Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Eurovision final here we c...
Last post by whitey - Today at 12:19:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on Today at 09:29:54 AMI know social media isn't real but a lot of the bots and pro-Israel accounts are really attacking Bambie Thug. Essentially is this what we are exposing our poor kids to?

Of course, 'won't someone think of the children!' doesn't extend to the ones in Gaza...

That's that for another year...

Well if Michael Martin and RTE were in favor of Bambi Thug, a certain proportion of the population were always going to do the exact opposite
GAA Discussion / Re: Tailteann Cup 2024
Last post by FermGael - Today at 11:52:27 AM
The issue with the Tailteann is , as predicted , coverage and publicity .

Could the gaa not trial playing this competition on a Friday night and see what crowds it attracts plus get TG4 to cover it ?

Surely it's worth a try because I have the distinct feeling it's dying on its arse .
The logic is that you don't get 2 attempts at a shot for a foul. You get 1.

That can be a free or let the play continue if the opportunity is deemed by the ref to be better than the original free.

A free is not a guaranteed score. If you don't take advantage of it then tough. The same should apply to shots that are deemed to be "better than the free".

There is an advantage if he misses in the 5 seconds. He just didn't take it.

Down / Re: Down Club Hurling & Footba...
Last post by SHEEDY - Today at 11:47:03 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on Today at 08:15:22 AMI didnt get to Newry yesterday. But sounded like a routine win yesterday. Limerick tried to flood the defence to keep the score down. Anyone make an impression? How did Ben McConville play. McKibben and McGovern both got a few scores. London up next who demolished Offaly in Tullamore. The group stage doesn't get the imagination going. 
it was a very 'professional' performance from Down yesterday, turn up get the job done and get plenty of players game time in doing so. Apart from first 10 minutes Down were always in control without really blowing Limerick away.
Daniel Guinness, Ryan McEvoy, Pierce Laverty were all very good, Odhran Murdock who played a lot of the game at full forward won a lot of ball and showed well in the forward line
GAA Discussion / Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & ...
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 11:43:29 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 11:36:15 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on Today at 11:12:56 AMThat's a good point.
It also reinforces my belief that the rule is wrong in that if you get an opportunity to shoot from a more advantageous position then you should not get a free regardless of the outcome.
It should be one or the other.
depends if you're shooting off balance i think

There's no advantage if he misses within the 5 seconds. So if he misses then within the 5 seconds, bring it back for the free, because in olden times the ref gives the free and they score from it. I'm not sure of the logic he had a chance but missed, tough?
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 11:40:25 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on Today at 11:11:00 AM
Quote from: Gianni on Today at 10:47:35 AMHi men! I am Giovanni from Italy, I come from Rome. I am an amateur soccer player and now I discover this new sport, i.e. Gaelic Football.
I have already read all the rules but I still have doubts.
Ok, let's get started.

1. When the player is in possession of the ball, the ball is held in his hands, he could:
  A. throw the ball in the air and catch it again with your hands? I think not, right?
  B. throw the ball in the air, hit it with any part of the body except arms and hands and then catch it in the hands? I don't think so, am I right?
  C. throw the ball and hit it with any part of the body, maybe like someone throws the ball in the air and then hits it with his head, legal?
  D. Bringing the ball with the hands at head height and then, without either throwing or releasing it, hitting the ball with the head or any part of the body except the hands, legal?

2. Rule: 1.5 When the ball has not been caught, it may be bounced more than once in succession.. So a player could control the ball with one hand (or two?) and play it basketball style as far as he wants? It would be much easier than soloing so how come we don't see it? The reason I expect is that 'caught' does not infer with both hands?

3. When a player tries to catch a ball in the air he may touch the ball several times with his hands as long as he has control of it. But could he continue to bounce the ball from his hand into the air as Hurling players do with stick and ball?
Rule: To play the ball up with the hand(s) and catch it again before it touches the ground, another player, or goal-posts
But, according to the rule, a player, once he touches the ball once in the air, cannot touch it a second or third time?
I believe as long as he can't control the ball the player could do it, but if we interpret the rule literally this wouldn't be legal, would it?

4. Situation: a player takes possession and hops the ball.

A. After the hop he flicks it up in the air and catches it before it bounces the ground, a posts or a player.
 B. he flicks it to pass the ball to someone else.
 C. he flicks it to score a goal.
are A, B, C legals?

5. Situation: a player with the foot or with other parts of body but the hands tries a "Sombrero trick" and:
 A. in the air he strikes the ball to an other direction.
 B. in the air he strikes the ball and then he caught it.
 C. in the air he caught it and goes on.

6. Ladies Gaelic football allows this:
Rule: A player may toss up the ball with one hand and play it off with the same hand.
So a player toss up the ball with right hand, surpass a player and then he can catch it with right hand, legal?
What does mean this Rule: Showing the Ball or Turning Twice with the ball is NOT a foul providing it is done within the 4 step rule.
I mean what are the showing the ball or turning twice.

Thanks

I'll leave these to the resident ref but you have given PTSD with point 2. The way that rule is to be interpreted after the Clifford or Ganey (can't remember which) goal makes no sense. For a ball to be considered bounced it has to leave the hands, hit the ground and return immediately into the hand. As a result the the rule basically says you can continue to bounce the ball provided you never bounce the ball.

I'll go through some of these later, but the bounce rule has been in place forever, you could if your opponents let you literally bounce it up the pitch.

But to say it's easier than soloing it is bananas, the ball is more exposed and easier tackled if bouncing it up the pitch, one of the main reasons as to why you don't see it done on purpose

Not sure why anyone would think showing the ball (providing the ball isn't shifted from one hand to the other) or turning twice within the time it takes 4 steps is or should be a foul, theoretically I can turn 20 times (if I was a ballerina) in the time it takes to take four steps.
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 11:36:15 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on Today at 11:12:56 AMThat's a good point.
It also reinforces my belief that the rule is wrong in that if you get an opportunity to shoot from a more advantageous position then you should not get a free regardless of the outcome.
It should be one or the other.
depends if you're shooting off balance i think
Tyrone / Re: Tyrone County Football and...
Last post by Goals_Will_Come - Today at 11:32:26 AM
EirGrid U20 FC: Tyrone reach decider

EirGrid All-Ireland U20 Football Championship Semi-Final
Tyrone 3-18 Roscommon 3-8

Yet again, the Eirgrid U-20 championship delivered a contest of the highest quality this evening at Kingspan Breffni, where Tyrone secured their place in next weekend's All-Ireland final at Roscommon's expense thanks to a sumptuous attacking display. The final margin of 10 points would suggest a one-sided contest, but this wasn't. Roscommon threw all that they had at the Ulster champions, and when they fired two goals in quick succession at start of the second half, the crowd was rocking at it looked like the upset might be on. Instead, Tyrone roared back into the game after steadying the ship with two long range dead ball scores from Conor McAneney, and once Eoin McElholm crowned his stylish all-round attacking display with a fantastic breakaway goal, the Red Hand man were in control again. Cormac Devlin fired a couple of points with substitutes Noah Grimes and Conor Owens also adding their names to the lengthy list of scorers, bringing that number up to 11. The only black mark from their perspective was a stoppage time skirmish that saw substitute Ruairí McHugh, as well as Senan Lambe and Ryan Dowling from Roscommon, pick up a straight red card, ruling him out of next weekend's All-Ireland final against Kerry.

The story of both halves was a story of Roscommon starting brightly, but Tyrone responding in the manner of Champions. Shane McGinley, who had been the star name in the Connacht champions' attack throughout the year, kicked off the contest with a wonderful goal in reply to Shea O'Hare's opening point. With six minutes gone there were six scores on the board, and Tyrone had drawn level after Ronan Cassidy and then a brace from
Ruairí McCullagh cancelled out McGinley's goal. From the first throw in, Tyrone looked to push up and defend high up the pitch, and they got a lot of joy out of this approach. Midfielders Ronan Fox and Conor O'Neill were strong in the air, allowing Paul Devlin's side to really push up on kickouts, and this also brought wing backs Shea O'Hare and Ódhrán Brolly into the game. A scything run from Joey Clark set up O'Neill for Tyrone's first goal, and while Roscommon did undo some of that damage with the next two points, including a fine score on the run from Rob Heneghan, Tyrone hit another purple patch before half time, crowned by an excellent team goal that O'Hare slammed to the net.

Seven down at half-time, Roscommon found another huge start to the second half and after the first two points were shared, quickfire goals from Conor Ryan and Bobby Nugent brought them right back into it. However, a couple of very scorable chances to surf the wave and get in front proved costly, and once Tyrone hit another rich vein of form, they never looked back. Goalkeeper Conor McAneney got Tyrone out of their mini-funk with a couple of excellent long range kicks, and almost in the blink of an eye, they were out of sight. A clinical fast break saw Conor O'Neill carry the ball out of defence and once the ball was worked into Eoin McElholm, the Loughmacrory
attacker executed a slick turn and a perfect low finish to leave Roscommon in a deep hole once again – and this time, the Ulster county were in no mood to allow them to escape.

Scorers for Tyrone: Eoin McElholm 1-02, Conor O'Neill 1-01, Shea O'Hare 1-01, Ruairí McCullagh 0-03, Ronan Cassidy 0-03 (1f), Conor McAneney 0-02 (1f, 1 45), Cormac Devlin 0-02, Odhrán Brolly 0-01, Ronan Fox 0-01, Noah Grimes 0-01, Conor Owens 0-01f.
Scorers for Roscommon: Shane McGinley 1-05 (3fs), Bobby Nugent 1-01, Conor Ryan 1-00, Dan Hagney 0-01, Rob Heneghan 0-01.

Tyrone: Conor McAneney; Conor Devlin, Ben Hughes, Joey Clarke; Shea O'Hare, Michael Rafferty, Ódhrán Brolly; Ronan Fox, Conor O'Neill; Cormac Devlin, Callum Daly, Gavin Potter; Ronan Cassidy, Ruairí McCullagh, Eoin McElholm.
Subs: Fiachra Nelis for Brolly (half-time), Ruairí McHugh for Devlin (41), Paddy McCann for Fox (52), Noah Grimes for Cassidy (56), Conor Owens for McCullagh (58).
Roscommon: Seán Allen; Eoghan Carthy, James Connolly, Dan Casey; Senan Lambe, Eden Kerins, James McGreal; Conor Harley, Conor Ryan; Rob Heneghan, Rory Hester, Dan Hagney; Shane McGinley, Niall O'Donnell, Bobby Nugent.
Subs: Ryan Dowling for Heneghan (30), Cillian Campbell for Carthy (half-time), Ethan O'Reilly for Hester (half-time), Ryan Conlon for Hagney (45), Oisín O'Flaherty for McGreal (54).
Referee: Jonathan Hayes (Limerick).
General discussion / Re: The Offical Glasgow Celtic...
Last post by marty34 - Today at 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: Main Street on Today at 11:16:32 AM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 10:30:42 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 11, 2024, 11:12:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 11, 2024, 01:30:35 PMDominating this game.
The ' eejit Kenny on co-commentary who repeatedly claimed Lundstrom's red was not a red.
What a nutcase!

Just watching the highlights there.

WTF is Miller on about??

You'd swear there were ten leg-breaking tackles like that every day the way he's going on.

Absolute bellend! ;D

In fairness, rangers manager was unequivocal about it saying it was red and a bad tackle. Bizarre stuff from Miller.
What I understand from his later justifications it's even more bizarre. Kenny claimed that it would not have been a red card tackle in his day, therefore it wasn't a red card tackle.

I think he's just doubling down on his initial decision. Doesn't want to back down. A clown.

Although Sutton is a clown also. Can't stand him.

Yesterday's game, like this year's league, was very hard work by Celtic.  Poor stuff. Should have beaten them out the gate by 4 or 5 goals.  Typical 2-0 up then conceding straight away. Just typical of this season.

Point still stands. Board need to invest big time now. Players like Scales, Harte and Taylor etc. are clearly not at the right standard. Celtic need serious investment.  That should start right now instead of their usual messing about in August.

This will bring in more money via Champions League and good chance Matt O'Riley will go for £10m+.

Last post by David McKeown - Today at 11:20:30 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 11:15:27 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on Today at 11:00:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2024, 12:25:28 PMPersonally I let it continue a 'good' 5 seconds in those critical areas (goal scoring ops) and other than him committing an aggressive foul himself or literally taking the piss in steps I'll bring back for the original

2 games in a row now (football) lads and management are still unsure of the rules for even the basics that have been about for years.

As David has said many times, its not a black and white set of rules, it is in most parts down to the ref's interpretation of the rules which largely pisses people off, but that's the way it is currently until a review is done to tidy it up

Before the advantage rule we used to have the 'slow' whistle which allowed us to give a player a chance to 'break' free of a challenge and possibly set up play, or score.  Sort of stuck on both now lol!

There was one last night in the Cork v Limerick match that made me wonder. Cork attacking near the end chasing a goal. Advantage given inside the 21. Player breaks free, and gets a shot away off target. Goes over the bar but he was clearly shooting for goal. Should that come back? I mean I know he scored but Cork needed a goal and got one from a free in the same position against Clare the last day out. I genuinely don't know what should happen in that scenario. Would the attacker have been better deliberately missing?

Remembered it, never thought that any of the players or management wanted that retaken. But it's a good point because had he missed it would have undoubtedly been brought back for a 21 yard free.

The introduction of the advantage rule was to reduce the amount of fouls happening in the game, creating less breaks better fluency.

When done well it's better for the game, think it works better in hurling.

To be fair I think (as proved in hindsight) there was still enough time left. Had it been three or four minutes later there might have been more call to get the free