A History of Ireland in 100 Euphemisms: Add your own.

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, March 24, 2011, 08:19:35 PM

And thats the craic says she, with one leg on the dresser

Leo

It'll do rightly...

N-n-n-n-no favours were given (Bertie, Charlie, Burke, Pee Flynn, Lowry et al)
Fierce tame altogether

passedit

Quote from: Leo on March 25, 2011, 02:14:39 AM
It'll do rightly...

N-n-n-n-no favours were given (Bertie, Charlie, Burke, Pee Flynn, Lowry et al)

That jersey's a bit tight on ye
Don't Panic

Would ya look at the time, and not a child washed in the house

A long way from xxx you were rared

Sure all his people were the very same

He has a younger brother coming up, and he's twice as good

I remember him when he hadn't an arse in his trousers

He was known to the Gardai
Dig Out
yerra for jaysus sake that's a fuckin penalty
he's the salt of the earth
the auld sod
rake of porter
feed of beer

Are these euphemisms lads? I always thought a euphemsism was when you said something, and it also meant something else.

Like ' A bit of a commotion' is a euphemism for 'there was a absolute carnage outside the chicken hut after the disco'.

Quote from: AZOffaly on March 25, 2011, 09:30:34 AM
Are these euphemisms lads? I always thought a euphemsism was when you said something, and it also meant something else.

Like ' A bit of a commotion' is a euphemism for 'there was a absolute carnage outside the chicken hut after the disco'.

Your example seems to fit the bill alright AZ. But Frank McNally seems to be way off...

From dictionary.com

1. the substitution of a mild, indirect, or vague expression for one thought to be offensive, harsh, or blunt.
2. the expression so substituted: "To pass away" is a euphemism for "to die."

Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 25, 2011, 09:21:04 AM
one of the classics and can't be anything but a euphimism
Quote from: passedit on March 25, 2011, 08:02:35 AM
That jersey's a bit tight on ye
another classic, and one I've been hearing myself lately, must be the new washing machine!!

Correct. But half the original euphemisms in the post fail that test so I think people are entering into the spirit and coming up with amusing colloquialisms

Quote from: deiseach on March 25, 2011, 09:53:20 AM

Correct. But half the original euphemisms in the post fail that test so I think people are entering into the spirit and coming up with amusing colloquialisms
and most of us have dropped the history of ireland bit too

Quote from: Bogball XV on March 25, 2011, 09:50:22 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 25, 2011, 09:21:04 AM
one of the classics and can't be anything but a euphimism

I wonder what the French equivalent of 'helping police with their enquiries' is.