GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2009, 05:27:19 AM

Title: Its confirmed...all Nordies are paranoid
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2009, 05:27:19 AM
I'll bet he has a theory on who shot JFK (and JR) as well.....McEneaney has lost it...

Monaghan boss fears anti-Ulster conspiracy
14 January 2009

Monaghan senior football manager Seamus McEnaney believes the GAA's new experimental rules could be interpreted as being anti-Ulster.

Banty is of the opinion that, were they to become permanent, the trial regulations will have a particularly adverse effect on Ulster teams, who deploy a more robust style of play.

"It would hurt a lot of teams, but there are a lot of people out there who feel that they are targeted towards Ulster, and you definitely couldn't disagree with that fact," he argues.

"You couldn't say it's NOT targeted against Ulster teams. Ulster teams in general - and Leinster teams like Dublin and Meath, may I add - play it to the line most of the time. It's a physical game and that's where we want it.

"We were bred in for it to be a physical game and we are losing that. That is a very important part of it. Yes, the catch, the kick and the solo and everything else that goes along with that is a very important part of our game, but we can't bring in new rules at the expense of physicality."
Title: Re: Its confirmed...all Nordies are paranoid
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2009, 06:28:34 AM
Sure wasn't it Banty's own Monaghan team's defeat in the 1979 AI semi-final that led, to all intents, to the banning of the handpass goal.....he's one to talk given all the pressure  for rule change his crowd exerted at the time !
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2009, 06:39:11 AM
QuoteBTW Mike, we're paranoid and proud of it, no confirmation needed

Go on, tell us in what other ways are we out to get ye ?
Post by: Zapatista on January 17, 2009, 07:29:08 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 17, 2009, 06:01:54 AM
It's not just McEneaney, that well known Kerry supporter, Ross Carr fears for Ulster teams..........

Down senior football manager Ross Carr has lashed out at the GAA's new experimental playing rules, insisting they are designed to restrict the success of Ulster counties.

Carr believes the GAA should be more focused on exposing players who feign injury and exaggerate the effect of tackles, rather than curtailing the naturally physical side of the game.

The likes of Armagh and All-Ireland champions Tyrone will be worst hit by the new rules, insists Carr.

"Everybody's standing off and it's more like sevens' football," he explained. "Players are afraid to make tackles in case they get caught for yellow cards.

"I didn't think football was cynical to begin with and the powers that be have taken umbrage against Armagh and Tyrone's style of play and Ulster's success and tried to stop it.

"Look at the amount of games played over the course of the year," the All-Ireland medallist went on. "How many serious violations are there? I don't think that football is worse than any other sport.

"In all of the new rules, why has there been no outcry against feigners, fakers and divers? That's far worse in my view and a player should not play for six months if he attempts to get another player sent off.

"I just feel that the success of Armagh and Tyrone has been interpreted in a certain way, which has led to begrudgery."

Carr also feels that the art of the handpass has become overused, believing it leads to scrum-like circumstances.

"It's the handpass that needs to be looked at," he said. "The amount of handpassing is creating the problems and the one thing we can't do is take the physical confrontation out of Gaelic football."

It would seem that neither Tyrone or Armagh are quite as worried as Ross and Seamus.

BTW Mike, we're paranoid and proud of it, no confirmation needed.  As the saying goes, just because you're paranoid it doesn't mean they're not out to get you!

That is utter nonsence!!! Armagh are not successfully ;)
Post by: heffo on January 17, 2009, 10:08:11 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on January 17, 2009, 07:29:08 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 17, 2009, 06:01:54 AM
It's not just McEneaney, that well known Kerry supporter, Ross Carr fears for Ulster teams..........

Down senior football manager Ross Carr has lashed out at the GAA's new experimental playing rules, insisting they are designed to restrict the success of Ulster counties.

Carr believes the GAA should be more focused on exposing players who feign injury and exaggerate the effect of tackles, rather than curtailing the naturally physical side of the game.

The likes of Armagh and All-Ireland champions Tyrone will be worst hit by the new rules, insists Carr.

"Everybody's standing off and it's more like sevens' football," he explained. "Players are afraid to make tackles in case they get caught for yellow cards.

"I didn't think football was cynical to begin with and the powers that be have taken umbrage against Armagh and Tyrone's style of play and Ulster's success and tried to stop it.

"Look at the amount of games played over the course of the year," the All-Ireland medallist went on. "How many serious violations are there? I don't think that football is worse than any other sport.

"In all of the new rules, why has there been no outcry against feigners, fakers and divers? That's far worse in my view and a player should not play for six months if he attempts to get another player sent off.

"I just feel that the success of Armagh and Tyrone has been interpreted in a certain way, which has led to begrudgery."

Carr also feels that the art of the handpass has become overused, believing it leads to scrum-like circumstances.

"It's the handpass that needs to be looked at," he said. "The amount of handpassing is creating the problems and the one thing we can't do is take the physical confrontation out of Gaelic football."

It would seem that neither Tyrone or Armagh are quite as worried as Ross and Seamus.

BTW Mike, we're paranoid and proud of it, no confirmation needed.  As the saying goes, just because you're paranoid it doesn't mean they're not out to get you!

That is utter nonsence!!! Armagh are not successfully ;)

Armagh are not successfully what?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 17, 2009, 10:17:12 AM
It is strange that the new rules always seem to come in after Ulster teams have been succesful. Durimg the 90's after a few ulster wins a new rule was brought in to limit the number of handpasses. In round 2004 we had the sin bin after Tyrone and Armaghs victory. This year after Tyrones win we have the new yellow card rule. I can't think of to many other rules being introduced this last 20 years, strange its always after an ulster success. When Kerry win the rules are fine.
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2009, 10:18:20 AM
Yeah, that'll stop the Ulster dominance of hurling as well. Well done Eamon! Next he'll been seen out around Carrick looking for ninja's in the ditches.
Post by: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 10:24:58 AM
Banty talks some awful shite. Full of his own self importance, can't figure out why myself, they haven't won anything.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 17, 2009, 11:41:50 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 10:24:58 AM
Banty talks some awful shite. Full of his own self importance, can't figure out why myself, they haven't won anything.

Is he not allowed an opinion?
Maybe thats why Piller was so quiet in the media during his successful term with the Dubs! ::)
Post by: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 11:54:15 AM
He wants an opinion on everything, emigration, new rules, on why I'm the greatest monaghan man of all time despite the fact i've never trained them to win anything. Does my head in.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 17, 2009, 11:56:27 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 11:54:15 AM
He wants an opinion on everything, emigration, new rules, on why I'm the greatest monaghan man of all time despite the fact i've never trained them to win anything. Does my head in.

Fair enough, but i would suspect that a reporter asked him his veiws on the new rules and he just replied!
Post by: Maguire01 on January 17, 2009, 12:07:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 11:54:15 AM
Did he not train them to win the Division 2 League in his first season? He's also leading Monaghan through their best spell in 20 odd years. And he has them pretty much around the top 10 in the country, which is pretty respectable for a county with one of the lowest populations in the country.

Also, it's not as if he's holding press conferences to share his opinions every week. He's being asked direct questions after a match and he's giving his opinion. I'm not sure where you're getting the "greatest monaghan man of all time" idea.
Post by: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 12:32:22 PM
I don't like him maguire, thats been honest about it. Its as if Monghan should be lucky to have him sort of attitude. The brains behind the monaghan revival is Mc Elkennon- who is one the top coaches anywhere in Ireland.  I've heard the way Bantys treated some individuals on his squads and I wouldn't have any time for him to be honest.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 17, 2009, 01:03:27 PM
I think most people in Monaghan were very happy he decided to stay on. I don't doubt McElkennon's talent for one second, but he wasn't able to work any miracles when he was on his own with Cavan, so i'm not sure it's fair to credit him alone with Monaghan's recent reversal of fortunes.
Post by: Schkite on January 17, 2009, 01:07:55 PM
He was asked a few words after a game, it's not his fault they keep getting brought up days after he said it. At this time of year when there's little to talk about, the media take things like what Banty and Carr said, and turn them into long-winded conspirancy theories just because they're the only semi-interesting things being said about the GAA at the minute.

And since when were Monaghan people nordies? News to me.
Post by: comethekingdom on January 17, 2009, 01:24:27 PM
The only reason Banty is speaking out is beacuse Dick Clerkin and his likes wouldn't last 5 mins on a pitch with the new rules!  ;)
Post by: Schkite on January 17, 2009, 01:53:03 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on January 17, 2009, 01:24:27 PM
The only reason Banty is speaking out is beacuse Dick Clerkin and his likes wouldn't last 5 mins on a pitch with the new rules!  ;)

In all seriousness, you're not far off. As good as he is, I'd be surprised to see Dessie Mone last a full game under the new rules! Then again maybe it will force him to change his fondness for the yellow card, which would be fantastic(not very likely though).
Post by: donelli on January 17, 2009, 05:51:13 PM
Quote from: Schkite on January 17, 2009, 01:07:55 PM
He was asked a few words after a game, it's not his fault they keep getting brought up days after he said it. At this time of year when there's little to talk about, the media take things like what Banty and Carr said, and turn them into long-winded conspirancy theories just because they're the only semi-interesting things being said about the GAA at the minute.

probably something to do with their geographical position and the fact they are in ulster...
what part of gregory campbells army are you from?   ;D
Post by: donelli on January 17, 2009, 05:53:39 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 12:32:22 PM
I don't like him maguire, thats been honest about it. Its as if Monghan should be lucky to have him sort of attitude. The brains behind the monaghan revival is Mc Elkennon- who is one the top coaches anywhere in Ireland.  I've heard the way Bantys treated some individuals on his squads and I wouldn't have any time for him to be honest.

cant fault the man. wears his heart on his sleeve, is a passionate monaghan man, and does his job for the love of the game and county...
Post by: his holiness nb on January 17, 2009, 05:54:05 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on January 17, 2009, 10:17:12 AM
It is strange that the new rules always seem to come in after Ulster teams have been succesful. Durimg the 90's after a few ulster wins a new rule was brought in to limit the number of handpasses. In round 2004 we had the sin bin after Tyrone and Armaghs victory. This year after Tyrones win we have the new yellow card rule. I can't think of to many other rules being introduced this last 20 years, strange its always after an ulster success. When Kerry win the rules are fine.

Jaysus lads, and ye say the Dubs are paranoid!!  :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Schkite on January 17, 2009, 06:18:33 PM
Quote from: donelli on January 17, 2009, 05:51:13 PM
Quote from: Schkite on January 17, 2009, 01:07:55 PM

probably something to do with their geographical position and the fact they are in ulster...
what part of gregory campbells army are you from?   ;D

Fair enough, but generally a "nordie" is what you call someone from NI. Maybe I'm being a bit pedantic but that's how everyone I know define a "nordie". Don't really care about it to be honest, was just making a passing comment.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 17, 2009, 06:34:29 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 17, 2009, 05:54:05 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on January 17, 2009, 10:17:12 AM

Jaysus lads, and ye say the Dubs are paranoid!!  :D :D :D :D :D

But we know we're paranoid.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 17, 2009, 06:35:14 PM
I don't think he even got ticked last Sunday. He definitely didn't get a yellow card.

I suppose Kerry are different - with the likes of Galvin & O'Sé, it's generally straight to red, so the yellow card rule won't make any difference.
Post by: orangeman on January 17, 2009, 06:40:36 PM
Paranoid ? I hear Kerry have appointed a specialist in paranoia after the past few years. Jack O'Connor will have him on the sideline at all times during the year.  ;) :D
Post by: armaghniac on January 17, 2009, 07:19:07 PM
QuoteI hear Kerry have appointed a specialist in paranoia after the past few years.

Once again this will be an internal appointment, Kerry won't need to look outside the county.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 17, 2009, 09:35:05 PM

Dara can't manage with the present ones! ;D
Post by: orangeman on January 17, 2009, 11:20:43 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 17, 2009, 07:19:07 PM
QuoteI hear Kerry have appointed a specialist in paranoia after the past few years.

Once again this will be an internal appointment, Kerry won't need to look outside the county.

;) ;) ;D ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on January 18, 2009, 02:25:28 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 17, 2009, 06:39:11 AM
QuoteBTW Mike, we're paranoid and proud of it, no confirmation needed

Go on, tell us in what other ways are we out to get ye ?

Not sure... but I do know beating us on the big stage sure isn't one of them ;D :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 07:46:06 PM
QuoteNot sure... but I do know beating us on the big stage sure isn't one of them

lets see if ye turn up this year....I'll bet ye're making up the excuses already....
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2009, 07:48:12 PM
I think it's incrediably funny Mike Sheehy that Kerry have brought back a manager to beat Tyrone, that couldn't do it 4 years ago.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:01:09 PM
Not half as funny as Mickey harte's abysmal attempts at retaining the trophy.
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2009, 08:03:00 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:01:09 PM
Not half as funny as Mickey harte's abysmal attempts at retaining the trophy.

I'm going to use this as my signature after the third Sunday of September this year ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:03:58 PM
So I have you on record that Tyrone are going to win the AI this year ?
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2009, 08:06:39 PM
You do Mike.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:15:09 PM
Good, I'll be using that as my signature after the quarter-finals this year so.
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2009, 08:16:44 PM
To motivate the Kerry boys? You could end up scaring them ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:43:36 PM
I think the definition of scared would be to not show up for the fight. At least we always show up.
Post by: Lucius Fox on January 18, 2009, 09:01:56 PM
Like Kerry did against Meath in the 2001 All-Ireland semi??
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2009, 09:09:30 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:43:36 PM
I think the definition of scared would be to not show up for the fight. At least we always show up.

Been a long time since you showed up to a Tyrone game ;)
Post by: Gaffer on January 18, 2009, 09:22:37 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 18, 2009, 08:43:36 PM

Who do you thnk will win the AIF in 2009, Mike?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 01:29:11 AM
Dublin of course
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 02:00:11 AM
QuoteLike Kerry did against Meath in the 2001 All-Ireland semi??

It was a great Meath performance, a bit like the 1996 semi...remember that ? the one you are still whinging about 12 years later  ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on January 19, 2009, 02:45:24 AM
Quote.I'll bet ye're making up the excuses already....

Yerra FFS Mikey...we'll all simply go in to hiding til the smoke clears ;)  seems to work for you :D
Post by: Main Street on January 19, 2009, 12:21:02 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 17, 2009, 12:32:22 PM
Mentor observes team performances in the big games. Mentor perceives fitness issues. A blind goat could perceive those fitness issues. Mentor brings in a top class fitness coach. Mentor makes a good call. Along with that, the Mentor oversees an overhaul of the training facilities. The respect, it would appear, is mutual between them.

I'll stay if Seamus stays' - McElkennon
30 August 2007

Monaghan trainer Martin McElkennon says he would be happy to stay on board the Oriel County train if team-manager Seamus McEnaney is retained in the hot seat.

"I'd say I'll go back to Monaghan for another year, as long as Seamus is re-appointed," McElkennon declared. "I really enjoyed the year we had and we could have gone further if we had that wee bit of luck.

"I think the Monaghan players emerged from the year with great credit. To watch these boys train this year was phenomenal.

"They were seriously committed and pushed themselves to the limit throughout the year and I have the utmost respect for them."
Post by: Maguire01 on January 19, 2009, 01:27:33 PM
And Mentor motivates team / instills passion? Surely McEnaney would tick that box as well. It would seem from the outside that he is well liked by the players.
Post by: Canalman on January 19, 2009, 01:57:44 PM
Just want to nail this  barstool myth that recent rule changes were brought in as a result of Ulster domination. For me the biggest changes to date were

1 Abolition of handpass score in around 1980. (later to be partially re introduced).
2 Introduction of frees/ sidelines from the hand in or around 1990.

Hardly great times for Ulster football in each occasion.

The recent changes will imo favour the better Panels as opposed to the better Teams and if the Ulster players are as good as posted here then they will win all around them over the next few years.

Post by: cornafean on January 19, 2009, 02:44:05 PM
Quote from: Canalman on January 19, 2009, 01:57:44 PM
Just want to nail this  barstool myth that recent rule changes were brought in as a result of Ulster domination. For me the biggest changes to date were

1 Abolition of handpass score in around 1980. (later to be partially re introduced).
2 Introduction of frees/ sidelines from the hand in or around 1990.

Hardly great times for Ulster football in each occasion.

Indeed, but as the examples you cite happened 29 & 19 years ago respectively, I don't really see how they are that relevant to the 2009 discussion.

That said, Mickey Harte is on record as welcoming the Sin Bin proposals in 2004, at a time when (as now) his Tyrone team were All Ireland champions. http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2004/02/25/story394596466.asp

The recent changes will imo favour the better Panels as opposed to the better Teams and if the Ulster players are as good as posted here then they will win all around them over the next few years.

You're right there. Tyrone and Kerry spring immediately to mind.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 06:51:46 PM
QuoteYerra FFS Mikey...we'll all simply go in to hiding til the smoke clears   seems to work for you

I've been on the board consistently since september.....you on the other hand were a lot quieter in 2006,2007,2008.

A bit of a fair weather fan you are, you disappear when the going gets tough.
Post by: cavan4ever on January 19, 2009, 07:11:36 PM
If i had of known there was a bit of Banty and Monaghan bashing going on in here i would have joined in.

Can you change the name of the thread so everyone know what is going on  :D :D
Post by: Gaffer on January 19, 2009, 08:39:00 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 01:29:11 AM
Dublin of course

Even you realise that the current Kerry team just haven t got what it takes anymore!!!
Post by: Main Street on January 19, 2009, 09:01:33 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on January 19, 2009, 07:11:36 PM
If i had of known there was a bit of Banty and Monaghan bashing going on in here i would have joined in.

Why not? there's nothing lower than a Cavan inferiority complex.
It's tough living down wind from the pure smell of flax in bloom.

Post by: haranguerer on January 20, 2009, 01:33:09 PM
Christ, you're right caan4ever, almost missed it!

I agree wholeheartedly with indiana - the bantys a clown. If hes not in the paper he wants to be in the paper - a journalists dream with little to no football nous. Even if everyone did want him out, the papers would never report it - next thing they'd be having to try and get an interview with the new m'han manager instead of just waiting for him to phone them like the old one...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 20, 2009, 03:58:33 PM
I wouldn't say I was paranoid or anything, and like any of the most loyal journoes, I'm loath to betraying my sources, so let's just say that this work-in-progress 'memo' from GAA HQ, being put together by some grouping calling themselves the 'Panel for the Resuscitation of Inter-County Kicks', just 'fell' into my lap.

How to Stop Ulster  How To Improve the Footballing Spectacle

In light of the general criticisms of the footballing spectacle of late we, in the PRICKs task force, have been charged with drawing up proposals for the general betterment of Gaelic Football. For reasons so as not to alarm anyone, the panel's existence shall not be divulged (or admitted) until such times as we are ready to present our final proposals. The panel consists of representatives of all, some, clubs in Ireland Kerry a particular county, the brilliance and tradition of which cannot be challenged or gainsaid by any mere mortal from any other county. We must stress that at this point, this document is nothing more than a draft.

We had also considered showing all players who play in a predominantly white shirt with red trim a yellow card for soloing the ball, but we have concluded that that may be viewed as a regulation too far, if not an intolerable interference by the referees.

Initial feedback from all parts of the country county, from Cahirciveen to Coolkeragh, has been overwhelmingly positive. Indeed, there hasn't been a single voice of dissent, which is surely a reflection on the quality of the proposals for the game in general contained herein. We are confident that the integrity and honesty of these proposals will find favour with all right thinking Gaelic Football folk.
Post by: cavan4ever on January 20, 2009, 04:32:36 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 19, 2009, 09:01:33 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on January 19, 2009, 07:11:36 PM

Why not? there's nothing lower than a Cavan inferiority complex.
It's tough living down wind from the pure smell of flax in bloom.

Of course your right. 
Post by: Schkite on January 20, 2009, 04:52:03 PM
Damien Cassidy is now giving out about the new rules, why not have a go at him? Or Ross Carr who originally complained? Seems to me yous are just Banty-bashing for the sake of it and it's little to do with what he's said on the new rules.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 20, 2009, 11:04:06 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 06:51:46 PM
QuoteYerra FFS Mikey...we'll all simply go in to hiding til the smoke clears   seems to work for you

I've been on the board consistently since september.....you on the other hand were a lot quieter in 2006,2007,2008

Mike..had you been around as much as you say, you would have known that myself and my fellow brethren have been in quite the
celebratory mood since September ;D...soexactly why would I be quieter in 2008 :D

QuoteA bit of a fair weather fan you are, you disappear when the going gets tough.

Speaking of...Has anyone seen Mikey.. Mikey.. Mikey..  :-X :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 21, 2009, 12:23:07 AM
thats exactly my point you tulip, you were a lot quieter pre AI than post AI....the year doesnt start in sept you know.

Nothing worse than bandwagon jumpers like yourself. You're as bad as Armagh4sam.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 21, 2009, 01:40:51 AM
Quotethats exactly my point you tulip,

Ouch Mikey, though it is toned down from your usual sting...someone had a word in your ear perhaps ;)

Quoteyou were a lot quieter pre AI than post AI

No I wasn't... sure we hold no fear of the Kingdom, '86 is a long long time ago Mikey ;D

Quote.the year doesnt start in sept you know.

Really, Kerry's usually does :o.... no sorry that would be August :D

QuoteNothing worse than bandwagon jumpers like yourself

Yerra FFS what would I know about Jumpers..sure tis only ye boyos down there that wear them auld things anymore 8)

QuoteYou're as bad as Armagh4sam.

Leave O'Neill outta this  >:(

Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 21, 2009, 03:30:25 AM
Its flattering how you hang on my every word, but I think its time to ease up on the auld quote function. You're like a parrot at this stage.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 21, 2009, 04:06:04 AM
Don't be getting out ahead of yourself now Mike..you're not that good.
I do think it's funny though how your name calling has gone soft..bit like the football in the Kingdom I suppose
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 21, 2009, 04:16:41 AM
well I dont want you and Gabriel hurl getting your knickers in a twist and running to  the Tyrone mods therefore I have to limit how badly I kick your arse around the board. 
Post by: Tyrones own on January 21, 2009, 04:23:32 AM
Wise up...sure you're the auld Village idiot of the board, there'll be no arse kicked here tonight or any
other night for that matter, your not good enough 8)
Post by: haranguerer on January 21, 2009, 08:39:59 AM
Quote from: Schkite on January 20, 2009, 04:52:03 PM
Damien Cassidy is now giving out about the new rules, why not have a go at him? Or Ross Carr who originally complained? Seems to me yous are just Banty-bashing for the sake of it and it's little to do with what he's said on the new rules.

Theres no point saying anything about them pair, sure half their own supporters would agree with ya.... ;)
Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2009, 09:45:59 AM
Good stuff there FOSB. Pity it got swamped in the handbags stuff on the terrace that followed.
Post by: Main Street on January 21, 2009, 01:52:55 PM
It was a very enjoyable piece FSOB,
also very true  :)

Seriously though, I thought the ref did a good job with his handling of the Monaghan Tyrone game.
A suitable level of physicalites to get a bit of blood flowing in the freezing crowd but the lid was kept on.

Post by: Maguire01 on January 21, 2009, 10:36:54 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 21, 2009, 01:52:55 PM
Seriously though, I thought the ref did a good job with his handling of the Monaghan Tyrone game.
A suitable level of physicalites to get a bit of blood flowing in the freezing crowd but the lid was kept on.

Yes, he did a good job, but that's because he didn't really apply the new rules.