Recent posts

Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by BrendanAntrim - Today at 07:37:20 PM
Well that's the three previously unbeaten Div 1 teams have lost this weekend.
Laois / Re: 2024 Joe McDonagh Cup
Last post by Saffrongael - Today at 07:36:54 PM
Think it's rotated as Tipp played Offaly last year
Laois / Re: 2024 Joe McDonagh Cup
Last post by Joeythelips - Today at 07:33:12 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 20, 2024, 08:19:40 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on May 20, 2024, 12:21:29 PMOverall I think management have also done very well and will have the lads ready for the final.
The only downside I see is Offaly in Croke Park, a place where we haven't fared so well against them in the past and tradition and mentality will play a big part.
Looking forward to what should be a cracking game of hurling.

I think you summed it up pretty well - we travel in hope more than confidence.
Let's hope for a repeat of the great clashes with Offaly in the early 1980s with us coming out on top for a change.

From Hoganstand:
Saturday 15 / Sunday 16 June
All-Ireland SHC preliminary quarter-finals
Joe McDonagh Cup winner v 3rd placed Munster team, TBC, TBC
Joe McDonagh Cup runner-up v 3rd placed Leinster team, TBC, TBC

The winner of the Joe McDonagh Cup draws the short straw - a probable date with Cork  :(

So the winners of Joe McD get to face Cork while the runners up play Wexford. A bit harsh on the winners. How is it decided? Is it rotated each year?
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by Truthsayer - Today at 07:31:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on Today at 06:53:31 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on Today at 05:37:22 PMNot sorry to see Henry beat. Is enough great men bout Galway without going to him. Henry probly be Kilkenny manager now if he'd not gone to one of their greatest rivals.

Perhaps he successfully ensured that they are no longer rivals!
Bit like Harte in Derry!
Last post by Saffrongael - Today at 07:12:42 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on Today at 05:21:09 PMP45 for Davy.

Not sure you could get more out of that team ? Maybe a new voice needed though. The draw against Tipp very poor in hindsight
GAA Discussion / Re: Minor All Ireland Footbal...
Last post by galwayman - Today at 06:59:54 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on Today at 02:44:19 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on Today at 02:33:38 PMHard luck Armagh. Don't see Derry winning any All Ireland tbh, very easily nullified today by a team they beat by 17 pts a few weeks ago. Then again it's hard to know how the provinces measure up and if they'll give Derry the free reign to do what they like.

From what I've seen and similar to U20 this year Ulster appears to be the strongest province of the four.
In terms of the overall standard in the province I would agree.
I would say though that I fancy Mayo to win the All Ireland.
I've seen them a few times and they are very good.
Last post by armaghniac - Today at 06:53:31 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on Today at 05:37:22 PMNot sorry to see Henry beat. Is enough great men bout Galway without going to him. Henry probly be Kilkenny manager now if he'd not gone to one of their greatest rivals.

Perhaps he successfully ensured that they are no longer rivals!
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 06:41:05 PM
Just thinking there, the only knockout game we've had since 2019 against non Ulster opposition was Galway in 2022 and even in the group games the only no Ulster opposition has been Galway and Westmeath x2.
Antrim / Re: Antrim Hurling
Last post by Saffrongael - Today at 06:27:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 04:00:32 PM
Quote from: marty34 on Today at 03:56:02 PMAntrim's target is to win 1 game in Leinster and stay in the Leinster Chapionship the following year.

That's success for Antrim.

What are Dublin doing that we need to do?

Dublin should be what we are looking to get to

Dublin minors and 20s both in Leinster finals in the last week, we aren't even playing in A competitions in Leinster

Carlow some shower of ill bred hoors, well able to hurl so don't need to be at their extra curricular shite. Couple of their forwards dominated in the air today. 
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by David McKeown - Today at 06:21:40 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on Today at 05:49:09 PMAm I right in thinking if Armagh don't win the group we have to meet Kerry or Dublin in a Q/F? (plenty of ifs to factor in but looking likely) Can't meet our own group winner, nor Donegal who will win their group.

Yes assuming they top their groups