FAI...June 2024 Friendlies v Hungary and Portugal

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

I don't like seeing McClean start as he's too predictable. He tends to go at players a lot and they've him sussed quickly. When you bring him on against tired legs he can actually be quite effective...

Brady had a stinker but still can be very good. Walters is our most effective player at holding the ball up and his work rate allows us to play one up much easier so should generally start in my view...

JPGJOHNNYG

Walters had a poor game but in fairness he has been are best player in this campaign by a mile. The brady Mclean combo was a horror show. James is a really really limited player but at least he has a go and sometimes when we have no creativity just running at defenders and having a shot can get you somewhere. Robby Brady maybe a good player but he has to do it when it matters not in friendlies against Oman and USA he was also shocking against Poland at the Aviva and was responsible for their goal

ashman

McClean is limited and had a stinker last day out .  However he nearly always gives energy and whips in a good cross.

Shane Long if fit has to start the next day . If he doesn't we don't deserve to go to France.

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 19, 2015, 09:27:09 AM
Or McClean!!
We should bring him on at the end if we are winning to goad the Bosnian fans  ;)

Quote from: ashman on October 19, 2015, 10:42:29 AM
McClean is limited and had a stinker last day out .  However he nearly always gives energy and whips in a good cross.

Shane Long if fit has to start the next day . If he doesn't we don't deserve to go to France.
Even if we win?  ;D

ashman

Quote from: laoislad on October 19, 2015, 12:31:17 PM
Quote from: ashman on October 19, 2015, 10:42:29 AM

Even if we win?  ;D

Better believe it !!!!!

How did we get the second leg at home by the way?

dec

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 19, 2015, 01:42:02 PM
How did we get the second leg at home by the way?
Luck of the draw, there was no seeding for order of games, only who who would play who.

shark

Sure jaysus, in that case we were as good as seeded :)

An Watcher

Ukrainians and Swedes were out first.  Thought we were gonna end up with the Hungarians.  Even that would have been tricky though.  Not one bit confident but then again I wasn't one bit confident about getting anything from the Germans

Quote from: mylestheslasher on October 18, 2015, 09:55:53 PM
Can people stop calling Argentina "Argies", its that type of shite the british red tops printed during the falklands war.

plus 1.

Think it is a generational thing tbf . Younger posters here mightn't remember the sneery snide way the term began.

A pig ignorant way imo to describe Argentina.

Rugby lads on TV3 were using it yesterday at times.

Quote from: Canalman on October 19, 2015, 02:51:21 PM
Can people stop calling Argentina "Argies", its that type of shite the british red tops printed during the falklands war.

plus 1.

Think it is a generational thing tbf . Younger posters here mightn't remember the sneery snide way the term began.

Very inappropriate. Argy bargy is a sloppy term as well.

Quote from: seafoid on October 19, 2015, 08:56:06 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 19, 2015, 02:51:21 PM

plus 1.

Very inappropriate. Argy bargy is a sloppy term as well.

Aussie off the books then?? Indians? And don't head to the chinkys for a Chinese.. Taffs??