FAI...June 2024 Friendlies v Hungary and Portugal

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Esmarelda

I think it's a storm in a teacup too.

Many managers go and speak to other clubs and decide against the move, McInnes at Aberdeen in recent times being one example.

The Irish situation stands out slightly because of the failure of the FAI to actually get him to sign the contract and the debate over whether a gentleman's agreement was worth anything. Other than that though, I don't see the issue.

Quote from: Esmarelda on January 18, 2018, 02:44:31 PM
I think it's a storm in a teacup too.

Many managers go and speak to other clubs and decide against the move, McInnes at Aberdeen in recent times being one example.

The Irish situation stands out slightly because of the failure of the FAI to actually get him to sign the contract and the debate over whether a gentleman's agreement was worth anything. Other than that though, I don't see the issue.
O'Neill stated that in rejecting Stoke he felt he was bound by the terms of that verbal contract.
Fwiw, both O'Neill and the FAI had verbally agreed to a new contract which was on the table. O'Neill was obliged to inform the FAI of the Stoke interview and Stoke would have been legally obliged to pay compensation to the FAI had they contracted O'Neill.
(a win win situation in my book)

People had every right to question wtf was happening with O'Neill's commitment to the Irish job and this Stoke interview,
especially in the context of previous questions around his 'lazy´faire management style and general lack of commitment to pursuing minor details like practice, tactics and  game plans which included, tactics, opposition breakdown, defining a player's role in the game plan etc.
O'Neill has evolved into a spoofer

I see we've been drawn with Denmark and Wales in this new Nations Cup yoke.

Looks a crap enough draw to be honest......not very appetising after recent games against the two.

Capt Pat

A chance to get revenge against Denmark and a chance for Wales to get revenge against us. When does it all kick off?

September, October and November of this year. Two games in each month. Top of group goes into playoffs, bottom is relegated to lower league for next incarnation of this competition.

Playoffs a small bit complicated but involve 4 separate semi finals (highest ranked team at home) and subsequent finals with the 4 winners getting into the European Championships. There's a good video I saw earlier that explains it but basically every league (A-D) has a qualification track for the winners of the groups or the best placed teams not already qualified.

I think it's a welcome addition......would just have preferred to have drawn teams we hadn't played recently.

Esmarelda

Quote from: magpie seanie on January 12, 2018, 01:12:28 PM
It's a mixture of stupidity and lack of respect.
"The disappointment of Denmark - we were really trying to go for and get two goals in second half. No point in sitting back in second half and losing 2-1 - the perception elsewhere is very, very positive. Unlike yourself," said O'Neill

This is what Tony O'Donoghue receives from O'Neill Seanie. Does O'Neill deserve respect back in response to this?

SHEEDY

Totally arrogant and disrespectful interview from martin o neill. Tony o donoghue is asking the questions every fan wants answered.  O'neill seems to holding a grudge and was very confrontational throughout the interview. Does the manager think he is above criticism? Didnt think the questions were worthy of the level of disdain that o'neill threw back. Poor form from o'neill.
nil satis nisi optimum

Where are all the lads who were saying Tony was being unfair to MON before and MON was right to be petulant dîck? Very quiet tonight.

Two more years of threading water as MON does nothing much to develop the panel as not making the Euros with the new system would scupper the PL job he's aiming for. Yay.

At least we have ambition in rugby.

It's hard to see MON and TOD getting back together.

https://youtu.be/zuuObGsB0No

Tbig are the national mojo. MON has won 2 European cups. TOD wants to channel the mojo. It is very messy.

Quote from: seafoid on January 24, 2018, 07:32:22 PM

Tbig are the national mojo. MON has won 2 European cups. TOD wants to channel the mojo. It is very messy.

You're a strange cat seafoid.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 24, 2018, 08:24:59 PM

You're a strange cat bot seafoid..

Fixed that for you ;D

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 24, 2018, 08:24:59 PM

You're a strange cat seafoid.
It's a circus. The way "real fans" copyright E Dunphy talk about the team it is almost a sacred thing.
And they are best mediocre. You can't make a silk purse out of Aidan McGeady.
Why does O Donoghue have to make a big deal out of interviewing the manager ?
Why doesn't the energy and the passion go into changing things ?

I agree with seafoid. O'Donoghue asked for that.....I notice none of ye mentioned his mealy mouthed "hard luck" that O'Neill referred to before he went for him after the Denmark game. Interviews like that are pointless anyway.....ye have Eamon Dunphy to tell ye everything anyway.

There needs to be a reality check. We have a limited but very committed group of players. Martin O'Neill is managing the team the same way he managed every team that he has managed. High workrate, honest, not pleasing on the eye and overly conservative. What do people expect. We were third seeds in our group and finished 2nd. In the Euros we beat Italy and scared the bejaysus out of France. I'm not sure exactly what more that he's supposed to have done. And his point about clubs in England being interested in him is a valid one. Surely they wouldn't be interested if he was doing a crap job? Or maybe they haven't a clue in comparison to the well educated Irish soccer masses and king Eamo.

In fairness when you see the turkeys most of them hire King Eamo might be closer to right than they are.