FAI...June 2024 Friendlies v Hungary and Portugal

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 25, 2016, 08:40:14 AM
Proper poacher..... Was greedy as feck never passed to many balls when it was the best option, had a bitta fight in him which other players lacked.... Done well injury wise also!!
If ever you observed his game, he most always passed the ball, but most always he demanded it be passed back to him immediately.

Robbie has been one of our fine exponents. He never missed a game for us (Ireland). Would always hold himself in good stead both on and off the pitch. You see, because Robbie was not as well spoken as some of our sporting greats - he got a hard time!  This is where sporting snobbery takes hold!

ashman

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 25, 2016, 11:48:23 PM
Robbie has been one of our fine exponents. He never missed a game for us (Ireland). Would always hold himself in good stead both on and off the pitch. You see, because Robbie was not as well spoken as some of our sporting greats - he got a hard time!  This is where sporting snobbery takes hold!

Robbies best years were in the McCarthy /Kerr/ Trapp era at a time when the public turned against the national soccer team and the FAI .  The media in particularly got very very nasty after they largely sided with Roy Keane .

Jim_Murphy_74

Just saw on RTE news that he got another goal tonight.

Only a casual observer of the sawker-ball but fair play to him.

/Jim.

An Watcher

A great player, captain and professional.
In a time when many players don't give a toss about their national team, Keane never missed.
Legend

Great player. I always liked him. I was very disappointed  with the way Liverpool treated him.

Another great moment from last night was when Paul McGrath was spotted on the big screen and got a massive round of applause. He seemed genuinely delighted.

Saw some interesting tweet from Dave Hannigan last night about the number of times Ireland have played Oman recently when they have't played any other European teams in years. Seems a bit bizarre.

Quote from: gallsman on September 01, 2016, 10:12:01 AM
Saw some interesting tweet from Dave Hannigan last night about the number of times Ireland have played Oman recently when they have't played any other European teams in years. Seems a bit bizarre.

€€€€€€€

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2016, 10:13:22 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 01, 2016, 10:12:01 AM

€€€€€€€

Obviously about the moolah but seems a bit odd that the FAI are the only ones playing them from "established" nations.

John must have an in with Oman. Sure what established nation would bother their arse?

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2016, 10:18:42 AM
John must have an in with Oman. Sure what established nation would bother their arse?

The FAI surely aren't the only association chasing cash though? Or are they that bad?

You get the feeling the ref will be the main talking point after the game

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: JoG2 on September 05, 2016, 08:14:41 PM
You get the feeling the ref will be the main talking point after the game
He's been very quick handing out yellows to Irish players. The Serbians getting away with far worse challenges.
Plenty of goals there for us I feel but we also look dodgy enough at the back.