What's the worst and best job you've ever had?

Started by pintsofguinness, February 26, 2008, 06:30:08 PM

Mine was collecting glasses in a pub, the job description included cleaning up the puke and the toilets  :-X
It didn't last long.

I don't think I've ever had a job I would say I liked.

youngfella

I used to do night security work in ormo bakery, it was great used to go get the telly on can fall asleep on the airbed.

I done some labouring on the summer and hated it, got fired in the end because i refused to pull tar out of a tipper truck, because i thought it was dangerous.
Pull hard and early

Ive had some great jobs. Before email, I sorted Dominic Kirwins fan mail. My mother loved it as I was always coming home with new rags for the dusting.

Bartending was a great job. The most miserable was pushing the newspaper trolly around the county hospital and seeing all the sick people.

This job right now sucks, but I can bugger off whenever I want, which is nice. I worked in an ice cream factory once too, that was pretty disgusting.

gawa316

Worst: Coat hanger recycling factory (don't ask)

Best: Disability training programme coordinator and Youth coordinator

Worst: McDonald's Bradbury Place for 6 wks, involving having a spide as your "team leader" and being made to wear the most awful trousers as part of the uniform

Best: Sports leader at a language school for rich kids in Switzerland - the day started at 12 and involved doing mad outdoor activities in one of the most beautiful countries in Europe.

youngfella

Pull hard and early

Worst  - Male model

Best - My present job being my own boss as a Electrical Contractor

Can't say I've ever had a job I didn't like - strawberry collectin & snuffin, turf stoolin, strippin, paintin, diggin, sitework, dogsbody, telesales, mystery shoppin, writin - don't think i'd ever stay in a job for more than a day if I knew I definitely didn't like it. My present job is the bees' knees, most of the time.

Niall Quinn

Worst:
1. Chicken factory operative (some East Anglian small town, many early morning bus miles from Norwich) - involved lots of seemingly purposeless moving around of dead fowl.
2. Mushroom picker (County Down) - Output dependent pay (??p per 'chip') in pretty rank smelling environment, made bearable only by management's somewhat controversial decree that cigarette smoking whilst picking was permissable.
3. Project Finance Manager (Roswell, NM) - Lots of loud Americans enthusiastically talking about EBITA (earnings before interest tax and amortization) brings with it it's very own dead fowl / mushroom manure -reminiscent backdrop.
Best:
1. Bowling Green Attendant (Finaghy (for Belfast City Council)) - Once arrived for work so drunk that I slept through the entire evenings matches, only to be woken with a plate of sandwiches and cup of tea from a concerned ladies skip.
Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

Mushroom picking for my uncle, christ that was an arduous, anatomically insensitive terribly paying job. Payed by the square and it took some scrubbing to get the mushroom residue off your thumb.

passedit

I don't think you can include any part time or holiday jobs in your worst list as no matter how shit they are you know they're only temporary so the sense of hopelessness isn't there.

Having said that I did a term of supply teaching at a 'city' comprehensive when I left university which quickly proved to me that i did not want to be a teacher. I know there a few teachers on here and the prevailing opinion would be that ye're all a bunch of lazy tossers but ye have my greatest admiration lads, how ye walk through those gates every  night early afternoon having not killed some wee fcuker is beyond me.
Don't Panic

Worst was definately a short stint as one of them people who ring ya up trying to get ya back to BT. Was the most soul destroying few weeks of my life. Just couldn't handle it after a while.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 26, 2008, 08:55:29 PM
Worst was definately a short stint as one of them people who ring ya up trying to get ya back to BT. Was the most soul destroying few weeks of my life. Just couldn't handle it after a while.

Done that myself too TAM up the Boucher Road, didn't last too long either I think a little part of me died every day I was there.  Burger King was pretty shite too, but the worst was in a junior casino in Wildwood- mind numbing, on your feet all day, occasionally getting cheek from tosser customers, no Irish co-workers and to chat too (or British or American) and absolute bell-end of a boss.  Lasted about a month there then changed to a real cushy number in a shop.

Best- in a cheese factory in Coleraine as nearly half the day you were on breaks, or call centre in University Street doing surveys (loads of breaks, very easy going, not trying to sell anything and the craic was always great).

That hewer hardstation must not have worked a day in his life.

thewingedlady

Worst job was filling flower pots with peat at a gardening centre near the Moy, the boss wouldnt be the nicest man around and just a lousy place to work. Think it was bout £15 a day, was only 13 or 14 like so not too bad.

The best without a doubt was working at the Ryder Cup in '06. Was in corporate hospitality on a suite overlooking the 9th fairway, serving food and drink to clients of IBM. Started work on the monday but because the competitive golf didn't start til the friday, just polished a few glasses during the morning and then went out and watched some of the practice rounds in the afternoon. Was within touching distance with nearly all the golfers over the first four days.

Highlight of the week was meeting the all-time favourite, Michael Jordan. He was in the NBC sports suite adjacent to the one i was working in. Nearly shat myself when i seen the big man in action!