Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orangemac on January 19, 2011, 11:04:17 PM

Title: Premiership footballers - On another planet?
Post by: Orangemac on January 19, 2011, 11:04:17 PM
With most of us finding things tight at the moment 3 examples this week of the bubble Premiership players live in

1) Robbie Keane - surely he has made enough money by now. He has maybe 3/4 years left at the top. Would he not be happier on 30k a week (surely he could manage?) and playing week in week out at the likes of Birmingham/Fulham?

2) Darren Bent - ok not much between Villa and Sunderland but how much extra is he getting by moving.At least Sunderland have a manager with a bit of cop on.

3) Wayne Bridge - somehow in the week West Ham are laying off stadium and ground staff on £250 a week they can find £90k a week for Wayne Bridge. Would he even be among the best 5 left backs in the league?

If Sky start feeling the pinch as people start cutting back ,will there be a knock on effect for clubs and these crazy salaries?
Title: Re: Premiership footballers - On another planet?
Post by: ludermor on January 19, 2011, 11:46:48 PM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/19012011/58/premier-league-stoke-star-forgot-owned-porsche.html
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2011, 11:53:42 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 19, 2011, 11:46:48 PM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/19012011/58/premier-league-stoke-star-forgot-owned-porsche.html
What an arsehole. The fact that a player of his calibre has a sportscar collection is proof of the need for a salary cap!
Post by: gerry on August 12, 2011, 10:48:22 PM
robbie away again on his travels, this brings his transfer money up to 80 mill

GALAXY: Reports say Robbie Keane close to deal
August, 12, 2011

By Scott French

Irish forward Robbie Keane is closing in on a deal with the Galaxy, ESPN's Shaka Hislop and other media outlets are reporting.

Keane, 31, who is under contract to Tottenham and likely would arrive in a loan deal, played the first half of this year on loan to West Ham United and in 2010 on loan to Celtic. Ireland's captain and all-time goals leader (with 51 in 108 international appearances) also has played for Inter Milan, Liverpool, Leeds United, Coventry City and Wolverhampton.

To make room for Keane, 31, the Galaxy is expected to trade or release striker Juan Pablo Angel, who has scored just three league goals since joining the club in December. Soccer By Ives, a soccer news website, reports that the Galaxy are shopping Keane to other MLS clubs, and that Angel's preference is to return to the East Coast. The Colombian striker played four seasons with New York before coming to L.A.

MLS's summer transfer window closes Sunday at 8:59 p.m. PT, but the league has informed clubs they need to submit paperwork by the end of business Friday to ensure players are approved before the deadline.

MLS teams are allowed no more than three Designated Players, and Keane would join Landon Donovan and David Beckham in the Galaxy's trio.
Post by: laoislad on August 12, 2011, 10:53:01 PM
Best of luck to him if he goes. Ireland's greatest ever striker.
Is Angel the guy who use to play for Villa?
Post by: thewobbler on August 12, 2011, 11:06:50 PM
Orangemac, i've never understood why football fans think that footballers should willingly take a pay cut.

Whether they overpaid or not is a completely different matter. But in what other profession would you expect someone to take a 50% paycut out of 'love'. You're living in fantasy land chap.
Post by: gerry on August 12, 2011, 11:08:43 PM
yep he played for villa
Post by: Overthebar! on August 12, 2011, 11:15:36 PM
Fair play to him, if I were in his shoes I would be off to the states too. Can just picture his press conference now

"It's a great move for me. I've supported The Galaxy and dreamt about playing for them since I was a young lad growing up in Dublin"
Post by: spuds on August 12, 2011, 11:21:48 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on August 12, 2011, 11:15:36 PM
Fair play to him, if I were in his shoes I would be off to the states too. Can just picture his press conference now

"It's a great move for me. I've supported The Galaxy and dreamt about playing for them since I was a young lad growing up in Dublin"

Will you stop, no way he can say that amount of words without saying "obviously" 3 times.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 12, 2011, 11:28:45 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 12, 2011, 11:06:50 PM
Orangemac, i've never understood why football fans think that footballers should willingly take a pay cut.

Whether they overpaid or not is a completely different matter. But in what other profession would you expect someone to take a 50% paycut out of 'love'. You're living in fantasy land chap.
Which flies in the face of the bullshit you hear that they'd play for nothing. I know a couple of people that have voluntarily taken a pay cut to change to a more interesting job because they can afford to. So it's hardly fantasy to expect a player with ambition to take a pay cut from £4 million a year to £2 million a year!
Post by: AFS on August 12, 2011, 11:36:05 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 12, 2011, 11:28:45 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 12, 2011, 11:06:50 PM

Which flies in the face of the bullshit you hear that they'd play for nothing. I know a couple of people that have voluntarily taken a pay cut to change to a more interesting job because they can afford to. So it's hardly fantasy to expect a player with ambition to take a pay cut from £4 million a year to £2 million a year!

There's your problem there. What has Keane to be ambitious about at this stage in his career? He's acheived everything he's ever going to at club level. It's now all about squeezing the last few £s out before he has to hang up the boots.
Post by: thewobbler on August 12, 2011, 11:36:56 PM
Headhunting process in every job:

a: we're a great company and we really want you to work with us.
b: I'm flattered, I really am.
a: we've great plans and you're a major part of them.
b: I like the sound of that.
a: we're far better employers than your current firm.
b: hey, I'm interested, but what is the, you know, remuneration?
a: roughly X per year.
b: X? do you know that I'm on 2X where I am.
a: I'd heard that, but I was kind of hoping you might see the other benefits of leaving.
b: meeting over.

Professional football is a job.
Post by: Minder on August 12, 2011, 11:52:40 PM
Apparently Wesley Sneijder wants to leave Inter because they haven't sufficiently strengthened since winning the Champions League in 2010, ambitious young man you may think, but won't drop his salary of €200k per week to give him a chance of joining Utd or City.
Post by: King Kenny on August 12, 2011, 11:59:03 PM
If I werelucky enough and talented enough to be a professional footballer I would do the exact same.  I would try to extract every last penny from my employers during my career as I could.  Anyone here who says they wouldn't do the same is being economical with the truth in my opinion.
Post by: laoislad on August 13, 2011, 12:11:50 AM
Quote from: King Kenny on August 12, 2011, 11:59:03 PM
If I werelucky enough and talented enough to be a professional footballer I would do the exact same.  I would try to extract every last penny from my employers during my career as I could.  Anyone here who says they wouldn't do the same is being economical with the truth in my opinion.

I agree.
Btw I think if I had a choice I think I would rather be a professional Golfer than a professional footballer.
Post by: King Kenny on August 13, 2011, 12:13:57 AM
Tiger Woods per chance?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2011, 12:19:23 AM
I don't buy it. You've 30 million in the bank, you've a couple of years left after which you will have 38 mill sitting on the bench scratching your balls or 34 mill at a second tier premiership side togging out every week and making the most of your time left. If you had kids you want them to see you actually kick a ball.

Yis are mercenary hoors.
Post by: King Kenny on August 13, 2011, 12:23:00 AM
In a nutshell,  yes.  And if you were in the same position I believe you would find the idea of a couple of years in LA very tempting.
Post by: Orangemac on August 13, 2011, 12:26:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2011, 12:19:23 AM
I don't buy it. You've 30 million in the bank, you've a couple of years left after which you will have 38 mill sitting on the bench scratching your balls or 34 mill at a second tier premiership side togging out every week and making the most of your time left. If you had kids you want them to see you actually kick a ball.

Yis are mercenary hoors.
I'm with you Ton, if I had enough money to retire I'd rather be playing every week for £30k a week than notplaying for £60k a week.

Then again I don't understand people who dont play the Loto if it is £3million but will if it's £10mill.
Post by: Puckoon on August 15, 2011, 07:06:50 PM
Robbie off to the club and league he has supported since he was a boy.

Spurs striker Robbie Keane joins MLS side LA Galaxy
Tottenham striker Robbie Keane has joined Major League Soccer side LA Galaxy for an undisclosed fee.

Keane, who had also been linked with Leicester City, said he was "honoured, delighted and very excited" to be joining the American side.

Details of the transfer fee and length of contract have not been announced, but it is reported to be a £3.5m deal.

"I have always wanted to come and play in MLS so it's the perfect combination for me and a dream come true," he said.

Keane made 254 appearances for Spurs during his first spell at the club between 2002 and 2008, scoring 107 goals.

He moved to Liverpool in July 2008 but spent only six months at Anfield before returning to White Hart Lane.

However he failed to hold down a regular first-team place, amid competition from Jermain Defoe, Roman Pavlyuchenko, Rafael van der Vaart and Peter Crouch.

Galaxy general manager and head coach Bruce Arena said: "Robbie Keane will be a great addition to our club.

"I have followed his career and have always respected his ability as a competitor and a goalscorer."

A statement on the Spurs website said: "The club can announce that it has reached agreement with Major League Soccer side LA Galaxy for the permanent transfer of Robbie Keane.

"We wish him all the best for the future."
Post by: 4father on August 15, 2011, 08:02:24 PM
You need only check out Joey Bartons twitter to work out that they are indeed on another planet!!!

http://twitter.com/#!/joey7barton
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 16, 2011, 08:58:33 AM
footballers are in indeed on another planet, but i think you'll find that joey is on another planet from them also ;D
Post by: laoislad on August 24, 2011, 05:12:25 PM
Didn't have anywhere else to put this but I saw this on Twitter.
What Samuel Eto'o will earn with Russian Premier League side Anzhi Makhachkala.

£1,458,333/month
£364,583/week
£52,083/day
£2,170/hour
£36.16/minute
£0.60/second

After Tax :o
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2011, 05:22:52 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 24, 2011, 05:12:25 PM

£1,458,333/month
£364,583/week
£52,083/day
£2,170/hour
£36.16/minute
£0.60/second

I can't imagine any of these mugs will be living in Dagestan. Some dough.
Post by: AFS on August 24, 2011, 05:41:55 PM

£1,458,333/month
£364,583/week
£52,083/day
£2,170/hour
£36.16/minute
£0.60/second

BBC reckon that's an exaggeration. Only on £168,000 a week.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14610186.stm
Post by: spuds on August 24, 2011, 06:20:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2011, 05:22:52 PM

£1,458,333/month
£364,583/week
£52,083/day
£2,170/hour
£36.16/minute
£0.60/second

I can't imagine any of these mugs will be living in Dagestan. Some dough.

QuoteSecurity and training

The club's players live and train in the Moscow region and fly in for home matches.[14][15] This is for security reasons and entails, according to the BBC, "flying about 2,000 kilometers (1,250 miles) 15 times a season" for the home games.[16]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Anzhi_Makhachkala
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 24, 2011, 06:30:44 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on January 19, 2011, 11:04:17 PM
1) Robbie Keane - surely he has made enough money by now. He has maybe 3/4 years left at the top. Would he not be happier on 30k a week (surely he could manage?) and playing week in week out at the likes of Birmingham/Fulham?

If I had the money Keane has, I would go to LA Galaxy and be happy on 10k a week. Sure L.A. or Fulham which sounds like better craic.
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2011, 10:32:14 PM
They wouldn't make that money if people didn't pay to see it be it attend the games, geansai or Sky.

If that's the money floating about then grab it.
Post by: screenexile on August 24, 2011, 11:43:19 PM
I couldn't find the quote but at the time of Adebayor moving to City did he not say something like "If I were a plumber and somebody wanted to offer me twice as much money to do the same job I am presently doing should I not take it?"

Hard to argue with that logic... most of these lads come from nothing so you can't blame them if some idiot wants to give them £100,000 a week to chase a bag of wind around a pitch!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 25, 2011, 01:18:17 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 24, 2011, 11:43:19 PM
I couldn't find the quote but at the time of Adebayor moving to City did he not say something like "If I were a plumber and somebody wanted to offer me twice as much money to do the same job I am presently doing should I not take it?"

Hard to argue with that logic... most of these lads come from nothing so you can't blame them if some idiot wants to give them £100,000 a week to chase a bag of wind around a pitch!

Only way to stop this is salary caps, but if England introduce them, they got to Spain. Spain introduce them, they go to Italy. Italy introduce them they go to France or Germany. The Netherlands, Brazil, Russia, USA, Japan, UAE, Scotland, Turkey etc. down the line. You would need a FIFA wide cap system, but then that would hit their cash cows like England, Spain, Italy etc.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2011, 10:54:04 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 25, 2011, 01:18:17 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 24, 2011, 11:43:19 PM

Only way to stop this is salary caps, but if England introduce them, they got to Spain. Spain introduce them, they go to Italy. Italy introduce them they go to France or Germany. The Netherlands, Brazil, Russia, USA, Japan, UAE, Scotland, Turkey etc. down the line. You would need a FIFA wide cap system, but then that would hit their cash cows like England, Spain, Italy etc.

Yeah, FIFA would need a salary cap, but it couldn't be a nominal figure, because of currency fluctuations, tax bands, inflation etc. It also couldn't be a percentage of club turnover, because the bigger clubs would have an even more pronounced advantage. I think a salary cap would have to be based on cost of living in the countries/a multiple of average wage, whatever. Something 'index' linked.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 25, 2011, 12:28:57 PM
You mightn't like turnover % but there's something wrong with the likes of Real, Barca, Chelsea and city running up massive debts buying up players that they might not use. It's almost as if they're buying them up to stop them going elsewhere.

Disclaimer - obviously I'm a United supporter and "I would say that" but I think the point is valid.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2011, 01:44:58 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 25, 2011, 12:28:57 PM
You mightn't like turnover % but there's something wrong with the likes of Real, Barca, Chelsea and city running up massive debts buying up players that they might not use. It's almost as if they're buying them up to stop them going elsewhere.

Disclaimer - obviously I'm a United supporter and "I would say that" but I think the point is valid.

Exactly, that's why I think some form of salary cap should be introduced. I'm just saying the base salary cap number shouldn't be a percentage of turnover. That just makes the bigger teams bigger again.

I bet the owners would love a salary cap as well, because that would mean they could hoarde some of the revenue from shirts, sponsorship etc, and every time the fans scream for more money they could shrug and say 'salary cap'.
Post by: muppet on August 25, 2011, 01:51:45 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 25, 2011, 12:28:57 PM

The point certainly is valid.
Post by: seafoid on August 25, 2011, 02:22:12 PM
The longer the economic stagnation goes on the more likely it is that football will be restructured.
Football earnings are a throwback to the days when debt generated economic growth rather than strangling it.