Started by Lecale2, February 25, 2007, 02:44:02 PM

Longford ahead by 2, with 14 men, 1 minute left

FT:
Laois 6-11
Wicklow 2-8

Kildare 2-15
Meath 1-9

Full time.

Long overdue win for Kildare at this level. Senior panelists to the fore. Kelly, Flynn and Fogarty in particular.

Longford won and probably should have won by more

Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 06, 2013, 08:53:26 PM
Longford won and probably should have won by more
Very impressive win. Should be able to win out Leinster now.

U21 Shamrock Cup Final

Monaghan 3-4 to 0-5 against Tyrone (35 mins gone)

Fair play to Longford, hastings cup producing some very strong sides. As a Rossi hope Longford go well.

Split Longford in two ;)

Ciaran Kilkenny missed a last gasp free

Longford 1-6 Dublin 1-5

Nice double with kildare 1/2, Longford were 13/2, crazy odds , considering they won Leinster minor in 2010.

Is this Leinster champ straight knock out or is there a back door??

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 06, 2013, 08:56:33 PM
U21 Shamrock Cup Final

Monaghan 3-4 to 0-5 against Tyrone (35 mins gone)

I am worried by Monaghan. Hope we have someone watching that game.

Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 06, 2013, 08:58:52 PM
Is this Leinster champ straight knock out or is there a back door??

No back door and no second chances in the U21 football championship.

Redhand Santa

Given how hot of favourites (11/10 I think) the Dubs were for the All Ireland that's some result. Dublin were extremely negative in last years All Ireland minor final and it was a very low scoring game tonight - maybe their tactics cost them.

Tyrone were second favourites for the U21s but don't seem very impressive in the Shamrock. Worrying considering they had a strong team out tonight.

The Insider

Well done to Eugene and all the lads for tonight's result. An example of what hard work does, only 3 clubs can with certainty field in a 15 a side championship here, about 11 will field 13 a side . Picking that panel from less than 200 players in total from 17 up. Dublin knew what was coming having just about got out of Pearse Park in the minor in 2012 , We felt so confident that year we even conceded home venue in a Leinster league final to play them in Parnell Park . Great to see Paddy Thompson finally play championship football, missed both 2010 and 2011 minor championships with cruciate injuries, would have taken Galway in the All Ireland q/final had himself and Mark Hughes been available  for that game and who knows what might have happened. Our small numbers are huge factor in creating a great team spirit that helps achieve results like this and should be an example to all small counties who find it easier to lie down and allow themselves to be hammered

I got odds of 11/1 on Longford to win. cheers paddy power and thanks to our neighbours the larries.