Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on December 19, 2008, 11:54:58 AM

Title: Christmas Bonus
Post by: illdecide on December 19, 2008, 11:54:58 AM
I just opened the cheque there to find nothing extra in it at all...raging i am. I would usually be first to confront the boss on an issue like this but i know how things are at the minute and wouldn't want to jeopardise my job or anything but when i started here 14 months ago the boss told me himself that there would be "2" bonuses a year and a yearly review of my salary... Obviously i was in here a year last month and no review!!!

What do ya reckon lads should i pull him in by the ears and tell him or sit tight and see how things go after Christmas...
Title: Re: Christmas Bonus
Post by: under the bar on December 19, 2008, 11:56:34 AM
Tell him you have a couple of stories his wife might be interested in hearing.........
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 19, 2008, 11:58:45 AM
Have you a contract stating that you would get 2 bonuses a year and a yearly reveiw illdecide? 
Post by: EC Unique on December 19, 2008, 12:13:28 PM
FFS lads. Can you not see what is happening at present? The next 12 months will be a major struggle for alot of companies to stay afloat and keep people in jobs.. I think you should quit whinging about a bonus and just be glad you have an income!  ::) :-\
Post by: Tankie on December 19, 2008, 12:20:36 PM
A bonus is what its says 'a bonus' and if a company cannot afford to pay it well then you wont get it. Not too confident myself this year either!
Post by: illdecide on December 19, 2008, 12:21:20 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 19, 2008, 12:13:28 PM
FFS lads. Can you not see what is happening at present? The next 12 months will be a major struggle for alot of companies to stay afloat and keep people in jobs.. I think you should quit whinging about a bonus and just be glad you have an income!  ::) :-\

well thats why i'm asking you lot...I don't have it on my contract it was a verbal and i was only expecting something on the basis that he told me i'd get something when i started. I know the state the jobs market is at this minute in time thats why i haven't gone in and confronted him on the issue as i certainly wouldn't want to be unemployed...
Post by: illdecide on December 19, 2008, 12:22:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on December 19, 2008, 12:20:36 PM
A bonus is what its says 'a bonus' and if a company cannot afford to pay it well then you wont get it. Not too confident myself this year either!

If thats the case then thats fine, but he could at least say "I know i promised you a bonus but due to the current situation i cannot afford to give you one" then i'd say fair enough...
Post by: bennydorano on December 19, 2008, 12:23:32 PM
Funny, I read an article during the week which was basically saying that we can expect to see a some companies chancing their arms with bonuses - because of the general situation, they reckon people might be afraid of opening their bakes if they dont get one.  

Depends on your industry and how it's being effected I suppose - if you work in the banking sector you'd have a bit of a cheek.
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2008, 12:27:36 PM
My ma works in a nursing home and they usually get a few quid extra at Christmas but got a note in her pay packet yesterday saying "due to the current financial climate we are unable to give cash bonuses this year but we are giving each member of staff a fruit basket"...........I believe the steam is still coming from her ears.
Post by: red hander on December 19, 2008, 12:27:51 PM
Our bosses have just instigated a pay freeze, thus they are failing to honour the third year of a three-year pay deal.  Surely this is a breach of contract?  Any lawyers out there can advise? It would be much appreciated
Post by: Onion Bag on December 19, 2008, 12:28:50 PM
Im pretty much in the same boat, supposed to get a couple of bonuses a year, opened up the slip and feck all extra in it, to be honest i wasnt expecting anything this year given the current climate. So im just going to sit tight and say f**k all, we had 2 rounds of redundancies this year, so i should be lucky i still have a job never mind a xmas bonus
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on December 19, 2008, 12:37:58 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 19, 2008, 12:27:51 PM
Our bosses have just instigated a pay freeze, thus they are failing to honour the third year of a three-year pay deal.  Surely this is a breach of contract?  Any lawyers out there can advise? It would be much appreciated

I really believe there are people in the work force that would rather see their company go under than take a pay freeze..get f**king real.........muppets!!
Post by: Bacon on December 19, 2008, 12:40:24 PM
Christmas Bonus is a thing of the past.
Post by: man in black on December 19, 2008, 12:53:14 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 19, 2008, 12:27:36 PM
due to the current financial climate we are unable to give cash bonuses this year but we are giving each member of staff a fruit basket"..........

Its all gone pear shaped.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 19, 2008, 12:59:33 PM
sour grapes if you ask me..................
Post by: red hander on December 19, 2008, 01:26:01 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on December 19, 2008, 12:37:58 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 19, 2008, 12:27:51 PM

I really believe there are people in the work force that would rather see their company go under than take a pay freeze..get f**king real.........muppets!!

There isn't a snowball's chance in hell of the firm I work for going under ... in fact it will turn another healthy profit ... it is just using the recession as an excuse to cut costs which will be handed to the shareholders in dividends ... what do you want us to do? Bend over and take it up the arse from a shower of bastards who plead poverty every time there's pay negotiations, even when they enjoy substantial profits, or protect hard won rights?  Away and grow a spine...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 19, 2008, 01:28:44 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 19, 2008, 12:21:20 PM

well thats why i'm asking you lot...I don't have it on my contract it was a verbal

Not worth the paper it wasn't written on so.
Post by: rrhf on December 19, 2008, 01:33:00 PM
If you dont like it why not be brave enough to try to run your own business in this era.  You need to get real and trust your boss.  In a recession the first idiot to mention employee rights and contracts and inflationary rises should be chased as they are not realistic enough to appreciate the climate they are in. The skills of the much maligned business managers will either keep you in your job or not and you either go with him or her or get off now if you disagree.     If you want guarnteed rates of pay hit the civil service for a job if you want the higher pays when times are good you must be prepared to take the shit when times are shit, believe me your boss is sleeping less hours than you at the moment.  Why not offer to work another hour a day for him next year for free so that you can give him all the help you can?
Post by: carribbear on December 19, 2008, 01:51:58 PM
Bonuses are just that....bonuses. Some companies have used the credit crisis hysteria as a exuse to layoff staff , even just before xmas so they wont have to pay out the bonuses and use that money as severance.
My issue with that is that some workers have put in long hours, not your typical 9 to 5 mon-fri, only to get shafted at the end of the year while less industrious staff who have skived through the last 12 months get the same reward, whatever that might be.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:07:55 PM
No bonus here either, and just got the sucker punch that we're working monday and tuesday.  Everyone was confident we'd be getting off today.  Not f**king happy.
Post by: rrhf on December 19, 2008, 02:15:20 PM
I know a married couple  in the same factory that got the heave ho last week in the mouth of xmas.  Get real would ye.     
Post by: gortnaleck on December 19, 2008, 02:19:26 PM
If you didn't get a bonus you should quit right now and that would teach the boss a lesson
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:24:27 PM
Quote from: rrhf on December 19, 2008, 02:15:20 PM
I know a married couple  in the same factory that got the heave ho last week in the mouth of xmas.  Get real would ye.     

Away and f**k off would ye I'm fed up with your bollox posts.

I feel for them.  I am very grateful to have a job. I can still be unhappy at the fact we were confident of gettin off today but its now going to be tuesday.

w**ker.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:24:56 PM
Quote from: gortnaleck on December 19, 2008, 02:19:26 PM
If you didn't get a bonus you should quit right now and that would teach the boss a lesson

:D best advice yet!
Post by: carribbear on December 19, 2008, 02:27:30 PM
Quote from: gortnaleck on December 19, 2008, 02:19:26 PM

Not so sure how that would teach him a lesson...but the lesson should be that the hours outside your typical 35-40 hour week shouldnt be given away as cheaply.
Companies are getting away with paying people for doing more than they're paying them for thus they can pay 2 people for the price of 3 by making them work extra hours for nothing....

Post by: amigo on December 19, 2008, 02:31:05 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:07:55 PM
No bonus here either, and just got the sucker punch that we're working monday and tuesday.  Everyone was confident we'd be getting off today.  Not f**king happy.

What sort of work do you do SLK where they can just decide to give you an extra few days work in the year ?
Post by: rrhf on December 19, 2008, 02:33:00 PM
Why not start your own company and give the lads all the bonuses and time off that you demand for yourself?  Get into work on Monday and show the boss the mistake he made and how hard ye really can work.  Not a bit of wonder the economy is fecked assuming guys like you rise up through companies. 
feckin bluffer!  
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:38:51 PM
Let me tell you something rrhf I work a minimum of 55 hrs per week, when I go home my mobile stays on in case anything else needs dealing with, I was informed we were getting 2 weeks hols, now we're not.  Where I work I do what needs to be done for the company, theres nothing set in concrete here about legal days off and legal working hours.

11 hours a day, no lunch hour. Lunch is eaten at the desk while I work away. Bluffer? I beg to differ.

Count up over the year how many extra hrs I work compared to your good self. Convert that into days and call me a bluffer again.
Post by: amigo on December 19, 2008, 02:40:26 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:38:51 PM
Let me tell you something rrhf I work a minimum of 55 hrs per week, when I go home my mobile stays on in case anything else needs dealing with, I was informed we were getting 2 weeks hols, now we're not.  Where I work I do what needs to be done for the company, theres nothing set in concrete here about legal days off and legal working hours.

11 hours a day, no lunch hour. Lunch is eaten at the desk while I work away. Bluffer? I beg to differ.

Count up over the year how many extra hrs I work compared to your good self. Convert that into days and call me a bluffer again.

What sort of work is it ?? I am dumbfounded !!
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:44:19 PM
Property business. Glad to have a job ESPECIALLY in property so I can and cant complain I suppose.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 19, 2008, 02:44:49 PM
Quote from: amigo on December 19, 2008, 02:40:26 PM

Taoiseach?
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:47:56 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on December 19, 2008, 02:44:49 PM
Quote from: amigo on December 19, 2008, 02:40:26 PM

Taoiseach?

:D very good.

I don't claim to be a bloody hero but I do long hours and when a p***k like rrhf comes on spouting about me being unhappy about an extra two days it pissed me off. I think its a well earned complaint!  I would be in some mood now if I was finishin up at 7 and not back til the 5th, now its just a normal weekend  :(
Post by: EC Unique on December 19, 2008, 02:48:07 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:44:19 PM
Property business. Glad to have a job ESPECIALLY in property so I can and cant complain I suppose.

But that is exactly what you are doing!
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:51:06 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 19, 2008, 02:48:07 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 02:44:19 PM

But that is exactly what you are doing!

I know! I am saying I can still complain because at the end of the day I deserve my two weeks, yet I still must be grateful for actually having a job today!
Post by: EC Unique on December 19, 2008, 02:56:34 PM
Fair enough. I think people have to be realistic and grown-up about the situation now. What ever has to be done to get the economy up and running with as few job cuts as possible. If this means no bonus, no pay rise or even a pay cut then so be it. Lets just get the heads down and get on with the next 12 months. I wish we could fast foward to January 2010 as 2009 is going to be brutal ecomomically. :-[
Post by: the green man on December 19, 2008, 03:01:28 PM

And quite a bit spent on here
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 03:03:16 PM
Quote from: the green man on December 19, 2008, 03:01:28 PM

And quite a bit spent on here

You will find like any job, you have some quiet times.  There are some days where I can get a good bit of the work done and post on here. These posts are interspersed with a hell of a lot of work as well.  Take this week for an example my posts have been pretty limited!
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 03:04:50 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on December 19, 2008, 02:56:34 PM
Fair enough. I think people have to be realistic and grown-up about the situation now. What ever has to be done to get the economy up and running with as few job cuts as possible. If this means no bonus, no pay rise or even a pay cut then so be it. Lets just get the heads down and get on with the next 12 months. I wish we could fast foward to January 2010 as 2009 is going to be brutal ecomomically. :-[

Completely agree and next year will be a big push. Read today that significant economic growth not expected til 2014, quite depressing. I'm not actually bothered about not getting a bonus, I wasnt expecting one but the two extra days holidays would have been unreal!

As you say though, at the minute its just do what it takes to stay afloat!
Post by: Homer on December 19, 2008, 03:08:45 PM
AFAIK it is illegal to give out bonuses when a company has made redundancies. This may be the case for some.
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2008, 03:11:19 PM
Our boss poked her fat head in round the door and said"thanks for all your hard work this year", that was my bonus............
Post by: milltown row on December 19, 2008, 03:11:38 PM
first year in 7 that i'll not be getting a bonus, could't give a stuff, usually around 700 quid but hey, shite happens. moved to a different job and thats just the way it goes, glad i'm so busy and off for two weeks. :P

engineering industry is getting a hit at the minute. tough months ahead for familys, and young men starting out have difficult times.
Post by: Rois on December 19, 2008, 03:17:54 PM
Shutting down laptop to go and collect redundancy forms from staff who have been made redundant today.  They will get statutory redundancy only.

Have just come out of a briefing meeting on working over Christmas on a company that is about to go into administration.

I can't wait. 

Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 03:21:17 PM
Lovely  :-\

Its actually scary at the moment how much this is happening.  Every day or every other day there is a company having to close. read today about a company starting in the New year to work 3 day weeks! Its unbelievable.
Post by: slow corner back on December 19, 2008, 03:24:00 PM
The normal xmas bonus in my work was  a frozen turkey, since the price of turkeys has risen in the last few years we now get a £10 meat voucher,lol its a f*ckin joke. Coincidentally my firm is currently going through its fourth round of redundancies in 2008 so no one is too worried about the turkey
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 19, 2008, 03:26:38 PM
I'm glad I have a job - loads of folks getting let go

Post by: milltown row on December 19, 2008, 04:05:57 PM
make sure you are wearing some padded clothing Hardstation. would hate for you to get another gash in your head ::)
Post by: milltown row on December 19, 2008, 04:08:46 PM
aye and if ya hurt yourself in that helmet you'll get a big pay out. look a bit daft your local though............ well maybe not
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 19, 2008, 04:12:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 19, 2008, 04:03:22 PM
24 cans of beer, 24 cans of stout, bottle of whiskey, bottle of vodka and a tenner.

Watch out for my posts on the board tonight......

and you're in training for the Slurry Cup

I'm gonna roast ya  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 19, 2008, 05:59:10 PM
I know someone who was told at the beginning of this week that they would have to work to 6pm christmas eve and new years eve.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 06:11:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 19, 2008, 05:59:10 PM
I know someone who was told at the beginning of this week that they would have to work to 6pm christmas eve and new years eve.

f**k sake thats the last time I feel slightly sorry for myself.

IM GLAD I HAVE A f**king JOB, I AM VERY VERY GRATEFUL.  I FEEL AWFUL AT THE FACT THAT SOME FAMILIES WILL HAVE IT VERY TOUGH DUE TO THE ECONOMIC CLIMATE AND UMEMPLOYMENT IN THE HOUSE, BUT I CAN STILL BE f**king UNHAPPY AT THE FACT WE WERE TOLD SOMETHING AND THEN IT ISNT FOLLOWED THROUGH WITH. I DIDNT SAY I WANTED A RAISE, I DIDNT SAY THE JOB WAS SHIT, I DIDNT SAY I WAS GOING TO QUIT, ALL I f**king SAID WAS I WAS f**king UNHAPPY AT NOT f**king GETTING OFF WHEN WE WERE f**king TOLD. THAT IS f**king ALL.

RANT f**king OVER.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 19, 2008, 06:12:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 19, 2008, 06:05:05 PM
Was it me?
No and it's not a job you'd expect it to be necessary to sit in the office to 6pm on those evenings, it's a joke.  

Calm down SLK, I wasn't having a go at you.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 19, 2008, 06:17:11 PM
Thanks pints just needed to get that out. rrhf has me still in a bad mood from earlier.

The annoying thing about this job is I realistically could be away now but have to stay to 7. Still doing bits and pieces but nothing that couldnt wait.

On the bright side I got a nice wee deal done an hour ago so that sends me into the weekend feeling good about myself!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 19, 2008, 06:35:36 PM
Those who are complaining about not getting a bonus should consider having a job in these times as bonus enough
Post by: Rossie11 on December 19, 2008, 07:13:54 PM
Many companies, despite making healthy profits, this year are not handing out bonuses due to the fact that
over the next few years they will have to fund expansion etc themselves.
There is no guarantee that the banks will approve loans even to profitable companies so cash is king for the forseeable future.

Its going to get very tough for approx 1 in 10 of us over the next year as more companies fold.
It would be great for people to set up their own small business and gradually grow out of this recession.
This could prove near impossible if they are already up to their neck in a mortgage as banks wont give them a bean for the initial start up.
The biggest crime of this govt and all concerned with this property boom is that people followed the peer pressure and the hype and
bought houses they didn't need and now they are handcuffed.
The generation which are now needed to spend the cash and lift the country are the ones most in debt..
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 19, 2008, 07:22:56 PM
I'm working Xmas eve and NYE
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 09:30:13 PM
People need to get real. The market is a totally different place from this time last year. A friend got a 40 grand bonus last xmas but this year she was lucky to keep her job. Same for another mate who got a 30 grand bonus last xmas who has been told this year that he'll be getting a drink bought at the xmas do!
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 19, 2008, 09:49:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 09:30:13 PM
People need to get real. The market is a totally different place from this time last year. A friend got a 40 grand bonus last xmas but this year she was lucky to keep her job. Same for another mate who got a 30 grand bonus last xmas who has been told this year that he'll be getting a drink bought at the xmas do!
I know what you mean, I got a £300,000 bonus last year but they told me today I'd only be getting a £100,000 one.  Im furious.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 10:05:02 PM
Just look at it as an extra 200k a year pints on average and you'll not be as depressed about it!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 19, 2008, 10:23:08 PM
John Bender: You know what I got for Christmas this year? It was a banner fu#kin' year at the old Bender family. I got a carton of cigarettes. The old man grabbed me and said "Hey. Smoke up Johny."

Name the movie for 2 candy canes.

On the downside my business has gone under so be grateful if you have a job.  Thank god for a supporting family. But as they say "for every action there is an equal opposite reaction" so I will now turn my negative into a positive. School starts for me in 1 month, a 40 year old in class with a bunch of 18-20somethings ::). I am looking forward to the next phase of my life and the young ladies to look at won't hurt either- can't wait till warm weather and short skirts ;)

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 10:36:38 PM
Breakfast Club.
Post by: clarshack on December 19, 2008, 10:48:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 09:30:13 PM
A friend got a 40 grand bonus last xmas but this year she was lucky to keep her job. Same for another mate who got a 30 grand bonus

f*ckin hell!
Post by: Bensars on December 19, 2008, 10:56:06 PM
A sister of a work colleague got a 5k Christmas bonus. She only works two days a week. You guessed it, a London financial institution.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 11:26:53 PM
Aye my mate who got 30 last week works in IT for a hedge fund in London. The fellas doing the actual dealing in his company no doubt added zeroes to that figure.
Post by: Puckoon on December 19, 2008, 11:46:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 19, 2008, 12:27:36 PM
My ma works in a nursing home and they usually get a few quid extra at Christmas but got a note in her pay packet yesterday saying "due to the current financial climate we are unable to give cash bonuses this year but we are giving each member of staff a fruit basket"...........I believe the steam is still coming from her ears.

Minder print her out the "laid off" thread.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 11:54:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 19, 2008, 11:34:46 PM
Does your mate need an apprentice, who will work on minimum wage but take £15000 a year on bonuses?
You're behind me in the queue!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 20, 2008, 10:12:58 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2008, 10:36:38 PM
Breakfast Club.

We have a winner!!!

Ask Santa for the candy canes Tony as I have no job :D
Post by: rrhf on December 20, 2008, 10:19:20 AM
Can you remember the days when people were greatful for employment - its heading back there.  You see here men claiming the office is too warm, theres no extra at xmas, whilst other people are dealing with unsteady futures and mortgages to pay.  I suppose some of us will always live our lives in a bubble. 
Post by: ONeill on December 20, 2008, 12:23:12 PM
Well said rrhf.

I got a bottle of wine.

Smashed it over the head of Martin Rogan in the Glenowen last night.
Post by: rrhf on December 20, 2008, 03:42:44 PM
Thank O neill for the support -  I can feel these guys turning.  Your bonus was well used. 
Post by: comethekingdom on December 20, 2008, 11:12:28 PM
Anyone even mentioning xmas bonuses in the current climate should have their holes kicked! Our co. never ever gives out bonuses so it never really matters to us but anyone in a job at the minute should just keep their head down and batter away and say nothing.
Tough times ahead for EVERYONE. Not too many will escape believe me, bar the filthy rotten rich and the usual public/civil service top dogs shielded from redundancies and pay cuts.
Post by: armaghniac on December 20, 2008, 11:47:16 PM
Santa will bring you what you want.

(http://www.getpranks.com/images/items/big/money.jpg)
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:59:37 AM
My granny used to £10 from the dole at christmas. it was always £10 for years. She used to give it to us then she died.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 21, 2008, 03:04:42 PM
Read this from todays Sunday Indo and I doubt if many are worrying about bonuses!!

TDs grab expenses and run for 40 days
One-third of retail businesses to close, wages down and jobless up

Sunday December 21 2008

TDs have gone on a Christmas holiday for a scandalous 40 days, enjoying an "outrageous" €11m in largely unvouched, tax-free expenses in a stark illustration of the extraordinary disconnect between the political elite and ordinary people.

The Dail will not sit again until January 28, by which time employers and employees in the real, exposed economy will exist in a bleak house of rapidly mounting closures and redundancies.

At an office in the IFSC in Dublin on Tuesday night the owners of commercial property were told to expect that a third of retail businesses throughout the country will close between January and Easter next year.

The shocking assessment was delivered in a week in which definitive evidence emerged that the cosseted political and banking establishment are operating in what several observers have described as a "virtual world".

The devastating impact of the economic crisis has been evident for some time: official figures last week showed that unemployment jumped from 4.6 per cent earlier this year to 7 per cent at the end of September.

The ESRI has predicted that unemployment will hit 10 per cent next year. But many economists believe that figure has already been reached and is likely to be surpassed: some say unemployment may even exceed an astonishing 12 per cent, or close to 500,000 people.

The Government's decision to impose a VAT increase in the Budget is being blamed by retailers here for accelerating decline.

There is little doubt that the decision caused shoppers to flee north, where they took advantage of a slashed VAT rate and weak sterling across the Border.

Many businesses here, who have so far been reluctant to make redundancies, are instead proposing significant cuts in salary in the hope that they will somehow come through a recession which is now conservatively predicted to last for two years.

Against this bleak reality, the country's TDs have gone on a 40-day festive holiday, the second-longest such break in all democracies, behind only Australia, which is predicting 2.5 per cent growth next year.

In Ireland, the economy will decline by at least 4 per cent, perhaps up to 6 per cent. As a result, at least 117,000 people will lose their jobs next year and a minimum 50,000 will be forced to emigrate.

Such startling analysis has not prompted the political establishment here to reassess its priorities, however.

Last week, the country's166 TDs went on a comfortable break, secured by what one economist this weekend called "ludicrous" expenses, totalling in excess of €11m. This sum effectively doubles an average TD's basic salary of €100,000.

The expenses can be claimed, substantially, on a tax-free basis and without the need to provide evidence of expenditure incurred.

The eight top claimants are: Brendan Kenneally (FF), €93,880; Jackie Healy-Rae (Ind) €89,705; Bernard Allen (FG), €88,831; Michael Moynihan (FF), €86,951 and Sean Fleming (FF), €86,828. Mr Kenneally said yesterday he wasn't surprised he topped the list after he received additional expenses for setting up his office.

"I was in the Senate before getting my seat back so I have had to set up a new constituency office. I am also on four committees and I was travelling a lot." Last week the ESRI drew attention to the widening "significant" — up to 20 per cent — differential between pay rates in the private and public sector.

It has suggested urgent pay cuts for public sector employees. While members of the Cabinet have taken a 10 per cent salary cut, their lead has, overwhelmingly, not been followed by rank-and-file TDs, who still enjoy a lavish regime of salaries and expenses while the dole queues grow.

Yesterday Friends First economist, Jim Power told the Sunday Independent: "These huge sums of money are totally unsustainable, particularly when people are losing their jobs or taking savage pay cuts. "TDs almost doubling their pay through expenses and allowances is outrageous."

Mark Fielding of Isme said the TDs expenses regime represented the "public sector mentality gone mad". He said: "It's no wonder public sector costs are out of control when these guys are they way they are . . . they take 40 days' holiday just when the country is going down the tubes.

It's absurd." At a solicitors' office in the IFSC last week, a retail property expert from Jones Lang Lasalle property advisers told of how a third of business will be closed by Easter.

The meeting was attended mainly by the owners of shopping centres and multiple retail outlets throughout the country: they were warned to expect a "bleak" outlook.

They were also told that with outlets closing and some landlords offering rent-free terms for two to three years they could expect retailers who manage to survive the Christmas downturn to return in large numbers to re-negotiate rental agreements.

It is understood that many retailers are already indicating that they need a 50 per cent rent reduction to survive in the current economic crisis.

It is widely accepted that the rents charged in major shopping centres and high streets are now unsustainable for many retailers, who have seen their business decimated by a combination of the economic downturn, the rising VAT rate and the parity of euro with sterling.

Post by: J70 on December 21, 2008, 03:10:55 PM
I fully agree that expenses should be tax-free, but how can they justify not accounting or providing evidence for the expense they claim?
Post by: comethekingdom on December 21, 2008, 03:25:45 PM
Because they are way out of touch with reality and untouchable! :( Heard a
Post by: comethekingdom on December 21, 2008, 03:29:46 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on December 21, 2008, 03:25:45 PM
Because they are way out of touch with reality and untouchable! :( Heard a

Sorry! - double clicked by mistake!!

Because they are way out of touch with reality and untouchable! :( Heard a bloke on todayfm this morning saying that the senate should be scrapped - they'll hardly follow his advice?
Post by: stiffler on December 23, 2008, 04:22:42 PM
Got my christmas bonus today, and am gonna stick it on Kauto star in the King George!  ;D
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 24, 2008, 03:47:45 PM
i work in a benefits office and have never been busier.... :(
Post by: TORGAEL on December 24, 2008, 03:59:32 PM
Same here Pat, in fact, i think it might be the same office !
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 24, 2008, 06:10:14 PM
BBC in Belfast?
Post by: TORGAEL on December 24, 2008, 06:12:36 PM
Aye.
Post by: TORGAEL on December 24, 2008, 06:19:36 PM
Who knows ? You could be right !
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 24, 2008, 07:27:38 PM
I'm in ESA myself...probably should be on it...