The OFFICIAL Liverpool Supporters thread

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:52:45 PM

Quote from: Minder on January 16, 2009, 03:40:07 PM
Quote from: corn02 on January 16, 2009, 03:06:32 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 16, 2009, 03:03:08 PM
Quote from: corn02 on January 16, 2009, 02:59:53 PM
No figure yet. I'd say abour 2.5 to 3 million.

Liverpool have accepted a bid from Portsmouth for winger Jermaine Pennant.
The 26-year-old, whose Anfield contract expires in the summer, will now discuss personal terms with the south coast club over the next few days.

Pennant has represented Liverpool 79 times, scoring three goals along the way - the most memorable coming against Chelsea at the Anfield Road End in January 2006.

He was signed by Rafa Benitez in the summer of 2006 and played in the European Cup final defeat to AC Milan a year later.

Are we paying Pompey that to take him, not bad business at all..........

A tad harsh. Always felt he had plenty of abilty, his attitude was not right though. He will do well at Pompey and Crouch will be glad of him

Do yuo think his attutude will improve any at Portsmouth?

Probably not, but he will play more there. For all his shennanigans, laziness and drinking, he still would play if selected and he will be a regular at Fratton.

Quote from: magpie seanie on January 16, 2009, 02:12:12 PM
Dennis Wise was stripped of the Chelsea captaincy by Hoddle. Did the FA not consider punishing him too? He may not have been picked for England or something.

I could be wrong but if I remember Chelsea punished Wise after he was found guilty. Wise was then subsequently cleared on appeal.

FermGael

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/p/portsmouth/7833429.stm
QuoteLiverpool winger Jermaine Pennant says he does not want to join Portsmouth after the two clubs agreed a fee.

The 26-year-old was expected to go for talks at Fratton Park in the next few days, but he remains convinced his future is at Anfield.

"My preference is to stay at Liverpool and I am still hoping to do so. I do not want to leave," said Pennant.

"I am happy to compete for my place here and hope that I am given the chance to do so."

Pennant has played 81 times for Liverpool since joining from Birmingham in July 2006, but has only featured four times so far this season.

Pompey boss Tony Adams, who knows Pennant from their time together at Arsenal, is desperate to sign a player who has been interesting Real Madrid and AC Milan.

"Jermaine is a player I have been tracking because he is not getting regular first-team football," said Adams.

"I realised he wasn't in the team at Liverpool, he was a bit-part player, and I said to our executive chairman Peter Storrie that we might be able to give him a platform to play football.

"We have had a bid accepted by Liverpool and we want to get him down here ASAP."

Pennant began his career with Notts County before moving to Arsenal and he also played on loan for Watford and Leeds before joining Birmingham.

Looks like Pennant is happy enough earning £40,000 a week for bench warming.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

For all those rafa bashers...please provide a few names of suggested replacements?

Rafa has his faults, though i firnly believe he is the best man for the job.

Quote from: FermGael on January 16, 2009, 06:44:34 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/p/portsmouth/7833429.stm
QuoteLiverpool winger Jermaine Pennant says he does not want to join Portsmouth after the two clubs agreed a fee.

The 26-year-old was expected to go for talks at Fratton Park in the next few days, but he remains convinced his future is at Anfield.

"My preference is to stay at Liverpool and I am still hoping to do so. I do not want to leave," said Pennant.

"I am happy to compete for my place here and hope that I am given the chance to do so."

Pennant has played 81 times for Liverpool since joining from Birmingham in July 2006, but has only featured four times so far this season.

Pompey boss Tony Adams, who knows Pennant from their time together at Arsenal, is desperate to sign a player who has been interesting Real Madrid and AC Milan.

"Jermaine is a player I have been tracking because he is not getting regular first-team football," said Adams.

"I realised he wasn't in the team at Liverpool, he was a bit-part player, and I said to our executive chairman Peter Storrie that we might be able to give him a platform to play football.

"We have had a bid accepted by Liverpool and we want to get him down here ASAP."

Pennant began his career with Notts County before moving to Arsenal and he also played on loan for Watford and Leeds before joining Birmingham.

Looks like Pennant is happy enough earning £40,000 a week for bench warming.

Not surprised.
Liverpool accepted a bid from Hull in the summer, but Pennant wouldnt go

Quote from: stiffler on January 16, 2009, 06:56:37 PM
For all those rafa bashers...please provide a few names of suggested replacements?

Rafa has his faults, though i firnly believe he is the best man for the job.

Stephen Staunton. Please.

Quote from: heganboy on January 16, 2009, 08:25:16 PM
His royal Keaneness

Sure the only team he has managed is Mayfield in Celebrity Bainisteoir  ;)

charlie stubbs

was watching football focus 2day lawro said ramos only on a temp deal to end of season!could be troublesome news for rafa situation...

There is a Merseyside derby on tomorrow night can we concentrate on that rather than that p***K Keane  ??? Let the United fans worship at his altar on their own thread..

After United scraping a win yesterday surely Rafa has to be a bit more positive which his team tomorrow night than he was against Stoke,personally I would go with Keane/Kuyt up front,not sure if Torres is 100% fit so he might be better as a sub if needed

The GAA

No pressure tomorrow night lads. sure at least a draw is guaranteed with everton not having a single fit striker an all....

Anyone know if the seats in Anfield start at the back or the front? For example is row 3 at the bottom, or back of th stand?

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on January 18, 2009, 01:46:33 PM
Anyone know if the seats in Anfield start at the back or the front? For example is row 3 at the bottom, or back of th stand?

Row 3 will be third from the front. Have sat in Row 1 of kop and it as it says.

Quote from: bingobus on January 18, 2009, 01:55:45 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on January 18, 2009, 01:46:33 PM

Row 3 will be third from the front. Have sat in Row 1 of kop and it as it says.

Cheers. You can rest assured it'll not be the kop I am in  :P

Quote from: The GAA on January 18, 2009, 01:05:37 PM

No pressure tomorrow night lads. sure at least a draw is guaranteed with everton not having a single fit striker an all....

Why do united fans feel they have to degrade themselves like this, is it not enough that ye won yesterday, itrs shite like that that sickens me about united fans