Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BallyhaiseMan on February 03, 2009, 01:57:53 PM

Poll
Question: What qualifications do you have
Option 1: Certificates/Diploma votes: 8
Option 2: Bachelors Degree votes: 61
Option 3: Masters votes: 32
Option 4: Doctorate votes: 9
Option 5: Qualified Tradesman votes: 5
Option 6: None votes: 5
Option 7: Others votes: 3
Option 8: Professional Qualifications votes: 16
Title: what is the boards standard of education
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 03, 2009, 01:57:53 PM
BSc 2.1 here
Title: Re: what is the boards standard of education
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 03, 2009, 02:01:18 PM
Same as that bhm. In engineering.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 03, 2009, 02:02:10 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 03, 2009, 02:01:18 PM
Same as that bhm. In engineering.

aye but yours is from Trinity i do remember you saying, Smart f**ker  :P
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 03, 2009, 02:02:32 PM
I passed the "Remedial Use Of The Apostrophe Exam". That's the only one I ever passed.
Post by: stpauls on February 03, 2009, 02:04:13 PM
2.2 BSc Computer Science, Class of 2003 ;)
Post by: thejuice on February 03, 2009, 02:06:00 PM
Hope to have my Masters in Landscape Architecture by the end of 2010
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 03, 2009, 02:11:25 PM
Got myself a BA hons 2:1 in Sociology and Anthropology... felt like I was in the toy department compared to sciences etc.  Gerry Anderson describes sociology as the 'painful elaboration of the obvious.' He ain't wrong...  still was nice to get it.   
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 03, 2009, 02:20:31 PM
Don't forget the professional qualification - Chartered Accountant, oh and a 2.1 Hons Bachelor of Bus Studies
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 03, 2009, 02:29:28 PM
BSc 2.1 as well.

Also Diiploma in Construction Economics as ......
Post by: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 02:42:58 PM
BSc Hons 2.1 too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2009, 02:46:27 PM
Primary School Teacher.
Post by: screenexile on February 03, 2009, 02:55:56 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on February 03, 2009, 02:42:58 PM
BSc Hons 2.1 too.

Ditto
Post by: The Iceman on February 03, 2009, 03:03:55 PM
Got the degree and the masters and in fairness I don't think any of it means as much on the job as experience.............
Unfortunately employers don't see it that way.
I couldn't tell you even 1/3rd of the information I was supposed to have learned at Uni - but i remember everything I had to learn on any job since.
Post by: D4S on February 03, 2009, 03:05:08 PM
Very true Iceman!

I've a BA in Business Management 2.1, a lot of waffling not put in to practice!
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 03, 2009, 03:15:10 PM
I got a 2.2 BSc in Estate Management for all the good it did me!
Post by: D4S on February 03, 2009, 03:21:41 PM
I honestly think unless you go down a designated career path from the outset a degree is pointless.  Careers such as Doctor, Nurse, Teacher, Radiographer, Engineering possibly would be what I would consider the good ones.  Feel free anyone who wants to tell me different I'd love to be told mine and those of I'm sure thousands of others are worth more than the piece of paper you get at the end.  The amount of degrees nowadays mine included that are pointless unless you go on to do a PGCE is a joke.  It's all about getting the right experience during and immediately after your degree.  Some of the degree titles nowadays are pointless too. 
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2009, 04:24:37 PM
HND in Computing. From my experience and the experiences of others, it appears to have a lot more relevance in the workplace.
Post by: maxpower on February 03, 2009, 04:48:54 PM
Quote from: D4S on February 03, 2009, 03:21:41 PM
I honestly think unless you go down a designated career path from the outset a degree is pointless.  Careers such as Doctor, Nurse, Teacher, Radiographer, Engineering possibly would be what I would consider the good ones.  Feel free anyone who wants to tell me different I'd love to be told mine and those of I'm sure thousands of others are worth more than the piece of paper you get at the end.  The amount of degrees nowadays mine included that are pointless unless you go on to do a PGCE is a joke.  It's all about getting the right experience during and immediately after your degree.  Some of the degree titles nowadays are pointless too. 

Spot on,

In a completely different career to what i achieved my degree in as are many of those in the same course. Sports Studies = disaster
Post by: nifan on February 03, 2009, 04:50:32 PM
MEng Computer Science
Post by: Mario on February 03, 2009, 04:52:39 PM
MSci Mathematics
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 05:09:24 PM
Quote from: D4S on February 03, 2009, 03:21:41 PM

Never a truer word been spoken. All this emphasis placed on higher eduation - which unless it is vocational, is a complete waste of time.
Post by: Declan on February 03, 2009, 05:13:16 PM
QuoteAll this emphasis placed on higher education - which unless it is vocational, is a complete waste of time.

Is education ever wasted though??? Life long learning etc
Post by: nifan on February 03, 2009, 05:13:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 05:09:24 PM
Never a truer word been spoken. All this emphasis placed on higher eduation - which unless it is vocational, is a complete waste of time.

There is certainly a place for non vocational education, just not at the 50% targets that the government had set.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 05:18:12 PM
Quote from: nifan on February 03, 2009, 05:13:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 05:09:24 PM

There is certainly a place for non vocational education, just not at the 50% targets that the government had set.

Well then maybe schools have more of a responsibility to let students know just how vocational a course they might think about undertaking, could actually be.

What use has non vocational education to the average student these days when they are trying to get a job? Ive a degree in philosophy. Ok then, well - maybe we'll get you a job in Menarys.
Post by: nifan on February 03, 2009, 05:26:53 PM
the average student?
Im not suggesting "average" students should do non vocational degrees.
But we need people coming through with degrees in physics, mathematics etc
Philosophy i am less concerned with.
Post by: delboy on February 03, 2009, 05:28:58 PM
PhD, but i work in a job where its a basic minimum really.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 05:44:26 PM
Quote from: nifan on February 03, 2009, 05:26:53 PM
the average student?
Im not suggesting "average" students should do non vocational degrees.
But we need people coming through with degrees in physics, mathematics etc
Philosophy i am less concerned with.

Physics and mathematics in my mind are relatively vocational. The world needs mathematicians, statisticians, physic (whats the plural of that - surely a physician is a Dr) graduates. There are a plethora of shite courses out there, and its very easy to find yourself in one, just because you want to be at college and missed that sports science course at DCU by a point.

Obviously if we need people coming through with those courses - that means there are employment opportunities for those graduates? Therefore, mathematics and physics, while not obviously vocational - have plenty of potential in the job market.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 03, 2009, 06:51:08 PM
What do you vote for if you were politely asked to leave after 1st year Uni?  ???
Post by: nifan on February 03, 2009, 06:58:09 PM
QuoteThere are a plethora of shite courses out there, and its very easy to find yourself in one, just because you want to be at college and missed that sports science course at DCU by a point.

I agree with that, but while it may not be what you meant ive heard others be disparaging of "academic" course, to the point where they are seen as inferior to more vocational courses.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 07:01:49 PM
Id never know why someone would talk like that about a discipline like maths, english, geography or another core course.

That said, If I was doing it all again, Id go for one of the so called "Vocational" courses. Or Id be a joiner.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 07:33:46 PM
Eh - no. Hindsight is a beautiful thing.

I think the american college entrance system has merit. 17 is a young age to decide what you want to do with your life. Some people have a fair idea, and others are dreamers and have no clue.

In the US, you have core classes to take to earn a degree. History, Geography, maths, a langauge and a few others. Many students go to college "undeclared" as to what their degree path may be, and take these classes first (which can give you an extra two years in some cases to mature enough to make better decisions), while they find out a little more about themselves in terms of goals, ambitions, and what they can actually achieve.

This system neither holds back the gunners, nor does it shoebox the dreamers.

I made some poor academic choices (compared to some of my peers), from the time I filled in my UCAS form, to the last course I entered. At the end of the day, I made those choices, but Id strongly canvass for some more practical career guidance from those older and wiser than me. Parents and mentors included. I really hadnt a clue, and just wanted to get to college to get out on the tear.
Post by: The Iceman on February 03, 2009, 08:05:41 PM
I was always a strong supporter post-university for vocational degrees and courses.  But with vocational careers like Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy and the like you can only get so far.  It is for some people but wouldn't be for me.
I did a degree in Business Studies - a very general degree - didn't get me anywhere but into the MSc in Computers and Information Systems - again a general course with no specialisation in any one IT discipline really but a good all-round MSc.
I talked about it recently with some guys in my Business Studies class and in fairness I wouldn't be where I am today and I wouldn't be making this kind of money if I had been a Physio.

You are right though Puck - the US way of easing you slowly into it for two years is a much better idea.
Post by: downgirl on February 03, 2009, 08:48:30 PM
The course I am doing is 4 years, first year is a general year ('Biological Sciences') where we did biology, chemistry, physics and maths; so it gave us a chance to see what all those subjects were like before we specialised; I chose Chemistry of Pharmaceutical Compounds in second year, most of the chemistry courses specialised in second year; however the biological courses all only specialised this year (3rd year).  Loads of degree outlets to choose from as well...microbiology, biochemistry, plant biotechnology, physiology, neuroscience, chemistry with forensics etc etc.
Post by: comethekingdom on February 03, 2009, 09:10:27 PM
I done a Diploma in Engineering back in the early ninties when they were worth something. A mate of mine went back to do a degree in civil eng last year and couldn't believe how much the whole system had changed. In our day college was 9 to 6 5 days a week - nowadays the whole system is much more laid back. Some of the degrees that students come out of college with such as BA's etc are not worth a shite. I know a girl who got 7 A's in her leaving cert and did physchology in Trinity for 3 years. She's now working in some recruitment agency and probably getting laid off in June when the contract finishes. :(
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 09:28:27 PM
What happened the 11th person?
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 03, 2009, 09:32:29 PM
He went to stay with his mate who lived on the Larne ferry.
Post by: magickingdom on February 03, 2009, 09:58:02 PM
an accountant, great qualification imo with plenty of career options. i made a few bob, bought a fair bit of property over the years and its worth sweet feck all now ;D but dont let that put you off
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2009, 10:07:14 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on February 03, 2009, 09:55:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 09:28:27 PM
What happened the 11th person?

He didn't get his degree and went to work for Dunnes in Navan.  The lad from Larne didn't want to move away from home so he got a job with P&O.

He didn't want to leave Larne?!  ???
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:10:07 PM
Best teacher I ever had came from Larne. Had issues with his sideburns however.
Post by: stew on February 03, 2009, 10:23:57 PM
I graduated with a Degree in Business Management on my 40th birthday, before that I had 6 CSE'S thanks to a less than stellar academic career at St Brigid's in Armagh. Got the four years paid for through this aul job I just packed in, I have to work for them though the end of May or I get to pay everything back to them that I got from them for this and that is almost $80,000.

I quit effective June 1st.

:)
Post by: leenie on February 03, 2009, 10:28:17 PM
I Studied BS Social Science......... Which i still find difficult to define......put simply the study of society and the manner in which people behave and impact on the world around us. It was a very enjoyable course however because of the studying five subjects throughout further studies such as a post grad or masters is needed to specialize in specific areas. I did not know this when i started the course, nor did i know economics was a vital part!

Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:33:53 PM
Oh God Help me! What sort of stupid thread is this with people boasting about their education? Ireland is a poorer place with this type of debate going on! How many of ye have had a book published, acted in a film, recorded a song (that got played on the radio), been interviewed in your own right on the radio, or performed in an Arts Festival? C'mon there's tons of other ways to live a life and be poor in money terms but rich in other ways.

This reminds me of my sister boasting to one of my Aunts that she had 5 degrees and the Aunt who seemed so mundane and normal said that having degrees is no big deal as she had 7!
Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 10:34:09 PM
Im thick as champ.
Post by: DownFanatic on February 03, 2009, 10:34:46 PM
BA 2:2 in Politics from QUB - Waste of time.
Currently doing a PG Dip/MSC in CAP at UUJ - Not as big a waste of time, but nevertheless still a waste of time.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:38:04 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:33:53 PM
Oh God Help me! What sort of stupid thread is this with people boasting about their education? Ireland is a poorer place with this type of debate going on! How many of ye have had a book published, acted in a film, recorded a song (that got played on the radio), been interviewed in your own right on the radio, or performed in an Arts Festival? C'mon there's tons of other ways to live a life and be poor in money terms but rich in other ways.

This reminds me of my sister boasting to one of my Aunts that she had 5 degrees and the Aunt who seemed so mundane and normal said that having degrees is no big deal as she had 7!

Re-read the thread, and come back to us with all this "boasting about education".

Seems like quite a few are questioning the merits.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:40:34 PM
The fact that people even feel that mentioning what their education is, is boasting in my book.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:41:50 PM
Why? Is it not a viable topic for discussion?

Suppose its as good a thing to talk about as your first car, first pair of football boots, favourite sandwich.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:43:35 PM
No the topic is a poll. Only people here seem to think that a poll is not a poll unless there is a coment left about it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 10:44:26 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:40:34 PM
The fact that people even feel that mentioning what their eduction is, is boasting in my book.
I'd be along your lines of thinking Eoghan, it's the same with occupations and salaries, just gives people a chance to brag and blow and when I seen this thread I thought "here we go" but to be fair I havent seen anyone boasting on it.
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 03, 2009, 10:45:23 PM
Its anonymous posting (in most cases) Eoghan so can it be boasting if no one knows you?
I agree with puck most of the musings on here are actually questionning the merits of so called third level education anyway.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:46:59 PM
So you don't think anyone can ever be hurt by what is written here?
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:48:57 PM
Tolls is tolls, and if we dont get no tolls then we dont eat no rolls.

This is not the first thread to take more than one relative tangent.

OK, now pints is agreeing with you, and we all know he has a chip, on each shoulder.

You mention hurt - who could be hurt? If you refer to those who for some reason didnt get a third level education, heres my thoughts.

I dont own a house, but I dont think the people talking on the property tax thread are boasting when they talk about owning multiple properties. Its called being level headed.

Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 10:51:07 PM
QuoteOK, now pints is agreeing with you, and we all know he has a chip, on each shoulder.
Read my post!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 03, 2009, 10:51:14 PM
Life of Hardknocks, two years through school had to drop out (no$$$) but received an A.S.. Went on quite well for a while till this recession/depression. Back in school for nursing.

Has anyone thought of going into nanotechnology?, that field is and will be immense in the future.
Also any type of alternative energy field is looking grand.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 10:51:07 PM
QuoteOK, now pints is agreeing with you, and we all know he has a chip, on each shoulder.
Read my post!

Sorry old bean. Past form and all that ;)
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:53:22 PM
Puckoon the point is if someone on here states what their education is and someone else has a 'lesser' qualification this gives posters future ammunition to belittle any posts that the person with 'lesser' eduction has. It makes some people feel small and fills others with airs and graces.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:56:20 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:53:22 PM
Puckoon the point is if someone on here states what their education is and someone else has a 'lesser' qualification this gives posters future ammunition to belittle any posts that the person with 'lesser' eduction has. It makes some people feel small and fills others with airs and graces.

Again - with the level headedness! I mean for f**ks sake, if someone is gonna use education as a stick to beat another poster with, it says more about the poster than the person with the lesser qualification.

I mean theres boys with letters after their name without a fecking penny to rub against another one, and then theres their counterparts who left school at 16 driving around with a fleet of vans with McCann and sons plastered up the side living in mansions without a financial care in the world!

It counts for feck all in my book, and it makes no difference to what makes a man or a woman. Id have no problems declaring if I had one gcse or 55 of them.

By the way - its closer to 1.  :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 03, 2009, 10:58:58 PM
Only if you give a f**k Eoghan, I could not give a monkeys what letters people have after their name, they deserve the same respect regardless.  Arseholes who feel the need to quote some level of attainment by way of weight in an argument are knobheads of the highest order.  A p***k can be a p***k in any walk of life.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 03, 2009, 11:03:23 PM
Know a few guys with half the alphabet behind their name and they can't interact socially with others very well.

People have different kinds of "smarts" be it books, streets, money or common sense.

Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 11:03:58 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:51:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 10:51:07 PM
Read my post!

Sorry old bean. Past form and all that ;)
Aye you're going on about having that and this piece of paper but you cant read!
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:04:47 PM
I never mentioned having any pieces of paper.

Read my posts.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2009, 11:05:53 PM
Don't mention it then! A mate of mine is in his early 30's, great job, travels the world, has a PhD etc etc but he is so embarrassed about failing his 11+ he won't even talk about it! I don.t think many people judge others on their education and certainly not anyone on here. Some of the dumbest people I have ever met went to university and some of the smartest have been builders etc.

As has been said already on here, there are plenty of question marks over the merits of a third level education just for the sake of a third level education.

I for one think that exams should be tightened and the number of courses reduced so that the numbers going to college are reduced and limited to the best people and therefore hopefully getting to a point where grants can be issued again to those who need them.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:06:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2009, 11:05:53 PM
Don't mention it then! A mate of mine is in his early 30's, great job, travels the world, has a PhD etc etc but he is so embarrassed about failing his 11+ he won't even talk about it! I don.t think many people judge others on their education and certainly not anyone on here. Some of the dumbest people I have ever met went to university and some of the smartest have been builders etc.

As has been said already on here, there are plenty of question marks over the merits of a third level education just for the sake of a third level education.

I for one think that exams should be tightened and the number of courses reduced so that the numbers going to college are reduced and limited to the best people and therefore hopefully getting to a point where grants can be issued again to those who need them.

That'll do nicely.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:07:36 PM
Doogie and Puckoon I note that you both seem not to be able to put your points across without resorting to 'colour filled language'.
I don't think anyone deserves respect. All respect must be earned. It sort of comes back to the debate about 'equality'. There is no such thing. No one in my book is equal but we all are individuals. Individuality is the greatest asset anyone has far and above education.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:09:04 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:07:36 PM
Doogie and Puckoon I note that you both seem not to be able to put your points across without resorting to 'colour filled language'.
I don't think anyone deserves resect. All respect must be earned. It sort of comes back to the debate about 'equality'. There is no such thing. No one in my book is equal but we all are individuals. Individuality is the greatest asset anyone has far and above education.

First bold part - I couldnt disagree more. People deserve respect on a purely humanitarian basis.

Second bold part  - I couldnt agree more. I think Doogie and I both kinda said similar things.
Post by: milltown row on February 03, 2009, 11:09:26 PM
left school with nought, got a job and worked hard, lifes good and no complaints.

college education is not for everyone.
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 03, 2009, 11:09:49 PM
Doogie and Puckoon I note that you both seem not to be able to put your points across without resorting to 'colour filled language'. I don't think anyone deserves respect. All respect must be earned. It sort of comes back to the debate about 'equality'. There is no such thing. No one in my book is equal but we all are individuals. Individuality is the greatest asset anyone has far and above education.
Its after the watershed Eoghan.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 03, 2009, 11:11:08 PM
I just wish everyone is as smart as I think I am  ;)
Post by: David McKeown on February 03, 2009, 11:12:04 PM
Just finished professional qualifications and whilst I enjoy and look forward to the career im undertaking, if I was 18 again Id choose either a completely different degree, or Id just work without one.

Theres a bit of talk on here about the number of so called 'useless degrees' (not that I for one second think any degree is useless) that can be achieved nowadays.  Up until last year Queens offered more different degrees than any other university in the world.  This year it has severely cut back on this by I believe (although I dont have the figures to hand) more than 60%

Also the US system was mentioned earlier and I have to say that having experienced it I have to agree that it is a much better system in a lot of ways giving a much more rounded degree, the only problem is that to specialise in any area (to I would say equivalent to UK degree level) you really have to go to grad school which is a supremely expensive situation.  What I think you find in the US as a result is when people come out with degrees that dont automatically lead to careers eg in social science (no offence just the last one I saw mentioned) then they are slightly stronger than people over here in terms of the width of their academic knowledge.  However when they come out with degrees that should lead to careers such as in engineering they are not as specialist as the equivalent people over here.  For example i have a minor in astrophysics (this tests my no useless degree theroy) and I could gurantee Id struggle in any physics class at university here.  That said I have a minor in astrophysics which is in no way even close to my degree
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:13:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:09:04 PM

First bold part - I couldnt disagree more. People deserve respect on a purely humanitarian basis.

It is sort of hard to respect the person who looks down his nose at you, or the soldier who frisks a child or if someone spits in your face.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:16:05 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 03, 2009, 11:09:49 PM
Doogie and Puckoon I note that you both seem not to be able to put your points across without resorting to 'colour filled language'. I don't think anyone deserves respect. All respect must be earned. It sort of comes back to the debate about 'equality'. There is no such thing. No one in my book is equal but we all are individuals. Individuality is the greatest asset anyone has far and above education.
Its after the watershed Eoghan.

Depends what timezone you are in!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 11:16:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:04:47 PM
I never mentioned having any pieces of paper.

Read my posts.
YOu're bragging to me all the time sure.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2009, 11:18:02 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:13:45 PM

It is sort of hard to respect the person who looks down his nose at you, or the soldier who frisks a child or if someone spits in your face.
[/quote]What are you talking about?!
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:20:07 PM
Tony I'm talking about respect in its purest form. It has to be earned. It cannot be given freely. How much respect would you freely give to a person that spat in your face?
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:21:22 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:13:45 PM

See, thats an assumption of the worst of people, or of a certain incident that must be in your own past.

If I meet someone, I dont assume the worst of them, and therefore, I show them respect.

If they look down their nose at me, they lose it.

Seems like a relatively normal way to approach things to me? But I could be wrong.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 03, 2009, 11:24:32 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 03, 2009, 11:12:04 PM
Just finished professional qualifications and whilst I enjoy and look forward to the career im undertaking, if I was 18 again Id choose either a completely different degree, or Id just work without one.

Theres a bit of talk on here about the number of so called 'useless degrees' (not that I for one second think any degree is useless) that can be achieved nowadays.  Up until last year Queens offered more different degrees than any other university in the world.  This year it has severely cut back on this by I believe (although I dont have the figures to hand) more than 60%

Also the US system was mentioned earlier and I have to say that having experienced it I have to agree that it is a much better system in a lot of ways giving a much more rounded degree, the only problem is that to specialise in any area (to I would say equivalent to UK degree level) you really have to go to grad school which is a supremely expensive situation.  What I think you find in the US as a result is when people come out with degrees that dont automatically lead to careers eg in social science (no offence just the last one I saw mentioned) then they are slightly stronger than people over here in terms of the width of their academic knowledge.  However when they come out with degrees that should lead to careers such as in engineering they are not as specialist as the equivalent people over here.  For example i have a minor in astrophysics (this tests my no useless degree theroy) and I could gurantee Id struggle in any physics class at university here.  That said I have a minor in astrophysics which is in no way even close to my degree

Would agree with what you said about the US system. The point is, though I suppose that has changed and is continuing to change, if you get a useless degree at home you're not down at least 50k. I have plenty of friends here that are smart and will do well eventually but they are stuck in the position of having a useless qualification and being afraid to take on even more debt to go back to grad school.

Most of the guys I work with in my company (engineering) would have at least a Masters, but they are starting a job already owing the equivalent of a mortgage for a small house.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 11:28:20 PM

Is that saying then a stereotypical view of builders is that they are all dumb but you happen to know a few that aren't ?

Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:30:04 PM
Puckon the dog in your picture is looking down his nose at me! ;)

I have my way of thinking and you have yours in regard to respect but I believe it is the actions of the other person that dictates respect not always your demeanour towards them.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:31:17 PM
Thats Elvis, hes a smart hewer. ;)
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 11:33:08 PM
Well I'm all shook up!  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 11:33:24 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:41:50 PM

Suppose its as good a thing to talk about as your first car, first pair of football boots, favourite sandwich.

Toyota Starlet
Adidas
BLT
Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 11:38:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 11:33:24 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 10:41:50 PM

Toyota Starlet
Adidas
BLT

Thats what im having for my lunch tomorrow.
Post by: ONeill on February 03, 2009, 11:39:47 PM
Nissan Sunny
Gola
Tuna
Post by: Treasurer on February 03, 2009, 11:41:49 PM
Opel Kadett
Gola
Couldn't pick - gonig through a sweet thai chilli chicken wrap phase at the moment
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2009, 11:42:22 PM
Gola had a stranglehold on the market - they really blew it.
Post by: maggie on February 03, 2009, 11:43:23 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on February 03, 2009, 11:41:49 PM
Opel Kadett
Gola
Couldn't pick - gonig through a sweet thai chilli chicken wrap phase at the moment

Lovely.  Put some cheese in it and then heat the wrap-gorge.
Post by: corn02 on February 03, 2009, 11:43:38 PM
Have a Desmond.

I reckon I attended in the region of 20% of my classes. Good course in stature, piss easy though if I could even pass.

I honestly couldn't tell you where my certificate is. I near got thrown out of a follow up course because I couldn't produce it, can you reapply for them?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2009, 11:59:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2009, 11:28:20 PM

Is that saying then a stereotypical view of builders is that they are all dumb but you happen to know a few that aren't ?

No it's the exact opposite you clown. If you read all my post the point is that there are loads of people go to university and even though they are average at best they think a degree opens doors to them. The right degree will. The wrong one won't.

If you are handy as a joiner, electrician (I hear you aren't ;)), brickie etc why would you waste that skill by going to study something like media studies at college just because it gets you degree? The average graduate wage is about 19k sterling and I'd say there are plenty of tradesmen taking more than that home at the same age of 21.

Anyway don't be so f**king touchy!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 04, 2009, 12:02:53 AM
Got a 2.2 in Quantity Surveying

and

1. Don't drive a car - I take the subway
2. Nike
3. Ham and Cheese toasted
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 04, 2009, 12:07:15 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 04, 2009, 12:04:59 AM
Who the f**k had Nike, as their first boots? Spoilt rotten!

I thought it said favorite.

My first boots were hand-be-downs from the older brother - they were a rip-off of adidas
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2009, 12:30:19 AM
Sorry, Dunlop.
Post by: nifan on February 04, 2009, 09:05:45 AM

Thats rubbish.

I dropped out of a PhD, the fact that 7 others here got theres - fair play to them. I had different priorities.
I have more respect for someone who left school after school, or went to college and realised that it wasnt for them than for someone who limped through uni, changing course every year, repeating continually and ending up with a poor degree.
Post by: Mario on February 04, 2009, 09:37:25 AM

Also the US system...

What are you saying, Queens has cut the amount of degrees it offers by 60%? I find that very hard to believe.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 04, 2009, 09:50:59 AM
Micra
Addidas
Ham, Cheese, Onion Pannini

I agree with anyone who says we start college to early, I was 17 hadn't a clue what I wanted to do so repeated my Leaving, the bloody 1st year you couldn't combine Leaving Certs, always had no luck, anyway at the end of that year still hadn't a clue so my Career Guidance teacher pointed towards QS, did that for 3 years, had a great time in Waterford but hated the course. Anyway wrapped that up and went into the Public Service where I discovered I had a knack for computers, so off to DIT to complete a diploma in programming and then TCD to do a Degree in Information Systems Management.

Still working in IT and after a little bit delusion last year am back enjoying the challenge.

Kids these days I think are more worldly but less mature than we were so how they are expected to know at 17/18 what they want to be is beyond me, the US system sounds much better than the race for points (1 got 600 points I have to do medicine). Personally I think our once famed educationally system needs a serious overhaul...

Post by: David McKeown on February 04, 2009, 11:16:16 AM
Quote from: Mario on February 04, 2009, 09:37:25 AM

Also the US system...

What are you saying, Queens has cut the amount of degrees it offers by 60%? I find that very hard to believe.

Yeah they have although the reason for this is that previously you could get some very strange degrees at Queens such as for example a BA in Gynecology and Byzantine studies, now the subjects have to be from the same broad base eg science based and the have introduced some tough criteria for ensuring that joint honours degrees are relevant to each other.  Ill get the exact figures today or tomorrow
Post by: nifan on February 04, 2009, 11:24:08 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 04, 2009, 11:16:16 AM
Yeah they have although the reason for this is that previously you could get some very strange degrees at Queens such as for example a BA in Gynecology and Byzantine studies, now the subjects have to be from the same broad base eg science based and the have introduced some tough criteria for ensuring that joint honours degrees are relevant to each other.  Ill get the exact figures today or tomorrow

Proper order, too much irrelevant joint honours going on - often avoiding the "hard modules", taking the handiest modules in each section.
Post by: Bensars on February 04, 2009, 11:33:08 AM
Patrick  Kevin 7
Coronation Chicken with pineapple

Post by: Hank Everlast on February 04, 2009, 12:39:40 PM
BSc 1st
Post grad Diiploma in Town and country planning
Vauxhall Nova (with the noiseiest back box i could fit)
Assics(sp)
meatball marinara sub
Post by: Rav67 on February 04, 2009, 02:00:04 PM
corolla
gola
ckicken mushroom peppers
2.1 and professional qualificatiosn
Post by: Maguire01 on February 04, 2009, 02:08:30 PM
Got a BSSc 2.2 It was completely useless in terms of job prospects - most of the jobs available to me wouldn't have required a degree. Went back and got a PgDip in Accounting and then ACCA professional qualification.

Agreed that you're very young at 17 to decide what to do - i know i wouldn't have done the same things.

One thing i would say however, is that far too many people are doing degrees - or at least staring degrees, dropping out and ending up in debt with nothing to show for it. A poor careers service in schools has a lot to answer for. There's an assumption that if you do A-levels, you have to go to University and there is very little guidance given to A-level students on alternative options (or at least there was at my time).
Post by: illdecide on February 04, 2009, 02:13:22 PM
It's not fair as i can only pick one from the above...

I'm a time served tradesman (13 years experience) but also went back and done Civil Engineering (HND)

I have no time to finish it off at Jordanstown (plus I'm to fecking old) and i feel i don't need to as the experience I've built up over the years working on sites and now in a design office is more than anyone just coming out of Uni with their big shiny degree...In fact most of them couldn't put a nail in the wall...lol (yet they could write you a formula telling you how to and with what forces and pressure to use...lol)
Post by: nifan on February 04, 2009, 02:19:12 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 04, 2009, 02:08:30 PM
One thing i would say however, is that far too many people are doing degrees - or at least staring degrees, dropping out and ending up in debt with nothing to show for it. A poor careers service in schools has a lot to answer for. There's an assumption that if you do A-levels, you have to go to University and there is very little guidance given to A-level students on alternative options (or at least there was at my time).

Worse than dropping out is the ones who keep repeating first year continually, though I think the unis have stamped down on that to a degree. I saw many examples of people doing their 3rd "first" year and they could give as much of a shite the third time as the first - none.
Post by: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 02:34:23 PM
I think it is a little spiteful and unfair do hold a grudge against someone just because they went to university.  The words "big shiny degree" kind of give the impression that you don't give degrees any worth at all and think you are better than those who have them san ;)

Nobody really cares at the end of the day whether you went to Uni or not, whether you got kicked out or got your degree, masters or PHD - it's all life experiences that make us the men we are today.  If you can't have a sensible friggin discussion about education without getting your knickers in a twist about being hurt and people looking down on you bullshit then don't read anything in the General Discussion Forum.

Puck's point on respect sounds fair to me.  I respect everyone until they give me a reason not to.

Several on here have given me several in this thread alone.

General Point directed at nobody in particular: If you regret not going to university, if you regret being less educated than the man next to you then do something about it instead of putting down anyone who did..........
Post by: illdecide on February 04, 2009, 02:45:05 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 02:34:23 PM
I think it is a little spiteful and unfair do hold a grudge against someone just because they went to university.  The words "big shiny degree" kind of give the impression that you don't give degrees any worth at all and think you are better than those who have them san ;)

Nobody really cares at the end of the day whether you went to Uni or not, whether you got kicked out or got your degree, masters or PHD - it's all life experiences that make us the men we are today.  If you can't have a sensible friggin discussion about education without getting your knickers in a twist about being hurt and people looking down on you bullshit then don't read anything in the General Discussion Forum.

Puck's point on respect sounds fair to me.  I respect everyone until they give me a reason not to.

Several on here have given me several in this thread alone.

General Point directed at nobody in particular: If you regret not going to university, if you regret being less educated than the man next to you then do something about it instead of putting down anyone who did..........

Well that phrase may have came out different than intended but i have had a few encounters with some Engineers on site with their "Shiny Degrees" in their hip pocket and them throwing orders out like Bilko and when challenged on their decision it was like "your the tradesman i'm the engineer" attitude so do as i say, so i done as he said knowing it was wrong and got him a major bollocking of his boss...lol, with a we grin in his direction "told ya so saan"

All i mean't out of it was nothing beats experience ;) as someone else stated earlier no matter what you have on paper...
Post by: mannix on February 04, 2009, 03:15:48 PM
 My parents had no heed on school for us, if we got a D we were great.Inter cert and left.
Post by: stew on February 04, 2009, 04:52:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2009, 10:44:26 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:40:34 PM
The fact that people even feel that mentioning what their eduction is, is boasting in my book.
I'd be along your lines of thinking Eoghan, it's the same with occupations and salaries, just gives people a chance to brag and blow and when I seen this thread I thought "here we go" but to be fair I havent seen anyone boasting on it.

I thought the same thing POG, but I am very proud of the fact that I got my degree, in 1989 I got hit by a drunk driver and almost lost my life, I had to learn to read and write again and I have epilepsy as a result of that accident, I even tried to do my masters but I couldnt hack school and work and also the family committments and to my shame I quit, my grades werent the best either. :-[

Post by: Maguire01 on February 04, 2009, 05:44:55 PM
Quote from: nifan on February 04, 2009, 02:19:12 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 04, 2009, 02:08:30 PM

Worse than dropping out is the ones who keep repeating first year continually, though I think the unis have stamped down on that to a degree. I saw many examples of people doing their 3rd "first" year and they could give as much of a shite the third time as the first - none.
Boom Boom!
Post by: leenie on February 04, 2009, 05:46:37 PM
primary school, secondary school, university............... and still can't spell!
Post by: magickingdom on February 04, 2009, 07:24:33 PM
Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 03, 2009, 10:33:53 PM

there your own issues really most people couldnt care less. why not start a thread on acting, book publishing etc

Quote from: leenie on February 04, 2009, 05:46:37 PM
primary school, secondary school, university............... and still can't spell!

dytto ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 07:27:31 PM
I assume that those saying no one gives a shit about what education someone has have degrees then?
Post by: milltown row on February 04, 2009, 07:46:13 PM
i don't have any degrees and couldn't give a monkeys. wife has all the degrees and she  never mentions them or uses the letters behind them.

i hope my kids do well (one has done really well while going to a secondary) but I'd prefer my girls to go to the local Grammer school down the road as all her friends from primary go there and they'd fit in better with her chums.

what if your local schools are non catholic schools are you still required to go?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 07:59:15 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 04, 2009, 07:39:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 07:27:31 PM
I assume that those saying no one gives a shit about what education someone has have degrees then?

Why?
Because I've had a fair few look down their nose at me in my time, I know they're in the minoirty but it's wrong to say no one gives a shit. 
Post by: imtommygunn on February 04, 2009, 08:41:38 PM
I have found that once in a job where everyone has a degree then after a while no-one gives a crap about them.

In a job where some have degrees and some don't I can imagine that would be different.

Really a degree is a vehicle to get your foot in the door. After that it doesn't matter that much. Unless you're in a small minority and it actually lends itself to the career you have chosen or fallen into. It doesn't matter in day to day activities and anyone it does matter too is pretty much a snob I would have said.

Post by: milltown row on February 04, 2009, 08:44:51 PM
yeah but how many of ya have those daft photos with the square hats and strange robes on clutching the scroll? pride of place in your Ma's or front room?
Post by: magpie seanie on February 04, 2009, 08:58:26 PM
Toyota Corolla
Patrick
Club
Post by: Eoghan Mag on February 04, 2009, 09:03:50 PM
[quote author=magickingdom link=topic=11067.msg470956#msg470956 date=1233775473

there your own issues really most people couldnt care less. why not start a thread on acting, book publishing etc

I never siad any of these were my issues. I might like to do some of those things but I just used these things as examples of other avenues that do not always relate directly to education.
Post by: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 09:07:23 PM
Quote from: milltown row on February 04, 2009, 08:44:51 PM
yeah but how many of ya have those daft photos with the square hats and strange robes on clutching the scroll? pride of place in your Ma's or front room?

It did mean more to our parents generation.  20 years ago how many Catholics made it to University? That's why your mother puts your graduation picture on the wall.  I let my mother have that much. What is wrong with being proud of that???

Again does this stem from your own regrets? I personally don't care if you have a degree or not.  If someone in the past has looked down their nose at you because you don't have a degree - can I, on behalf of all University educated people, publicly apologise for this? Is that enough?
Now stop persecuting the masses because of a few...............
Post by: stew on February 04, 2009, 09:09:10 PM
Nifan, I am sorry to hear that you didnt finish up the Phd, were you not just a few months away from becoming a doctor in the sciences????

That is a shame altogether. :'(
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 09:20:07 PM
Who asked you to apologise iceman?
Post by: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 09:44:07 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 09:20:07 PM
I thought maybe if people had a gripe about this and someone apologised for it - it might stop the whinging - its getting old
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 09:57:37 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 09:44:07 PM
I thought maybe if people had a gripe about this and someone apologised for it - it might stop the whinging - its getting old
Who has gripes? what whinging? what's getting old?
People dont like it when others look down their noses at them, there's a surprise.
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2009, 11:18:57 PM
The level you need depends on the career. If you want to become a scientist, a PhD is the very minimum that you need - you also need a few years of postdoc work and a few decent publications to have any chance at all of making a start at an academic career. Even then, in many fields, you can have hundreds of people with similar qualifications applying for every decent job.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2009, 11:44:09 PM
Professional Qualification(Doing another one at the minute)

Polo Silver Fox
Spectre
Spicy Meatballs in tossed salad.

On the job experience is better for doing the job but what you have on your CV opens the door.  Another great door opener is sport, as we all know.  My first job interview was about 6 weeks after we won the AI in 1997.  I was nervous as fu ck and not sure of myself(nnever had an interview before). Anyway, the owner of the place lands in, lifts his feet onto the table in front of me and said "Jaysus it must have been some experience to win the AI?"  I relaxed straight away and talked football for a half an hour.  Needless to say I got the job.

The way things are going the need to go back to school will become ever more important.  Multi skills are the future and the ability to change heads will be vital.
Post by: Donagh on February 05, 2009, 08:50:36 AM
Great thread lads, keep the CVs coming - there's something mildy amusing about the amount of boys that will step over such a grammatically incorect title in order to let us know how smart they are. I look forward to the the 'size of the boards penis' and 'how far can the board piss' threads to come.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 05, 2009, 08:57:59 AM
 :D :D
Post by: nifan on February 05, 2009, 09:21:16 AM
Quote from: stew on February 04, 2009, 09:09:10 PM
Nifan, I am sorry to hear that you didnt finish up the Phd, were you not just a few months away from becoming a doctor in the sciences????

Was hoping to finish it part time when I started working, even though I was really not that pushed as I had decided against a career in academia.
Once I started thought the hours I was working where pretty heavy (bunch of slave drivers in our place!) and so i never really got round to finishing.

In the end im not that worried, ive done well enough in my job that the years I spent in uni havent counted against me in the eyes of management (i think!).

The PhD would be a nice to have now, but is in no way necessary for me.
Post by: The Iceman on February 05, 2009, 03:23:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2009, 09:57:37 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 09:44:07 PM
Who has gripes? what whinging? what's getting old?
People dont like it when others look down their noses at them, there's a surprise.

I don't like anyone looking down their nose at me either. But nobody on this board is looking down their nose at you or anyone else because you don't have a degree.
But there still have been complaints and jibes at people for having degrees.  Stop trying to twist things to your own agenda............
Post by: Myles Na G. on February 05, 2009, 06:59:56 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on February 04, 2009, 09:07:23 PM
Quote from: milltown row on February 04, 2009, 08:44:51 PM

It did mean more to our parents generation.  20 years ago how many Catholics made it to University? That's why your mother puts your graduation picture on the wall.  I let my mother have that much. What is wrong with being proud of that???

Again does this stem from your own regrets? I personally don't care if you have a degree or not.  If someone in the past has looked down their nose at you because you don't have a degree - can I, on behalf of all University educated people, publicly apologise for this? Is that enough?
Now stop persecuting the masses because of a few...............

Loads and loads. Honest.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 07:01:06 PM
iceman
QuoteBut nobody on this board is looking down their nose at you or anyone else because you don't have a degree.
I never said they were.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 05, 2009, 09:15:14 PM
Quote from: Donagh on February 05, 2009, 08:50:36 AM
Great thread lads, keep the CVs coming - there's something mildy amusing about the amount of boys that will step over such a grammatically incorect title in order to let us know how smart they are. I look forward to the the 'size of the boards penis' and 'how far can the board piss' threads to come.

Or who picked the coolest avatar?
Post by: milltown row on February 05, 2009, 10:55:09 PM
it doesn't matter how many exams ya have, if someone tried to make someone feel inferior for being less educated then he is a dick, vice versa if someone tries to say your stuck up for doing well in school.

Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2009, 12:46:00 AM
What's the board's average mental age?
- With Fearon?
- Without Fearon?
Post by: Puckoon on February 06, 2009, 12:52:50 AM
I look forward to the the 'size of the boards penis' and 'how far can the board piss' threads to come.

Something tells me people may not be so quick to claim "alienation" or "having their feelings hurt" on the penis size thread.

And I hope to most certainly never look down my nose at another poster in that regard.
Post by: stephenite on February 06, 2009, 01:52:41 AM
No option for honorary degrees?
Post by: Tyrones own on February 06, 2009, 02:38:51 AM
Quote from: milltown row on February 05, 2009, 10:55:09 PM
it doesn't matter how many exams ya have, if someone tried to make someone feel inferior for being less educated then he is a dick, vice versa if someone tries to say your stuck up for doing well in school.

No one can make you feel inferior without your permission
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 06, 2009, 08:24:29 AM

You will of course have noted the one exception. Reply #3.
Post by: Aerlik on February 06, 2009, 09:04:27 AM
B.A. (Hons), M.Sc., and pro-qualification is ATPL (CPL doesn't count)

It's interesting reading some of the comments above re. snobbery.  My two elder brothers are both pretty savvy lads and in no way do I look down upon them even though they might have maybe three CSEs between them.  Educational qualifications are in no way indicative of the character of the person.  One of the most gifted people I ever met was a sparky's labourer who had the most amazing wealth of knowledge about so many different subjects.