GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: IolarCoisCuain on July 29, 2014, 09:44:36 PM

Title: Gaillimh v Ciarraí, Cluiche Ceathrú-Ceannais na hÉireann, Páirc a'Chrócaigh
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 29, 2014, 09:44:36 PM
Slightly stunned there isn't a thread on this. Friend of mine reckons Galway can sneak it.
Title: Re: Gaillimh v Ciarraí, Cluiche Ceathrú-Ceannais na hÉireann, Páirc a'Chrócaigh
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 29, 2014, 09:51:19 PM
Kerry have made one change in personnel to the team which defeated Cork ahead of this Sunday's All-Ireland quarter-final clash with Galway in Croke Park.

Dingle's Michael Geaney comes into the side in place of Stephen O'Brien who is sidelined with a quad muscle injury.

The team will line out as follows:

Kerry (SFC v Galway): Brian Kelly; Marc Ó Sé, Aidan O'Mahony, Shane Enright; Paul Murphy, Killian Young, Fionn Fitzgerald; Anthony Maher, Johnny Buckley; Michael Geaney, Bryan Sheehan, Donnchadh Walsh; Paul Geaney, Declan O'Sullivan, James O'Donoghue.
Title: Re: Gaillimh v Ciarraí, Cluiche Ceathrú-Ceannais na hÉireann, Páirc a'Chrócaigh
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2014, 09:53:25 PM
Is dóca go bhfuil na Ciarraíthe ag fanú le an Cluiche Leath - Cheannais agus nach bhfuil aon suim i nGaillimh. Ní raibh ach scata an bheag dóibh amach an Satharn seo caite.
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2014, 10:05:35 PM
I bet ye wish ye spent that time learning a language that was actually useful.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2014, 10:32:31 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 29, 2014, 09:44:36 PM
Slightly stunned there isn't a thread on this. Friend of mine reckons Galway can sneak it.

Your friend wouldn't be a Bookie by any chance? ;)

When is the last time Galway beat Kerry in the Championship?

1965?
Post by: armaghniac on July 29, 2014, 10:36:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2014, 10:05:35 PM

Willie Frazer is everywhere.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 29, 2014, 10:45:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2014, 10:32:31 PM

Your friend wouldn't be a Bookie by any chance? ;)

When is the last time Galway beat Kerry in the Championship?

1965 I think. We used to beat them regularly back then. Have lost 4 and drawn once since then.

In fairness we hardly met all all during the 70's, 80's or 90's. Just once I think in the mid 80's. Which we lost.

Drew and lost in 2000, lost in 2003, lost in 2008.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 29, 2014, 11:19:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2014, 09:53:25 PM
Is dóca go bhfuil na Ciarraíthe ag fanú le an Cluiche Leath - Cheannais agus nach bhfuil aon suim i nGaillimh. Ní raibh ach scata an bheag dóibh amach an Satharn seo caite.

Beidh slua mór mílteach ann ón nGaillimh is dócha?! Beidh cúpla míle againn i Croker De Domhnaigh, sin é. Tá na mionúirí ag imirt i Durlas Eile ar an Luain agus is fad an bothair idir Waterville, Caherdaniel, Lauragh agus Ath Cliath!

Bhí cluiche maith, crua idir Ciarraí agus Gaillimh i 2008, agus tá súil agam go mbeidh cluiche beagánín níos "crua" againn an am seo!

Having seen the Kerry team with Mikey Geaney starting, you can wipe 3 or 4 points off Kerry's advantage already anyway. A terrible call by management.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 29, 2014, 11:28:38 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 29, 2014, 11:19:49 PM

Beidh slua mór mílteach ann ón nGaillimh is dócha?! Beidh cúpla míle againn i Croker De Domhnaigh, sin é. Tá na mionúirí ag imirt i Durlas Eile ar an Luain agus is fad an bothair idir Waterville, Caherdaniel, Lauragh agus Ath Cliath!

Bhí cluiche maith, crua idir Ciarraí agus Gaillimh i 2008, agus tá súil agam go mbeidh cluiche beagánín níos "crua" againn an am seo!

Having seen the Kerry team with Mikey Geaney starting, you can wipe 3 or 4 points off Kerry's advantage already anyway. A terrible call by management.

Cinnte go mbheadh muintir an Chiarrai in ann a bheith ins an Cathrach De domhnaigh agus stad taimall beag thios i Durlas ar an mbealach abhaile De Luain chun beagan leighis a fhail??

(ghabh more leithsceal ar an litriocht!!)
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 29, 2014, 11:39:29 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 29, 2014, 11:28:38 PM

Cinnte go mbheadh muintir an Chiarrai in ann a bheith ins an Cathrach De domhnaigh agus stad taimall beag thios i Durlas ar an mbealach abhaile De Luain chun beagan leighis a fhail??

Sin é an plean atá agamsa, ach na clainn mór agus na daoine ag dul ar ais go dtí feirmeacha agus mar sin, níl sé éasca!

Ba mhaith lion caint trí gaeilge..na bach na fir as an dTuaisceart leis na postanna?!  ;)
Post by: macdanger2 on July 30, 2014, 12:21:45 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 29, 2014, 11:39:29 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 29, 2014, 11:28:38 PM

Sin é an plean atá agamsa, ach na clainn mór agus na daoine ag dul ar ais go dtí feirmeacha agus mar sin, níl sé éasca!

Ba mhaith lion caint trí gaeilge..na bach na fir as an dTuaisceart leis na postanna?!  ;)

Tà an fíor agat, níl faic le rà ag na hArd mhacadori nó na tir eoghainaí, is annamh a bhfuil in ann é sin a rà!!
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 30, 2014, 12:22:52 AM
Tá bua sách-láidir le plé Ghaeilge a chomrádaí - is féidir linn pleidhce éigin a choinneáil ina thost. Ní dúnann Dia doras amháin ach osclaíonn Sé ceann eile. :)
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 30, 2014, 08:52:52 AM

I wouldn't be that stunned, realistically what are Galway's chances of winning this? 23.08% according to the betting, slightly less than a one in four chance in a two horse race, hard enough to get enthusiastic about those odds.
Are Kerry as good as they looked against Cork? Probably not, but they look a better drilled team than Galway in terms of setup and tactics, despite a number of new faces they still have better, more experienced players. In comparison, Galway have no All Stars, no player who has won a senior match in Croke Park, indeed only a bare handful of players with Connacht medals, who would make the Kerry team from the Galway team? Conroy for sure but outside that? Walsh maybe. Hard to make a case for many more.

I'd absolutely love for Galway to cause a huge upset and perform at a level that we haven't seen yet, if Sunday is the day that it comes then great but on all known form it isn't going to happen plus although there are signs that the Galway attack is coming back to a decent level, the defence is a total sieve, conceding 3-14 and 4-12 in it's last two games and Kerry are a significant cut above Tipperary all over the pitch with James O'Donoghue probably the most in form forward in the game at present.

I think it'll be a Mayo Kerry semi-final which could be a cracker of a match, the Kerry lads and everyone else in the country (including most of Galway) expect Kerry to win this match handy, I don't think it will be an issue due to Fitzmaurice but Kerry complacency and for their stars to be slightly below par on the day combined with a level of performance that we haven't seen from this Galway team before is the only chance Galway have on Sunday.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 08:55:50 AM

Your MEP in 2011

Roscommon & South Leitrim has massive
potential to increase its share of tourism revenue
which in 2010 stood at €52 million. This pales
into insignificance when compared to the €430
million that Galway earns

Gaeltacht makes Galway what it is .  Worth at least 52 million annually.
Post by: ck on July 30, 2014, 09:08:15 AM
Galway to win by 2. It will be shock of the season so far
Post by: Canalman on July 30, 2014, 09:12:48 AM
All those players from the U21 winning teams do not just disappear. Galway as I keep saying are imo anyway the one county everyone should fear due to the surgical way they can strike when least expected.
Post by: mouview on July 30, 2014, 10:24:13 AM
Quote from: ck on July 30, 2014, 09:08:15 AM
Galway to win by 2. It will be shock of the season so far

You ain't kiddin.!
Post by: Rossfan on July 30, 2014, 10:40:41 AM
Sí teanga an úsáideach an Ghaeilge más rud é nach bhfuil tusa in ann páirt a thógáil sa díospóireacht. ;D ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 30, 2014, 10:49:36 AM
Quote from: Canalman on July 30, 2014, 09:12:48 AM
All those players from the U21 winning teams do not just disappear. Galway as I keep saying are imo anyway the one county everyone should fear due to the surgical way they can strike when least expected.

I liked what I saw from Galway on Saturday and I agree with CM their forwards were very clinical. Yet to be convinced by Kerry, listened to their game against Clare on the radio and it was a very disjointed performance, while they dismantled Cork, Cork were absolutely awful. To me Galway have a better set of forwards and only O'Donoghue would be nailed on to start, Declan O'Sullivan while excellent against Cork played a withdrawn role and was given far much time on the ball by a lifeless Cork. Their middle 8 worked very hard and won a lot of ball, Maher and Buckley are a good partnership and I like Buckley but he tends to fade in and out of games. If Galway can get parity here and get an early lead and draw Kerry's blanket defence out and turn the game into a shoot-out and man on man ala Dublin with Galway's and a serious goal threat you'd never know. Kerry do have the experience and as a friend of mine says "Tradition never graduates" but Galway to me are very much the coming team and sometimes a coming team are just awaiting the right moment to announce themselves, Sunday could be that day.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 30, 2014, 11:37:13 AM
The majority are expecting a comfortable win for Kerry including me but there is the element of unknown about how good Kerry are given that performance by Cork the last day.

I'm very worried how Galway will cope with O'Donoghue, given Galway's previous 2 games its safe to say he'll post a big score.

On an individual level I don't think there's a big a gap as others have suggested with one poster only claiming 2 Galway players would make a joint team, the likes of Hanley & Bradshaw have the quality to have made Kerry teams whilst the likes of Moore, Varley, FOC, Flynn, Lundy & Cummins are progressing at a good rate and these are the games which could enhance a players reputation.

Collectively though its obvious there is a gap between the sides, we've conceded 7 goals in 2 matches although its hard to judge the last 25 minutes against Tipp considering we went 14 points clear. We've not seen anything to date to suggest that were able to tighten up at the back, all the evidence points to a comfortable Kerry win.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 12:58:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 08:55:50 AM

Your MEP in 2011

To be fair apart from Irish language summer camps the tourists are coming to gawk at Connemara and the ocean and not Irish speakers.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 01:01:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 12:58:51 PM

Your MEP in 2011

To be fair apart from Irish language summer camps the tourists are coming to gawk at Connemara and the ocean and not Irish speakers.
Galway has an atmosphere that Ros will never have again . A lot of the arts stuff is inspired by the bilingual side of things. 2 cultures.
Ros is very monotonous.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 01:12:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 01:01:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 12:58:51 PM

Your MEP in 2011

Galway has an atmosphere that Ros will never have again . A lot of the arts stuff is inspired by the bilingual side of things. 2 cultures.
Ros is very monotonous.

(http://avidbookreader2.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/the-guards.jpg)

A fearsome literary reputation alright. Now adapted into a 'major' RTE detective series in the Glenroe timeslot on Sundays.

I'll stick with the finest river in the land, thanks. And the fada botherers would have been fairly fecked if we hadn't given them ould Dougie Hyde..
Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2014, 01:43:00 PM

Ah, you have to love myths. Galway have had one good set of players 1996-2002 in 50 years! Jez you'd swear they you'd swear they had team coming out of the woodwork every decade the way you are talking! As for the Myth of Galway always doing well in AI finals they lost 3 in 4 years in the 70's. And lost to 12 Dubs in the 80's. They have not beaten Kerry or Dublin in a long time. Granted they are a great Football county have produced some fabulous players, but they have their sh1te eras as well as the rest of us. Have some perspective!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2014, 02:17:27 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2014, 01:43:00 PM

Ah, you have to love myths. Galway have had one good set of players 1996-2002 in 50 years! Jez you'd swear they you'd swear they had team coming out of the woodwork every decade the way you are talking! As for the Myth of Galway always doing well in AI finals they lost 3 in 4 years in the 70's. And lost to 12 Dubs in the 80's. They have not beaten Kerry or Dublin in a long time. Granted they are a great Football county have produced some fabulous players, but they have their sh1te eras as well as the rest of us. Have some perspective!

In fairness we've won 7 of the last 8 All-Ireland finals we've contested at all levels. ;D

I wouldn't say we've had one good team in the past 50 years though. One great side maybe but we've had some good (and very bad teams) since. The early 70's side was a very good team that just couldn't get over the hump in the finals. The early 80's side was a good team although one that probably won't be remembered all that fondly due to 83. The 95 team came close to reaching an All-Ireland final.

We've certainly had some crap sides in between though. Late 80's early 90's in particular and the late 2000's until a couple of years ago another.

Post by: Maroon Manc on July 30, 2014, 03:19:29 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2014, 01:43:00 PM

in 47 years.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 04:49:07 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 30, 2014, 10:49:36 AM

I liked what I saw from Galway on Saturday and I agree with CM their forwards were very clinical. Yet to be convinced by Kerry, listened to their game against Clare on the radio and it was a very disjointed performance, while they dismantled Cork, Cork were absolutely awful. To me Galway have a better set of forwards and only O'Donoghue would be nailed on to start, Declan O'Sullivan while excellent against Cork played a withdrawn role and was given far much time on the ball by a lifeless Cork. Their middle 8 worked very hard and won a lot of ball, Maher and Buckley are a good partnership and I like Buckley but he tends to fade in and out of games. If Galway can get parity here and get an early lead and draw Kerry's blanket defence out and turn the game into a shoot-out and man on man ala Dublin with Galway's and a serious goal threat you'd never know. Kerry do have the experience and as a friend of mine says "Tradition never graduates" but Galway to me are very much the coming team and sometimes a coming team are just awaiting the right moment to announce themselves, Sunday could be that day.

Some man to judge a game based on a radio commentary!
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 04:58:14 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 04:49:07 PM

Judging them on their team sheet doesn't look much better to be fair. Galway probably won't win but this Kerry team is perfectly capable of having a 'mare. If it develops into a score fest most of Galway's weaknesses will be papered over.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 05:03:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 04:58:14 PM

Judging them on their team sheet doesn't look much better to be fair.

Who is judging anyone based on a teamsheet? Your rapid response to some of my posts is getting a bit creepy aswell..try giving it 5 mins or so to soak in next time.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 05:06:23 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 05:03:53 PM

Who is judging anyone based on a teamsheet? Your rapid response to some of my posts is getting a bit creepy aswell..try giving it 5 mins or so to soak in next time.

Someone's a little tetchy today.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 05:15:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 05:06:23 PM

It's not just today..I'm always harsh when dealing with idiocy.
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 05:22:18 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 05:15:37 PM

Na bac leis. Bhi timpiste aige leis an mbus.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 05:27:23 PM

You must be tough on yourself.
Post by: Rossfan on July 30, 2014, 06:49:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 05:22:18 PM

;D ;D ;D Árd phlaic atá i Saifearusín.

Ceapaimse go mbeidh an bua ag na "cúthúirí" gan dabht ar bith.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 06:56:14 PM
Ye lads do know Google Translate is automatically translating everything you say into a living language, right?

The broken English it produces is actually better than yer usual attempts at grammar.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2014, 07:15:52 PM
Don't be a complete pain, Syferus, and contribute something other than Shoneenism.

I doubt Galway have reached Kerry's standard yet, even Kerry are diminished.
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 07:29:57 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2014, 07:15:52 PM
Don't be a complete pain, Syferus, and contribute something other than Shoneenism.

I doubt Galway have reached Kerry's standard yet, even Kerry are diminished.

I was the one giving my thoughts on the match before CT went all Paul Galvin on me.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 30, 2014, 07:49:09 PM

I did watch the highlights as well, so was it not a disjointed performance?
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 08:16:32 PM
Dhera
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2014, 08:23:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 07:29:57 PM
I was the one giving my thoughts on the match before CT went all Paul Galvin on me.

Paul Galvin? Does CT wear a cravat?
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 08:34:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2014, 08:23:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2014, 07:29:57 PM

Paul Galvin? Does CT wear a cravat?

That's so last season. Double blazers are in: http://thisispaulgalvin.com/two-blazers-the-new-thing-check-this-look-out/

I miss Galvin, and Kerry will probably miss him too before the year is out.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 09:15:17 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2014, 05:22:18 PM

;D Maith an fear!
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 09:18:03 PM
Back in the real world, have Galway named a team yet lads no? Expecting any changes?
Post by: DJGaliv on July 31, 2014, 12:57:00 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 09:18:03 PM
Back in the real world, have Galway named a team yet lads no? Expecting any changes?

I think Galway will be naming the team tonight.

I'm not sure what lads thought of our change of keeper. After conceding 4 goals will Manus come back in? It'd be quite harsh to blame Healy for any of the goals.

Armstrong surely has to start at this stage, although Cummins did get 1-1. I wonder will we see a change at centre back with Burke starting?

If it's a shoot out Kerry will win, if it's a dirty game Kerry will more than likely still win. I predict a 6 point defeat unfortunately.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 31, 2014, 01:32:36 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 31, 2014, 12:57:00 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 30, 2014, 09:18:03 PM

I think Galway will be naming the team tonight.

I'm not sure what lads thought of our change of keeper. After conceding 4 goals will Manus come back in? It'd be quite harsh to blame Healy for any of the goals.

Armstrong surely has to start at this stage, although Cummins did get 1-1. I wonder will we see a change at centre back with Burke starting?

If it's a shoot out Kerry will win, if it's a dirty game Kerry will more than likely still win. I predict a 6 point defeat unfortunately.

Can't see them changing the keeper, kickouts were a big improvement on the Mayo game.
Keep Armstrong where he is, he's played well coming of the bench for both games, wouldn't be able to tell you the last time he put back to back performances like that when he started. Cummins has to start, he played well against Tipp and his pace will be important.

There was 5 points in it the last time we met, this Kerry team on paper are not a patch on the 2008 team who had 3 O'se's, the Gooch, Tommy Walsh, O'Mahony, Donaghy & Declan O'Sullivan in their prime. O'Mahony & Marc O'Se are 33 now. Due to the performance against Cork and our inability to keep the goals out nobody is really given us a chance and rightly so but on paper this isn't a Kerry team to be scared off although as I've mentioned previously these are the games where reputations are made.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2014, 01:50:48 PM
Kerry have yet to convince me they are capable of living with a really top team but Galway aren't there yet. Galway are certainly building again and by all accounts have talented young players coming through from recent minor teams but you'd have to fancy Kerry and it'll be interesting to see how the teams set up against each other.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2014, 12:39:21 AM

You re joking right? When was the the last time Galway struck when least expected? Never in my time. Getting them confused with Mayo maybe who continually bounce back quickly after disastrous management.

I wouldn t pay much heed to U21. Mulholland won an U21 AI as a manager but has looked perplexed as a senior manager at times. Galway, with their borderschool tradition continue to produce good footballers, but not as good as at times in the past when Mayo borders showed them how to play - and Galway went on to reap the rewards ;).

I thought Galway looked a bit flaky v Sligo and Mayo. Galway have good footballers still but not as good as the Donnellans, Joyses and Meehans, Savages or Clancy. Not only were they technically A listers they were also leaders, mentally tough/physically tough and ambitious. They even managed to win  AI s with Johnno in charge :' ???
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2014, 12:44:49 AM
Sure Galway already wasted one set of two AI U21 winning teams. It's all about having the right man at senior or all the good work at underage becomes a distant memory and a source of undue expectation. If Galway make a breakthrough they'll earn it like everyone else has to.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2014, 03:17:26 AM

You've only annoyed some of the sensitive souls around here now. ;D

Listen when we are good enough we win All-Ireland's. Sin É.

When we are not good enough we are ordinary. Or just downright bad.

You wouldn't want to meet us in an All-Ireland final though. We usually win those. Never mention 83 ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2014, 04:19:28 AM
On more important matters.

Galway team v Kerry

Tom Healy
Donal O'Neill
Finian Hanley
Joss Moore
Gareth Bradshaw
Gary O'Donnell
Paul Varley
Fiontain O'Curraoin
Tom Flynn
Michael Lundy
Shane Walsh
James Kavanagh
Michael Martin
Paul Conroy
Danny Cummins
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 01, 2014, 09:26:58 AM
Joss Moore being back is a big help, should strengthen up the back line a bit.
I see Fitzmaurice is taking a leaf outta James Horans book and putting a third midfielder at 11, does O'Donnell follow him and leave a big hole in the middle or sit and defend and give him free reign.
Personally I'd like to see Mulhullond put the thinking cap on and tell Kavanagh to follow Sheehan and allow O'Donnell sweep across the CHB line and protect the full back line. If ye go man for man I cant see it working.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 01, 2014, 11:51:58 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 01, 2014, 12:39:21 AM

You re joking right? When was the the last time Galway struck when least expected? Never in my time. Getting them confused with Mayo maybe who continually bounce back quickly after disastrous management.

I wouldn t pay much heed to U21. Mulholland won an U21 AI as a manager but has looked perplexed as a senior manager at times. Galway, with their borderschool tradition continue to produce good footballers, but not as good as at times in the past when Mayo borders showed them how to play - and Galway went on to reap the rewards ;).

I thought Galway looked a bit flaky v Sligo and Mayo. Galway have good footballers still but not as good as the Donnellans, Joyses and Meehans, Savages or Clancy. Not only were they technically A listers they were also leaders, mentally tough/physically tough and ambitious. They even managed to win  AI s with Johnno in charge :' ???

I like what you've tried to do here, you're pretending that you're not getting wound up by his comments but we all know he's rattled your cage  ;D

Naturally when you keep producing excellent U21 teams then the talent is coming through, the obvious problem is the transition taking them to the next level which we failed in 02 & 05.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 01:40:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2014, 03:17:26 AM

You wouldn't want to meet us in an All-Ireland final though. We usually win those. Never mention 83 ;)

or 71, 73 or 74. Ye have lost 5 of ye're last 7 AI Finals. God ye love ye're Myths!
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 01, 2014, 01:55:03 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 01:40:15 PM

or 71, 73 or 74. Ye have lost 5 of ye're last 7 AI Finals. God ye love ye're Myths!

we've won 2 out of our last 3 or 5 out of last 10, you can twist statistics whichever way you want, even Mayo have won 3 out of their last 11  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2014, 02:14:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 01:40:15 PM

Or won 5 of the last 10 if you just include just senior.

Or won 7 of the last 8 including senior, U-21 and minor.

Sure we can all try and skew stats to suit an argument. ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 02:27:55 PM
Ah, the quote was that Galway usually win  finals. The reality is they lose as many!

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2014, 02:36:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 02:27:55 PM
Ah, the quote was that Galway usually win  finals. The reality is they lose as many!

Don't get worked up by it. Life is too short.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 01, 2014, 02:48:23 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-exclusive-reinventing-defence-midseason-is-recipe-for-disaster-30476250.html
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 02:57:59 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2014, 02:36:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2014, 02:27:55 PM

Don't get worked up by it. Life is too short.

Agreed!  Hopefully ye get a long over due win in Croker on Sunday.
Post by: J OGorman on August 01, 2014, 03:02:29 PM
will be a Dublin v Kerry final I reckon.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2014, 04:29:12 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 01, 2014, 02:48:23 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-exclusive-reinventing-defence-midseason-is-recipe-for-disaster-30476250.html

His writing is almost as good as he was a player.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2014, 02:46:59 AM
HON THE TRIBE!

(http://ts2.mm.bing.net/th?id=HN.607986413789318805&pid=15.1&P=0)

A good performance would be nice.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 02:16:48 PM
Fucked already after 15mins
Post by: CD on August 03, 2014, 02:19:37 PM
WO
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 02:27:21 PM
Galway aren't wexford hurlers in disguise with that wides tally
Post by: Asal Mor on August 03, 2014, 02:30:22 PM
Our speculative shooting is bound to start paying off soon. Kerry's scoring is just masking the fact that we're slaughtering them all over the pitch.
Post by: CD on August 03, 2014, 02:32:34 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 02:27:21 PM
Galway aren't wexford hurlers in disguise with that wides tally

They could easily be in touch. Can't remember watching a Kerry team who funnel so many players into defence when they lose possession. Not entirely confident in their defence or trying to free up as much space as possible for James O'D at the other end?
Post by: Go home ref on August 03, 2014, 02:32:40 PM
10 wides for Galway none for Kerry!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 03, 2014, 02:32:49 PM
any man  (ok Ulster man lol) would have dragged him down there black card or not, your playing for the team, not to give uself game time
Post by: Zulu on August 03, 2014, 02:39:44 PM
We want to see goals not rugby tackles. Better game now though Kerry's blanket defence (though Tommy Carr can't see it!!) is stifling a laborious Galway attack.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 02:44:53 PM

Kerry the most defensive team left in it?
Post by: INDIANA on August 03, 2014, 02:46:21 PM
Christ Galway are disappointing.

Desperately naive for a team thats won 2 All Ireland u21 titles.

Some of the shooting has been from the wrong areas of the pitch. At 22 years of age players should know this.
Post by: JP on August 03, 2014, 02:46:54 PM
Galway are so bad its beyond belief. They look like they don't think they deserve to be on the same pitch as Kerry.  One great goal as to be said but that display is just inept. Hopefully they get a rollicking at half time and come out fighting.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 02:53:31 PM
Kerry playing puke football? Packed defence causing Galway to take ridiculous shots. Kerry much more efficient when they do go forward, although they've won some very soft frees.
Post by: clarshack on August 03, 2014, 02:57:08 PM
Score?
Post by: CD on August 03, 2014, 02:58:12 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 03, 2014, 02:53:31 PM
Kerry playing puke football? Packed defence causing Galway to take ridiculous shots. Kerry much more efficient when they do go forward, although they've won some very soft frees.

You'll note that not one pundit or journalist south of Newry will ever remark on that!
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 02:59:09 PM
1-09 to 1-03
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 02:59:59 PM
Quote from: CD on August 03, 2014, 02:58:12 PM

You'll note that not one pundit or journalist south of Newry will ever remark on that!

SSSSSSSSSh. This is the pure football game of the year!
Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 03:01:34 PM
How does that bolox Carr still get work?
Post by: CD on August 03, 2014, 03:02:50 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 02:59:59 PM

When Kerry broke for Donnacha Walsh's last score there were 3 Kerry players within 65 yards of the Galway goal.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 03:14:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 02:59:59 PM

Even that little wrestle on the ground was polite. Not a fish hook or a bite to be seen. No third man in either.
Lovely to see the purists at it.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 03:19:03 PM
BACK OF THE NET?

Marty, ya total lege.
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 03:20:41 PM
Hanley s lost the plot.

Galway had a chance here if they kept the head but their most experienced player has been spooked by O Donoghue.
Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 03:21:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2014, 03:20:41 PM
Hanley s lost the plot.

Galway had a chance here if they kept the head but their most experienced player has been spooked by O Donoghue.

Ridiculous,what as he at? And then Bradshaw who's having a decent game stood looking at it while Keane ran onto it.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 03:22:58 PM
seriously.
somebody put Tommy Carr out of our misery
Post by: JP on August 03, 2014, 03:27:38 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 03, 2014, 03:22:58 PM
seriously.
somebody put Tommy Carr out of our misery

Would put you to sleep. Sky's commentators are much better, less monotone.
Post by: beer baron on August 03, 2014, 03:28:01 PM
Do Kerry just have to grab the ball and lie on the ground to get a free?
Post by: moysider on August 03, 2014, 03:29:03 PM

I think Mulholland should stay on as manager.
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 03:29:44 PM
Christ if we had any belief at all we would win this. Kerry not great at all, just a small bit better than Galway . Galway forwards with awful shooting and poor decisions. Mayo will hammer Kerry I believe now!
Post by: thejuice on August 03, 2014, 03:30:40 PM
Certainly not the greatest Kerry team but their raw talant should be enough.
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 03:32:44 PM
Come on mayo now, Kerry praying for cork to win u would think.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on August 03, 2014, 03:35:09 PM
Galway badly need to get into Division 1. The speed of decision making was the primary killer today.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 03:35:21 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 03, 2014, 03:29:03 PM

That's the one good thing about this result from a Mayo perspective. Many Galway people will see this as a good performance and the media will be easy on them as well.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 03:37:27 PM
Quote from: Clarin Pearl on August 03, 2014, 03:35:09 PM
Galway badly need to get into Division 1. The speed of decision making was the primary killer today.

Are ya havin' a laugh.

Galway can't put up an effective defence against almost anyone. It's much more than the speed of decision of making that's at play. Galway aren't and shouldn't be thinking about D1 football right now, they need to hone their craft and develop their players before worrying about that.
Post by: bcarrier on August 03, 2014, 03:41:36 PM
Paul Geaney is a Decent footballer. Nobody on RTE has noticed.

also David Moran must have given away more ball than any other player on pitch unnoticed by commentary team. he mixes some good stuff with what looks like a lack of concentration.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on August 03, 2014, 03:54:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 03:37:27 PM

Are ya havin' a laugh.

Galway can't put up an effective defence against almost anyone. It's much more than the speed of decision of making that's at play. Galway aren't and shouldn't be thinking about D1 football right now, they need to hone their craft and develop their players before worrying about that.

I'm sayin that 4-5 years in div2 is really showing.  Yes of course that includes learning their drills/skills properly in attack as well as defence. playing mayo/kerry et al only once a year isn't helping.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 03:59:24 PM
Quote from: Clarin Pearl on August 03, 2014, 03:54:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 03, 2014, 03:37:27 PM

Are ya havin' a laugh.

I'm sayin that 4-5 years in div2 is really showing.  Yes of course that includes learning their drills/skills properly in attack as well as defence. playing mayo/kerry et al only once a year isn't helping.

I think going up to D1 at the wrong time can be more disastrous than not going up at all. Just look at what happened to the other maroon team this year - they lost every game and any momentum gained last year was totally destroyed by the league. Timing is everything.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 03, 2014, 04:15:13 PM
A curate's egg of a year for Galway. Got to the last 8 which is good but the same old problem is there of conceding far too many scores at this level. I honestly don't think this team can progress under Mulholland. He hasn't a tactical bone in his body. Just look at the way he left Cillian O'Connor and James O'Donoghue to be isolated 1 on 1 for the entire 70 minutes of two games. Never even attempted to counteract it or to try something. Anything.

Faced with a blanket defence today he had Galway shuffling the ball back and across the field ad nausieum. No runners were coming off the shoulder to punch holes. Everything was static. When Galway got it back to 2 points mid way through the 2nd half you just wanted them to tighten it up a little. If anything they got even looser at the back with acres of space back there in front of the full-back line.

On the credit side Shane Walsh and Michael Lundy had good Summers. The two lads in midfield will keep improving and we had enough possession to win most games. Conroy had a bad day today but is a fine player. Who knows maybe Meehan and Sice will make a return next year?

This team has the potential to be very good in a couple of years time with a few tweaks here and there but until they implement some kind of defensive system and work on it for months and months on end they will always leak too many scores. Don't think Mulholland can do that.
Post by: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 04:21:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 03:35:21 PM

That's the one good thing about this result from a Mayo perspective. Many Galway people will see this as a good performance and the media will be easy on them as well.
Jaysus talk about insecure, worry about your own county first. Galway have an awful lot to do and most Galway folk know that. It's just a pity that players didn't believe today. O Donoghue is the only forward that Kerry have and he should have been double teamed!!
Post by: galwayman on August 03, 2014, 04:47:26 PM
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw from the stand just after throw in we were going man on man at the back.
Our fb line were miles behind their men all day long yet we never changed it.
Kerry got scores a lot more easily than we did.helped by all the space they had no doubt.
Also in ye second half we persisted with going back and over the field ad nauseum rather than letting any quick ball in.
There was a number of occasions where our lads were man on man in the ff line but rather than give a quick ball in we messed around out the field and gave Kerry the time to drop extra bodies back.

I believe Mulholland should go personally.
We are too naive under him.

Thought Lundy was excellent today
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 03, 2014, 06:42:55 PM
Potential is there however Galway have much improving to do they only reached today's quarter final by beating Tipperary if they had Armagh route at least they could say progress has been made. At no stage did Kerry look like losing that game the room they were given to play was extraordinary for this stage of the competition. A defensive system and long distance shooting are two things Galway must look at if they are to reach their potential.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 08:19:30 PM
Quote from: cicfada on August 03, 2014, 04:21:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 03, 2014, 03:35:21 PM

Jaysus talk about insecure, worry about your own county first. Galway have an awful lot to do and most Galway folk know that. It's just a pity that players didn't believe today. O Donoghue is the only forward that Kerry have and he should have been double teamed!!

I was talking about my own county. Have ye improved in the last 12 months? Mulholland staying on improves our (or Ros) chance of winning connacht next year. Ye have good (that could be great) footballers, but ye are tactically naive, a bit off conditioning wise and lack a bit of controlled nastiness.
Post by: prewtna on August 03, 2014, 11:38:22 PM
I'm amazed there isn't more of ye Galway lads having a stringer cut at Mulholland. He should be taking a serious amount of blame for today's Galway fiasco.

First things first, he set the team up with a 'blanket defence'. He obviously doesn't understand the first thing about what a blanket defence is or how it's supposed to work. the blanket defence relies on midfielders and half forwards doing a serious amount of running and he as a manager is supposed to teach them how to effectively fill space while the defenders can focus on marking their men. Certainly the half forwards came back to fill the space, but did it in such a way as to dilute the responsibility the defenders are supposed to take with the result that they were all standing around watching Kerry lads waltz thru more or less unchallenged. So then when he pulled those half forwards out of the defence at the start if second half, lo and behold it didn't make a bloody bit of difference to the defence (why? because they weren't contributing there anyway) but what happened? Galway came back into the game up front and made a game of it.

The other thing that the blanket defence is based on, is those same half forwards and midfielders breaking up field en-mass when they get the ball. How many time did we see 5 and 6 Galway men standing between their own 45 and halfway hands on hips while the poor buggers in the full forward line were being eaten alive by kerry men? It's no wonder they were shooting from out the country, they had no choice.

The other thing Mulholland needs to have a think about is the apparent lack of belief he seems to have in them galway lads. He didn't even set them up with a chance of winning. It appeared to be a keep the score down exercise from the start. if galway have any hope of progressing, it isnt with him, at the helm.

I don't like blanket defences, but if you choose to set your team up in one, fair enough, and if thats the case you need to commit to it fully. Basics are fill the spaces, stand an attacker up, then swarm on him, win possession, then break en-masse. Now either Mulholland doesn't understand that, or he doesn't appreciate the amount of running needed by the players to make that happen. The players for Galway are certainly good enough to play any system given to them, as,long as its clear from their manager, which it couldn't have been.

Anyway my sympathies to Galway, we have taken plenty a hiding from them Kerry hoors in the past. It's never a nice place to be.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 04, 2014, 02:23:01 AM
Quote from: prewtna on August 03, 2014, 11:38:22 PM
I'm amazed there isn't more of ye Galway lads having a stringer cut at Mulholland. He should be taking a serious amount of blame for today's Galway fiasco.

I actually think a fair few have had a cut at him. I don't like blaming defeats solely on managers but I'm just constantly surprised by how unprepared he seems to have his teams. Especially at senior level. At underage there are very few tactics or systems anyway. That was a Kerry team that could easily have been beaten today. Even by this current Galway side had they had a modicum of belief and organisation.

I like the man but I find it difficult to see Galway progressing under him. And there is some very good talent there to work with. Albeit they need a year or two yet to fully mature.

Mulholland has blooded some very useful players. Micheal Lundy for example has been a revelation. Shane Walsh you can't give him credit for as a blind man could see Shane Walsh's talent. I am convinced though that he is not the man to take this young Galway side to the next level. Just my opinion.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 05, 2014, 09:57:42 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 03, 2014, 03:41:36 PM
Paul Geaney is a Decent footballer. Nobody on RTE has noticed.

also David Moran must have given away more ball than any other player on pitch unnoticed by commentary team. he mixes some good stuff with what looks like a lack of concentration.
The media can only handle two or three topics at a time gleaned from callers to phone in shows, you cant expect them to be analyzing things.
Ironically if Galway had forwards they probably won that game
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 06, 2014, 08:51:40 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 04, 2014, 02:23:01 AM
Quote from: prewtna on August 03, 2014, 11:38:22 PM

I actually think a fair few have had a cut at him. I don't like blaming defeats solely on managers but I'm just constantly surprised by how unprepared he seems to have his teams. Especially at senior level. At underage there are very few tactics or systems anyway. That was a Kerry team that could easily have been beaten today. Even by this current Galway side had they had a modicum of belief and organisation.

I like the man but I find it difficult to see Galway progressing under him. And there is some very good talent there to work with. Albeit they need a year or two yet to fully mature.

Mulholland has blooded some very useful players. Micheal Lundy for example has been a revelation. Shane Walsh you can't give him credit for as a blind man could see Shane Walsh's talent. I am convinced though that he is not the man to take this young Galway side to the next level. Just my opinion.

All agreed, progress this year is down to an improvement in the players.

I've been very critical of Mulholland and rightly so, we were found wanting again tactically on Sunday. There was no plan at all for O'Donoghue at all, we got of lightly with him scoring 1-5 from play. Its a good job Flynn & FOC more than held their own in the middle, it felt like in the first half everytime that the ball went into their forwards they came back with a score.

The first 25 minutes were appalling, taking pot shots from silly angle. No off the ball running or direct running to open up their backline to produce better scoring chances, all lateral passing. Finally we woke up and ran at them and it made a big difference.

I was very disappointed with Cummins & Martins performances, thought they were very poor. Their far too inconsistent too be first choice for a county with high aspiration.

I'm praying for a new manager, didn't speak to anyone on Sunday who was happy with him, everyone wanted him to go.

There's a big gap physically between Galway and most of the other teams in Div 1 & 2. O'Neill, Moore, Varley, FOC. Flynn, Walsh and Lundy to a lesser extent could do with putting muscle on over the winter.

A new manager along with a more physically developed side should give Galway a great chance of winning the Connacht title next year.
Post by: Syferus on August 06, 2014, 09:10:51 PM
Little difference between the conditioning of Galway and the D2 teams. Maybe only Kildare given Geezer in previous years and Barry Solan this year would be ahead of the rest. Otherwise Galway are at the level of the teams around them.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 06, 2014, 09:20:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 06, 2014, 09:10:51 PM
Little difference between the conditioning of Galway and the D2 teams. Maybe only Kildare given Geezer in previous years and Barry Solan this year would be ahead of the rest. Otherwise Galway are at the level of the teams around them.

Monaghan & Donegal were in Div 2 this season  ;)
in their defence most of them are slight due to their age.

Post by: Syferus on August 06, 2014, 09:30:42 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on August 06, 2014, 09:20:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 06, 2014, 09:10:51 PM

Monaghan & Donegal were in Div 2 this season  ;)
in their defence most of them are slight due to their age.

And they aren't now. I just think that there isn't much of a difference between Galway and the rest of D2 in that regard. They shouldn't be bullied by D2 teams but just like everyone else they need better conditioning work to be ready for a tilt at D1.
Post by: DJGaliv on August 06, 2014, 10:30:41 PM
AM has done well in providing us with a bit of consistency after the previous chopping and changing. His term has shown some promise, however it's time now for a new man who has a bit more tactical guile and adaptability than the current regime.

Everything Galway did nearly seemed to be off the cuff. There was no structure in place whether in attack or defence. We were reliant on a lot of individual strong performances and lads creating the chances themselves. There wasn't much link play or evidence of a particular system that all players felt comfortable with.
Lads had pot shots or managed to find acres of space in front of them and went from there. The only time we played any sort of one-two or smart running was when Armstrong handed off for the second goal.

Any idea of lads being mentioned to take over? I presume Kevin Walsh will be talked about again.

It is so frustrating to hear Galway's conditioning to be mentioned again. How many years now - 5/6/7 seasons of hearing Galway aren't strong enough or physical enough to match the bigger teams. How long does it take to put these structures in place?

Post by: Syferus on August 06, 2014, 10:33:47 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on August 06, 2014, 10:30:41 PM
AM has done well in providing us with a bit of consistency after the previous chopping and changing. His term has shown some promise, however it's time now for a new man who has a bit more tactical guile and adaptability than the current regime.

Everything Galway did nearly seemed to be off the cuff. There was no structure in place whether in attack or defence. We were reliant on a lot of individual strong performances and lads creating the chances themselves. There wasn't much link play or evidence of a particular system that all players felt comfortable with.
Lads had pot shots or managed to find acres of space in front of them and went from there. The only time we played any sort of one-two or smart running was when Armstrong handed off for the second goal.

Any idea of lads being mentioned to take over? I presume Kevin Walsh will be talked about again.

It is so frustrating to hear Galway's conditioning to be mentioned again. How many years now - 5/6/7 seasons of hearing Galway aren't strong enough or physical enough to match the bigger teams. How long does it take to put these structures in place?

Like Manc said it's more to do with age. Most of your lads are only just out of underage at best. Same as ours. They're not the same players that were there even two years ago.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 06, 2014, 11:02:47 PM
Alot of talk of improvement in Galway team this year. Last year Galway beat Tipperary by 4 points, Waterford by a point, Armagh by 5 points and lost to Cork by a point.

This year beat Sligo by 5, Tipperary by 5 and lost by a bit to Kerry.

I'm not looking at the Mayo games, as they are much of a muchness!

In fairness I don't see regression or progress! Because of a soft draw Galway made the Quarter-finals and that is the only difference on last year. I actually thought that Galway grew in the back door as a team last summer and would be a decent threat this year. Mulholland has been three years with Galway, No major scalp and not looking like getting out of Division 2. Like all the traditional counties, Galway are only on significant result from being in the chasing group to being in the pack. These results don't come easy, but when they do players change, training becomes easier and more focused, confidence soars, it's a whole domino effect.

Post by: Maroon Manc on August 06, 2014, 11:07:15 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on August 06, 2014, 10:30:41 PM

You're giving him too much credit, his term has showed promise only because of the new younger players been introduced and nothing to do with his management skill, perhaps I'd give him credit for Lundy who's had a great unexpected summer.

I'd imagine the longer it goes on without any announcement the more likely it is that their looking to bring a new man in as his 3 years are up.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 06, 2014, 11:15:14 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 06, 2014, 11:02:47 PM
Alot of talk of improvement in Galway team this year. Last year Galway beat Tipperary by 4 points, Waterford by a point, Armagh by 5 points and lost to Cork by a point.

This year beat Sligo by 5, Tipperary by 5 and lost by a bit to Kerry.

I'm not looking at the Mayo games, as they are much of a muchness!

In fairness I don't see regression or progress! Because of a soft draw Galway made the Quarter-finals and that is the only difference on last year. I actually thought that Galway grew in the back door as a team last summer and would be a decent threat this year. Mulholland has been three years with Galway, No major scalp and not looking like getting out of Division 2. Like all the traditional counties, Galway are only on significant result from being in the chasing group to being in the pack. These results don't come easy, but when they do players change, training becomes easier and more focused, confidence soars, it's a whole domino effect.

There is progression in that a new manager would have a better squad of players to work with this year than if a new manager had been appointed before the start of this season.

I'd agree that no progression has been made results wise or from a tactical point of view. Galway haven't got close to beating a good team in 3 years of championship football, it's simply not good enough.
Post by: DJGaliv on August 06, 2014, 11:27:04 PM
I don't agree with that. Every year it's the same.

Hanley, Bradshaw, O'Donnell, Armstrong, Conroy are all at least mid twenties.
I still feel they aren't reaching their physical potential that they would if they came through Armagh/Tyrone/Mayo/Dublin's development programs.

As for Bradshaw's marking in the second half - I would not like to be playing in a Galway full back line right now. Ideal man to be played in at no.12 as a sweeper/link man.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 11:59:32 AM
Quote from: DJGaliv on August 06, 2014, 11:27:04 PM

I still feel they aren't reaching their physical potential that they would if they came through Armagh/Tyrone/Mayo/Dublin's development programs.

As for Bradshaw's marking in the second half - I would not like to be playing in a Galway full back line right now. Ideal man to be played in at no.12 as a sweeper/link man.

They've probably not reached their physical potential due to poor management, changing the management as often as we did doesn't help either but AM has had 3 years with this group and there's been no improvement in the physicality and conditioning of the players you've mentioned. I could be a bit harsh on AM as maybe those counties you've mentioned have specialist strength & conditioning coaches whereas Galway don't, all about the money.

Under the right manager Bradshaw could be every bit as influential as Keegan is for Mayo.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 07, 2014, 03:38:33 PM
Heard Jim Carney had a right cut at the footballers in this week's Tuam Herald. Haven't read it all though as only the first paragraph is up on the website.

QuoteAnother big day, another defeat for our footballers at Croke Park
Wednesday, 6th August, 2014 11:15am

Story by Jim Carney
Jump to comments

GALLANT in defeat, as usual. That was the consensus reached in the talk among Galway supporters leaving Dublin on Sunday evening. Not even the margin of Kerry's victory (seven points) caused any pain to long-suffering followers of the Maroon and White.
That's how far Galway's football stock has slumped — it's now completely acceptable to lose a big game at Croke Park.
Some Galway football supporters will, of course, have vastly different feelings about it, and for that the county should be grateful.
Make no mistake about it, this was a bad, utterly depressing defeat.
Surely it's sporting madness to be talking about 'progress' and 'transition' and 'team-building' and 'development' after a Championship campaign which yielded only wins over two Division Four teams (London and Tipperary) and one over a Division Three team (Sligo).
It's astonishing to read and hear, repeatedly, that Galway "need another year or two" before they are ready to win an All-Ireland SFC title, when anybody who knows anything about Gaelic football in this county knows there are no ready-made replacements — not one, I would say — for the defenders who conceded a total of 8 goals 46 points in their last three Championship matches, against Kerry, Tipperary and Mayo.

Post by: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 05:27:59 PM
Look at the difference a good manager has made to Donegal & Mayo since their terrible defeats to Armagh & Longford in 2010. Both sides possessed the backbone in 2010 that teams that went on to be very successful. Football has moved on and we haven't, its very easy to blame the backs but its quite clear they have very little protection and under prepared to cope with any half decent forward.

As for waiting months to sort out the managements it needs sorting out now, as Dara O'Se stated these lads need to be bulking up immediately.
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2014, 05:40:02 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 05:27:59 PM
Look at the difference a good manager has made to Donegal & Mayo since their terrible defeats to Armagh & Longford in 2010. Both sides possessed the backbone in 2010 that teams that went on to be very successful. Football has moved on and we haven't, its very easy to blame the backs but its quite clear they have very little protection and under prepared to cope with any half decent forward.

As for waiting months to sort out the managements it needs sorting out now, as Dara O'Se stated these lads need to be bulking up immediately.

To be fair Galway have been operating at a lower level than Mayo and are far rawer in a lot of positions, and in others its the lads due to come in that will be the ones who will have more impact than the ones there right now.

Galway shouldn't expect a lightning fast turnaround like Mayo or Donegal, those are the rarities.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 06:14:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2014, 05:40:02 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 05:27:59 PM

To be fair Galway have been operating at a lower level than Mayo and are far rawer in a lot of positions, and in others its the lads due to come in that will be the ones who will have more impact than the ones there right now.

Galway shouldn't expect a lightning fast turnaround like Mayo or Donegal, those are the rarities.

I'd agree with Mayo, the average age of the Mayo team would be a few years older than the Galway team of now and in fairness the Mayo team of 2009 should have won a quarter final before their appalling two defeats in 2010.

The Donegal team McGuiness inherited would be older than the Galway team of now but they had shown nothing to suggest their was any potential in that that team. They had one 1/4 final appearance against Cork in 2009 where they were beat by 14 points and hadn't beaten anyone of note along the way. They barely won a game in in 07,08 and 10.

This Galway team has a squad littered with players from the two recent U21 All Irelands. The very least I'd be expecting would be going very close on winning a Connacht title and reaching a 1/4 final and giving the opposition a close game unlike this year where we close to neither and got a lucky draw to reach the 1/4 finals.
Post by: galwayman on August 07, 2014, 07:20:40 PM
We're going nowhere under Mulholland - to be fair I don't think it takes a rocket scientist to see that.
The naivety in our play is just unbelievable to witness.

Saying that the board will probably offer him another term.
We don't have the money to lure a top class manager.
A sad state of affairs for a county the size of ours.
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2014, 07:24:44 PM
Top class like who? There's not really much out there available. Jacko is away doing minor in Kerry, I'd doubt someone like Tony McEntee would come out West for the first crack at county management but, really, there are no quick fix managers about nor did Horan or McGuinness look like such when they were appointed. Find a smart man with passion for football, that's about the baseline any county should expect.
Post by: INDIANA on August 07, 2014, 09:14:16 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on August 07, 2014, 11:59:32 AM
Quote from: DJGaliv on August 06, 2014, 11:27:04 PM

They've probably not reached their physical potential due to poor management, changing the management as often as we did doesn't help either but AM has had 3 years with this group and there's been no improvement in the physicality and conditioning of the players you've mentioned. I could be a bit harsh on AM as maybe those counties you've mentioned have specialist strength & conditioning coaches whereas Galway don't, all about the money.

Under the right manager Bradshaw could be every bit as influential as Keegan is for Mayo.

That's no excuse. The type of S&C inter county footballers should be doing isn't rocket science. And it doesn't cost a whole lot.

Galway always look like a crowd of kids playing in the schoolyard to me.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 08, 2014, 12:08:36 AM
Galway are surely an ideal job for any manager looking to make a name for himself. The talent is there and the expectations are reasonably low.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on August 08, 2014, 06:16:25 AM
To me Kevin Walsh seems the obvious choice. Think a sour ending in Sligo masked a powerful beginning.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 08, 2014, 10:47:54 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 08, 2014, 12:08:36 AM
Galway are surely an ideal job for any manager looking to make a name for himself. The talent is there and the expectations are reasonably low.

I was thinking the same, the talent is there and the average age of the panel is very young. A manager who can tactically organise a team with and any sort of idea on strength and conditioning will easily take this team to a new level.

Anyone know what age is Lundy?
Post by: Jinxy on August 08, 2014, 10:50:55 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2014, 07:24:44 PM
Top class like who? There's not really much out there available. Jacko is away doing minor in Kerry, I'd doubt someone like Tony McEntee would come out West for the first crack at county management but, really, there are no quick fix managers about nor did Horan or McGuinness look like such when they were appointed. Find a smart man with passion for football, that's about the baseline any county should expect.

(http://www.balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty2.jpg)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 08, 2014, 01:16:46 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on August 08, 2014, 06:16:25 AM
To me Kevin Walsh seems the obvious choice. Think a sour ending in Sligo masked a powerful beginning.

Walsh I'm sure would be the big favourite I imagine if and it's a big if, Mulholland doesn't want or get an extension.

I think a dark horse might be Tommie Joyce who has been doing very well with the Galway Ted Webb sides and has them playing a very modern brand of football of strong defence with players behind the ball, forcing turnovers and then attacking at pace with numbers. They may want to move him up to minor or U-21 first though.
Post by: armaghniac on August 08, 2014, 02:22:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2014, 07:24:44 PM
Top class like who? There's not really much out there available. Jacko is away doing minor in Kerry, I'd doubt someone like Tony McEntee would come out West for the first crack at county management but, really, there are no quick fix managers about nor did Horan or McGuinness look like such when they were appointed.

Would Big Joe be recommending Galway to Tony McEntee?
Post by: galwayman on August 08, 2014, 03:43:59 PM
QuoteI think a dark horse might be Tommie Joyce who has been doing very well with the Galway Ted Webb sides and has them playing a very modern brand of football of strong defence with players behind the ball, forcing turnovers and then attacking at pace with numbers. They may want to move him up to minor or U-21 first though.

He was minor manager in 2011 and 2012 before John Donnellan took over. Galway didn't do that well either year. Well beaten by Ros in Connacht final before going down narrowly to the Dubs in AI semi final in 2011, while losing to Ros in Tuam in first round in 2012. He has experience of management at club level as well. It's a bit of a stretch to give him the top job at this stage though
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2014, 03:55:47 PM
Quote from: galwayman on August 08, 2014, 03:43:59 PM
QuoteI think a dark horse might be Tommie Joyce who has been doing very well with the Galway Ted Webb sides and has them playing a very modern brand of football of strong defence with players behind the ball, forcing turnovers and then attacking at pace with numbers. They may want to move him up to minor or U-21 first though.

He was minor manager in 2011 and 2012 before John Donnellan took over. Galway didn't do that well either year. Well beaten by Ros in Connacht final before going down narrowly to the Dubs in AI semi final in 2011, while losing to Ros in Tuam in first round in 2012. He has experience of management at club level as well. It's a bit of a stretch to give him the top job at this stage though

Galways hardly did badly in 2011 and the 2012 match was an extra-time epic. Wouldn't be judging him poorly on those seasons but it would be a stretch to jump for U16 to senior. The Galway County side this year did look excellently prepared. Val Daly's son John in the middle and Ryan Forde are players that look to have very bright futures.