread may look stupid in light of getting to two Finals but we were thrashed in those and probably were not the second best team in the country. Many of the same problems remain - I'd love to have a read through that thread but can't find it.

I think that was on the old board.

Barney the only year IMHO that we got to a final that wasn't out of the blue was 1997. 89, 96, 04 & 06 were out of the blue. You are looking for signs after one game in February that we will have a good year. I just don't thinks it works like that even if you are Kerry.

As for positives it looks as if Barry Moran might get an extended run in a problem position for us and Ger Cafferkey likewise. Tom Cunniffe is maturing and Liam O'Malley has regained some form. That's not 5 but maybe later in the year a forward or two will emerge from our recent underage teams, Campbell maybe?

Mildly promising rather than anything to get excited about but I'll cast judgement later in the year, not february. 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 11, 2009, 05:22:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 11, 2009, 04:30:46 PM
Quote from: Barney on February 11, 2009, 02:08:25 PM

I think that was on the old board.

Barney the only year IMHO that we got to a final that wasn't out of the blue was 1997. 89, 96, 04 & 06 were out of the blue. You are looking for signs after one game in February that we will have a good year. I just don't thinks it works like that even if you are Kerry.

As for positives it looks as if Barry Moran might get an extended run in a problem position for us and Ger Cafferkey likewise. Tom Cunniffe is maturing and Liam O'Malley has regained some form. That's not 5 but maybe later in the year a forward or two will emerge from our recent underage teams, Campbell maybe?

Mildly promising rather than anything to get excited about but I'll cast judgement later in the year, not february. 

I think the problem Muppet is that the Derry game can't be viewed in isolation, that its more of the same from last year. Hopefully things will pick up, I'd be patient but it is fair to say that the signs aren't good on that showing in Ballina.

On young lads coming through Campbell isn't in the squad and I don't think he's cut out for the level either. Chris Barrett will be a great player when he's back fully match fit but we've no problem with wing-backs! That's why I'd be worried he'll ask a lot of some of the minors from last year, Aidan O'Shea in particular.
Post by: rosnarun on February 12, 2009, 12:27:19 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 11, 2009, 05:22:16 PM
On young lads coming through Campbell isn't in the squad and I don't think he's cut out for the level either. Chris Barrett will be a great player when he's back fully match fit but we've no problem with wing-backs! That's why I'd be worried he'll ask a lot of some of the minors from last year, Aidan O'Shea in particular.

sad to hear campbell is out of the squad. as he was by far the best player in the u21's last year. and against kerry was probably best player on the pitch when he came on .  wonder is it a clash with jom as i believe he can be head strong/
bit much to ask too much of a shea this year . hes still in leaving cert . a few cameo appearances maybe . he looked shell shocked in ballina. but its important to keep him involved and keep him in condition as it looks like he going to have a battle with fitness. which is tough on a guy so young.
i would not be nearly as pessimistic as most on here all mayo are missing for the last while is a spark a little leadership. man for man they are a match for any in the country and since the derry debacle have held their own against who ever they met. the number of narrow defeats is a pain in the bollix. but its shows we are well at the races. .its no use slaggiing the manager at this stage  so lets just hope that spark comes from within the squad.
Post by: moysider on February 12, 2009, 02:15:11 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 12, 2009, 12:27:19 AM

sad to hear campbell is out of the squad. as he was by far the best player in the u21's last year. and against kerry was probably best player on the pitch when he came on .  wonder is it a clash with jom as i believe he can be head strong/
bit much to ask too much of a shea this year . hes still in leaving cert . a few cameo appearances maybe . he looked shell shocked in ballina. but its important to keep him involved and keep him in condition as it looks like he going to have a battle with fitness. which is tough on a guy so young.
i would not be nearly as pessimistic as most on here all mayo are missing for the last while is a spark a little leadership. man for man they are a match for any in the country and since the derry debacle have held their own against who ever they met. the number of narrow defeats is a pain in the bollix. but its shows we are well at the races. .its no use slaggiing the manager at this stage  so lets just hope that spark comes from within the squad.

Johnno has got no slagging. Some criticism maybe but nothing in the mainstream press, where most people get their fix from. If this ends badly for Johnno he s well insulated in the greater media. Likes of O Rourke and McGee will take a delight in presenting it as an inadequate football county letting a great manager down. 'Only his heart made him take the job in the first place' Blah, blah, blah. Mayo football will be the only loser.Some of us realised this 3 years ago. Johnno s record is beyond reproach( mostly with other counties unfortunately) and thats the way it should be too. He did nt appoint himself on this mission. He answered a call.

That the spark will come from the squad is unlikely. There may be some glowing embers there, but sparks would be pushing it a bit. Too many lads are struggling to hold down places to offer leadership or confidence going forward even though it comes natural to them - Harte and BJP. Others are either struggling with form or  have difficulty keeping their own game in shape - Dillon, 2 Morts, Andy, Ronan. Hardly a defender v Derry  is sure of his place and our most established defender wont be around until a few weeks before the championship. Our leaders of recent times have either retired, been stood down or considering their futures. I m talking about Brady, Nallen, Mac, Heaney and Aidan H.

If ever a team needed management , organisation and coaching this is it. This was a management that was put in place to ideally bring us further than a beating in an AI final. No. Sorry thats not right. They were put in place so that if we ever got to a final again we would win, or at least not be dis graced. Or maybe even better, not get near a final, unless we were good enough. That way we would nt be disgraced. Nobody would notice how bad we are. And I must say the plan is working cunningly.

Ros you of all people to throw the burden of responsibility back on the players surprises and disappoints me. This is a management that prefers an authorative approach. Yet you are hoping players( who must not be filled with the joys of spring after last 2 summers and facing a similar end-game) will assume ownership of this situation. How many of the players know if and where they ll play?
Post by: hoopster on February 12, 2009, 08:37:23 AM
Cud yas tell me is a guy cormac healey on the mayo panel hes an old friend i havent herd of him in years
Post by: Barney on February 12, 2009, 08:39:24 AM
Muppet, I'm not predicting our fate based on one February day out but rather than on 3 years of ineptitude.

As for the "positives" - I'd see the issues raised as "hopes" - none are examples of achievments, or problems solved. I wouldn't actually agree with all of them either. Barry Moran and Ger Cafferkey certainly look like they could nail down their positions. Campbell isn't on the ball, and if Liam O'Malley is the saviour of the backs then we are in real bother - he has never put in a convincing championship performance.

And everything looks rosey in Ros so we could have a tough campaign in Connacht:

(http://images.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/fwbinnew/preview.dll?)
Post by: AbbeySider on February 12, 2009, 11:48:21 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 12, 2009, 12:27:19 AM

Am I missing something?
I heard JOM gave Campbell his cards way before Christmas, in fact I think it was a far back as October.
He was one of the first to be called and told his services wont be required.

Just what the lad needed to hear heading into a new college year.  ::)
I dont think JOM looked kindly on the rumours and alleged frolics while he was in college in Galway.

Another sign of poor man management ?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 12, 2009, 02:52:25 PM
More than likely Abbeysider. Not going to reopen Mc case again, but a manager must be able to manage squads in a collective approach as well as the different players individually. Maybe JOM is lacking the ability to man-manage. I rated Campbell highly as a youngster. Has anybody heard if Heaney will be back?
Post by: rosnarun on February 12, 2009, 05:51:04 PM
only reason im putting the burden of responsibility back on the players is thats where it must lie.
Fact is JOM is mayo manager for the year and its pointless slagging him off for everything so we must look for solutions elsewhere . our only hope is some of the younger team grow into a role of re  leadership as it is not going to come from outside the players . not from the CB not from the manager of his hench men.
Post by: Rossfan on February 12, 2009, 09:03:03 PM
Slagging aside there seems to be an air of negativity in Mayo these days.
Is it a case of a lot of people expecting O'M to arrive and suddenly trophies would start pouring in but now that it hasnt happened it doom and gloom?
As for things being rosey in Ros..well we've got back a bit of  our old spirit and pride in the jersey  plus a bit of organisation but we're not in Division 3 for nothing .
Post by: rosnarun on February 12, 2009, 10:25:40 PM
thats a fair point a lot of mayo folk would be happier if the team was down in div 3 beating the like of tipp and longford every week or even god help them at the moment offaly
Post by: moysider on February 13, 2009, 12:07:44 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 12, 2009, 05:51:04 PM
only reason im putting the burden of responsibility back on the players is thats where it must lie.
Fact is JOM is mayo manager for the year and its pointless slagging him off for everything so we must look for solutions elsewhere . our only hope is some of the younger team grow into a role of re  leadership as it is not going to come from outside the players . not from the CB not from the manager of his hench men.

If that s the case Ros ( and I agree it may well be then we re well and truly bunched)  Many of these lads have enough on their plates with their own game never mind inspiring others. Where s the leadership going to come from? There s no way that these players are going to assume ownership of this set - up. Part of the formula that made Johnno a successful manager is his attention to detail and his control of minutae. His would not be a regime that would encourage players to take ownership of their destiny. He s always liked to run a steady camp with no surprises. The ' march to the hill' would never have happened on his brief. There s a lot to be said for his ways as well. When a team is going well it s great, everybody retains their focus. Significantly he has done his best work taking teams with leaders in place. The Mayo U21 winners was full of leaders. Leitrim had the Quinns and Darcy and others to lead on the pitch. Galway had the DePaors, Walsh, Fahy, Mannion and a battalion of younger guns confident of their ability and destiny. We re not in that ball park.

The Campbell thing is another troubling issue. It s depressing that we ve apparently lost one of the best underage players I ve seen in this county in last several years. I would put him in the A group with Parsons, Hanley and O Shea. I still believe last years U21 situation could have been handled differently. I dont know anything about the relationship between this player and the senior management so it would be unfair to criticise management for Campbell being no longer around. However I will say this. The easy option is to get shut of players with 'issues'. Michael Conroy and Campbell are 2 of the best forwards we ve produced last 10 years. Both 'has- beens' in early 20s. We re not the only county that have some of our better players that are no Mary Poppins. There are multiple AI winners in Ty. and Ky. that needed a considered approach. And of course I remember Brogan 20 yrs ago being dealth with in a similar way - dismissed( not suggesting that the lads I mentioned earlier have the same issue that Padraig had). Brogan was cut loose at a time when he needed Mayo football and Mayo football needed him. If, if, if Brogan was right in 88 and 89 and Ger Geraghty was still in the country we could have done something special. But I m still bitter about those 2 lads. One would have stayed if someone got him a decent job. The other lad needed support and nurturing but it was more expedient not to have him around.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 13, 2009, 09:28:56 AM
One change to Mayo team - Conor Mort in for Mikie Sweeney
Post by: INDIANA on February 13, 2009, 09:42:42 AM
Whats your opinion on ronaldson lads. Saw him for UCD yesterday. Very impressive. I know its winter football but even still he knows where the posts are.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 13, 2009, 09:50:29 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 13, 2009, 09:42:42 AM
Whats your opinion on ronaldson lads. Saw him for UCD yesterday. Very impressive. I know its winter football but even still he knows where the posts are.

He is not really getting much of a chance with mayo Indiana came on against Derry with about 5 minutes left . As you said he knows where the posts are and he is a very usefull forward especially at club level i don't know has he the strength to be a top intercounty forward . I don't think he has started too many games for Mayo so in fairness he hasn't got much of a chance.
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:23:45 PM
Mayo team lines out as selected. Kevin McLoughin not fit to take his place on the bench. Austin O'Malley is among the subs though.
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:30:53 PM
Donegal 1-1 Mayo 0-0 after 90 secs.
Stephen Griffin with the point from a free, and Michael Murphy with the goal after he skinned Liam O'Malley
Post by: J70 on February 14, 2009, 02:31:53 PM
Promising return for young Murphy!
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:38:13 PM
Donegal 1-1 Mayo 0-2
Conor Mortimer with 2 frees for Mayo. Mayo seeing much more of the ball now
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:41:11 PM
Donal Vaughan sends in a long ball to Barry Moran who sets up Conor Mortimer for another point after 11 mins.

Donegal 1-1 Mayo 0-3 
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:42:23 PM
Donegal 2-1 Mayo 0-3
Murphy again!  :o
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 02:43:14 PM
Me doing all the scores on the latest scores thread tubberman!!! :D
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:46:03 PM
You can save me typing so!  :D
Murphy is crucifying Liam O'Malley.... 2-2 to 3 pts
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 02:51:47 PM
2-3 to 0-5. Donal Vaughan seems to be having a much better game from the half back line. Involved in a lot of attacks and had a goal chance.
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:00:16 PM
Alan Dillon gone off injured. Coming up to half time, Donegal 2-5 Mayo 0-5
Post by: corn02 on February 14, 2009, 03:01:03 PM
Could this be the year Murphy makes his mark? What age would he be now, 19?
Post by: J70 on February 14, 2009, 03:03:26 PM
Quote from: corn02 on February 14, 2009, 03:01:03 PM
Could this be the year Murphy makes his mark? What age would he be now, 19?

He's about 19. From a Donegal point of view, he's already made his mark, but is probably less highly rated elsewhere because we are so shite!
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:07:36 PM
Mayo 9 points down at half time. This is very bad  :'(
Donegal sound very good, but Mayo are showing the same faults again - no aggression, no confidence, as Billy Fitz has just said "they look dead". "They're obsessed with playing short ball out of defence". One point from play in the first half for Mayo.

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 03:08:06 PM
It looks like the Valentine's Day Massacre for JOM. Honest to goodness, unless we can produce some kind of miraculous comeback O'Mahony should go. Where the hell is the leadership.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on February 14, 2009, 03:17:01 PM
Who's on for Dillon?
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:21:53 PM
Pat Kelly off at half time, Andy Moran in half back line and Vaughan gone into corner.
Donegal just had a goal disallowed for square ball, but they were walking it in. This is a disaster  >:(
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:23:28 PM
Pat Harte in for BJP. BJP is the fall guy again despite being the only Mayo man that scored from play  ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 03:26:32 PM
Parsons gone now and he doesn't look happy either >:(
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:26:41 PM
Marc Ronaldson in for Tom Parsons. Harte gone to midfield, Ronaldon in half forwards.
Conor Mort has a goal chance saved
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:29:00 PM
Parsons off now, Ronaldson into half-forward and Harte to midfield.

Both Parsons and Padden have been described as very unhappy to be taken off by mid west. Doesn't sound like a happy camp at all.

Donegal sound like they're having a blinder but Mayo sound so devoid of effort and character

Donal Vaughan sounded like he was having a blinder at wing-back in first half and then JOM puts him in the corner for second half.

Murphy is class too by the way. He's only in his second year out of minor and he'll be a serious player for years
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:31:51 PM
Goal for Mayo - Barry Moran 2-9 to 1-7
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2009, 03:33:07 PM
Even last year Murphy was showing touches of class. Raging as I thought about him in my fantasy team but didn't think Donegal'd be much use.
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:33:14 PM
Goal from Barry Moran. Long ball from Tom Cunniffe to Barry Moran, went through Conor Mort and Ronaldson and back to Moran to finish.
Billy Fitz said Ronaldson has made a huge difference. And a great point from Mikey Sweeney.
Donegal 2-9 Mayo 1-8. 20 mins left
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:34:28 PM
Good to hear Harte, Sweeney and Ronaldson are making an impact

Trevor Mort off the bar and over, only a goal in it. 2-9 to 0-9
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:38:05 PM
Donegal 2-10 Mayo 1-9
McGarrity gone with a yellow card. Was the main man of the comeback. Kieran Conroy warming up.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:40:28 PM
Clarke fucks up, no penalty then, close shave
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:44:27 PM
Colm McFadden on for Michael Murphy who's gone off injured.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:47:23 PM
Barry Moran point, 2-10 to 1-10 with five and a half to go
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:48:37 PM
Conor Mort free, 2-10 to 1-11, come on!
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 03:48:59 PM
Donegal 2-10 Mayo 1-11
Barry Moran won a long ball, turned and put it over. Simple but effective. That's what they need to keep doing.
Conor Mort won a dubvious free and put it over. 2 in it!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:54:45 PM
Conor Mort point, one in it, 2-10 to 1-12, last min of injury time, come on!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:56:12 PM
Kieran Conroy equaliser, come on!!!!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:57:27 PM
We wanted character, we wanted attitude, we got it!

Back from nine points down to draw! 2-10 to 1-13, Kieran Conroy gets the equaliser with last kick of the game. Donegal sickened.

That's what we need
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2009, 03:58:15 PM
Aw right, I was right about Donegal.
Post by: Tubberman on February 14, 2009, 04:01:35 PM
Well if that doesn't kick start Mayo nothing will!!  :D  ;D
What a comeback. 9 points down and at half time I don't think I was ever as despondent about a league match. But fair fcks to the Mayo players, and the subs who made a massive impact.
A great point to win. I'm off for a pint to watch the rugby and find someone to talk about the match to....  
I don't envy anyone trying to analyse that  :D
Post by: bigpaul on February 14, 2009, 04:04:16 PM
Ballix, backed Mayo to win that, looks like I was right about Donegal too ONeill, no better off though!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 04:06:08 PM
Was half thinking of driving up this morning.

At nine points down I was delighted I didn't.

Now I'm cursing myself!

Great character, exacrtly what we need at this stage.

Harte made the difference according to Martin McHugh. Why Barry Kelly came on before him I don't know.

Andy Moran moving back to wing-back seems to have helped. Donal Vaughan excellent. McGarrity led the comeback according to mid west, prior to yellow card.

A lot of mention of Trevor Mort, Barry Moran, Conor Mort, Ronaldson and Sweeney too. Subs made a big impact, JOM will get a lot of credit for that!
Post by: INDIANA on February 14, 2009, 04:06:45 PM
Gotta love Mayo fans . O mahoney sacked 15 mins ago, now all is forgiven. Love the enthusiasm lads. ;D
By the way I tipped Ronaldson during the week. ;D ;D
Sounds like a cracker of a game.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 04:09:41 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 14, 2009, 04:06:45 PM
Gotta love Mayo fans . O mahoney sacked 15 mins ago, now all is forgiven. Love the enthusiasm lads. ;D
By the way I tipped Ronaldson during the week. ;D ;D
Sounds like a cracker of a game.

I wouldn't quite say all is forgiven, a lot of work to be done yet! Donegal have a lot to answer for too I'd say, we can't forget that.

Ronaldson is well worth a look. Harte after getting the man of the match on Mid West Radio
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 04:11:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 03:08:06 PM
It looks like the Valentine's Day Massacre for JOM. Honest to goodness, unless we can produce some kind of miraculous comeback O'Mahony should go. Where the hell is the leadership.

:D New love for JOM so?
Post by: J70 on February 14, 2009, 04:26:06 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:57:27 PM

Back from nine points down to draw! 2-10 to 1-13, Kieran Conroy gets the equaliser with last kick of the game. Donegal sickened.

That's what we need

Sickened to throw away the nine point lead, but in the larger scheme I think we're probably going down this year anyway, so I'm not overly bothered about the point. More concerned that Murphy stays fit in the long run actually.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 07:11:42 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 04:11:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 03:08:06 PM

:D New love for JOM so?

Sure why not? :D I'll let those of us posters who travelled to the match analyse it properly!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 08:50:59 PM
Aye, looking forward to hearing the views of those who made the trip. And a few angry thoughts were crossing my mind when it looked like we were capitulating.

Judging by the lack of comments from a lot of our regulars a few of them must have made the effort to get to Letterkenny
Post by: moysider on February 14, 2009, 11:23:23 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 08:50:59 PM
Aye, looking forward to hearing the views of those who made the trip. And a few angry thoughts were crossing my mind when it looked like we were capitulating.

Judging by the lack of comments from a lot of our regulars a few of them must have made the effort to get to Letterkenny

Did nt make it either. Was at that match in Ballinrobe last night and when I got back a bit of pinting was done. 1 o clock before I surfaced I m afraid. Herself was gone to work by then and I was left minding the cubs.

Of course hard to imagine what s happening listening to the radio. It s either a feast or a famine. It seemed like our much maligned full back line was taking the flak again but evidently there were more more problems. Only one back subbed it appears, but further up the field nothing short of a cull appeared to take place. management will again take credit for taking remedial action and that s fine by me at this stage. Máirtín Beag said that it was a better team that finished the game than started ( echoes of last years Connacht final). The worrying thing is that there were obvious problems in the Derry game that were not addressed. BJP obviously not up to speed at the moment. Why I dont know, management should. Dillon( according to radio, may have been injured) could nt get a yard of space in Ballina. Clearly not in form. At this time last year as well he looked well off the pace so I would nt be worried. Anyway we dont know what injuries individuals are carrying or how they re coping with training etc. However management should nt be picking players off-colour. A player who played well v Derry when introduced was Pat Harte. Not started today he won MOM off the bench. An Fear Beag said he turned the game. On the other hand Tom Parsons has been subbed 2 games in a row, early 2nd half. Again probably not a cause for concern long term. He looked tired and disinterested in Ballina and I would expect a different player come Summer. However until a big ugly midfielder comes along who likes hard work and hitting people our best midfield option is the 2 Ballina lads. I reiterate my view that Parsons needs to be deployed at 11 straight away, for his good and the good of the team. He s not streetwise or inclined to graft enough for midfield at the moment but we have no 11 and this team is crying out for his quality. Somebody said moving him out of midfield would ruin him. I say we ll ruin him if we dont. Cant keep starting him and taking him off. His class better suited to hf line than the midfield slog at this stage. If Hanley was about I could nt imagine people clamouring for him to play midfield, yet Parsons if anything is a better passer and link player.

Post by: stephenite on February 15, 2009, 05:00:38 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 04:09:41 PM
Harte after getting the man of the match on Mid West Radio

Nice to see his apparent "lack pf pace" isn't causing too much of a hindrance for him at Inter county level ::)
Post by: Barney on February 15, 2009, 08:32:00 AM
When you follow Mayo you see some bizarre things, and this was as positively bizarre as it gets!

First off it is a great point, and the comeback does demonstrate that whatever we might say here and think the changes made by management and whatever words were said at half time (and by whoever) worked wonders. Now the question also remains - why was there no kick in the team at the start of the game? The Derry game drew unprecedented criticism for the team so early in the year and there were alot of reputations on the line.

I'm just going to do a player by player rating, plenty of good match reports elsewhere online:

Clarke - could not do anything about the two goals which were expertly finished by Murphy. Any balls he had to field he managed well bar one and the kick-outs were ok except that the ref blew him up on a few quick ones.

O'Malley - roasted for 2-1 within the first 10/15 minutes. I don't know how he is still being handed a jersey, yes he has ok days but he has been caught for too many goals for my liking and it is time to say goodbye.

Cafferkey - very pleased with his performance throughout. His man didn't get a minute of space. Cafferkey didn't handle much ball and doesn't attack the ball but got the few crucial touches in that made life very difficult for the full forward. His biggest difficulty was the supporting cast in the full back line.

Kelly - just not up to it. Far too cumbersome, and when you are struggling for pace in February..........

Gardiner - the usual haring up the field brought one point and the usual large amount of broken down moves with the backs then exposed. I think it is very naive of us to be playing this kind of football when we are struggling at the back. We need to be more defensive minded and if we are using a target man up front we can afford to do this.

Cunniffe - dire early on and Donegal were able to race up the middle of the field too many times. However he did settle and put in an astounding last 15 minutes with one huge diving block, and a number of hard-hitting tackles. He needs to learn to hold his position and not always look to attack with the ball.

Vaughan - he is doing ok. Again was caught attacking in the first half and lost the ball and wasn't able to/interested in recovering ground (this was the general team attitude). Did ok in the corner in the second half.

McGarrity - mixed the good with the bad. Technically his fielding can be poor at times and he flapped at a large number of balls yesterday. Things did pick up when he went off.

Parsons - abysmal. Nothing went right for him, but second season syndrome will hopefully be out of the way come the Summer.

Billie Joe - of course effort wasn't lacking but pace and general class was. Maybe he was a scapegoat in being substituted. He does know where the posts are and I have always felt that when he played in the full forward line it was relatively successful and the experiment was abandoned too soon. I wouldn't mind him lining up along side Barry Moran and Mort. We are short a corner forward. But one thing is certain either he is involved and he is going to be set up for one position, or otherwise there is no point in having him on board.

Trevor - for 45 minutes he was worse than brutal. In fairness to him he has not played a lot of football the last 2 or 3 years and needs time. Slowly he found his way into the game and kicked two lovely diagonal passes to the brother for two scores, started to sweep between our own 45 and midfield and generally was a good link man.

Dillon - very poor - was he injured? I don't know.

Conor - love him or hate him we cannot do without him. 3 from frees. 3 from play. Was presented with 2 or 3 goal chances which he just cannot convert, it is the side of his game he really needs to develop. Missed two very scoreable frees in the first half. We cannot afford to be doing that and it is something that needs to be looked at.

Barry Moran - tried gamely all day. Some of the balls in were woeful but when the right ball went in in the second half he caused chaos setting up 2 or 3 points, and scoring 1-1. You cannot argue with that. An experiment well worth persisting with. I wouldn't mind seeing him rotated with the middle when we are having off periods in a game and try and help us to play ourselves into the match.

Andy Moran - tried hard in the first half to little avail. Excellent at wing-back. Kept his position, tough tackling and moved the ball when he won it rather than rampaging forward. It might be his best position and I think its something that should have been tried long ago. He is definitely not a corner forward.

Subs -

Barry Kelly - did ok, and possibly worth another look. Fielded one good ball, and his kick passing was good. Possibly doesn't have the pace though.

Pat Harte - superb. Covered a huge amount of ground. He has been under appreciated by us in Mayo for too long. He has an athletic ability and toughness that should make him a certain starter.

Ronaldson - did very very well. Strong on the ball, good passing, not strong enough to kick a 20 yard point but he does offer something. Not somebody you could start, its an awful pity he isn't a foot taller because he is the most skillful player on the panel.

Sweeney - scored a beautiful point from about 30 yards out on the wing which did kick start the comeback. Personally I don't think he is anywhere near good enough but management obviously see something. I'll be happy to be proven wrong. Missed a sitter of a goal chance.

Conroy - the man cannot be judged on last year at full back. He did very well when on and scored the equaliser.

So where are we now? I haven't a clue. The first 45 minutes were actually worse than the Derry game. The Manager was possibly a dead man walking but got the response from the players. Look back over the past 3/4 years - look at all the matches we have started poorly and have had to claw our way back into after conceding early goals -

2007 - three league games in a row we were four or five points down very early and won against Fermanagh, Cork and Dublin and similarily against Galway in the league semi final. I the championship Galway had us beaten after 10 minutes.

2008 - Derry, Kerry and Galway all got big starts on us. We came back in all games. Beat Kerry, should have beaten Galway and could have drawn with Derry. It was the same in the Connacht Final.

2009 - Roscommon in the FBD and Donegal in the league have got that kick-start.

It is a massive problem - there is an obvious lack of focus and bite in the team starting off. On the other hand it shows that management are able to change things around and doing something right during the games. So is the problem and a lack of interest/motivation from the players? Is the manager caught up with work that he cannot have a hands on role during match week and can only deal with things on match day? Are management just getting it plain wrong? Its something that if remedied could push us on a good bit.

Also there is a general naivite in our play. Good coaching could eradicate a lot.

We have the players to be 3 or 4 points better than we are actually doing. Hopefully issues can be address. The positives though for me from yesterday is that at numbers 3 and 14 we have fellas capable of wearing the jersey for the season.

We have a winnable game next against Westmeath. Charlestown will be a heavy pitch which will not suit us but we must win. If we do we will give ourselves a fighting chance of survival. I expect quite a few changes to the team from yesterday's starting line-up (this is what I think will be picked, not my own selection)

Clarke

O'Malley
Cafferkey
Vaughan

Gardiner
Cunniffe
Andy Moran

McGarrity
Conroy

Harte
Trevor
Dillon

Mortimer
Moran
Sweeney

Post by: Terry Tate on February 15, 2009, 04:13:27 PM
I will try to give a brief summary of the match yesterday for anyone who couldnt make it.

First of all I dont think Parsons should be played in the half forward line. His shooting is pathetic. Last year against Tyrone was one of the worst displays of shooting I have seen and again yesterday he missed a stright forward point. He is to yellow for midfield as well. I was surprised by his raction to been taken off. He was playing very bad and should have expected it. I was beside the dugout and when he came off there wasnt a word between himself and JOM he was bull thick and looked straight at JOM with that look of wanting to kill him. JOM didnt even acknowledge him. On yesterday evidence he should not be on the team. Pat harte played a blinder when he came and should be McG's partner. Was Dillon injured? there was no one attending to him when he came off as far as i could see. He was playing poor thats why I thought he came off. I think Barry Kelly would be a good addition to the team. Settled in well and got through allot of good work. Can't say the same about Conroy. That Andy Moran is a hardy buck. When he went to the backs he was launching himself into tackles he was limping after one challenge hope its nothing serious. He should be left in the half back line. Seemed to be able to organise the defense something that was missing  in the first half.

what we found out yesterday is that we do seem to have a very good full back, Andy Moran's best position is in the half back line and Liam O'Malley is no use.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 15, 2009, 09:00:29 PM
Interesting views there lads. I've said before I reckoned Parsons could have a difficult second year. It all went a bit too well for him this year and while he has ability to play midfield for Mayo, there's a few things he needs to work on. At the minute Harte would seem to be ahead of him for midfield (and if Parsons comes back to form, then Harte on the 40 is a runner).

Andy at wing-back is an interesting proposition. Worth a go and see how it works out. But I wouldn't commit too much to that yet. At the minute we have so many wing-backs in realistic contention for championship places (Gardiner, Cunniffe, Boyle, Vaughan, Chris Barrett, Keith Higgins, Heaney and now Andy). But further back . . .

Pat Kelly has had pace problems in the two games I've seen him play this year, he's going to be towards the fringes of the squad. Liam O'Malley clearly struggled yesterday but he was v good against Derry. The reality is we're not blessed with corner-backs. Keith Higgins has been played there when we'd all love to see him on the wing. And Jesus we had Colm Boyle back in the corner last year too! When JOM took off Kelly the last day he had to make a scather of changes because he had no full-back line player on the bench (McLoughlin pulled out injured). That's the reality so Liam O'Malley won't be going anywhere just yet. Regarding the summer I'd like to see a situation where Kevin McLoughlin/Trevor Howley/Donal Vaughan take charge of the two corner spots. Aidan Higgins is a good option too but doesn't seem to rank high in JOM's plans.

Good to hear Conor was back to good form yesterday and Trevor finding a bit of form late on (I've said that will be the case, he needs game time and once he does he'll be a serious asset). Sweeney and Ronaldson both audioned well for the second corner-forward spot from what I've heard today. And Barry Moran looks a  stone wall certainty for full-forward (injury permitting - touchwood).

And people were wondering was Dillon injured - he had a groin injury alright during the week and I'm not certain that was the cause yesterday but I'd say its likely
Post by: rosnarun on February 15, 2009, 11:37:53 PM
dillon was actually holding his forehead when he came off looked like he took a blow.
it  situation where donegal were so comfortable the took their foot off and were not able to get back up to speed when mayo started coming back. I cant really say i saw a major change in the mayo display overall though to actually get the point was fantastic but   donegal a a very weak team.  
BJP was very harshly treated he ran his socks off in the time he was on, winning ball all over the pitch including the full back line where only o'malley after a dodgy start look the part at all. his mistake on the 1st goal was compounded by poor positional play by our full back . Murphy had to cover nearly 30 yards once he beat o malley but there was no one home minding the house. the centre of mayo defence was open territory all day for the donegal forwards. any day you see neil gallagher looking like an exciting attacking option you know you have problems down the middle.
Mayo missed more than enough to win the game well vaughan and connor(x2) both had open goal chances and mort's frees were well below standard but he stuck at it and played like a madman for the last 15. my MOM  followed by the undoubted class of ronaldson .
harte did well   maybe he could keep a role as an impact sub as it seems to suit him better than a full game.
while we need to remember its only a point against donegal it was great to watch and buys JOM another week
Post by: muppet on February 16, 2009, 12:37:29 AM
Quote from: Terry Tate on February 15, 2009, 04:13:27 PM
I will try to give a brief summary of the match yesterday for anyone who couldnt make it.

First of all I dont think Parsons should be played in the half forward line. His shooting is pathetic. Last year against Tyrone was one of the worst displays of shooting I have seen and again yesterday he missed a stright forward point. He is to yellow for midfield as well. I was surprised by his raction to been taken off. He was playing very bad and should have expected it. I was beside the dugout and when he came off there wasnt a word between himself and JOM he was bull thick and looked straight at JOM with that look of wanting to kill him. JOM didnt even acknowledge him. On yesterday evidence he should not be on the team. Pat harte played a blinder when he came and should be McG's partner. Was Dillon injured? there was no one attending to him when he came off as far as i could see. He was playing poor thats why I thought he came off. I think Barry Kelly would be a good addition to the team. Settled in well and got through allot of good work. Can't say the same about Conroy. That Andy Moran is a hardy buck. When he went to the backs he was launching himself into tackles he was limping after one challenge hope its nothing serious. He should be left in the half back line. Seemed to be able to organise the defense something that was missing  in the first half.

what we found out yesterday is that we do seem to have a very good full back, Andy Moran's best position is in the half back line and Liam O'Malley is no use.

The worst thing about being from Mayo is having to listen to Mayo people. Next week all will be great and the week after who knows?
Post by: kevmy on February 16, 2009, 12:21:57 PM
Wasn't at the match but there seems to be the same problems and the same positives from the Derry game.

Again it appears to be difficult to get the ball past the half back line. Here some of the fault lies with half backs and some with midfielders/half forwards. If Andy Moran worked there in the second half leave him there for the time being at least until the likes of Howley and Higgins rear their head in summer. Overall though I think we have enough in half backs to work through whatever problems we have there.

Midfield is contributing to the problem by having McGarrity and Parsons there. 2 good players but McGarrity won't do a lot of working back and can't kickpass the ball. Parsons could/should be doing this but seems to be off-form, hopefully he's just waiting for the hard ground but if he's not playing well should he be picked?

In half forwards Trev or Dillon don't seem to have hit the ground running but both are proven performers and will come good. Harte must start the next day either at midfield in place of Parsons or on the forty. Ideally come championship I'd like to see him on the 40 he done well there last year but didn't get the credit for filling Mac's boots.

Good to see Barry Moran doing well he caused trouble against Derry every time he got ball - which was about 3 time due to the shite quality coming in - and he need more. He seemed to link well with Mort the younger and both Ronaldson and Sweeney when they came on.

The same situation with Cafferkey he needs time he has played to solid enough games, he needs time. We haven't had a settled FB since Heaney hopefully he can do a job there.

The corners are problem but Vaughan seemed ok - if not fantastic over 2 games and O'Malley was our best back against Derry so I think they'll be left there unless McLoughlin is fit enough for a run out.

Westmeath next. We should have enough for them at home. Win that one and we have a decent chance of staying up. We also have the Dubs and Tyrone at home. If we can beat the Dubs we'll be on 5 points which W'meath and Dublin would find it difficult to top. If we a point or two more against Tyrone and Galway as well, I'd be confident of a comfortable mid table finish.

The important thing in this league is to stick with Cafferkey, Cunniffe and Barry Moran. Try and bring some of the young lads through as options. Also find the right mix of the older lads.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 16, 2009, 01:52:46 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 14, 2009, 04:26:06 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 03:57:27 PM

That's what we need

Sickened to throw away the nine point lead, but in the larger scheme I think we're probably going down this year anyway, so I'm not overly bothered about the point. More concerned that Murphy stays fit in the long run actually.

Do you ever have anything positive to say about Donegal?
Post by: highorlow on February 16, 2009, 02:12:16 PM
QuoteDo you ever have anything positive to say about Donegal?

Lovely Scenery up there...
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 16, 2009, 03:06:02 PM
Quote from: highorlow on February 16, 2009, 02:12:16 PM
QuoteDo you ever have anything positive to say about Donegal?

Lovely Scenery up there...

:D ;D :D

It is that alright.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on February 16, 2009, 04:10:18 PM
Quote from: kevmy on February 16, 2009, 12:21:57 PM
Wasn't at the match but there seems to be the same problems and the same positives from the Derry game.

Again it appears to be difficult to get the ball past the half back line. Here some of the fault lies with half backs and some with midfielders/half forwards. If Andy Moran worked there in the second half leave him there for the time being at least until the likes of Howley and Higgins rear their head in summer. Overall though I think we have enough in half backs to work through whatever problems we have there.

Midfield is contributing to the problem by having McGarrity and Parsons there. 2 good players but McGarrity won't do a lot of working back and can't kickpass the ball. Parsons could/should be doing this but seems to be off-form, hopefully he's just waiting for the hard ground but if he's not playing well should he be picked?

In half forwards Trev or Dillon don't seem to have hit the ground running but both are proven performers and will come good. Harte must start the next day either at midfield in place of Parsons or on the forty. Ideally come championship I'd like to see him on the 40 he done well there last year but didn't get the credit for filling Mac's boots.

Good to see Barry Moran doing well he caused trouble against Derry every time he got ball - which was about 3 time due to the shite quality coming in - and he need more. He seemed to link well with Mort the younger and both Ronaldson and Sweeney when they came on.

The same situation with Cafferkey he needs time he has played to solid enough games, he needs time. We haven't had a settled FB since Heaney hopefully he can do a job there.

The corners are problem but Vaughan seemed ok - if not fantastic over 2 games and O'Malley was our best back against Derry so I think they'll be left there unless McLoughlin is fit enough for a run out.

Westmeath next. We should have enough for them at home. Win that one and we have a decent chance of staying up. We also have the Dubs and Tyrone at home. If we can beat the Dubs we'll be on 5 points which W'meath and Dublin would find it difficult to top. If we a point or two more against Tyrone and Galway as well, I'd be confident of a comfortable mid table finish.

The important thing in this league is to stick with Cafferkey, Cunniffe and Barry Moran. Try and bring some of the young lads through as options. Also find the right mix of the older lads.

I agree with most of that assessment Kevmy, that point has given me renewed hope we can stay up, hopefully we have turned (another) corner! It looks like Cafferky and Moran are settling in nicely and with more game time and confidence they could be good prospects for the summer. Cunniffe on the other hand I have my doubts about, in the centre anyway. He is a good attacking half back but he doesn't command the centre like a number 6 should and I can't see him being there (at 6) in the summer unless he starts stopping people from waltzing through the middle. He has to learn to hold his position and let the ball do more of the work a la Conor Gormley, the managment have a big part to play in that, i.e. to instruct him to do it. The problem is he isn't physically strong enough yet to fill the 'stopper' role IMO.
Post by: kevmy on February 16, 2009, 05:44:37 PM
I agree about Cunniffe at CB. I'd have Howley there if things were ideal but he's out injured at the moment. And I think in the situation we find ourself in it's better having Cunniffe there than bringing in someone like Heaney or Nallen. Another few league games won't make much difference to them but they could make a lot of difference to Cunniffe. If I was Peader Gardiner I'd be worried about my spot especially if we find two lads for the corners as it would free up some of the natural half backs like Boyle, Barret, Keith Higgins and Howley to play in the half back line.

To be honest it's time the young lads were given there head in the backs, if they are good enough they are old enough. I think in fairness Johnno wanted to do that last year but was struck by injuries to Cafferkey and Howley and loss of form from Liam O Malley which meant round pegs in square holes if he went for youth. This meant the likes of Nallen and Heaney in use. I still these lads have a place in the squad mind but overall we have to look to the future.