A History of Ireland in 100 Euphemisms: Add your own.

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, March 24, 2011, 08:19:35 PM

hsthompson

Quote from: seafoid on March 25, 2011, 10:25:28 AM
Ireland is great for euphemisms about drinking and alcoholism and social class. But "the Troubles" beats them all.

Always found that funny too - a 30 year civil war is a bit more than 'trouble'! Calling the second world war 'The Emergency' is in the same vein

boojangles

Theres a bitta word for that yoke in the next...
Ya humpy bastard...
Ya can have your shite...

Quote from: hsthompson on March 25, 2011, 03:49:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 25, 2011, 10:25:28 AM
Ireland is great for euphemisms about drinking and alcoholism and social class. But "the Troubles" beats them all.

Always found that funny too - a 30 year civil war is a bit more than 'trouble'! Calling the second world war 'The Emergency' is in the same vein

On the run
only his mother could love him
he's good for carrying the footballs out to training

Oh jus (spelled phonetically)

e.g. hes an Oh jus man.  Is this just a Cavan expression?

On another is "He is the two sides of a B*ll*x.

Quote from: Denn Forever on March 25, 2011, 04:07:54 PM
Oh jus (spelled phonetically)

e.g. hes an Oh jus man.  Is this just a Cavan expression?

On another is "He is the two sides of a B*ll*x.

I presume that's a Cavanism of 'Odious'? We (in Offaly) say 'Woe-Jus', but that means anything 'Cat malodeon'.

Oh Jus meaning Big, out of the ordinary.  Kinda like Terrible/fierce in the phrase terrible/fierce nice fella.  We know what it means but I'd hate to have to translate if.

The Meath version is "horrid". He's a horrid nice fella.

We also have our version of the "two sides/ends". He's the two ends and the middle of a hoor.

That'd probably be the opposite of a euphemism, but. (Putting "but" at the wrong end of the sentence is another one of ours).

I find Horrid, OhJus and Thara,  three great words in common use in Monaghan, still try to figure out their meaning and when to throw them into conversation.

I say things like "that's a horrid nice cup of tae" or "the rain is a Thara" , when I roll these out when down in Kerry I get quare funny looks !!

I met a woman from Monaghan once who said Barry's tea was the drink of choice of "black Protestants", another great one.

Quote from: muppet on March 25, 2011, 04:03:07 PM

he's good for carrying the footballs out to training

Said about two recent Galway football selectors - 'they're great men to collect the footballs after training'.

Go and shite

I'll break your face (is there such a medical condition as a broken face?).

Did ya stick the head into her?

Daycent people

Wouldn't kick snow off a rope
Wouldn't hit Clery's window wirra brick

paddy o'rourke out
i never touched him
diving bastard
specsavers ref
throw ball ref
its who you know
cant beat a toyota
his diesels shite
flash the lights at me..
keep er lit
a file is being prepared for the DPP ::)
FFS not another priest

passedit

Don't Panic

The Subbie

I don't accept that.

Start ye dirty black enameled bastard ye.

Quit yer whining ye f**king bitch of a corncrake(when started)