Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 02:07:15 PM

Title: GAA Board Newsletter: Pleas for Hardstation Early Release
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 02:07:15 PM
I've noticed EG has dissappeared, I can't see him on the member's list, is he banned?
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter - Evil Genius Banned?
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2008, 02:11:04 PM
I believe Hardstation has been sent to solitary confinement for 31 days.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 02:11:52 PM
 :o For what?
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 02:14:24 PM
are ya serious?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 06, 2008, 02:14:39 PM
Whats going on then? Hardstation isn't in the top posters page behind Ziggy now...
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter - Evil Genius Banned? Hardsation suspended?
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2008, 02:27:02 PM
Not sure why, Mr O Neill knows more. Perhaps a "terrible injustice has occurred" again.........
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 02:34:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 06, 2008, 02:27:02 PM
Not sure why, Mr O Neill knows more. Perhaps a "terrible injustice has occurred" again.........

:D :D :D :D
Post by: The GAA on November 06, 2008, 02:40:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 06, 2008, 02:11:04 PM

Mods can ban themselves?
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2008, 02:48:38 PM
Quote from: The GAA on November 06, 2008, 02:40:37 PM

Mods can ban themselves?

Eh?
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 02:51:46 PM
Its a real shame that such drastic action has been taken. That bard of dunclug thread was cracking for a few days there.

Five times Vs Donagh

EG Vs Donagh

Marguire01 almost Vs Donagh

Pints Vs everyone.

What did hardstation do? Sure hes an oxymoron anyways.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 06, 2008, 03:01:28 PM
What about 5Times, I see his personal threats of violence are surfacing towards Pints again.

Has he been banned??
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 06, 2008, 03:18:34 PM
Peace and Love, Peace and Love  :D
Post by: Yes I Would on November 06, 2008, 03:19:02 PM

For his own good.
He was spending far too much time on here lately!!
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:19:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 02:07:15 PM
I've noticed EG has dissappeared, I can't see him on the member's list, is he banned?

Were you looking to send him a poppy?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:25:20 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 06, 2008, 03:01:28 PM
What about 5Times, I see his personal threats of violence are surfacing towards Pints again.

Has he been banned??
I dont know but I'll be sure to ask him when him and 10 of his mates jump me on the way to the bus!

Quote from: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:19:55 PM

No, I'm just friendly like that puck, I like to make sure everyone is still with us - I check on your name regularly. 
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:27:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:25:20 PM

Has he been banned??
I dont know but I'll be sure to ask him when him and 10 of his mates jump me on the way to the bus!

No, I'm just friendly like that puck, I like to make sure everyone is still with us - I check on your name regularly

more in hope or expectation?
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:29:14 PM
If this is a real newsletter you are going to have to put in the weekly 10 pound lotto winners (3 numbers, no jackpot).
Post by: thejuice on November 06, 2008, 03:29:40 PM
Well I think we'd all agree that the board will be at a loss without their valuable contributions
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:31:36 PM
i'm just wondering ........ but would never consider it if i got banned

but could you just not come back under a different name?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:33:17 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:27:28 PM

Has he been banned??

No, I'm just friendly like that puck, I like to make sure everyone is still with us - I check on your name regularly

I just like to make sure he's still there, he makes me feel warm inside.
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:36:55 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:31:36 PM

O'Neil?  :P
Post by: full back on November 06, 2008, 03:37:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:33:17 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:27:28 PM

Has he been banned??

I just like to make sure he's still there, he makes me feel warm inside.

I bet he does ;)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 06, 2008, 03:52:59 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:31:36 PM

Yeah.... I know a few...
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:54:07 PM
who?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 06, 2008, 05:11:58 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:54:07 PM
who?

Don't be silly! If I said certain ppl could be banned for past shenanigans...
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2008, 05:21:46 PM
They were riding the donkey very close to the tail a lot of times to be fair but Mods, we miss them - let them back.
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 05:22:46 PM
Petitioning should be banned ;D
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 05:29:07 PM
Hardstation was banned for telling the mods to catch a grip of themselves.

Diss the mods and you're a dead man/woman/Fearon.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 05:30:08 PM
Is he banned for good?
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 05:31:06 PM
Got a month. Will be back for advent.
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2008, 05:31:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 05:30:08 PM
Is he banned for good?

We want him back asap ! We all miss him  - freeeeeeeeeeeeeeee HS !  ;)
Post by: feetofflames on November 06, 2008, 05:40:16 PM
Tears for a fallen poster. :'(

There once was a horseman by the name of >>>>>
He rode into town with a confident grin
But along came the sheriff dressed as black as his sin
he threw that bould horseman into the bin
Post by: thebandit on November 06, 2008, 05:47:50 PM
Free the cross community 2!!!!!!
Post by: feetofflames on November 06, 2008, 05:54:39 PM
A natter for OWC Reject  :-*
We've had Sanchez, the Bard, and the old gnarly dyke
but if ever there was a unionist that a mother couldnt like
Twas the genius so evil,  so filled up with spite
that the mods turfed him out for spouting his shite.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 05:55:33 PM
Quote from: thebandit on November 06, 2008, 05:47:50 PM
Free the cross community 2!!!!!!
Free Hardstation.

Let Evil Genius rot with 5ivetimes!
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2008, 05:58:00 PM
I actually didnt mind Evil Genius,some had him down as a bigot (this board is full of them ) but i feel the problem was he was a bit too sharp for some of the punters on here,he may have been a dick head but he was a clever dick head.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2008, 05:59:35 PM
The Bard got protection from the mods, yet hardstation gets banned for a month? Unbelievable! >:(
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Support For Hardstation
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2008, 06:02:40 PM
What thread or in what context did HS "diss" the Mods ?
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 06:02:50 PM
I like Evil Genius.
Post by: feetofflames on November 06, 2008, 06:03:53 PM
Lament to brave warriors. :)
5ivetimes had to go as much as it hurts
hes consigned to board history due to his ungentlemanly spurts
But few will forget he was hard in the fight
and Pints more than many ran scared of his might.

So 5ivetimes like down football is now a past glory
and sure the tales of the fighting are now jackanory
So the board moves on but the doubts still remain
Is Pints giving the mods one down at Silverbridge lane.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 06:05:55 PM
not bad but the last line is a bit dodgy.
Post by: feetofflames on November 06, 2008, 06:08:39 PM
well there must be something up there. 
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 06:12:22 PM
God?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 06:14:11 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on November 06, 2008, 06:08:39 PM
well there must be something up there. 

better last line now, not bad at all, I welcome poetry in my newsletter. 

btw, I dont think the mods like me  :'(
Post by: feetofflames on November 06, 2008, 06:15:31 PM
or floating sheep.  Definitely seen something.  Anybody else seen anything?  
Post by: fred the red on November 06, 2008, 06:19:58 PM
Doesnt stranworst walk amongst us still??
Post by: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 06:21:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 06, 2008, 05:58:00 PM
I actually didnt mind Evil Genius,some had him down as a bigot (this board is full of them ) but i feel the problem was he was a bit too sharp for some of the punters on here,he may have been a dick head but he was a clever dick head.

Personal abuse reported on behalf of EG in his absence!!!

Not really though.

Pints, if you keep changing the title these post be be misrepresented. Keep it up ;)
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2008, 06:34:29 PM
Quote from: fred the red on November 06, 2008, 06:19:58 PM

That was wile carryon that time by stranworst. hope thats the ONLy time we see that craic here
Post by: Double Cross on November 06, 2008, 06:40:35 PM
Some questions need to be asked regarding the running of this board. Why do  some people incur bans while the mods wee licks can do and say as they please. Mod1 has a bee in his bonnet for hardstation and will do anything to get rid of him, while mod3 seems to be having a love in with one of my neighbours from the `bridge. Why was EG banned? We all complain when a poster from our board gets banned from OWC, but it seems we are no better than themmuns.
Is it time that the mods were named and shamed so they can be held accountable for their actions? Its up to the members but I think we all deserve answers.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 06:57:26 PM
I don't want to speak for HS but here's the abridged version, you morons.

HS was asked a question by a moron poster. He answered it. Mods gave him a moronic warning immediately for doing so as it was somewhat dodgy but not slanderous. HS says to the mod to catch a grip. Mods says to treat the said mod with more respect. HS says whatever. Mods slaps a month on him.

HS dared to stand up to the establishment. The law won. Morons.
Post by: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 07:03:44 PM
Catch a grip O'Neill
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 07:04:57 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 07:03:44 PM
Catch a grip O'Neill

Would you like to expand on that you flippertygibbert?
Post by: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 07:06:00 PM
Socail experiment.
Post by: thebandit on November 06, 2008, 07:07:12 PM
Quote from: Stalin on November 06, 2008, 06:34:29 PM
Quote from: fred the red on November 06, 2008, 06:19:58 PM

That was wile carryon that time by stranworst. hope thats the ONLy time we see that craic here

Was he the boy that started the racket from f365 or the boy that started the racket from OWC?
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 06, 2008, 07:07:44 PM
EG def ruffled a few feathers but he always comprehensively replies to anything thrown at him.  A few people have the view that they don't want a prod about the place, but the debate was always lively and should be encouraged.  I know there are certain guidelines but for me the board would be a much duller place without some good engagement with t'other side.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 07:10:41 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 07:06:00 PM
Socail experiment.

That's a warning.
Post by: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 07:15:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 07:10:41 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on November 06, 2008, 07:06:00 PM
Socail experiment.

That's a warning.

Apparently so.

Ye blindsided me with the flippertygibbert comment. I'm not sure what, if any rule that breaks.
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 07:17:49 PM
Pathetic what the younger generation of backchatting yobs  regard as "standing up to the establishment".

Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 06, 2008, 07:18:06 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 06, 2008, 07:07:44 PM
EG def ruffled a few feathers but he always comprehensively replies to anything thrown at him.  A few people have the view that they don't want a prod about the place, but the debate was always lively and should be encouraged.  I know there are certain guidelines but for me the board would be a much duller place without some good engagement with t'other side.

He had a reply for everything thrown at him....Usually about 1/2 a page.

His productivity in work will go through the roof!!
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 07:21:40 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 06, 2008, 07:17:49 PM
Pathetic what the younger generation of backchatting yobs  regard as "standing up to the establishment".

You're starting to freak me out a wee bit, following me all over the board, craving my attention with rather useless references to me. Do I know you? Have you not something better to do, like charge someone for driving past your driveway?

Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 07:23:30 PM
**********STATEMENT FROM HARDSTATION************

Day 1
Woke up this morning, there was a chill in the air. I was feeling ok. Got through the first half of my day without thinking of the gaaboard. It was later on, when I again tried to access the board and got the bold 'An error has occured' message, it finally sunk in. I thought of the Conlon family, Jody Gormley, Renerdine and some others who have suffered great injustices due to the scapegoat making powers that be. I played around with my dinner. Sausages and potatoes, usually a favourite of mine but gaaboard thoughts came into my mind and I just flicked some spuds at the wall, I hit that mod square on the nose. I felt a bit better. Then my ma whacked me over the back of the head and told me to "Eat thon f**king dinner now". I munched it up. Decided to call it an early night. Woke up at half one and ran to my computer. Still banned. Went to Microsoft Word and wrote this. Bloody morons.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2008, 07:30:33 PM
There is something wrong with you.
Post by: Handy on November 06, 2008, 07:31:55 PM
He's pissed, he does this now and again to crave attention - probably thinks he's logged on as Armagh4sam.  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2008, 07:33:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2008, 07:30:33 PM

(http://www.cartoonstock.com/lowres/dre0720l.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2008, 07:35:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2008, 07:30:33 PM

There may be, but don't shoot the messenger my good man.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 06, 2008, 08:05:56 PM
No great lose. Ever since he registered, he has tried to bore us into submission with crap, boring posts. Not one of his thousand plus posts ever made sense or contributed in any positive way to any thread. He won't be missed in any form.

Nor, it has to be said, will Evil Genius.

Is it true that the moderator said the following to hardstation.
QuoteIf you ever reply to me like that again, I'll ban you for a month.

Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Threads Vanish
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2008, 09:40:34 PM
I could've swore I posted on a thread about whether the mods should be outed a few hours ago but it seems to have vanished. Maybe it was a dream.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 09:44:20 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2008, 09:40:34 PM
I could've swore I posted on a thread about whether the mods should be outed a few hours ago but it seems to have vanished. Maybe it was a dream.
You dreamt it.
Post by: Orior on November 06, 2008, 09:45:24 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 06, 2008, 08:05:56 PM
No great lose. Ever since he registered, he has tried to bore us into submission with crap, boring posts. Not one of his thousand plus posts ever made sense or contributed in any positive way to any thread. He won't be missed in any form.

What? Well just dont read those posts then, chief.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2008, 09:54:27 PM
EDITED: Future Clarification
Post by: Minder on November 06, 2008, 09:58:52 PM
What in the wild world of sports is going on tonight? Bring EG and Hardstation back...........We have established why Hardstation got sent to the hole, any ideas on EG? Just so we know what the boundaries are as the Forum Rules dont seem to be adhered to...........

Post Script

I agree with Doogie, you may not have agreed with EG's stance but he was certainly able to back up any of his points rather than the "im right your wrong" that we get quite  a lot on here.
Post by: Chrisowc on November 06, 2008, 10:17:00 PM
I have had contact with EG and he's in a bad way.

He asked me to pass on this message......let them know that I am refusing to wear any clothing other than a slinky little silk Dressing Gown, or eat anything other than toast smeared with Marmite (washed down with the odd cup of tea, obviously), until they end my Political Exile.

Post by: Doogie Browser on November 06, 2008, 10:27:08 PM
I can just imagine EG stockpiling his armoury for his return, searching google frantically for a catalogue of useless irrelevant statistics to be used against Donagh et al on his return.  Batten down the hatches folks, its going to be a long war.

What about a welcome home parade for his return?  Has that been done before?  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2008, 10:49:28 PM
Both good men with plenty to offer and should be taken in from the cold. Lets have some transparency mods.
Post by: nifan on November 07, 2008, 01:29:30 AM
As a fellow owcer I dont always agree with what EG says, or even the verbosity of his arguments at times, but as a few people have said he was prepared to argue his case. I think the board would be worse without him, just as i think it would be worse without some of the people who he argues with (not all though - some of them are c***ts :P)
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on November 07, 2008, 02:36:29 AM
 Hard station I will miss as I rate him very highly his Belfast one liners are good craic. Over all he's very good contributor very surprised to see him in the sin bin.

Evil genius has a lovely vocabulary (well some times) but lacks common sense. Tries to get a rise out of people here and when things don't go his way he resorts to personal abuse. Donagh has him in his pocket and he keeps him "honest".
Post by: Zapatista on November 07, 2008, 08:33:24 AM
This is than a wake were we all sit around and talk about how great the deceased was even thought he was a p***k.

EG was not the poster you are all making out. He had his opinions and he put them across well sometimes and badly other times (sometimes it was pure nonsense which he disguised in his cryptic posts). He often avoided valid arguments and would sometimes back up or attack a point made with gibberish completely unrelated to the point. This is were his talent lied. His ability to connect two or more unrelated points. If he couldn't do that he would confuse the reader to a point were the reader just gives up. Very few (if any) of the threads EG participated in came anywhere near a conclusion. He would drag out a thread and bore others into submission.
Post by: full back on November 07, 2008, 08:44:09 AM
Any word from the Mods yet on the exiles?
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 07, 2008, 08:44:41 AM
Quote from: nifan on November 07, 2008, 01:29:30 AM
As a fellow owcer I dont always agree with what EG says, or even the verbosity of his arguments at times, but as a few people have said he was prepared to argue his case. I think the board would be worse without him, just as i think it would be worse without some of the people who he argues with (not all though - some of them are c***ts :P)

Agree. I haven't agreed with EG on anything but unless he was done something seriously bad (which i didn't see on the threads he posted on) then he should be let back now. Same for Hardstation. The other lad is used to doing a stretch so he'll be fine.
Post by: Minder on November 07, 2008, 09:06:27 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on November 07, 2008, 08:33:24 AM
This is than a wake were we all sit around and talk about how great the deceased was even thought he was a p***k.

EG was not the poster you are all making out. He had his opinions and he put them across well sometimes and badly other times (sometimes it was pure nonsense which he disguised in his cryptic posts). He often avoided valid arguments and would sometimes back up or attack a point made with gibberish completely unrelated to the point. This is were his talent lied. His ability to connect two or more unrelated points. If he couldn't do that he would confuse the reader to a point were the reader just gives up. Very few (if any) of the threads EG participated in came anywhere near a conclusion. He would drag out a thread and bore others into submission.

That should never happen now then that he is gone.........
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 07, 2008, 02:06:16 PM

I would have to agree with all of that, although I would have used lay instead of lied and I am amazed at the number of posters who think that EG will be a loss.

IMHO, he was the latest in a long line of posters (stretching back through Gweyltah, the bard of dunclug, the dowie, martyowc, [Very] Proud To Be Gay and SBE MD to SBE Mac*). All came onto the board with their preconceptions about the GAA and the type of people who post on a thread like this and tried to lecture everyone, rather than genuinely debate issues. In their eyes this was acceptable because of their (I believe) genuine belief that a superior intelligence lay within them that dwelt within those they encountered here. It is not the case that this belief should be interpreted as a typical Unionist superiority complex, but I think that each of those listed above did the cause of unionism and indeed soccer / IFA etc. far more harm than good with their posts here. Most of those listed have disgraced themselves in the past with some of their posts and I have no doubt that had EG hung round long enough his unreconstructed racism (that he openly displays on owc) would eventually come to the fore here.

* There are many excellent posters who have been introduced to this site through their association with ourweecountry.co.uk, EG isn't, wasn't and never will be one of them.

Similarly there are many posters on this site, from a GAA background who add little to this board and wouldn't be missed. hardstation  isn't, wasn't and never will be one of them.

Enjoy the weekend, folks.
Post by: Main Street on November 07, 2008, 02:25:55 PM
EG dresses up reactionary cynical sneers in a cloud of verbose liberal cráp.
Some people might be impressed with that. 

Instead of supposedly being childishly regarded as standing up to authority, posters should take heed of direct Mod warnings and back off or apologise, instead of acting like 12 year old kids in a classroom trying to look tough.

Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Breaking News on Evil Genius Ban
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 07, 2008, 02:27:36 PM
An unnamed source has informed me that EG's ban coincided with him calling another board member a "pathetic little creep".  He'd been warned on a few occasions about personal abuse towards this other board member. 
Post by: Handy on November 07, 2008, 03:06:22 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 07, 2008, 02:27:36 PM
An unnamed source has informed me that EG's ban coincided with him calling another board member a "pathetic little creep".  He'd been warned on a few occasions about personal abuse towards this other board member. 

Wow breaking news - Jesus wept!  :'(
Post by: Orior on November 07, 2008, 03:10:47 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 07, 2008, 02:06:16 PM

I would have to agree with all of that, although I would have used lay instead of lied and I am amazed at the number of posters who think that EG will be a loss.

IMHO, he was the latest in a long line of posters (stretching back through Gweyltah, the bard of dunclug, the dowie, martyowc, [Very] Proud To Be Gay and SBE MD to SBE Mac*). All came onto the board with their preconceptions about the GAA and the type of people who post on a thread like this and tried to lecture everyone, rather than genuinely debate issues. In their eyes this was acceptable because of their (I believe) genuine belief that a superior intelligence lay within them that dwelt within those they encountered here. It is not the case that this belief should be interpreted as a typical Unionist superiority complex, but I think that each of those listed above did the cause of unionism and indeed soccer / IFA etc. far more harm than good with their posts here. Most of those listed have disgraced themselves in the past with some of their posts and I have no doubt that had EG hung round long enough his unreconstructed racism (that he openly displays on owc) would eventually come to the fore here.

* There are many excellent posters who have been introduced to this site through their association with ourweecountry.co.uk, EG isn't, wasn't and never will be one of them.

Similarly there are many posters on this site, from a GAA background who add little to this board and wouldn't be missed. hardstation  isn't, wasn't and never will be one of them.

Elitist! Would you rather only have posters who have played intercounty then?
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 07, 2008, 03:23:18 PM
Well, after my solitary performance at midfield for Tyrone, I would be safe from such a cull, but I think you are deliberately missing the point.

Anyone who is capable of something remotely resembling reasoned, rational, mature debate is, IMHO, welcome on this site.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 07, 2008, 03:31:10 PM
Well you might hate EG lor what he says lads but banning him doesn't achieve much. I have been on the end of personal abuse here, read some atrocious crap from some people from the nationalist/catholic/republican side and I don't see anyone calling for them to be banned. If all he did was call someone a pathetic little creep then the punishment seems excessive. There are afair dew items I put to EG that he didn't answer me on and I'd prefer to have it out with him on here than sit here smugly because he is banned.
Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2008, 03:55:06 PM
CCTV cameras have spotted hardstation last night in Belfast

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=CQZ5tdsB1vg (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=CQZ5tdsB1vg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 07, 2008, 03:57:21 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 07, 2008, 03:31:10 PM
Well you might hate EG lor what he says lads but banning him doesn't achieve much. I have been on the end of personal abuse here, read some atrocious crap from some people from the nationalist/catholic/republican side and I don't see anyone calling for them to be banned. If all he did was call someone a pathetic little creep then the punishment seems excessive. There are afair dew items I put to EG that he didn't answer me on and I'd prefer to have it out with him on here than sit here smugly because he is banned.

He was giving plenty of warnings. 
Post by: Zapatista on November 07, 2008, 04:14:31 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 07, 2008, 03:31:10 PM
I have been on the end of personal abuse here, read some atrocious crap from some people from the nationalist/catholic/republican side and I don't see anyone calling for them to be banned.

Anyone giving myles personal abuse should be investigated by the mods and dealt with accordingly.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 07, 2008, 08:33:17 PM
To clarify on EG, myself and him were on warnings to stop winding each other up (possibly under the feud rule??).
He was then banned for ignoring this warning. Not 100% sure if it was this rule or the personal abuse rule, or both.

On his return I resolved to have no more contact with him, I politely told him this when he directed a post at me. Since that I made no contact with him, despite his referral to me and my posts, nor posted about him (apologies for breaking this resolve but I feel board members deserve an explanation).

But a few days back he referred to whoever got him banned as a "pathetic little creep", obviously aimed at me.

So to call someone a "pathetic little creep" alone might not be so bad. But when you are warned to avoid someone, ignore this, abuse them, get banned, then on your return call the person names despite no provocation whatsoever is naive to say the least, he must have expected the ban given the previous warnings.

I will continue to avoid EG and avoid referring to him, but I just thought some explanation should be given for his banning, especially given that it related directly to me.

Post by: Lecale2 on November 07, 2008, 08:52:21 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 07, 2008, 02:06:16 PM

Good advice from SS2
Post by: Puckoon on November 07, 2008, 08:59:19 PM
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51QBC9QY4XL._SL500_AA240_.jpg)

Some of the same old issues keep coming up with the same old people.
Post by: Minder on November 07, 2008, 09:36:26 PM
Would i be right in saying HHNB you have been involved in a few feuds on here? It all sounds familiar.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 07, 2008, 09:38:34 PM
I can only think of two  ???
What else was there?
Post by: Rossfan on November 07, 2008, 10:50:11 PM
Could all Mayo posters be banned till the Ballagh Rossies can play with their native County?  ;D
Post by: theskull1 on November 07, 2008, 10:50:33 PM
As someone who was on the receiving end of constant juvenile name calling I can side with hhnb on how grating it can get when it becomes obvious they only want to drag you down to their level

Personally feel that both men were good contributers although EG did go on a bit and I don't think I would enjoy the mans company. He does however bring balance to some of the political debates which is needed. I'd love to know what he enjoys about posting here though. Maybe keep us right is fun enough. The board would be a duller place without HS. His left field one liners will be sorely missed when heated debates are raging (has obviously got family from the country....you wouldn't that in the city. Hope they both get reinstated
Post by: milltown row on November 07, 2008, 11:11:16 PM
who's right and who's wrong in these situations? EG gave his views, which from his perspective he's right. had we been brought up in his traditions then we'd all be backing him. we can't control were we are born. it happens, but we manage over the  years to be sucked into we were wronged and they are basta**s. if you continuously live within a cocoon and believe everything someone tells ya then your beat.

if we are to ever get on with one another then we have accept that people were wronged on both sides, who was wronged the most??? well there's no point as it wont change it
Post by: ONeill on November 07, 2008, 11:16:22 PM
Milltown, the mods have been given a vote of no confidence but it doesn't make a jot.
Post by: milltown row on November 07, 2008, 11:25:55 PM
maybe they are biased. who isn't?

bring back the genius and hard station. good craic. never seen the post that made it all happen. not like station to be hung up on the views, mainly taking the piss posts are his trademark,  which, i find amusing
Post by: ONeill on November 07, 2008, 11:30:08 PM
Quote from: milltown row on November 07, 2008, 11:25:55 PM
maybe they are biased. who isn't?

What? Then you have dictatorship. People with power should exercise control and fairness. I should have been banned many times for what some have been banned for doing once. I tried to get banned once and couldn't.
Post by: the green man on November 07, 2008, 11:39:52 PM
this is for you HS

(http://images.ciao.com/iuk/images/products/normal/378/product-5333378.jpg)
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 07, 2008, 11:48:36 PM
Poor old hardstation

our current 'cooler king'

hes good for an amusing post of three...

bring him back !

as for the other eejit, I'd say he prob didnt deserve a ban, but continually abusing HH isnt on.
However SS2 is spot on with his assessment of that chaps irrelevent input on here.

Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2008, 11:50:38 PM
(http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w64/mcneelian/lolcats/younoevertalkthatwaitomeagin.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on November 07, 2008, 11:56:51 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 07, 2008, 11:48:36 PM

However SS2 is spot on with his assessment of that chaps irrelevent input on here.

Have a bit of self-respect and stop licking SS2's hole. He told me it's uncomfortable.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 07, 2008, 11:58:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 07, 2008, 11:56:51 PM

Have a bit of self-respect and stop licking SS2's hole. He told me it's uncomfortable.

I have way too much info on SS2 to ever have to 'lick his hole'

jealousy not an admirable trait  !
Post by: Handy on November 08, 2008, 08:21:05 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 07, 2008, 08:33:17 PM
To clarify on EG, myself and him were on warnings to stop winding each other up (possibly under the feud rule??).
He was then banned for ignoring this warning. Not 100% sure if it was this rule or the personal abuse rule, or both.

On his return I resolved to have no more contact with him, I politely told him this when he directed a post at me. Since that I made no contact with him, despite his referral to me and my posts, nor posted about him (apologies for breaking this resolve but I feel board members deserve an explanation).

But a few days back he referred to whoever got him banned as a "pathetic little creep", obviously aimed at me.

So to call someone a "pathetic little creep" alone might not be so bad. But when you are warned to avoid someone, ignore this, abuse them, get banned, then on your return call the person names despite no provocation whatsoever is naive to say the least, he must have expected the ban given the previous warnings.

I will continue to avoid EG and avoid referring to him, but I just thought some explanation should be given for his banning, especially given that it related directly to me.

All this from a man who constantly "outted" someone, when told not to, who threatened physical abuse to said person and who verbally (or whatever you do in type) abused said person!!!  You have some neck on you.  ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2008, 11:32:26 AM
Youse are like a pack of f**king schoolgirls with all your bitching and moaning and running to mods!
Post by: his holiness nb on November 08, 2008, 08:31:03 PM
Quote from: Handy on November 08, 2008, 08:21:05 AM
All this from a man who constantly "outted" someone, when told not to, who threatened physical abuse to said person and who verbally (or whatever you do in type) abused said person!!!  You have some neck on you.  ::)

Some neck? For telling the truth??

I dont believe I ever once gave anyones personal details on here. By "outing" do you mean mentioning an anonymous usernames previous anonymous username?
Must be that, I did that before and mods mailed me to ask me not to as the user had gotten himself into personal issues with another poster who knew who he was.
Once the mods advised me I deleted the post, and sent a pm to the poster to apologise saying I didnt realise there had been issues before under their old name.

I'm sure you can confirm this to be true yourself  ;)

The threats of physical abuse is a lie, you took my comments on a hypothetical situation and twisted them.

Like I've said with EG, I have no intentions in getting into further feuds with people I have has prior history with. Its just not worth the hassle.
So I shall be ingoring you from now on.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 08, 2008, 08:36:35 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 07, 2008, 09:36:26 PM
Would i be right in saying HHNB you have been involved in a few feuds on here? It all sounds familiar.

Yeah a few  :)

But of late I've been avoiding the ones I've clashed with before. Which is exactly what I was doing with EG at the time he got this ban, and will continue to do on his return.
Post by: Handy on November 08, 2008, 09:42:25 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 08, 2008, 08:31:03 PM
Quote from: Handy on November 08, 2008, 08:21:05 AM

Some neck? For telling the truth??

I dont believe I ever once gave anyones personal details on here. By "outing" do you mean mentioning an anonymous usernames previous anonymous username?
Must be that, I did that before and mods mailed me to ask me not to as the user had gotten himself into personal issues with another poster who knew who he was.
Once the mods advised me I deleted the post, and sent a pm to the poster to apologise saying I didnt realise there had been issues before under their old name.

I'm sure you can confirm this to be true yourself  ;)

The threats of physical abuse is a lie, you took my comments on a hypothetical situation and twisted them.

Like I've said with EG, I have no intentions in getting into further feuds with people I have has prior history with. Its just not worth the hassle.
So I shall be ingoring you from now on.

Lie - but thats what you are all about!! What about your verbal abuse of said poster?
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Bermuda Triangle Claims Another GAA Board Thread
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2008, 09:56:36 PM
UVF and RIR thread missing, presumed deleted.
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Bermuda Triangle Claims Another GAA Board Thread
Post by: milltown row on November 08, 2008, 09:58:02 PM
too many bigots on it ;) well a black taxi man told me that on the way up to the Felons
Post by: Handy on November 08, 2008, 10:31:52 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2008, 09:56:36 PM
UVF and RIR thread missing, presumed deleted.

A public forum, private agenda – ain't that life!  No one answerable, no one questionable - a dictatorship, do not question 3 people's will!!!  ??? ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 08, 2008, 10:38:13 PM
At least free press is allowed.
Post by: nifan on November 08, 2008, 10:39:06 PM
Dunno why that thread was deleted.
Didnt think there was anything that would be troublesome outside the board.
Post by: milltown row on November 08, 2008, 11:16:37 PM
very strange, what will  they pull next
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2008, 11:35:59 PM
A securocrat conspiracy no doubt.
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2008, 12:58:28 PM
Don't know, but the address used to be gaa.ie
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2008, 05:00:47 PM
Poor old hardstation

our current 'cooler king'

hes good for an amusing post of three...

bring him back !

as for the other eejit, I'd say he prob didnt deserve a ban, but continually abusing HH isnt on.

What about the abuse of Fearon (which I have done myself the odd time admittedly) - nothing ever happens about that
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2008, 05:03:03 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 08, 2008, 10:39:06 PM

I'd say it was due to the fact that someone's Bebo profile was posted
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2008, 05:05:15 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2008, 05:03:03 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 08, 2008, 10:39:06 PM

I think that link was taken off before it was deleted. 
Post by: nifan on November 09, 2008, 05:07:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 09, 2008, 05:03:03 PM

Id say the same boy would have been happy enough annoying the GAA fans.
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Hardstation Now Banned From Reading
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2008, 10:10:17 PM
It's jsut been reported to me that Hardstation, in the last ten minutes, has been banned from reading the board.  Isn't this a little bit much?

(http://www.cocaineinmotion.com/diblog/archives/Heil_Hitler.gif)
Post by: Yes I Would on November 09, 2008, 10:20:11 PM
Thats a bit extreme as right.

Someone actually cares enough to report this to you?
Post by: stephenite on November 09, 2008, 10:28:46 PM
It used to annoy me that people on here assumed they were entitled to due process - now I just laugh at their ignorance and stupidity
Post by: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 10:30:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 09, 2008, 10:10:17 PM
It's jsut been reported to me that Hardstation, in the last ten minutes, has been banned from reading the board.  Isn't this a little bit much?

By his ma though.
Post by: thebandit on November 09, 2008, 11:36:51 PM
What did they do? Block his IP address?
Crazy stuff.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 09, 2008, 11:45:00 PM
Don't challenge the authority of the mods. They obviously were spoilt by their mammys' and will take their ball away if you make them cross!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 09, 2008, 11:48:22 PM
What a boring weekend without hardstation :(
the mods really are getting carried away with themselves!
Post by: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 11:49:13 PM
It actually does seem like a clash of personalities. The reasons given for his IP address being blocked is ludicrous to put it mildly.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 09, 2008, 11:50:30 PM
Is it true they blocked his IP address?
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 09, 2008, 11:52:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 11:49:13 PM
It actually does seem like a clash of personalities. The reasons given for his IP address being blocked is ludicrous to put it mildly.

So the Gaaboard is run in the same way as the GAA.
Post by: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 11:55:03 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on November 09, 2008, 11:50:30 PM

100%
Post by: Orior on November 10, 2008, 12:07:28 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 11:55:03 PM

100%

I cant understand this. Hardstation is 100% harmless. Can the mods explain?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 12:13:20 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 11:55:03 PM

100%

:D Unreal!
Hope Hardstation is having as good a laugh at this as us!
Any other discussion boards hes on?
Post by: GAAboardmod1 on November 10, 2008, 12:20:38 AM
Hardstation was initially given a warning for abusing a poster and his wife. Upon receiving the warning he chose to abuse me, I asked him to refrain from doing so or it would carry a ban, he continued so he received a ban (four strikes altogether). Subsequently he has continued to use the board under different accounts, forcing us to put a ban on his IP address as this was making the ban null.

I hope this clears up the matter.

1. Personal abuse.
   Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is
   not allowed.
   e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or
   another rule. Retaliation is still a breach of the rule.

Penalties- 1st Offence - Warning,  Second Offence - 2 Day Ban, Third Offence - 10 Day Ban, Fourth Offence - Permanent Ban
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 12:24:38 AM
So is a pm telling you to catch a grip 'continued abuse'? If so, you've been 'abused' on this thread several times by many. You've a long night ahead of you.

As for abusing his wife, catch a grip! I've done the same to Fearon countless times and he to me. And it's not even abuse.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 12:29:33 AM
Why does someone giving you back chat annoy you so much? seeing you are anonymous,this should not bother you!
Hardstation is one of the better contributors on this board!
What about the Bard? any word of him lately?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2008, 12:35:21 AM
Quote from: GAAboardmod1 on November 10, 2008, 12:20:38 AM
Hardstation was initially given a warning for abusing a poster and his wife. Upon receiving the warning he chose to abuse me, I asked him to refrain from doing so or it would carry a ban, he continued so he received a ban (four strikes altogether). Subsequently he has continued to use the board under different accounts, forcing us to put a ban on his IP address as this was making the ban null.

1. Personal abuse.
   Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is
   not allowed.
   e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or

Penalties- 1st Offence - Warning,  Second Offence - 2 Day Ban, Third Offence - 10 Day Ban, Fourth Offence - Permanent Ban

Mod1 - if you have no objections (and hardstation doesn't), would it be possible to post up exactly what he was banned for as people are being given wildly different interpretations of what was said and if we can see, at least it'll be out in the open.

And when you say he continued to use the board under different usernames, was this to post or just to browse? If it was just to browse then surely its no problem as he could do that anyway without being logged in?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 12:37:41 AM
I would also like to see what he posted to see how serious it was?
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 12:41:06 AM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9941.75

Was it this thread? If so, tame stuff.

btw, apparently this was the abuse of the poster's wife (paraphrased)-

"Given your online discussion ability, I do wonder how you got a wife"

Bear in mind the poster in question told HS he'd use his posts to wipe his arse with - it was tit-for-tat nonsense, sprinkled with humour.
When warned, HS told the mod to wise up.
Mods told him never to speak to him/her like that again.
HS says whatever, ban if you want.
Banned.

Again, that's paraphrased but the gist of it. Now, to me, that sounds like a personality clash.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 12:46:31 AM
I take it there is a post missing on that thread?
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 10, 2008, 12:52:26 AM
Average 13 posts a day from HS.
What's he going to do?
Post by: dodo on November 10, 2008, 12:56:16 AM
Belated happy 2nd birthday to the present form of the GAABoard........ was 2 years on the go on Sunday.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 12:57:55 AM
Was the other poster warned?
Post by: Doire abú on November 10, 2008, 01:19:49 AM
Bring HS back!!

definetly one of the best posters on the board.
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2008, 01:38:34 AM
Is he gone for good?
Post by: Tyrones own on November 10, 2008, 02:55:21 AM

A month supposedly
Post by: Hardy on November 10, 2008, 10:55:10 AM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=cEAmtauCdsE
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 11, 2008, 10:07:25 AM
Disappointed that this thread had slipped to page 3 - if only for the ever-changing thread title.

What I have realised from this sordid saga is that far, far too many people on this board take themselves and the board far too seriously. When I want a bit of light relief from the relative tedium and seriousness that is my everyday life, I would come on here. The board is here to be enjoyed. That isn't really the case anymore.

This idea of reporting posts because of what some anonymous poster said about anyone's gaaboard persona is totally alien to me and it will be a cold day in hell before I report any post / poster for abusing the gaaboard persona that is saffron sam2. As such, that is why I have deep reservations about the banning of Evil Genius. Whilst, my thoughts on Evil Genius's whole raison d'etre are well known, I think that both the first and subsequent ban were extremely harsh. The 'personal abuse' was relatively mild and in one case indirect and I would appeal to the poster who reported him to grow a thicker skin if he is to hang around in the world of hyperspace. Having said that. I'm not missing EG; I am simply stating my opinion on the process that saw him banned.

hardstation, on the other hand is a different kettle of fish. I fear the moderator has erred in this matter.

Quote from: GAAboardmod1 on November 10, 2008, 12:20:38 AM

1. Personal abuse.
    not allowed.

Penalties- 1st Offence - Warning,  Second Offence - 2 Day Ban, Third Offence - 10 Day Ban, Fourth Offence - Permanent Ban

It is clear from previous posts that hardstation feels he has been banned for a month, yet it is equally clear from the emboldened parts above that the ban should actually have been permanent. If mod1 is serious about his role, then I look forward to never hearing from hardstation again! :D
Post by: give her dixie on November 11, 2008, 10:36:06 AM
Free the Hardstation 1............
Post by: Denn Forever on November 11, 2008, 10:45:39 AM
Get Tankie on the case.  He resurected GNevin when he was banned.
Post by: Bacon on November 11, 2008, 01:16:21 PM
How long has HS served now? Does he get time of for good behaviour? What were the other usernames he used recently to get around the ban?

So many questions.  ???
Post by: Bensars on November 11, 2008, 01:26:53 PM
It wouldnt be hard to change his IP address if he wanted to get back under a different guise.

Post by: his holiness nb on November 11, 2008, 01:55:58 PM
Lads, before this set of rules came into place there was an outcry for the mods to put rules in place to stop shite like feuds and personal abuse. The mods went to the hassle of putting these rules together and even consulted the posters before they were issued.

The very reason these rules were put in place was so the place could be a source of light relief as saffron sam would like. Many of these rules are there so you can post your opinions and comments without another posted sniping in calling you names and trying to darken the mood of the place.

The rules are very very clear and easily accessible, I dont know how you can have sympathy for anyone who knowingly breaks the rules, in many case having been previously warned by the mods, and gets a ban. If you dont like the rules of the site, find another site you like.

Thats said, I'm still baffled over Hardstations banning and would appeal to the mods to at least have another look over the posts that earned the ban.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 11, 2008, 02:01:15 PM
But hardstation clearly broke the rules also if you read the quote from admin1 above.

hardstation had previously been banned and on this occasion was warned that he would be banned again, yet he refused to heed this warning.

The only problem with hardstation's ban appears to be that it is a temporary rather than a permanent one.
Post by: nifan on November 11, 2008, 04:34:15 PM
QuoteI dont know how you can have sympathy for anyone who knowingly breaks the rules

I thought you considered tonys ban harsh?
Post by: his holiness nb on November 11, 2008, 05:06:00 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 11, 2008, 04:34:15 PM
QuoteI dont know how you can have sympathy for anyone who knowingly breaks the rules

Maybe I should have worded that better. I dont think the banning was harsh, as rules are rules.
I think the rule itself is harsh, and is enforced selectively.
Still, Tony knew the consequences, harsh or not.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 11, 2008, 05:07:38 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 11, 2008, 02:01:15 PM
But hardstation clearly broke the rules also if you read the quote from admin1 above.

To be honest, from what we have been told he posted, I dont see abuse towards the mods.
"catch a grip" ?? Abuse ??

Unless he said more than that, but that hasnt been clarified.
Post by: nifan on November 11, 2008, 05:08:47 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 11, 2008, 05:06:00 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 11, 2008, 04:34:15 PM

Maybe I should have worded that better. I dont think the banning was harsh, as rules are rules.
I think the rule itself is harsh, and is enforced selectively.
Still, Tony knew the consequences, harsh or not.

Fair enough
Post by: aroundincircles on November 11, 2008, 06:53:59 PM
THIS IS AN INNOCENT MAN.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 11, 2008, 07:06:50 PM
SS
QuoteThis idea of reporting posts because of what some anonymous poster said about anyone's gaaboard persona is totally alien to me and it will be a cold day in hell before I report any post / poster for abusing the gaaboard persona that is saffron sam2.
I dont think the rules are there to save someone's feelings but rather to stop the threads turning in to unreadable nonsense with namecalling and insults.
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Board Rules Under Scrutiny
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 11, 2008, 09:13:51 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 11, 2008, 08:10:10 PM
i just went into the chat room for a wee nosy and i seen hardstations name highlighted on the visitors list saying he had entered 10mins ago???????????

wheres the chat room? do you all go on it? there is prob a thread about it but i might have missed it
Post by: new devil on November 12, 2008, 12:42:47 AM
I was banned for 2 days last week..but the ban actually lasted a week...and was banned from reading the board to...still don't no why i was banned  ??? ???
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 12, 2008, 12:52:25 AM
May have had something to do with a post early one Sunday morning! Think you may have called a few posters nasty names :D
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2008, 11:04:06 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 11, 2008, 10:45:39 AM
Get Tankie on the case.  He resurected GNevin when he was banned.

I was a Political prisoner . I have to say i hate the way the board has a list of bans and offences which the Mods don't follow
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Tankie Takes The Ball Home As Board Says No To Poppies
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 14, 2008, 09:08:06 PM
Poor oul Tankie got himself all worked up today I see. 
Yourself and Gnevin might have more luck selling poppies around D4.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 14, 2008, 09:17:15 PM
Quote from: new devil on November 12, 2008, 12:42:47 AM
I was banned for 2 days last week..but the ban actually lasted a week...and was banned from reading the board to...still don't no why i was banned  ??? ???

I do
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Tankie Takes The Ball Home As Board Says No To Poppies
Post by: Tankie on November 15, 2008, 12:24:45 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 14, 2008, 09:08:06 PM

Ohh POG, nothing but ignorance from you guys!!!!!!!!  if only you could actually read instead of the northern politics tactics of muddying the water as they want to deny fact or just want to slander a man even tho with a click of a mouse everyone can see the facts that i want Irishmen remember and your British solders:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10111.150

Also I dont think they sell poppies in the Republic so I might need you to bring some down from Britain  ;)
Post by: the green man on November 15, 2008, 12:27:54 AM
Quote from: Tankie on November 15, 2008, 12:24:45 AM
I might need you to bring some down from Britain  ;)

Oohh

(http://blog.filife.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/angry-mob.png)
Title: In Memory of HS
Post by: ONeill on November 15, 2008, 12:31:42 AM
The morn was breaking bright and fair,
The lark sang in the sky,
When the maid she bound her golden hair,
With a blithe glance in her eye;
For, who beyond the gay green-wood,
Was a-waiting her with joy?
Oh, who but her gallant Renardine,
On the mountains of Pomeroy.

Chorus:
An outlawed man
In a land forlorn,
He scorned to turn and fly,
But kept the cause
Of freedom safe
Up on the mountains high.

Full often in the dawning hour,
Full oft in twilight brown
He met the maid in the woodland bow'r,
Where the stream comes foaming down.
For they were faithful in a love
No wars could e'er destroy;
No tyrant's law touched Renardine,

Chorus:    

"Dear love," she said, "I'm sore afraid,
For the foeman's fierce and you
They've tracked you in the lowland plain
And all the valley through.
My kinsmen frown when you are named;
Your life they would destroy.
'Beware,' they say, 'of Renardine,'
On the mountains of Pomeroy."

Chorus.

"Fear not, fear not, sweetheart," he cried,
"Fear not the foe for me.
No chain shall fall, whate'er betide,
On the arm that would be free!
Oh, leave your cruel kin and come
When the lark is in the sky;
And it's with my gun I'll guard you,
On the mountains of Pomeroy."

Chorus:

The morn has come, she rose and fled
From her cruel kin and home;
And bright the wood, and rosy red,
And the tumbling torrent's foam.
But the mist came down and the tempest roared,
And did all around destroy;
And a pale, drowned bride met Renardine
Chorus:

Post by: the green man on November 15, 2008, 12:40:08 AM
Good enough for the Tyrone loving Shaftie. Funny, theres a few like that!!

He'll be back in good time. This place is his drug.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 15, 2008, 09:57:04 AM

I noticed that, plus Tankie has the cheek to say I "probably thought all IRA murders were justified" and then locked the thread before I had a chance to reply to that!

Pretty serious thing to say about someone when you dont even have the manners to let them reply.
Post by: Tankie on November 15, 2008, 10:02:21 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 15, 2008, 09:57:04 AM

I noticed that, plus Tankie has the cheek to say I "probably thought all IRA murders were justified" and then locked the thread before I had a chance to reply to that!

Pretty serious thing to say about someone when you dont even have the manners to let them reply.

You had the chance to reply and you came back with "Thanks for proving my point!"
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10111.135

If you want to discuss your views on IRA murder start a new thread. Also it was another post who said it should be lock as it was clear yourself and Fear were not even what people were posting and were too busy trying to call me a brit or a poppy lover just because of your ignorance!
Post by: his holiness nb on November 15, 2008, 10:17:09 AM
Tankie, firstly I made a one line reply as I was rushing out the door. I later sent you a pm asking you to unlock the thread so I could make a reply, you wouldnt.

I had no intentions of discussing IRA murders, you brought that into it by claiming I thought they were all justified, this was totally off topic.
You still have not retracted that statement so I will make this very clear.. No I do not think all IRA murders were justified.
Now feel free to retract your allegations at any time.

Also Tankie, dont be lecturing guys about their "ignorance" just because they hold different views to you. I wasnt name calling, merely giving my own opinions on the topic, and of you, without name calling. To claim they are "ignorant" just because they dont have the same views as you is, well, ignorant!

Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2008, 09:47:40 PM
How long until the boul hardstation is back? To be honest Im getting bored around here, not many one liners around.

I know he'd hate to be known as a one trick pony, but in fairness if it wasnt for the fact that he can speak irish and was a handy man to have around for the match of the day latest scores - well, a one liner is what he is.

How about an early release mods?
Post by: Minder on November 19, 2008, 09:49:47 PM
This thread started on 6/11/08 so he has a bit of bird to do yet.
Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2008, 09:50:26 PM
How long did he get? One full moon?

What about Dr Evil - where's he at? Will he ever be back?

Moderators? I hate being in suspenders.
Post by: Minder on November 19, 2008, 09:54:49 PM
Hardstation got a month and i think Evil Genius may have been erased for good.
Title: Re: GAA Board Newsletter: Pleas for Hardstation Early Release
Post by: Puckoon on November 19, 2008, 09:57:12 PM
Thats too bad about yer man evil genius - goes to show that the pen is indeed mightier than the sword.

I wonder should we have a months mind for him.
Post by: thebandit on November 19, 2008, 10:26:04 PM
I dont think he'd appreciate a month's mind, maybe a memorial service of some sort would be appropriate  :D
Post by: Main Street on November 20, 2008, 01:29:02 AM
What's a "months mind"

is that some form of  "equal justice for all" subversive thinking?

Post by: stiffler on November 20, 2008, 11:48:17 AM
I see Evil Genius is logged in now  :o
Post by: Double Cross on November 20, 2008, 05:34:02 PM
Maybe EG got 50% remission
Post by: ONeill on November 20, 2008, 11:39:52 PM
**************HARDSTATION BULLETIN*****************

Day 14
And thon b**tard Evil Genius was released before me. I stood at the window of my cell and watched him walk out, a free man. His followers gathered, clapped and cheered as he was ushered into an old Ford Cortina. Probably on his way back to the Braniel, for a party. I heard a cry of 'No surrender'. It didn't phase me. In fact, I chuckled and thought to myself, "He'll be back before long". I'm almost halfway through my sentence. I must admit, it has got a lot easier as the time has gone on. My 'visits' have kept me going, well, not as much as the thought of a freshly baked Belfast bap from Roger's bakery, on the Falls, at the top of the Donegall Road. Not a plug but the truth - the best baps in Belfast, apart from Orlaith McAllister. From my visits, I have come to realise that there are great people on the outside, who do their best to help. It is appreciated. As for the others, the peeler-lovers, sure, it'll keep them out of trouble. Stakeknives. As can be expected, the security forces are giving me a hammering (mostly by telling lies about me, in order to justify their ridiculous actions), when I am unable to defend myself. The batons are out but long runs the fox. Keeping my nose clean and trying to avoid all escape plans, since the last two were rumbled. Don't want to sh*t in the nest when I can see the release light approaching. Speaking of nests, no sign of the lark. I'll be out of here soon, Tiocfaidh mo la.
Post by: the green man on November 21, 2008, 12:01:18 AM
I saw HS today. Lads he's not in great shape, to be honest. He craves to come back. I took this picture of him onawares. Look at his frail face:

(http://neatorama.cachefly.net/images/2005-11/wax-glue.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on November 21, 2008, 12:05:35 AM
He seemed to be enjoying himself last night green man

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=CQZ5tdsB1vg (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=CQZ5tdsB1vg)
Post by: Evil Genius on November 21, 2008, 05:37:44 PM
Margaret Thatcher's mantra apparently was "Never Explain, Never Complain". I have never complained about my treatment on this Board, nor shall I.

However, considering there has been some misunderstanding/misinformation about my recent ban, I shall explain.

Basically, I was previously advised by one of the Mods not to get drawn into personal spats with a certain other poster. Fine.
I then "lapsed" - nothing very serious imo - so was given a two day Ban. Again fine.
When I subsequently enquired who it was had reported me for the offending remark, the Mod concerned told me he couldn't remember. Again fine.
Some time later, when debating with Donagh, the subject of "touting" arose. We both agreed that this is not something either of would do ourselves, which in passing caused me to make a derogatory (but not obscene) remark about "whoever it was had informed on me last time" (or somesuch).
I did not therefore abuse personally any specified individual; indeed, I could not have, since I genuinely was not certain who it was had complained to the Mods. Moreover, the only person who could be certain who was being referred to by me was the complainant his/herself.
Then a little later when I went to log on, I received an onscreen message informing me that I had now incurred a two week ban for "engaging with XYZ".
Further, my IP Address must have been locked, since I could no longer even Log On to read threads, never mind contact any of the Mods for more information.
I note earlier in this thread that a (different) Mod stated that Hard Station's IP Address had been blocked following his latest ban, since he had been logging on under different identities. I have no idea whether he had or not, but I know I certainly have never even attempted to do any such thing, indeed would hardly know how to, even if I were so inclined.
There you have it.  

All I would add is that in the past on here I have been called all sorts of things, directed towards all sorts of places, and advised to conduct various practices on myself when I got there, all of it broadly based around a familiar theme.

None of this has ever bothered me in the past, nor will it in future, so if it makes other posters feel better about themselves to carry on in that vein, so be it. As I said above, I won't be complaining.
Post by: Main Street on November 21, 2008, 06:08:46 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on November 21, 2008, 05:37:44 PM

Basically, I was previously advised by one of the Mods not to get drawn into personal spats with a certain other poster. Fine.
I then "lapsed" - nothing very serious imo - so was given a two day Ban. Again fine.
When I subsequently enquired who it was had reported me for the offending remark, the Mod concerned told me he couldn't remember. Again fine.
Some time later, when debating with Donagh, the subject of "touting" arose. We both agreed that this is not something either of would do ourselves, which in passing caused me to make a derogatory (but not obscene) remark about "whoever it was had informed on me last time" (or somesuch).
I did not therefore abuse personally any specified individual; indeed, I could not have, since I genuinely was not certain who it was had complained to the Mods. Moreover, the only person who could be certain who was being referred to by me was the complainant his/herself.
Then a little later when I went to log on, I received an onscreen message informing me that I had now incurred a two week ban for "engaging with XYZ".
Further, my IP Address must have been locked, since I could no longer even Log On to read threads, never mind contact any of the Mods for more information.
I note earlier in this thread that a (different) Mod stated that Hard Station's IP Address had been blocked following his latest ban, since he had been logging on under different identities. I have no idea whether he had or not, but I know I certainly have never even attempted to do any such thing, indeed would hardly know how to, even if I were so inclined.
There you have it.  

All I would add is that in the past on here I have been called all sorts of things, directed towards all sorts of places, and advised to conduct various practices on myself when I got there, all of it broadly based around a familiar theme.

None of this has ever bothered me in the past, nor will it in future, so if it makes other posters feel better about themselves to carry on in that vein, so be it. As I said above, I won't be complaining.

You're not complaining just minimising guilt.
Most ofthe  GAA board, their dogs and cats as well were aware of that HH and yourself were both warned to lay off each other.

Unless you had been abusing posters as a daily ritual it would not have even taken a Doctor Watson to work out that the poster you personally abused was the very same poster you had been warned not to.
And obviously if you refer to the that  supposedly unknown person as  a xxxxxxxxxxx  (words too abusive to type)
then you are still breaking the same rule.
Feigned ignorance is not a defense , a dishonourable defense maybe.

Post by: Puckoon on November 21, 2008, 06:11:24 PM
Im glad you fixed that little typo. Im sure it was just a lack of match practice.

Welcome back EG (Im away to cancel the months mind now that you've risen like a literary pheonix from the flames).

Post by: nifan on November 21, 2008, 06:14:52 PM
Welcome back EG, i must admit i was expecting a couple of pages of prose to be built up for yuor first post back!
Post by: Evil Genius on November 21, 2008, 06:19:19 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 21, 2008, 06:08:46 PM
You're not complaining just minimising guilt.
Most ofthe  GAA board, their dogs and cats as well were aware of that HH and yourself were both warned to lay off each other.

Unless you had been abusing posters as a daily ritual it would not have even taken a Doctor Watson to work out that the poster you personally abused was the very same poster you had been warned not to.
And obviously if you refer to the that  supposedly unknown person as  a xxxxxxxxxxx  (words too abusive to type)
then you are still breaking the same rule.
Feigned ignorance is not a defense , a dishonourable defense maybe.

I explained/interpreted it as I saw it. You may accept or reject my explanation/interpretation as you wish. I couldn't care less either way.

My attitude to posting on this Board is exactly the same as it was e.g. when I used to play soccer. If you can't take it, don't dish it out. If you do dish it out, don't be too surprised if you have to take it back. And if the referee should choose to intervene at any stage, so be it. Above all, when he blows the final whistle, that's an end to it.

P.S. When you quoted from my original post, this presumably must have been just before I edited it, to add the following: "Moreover, the only person who could be certain who was being referred to by me was the complainant his/herself". Perhaps unlike others, I did not automatically assume who it was had informed on me to the Mods the second time, even if I did have my suspicions.
Post by: ONeill on November 21, 2008, 09:04:54 PM

Go on ye oul barstard, away back te the mainland and feck yerself.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 21, 2008, 09:11:56 PM
Margaret Thatcher's mantra apparently was "Never Explain, Never Complain". I have never complained about my treatment on this Board, nor shall I.

Nor can she, now  ;)

Welcome back, you cantankerous, long-winded git.