Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: phpearse on November 26, 2008, 12:29:05 PM

Title: irish name spelling
Post by: phpearse on November 26, 2008, 12:29:05 PM
anyone know the irish spelling for Lauren McCrory.
Title: Re: irish name spelling
Post by: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:33:36 PM
Quote from: phpearse on November 26, 2008, 12:29:05 PM
Yeah something along the lines of Lauren McCrory. I hate made up Irish names
Post by: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 12:34:35 PM

Lára Ní Ruairí?
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 26, 2008, 12:35:29 PM
Níc Ruairí
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 26, 2008, 12:37:07 PM
I don't see how it would be a made up name Gnevin. McCrory is clearly anglised gaelic since it has a "Mc" in it. Lauren on the other hand probably doesn't have a direct translation into irish.
Post by: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:40:27 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 26, 2008, 12:37:07 PM
I don't see how it would be a made up name Gnevin. McCrory is clearly anglised gaelic since it has a "Mc" in it. Lauren on the other hand probably doesn't have a direct translation into irish.
The fact it is girls name is Lauren McCrory. When you go to France you don't change your name to be more French. Its a annoying practice the GAA should do away with.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 26, 2008, 12:42:42 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:40:27 PM
The fact it is girls name is Lauren McCrory. When you go to France you don't change your name to be more French. Its a annoying practice the GAA should do away with.

eh yeah ya do, you say it in a french accent
Post by: Lecale2 on November 26, 2008, 12:42:51 PM
I have never understood this whole Irish name thing and the GAA. Your name is your name and you can decide to spell it what ever way you like provided there is no intention to commit fraud.

Translating names like Lauren into Irish is nonsense. You may as well try to translate Seamus into Vietnamese.
Post by: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 12:44:25 PM

If you lived in France rather than holidaying there you might consider it. 
Post by: phpearse on November 26, 2008, 12:45:18 PM
I'll go with Lára Níc Ruairí.

You can carry on with thedebate on the GAA insisting on using Irish spellings for Irish names.
Post by: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 12:46:22 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 26, 2008, 12:42:51 PM
I have never understood this whole Irish name thing and the GAA. Your name is your name and you can decide to spell it what ever way you like provided there is no intention to commit fraud.

Translating names like Lauren into Irish is nonsense. You may as well try to translate Seamus into Vietnamese.

The Vietnamese often Anglocise their names when they come here so Seamus should make an effort when he goes there.
Post by: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:46:28 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 12:44:25 PM

If you lived in France rather than holidaying there you might consider it. 
No my name is my name I'm not going to change it or invent one for some stupid rule
Post by: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 12:50:27 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:46:28 PM
No my name is my name I'm not going to change it or invent one for some stupid rule

No need to invent it or change it, but would be seen as courtesy to modify it so it is more amenable to the spoken language around you and hence more manageable for the people around you. 
Post by: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:53:52 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 12:50:27 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:46:28 PM

No need to invent it or change it, but would be seen as courtesy to modify it so it is more amenable to the spoken language around you and hence more manageable for the people around you. 
Well i might do that if in China or somewhere but this whole Irish name thing is crap. It's just random fada's and  O's or Mc's
Post by: thejuice on November 26, 2008, 12:57:15 PM
Whats the Irish translation for Teboga Sebala,

the f**king tramps in Carlow certainly werent using it  >:(
Post by: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 01:00:11 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:53:52 PM
Well i might do that if in China or somewhere but this whole Irish name thing is crap. It's just random fada's and  O's or Mc's

How did you come to that conclusion? 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 02:08:50 PM

Most names in Ireland are translations or transliterations of names that were originally in Irish, therefore there's no element of chance in reverting to the original. Unless, of course, yours is a Planter name?  ;)
Post by: Tubberman on November 26, 2008, 02:14:41 PM
QuoteThe fact it is girls name is Lauren McCrory. When you go to France you don't change your name to be more French. Its a annoying practice the GAA should do away with.

I'd agree with you where the name in question is not a 'native' Irish name and has no existing translation - it's stupid making up a name just so it looks Irish.
But many names (including mine) are just anglicised versions of an Irish name. So you're not changing your name at all - you're just using the Irish translation.
I don't see any problem with that.
Post by: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 02:18:57 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 01:00:11 PM

How did you come to that conclusion? 
Check out any GAA program you'll see it
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 26, 2008, 02:32:39 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 26, 2008, 12:42:51 PM

If your name is Mary Boland and your passport says Mary Boland, you may apply for a renewel of that passport and you may call yourself Máire Ní Bheoláin. You may not call yourself Margaret Thatcher.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 26, 2008, 02:33:56 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 02:08:50 PM

Most names in Ireland are translations or transliterations of names that were originally in Irish, therefore there's no element of chance in reverting to the original. Unless, of course, yours is a Planter name?  ;)

Post by: screenexile on November 26, 2008, 02:48:02 PM
What's the Irish for Chantelle or Beyoncé?

As for the Asians changing their names when they come here I think it's not fair. Fella in my class called Callum, no more was he Callum than I am Beelzebub but that's what we were supposed to call him. It's a stupid practice which only serves or ignorance towards other cultures!
Post by: Donagh on November 26, 2008, 03:06:28 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 02:18:57 PM
Check out any GAA program you'll see it

You said that Irish names consist of random "fada's and  O's or Mc's" - that's not true.
Post by: Hardy on November 26, 2008, 03:06:51 PM
The fact that Asians feel the need to change their names when they come here says more about us than it does about them. In my experience they don't "translate" their names to the English version of what the name means, but do a phonetic approximation.

Anyway, I object to the motion that my name is merely some inferior version of a purer original. It is the name I was given by my parents and I wouldn't insult their memory by trying to translate it into something more acceptable to some sort of self-appointed cultural cleansing movement. It smacks of the racial purity evil from the 1930s to me.

To develop The Juice's point, it's hard to see how the GAA's rules can continue to embrace this unacceptable prescriptiveness about what people should call themselves before they're allowed to tog out in a game of football, without falling foul of discrimination legislation.

(I'm a strong supporter of the development and growth of Irish).

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 03:14:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 26, 2008, 03:06:51 PM
Anyway, I object to the motion that my name is merely some inferior version of a purer original. It is the name I was given by my parents and I wouldn't insult their memory by trying to translate it into something more acceptable to some sort of self-appointed cultural cleansing movement.

And what about the memory of your poor great-great-great-(repeat as necessary)-grandparents, who were cruelly forced to renounce their true Gaelic names (for a bowl of soup, or whatever)?
Post by: Hardy on November 26, 2008, 03:15:24 PM
How will changing my name do them any good?

(And, for the record, we never took the soup).
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 03:18:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 26, 2008, 03:15:24 PM
How will changing my name do them any good?

Memories last forever, you're so shallow Hardy  :P
Post by: Hardy on November 26, 2008, 03:22:15 PM
I'm deeply shallow.
Post by: thejuice on November 26, 2008, 03:26:31 PM
Here, if they're not of Irish decent, just type their name into the hobbit name generator
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 03:28:29 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 26, 2008, 03:26:31 PM
Here, if they're not of Irish decent, just type their name into the hobbit name generator

Don't you mean the O'Hobbit name generator?
Post by: Evil Genius on November 26, 2008, 04:28:42 PM
Like Hume or Adams, for instance?  ;)
Post by: thebandit on November 26, 2008, 04:31:57 PM
Ken Magennis's surname is a good example of an aglicisation of a good Irish name.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 04:37:40 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on November 26, 2008, 04:28:42 PM

Exactly, and we're so glad that they've realised that they're as Irish as anyone else. Pity the likes of the Mc Gimpseys, Kennedy, etc., went totally and inscrutably in reverse.
Post by: Evil Genius on November 26, 2008, 04:39:18 PM
Quote from: thebandit on November 26, 2008, 04:31:57 PM
Ken Magennis's surname is a good example of an aglicisation of a good Irish name.
Indeed. As was that of the late Harold McCusker, for example. And I wonder which came first, "Sean MacStiofain", or "John Edward Drayton Stephenson"?  ::)
Post by: under the bar on November 26, 2008, 04:42:17 PM
If you've ever seen the surname Meharg or Maharg it originates from the expulsion of the Grahams from Scotland.   When they settled in Ireland they spelt their name backwards to hide their previous connection.
Post by: Evil Genius on November 26, 2008, 04:43:51 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 04:37:40 PM

Exactly, and we're so glad that they've realised that they're as Irish as anyone else.
They're no more Irish than I am - with my (Planter) surname.
Pity the likes of the Mc Gimpseys, Kennedy, etc., went totally and inscrutably in reverse.
They're no less Irish than you are, with your Strabane Man(?) moniker...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 26, 2008, 04:48:01 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on November 26, 2008, 04:43:51 PM

Exactly, and we're so glad that they've realised that they're as Irish as anyone else.
They're no more Irish than I am - with my (Planter) surname.
Their passports are green...

Quote from: Evil Genius on November 26, 2008, 04:43:51 PM
Pity the likes of the Mc Gimpseys, Kennedy, etc., went totally and inscrutably in reverse.
They're no less Irish than you are, with your Strabane Man(?) moniker...
And so is mine  :P *

* Figuratively speaking, of course (it's actually a mauve colour, with a harp on the front).
Post by: leenie on January 24, 2010, 02:29:01 PM

any irish speakers about could you pm me please as i need something translated........

thanks in advance
Post by: leenie on January 24, 2010, 02:48:18 PM

>:(

none of you speak irish ..... all i need is two words translated properly ... !
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 24, 2010, 03:11:39 PM
PM me if you wish
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2010, 03:12:43 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on January 24, 2010, 03:11:39 PM
PM me if you wish
Make sure you tell us all what the words were.
Post by: Dakota on January 24, 2010, 03:20:17 PM
PM me if you wish

Could you not just have pm'd her yourself?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 24, 2010, 03:22:35 PM
Quote from: Dakota on January 24, 2010, 03:20:17 PM
PM me if you wish

Could you not just have pm'd her yourself?
Do you have nothing better to do with your time than to troll on here?

Catch yourself on, will ya ?

TB, it was quite innocent, she just wanted to know how to say big hairy ....

Just joking  ;)
Post by: Dakota on January 24, 2010, 03:25:29 PM
I suppose you just wanted that sought after pat on the back
Post by: ardmhachaabu on January 24, 2010, 03:31:42 PM
Quote from: Dakota on January 24, 2010, 03:25:29 PM
I suppose you just wanted that sought after pat on the back
Away and take your face for a long one
Post by: leenie on January 24, 2010, 03:31:52 PM

thanks......  :)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 24, 2010, 03:41:25 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 26, 2008, 12:33:36 PM
Yeah something along the lines of Lauren McCrory. I hate made up Irish names

Thats Bollix Gnevin, McCrory is a Gaelic name so it does translate. I am proud of my Irish and Anglised name, I sign using both, and if someone has a problem with that I tell them to feck off.

Gaelic names, Viking, Norman/Old English and some old established Colonial names I see no problem in using the Gaelic version of those peoples names, I understand what you mean if you try and turn a recent immigrant from Poland, Italy, Nigeria, Russia, Germany etc. to a fake Irish names, but surnames here while Gaelic was still the main lanuage of Ireland thats a different thing.

Simply GNevin I think your Pale is showing.
Post by: The Blegard on January 24, 2010, 05:30:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 26, 2008, 02:48:02 PM
What's the Irish for Chantelle or Beyoncé?

As for the Asians changing their names when they come here I think it's not fair. Fella in my class called Callum, no more was he Callum than I am Beelzebub but that's what we were supposed to call him. It's a stupid practice which only serves or ignorance towards other cultures!
One of my mates is called patrick. Born and bred in Hong Kong. When I asked him how he ended up with such a name the reply was simple for 2 reasons. In the Chinese culture it is offensive to mispronounce someones name so they prefer to have a western name to lessen the risk of this happening.
In Hkg when they end up in an english speaking primary school they used to be told to pick a new name for themselves one night for homework. My mate Paddy forgot and the good old nun picked one for him.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 24, 2010, 08:40:08 PM
Why does Barbara de Bruin call herself a French name? Not much word of her these days...
Post by: Orior on January 24, 2010, 08:52:37 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 24, 2010, 08:40:08 PM
Why does Barbara de Bruin call herself a French name? Not much word of her these days...

Cause it makes her feel sexy.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 24, 2010, 09:53:10 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 24, 2010, 08:52:37 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 24, 2010, 08:40:08 PM

Cause it makes her feel sexy.

She'd need to do a bit more than that... reminds me of Tootsie (Dustin Hoffman film) if anyone can post a pic. I still haven't mastered that art. 
Post by: Orior on January 24, 2010, 10:02:52 PM
I wouldnt do that.

Otherwise people will discover she's actually Peter Robinson in drag.

Post by: Gold on January 24, 2010, 10:11:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 26, 2008, 03:06:51 PM
The fact that Asians feel the need to change their names when they come here says more about us than it does about them. In my experience they don't "translate" their names to the English version of what the name means, but do a phonetic approximation.

Anyway, I object to the motion that my name is merely some inferior version of a purer original. It is the name I was given by my parents and I wouldn't insult their memory by trying to translate it into something more acceptable to some sort of self-appointed cultural cleansing movement. It smacks of the racial purity evil from the 1930s to me.

To develop The Juice's point, it's hard to see how the GAA's rules can continue to embrace this unacceptable prescriptiveness about what people should call themselves before they're allowed to tog out in a game of football, without falling foul of discrimination legislation.

(I'm a strong supporter of the development and growth of Irish).

The best one i ever heard was a chinese fella who came to our work and called himself 'Maverick'!!!!

I got a good laugh outta that one for a long time!
Post by: Canalman on January 25, 2010, 09:13:25 AM
The meanings behind the surnames McAnespie and McEntaggart are interesting.

Wonder do the loyalist people of Shankill know how the area got its name. Leprachaun language I believe they call it.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 25, 2010, 10:12:40 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 25, 2010, 09:13:25 AM

Wonder do the loyalist people of Shankill know how the area got its name. Leprachaun language I believe they call it.

Ballyhackamore and Tandragee are another couple of interesting ones. Anyone know the explanation behind the name of Sawel Mountain. :o
Post by: Olly on January 25, 2010, 11:44:29 AM
Can someone help me with this? My father's name was Sean and my grandfather's name (his father, my da) was John. On my mother's side my grandfathers (her da) name was John. Now my brothers name is Sean but not from the same breed as my father's side if you know what I mean (he looks like my mother's side). Apparently both greatgranfathers were called John but one might have been called James. This John or James 's brother was called Bartholomew. What I would like to  know is when did that name die out or is it still here and was there a Pope called that at the time (1800's or late 1700's). ?
Post by: Orior on January 25, 2010, 11:49:45 AM
Aint no Bart

http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/12272b.htm (http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/12272b.htm)
Post by: Hardy on January 25, 2010, 12:48:18 PM
 Still common enough (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batt_O'Keeffe)
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2010, 09:32:21 PM

Very true, son of the bishop and son of the priest!!! I'd chance Sean chille as Irish translation of Shankill?
Post by: stpauls on October 13, 2010, 10:08:53 PM
I hope some one can answer this question for me, but what is the correct spelling of Michael in Irish?
I have heard of a number of different ones, Micheal (fada over the A), Miceal (with a fada over the I and A, or just the A) and Michil (with a fada over the first I).
Can you tell me which is the correct one, if any or all of them are right, or is is just personal preference?
Post by: ross4life on October 13, 2010, 10:19:00 PM
who say Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh has the right spelling for it
Post by: stpauls on October 13, 2010, 10:38:38 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 13, 2010, 10:19:00 PM
who say Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh has the right spelling for it

aye, but he was christened Michael Moriarty, so that doesn't mean anything. i was asking if this was the only spelling, or did people use the other 2 names as well.
Post by: lurganblue on October 13, 2010, 11:24:56 PM
My son is christened Micheál but as you say there are a few different spellings knocking about but there are different spellings for lots of Irish names
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 13, 2010, 11:39:42 PM
Micheál is the most common spelling. Mícheál is not incorrect, but it less common. You could argue that it matches the sound better, but sometimes you're just as well going with the flow.

You needn't worry about Mhichil if you're using English. If you're writing or speaking Irish, Mhichil is Micheál in both the vocative and genitive case. If you're just using the name in English, you really don't need to bother about this. Best forget your ever read it.
Post by: Denn Forever on October 14, 2010, 02:53:45 PM
Mícheál is the correct spelling if the name is pronounced Me Hall.

Micheál would be pronouced My Call.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 14, 2010, 07:00:30 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 14, 2010, 02:53:45 PM

Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh spells it without a fada on the i: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dun-Sion-Croke-Park-Autobiography/dp/1844880443

You reckon he's illiterate or doesn't know how to pronounce his own name? Wind in the old neck there hoss. There's nothing definite in any of this.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 14, 2010, 07:16:11 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on October 14, 2010, 07:00:30 PM

Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh spells it without a fada on the i: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dun-Sion-Croke-Park-Autobiography/dp/1844880443

You reckon he's illiterate or doesn't know how to pronounce his own name? Wind in the old neck there hoss. There's nothing definite in any of this.
I suppose it's something similar to the way some parents today spell names in different ways e.g. Caitilin, Katelyn, Kaitlin etc etc

We named our first son Seamus, gan fada ar bith
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 14, 2010, 11:29:31 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 14, 2010, 07:16:11 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on October 14, 2010, 07:00:30 PM

I suppose it's something similar to the way some parents today spell names in different ways e.g. Caitilin, Katelyn, Kaitlin etc etc

We named our first son Seamus, gan fada ar bith

This is it. Séamus used to be spelled Séamas in Mayo. Who's to say who's wrong and who's right?

In theory there's a caighdeán, a standard, that's been established since the late fifties but it's more often ignored than observed.

We spend so much time fighting among ourselves instead of promoting the language it's shocking and heart-breaking.
Post by: rosnarun on October 14, 2010, 11:34:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 30, 2010, 09:34:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2010, 09:32:21 PM

Very true, son of the bishop and son of the priest!!! I'd chance Sean chille as Irish translation of Shankill?
Surely the names go back to times when Priests etc were allowed to marry.

Or something.

much more likely it signifies there was a priest/bishop in the family or a nickname some one had like Dan day lewis in gangs of NEw york
The name aren't that old and while there may be a few priest's sons out there i dont think anyone would boast about it
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 15, 2010, 12:13:23 AM
Here's more of it. The Irish for Maynooth as seen on the roadsigns on the motorway is "Maigh Nuad." NUI, Maynooth is is "Ollscoil na hÉireann, Má Nuad." Sure what hope has a learner got? Caighdeán mo thóin.  :(