GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T O Hare on January 23, 2009, 02:04:08 AM

Title: Charlie Vernon
Post by: T O Hare on January 23, 2009, 02:04:08 AM
He deserevs a thread of his own!! It was a pleasure as a Down man to pay eight pound to watch this man tonight!!!He was immense! he seemed to be everwhereand  is strong, intelligent and two great feet. His turn of pace is unreal !! Armagh will have some midfield if he does not partner McGrane this year, He is one to look out for!!!!
Title: Re: Charlie Vernon
Post by: Final Whistle on January 23, 2009, 09:03:21 AM
sure with big sean giving him pointers over the breakfast table how couldn't he be.

great fella, rather freakishly strong. a throwback to the armagh grimleys except vernon can play too.
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 09:06:12 AM
Seems to be making a claim for midfield so. Good sign.

Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on January 23, 2009, 09:08:35 AM
It's his Saffron blood ;)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2009, 09:12:32 AM
O Hare wind yer neck in. Ye cant go giving every player that has a great/decent game against a rank down team in the Mc Kenna cup in January a thread of his own.

decent player alright but not the player ye make him out to be.
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 09:14:05 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2009, 09:12:32 AM

decent player alright but not the player ye make him out to be.

Based on what?
Post by: ONeill on January 23, 2009, 09:20:53 AM
Definitely not the immense, unreal and intelligent package from what I've seen of him. It's January, McKenna Cup. James Kielt, Sean O'Neill, CJ McGourty, Charlie Vernon, Justin Crozier....they're all a lot further on in terms of fitness/strength. Happened to bump into one of the Down backroom team...thought Vernon was good but equally as good was Loughrey of Antrim.
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 09:24:59 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 23, 2009, 09:20:53 AM
Definitely not the immense, unreal and intelligent package from what I've seen of him. It's January, McKenna Cup. James Kielt, Sean O'Neill, CJ McGourty, Charlie Vernon, Justin Crozier....they're all a lot further on in terms of fitness/strength. Happened to bump into one of the Down backroom team...thought Vernon was good but equally as good was Loughrey of Antrim.

Vernon is a special talent though. He has excelled at every level he has played at. Last year for Armagh he was steady, mainly down to his role, but I think if placed in the middle he could flourish.

He has been built up as the next big CHB, but he is a midfielder plain and simple.

His performances for Harps in the middle (I know it ain't county) are quite astonishing at times, literally can not be stopped.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2009, 09:36:18 AM
Based on my opinion Corn, plain and simple, just an opinion.

there are alot of ifs and maybes about Vernon regarding positions etc but until he actually stars at intercounty Senior level in games of note then i still dont really see him as a "special talent" im afraid.

again its not that i think he is crap but just not as good as some make out.
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 09:38:16 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2009, 09:36:18 AM

there are alot of ifs and maybes about Vernon regarding positions etc but until he actually stars at intercounty Senior level in games of note then i still dont really see him as a "special talent" im afraid.

Yeah fair enough, I am not going to try and change an opinion. Hard for a 22-year-old to star at inetercounty when just on the panel two years and playing a position he doesn;t favour.

Having seen him excell for Harps, Armagh underage and Queen's, I think he will be a main player in the next couple of years.
Post by: Final Whistle on January 23, 2009, 09:58:59 AM
Quote from: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 09:38:16 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2009, 09:36:18 AM

Yeah fair enough, I am not going to try and change an opinion. Hard for a 22-year-old to star at inetercounty when just on the panel two years and playing a position he doesn;t favour.

Having seen him excell for Harps, Armagh underage and Queen's, I think he will be a main player in the next couple of years.

no way is he 22!! id say 20 max!
Post by: Rois on January 23, 2009, 10:07:07 AM
Did the accountancy milkround in Nov (3rd year uni) so he's prob only 20/21
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2009, 10:16:14 AM
Hes definitely in his fourth year at uni... Was a second year the year they won the sigerson...
Post by: Final Whistle on January 23, 2009, 10:29:30 AM
the dinner ladies at st.pat's used to spike his mince pie with angel dust.........................................................................supposedly? ???
Post by: Drung on January 23, 2009, 10:37:45 AM
QuoteHe has excelled at every level he has played at

Every level bar senior inter-county.

So far.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2009, 10:40:17 AM
Quote from: Drung on January 23, 2009, 10:37:45 AM

So far.

Jesus Christ give him a chance... I am a big fan of Vernon, think he has been fantastic when I have seen him play for Queens over the last few years...

How could he show the same levels being played out of position and given strict instructions which hamper his natural game??

I would love to see him get a run with McGrane in the league, and given teh free rein he gets for QUB, see how he excels...
Post by: Minder on January 23, 2009, 10:42:09 AM
Personally i think its ridiculous to start a thread on an individual player in January that has "excelled" in a glorified, tarted up pre season tournament. Nothing against Vernon as he didnt start the thread.........
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 10:44:53 AM

So far.

Has only been on the starting team for one year, many of the best players did not achieve greatness in theri first year.
Post by: DownFanatic on January 23, 2009, 11:15:37 AM
He doesn't drink nor does he eat crisps or chocolate.
Post by: Leo on January 23, 2009, 11:21:27 AM
The best up and coming natural gaelic player I have seen for a few of years. Will achieve massively.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on January 23, 2009, 11:24:05 AM

T O'Hare - take this thread down. i'm sure the lad wouldn't thank you for it
Post by: Minder on January 23, 2009, 11:26:08 AM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on January 23, 2009, 11:24:05 AM

Agree
Post by: Zulu on January 23, 2009, 11:32:33 AM
Why would you want to take it down? Some lads here obviously have a fairly high opinion of themselves, all this board is is a place where GAA fans can natter about various GAA related topics. If Charlie does check in here I'm sure he'll be happy some lads think so highly of him but he'll also know the hard work reaching the top entails. I don't think he'll start skipping training and take up the drink thinking he has made it because of this thread. It's only a bit of craic, lighten up FFS.
Post by: billy the kid on January 23, 2009, 11:50:42 AM

So far.

I would agree with Drung here, Charlie hasnt proved it at Senior intercounty level yet BUT he has only been on the panel 1 year and is very young.

I have seen Vernon play lots of times for Queens, Harps, Armagh and at underage and he does look a good player and I do think he will make an impression at Senior intercounty in the next few years, but I wouldnt be convinced that he is going to be a "Great" of the game, as some would have us believe.

Having seen him play in numerous teams and positions it is my opinion that his best positions are probably Mid field or CHB but he is never a forward, defensive or otherwise, and when played in WHF for Armagh last year he looked lost in most of the games and although he was working very hard he was played out of position. Against Fermanagh in the drawn Ulster final he dissapeared, but to be fair so did some much more seasoned players.

If Vernon was given a go in his more natural positions of Mid-Field or CHB i think he could make more of an impact for the Armagh county team.

He is a better Midfielder than Toner, but I think Toner will be given plenty of chances here as he is a favourite of McDonnell, and I would actually rate D McKenna from cross ahead of both and with McGrane a certainity its hard to see Vernon being given a fair shot here or claiming a spot.

At CHB, Donaghy is not going to be played here, A O'Rourke (good passer but bit slow and can be loose marker) is almost certain to be retained and any experimentation will involve C McKeever who is a great man marker but also has the feet of a Drunk epileptic, thus his distribution is a series of kicks for touch that make ronan O'Gara jealous. Vernon has good passing ability (not as good AOR but still good) and his marking and fitness levels are top notch. I would try him here for Armagh - but it wont happen.

Unfortunately, Vernon will probably be played out of position in the HF line again or as a third midfielder dropping between MF and HB line thus curbing his natural game and causing many a frustrated glance towards the management by Charlie and supporters.

Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on January 23, 2009, 12:26:15 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 23, 2009, 11:26:08 AM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on January 23, 2009, 11:24:05 AM

Agree

no call for ohare to take it down. thats what the threads are for.its his opinion.and he obviously isnt the only one who thinks hes a good player. i agree for one. he was brilliant last night.dominated, scored some cracking solo run points for a big man.
Post by: The GAA on January 23, 2009, 12:34:49 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on January 23, 2009, 11:50:42 AM

So far.

I would agree with Drung here, Charlie hasnt proved it at Senior intercounty level yet BUT he has only been on the panel 1 year and is very young.

I have seen Vernon play lots of times for Queens, Harps, Armagh and at underage and he does look a good player and I do think he will make an impression at Senior intercounty in the next few years, but I wouldnt be convinced that he is going to be a "Great" of the game, as some would have us believe.

Having seen him play in numerous teams and positions it is my opinion that his best positions are probably Mid field or CHB but he is never a forward, defensive or otherwise, and when played in WHF for Armagh last year he looked lost in most of the games and although he was working very hard he was played out of position. Against Fermanagh in the drawn Ulster final he dissapeared, but to be fair so did some much more seasoned players.

If Vernon was given a go in his more natural positions of Mid-Field or CHB i think he could make more of an impact for the Armagh county team.

He is a better Midfielder than Toner, but I think Toner will be given plenty of chances here as he is a favourite of McDonnell, and I would actually rate D McKenna from cross ahead of both and with McGrane a certainity its hard to see Vernon being given a fair shot here or claiming a spot.

At CHB, Donaghy is not going to be played here, A O'Rourke (good passer but bit slow and can be loose marker) is almost certain to be retained and any experimentation will involve C McKeever who is a great man marker but also has the feet of a Drunk epileptic, thus his distribution is a series of kicks for touch that make ronan O'Gara jealous. Vernon has good passing ability (not as good AOR but still good) and his marking and fitness levels are top notch. I would try him here for Armagh - but it wont happen.

Unfortunately, Vernon will probably be played out of position in the HF line again or as a third midfielder dropping between MF and HB line thus curbing his natural game and causing many a frustrated glance towards the management by Charlie and supporters.

Armagh folk would recognise that marking and tackling are major weaknesses in vernon's game. I think it's fair to say that well adjusted football people who have watched vernon play regularly would say midfield is the only spot for him. for the original reasons he can't play in defence
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 12:40:26 PM
Was he not there for Kernan's last year?

I believe he is a shy enough fellah, probably would not appreciate the thread. But I suppose it is nice for people to give him such compliments.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 23, 2009, 12:40:40 PM
Potentially good player - hardly warrants a new thread!!
Post by: bennydorano on January 23, 2009, 12:45:56 PM
To say that tackling is a weakness in his game is incredible!  It's one of the strongest facets of his game.  Charlie could play CHB quite easily, some people seem to base the fact that he's not a good defender on one skinning that he did get from Micael O'Rourke in an Armagh U21 championship semi when Charlie was 18/19 yrs of age.  I've yet to see anyone else do it?  He is  a loose enough marker, but I'd imagine he'd have the class to curtail that instinct if given a job to do.  He gave a display of how CHB should be played against Carrickcruppen in the Armagh senior championship last year.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 23, 2009, 12:46:23 PM
mods ffs.   if you we started a new thread on every Tyrone panellist as good or better than CV there's be 30 new threads.;)   merge!!
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 12:50:03 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 23, 2009, 12:45:56 PM
To say that tackling is a weakness in his game is incredible!  It's one of the strongest facets of his game.  Charlie could play CHB quite easily, some people seem to base the fact that he's not a good defender on one skinning that he did get from Micael O'Rourke in an Armagh U21 championship semi when Charlie was 18/19 yrs of age.  I've yet to see anyone else do it?  He is  a loose enough marker, but I'd imagine he'd have the class to curtail that instinct if given a job to do.  He gave a display of how CHB should be played against Carrickcruppen in the Armagh senior championship last year.

Do you seem him as similar to AOR in his style of play at CHB? Not a tight man-marker but always on the ball delivering and linking up?

For Armagh where do you see him? Midfield for me as fielding is another one of his greatest facets.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 23, 2009, 12:51:23 PM

Benny I took 2-3 off him in a league game in Cross a few years back, but I'd say he has improved since then :P

Seriously though, just give the lad a chance, every few years there is the next great hope. He is at least 3 years from being at the level where we can determine if he will be a great player as opposed to a good player.
Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 12:54:00 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 23, 2009, 12:51:23 PM

Benny I took 2-3 off him in a league game in Cross a few years back, but I'd say he has improved since then :P

Seriously though, just give the lad a chance, every few years there is the next great hope. He is at least 3 years from being at the level where we can determine if he will be a great player as opposed to a good player.

Exactly.

How many years have you retired BC, I'd say Vernon was a pup then and you probably had the elbows out.  :P
Post by: mackers on January 23, 2009, 01:30:41 PM
Charlie is very young but has the POTENTIAL to be a leading player for Armagh for a number of years. It's unfair to comment on him on the inter county stage as he's playing a restrictive role and he's out of position. With Armagh struggling in midfield I would give him a few games in the league there to see whether he can succeed  instead of being shackled like last year. Armagh fans have to remember that when McGeeney and McGrane were his age they were getting their backsides handed to them by Derry in the mid 90s.
Post by: The GAA on January 23, 2009, 02:14:43 PM

I would contend that he's a very poor tackler. strength means feck all in the tackle. the number of times he's blown for knocking seven bells out of fellas because he just swings away at the ball is alarming. o'rourke should be the right man to address that facet of his game. tackling properly is an artform and very very little to do with strength
Post by: YogiBear on January 23, 2009, 02:26:32 PM
He is hardly that good few good games in a pre-season tournament and you are all gone mad T O Hare i thought you would have more sense.  I will remind you of this thread in the summer when he is subbed as Armagh crash out of the Ulster to Tyrone.  Sure Cathal Magee scored two goals against St Marys lets start another thread or lets start a James Kielt thread sure he scored 1 - 5 last nite Vernon only got 4
Post by: bennydorano on January 23, 2009, 02:40:01 PM
Quote from: The GAA on January 23, 2009, 02:14:43 PM

I would contend that he's a very poor tackler. strength means feck all in the tackle. the number of times he's blown for knocking seven bells out of fellas because he just swings away at the ball is alarming. o'rourke should be the right man to address that facet of his game. tackling properly is an artform and very very little to do with strength
I never mentioned his strength and reckon it's got nothing to do with his style of tackling.  His tackling is directly from the McGeeney/McGrane school of trying to knock the ball away rather than slapping away at the player.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 23, 2009, 02:46:19 PM
Posted « on: Today at 02:04:08 AM »

Quote from: T O Hare on January 23, 2009, 02:04:08 AM
He deserevs a thread of his own!! It was a pleasure as a Down man to pay eight pound to watch this man tonight!!!He was immense! he seemed to be everwhereand  is strong, intelligent and two great feet. His turn of pace is unreal !! Armagh will have some midfield if he does not partner McGrane this year, He is one to look out for!!!!

Good night in Gorman's Tom?

Post by: corn02 on January 23, 2009, 02:57:31 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/7847332.stm

Nice points from Charlie.
Post by: andunabu on January 23, 2009, 03:36:42 PM
Excellent performance by this young man.  He has great potential.  I am old enough to remember the great Queens team of 1992-93 and a certain student midfielder stood out, Anthony Tohill.  That was one of the best teams I ever saw, Tohill, McGeeney, Brewster, McCartan, Eamon Burns (Derry), Cathal O'Rourke, McGrane, Mc Guinness, Connolly to namer but a few!!  Vernon would have got on that team!! It augurs well for Armagh :-\ < An excellent team performance last night though.  Can't wait for Sigerson 1st round Queens v Poly.  Should be a cracker!!
Post by: The GAA on January 23, 2009, 03:42:16 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 23, 2009, 02:40:01 PM
His tackling is directly from the McGeeney/McGrane school of trying to knock the ball away rather than slapping away at the player.

Well we'll jus have to agree to disagree on that one
Post by: mackers on January 23, 2009, 05:14:38 PM
Quote from: YogiBear on January 23, 2009, 02:26:32 PM
He is hardly that good few good games in a pre-season tournament and you are all gone mad T O Hare i thought you would have more sense.  I will remind you of this thread in the summer when he is subbed as Armagh crash out of the Ulster to Tyrone.  Sure Cathal Magee scored two goals against St Marys lets start another thread or lets start a James Kielt thread sure he scored 1 - 5 last nite Vernon only got 4
Yea, that's all we're basing our opinions on, a couple of good McKenna Cup performances. ::) ::) ::).   Eejit!!!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 23, 2009, 05:39:51 PM
I've heard a lot of people raving about him but he doesn't look mobile enough for inter-county imho

http://www.suorez.com/NYTimes_Oct_15_06/index.html

Post by: ONeill on January 23, 2009, 07:40:04 PM
Is Vernon the new Larry Reilly?
Post by: Zulu on January 23, 2009, 08:41:10 PM
QuoteCharlie is probably the best known student at QUB

What do you mean by this?
Post by: ONeill on January 23, 2009, 08:44:56 PM
Yes, I found that odd too.
Post by: ONeill on January 23, 2009, 09:14:09 PM
Mmm, there might be a serious drugs problem under your nose, TYP!

These oul people.
Post by: mattockranger on January 23, 2009, 09:20:50 PM
Is his sister doin a line with Sean Cavanagh??

she should have a thread!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 23, 2009, 11:13:11 PM
I've said for a couple of years now that he's, by some distance, our best prospect and arguably the most talented newcomer to the Armagh panel since Ronan Clarke. That said, I've become wary of judging College footballers by intercounty standards. Its great to see Charlie playing so well for Queens but hopefully he can replicate this for Armagh this year. Definitely should be given a run of games at midfield. At the least he has all the atributes to be one of the better players in Ulster over the next few years.
Post by: Armamike on January 23, 2009, 11:56:25 PM
Charlie's got the raw ability and the attitude to succeed. Time will tell, but i'd say given his level of dedication there is more of chance than not that he will be a top inter county player.  I think he'll need a bit of coaching and mentoring though if we're to see him fulfil that potential.

Post by: Gaffer on January 24, 2009, 01:50:55 AM
I believe that Sean Cavanagh ( Footballer of the Year 2008 ) is due to marry Charlie's sister later this year.

Good to see that. Hated the rivalry that occured in 2003 and 2005 which led to neighbours and friends pitting and taunting each other over the matches.

Even though my team Tyrone came off the better in both years (except for the Ulster Final in 05) there was still that bitter rivalary between both sets of supporters which I didn t like.

After Tyrone , I 'll always support an Ulster team against the rest !!!!

Post by: Tyrones own on January 24, 2009, 02:03:32 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 24, 2009, 01:50:55 AM
I believe that Sean Cavanagh ( Footballer of the Year 2008 ) is due to marry Charlie's sister later this year.

Good to see that. Hated the rivalry that occured in 2003 and 2005 which led to neighbours and friends pitting and taunting each other over the matches.

Even though my team Tyrone came off the better in both years (except for the Ulster Final in 05) there was still that bitter rivalary between both sets of supporters which I didn t like.

C'mon the wee six!!

I usually say that around this time of the year too...it's keeping it alive into July or Aug is my weakness ;)
Post by: Gaffer on January 24, 2009, 02:21:23 AM
I think at the time of 2003 and 2005 that both Armagh and Tyrone were scared stiff each other which manifested itself into that bitter rivalary which I hope both siets of supporters have now come away from.

Post by: T O Hare on January 24, 2009, 03:31:40 AM
Kevin McGourty used his column in the gaelic life to talk about Charlie, great minds think alike ;) ;)
Post by: J70 on January 24, 2009, 04:43:10 AM
I believe that Sean Cavanagh ( Footballer of the Year 2008 )

Are you afraid that people will forget who the footballer of the year was?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2009, 07:45:56 AM
Quotequote author=T O Hare link=topic=10920.msg460608#msg460608 date=1232767900]
Kevin McGourty used his column in the gaelic life to talk about Charlie, great minds think alike ;) ;)
"Kevin McGourty" and "great minds" in the same sentence! :D
Post by: RMDrive on January 24, 2009, 10:58:23 AM

C'mon the wee six!!

Does your magnanamous support extend to all 9 Ulster counties of just to 6 of them? I presume you are doing it randomly so out of the nine, which 6 would you support?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 24, 2009, 11:29:06 AM

C'mon the wee six!!

Big Ian would be proud.
Post by: Gaffer on January 24, 2009, 11:47:14 AM
Quote from: RMDrive on January 24, 2009, 10:58:23 AM

C'mon the wee six!!

Does your magnanamous support extend to all 9 Ulster counties of just to 6 of them? I presume you are doing it randomly so out of the nine, which 6 would you support?

Donegal, Tyrone and 4 others !
Post by: RMDrive on January 24, 2009, 11:53:10 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 24, 2009, 11:47:14 AM
Quote from: RMDrive on January 24, 2009, 10:58:23 AM

C'mon the wee six!!

Donegal, Tyrone and 4 others !

LOL. A good selection.
Post by: Gaffer on January 24, 2009, 11:55:46 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 24, 2009, 04:43:10 AM
I believe that Sean Cavanagh ( Footballer of the Year 2008 )

Are you afraid that people will forget who the footballer of the year was?

No !
Post by: Franko on January 24, 2009, 01:20:47 PM
Have been keeping an eye on this guy over the past couple of years and I think he has what it takes to be a star.  However, he is not yet that and for people to say he is definitely going to be some sort of saviour for Armagh is ridiculous.

I also know that he has had 'no drink parties' in his house in belfast and each to their own and all that but that sounds like as much craic as munching on a shit sandwich :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 24, 2009, 02:20:21 PM
Do you need drink to enjoy yourself?
It might be you that has the problem.
Post by: Franko on January 24, 2009, 02:49:52 PM
No. I do think though that a student party where drink is banned wouldn't be particularly enjoyable.  But i'm sure the people who were there had a whale of a time. ;)

Me... a drink problem... from a man who calls himself pintsofguinness... are you having a laugh?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 24, 2009, 02:52:37 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 24, 2009, 02:49:52 PM
No. I do think though that a student party where drink is banned wouldn't be particularly enjoyable.  But i'm sure the people who were there had a whale of a time. ;)

Me... a drink problem... from a man who calls himself pintsofguinness... are you having a laugh?
I think you might want to consider getting some help with your problem.
Post by: Franko on January 24, 2009, 03:12:03 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 24, 2009, 02:52:37 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 24, 2009, 02:49:52 PM

I think you might want to consider getting some help with your problem.

I took a course last week called Charades for Beginners... they tell me it's the first step and i'm on the way to recovery.

But thanks for caring. ;)
Post by: mountainboii on January 24, 2009, 07:32:14 PM
Good opportunity to see Super Charlie on TG4 now  :P
Post by: mountainboii on January 24, 2009, 08:59:39 PM
Shite!

Just squandered the chance to win Queen's the McKenna Cup.

Useless  ;)
Post by: gerry on January 24, 2009, 09:04:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on January 24, 2009, 07:32:14 PM

you can remove this tread now, what a miss chance he had to win it tonight
Post by: RMDrive on January 24, 2009, 09:40:06 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 24, 2009, 09:04:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on January 24, 2009, 07:32:14 PM

you can remove this tread now, what a miss chance he had to win it tonight

Aye but fair play to him for stepping up to take it. He had a tough night tonight. Though Bonner did a tight job on him in the main.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 24, 2009, 09:44:40 PM
Given the conditions, i reckon that was a tougher free than it looked. He did some great work for Queen's tonight - has great strength and made some very tidy passes.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 24, 2009, 09:51:10 PM
Also the fact a free had been missed from near the exact same position minutes earlier was bound to affect who ever took it...confidence is contagious, so is lack of it
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2009, 10:00:11 PM
I'd blame the fecker who stayed in his way while he tied his lacers! Plonker!
Post by: nashville on January 25, 2009, 01:33:05 AM
Quote from: Franko on January 24, 2009, 01:20:47 PM
Have been keeping an eye on this guy over the past couple of years and I think he has what it takes to be a star.  However, he is not yet that and for people to say he is definitely going to be some sort of saviour for Armagh is ridiculous.

I also know that he has had 'no drink parties' in his house in belfast and each to their own and all that but that sounds like as much craic as munching on a shit sandwich :-\

Complete and total lies. Charlie doesn't drink alcohol and has no problem with people who do drink. To suggest he had a party where drink was banned is just childish and making him sound like some kind of bible-basher!

Vernon is from our club. From u12 he has been tipped as the man who could make a difference. He has done it at every single level and played against some of the best at minor, u21 and even roughed it with the Australians when he was captain of the u18 compromise rules squad that travelled to Australia and won the tour, earning the man of the series title. He has won all of his honours playing in the central positions of CHB or MF. The only obstacle he has left to conquer is Senior Intercounty football, and hand on my heart, having watched him from 11 years of age, I feel that if he is given the opportunity to flourish and play in his position of Midfield then it will only be a matter of time until he is talked about in the same breath as McGrane, Cavanagh and Tohill.

A midfield partnership in Gaelic is like one in soccer... one player needs to be restrained and cover the defence, one needs to go forward and chip in with scores. At the minute I feel too much emphasis is placed on Paul McGrane within the Armagh team and there is almost a feeling of whatever Paul does then the other midfielder has to do the other job, basically McGrane gets to decide what he can do. This is something Paul has earned with many outstanding displays and why I feel Charlie would not be a suitable partner for him. When Paul retires I think Charlie should be our number 1 midfielder, given the free role he has with Queens and with Harps to attack and score. His fielding is immense, his tackling is first class (something exhibited in McKenna Cup and Sigerson games thus far), and his score taking ability is great. His passing is very good also, and I believe that when he does become our number 1 midfielder that Ronan Clarke and McDonnell can benefit from his surging runs with layoffs or his long passing ability. But until McGrane calls it a day I don't think Charlie is suited to Armagh's midfield. Until then Charlie will have to make do with doing the donkey running that seems almost compulsory for Armagh half forwards... I look forward to the day when Charlie's real talent is unleashed and people finally realise what all the fuss is about...
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 25, 2009, 01:36:47 AM
Charlie is a class act,
he will be an all star within the next 3 years i have no doubt.
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on January 25, 2009, 01:41:14 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 24, 2009, 10:00:11 PM
I'd blame the fecker who stayed in his way while he tied his lacers! Plonker!

He could n't hit a barn door with a shotgun. He should have waited until kielt tied his laces. He missed another easy chance later on. The queens goalie was the difference.
Post by: Donagh on January 25, 2009, 05:46:26 AM

Fair play to him if he does. As someone trying to bring up a couple of teenage girls, I'm more than prepared to indulge their chatter and let them look up to him, whether it be in the Gaeltacht or on the football field. His footballing ability aside, he's a good example of what our youth should aspire to reach, and you can be damn sure the student Buckfast slabbers around Belfast are simply envious of his self-discipline and application. That also goes for a few of the other lads on that QUB team, whom I'll not embarrass by naming. Cormac McAnallen set the standard and I hope they kick-on now and emulate his success on and off the field.
Post by: ONeill on January 25, 2009, 10:01:05 AM
Well said Donagh. More men like that needed in this country.

I wasn't overly impressed yesterday with his display but that was because he lacked a wee bit of know-how against the Donegal midfield. He was flat-footed for both throw-ins in extra time, one of which resulted in a point for the Donegal midfielder - a lead they never relinguished. I suppose two games in three nights contributed to that. But he has seriously strength and athletic ability and shrugged off a few tackles with frightening ease. I hope he's not another one off the Armagh body-building production line though. They seemed to lose something in terms of speed and support play in late championship. Was he always so muscle-bound or is that a late development?
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 25, 2009, 10:08:04 AM
I hope T O Hare shuts this thread. If Vernon was a Derry man I wouldnt be too happy to see this.

The real season hasnt started yet and the business of opening threads for the praise of individual players should be reserved for those coming to the end of a particularly noteworthy season or career, ie the likes of Cavanagh or Darragh O'Se. I can think of dozens of players who we could all start threads about. All this thread serves to do is build hype and focus the spotlight of every subsequent game like a VernonWatch, and allow the odd eejit to come on and take a cheap shot at worst. This is unfair but likely, particularly if he goes through a bad run of form. If hes the down to earth fella you hear about then im sure he wouldnt be a big fan of seeing this either.

The likes of the Gaelic Life also love to stoke up a lot of hyperbole in January to sell their papers. Wait until he does it for Armagh this season
Post by: Mario on January 25, 2009, 01:45:55 PM
Whisky i dont see the problem with this thread, its a GAA forum and he is an intercounty player who we are discussing, would you have the same objections if it was Ronan Clarke or Paddy Bradley being discussed? No one is being offensive towards the lad which would be out of order. He is a sportsman playing at a high level and like any other sportsman he will get praised and criticised.
Post by: take er canny lad on January 25, 2009, 02:16:32 PM
thon cub cud kick a ball through a wall of mortar
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 25, 2009, 02:58:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 23, 2009, 07:40:04 PM
Is Vernon the new Larry Reilly?
Larry would have put that free over with a pair of wellies on him!
Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2009, 03:14:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2009, 10:01:05 AM

I hope he's not another one off the Armagh body-building production line though. They seemed to lose something in terms of speed and support play in late championship. Was he always so muscle-bound or is that a late development?
Charlie has been huge since about U14, I remember teams in the Feile (think it was in Tipp) trying to devise plans to avoid him.

Sod's law regarding last night, player of the tournament misses the chance to win it.  Hopfully he can stay injury free this year and produce what we know he's capable of.

Good post Nashville!
Post by: corn02 on January 25, 2009, 03:48:10 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 25, 2009, 03:14:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2009, 10:01:05 AM

I hope he's not another one off the Armagh body-building production line though. They seemed to lose something in terms of speed and support play in late championship. Was he always so muscle-bound or is that a late development?
player of the tournament

The most important part of your post. Great start to the year, hope he keeps it up in the league.
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 25, 2009, 06:24:41 PM
Quote from: nashville on January 25, 2009, 01:33:05 AM

Complete and total lies. Charlie doesn't drink alcohol and has no problem with people who do drink. To suggest he had a party where drink was banned is just childish and making him sound like some kind of bible-basher!

Vernon is from our club. From u12 he has been tipped as the man who could make a difference. He has done it at every single level and played against some of the best at minor, u21 and even roughed it with the Australians when he was captain of the u18 compromise rules squad that travelled to Australia and won the tour, earning the man of the series title. He has won all of his honours playing in the central positions of CHB or MF. The only obstacle he has left to conquer is Senior Intercounty football, and hand on my heart, having watched him from 11 years of age, I feel that if he is given the opportunity to flourish and play in his position of Midfield then it will only be a matter of time until he is talked about in the same breath as McGrane, Cavanagh and Tohill.

A midfield partnership in Gaelic is like one in soccer... one player needs to be restrained and cover the defence, one needs to go forward and chip in with scores. At the minute I feel too much emphasis is placed on Paul McGrane within the Armagh team and there is almost a feeling of whatever Paul does then the other midfielder has to do the other job, basically McGrane gets to decide what he can do. This is something Paul has earned with many outstanding displays and why I feel Charlie would not be a suitable partner for him. When Paul retires I think Charlie should be our number 1 midfielder, given the free role he has with Queens and with Harps to attack and score. His fielding is immense, his tackling is first class (something exhibited in McKenna Cup and Sigerson games thus far), and his score taking ability is great. His passing is very good also, and I believe that when he does become our number 1 midfielder that Ronan Clarke and McDonnell can benefit from his surging runs with layoffs or his long passing ability. But until McGrane calls it a day I don't think Charlie is suited to Armagh's midfield. Until then Charlie will have to make do with doing the donkey running that seems almost compulsory for Armagh half forwards... I look forward to the day when Charlie's real talent is unleashed and people finally realise what all the fuss is about...

i know the feeling.lol
Post by: Rav67 on January 25, 2009, 06:46:35 PM
you making another comeback this year mr. stubbs?
Post by: corn02 on January 25, 2009, 07:09:51 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on January 25, 2009, 06:46:35 PM
you making another comeback this year mr. stubbs?

Hopefully
Post by: Orior on January 26, 2009, 08:50:38 AM
Charlie made a lot of sideways handpasses (3-4 yards) on Wednesday evening when I thought he could have booted it up field. Not sure whether the forward just werent showing for the ball. Maybe it was better to keep possession.
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 26, 2009, 09:33:24 AM
Charlie is the first recipient of the 'curse of the GAA Board' award then. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2009, 02:52:00 PM
Saw the game on Sat night and kept an eye out for Vernon after all the natter on here. Good player but is way too bulky on top, he'll lose pace in no time. Should try to get the build of a Darragh O'Sé or a Ciarán Whelan rather than an American Football player...
Post by: Fuzzman on January 26, 2009, 04:16:00 PM
Interesting point Croi as I thought the same myself.
He's got tree trunk legs as well so another typical Armagh weight lifter but he played well the day I saw him for Queens.

Its early days yet for young Vernon but he seemed to struggle last year with the county setup but I think he'll be a fair enough prospect for the upcoming season.
Post by: nashville on January 27, 2009, 11:34:14 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2009, 02:52:00 PM
Saw the game on Sat night and kept an eye out for Vernon after all the natter on here. Good player but is way too bulky on top, he'll lose pace in no time. Should try to get the build of a Darragh O'Sé or a Ciarán Whelan rather than an American Football player...
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 26, 2009, 04:16:00 PM
He's got tree trunk legs as well so another typical Armagh weight lifter but he played well the day I saw him for Queens.

Its early days yet for young Vernon but he seemed to struggle last year with the county setup but I think he'll be a fair enough prospect for the upcoming season.

If only the people on this thread knew him (I realise that is of course impossible and the whole point of a discussion forum), but Charlie is certainly not another typical Armagh weight lifter. As mentioned earlier Charlie has been rather large since u14. He has a big frame and not a drop of fat on him, he only started lifting weights 2 years ago with Armagh, and anyone who saw him or unfortunately for them ran into him before that would definitely tesify that he has always been so big. His diet and dedication to training from a young age have got him where he is today. Armagh club players and his fellow Queen's and Armagh team-mates would tell you that slow is certainly one thing he isn't.

Also bearing in mind that Charlie played the entire Championship campaign with a broken bone in his right foot sustainted in the "friendly" against Dublin in Cullyhanna, I am looking forward to a fully fit Vernon blowing away his opposition this year.
Post by: Abble on January 27, 2009, 12:44:08 PM

fuzzman for his first proper year in the team he done well, some exceptional moments which he will have relished along with a couple of blips which an inteliigent fella like him will have taken on board. as well as this it was managements first season so there is a long way to go for all involved.

I'm not sure what it is these days but why do some people think they can come on to the boards and single out any particular indiividual attempting to criticise them after playing senior only one year...do people expect these guys to be automatic straight replacements for the  likes of established players as in mcgeeney or mcgrane or the doohers and dara o'se's etc ? it will only be over a period of maybe 4 - 5 years that players can get time to mature and setlle into their own style.

every county has their own 1 or 2 great prospects and no-one else is getting a thread dedicated to them.....i'd prefer to see this thread taken down til tell yis the truth
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 27, 2009, 01:58:31 PM
I'd be worried that Charlie Vernon might become another great white (legged and ginger haired) hope who stars at inter-varsity level for Queen's, but never really cuts the mustard or fulfils his potential at senior inter-county level.

A bit like Danny Barr and Paul Brewster.
Post by: whiskeysteve on January 27, 2009, 02:50:25 PM
Quote from: Mario on January 25, 2009, 01:45:55 PM
Whisky i dont see the problem with this thread, its a GAA forum and he is an intercounty player who we are discussing, would you have the same objections if it was Ronan Clarke or Paddy Bradley being discussed? No one is being offensive towards the lad which would be out of order. He is a sportsman playing at a high level and like any other sportsman he will get praised and criticised.

I wouldnt care too much if it was Clarke or Bradley but that is precisely the point. Clarke and Bradley are now seasoned intercounty players who have consistently produced the goods. For example Clarkes AI performance on one of the greatest Kerry players of this generation and Bradley being within a couple of seasons from becoming the top scorer in Ulster ever. Vernon has not had the oppurtunity to reach anywhere near this standard yet. For every great prospect there is a disappointment and I would be slightly uneasy about a thread started on the hype of a mckenna cup performance which leads on to a poster speculating that he will be as good as a Tohill or Cavanagh which is quite unlikely and in any case wont be proven til he has several seasons under his belt
Post by: Fuzzman on January 27, 2009, 05:15:14 PM
Too true Abble he needs time to settle in and Armagh are in transition mode at the moment.

A few years ago we were all told that young Mulgrew would be the next best thing and we're still kinda waiting on him to prove it.
Even Brian McGuigan took a year or two to get settled into the team and show his true worth.

Post by: Final Whistle on January 27, 2009, 05:17:35 PM

not your average armagh weight lifter. he has been freakishly big since i first seen him and that was 13 years ago!!
Post by: take er canny lad on January 27, 2009, 10:48:52 PM
some say "big ben" is timed to his watch
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on February 16, 2009, 11:03:04 PM
Quote from: take er canny lad on January 27, 2009, 10:48:52 PM
some say "big ben" is timed to his watch

thought that was chuck norris..