2016 All Stars

Started by ONeill, July 20, 2016, 08:11:46 PM

Quote from: BennyCake on November 03, 2016, 11:46:10 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 03, 2016, 11:07:39 PM

Probably. Hard to imagine anything that bizzare that happening anywhere outside Mayo.

A bit like the apparition at Knock then.

That was a miracle if you are into that kind of thing. The Clarke non-appearance for AI final replay was a ........ I dunno? There is no antonym for miracle in the English language. Disaster/ tragedy comes close.

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 03, 2016, 07:26:03 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on November 03, 2016, 06:35:23 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 03, 2016, 06:31:14 PM
I didn't think Boyle was very good this year, he is quite rash and undisciplined. Durcan was much more deserving of one but obviously they decided against fitting sqare pegs into round holes this year.

How do you mean? They were both half backs all year

I would view centre back as a more specialist position than a wing back, the traditional view would be a 6 holds ground while the wing backs are allowed freedom to roam forward.

While I agree with your point about chb being an important and specialist role, they pick the all stars per line, not specific position, unless this changed when the awards merged

Connolly tracks back and blocks and does loads of work you don't see but it's cos the dominant system. Which is a bit like rugby if you are a spectator. Beautiful technically perhaps.......but very hard to get excited about 

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=228237
The Mayobridge star retired from inter-county football this week after 15 years in the Mourne County jersey and, in a wide-ranging interview in today's The Irish Daily Star, he says the game is more about fitness nowadays than individual skill and flair.
"There are games you got to at club level where two teams are playing defensive systems and it is ridiculous at times," Coulter said.
"I was even reading stuff the other day, colleges games where they were playing two sweepers."When we were playing for St Mark's (Warrenpoint) in '96 or '97 you just went out and played football, and the better man won, but, now, even at minor level it's down to tactics and crap like that.
"There is too much time spent in the gym and crap like that, or in front of tvs watching stuff."Maybe the likes of 'Skinner' (Eoin) Bradley he'd be a player I'd pay in to watch because he is that unpredictable."He is the type of fella that just plays off the cuff and does his own thing."With a lot of county footballers it's more to do with how fit you are, stuff like that – it sickens me too at times

I wonder how many of today's all star forwards people will remember in 15 years.  Murphy, Brogan, Donaghy, O Donoghue, Connolly, Cavanagh, McManus maybe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eg9AoIFET4E

Dubs on Facebook giving out about Keegan getting POTY and the Anti Dubs media bias....but I thought I heard Ger Canning say that the winner is picked by his peers...then again it is Canning so its probably shite.

David Clarke brings Ballina Stephenites haul of All Stars to 5 individuals. This is Mayo's biggest no of players awarded. Ballintubber has 5 gongs from 3 individuals.
What are the clubs with big hauls around the country? Austin Stacks, Vincents and Nemo probably the biggest?

shark

Quote from: moysider on November 04, 2016, 08:10:56 PM
David Clarke brings Ballina Stephenites haul of All Stars to 5 individuals. This is Mayo's biggest no of players awarded. Ballintubber has 5 gongs from 3 individuals.
What are the clubs with big hauls around the country? Austin Stacks, Vincents and Nemo probably the biggest?

Nemo have 9 different football recipients and 1 hurling. But there is overlap as the hurler, Brian Murphy, was also a football winner.

A quick bit of reckoning and I make Austin Stacks have 7 and Vincent's 8.
Stack's probably have the most statues.

ZeitChrist

Quote from: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 08:09:41 PM
Dubs on Facebook giving out about Keegan getting POTY and the Anti Dubs media bias....but I thought I heard Ger Canning say that the winner is picked by his peers...then again it is Canning so its probably shite.

It is picked by their peers, but the type of Dublin fan that seems to frequent Twitter and Facebook comments section seems to be predominantly people who know nothing about football, probably only started paying attention to the Dublin footballers in 2011 and has barely watched a full match all year. They're all mouthing off without knowing a single thing about the process.

Keegan deserved the award and anyone who was paying attention this year knows that.

Fair play to Keegan on winning FOTY, Rolls Royce footballer and the award is thoroughly deserved for this year.  Monivea Abbey will have their hands full trying to contain him this Sunday!!

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on November 04, 2016, 09:05:26 PM
Fair play to Keegan on winning FOTY, Rolls Royce footballer and the award is thoroughly deserved for this year.  Monivea Abbey will have their hands full trying to contain him this Sunday!!

Plus 1, a great footballer.

Can't believe how Kilkenny was in top three for POTY. Lucky to get even get an all star.

Quote from: omagh_gael on November 04, 2016, 09:40:17 PM
Can't believe how Kilkenny was in top three for POTY. Lucky to get even get an all star.
Todays football with its obsession with possession stats. Kilkenny was far more impressive last year and his lack of scoring along with Brogan almost cost Dublin the All Ireland this year.

Quote from: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 08:09:41 PM

Keegan is a hate figure for Dublin fans so wouldn't mind that Facebook crap.

Anti- Dubs media bias lol. Dublin used the media to single out Keegan for attention for replay and Deegan bought it.

Media bias? They should have seen the shite Mayo have been on the receiving end of from likes of Brolly, O Rourke, Spillane, Hayes for years. As well as common garden hacks like McGee and Brehony.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 04, 2016, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on November 04, 2016, 09:40:17 PM
Todays football with its obsession with possession stats. Kilkenny was far more impressive last year and his lack of scoring along with Brogan almost cost Dublin the All Ireland this year.

Kilkenny's role this year meant Dublin controlled games better. They decided to avoid the chaos of Mayo in 2012 and Donegal,2014. Brogan thrived in open shoot-out games but suffered in this year's conservative approach. Not as pretty but they still won.

Well done to Lee Keegan. Had him only just ahead of Kilkenny.

Did Connolly deserve one?